About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tapas (9)
Business Meals (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

If possible, it was better then ever!

Food, wine and service are first class.

Makes for a special evening.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been a big fan of this restaurant for years. Great food, a great somelier, and a great atmosphere. It looks like there have been some changes lately, though. The old executive chef is gone, and the new chef has a slightly different style. I think I prefer the old menu. They no longer offer free bed and garlic-oil at the beginning of the meal. This was missed. Finally, it seems that there are a few new servers whoa aren't quite as good as the old.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for the 4 course dinner and it was a great menu. I especially loved the mushroom soup with truffle oil, delicious. The portions were not large, but with 4 courses, it was the right amount of food. I really liked the wine list and the portion choices. All in all, it was a lovely dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been a fan of Upstairs 2 for years. The new chef is great. The sommelier Marilyn is one of the best in the business. Always choose her pairings. Always.

Went for Valentine's dinner with my partner and my parents. Fantastic evening all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the wine-pairing menu! Service was great and Marilyn was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great wine selection and service. Excellent food. Perfect also for late after theater dining!

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Honestly one of the best dining experiences I've had in a while. The food was excellent. Our server was so nice. The ambience was perfect. And the wine pairings spot on. Can't wait to come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Upstairs 2 is by far, My FAVORITE restaurant in the city!

Consistently Delicious! Seeing Marilyn & Shawn are the icing on the cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Three of us (two adults and 16 yo son) went on Saturday night at 7 pm for husband's birthday dinner. The place was packed with lots of energy; we were very glad we'd made a reservation. We had a back corner table which was nice because we had less hustle/bustle around us, but also meant we were farthest away from the servers, who were kept quite busy by a large party and a very high maintenance table of two on either side of us! Service was cheerful and pleasant, but a little slow. The food and wine were wonderful; persimmon salad, lamb chop, crab roll and steak were standouts. Excellent wines, especially a Barolo and an Albarino which we enjoyed very much. For those who like coffee desserts, the Toasted Almond was outstanding. For our family, Upstairs2 was a wonderful find for "special occasion" dining, and we look forward to returning again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

the hard thin slices of bread served with the cheese were too hard and did not go with the cheese, it is better to serve with fresh bread with cheese than the old hard dry bread. it almost cut my palate.thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Yes, it's an odd location...but the food is really good! Chef Maiki Le is running a top notch kitchen. Just what you'd expect for a Chopped champion!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

SleYs love Upstairs 2. This was restaurant week so it was a bargain as well. Always great service. Delicious food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I took my friend here for her birthday. The service was terrific . We had a tasting menu and both enjoyed the quality and variety of the food. The wine pairings were great for me. My friend ordered off the menu and found a lovely Willamette Pinot Gris. Fun dinner. Would come again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our fourth time here. It just keeps getting better and better. The food was outstanding. The cauliflower soup was one if the best things I've ever eaten. The service was a little slow this time but they were very busy. Not an empty table to be seen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for DineLA and it did not disappoint. The menu choices were varied and all delicious! Because it was Friday night and still DineLA, the service was a bit off but not terrible. The wine we ordered initially was not available but the substitute wine the sommerlier offered was first rate. Have been here many times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved the food! The service was superb!

Definitely recommending to all my family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place, great food! We did dinela and the items on the menu were amazing. Loved this palce.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great meal shared with friends. The service was outstanding!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Always a pleasure - went for Dine LA menu which is awesome. Great wine and drinks, outstanding cuisine and friendly staff. A bit noisy if you want a quiet conversation; lively and fun if you enjoy that.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food and service was great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife have eaten at Upstairs 2 many times and have never been disappointed by the food, service or wine pairing. There is a buzz but it's easy to carry on a conversation. Their Dine LA menu was excellent with many choices. wee will certainly dine there many times in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We used the Dine LA menu. Most dishes were very good, however the steak was not tender and the mashed potatoes were very watery and lacked taste. Mashed potatoes are easy and these were not as good as some instant brands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic spot! Innovative fabulous food! A must try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a great treat. It was Dine LA night, but it's one of our favorite in WLA....and relaxing night out without kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great place for the chef's menu with wine pairing. The food and wines went together so well and it was a great chance to try different wines to have with the great food. Cozy and warm atmosphere! An enjoyable evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was excellent; the service too. We plan to return

