Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.95mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.08mi

About Twin Owls Steakhouse

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week, with the exception of our Private Events.
Private Events on May 20th and 28th

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: (970) 215-4544

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Event on the following dates in May:
Saturday May 13, 2017
Saturday May 20th, 2017
Sunday May 28th, 2017
Reservation unavailable.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
See All
Romantic (83)
Scenic View (70)
Cozy (60)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Worth the Drive (55)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Local Ingredients (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Groups (30)
Casual (26)
Live Music (18)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (14)
Healthy (11)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful appetizers complimented both traditional entrees and special meals. Great service. Only improvement would be in quality of desserts. Wonderful ambience and food will bring us back again and again.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal. Outstanding smoked salmon appetizer. One of the better prime rib dinners I've had in a while. The cheddar/green chile mashed potatoes are not to be missed. Huge carrot cake for dessert took us two days to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I planned dinner here as a surprise for my wife. I wanted something that was uniquely “Colorado”, and something that was an exceptional dining experience.

Our experience was nothing less than amazing. The atmosphere was exactly what I hoped for, the service “AAA”, and the food was excellent.

Don’t pass this opportunity by...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently amazing food here! The ambiance is a rustic log cabin feel but, fine dining with excellent service. No fancy dress required, unless you want to. It is a great place for dates and special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Everyone was very nice but the entire experience lacked in so many ways. Twin Owls was the one big disappointment of our four day trip to Estes Park to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. They do not serve premium cuts of meat but they charge for it. We had the filet mignon and bison filet and neither were very tender. Both cuts had "grizzle" and they were butchered very sloppily (I first thought it was a charming rusticness until I tried to cut through the meat). They do not employ professional table servers, but they charge for it. Everything was just "ok" at best. The vegetables were refreshing and cooked to a delightful tenderness - but we didn't go there for good vegetables. Meat not seasoned. Bacon wrapped scallops not thought through. Dessert was a waste of calories. I made reservations a month or two in advance but still had to wait quite some time (at least 20 minutes, I believe). It was a big $200 bummer. The only redeeming thing about the evening was the company of my beautiful wife.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We love the Twin Owls McGregor Steak after the welcoming hot-out-of-the-oven bread with oil and balsamic. The reliable menu, coupled with the setting and service make this a part of every visit to Estes Park.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We shared the scallop wrapped in bacon appetizer, there were only 3 scallops, scallops were excellent but the bacon was quite fatty and not thoroughly cooked. For entrees we had the surf and turf and the elk medallions. The lobster was very good but the filet had no texture to it and was mushy in our mouth, we told the waitress who offered options and we took a second lobster tail. The first elk medallion was good, tasty but a bit chewy, the second was more chewy and the third had so much gristle I could barely cut it. I had had enough by then and let it go. They had a guitar player who was very enjoyable and not too loud.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Excellent steak and wild game. Attentive service, beautiful cabin lodge upscale ambiance. Can be very busy so reservations ahead of time recommended or you may not get in. Noise level was a little high.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I left my CC and the Front desk call me befor i left to clam my CC. Next day i pick up and very happy with there service and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Our meal overall was good but fell short of my expectations based on the reviews I had read before choosing this restaurant. I did enjoy the atmosphere and our server was very good. We tried a restaurant varied version of a Manhattan which was excellent. I had the Lobster and 4oz. Filet. The lobster was good but the steak (medium rare) was fair but was almost barey warm instead of a little hotter than I like.. The trio of vegetables that was served was excellently prepared and had great color, crunch and flavor. The biggest flaw of the evening though was on dessert. The Crème brûlée, which is always my go to dessert had an issue. The custard portion was very good in texture and flavor, but the topping was soft and not hard and crunchie at all. It’s like it had been previously prepared and placed in a refrigerator where the topping was allowed to soften with condensation. Overall it was a good experience, but I don’t know if I’d come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The best place to eat in Estes Park. Don't miss out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were told it would be 20 minutes to our reservation, which was correct. We went into bar. Empty tables were dirty so we ordered at bar and asked if we could sit at them. We were told in a non-freindly way that we would be kicked out if they were needed for dinner by the bartender. So we sat at the bar which just opened up. We asked him why he told us that when all tables were empty and we were just waiting a few. Obviously he communicated what he thought was standard operating procedure. He told us he'd give us back our tip gladly. One of us started to engage w/ him. We decided it wasn't worth it and waited by hostess stand. Short ribs and brie app were below expectations. Server was great...female from the Ukraine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! The food was fantastic and we had the best server. Everyone was super friendly and the restaurant was rustic and quaint! So glad we chose to celebrate our anniversary here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was our second visit to this Estes Park mainstay. The ambience is great and the wait staff attentive and friendly. Unfortunately, the parking is very difficult and we had to wait about 20 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Once seated, it was another 10-15 minutes before we had anyone wait on us. The food arrived in a timely fashion and was acceptable quality, but one of our parties steaks was overcooked. For the price we had expected much more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Charming log home with lots of ambiance...a meat lovers dream.
I had the prime rib and my husband the Bison filet, both were outstanding.
Try the appetizer medley also...great flavors for a starter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Enjoy Twin Owls when vacationing in Estes Park. We always dine there a couple of times while there. Nice atmosphere and enjoy the fireplace.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We go at least once a year. Always a good experience and ambiance. I always request special seating and they do everything can to accommodate. Nicest place in Estes Park by far!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The Twin Owls is a classic Rocky Mountain establishment with excellent food and ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Our dinner at Twin Owls was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant- log building, moss rock fireplace, gorgeous dinner and yummy dessert.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Everything was fine except we were at the end of their day, 8pm and service was a little off and they were starting to shut down from a busy weekend, the Elkfest.
The steak was tasty but smaller than expected.
Overall it was a nice place and we would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Our waiter, Val was excellent and very informative - we will see you again next year or before!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Manager was very nice and friendly. Ambiance is nice - cozy and dark with a nice mountain feel. French onion soup was delicious.

