About Urban Farmer Portland

Urban Farmer Portland is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Modern Decor (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Business Meals (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Organic (11)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Drinks which consisted of coffee and mimosas, took about 15 minutes to receive and if the place was packed then perhaps understandable; however the place was only semi-full.
Seeing as the drinks were not complex; I was a bit disappointed it took so long. The food was good; however the brunch is nothing special you can't get at an IHOP for less. Overall, the experience was meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

This wasn't our first time here, and it won't be our last. The food was great and the service was amazing, the only negative was that they sat us next to two really small children, infants & toddlers. I understand that they have to eat too, and I'm not blaming Urban Farmer, but it really gets under my skin when I'm paying $100+ for dinner and have to listen fussy baby within arms reach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

First time at Urban Farmer. Good steakhouse menu, very good wine list. Quality of food was very good. The only miss was that our steaks were overcooked. When ordering, I asked the waiter if they tend to run on the well or rare side. He said they tended to run on the rare side, so I ordered medium. Unfortunately, I received medium-well. Not bad, but the steak could have been better prepared. Otherwise, a very nice dinner. I look forward to giving them another try

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there for a special occasion the food was good but a bit to expensive for what they give you. Not sure if i would go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Meh.

Value for the experience: low.

Will return?: if someone else is paying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I have eaten at Urban Farmer many times. It never disappoints. The food is great, the service is exceptional and the suggestions are always spot on. Great place to gather!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I love the open atmosphere and decor. The staff are very friendly. The food was great, as usual.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I usually write off hotel restaurants as being bad by nature, but this place slapped me upside the head. We googled "Best steak house in Portland" and on all the websites we looked at, this place had been on all of them and if not the top 2 definitely in the top 5. Once we got there we were taken back by the Atrium, and then into the restaurant which is nestled in the rear of the Atrium you pass through really nice spaces to sit and have cocktails. These spaces were all unique in styles which was very relaxing. The restaurant decor was very well done, loved the bench styles seating. The food was also very good, we ordered the New York steaks with foie gras on top, and the Oregon 1/2 chicken.... all done with very good flavor. I do believe that they need to up the quantity of the Foie Gras they give you, like most restaurants it's small, if you as a patron like it then you willing to pay for it, because obviously you know what the goin rate is for it, so up the cost $20 to $40 total and actually do a decent amount of it. All in all great place will definitely come back when I'm in Portland again. The only one notable down side is as an Irishman they didn't have Guinness on tap, but in bottle form which is a cardinal sin to us;)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and service. Servers were very knowledgeable , and friendly. We will definetly be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

What was once Portland's best overall steakhouse is... still quite good. Steaks are very high quality and accurately cooked. A bit over prepared these days ,though - less salt, please. Sides are tasty and the cornbread is still a highlight.

Overall, still a very good steakhouse with top flight service, but maybe not in the top tier anymore. They still could be, if they just trusted the meat and stopped oversalting it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and friendly service. The Foi Gras appetizer was to die for. Truly great steaks cooked to perfection. We had one bavette steak (not always the easiest to cook correctly) and one porterhouse. Full bar and great wine list. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The ambiance was very nice with a large open ceiling courtyard as the location. The service was great and the food was good too. I ordered by steak medium and it was really almost raw, but I think that's standard for most steakhouses in the attempt to not over cook the meat. Overall it was a good dinner. The potato tart - thing was fantastic as a side.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had asked my Chef instructor where I should go for breakfast and he recommended here. We got there and I fell in love immediately. The whole set up was incredible and so welcoming. It was calming and quiet and perfect for a Friday 7am breakfast date. Jim our server was outstanding and so kind. He talked with us and made us feel incredibly welcome and cared for. I will come back and I know I will love it then as well. This place is a hidden gem of Portland but it is perfect. Thank you for making our breakfast date so amazing and right. You guys were fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at the Urban Farmer for a Sunday brunch. Wait staff was terrific and we were able to bring our own birthday cupcakes that the staff prepared and served.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, People Watching, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food took a while to come out, but with drinks, conversation, and our appetizer we didn't notice till our waitress apologized for the wait. It's a bit pricy for our usual fare, but the food (steak) was incomparably good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The atmosphere was fantastic and the staff was extremely attentive! The atrium setting makes it feel as if you're eating outside as it lets just the right amount of natural light without making it too bright. As evening falls, the mood gets relaxed and somewhat romantic. The food was second to none and the drinks are well crafted and stiff. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and very social with the clientele.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love the space of the restaurant. I was however disappointed in the fact that my eggs were over poached and that my friends bread was served burnt. I was surprised that the chef or the server would have served over burnt bread. My friend ordered the crab omelet. The overall space is nice, especially for a hotel restaurant. They should me careful about the food. I think it was also overpriced based on the great restaurant options that we have in Portland, especially the local chefs in small boutique spaces.

I understand why they think that they can charge what they can since it's in the Nine's hotel and that many patrons are hotel guests which may not be familiar with other choices The concept is good and they should be diligent with ensuring that their food is brought out to perfection! It is after all a reflection of my city. As a Portland native I think this first impression for anyone visiting our fabulous city should be top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Siri, nail it to the wall with this joint. 9/10 beach.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My fiance and mother-in-law brought me here for my birthday and it was fantastic as always! The service was great and we loved being seated in the pantry area. As always, the handcrafted cocktails were well thought out and prompted ordering a few.

