Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About UPSTAIRS 2

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Tapas (10)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

A real treat. Excellent service, food, menu, chef Mickey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A charming wine centric spot above The Winehouse . This Cozy spot is an ideal place for dinner after work . The small plates are very generous and delicious . The duck breast and lamb chops were outstanding. There's a copious amount of wines available by the glass and the bottles available are varied with some rare and hard to get selections. Truly a gem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place. Always consistently good, the food, wine, cocktails, service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good as always. It was so nice to have all you can drink bellinis with better than just "drinkable" bubbles.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

FABULOUS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Yum, delicious seasonal offerings. This place is a hidden gem

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I always enjoy this restaurant and I am never disappointed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were really impressed with the menu options and pairings with wine, it really made it easy to order. We were so excited to try everything that we opted out of the tasting menu and order a la carte. We tried at least 7 different dishes and they were so amazing!!! From the lamb to the shrimp and grits to the cheese plate it was all very tasty. Kudos to Chef Maiki who came to greet us and ask how things were going, I can't wait to come back when the menu changes. Our waiter Shawn was really inviting and attentive. Excellent dinning experience!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I had Chateauneuf du Pape with a delicious hamburger and french fries. Extravagant, yes, delicious combination? Yes. Unusual pairing? not really when you think about it. A wonderful celebration of an ordinary day made extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Upstairs 2 is fantastic! Great Food! Great Wine! Great Cocktails! Great Customer Service! Go there more than once and Marilyn, Shawn & the rest of the team will make you feel like family! This is a good, quiet place for a date, a business dinner or just a nice meal with friends & family! Wine lovers will enjoy the wine pairings suggested by their knowledgeable staff!
Definitely a hidden neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Aside from the fact that we got off to a rough start, this was a really pleasant restaurant. Food and wine were both great. However, when my date and I arrived (about 6 min late) to meet another couple, the hostess told us we were the first to arrive. After we waited about 15 minutes for our friends to arrive, we got a somewhat irritated text from our friends saying they had arrived at the restaurant 20 minutes earlier, and WHERE WERE WE? It didn't need to start that way.

Lesson: be careful to keep the reservations organized.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was great, wine awesome. Service great. Would recommend to friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The servers and sommolier did a great job making recommendations and pairings. The location was a little dodgy, but, for better or worse, the restaurant has no windows.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went there for anniversary. Place is cozy, food is great but the best part was the sommelier. My husband and I are very much into wine and so is his cousin with his girlfriend who were with us. The sommelier (I think her name was Marilyn) was extremely knowledgeable. She listened to what types of wines we like and brought out exactly what we would enjoy and we did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Enjoyed the tasting menu and other things al a carte. Nice variety and good presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The wines are great. We loved the yellow squash salad, the lamb and the salmon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great! First-time there and service, food and wine were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our food was excellent but the wait staff was not up to the job.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat with friends and just relax. I have reviewed it many times before on Open Table, so just a brief update. The last 2 visits, we have shared the Steak for Two between 3 of us and it is enough for a complete dinner, though this time we added a delicious side of carrots. That may not sound exciting, but I think these are the best carrots I've ever had. We like to start with bacon wrapped dates and sparkling wine. The JCB Brut is a really great choice. Also had a tart flambé before the main course, which was great with the sparkling wine as well. We ask the sommelier, Marilyn, to choose a couple different glasses of wine to compliment the steak. She never disappoints. This time, a Grenache/Syrah Rhone and a CA zin. Both were perfect, so we just kept passing them around. One of our friends does not eat beef and had a delicious fig salad (she shared) followed by the duck. We were all happy with our dinners, but lingered to visit over dessert and coffee. Another perfect evening with friends at Upstairs 2, but what else is new?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and very pleasant atmosphere. The waiter gave us plenty of time to order and we felt very relaxed both during and after the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is always well prepared with interesting combinations to awaken the palate. The wine pairings are always spot on perfect balances to the meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Off Beat

Went before going to the Odyssey Theater. Interesting and inventive starters and a small but delicious lamb sirloin chop. Corkage is a very reasonable $15

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was really good. The small plates allow you to taste several dishes and the wine service with their Sommelier Marilyn is impeccable

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good food fair prices easy parking great nite with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was great. Nice wine list. Moderately priced. I understand they do tastings as well. The only downside is the decor. Definitely needs an update.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I always enjoy eating here I am never disappointed

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We are regulars at this excellent restaurant and had our usual excellent meal. Wife had a steak and I the lamb chop. We had a flat bread and salad too. Always good. Just a nice restaurant to get a good meal at a fair price.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my second visit in two weeks. In a city that seems to relish noisy restaurants, Upstairs 2 is the welcome exception. The decor tamps down noise and one can hold a conversation even when the restaurant is full...such a relief! The small-plates menu offers a great variety of dishes, all perfectly prepared, and a wide selection of wines by the glass and carafe. Service warm and friendly. Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I hosted an intimate alumni dinner and it was perfect: quiet enough to hear and learn and the food, wine and service were all fantastic.
The students (grad and undergrad) will all be coming back after that intro.
I've been a fan for a while :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very attentive service, easy parking, food prepared quickly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

If possible, it was better then ever!
Food, wine and service are first class.
Makes for a special evening.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been a big fan of this restaurant for years. Great food, a great somelier, and a great atmosphere. It looks like there have been some changes lately, though. The old executive chef is gone, and the new chef has a slightly different style. I think I prefer the old menu. They no longer offer free bed and garlic-oil at the beginning of the meal. This was missed. Finally, it seems that there are a few new servers whoa aren't quite as good as the old.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for the 4 course dinner and it was a great menu. I especially loved the mushroom soup with truffle oil, delicious. The portions were not large, but with 4 courses, it was the right amount of food. I really liked the wine list and the portion choices. All in all, it was a lovely dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been a fan of Upstairs 2 for years. The new chef is great. The sommelier Marilyn is one of the best in the business. Always choose her pairings. Always.

Went for Valentine's dinner with my partner and my parents. Fantastic evening all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the wine-pairing menu! Service was great and Marilyn was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great wine selection and service. Excellent food. Perfect also for late after theater dining!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Honestly one of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. The food was excellent. Our server was so nice. The ambience was perfect. And the wine pairings spot on. Can't wait to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Upstairs 2 is by far, My FAVORITE restaurant in the city!
Consistently Delicious! Seeing Marilyn & Shawn are the icing on the cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Three of us (two adults and 16 yo son) went on Saturday night at 7 pm for husband's birthday dinner. The place was packed with lots of energy; we were very glad we'd made a reservation. We had a back corner table which was nice because we had less hustle/bustle around us, but also meant we were farthest away from the servers, who were kept quite busy by a large party and a very high maintenance table of two on either side of us! Service was cheerful and pleasant, but a little slow. The food and wine were wonderful; persimmon salad, lamb chop, crab roll and steak were standouts. Excellent wines, especially a Barolo and an Albarino which we enjoyed very much. For those who like coffee desserts, the Toasted Almond was outstanding. For our family, Upstairs2 was a wonderful find for "special occasion" dining, and we look forward to returning again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

the hard thin slices of bread served with the cheese were too hard and did not go with the cheese, it is better to serve with fresh bread with cheese than the old hard dry bread. it almost cut my palate.thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.