Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About UPSTAIRS 2

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Tasting Menu (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tapas (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Romantic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Vegan (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been going here for quite awhile. Always a wonderful meal with great service. Very warm atmosphere and great with suggestions. Food is always interesting and the wine choices are fantastic.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Wow, where do I start? A neighborhood gem with an amazingly friendly staff and an insanely talented chef, this place does not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Upstairs 2 is one of LA's hidden gems! Chef Maiki Lee is amazing, somm Marilyn Snee is a genius, the staff is warm and welcoming. You'll love Upstairs 2.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was outstanding. The service was excellent and the food was unbelievable. I’ve lived in LA my whole life and I’m really glad to have found this place . Highly recommended

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Organic, Live Sports, Seasonal, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Spicy, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the few places on the west side of LA where you can hear yourself think and enjoy conversation with your tablemates. On top of this, the food is delicious, they make a very good martini, and it sits on top of the Wine House, so you can imagine the wines!

The sommelier and the servers are warm and friendly. It's a great place. We frequent frequently!! In fact, see ya tonight :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Consistently creative seasonal menu with wine recommendations. Tapas style small plates. Excellent gluten free and vegan options. Attentive and knowledgeable staff; you know you'll be taken care of. Definitely my go to place on Friday night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always enjoyable and consistently provides lovely meals and ambience. A bit pricey for a casual night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent service and food. However, few dishes were not as good-the prawns dish, for example featured small shrimp in questinable oatmeal sauce
The ambience is so so
The place could use updated flooring and lighting

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

the ambiance is really nice; the food very good and the prices fair but I miss the old
menu with its multitude of wonderful choices and the small plates which let us
have several different dishes

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We go here a lot and always love it. The menu is excellent and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, hidden Gem! Reasonably priced, our Server Carol, was AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints me. ...the service, food, and ability to easily talk to each other always works...I freely recommend this restaurant to any of my friends.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I've been wanting to go here for a long time and it was definitely worth the wait. The food was delicious with options for all types of diets. Shared plates made it easy to enjoy many different flavours. The wine by the glass and the regular wine list are well priced (for a restaurant) and extensive. So many choices!!!
Loved it. The only they need to improve is the decor. What's with all the curtains?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is my first time at Upstairs. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We got great service. Our food came very quickly. We received great recommendations from our waiter. His recommendations were spot on. Excellent drinks. Excellent choices of wine. Again good recommendations Regarding wine. I will highly recommend Upstairs to my friends and hope to go again soon.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always reliable. Great service,food and of course the wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was excellent, but the size of the portions are small for the prices charges, e.g., Ahi Tuna Crudo, Crab and Shiso Rice Paper Roll, Yellow Peach Salad.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tapas, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and attentive and knowledgeable staff. Sommelier is awesome!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This restaurant is greater than the sum of its parts. Outstanding wines at great value, excellent but compact menu, reasonable prices, a stable waiting staff and a wonderful host make this an exceptional but understated restaurant. Add to that free dedicated parking and windows out onto the blue Southern California sky, and you get a winner. Even the patrons are agreeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was amazing! The wine was very well chosen by Marilyn the sommelier. We will be back and we hope the Dine LA items on the special menu will transfer over to the regular menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent and Marilyn is a genius when it comes to the selection of wines. This is one of my favorites!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were there during DineLA and the menu was terrific. The choices were wide, the food was great and the service was excellent. The DineLA price, $39 for 3 courses, made for a great dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went during L.A. Dine week so the meal was a very good value. Enjoyed the wine pairings. Had not been there for many years so I wasn't even sure it existed so it was nice to rediscover it. Service was great. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Atmosphere, service and food are all wonderful. The atmosphere is warm, casual and elegant at the same time. The wait staff is always there when you need something - never there when you don't! Marilyn, the hostess, is a very friendly sommelier, very wiling to suggest wines that fits your food order. We stayed to chat after we had paid the check and never felt pressure to leave.
A very successful evening! Highly recommend..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

They have gone from small plates to standard courses. We like the small plates approach better. The quality of the food is also somewhat lower than in the past. (My steak was tiny and overcooked.) This has long been one of our favorite places, so we hope they eventually get it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and wine pairings were spot on. But, what attracted us to the restaurant in the first place was the array of choices both for meat eaters and for vegetarians. This is a rare place that caters to both.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Just excellent, interesting, a real find. Definitely worth trying.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always great wines and service. Always something interesting on the menu and visually appealing. Love this place and the people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was very good. Classic with a bit of a twist, well executed. The ambiance was a bit small-timey feel. Very extensive, affordable wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Upstairs 2 is always a pleasure. We enjoy the food and the service is very friendly and helpful. That's why we return there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Yummy! Menu's layout is a bit confusing. Superb wine list! Definitely for wine aficionados.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Enjoyed wine pairing and atmosphere and delicious desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have enjoyed the Wine House many times in the past but came away less than satisfied on our last visit. While the service and greeting were 5 stars, I have a had time rating the food more than just okay. The menu is excellent and offer a lot of choices. The execution of the food however seems to have gone downhill. While I enjoyed my crab sushi roll appetizer, the salmon entree and the side of spinach. was nothing to recommend. First problem was that both the salmon and the vegetable were salty beyond description. I only flavor I could taste was an overdose of salt. The vegetables accompanying the salmon entree were plain beans soaked in butter. The sauteed spinach tasted more of salt and excess oil than a fresh vegetable.

All in all, I have had much better presentations of fish dinners. I hope the Wine House returns to the food quality it once had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Everything was great. Just slightly disappointed that after noting it was someone's birthday they did not acknowledge it with a candle on our dessert or even comp the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Creative food, always great wine choices. Great place to relax and enjoy a casual dining pre-or post theater or event.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Chef & sommelier are a great team! Excellent pairings, always interesting specials -- maybe my favorite LA restaurant !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and service are always spot on! What a great spot!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We stopped going to Upstairs 2 a while back because the last couple of times we were there, we had to send the food back. We decided to give it another try...soft shell crab was too hard to pass up. We were pleased with our meals, tasting menu with the wine paring was really good as well. We would go back again. The place was packed so I guess they are really stepping it up. The service was excellent, just enough without bothering.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We ordered almost everything on the menu (small plates) and each dish was fantastic. Service was wonderful. It is nice that all wines can be ordered as 1/2 carafes so our table was able to taste several different wines and pair them with our dishes. Will definitely return when we are back in LA.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good food we loved the wine selection and bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had the Moroccan chicken, peach salad, and halibut. Everything was delicious. The halibut was a tad dry, but very tasty. The extra plate of goodies that was brought out with the fresh baked baguette we order was a delightful surprise. For desert we shared raspberry and chocolate sorbet-
Wonderful! Thank you again Upstairs 2 for another great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.