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is one of our favorites. Food is always great, and it's quiet. Not a fancy room but pleasant enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The perfect spot for dinner with friends. The wine pairing suggestions are beyond! The steak and duck were amazing! Mary and Maiki are a great team. I left my credit card with my bill, and they accomodated me the next day, and let me come when they were closed. So special!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE dinner. 4 course for $79. Overall just ok. Nothing spectacular. Definitely more locals come here so service seemed best for regulars, not new comers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always. Does not disappoint. Good for any dinner out and special occasions.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this place. The food is fantastic and the wine pairings are sublime. Marilyn Snee, the somm, is the single most knowledgable wine professional I have ever met. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They put a lot of thought into their food and wine menus and the food is overall very good. But the room decor is dated and the ambiance lacking. And the diners are 75% seniors. The room needs a total maeover which would probably increase business and lead to a more diverse clientele.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's really not worth the price but if you like a romantic setting this is good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Unique opportunity to experience interesting, outstanding wines. Great, friendly and knowledgeable som.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love this restaurant. We joked with our server that we would be spending time catching up. They paced our choices extremely well so that we could have a leisurely dinner. Also the noise level is perfect. Such a welcome! The food was exceptional. I will be back- frequently.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The speciality for a December is goose. I usually find the quite fatty but the preparation was excellent and quite lean. There is always excellent help with the wine and it can be purchased downstairs at the wine shop. The noise was minimal and we could actually hear each other. The excell not menu changes often. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love! I finally found a L.A. restaurant with great food and an ambiance where you can hear your dinner partner. And parking without valet! I'll be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

So good to go to a restaurant where not only the food is wonderful, you can also hear the conversations.

The fried chicken boa is wonderful.

For the holiday the chef prepared roast goose, what a treat.

Of course the wine list is exemplary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Right-sized portions; amazing mouth watering food; excellent wines; attentive and friendly staff. Definitely a hidden gem. Worth the drive!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful as usual. Sean was our waiter and remembered us from our first visit months ago. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We went for the special Roast Goose menu + wine pairing -- fabulous! Every bite was great... as always, the sommelier recommended just the right wine for each individual palate! Will be returning soon....

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Even tho this is our go-to gem, we were once again surprised with some of the oft changed menu items. So we tried the chicken pot pie, which was full of chicken and flavorful. Tho a little smaller than expected, it certainly was more than enough. We also had the goose, added for the holiday season, which was superbly cooked.....moist and tender! Holiday additions and delicious!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great unassuming spot. Menu options were delightful and everything we ordered was delicious. Wine list is very comprehensive and the staff was quite knowledgable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were frequent diners when the previous chef was there. Upstairs 2 was one of our favorite places to take friends who like to share delicious, high quality small plates and drink interesting wine at reasonable prices. It also has a full bar and a comfortable, relatively quiet atmosphere which is great for conversation with your friends. Marilyn, the sommelier, knows her wine pairings and if you want, you can just leave it to her and you'll be very happy. So when the former chef left and the menu was ever so slightly re-tooled, we were afraid we'd lost our favorite place to hang and didn't visit for a while. Finally tried the new chef and are we happy we did. Another great meal with friends, slightly different, but just as good. Started with sparkling wine and dates, which were so good we ordered more. The ahi tuna crudo was enough to share, but so good we all wished we'd ordered our own. Our guests were enthralled with the tarte flambé. Then we shared fried chicken baos, ny steak and a tomato mozzarella flatbread, each thing tasting even better than it appeared on the menu. This chef definitely knows how to combine quality ingredients. Brava! We finished with the best ice cream I can remember tasting anywhere. Can't wait to try other items next time back, which will be soon, I promise. Upstairs 2 is still #1!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Incredible food and lovely atmosphere. An unusual location but what a treat. Best meal I have had in a long time and fabulous wine selection. Can't say enough good things.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was delicious, timely, and you can HEAR your dining companion. Perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Even with recent changes in menu and chef (to which apparently some people have had a problem dealing with), this restaurant continues to be one of our favorites. The Thanksgiving meal was superb in every way, and the service, as usual, was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our family Thanksgiving meal. It was really good. Traditional options as well as other options for great price. Kids and adults had a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've been here 3 other times and this time there was a difference in the food taste. Menu changed a bit, but some of the items that weren't changed and we had them, not as good. My understanding is the Chef changed. Not too anxious to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is very good, but the wine is fantastic. They put great effort into making sure that you have a wine you like.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.