About Urban Farmer Portland

Urban Farmer Portland is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Portland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Organic (11)
Cozy (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Scenic View (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, fantastic service. Server Meredith was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My Wagyu rib eye was cooked perfect ly( I asked for medium rare). However, other people in our group said to cook their beef at the Chef's recommendation...which turned out to be medium /medium well ? Their beef seemed over cooked to me. It was barely pink in the middle.
Seems a shame to over cook a good piece of beef. I did appreciate that the steaks were seasoned though. I didn't have to salt my steak at all. All the side dishes were fantastic. The polenta was creamy and the poached egg was an added surprise. Mac and cheese was rich and tasty. Although our server and bus boy were attentive, our food took awhile . Luckily, we weren't in a hurry... and the ambience was very good at this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great and we had a fantastic Father's Day celebration.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Father's Day brunch was delicious! The food was amazing and unique and not something you'd find at other brunch spots. We don't usually bring our kids out to nice places but we were testing the waters for the occasion. They did great partly because of the wonderful staff! My 4 yr old daughter felt special ordering her own breakfast and the staff kept picking up the spoons and toys my 7 mo old kept dropping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My steak (tenderloin) was good, but my husband's ribeye was extremely undercooked so for a steak joint we're disappointed for the money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Simply fabulous as always! From beginning to end. The food, service, ambiance are unrivalled in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Unreal brunch and fantastic service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic meal! Some of the best steak I have ever eaten. Sides were also unique and outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Steak tasting menu was spendy but fun and informative. Server did an excellent job and steaks were well prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I recommend you skip Urban Farmer. Too many other great restaurants in Portland. Over priced for mediocre steak. My cut of steak was not great (end of the tenderloin instead of middle). When I pointed this out to the waitress all I got was a "sorry and our chef is new"... no offer to replace or comp the steak. Not what I would expect when you pay over $50 for a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Better than your typical hotel restaurant, but...
We stayed at The Nines Hotel for 6 nights and this was our most convenient option for the first night and for breakfast. The menu is contemporary offering a nice mix of items and decent portions and the kitchen does a nice job executing.

Our issue with every experience was Service - while they had lots of people on the floor all appearing busy - the wait times to order and then to receive and then to pay were well beyond the generally accepted ranges. they would bring coffee, but no cream - or never come around to refill; no soup spoon when clearly it was needed to eat the dish (i.e., Shrimp & Grits with a luscious thin sauce), no butter with the fresh baked breads.... aka the Fundamentals

My conclusion is either a lack of management, organization, training or oversight. So just go in with this knowledge and plan accordingly - until management figures it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

INCREDIBLE experience. Our server was extraordinarily well-educated on each type of steak the restaurant offered and gave perfect recommendations. My husband and I took my father who eats steak all the time, and he said it's the best steak he's ever had. :)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Urban Farmer offers a wide variety of steaks, from cows that have been alternatively grass-fed, corn-fed, and ...fed. You can share steaks and some sides with your fellow diners. The steaks were very good, the mushroom side dish wasn't particularly good, and the spinach gratin was delicious. The chocolate cake for dessert was spectacularly good. There are a variety of little alcoves that lend privacy to your event. I felt quite chilly all evening long, even though I had on a sweater and a vest. The "ceiling" is at least 4 stories high and I imagine it was quite warm up by the ceiling.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Worst cut of meat I've had in quite sometime. Saw our server when he brought my steak out, after the food runner didn't bring it, and then when we were finished. Didn't check in to get us more drinks until we were done eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service and atmosphere outstanding. Had an issue with prime rib being over cooked and not at appropriate temperature. Wild salmon and salads were perfect. They comped most of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was glad to get a reservation for A special Mother's day breakfast after reading the menu online allbeit a little early--8:30--all that was available. When we arrived we waited quite a while for a menu which had a dissappointing 7-8 items on it. I commented to my son that it seemed like the menu was much larger online. After a nice breakfast I did ask the waiter if the menu online was different only to learn that they did have a special Mother's Day brunch which was never mentioned. The waiter tried to make an excuse that they don't start serving it til 9:00--poor response . The special occaision I came for was only special because of the company I was with and the food was at best mediocre hotel food. Given the lack of concern by the staff for making it a special Mother's day meal, I will not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredibly fresh preparation. All of the vegetables were meaty and all the meat was like butter.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