Server was not friendly or attentive. Steaks looked beautiful when they came out; however, both were very overcooked. Sent them back and then received one rib eye that was nothing but fat. Manager comped this steak. Second steak, a filet, came out fine - not spectacular - just fine. Received triple dessert sampler from restaurant for anniversary - again, not specatular - just fine (creme brulee - sugar top was not hard; brownie was dry and bread pudding was bland).

This restaurant came highly recommended but did not live up to expectations. Overall, was very disappointed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is a decent restaurant, not nothing outstanding. Food was a bit salty, and service uninspired.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We were given a table next to the kitchen and food service area and there was only one seated table other than ours in the dining room. I asked if we could move away from the noise but the server could not understand me. The dining room was still not full when we left around 630 So that was a disappointment and I suggest that the area be somehow separated if possible.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great Time, Authentic Historic Log dining, Wait staff great, didn't hover but there when needed

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great atmosphere. Friendly staff. Food and selection very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Excellent service! I mean really exceptional service. Great dinner salad, fantastic dessert. Unfortunately, the entrées were disappointing. The trout was not fresh or plump and the rib-eye steak was fatty and gristly. Were it not for the service, ambiance and salad, I would nit be giving this restaurant high marks at all.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 28, 2017

A beautiful setting. The steak has been excellent in the past; tonight it was just good. The potatoes were so dry they were inedible. We started with French Onion soup and it was excellent. The food expediter should NOT ask who had the ____ in a restaurant of this caliber. Food should be accurately set down in front of you and the check should be brought in a black envelope not laid down as a paper receipt. The guitarist was skilled and lovely. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. Overall a fine experience but just a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We were having trouble locating an outstanding restaurant in Estes Park before we found Twin Owls. It was everything we hoped for and then more considerIng the location. Food, service and ambience were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was a bit overpriced for the quality, service was decent. Ambiance of the restaurant was the best part of the evening.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

One of our go to places for dinner in Estes Park, CO. Have been going every year at least once for 15+ years. Kind of a special dinner for us when we are out here for vacation. Reliably very good over that period of time.Love the old log home ambiance. Kind of a mountain upscale feel to it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Twin Oaks is always on our agenda when we visit Estes Park. The food is delicious beyond belief! Sergei has served us the last two visits; he gives superior, personable service. The steaks are almost fork-tender. The desserts are to die for. We would recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our traditional "first night" dinner spot when we return to Estes. Never disappoints. Varied from my usual elk medallions for the signature fillet. Wonderful. Good to reserve your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had our wedding reception at Twin Owls Steakhouse 10 years ago and finally made it back for our anniversary. Food was delicious, service was good and the backdrop (Lumpy Ridge) is beautiful.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We go there quite often. It is one of our favorite places

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

I'm not sure what was going on the night we attending, but the food and service were not as good as 3 years ago. The bread was good. My steak was undercooked twice, French Onion soup was just ok. Also tried the trio of desserts, which were just ok. I think our waitress had too many tables upstairs and downstairs. The best part of the meal was the music. A great guy singing and playing guitar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a treat to visit this beautiful restaurant. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. Delicious desserts. Nice service. Recommended for anyone who wants to enjoy a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We went to Twin Owls Steakhouse on a trip to Estes Park and we had a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting. The service was great and the food was delicious. Thanks for a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Loved our evening at the Twin Owls! My husband had the elk steak. He asked for some changes for his sides, which our waitress happily complied. The log historic building was beautiful, and fit the Estes Park vibe. I had the filet with roasted potatoes, excellent. I want to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.