Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Twin Owls Steakhouse

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week, with the exception of our Private Events.
Private Events on May 20th and 28th

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: (970) 215-4544

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Event on the following dates in May:
Saturday May 13, 2017
Saturday May 20th, 2017
Sunday May 28th, 2017
Reservation unavailable.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (52)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Fireplace (36)
Cozy (36)
Historic (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Scenic View (23)
Live Music (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was ok, the special was buffalo steak, but it was overlooked. Waiter was not attentive since we did not order drinks or appetizers. I had elk kabobs for my main course and the gravy tasted like it was out of a can...too salty! Also, the parking is crowded and not available on this trip. We will not be returning soon, if at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Atmospheric and beautiful building, wonderful food. Our server Danni was attentive and thoughtful, and had excellent recommendations for our entrees. We went on a night where there was live music, which really added to our positive experience. We will be back and would recommend Twin Owls to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food!! Steaks cooked to perfection! Service was stellar. Out of the way from the tourist trap. Worth going there

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent dinner with outstanding service! Always a must when we are in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have eaten at Twin Owls a number of times over the years, and always enjoy the food, wine and ambiance. We were celebrating our anniversary and they gave us a complementary glass of champagne and a delicious cheese appetizer. We will continue to enjoy the meals at Twin Owls as much as we can when we get up to Estes.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Greatest
Food, service,

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Twin Owls is fabulous. We've been coming for years and love the historic atmosphere. Couple that with deliciously prepared food and excellent service and you certainly don't want to miss it. My husband had the bison prime rib. It was incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We chose this resturaunt on a whim as we were drivinging into Estes Park from Denver. We were starved haha we were greeted by a friendly hostess and seated next to a fireplace. Our server Vlad was very nice and made the evening wonderful, we ordered an appetizer of the baked brie. I had the filet and my fiancé had the 10oz prime rib. Both were done to perfection however my fiancés was warm not hot . It was his birthday and they gave us a free slice of cheesecake overall I would recommend it to anyone in the area

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was my wife and I first time visiting Colorado. So glad we dined here. Beautiful rustic building, great food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My wife and I got married at the Black Canyon Inn pavilion and had our reception at the Twin Owls Steakhouse 4 years ago. We eat there every year for our anniversary and we LOVE it every time. Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Val was awesome waiter. Food and wine were delicious. Will come again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The ribeye, lamb chops and onion soup were very good. Our server, Natasha, was very attentive and friendly. The owner came by our table and was very personable.
Special attention was given as this was a birthday celebration. This in its entirety made for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I had the filet mignon that was the best I had ever had. Along with that, the fresh vegetables tasted like they were picked that morning. Our waiter was from the Ukraine and was so helpful and meant our every need. Our water glasses were filled all the time with such polite service. This place deserves very high marks and I will definitely go back there when visiting Estes park.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The resturaunt is nestled in the Rocky Mountains. Elk on the property. Food was amazing! Super attentive and friendly staff. Good special cocktails. Amazing view of the Rockies and a fireplace. Romantic place for dinner!I

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent service! Was so good we came back the next night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Amazing food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This place is amazing! My boyfriend and I went up to Estes Park for the weekend and didn't really know what the dining scene was like up there and were so happy we chanced upon Twin Owls - our food was to die for, our server was the bees knees, there's a gentleman that plays gentle guitar in the background and adds to the already lovely ambiance! Any time we're in Estes, we'll be going to Twin Owls and I recommend you do the same!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The photos on the website did not do justice to the ambiance of the dining room. Try a specialty cocktail and enjoy some Elk or Buffalo. It was a great place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for our 2nd anniversary, our first time there. Food was amazing! Our server was impeccable. Decor and ambiance were beautiful, classy, romantic! Absolutely will return!

Tags: Wood Oven, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Excellent Food, tasty and unique. Elegant, yet simple. We have visited twice, while in the area. Great food, staff, and the price is good. Cozy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We have celebrated our anniversary in Estes Park multiple times and the Twin Owls is a wonderful place to have a romantic meal and not have to dressed to fancy if you want to, the ambience works well for many occasions. Prices might be a little on the higher side but the quality, for us, has always been excellent. Make your reservations if you plan on going.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What an amazing experience. This is a must eat in Estes Park. If you have never had elk, this us the place. Service was amazing, food was exceptional. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always include a trip to Twin Owls when we visit Estes Park, several times per year.

Food is good, service and ambiance is great.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Seem to want to rush us out after dinner :(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our first time to the Twin Owls Steakhouse. It was an outstanding experience. The quality of the food, its preparation, the service staff , and the atmosphere is all first class. A highly recommended locale.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had a lovely time. Our server, Serge, was excellent. Really one of the best servers we have ever had. The food was wonderful and we also enjoyed some excellent wine and champagne. The experience helped reinforce a very special day for us.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We LOVED Twin Owls! Wonderful food, great service, and such a romantic and cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fireplace, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

While on vacation came recommended by a local. Excellent place for dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary this particular Saturday evening.....have dined at this fine restaurant previously. We are from out of town (WYO) and visit occasionally in Estes Park. We really enjoyed all aspects of this dining experience and made our anniversary celebration a special time.....amazing food, great atmosphere, awesome service. The guitar music being played really added much to the ambiance of the occasion! Thank you!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Scenic View, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always have a great experience here. The 4X4 steak and lobster is famous as is the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing all the way around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Atmosphere, service, food. We had elk medallions with sweet potatoes and red curry shrimp. Both meals were outstanding!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

We received a,gift certificate from friends and the meal was fantastic. Our waiter did forget the certificate but it was straightened out. We'll come again for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My husband and I have found our new favorite restaurant in Estes, and will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent meal, wonderful ambiance! They do weddings also, would be amazing place for an event.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The menu was excellent and the food was tasty. However, we ordered our filet mignon "medium" and it was served very rare. Medium is about as well-cooked as you dare order filet mignon, but I order it that way to assure that it's not too rare. Beyond medium, you need to order something other than a filet. Too rare to me means that the center appears and tastes almost uncooked. We returned our meals to have the steaks cooked a little more. While my steak was then served maybe a little overcooked, my wife's was still definitely rare, but now edible. We expected better.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding steak and sides, the best of all the steakhouses we've been to in the area. Great service and a rustic atmosphere that made the evening that much better.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went here for our post wedding dinner and it was fantastic. Everyone was incredibly friendly and we had amazing service and cuisine.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We throughly have enjoyed Twin Owls in the past. I can honestly say this was the first time we have been very disappointed in the food. We ordered the McGreggor house steak plate. The steak was good, but the vegetables were cold and tough, and the potatoes that were once excellent were terrible. The service was very acute to our needs and friendly. This was once our go to restaurant to take friends and enjoy special occasions, sorry to say not anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was lacking. We rarely saw our server and no one explained what the "chef's selection" of cheeses were. This was very disappointing given the high rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.