At 60 usd a plate in a hotel called The Nines, one would hope for better. Unfortunately this restaurant does not live up to the hype. My experience here nearly brought me to tears, from the over cooked steak to the extremely rude staff who to everyone's surprise tried to pick a fight with my parents who flew in from out of town to celebrate my birthday. I don't recall ever witnessing something so unprofessional and rude, not to mention ridiculous at such a supposedly "high end" establishment. We had originally made our dinner plans for Ringside steakhouse but switched last minute because of a recommendation from a friend, claiming that the steak here is unbelievable. We found this to be a very false claim. Beyond the inhospitable environment, two out of the four steaks we ordered were well beyond overcooked. A 50% batting average for a steak house selling prime cuts at 60-80 dollars does not bode well. My advice would be to save sone money and heartache, skip urban farmer and go to ringside instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Made a reservation for 3 at 5:15pm the afternoon of. Considering #pdxtraffic on a Wednesday night coming from SW Portland, we came in hot at 6:30pm with a party of 4; we were sat immediately. The staff ensured comfortability and contentment, setting a standard from the moment we walked up to reservation desk. The technical space design as well as the scope of Urban Farmer complys with current standards and is accommodating the need for wheelchair accessibility. Although it's not the most affordable place to eat in the city, the good food, great service, and fun environment is worth experiencing. Check it out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

2nd time in and it was not nearly as good as the first. The service was a little slow (45 mins from order to being served) and sometimes it felt like we were forgotten, but they were friendly. Also, we were sat out more in the open this times than the prior time, which took away from some of the intimacy that our first experience offered.

The local greens salad was really good, but the cuts of Oregon grass-fed ribeye that we got this time were really fatty and it looked like I left half my steak on my plate when I was finished. They temperature of the steak was a little closer to medium-well in some spots than medium, but it still had great flavor. The potato puree was as awesome as ever.

I would/will go back because I think they make a really tasty steak, but it may not be as high up my list as it was before.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went with wife and 4 kids. We are regulars and even had a large wedding here catered by UF. Among other entrees, Had 2 orders of brunch with eggs in it. Ordered hard boiled for all of them. Realized only after my toddler and 5/6 year old kids didn't eat them that the eggs were CHILLED. Probably left over from a continental breakfast or something. Alerted the nice waiter (Nick) and he acknowledged it but didn't offer any concession than to have me wait for actual hard boiled eggs that they could make. It was too late to wait an extra 15 mins for that. Kids were getting a little impatient. Wish the could've just brought out the correct things initially.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Celebratory dinner after my client closed on the purchase of her high end condo in SW Portland. Fun environment, great food, just a bit pricey. It she's worth it, this particular client!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good food and very good service. Nothing that blows me away but still, very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Homemade English muffins with jam was superb. Crispy potatoes were also good. Ordered the Flat Iron Steak and Eggs. Asked to have the steak medium rare but it came medium well instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love the decor and surroundings but the real gem is the food! Always delicious and great service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent service with highly informed and experienced wait staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent service and food. While I do not particularly care for the decor, the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

First impression of the hostess was rather cold and unfriendly. I requested to be seated at a different table, but she never came back. On the other hand, Meredith, our server, was very friendly and fun. Caesar salad was bland. Bone-in rib eye was very flavorful! Impressive pinot noir selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was delicious, however, the service was... ok, at best. My partner had to flag down a server to get our drinks refill--twice, and my order was wrong (when it finally was delivered). We felt as if we if we were being ignored by our server. The table next to us seemed to have decent service though. The steaks were amazing, but sadly, the service was so poor we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Easily this is the best Portland brunch experience to date. No wait, not shoulder to shoulder crowded, and exceptionally professional and friendly service. The menu is a great blend of classics with smart culinary twists and exciting and delicious originals. The Bloody Mary bar was an over the top collection of tasty garnishes and specialty hot sauces for elevating an already premium Mary. We could not have wanted for anything and our selections for food were even better than expected from this high level establishment. Their bacon is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

service was okay. Eggs overcooked for four out of five plates. Didn't have time to ask for new omelette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good food not great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Overpriced. Overrated. Slow service. Overpriced. Overrated. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I ate here while on vacation with my parents. Everything was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We took our family to urban farmer for Easter Brunch. The food was amazing with so many options that we couldn't possibly try it all. The ambiance was fun, trendy & great for families. We will be back next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was fabulous, and the selection and display was marvelous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch with the family. Fantastic food options and beautiful presentation. Our server was very on top of everything. My only suggestion would be for the price point that coffee and juice be included, felt a little cheap to be charged for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had the buttermilk pancakes, mushroom and bacon omelet, and poached eggs. None were disappointing. The restaurant is on an upper floor in The Nines Hotel a half block from the center of downtown Portland. Parking is available nearby. Our server was friendly but not obtrusive, service was at just the right speed, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The quality and flavor of the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent buffet. Fresh, delicious food. Thoroughly enjoyed the Easter brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.