The steak was phenomenal, I had the Waygu and my fiance had the steelhead, and my mother-in-law to be had the Forty-two day dry aged Painted Hills. We shared sides of mac and cheese, brussels sprouts, and the roasted sweet potatoes, which were all delicious. I went a step further and made sure to order the blue-cheese truffle butter and I cannot recommend it enough!

Thank you for always providing such a nice atmosphere, quality service, and unique approaches to cocktails and delicious meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful and we all enjoyed the quiet ambiance which is rare in today's trendy restaurant climate. Our food was exceptionally and beautifully served by attentive knowledgeable staff. we especially appreciated an environment where a table can have a quiet conversation without music blaring in our ears. It was a memorable evening.

The only caveat I might mention is, the restaurant could use some sineage both at street level and once you get off the elevators. Information posted at the street level elevators and upon arrival at the floor would be most helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great overall ambience with tasty food and excellent service!!! A Great Portland experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines day, it was an awesome experience. The food was awesome, the service was really great, and the special menu was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day and it was my date and I's first time dining at Urban Farmer. The overall ambiance and space was very lovely - dimmed lighting and a high open ceiling that goes to the top of the hotel. Comfy couches to sit and wait at while they ready your table. Neat lighting and art/sculptures. The food was very good. Not the BEST I've ever had but no complaints. The service was wonderful and we felt very well taken care of. They didn't run out of anything on the menu which I greatly appreciated since it was prix fixe for the occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was excited to try this place out. We went for Valentine's day at 8pm. The hosts looked like they had been there too long and were complaining about a group at a table taking too long which I found unprofessional. As for the food, the steak was WAY overdone. The salmon was nice, the sides were nothing special. I'm glad I at least tried it, but will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This reservation was on Valentines Day. As always, the service was spot-on. Our waitress was timely, funny, efficient...everything you hope for. Also, as always, I highly recommend the cheese service; it's a great opportunity to try something new and I've never been disappointed. Although I've eaten at Urban Farmer many times, this was my first experience with a prefix menu and I wasn't especially impressed. I just didn't care for the selections available. For a pre-set menu, it was largely uninspired. I'll definitely return but, if it's on a holiday, I will call to verify that the full menu is available.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Valentine's Day menu. Brunch and the Bloody Mary bar is also a delight. I highly recommend urban farmer for the food and for people watching.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food selection was horrible. It was cold and tasted bad. The deserts were disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Urban Farmer for Valentines Day and it was absolutely wonderful. The service was great, the food was excellent (may have been the best steak I've ever eaten), and it was immediately comfortable. We'll be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved the food, just took forever to get our check to leave.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my date here for Valentines Day and wasn't disappointed in the least. The service was on point the entire time, and the ambiance was high class intertwined with a relaxed vibe. Only criticism I have to offer is that the 42 day dry aged new York I had was slightly lacking in flavor surprisingly, however the rib eye my date ordered was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Every drink I had was also put together expertly, especially the Big Horse. Would without a doubt recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Love the environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We were served corked wine, my wife's steak was overdone and mine was underdone.
Martini was among the worst I have had with too much vermouth (way too much).
Not a great experience.
Expensive and impressive menu but it didn't live up to it.
Waiter was great under the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Restaurant is great, parking is expensive and tales to long to get your car back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Really great location and scene. Amazing cocktails! And attentive service. Would recommend for anyone on a date night or night out with friends

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've tried UrbanFarmer three times.
First, unremarkable.
2nd, terrible. Never got food after 1.5 hours. They gave us a certificate.
3rd, one year later - food just BAD. Just take a torch to the butcher shop instead. Ribs, almost inedible. Tough. Over cooked. Cut too much fat/not trimmed well. Pork chop very rubbery. Very little flavor.

Side dishes no better.

This restaurant needs the entire memu reworked.

Service ok. Nothing special.

Too many other good options.
Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place. Great Menu. Great service and attention to details. Atmosphere is a bit cold and industrial but everything else was great. Hard to find if you are not from Portland.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first visit to Urban Farmer. We came for brunch. The food quality was excellent and service was reasonably good. Prices are typical for upscale hotel restaurants. Although the restaurant is in an atrium area, sounds were muffled and we were easily able to converse. I would definitely consider returning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The tasting menu was amazing! I recommend you add the wagyu beef to it and enjoy! Homemade corn bread. Everything was perfect and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was probably my 5th or 6th time eating at urban farmer going back to around 2010. The last time i ate there was May, 2015. The butternut squash soup was very disappointing to me and my guest. The soup was bland and a far cry from when i ate it in May, 2015. The salmon i ate the previous night was very good. Another disappointment regards the menu itself. Seems the menu has only had minimal, if any, changes for as long as i've eaten there (roughly 2010).

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have eaten breakfast and lunch many times at Urban Farmer and have found it to serve good food in a upscale but comfortable setting. On this visit our server was not attentive, forgot to order on of 5 entrees and failed to refill the coffee even after being asked. The food was good and it won't stop us from returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.