About Twin Owls Steakhouse

800 MacGregor Avenue
Estes Park, CO 80517
View Larger Map

The Twin Owls Steakhouse is a beautiful log cabin built in the 20's. It has a warm candlelit ambiance and 3 moss rock fireplaces. We feature on our menu various steaks, seafood, game, poultry and more.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Friday-Sunday 5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
Reservations recommended.

Cross Street:
Rt 34 Bypass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 586-9344

Website:
http://www.twinowls.net/

Executive Chef:
Brant Price

Private Party Facilities:
The Steakhouse has a variety of private dining rooms all with log walls and massive stone fireplaces. We can accommodate private parties from 10 to 200.

Private Party Contact:
Sandra: (970) 215-4544

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Twin Owls Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Fireplace (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Cozy (43)
Good for a Date (43)
Romantic (41)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Historic (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Scenic View (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Live Music (21)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Family Style (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is always a great place. Tonight th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 21 hours ago

This is always a great place. Tonight the portions were oversized and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered scallops and fish filet. The sc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Ordered scallops and fish filet. The scallops were very good, but the fish filet was overcooked. The live music was boring, but pleasant and not too loud.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We celebrated our 15th Anniversary and V ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our 15th Anniversary and Valentine's Day at Twin Oaks and really enjoyed the overall experience! We ordered the MacGregor filet and the Elk steak dinners and the food was excellent! We enjoyed the soft guitar music in the background and the atmosphere was warm, cozy and very relaxing! Our waitress was wonderful as well. Overall dining experience...one of my favorites! We will definitely go back for a special occasion again. It is a little more pricey than what we are used to for dining but worth the little extra for the atmosphere.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, terrific ambiance! Light gui ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal, terrific ambiance! Light guitar music was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 4th annual visit. And on t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our 4th annual visit. And on this visit, I proposed to my everything. They knew I had something special in mind and accommodated completely without fail. Very consistent with their wonderful local offerings, great cocktails and a wonderful ambiance. Best of all, the wait staff was wonderful and has always been their greatest strength...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our engagement, and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were celebrating our engagement, and couldn't have asked for a better dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this restaurant to be quite exp ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We found this restaurant to be quite expensive for the quality of the meal

the meal was average at best

We were celebrating an anniversary and were seated behind the bar instead of the main dining areas

We are local people and will not return or recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

As usual, the food and service were supe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual, the food and service were superb. We shared the scallop, mushroom, and elk appetizer as well as the French Onion soup. Our respective filets were cooked to perfection.

Oki was very attentive and served our food at a timely manner--we never felt rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't impressed with the food for the m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wasn't impressed with the food for the money. Guy on the guitar was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The service was prompt and friendly, eve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was prompt and friendly, even though it was a very busy night. The food was stellar and the wine menu is fairly extensive, and we got a good recommendation on what to pair with our food. Additionally, the restaurant itself is quite lovely inside if you like cozy, log cabin decor (which I do). A perfect way to wrap up a day exploring Estes Park or RMNP (just make sure to change out of your hiking clothes first)!

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twin Owls was a nice steakhouse. We were ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Twin Owls was a nice steakhouse. We were seated in time. Our waiter from Moldova was very friendly and knowledgeable. The pre meal fresh baked bread with olive oil was really good. My wife had the scallops. Which came with 6 really good sized scallops cooked almost perfect with great flavor. I ordered the Ribeye that came with small roasted potatoes which I didn't care for. The steak was ok it lacked flavor. My wife ordered some esparigus which she didn't like at all.

Overall it was good dinner with a nice romantic environment which is what we were looking for in the first place. Great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Their food is always exceptional and the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Their food is always exceptional and the service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very very satisfied with the who ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were very very satisfied with the whole dining experience! If I could have an elk steak like that everyday, I'd be a happy person! Wait Staff was attentive and friendly! So happy! We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, loved our night at Twin Owls ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love, love, loved our night at Twin Owls. Started in the bar where the bartender helped us select the right red wine. Then into the dining room for a very delicious meal. Blair was our server - VERY PROFESSIONAL and AMERICAN! Twin Owls dining and customer service puts the Broadmore in Colorado Springs to shame. Thanks Twin Owls.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is rustic yet refined. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The atmosphere is rustic yet refined. The service was excellent our water glasses were never empty. The food came promptly but without being rushed. The dishes were flavorful. The creamy chicken soup was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NOT TO OUR TASTE It was impossible to f ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

NOT TO OUR TASTE

It was impossible to find anything on the menu that was not marinated, smothered in gravy.highly seasoned., or all three. I tried to order the Caesar Salad with filet mignon without marinated meat but was told that was not possible. I ordered a pork chop that was supposed to come in a cheese sauce. I asked to have it served without. Even then it was a highly seasoned, overcooked thin chop. I am sure there are many people who would enjoy this type of cooking but my husband and I are not in that group. We are more purists, enjoying the true taste of the meet or fish with light enhancement. The ambience of the place is wonderful. We had a table near the fireplace, perfect forthe cold windy evening. The wine list offered fine choices at reasonable prices and the dessert offerings were outstanding, especially the sampler that offered the opportunity to try three desserts, all delicious. The service was attentive though our waiter kept addressing just the two of us as "ladies and gentlemen" . It made him seem robotic and us to feel as if he did not really see us. This is the right restaurant for those who enjoy hearty highly seasoned food in a beautiful spot with good service.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great steaks, lodge atmosphere, backgrou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steaks, lodge atmosphere, background music. What's not to like?

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice. Atmosphere is rustic cabin f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice. Atmosphere is rustic cabin feel. Table by the fireplace is really nice too.

Service was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely evening celebrating a bi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a lovely evening celebrating a birthday. The staff were efficient, friendly, and helpful with menu selections. Both of our dinners were beautifully presented and delicious. The ambiance of the log house is warm and inviting. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Wife & I Got FOOD POISONING.....!!!!. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My Wife & I Got FOOD POISONING.....!!!!..

We had a bad experience before but thought we give them another chance. The food wasn't good before also. However we didn't get food poisoning before. But we got food poisoning this time, so we're never going back. $128 is what it cost. Definitely not worth it....!!!!!!.....

Kurt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The Appetizer Tour for Two is amazing ev ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Appetizer Tour for Two is amazing every time. Such a wonderful dining experience for an intimate evening. Twin Owls is a "Must" every time you're in Estes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was amazing if you like histo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Atmosphere was amazing if you like historic style restaurants and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful place with a roaring fire and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beautiful place with a roaring fire and lodge feel. Selection of cuts was not as robust as I expected and it was a bit pricey. Our waitress was lovely and attentive but did a great job giving us space to just enjoy our date.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was absolutely fantastic! Nobo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic! Nobody came to even say good evening, though, for almost 15 minutes. I am guessing the server was overburdened. Her timing throughout the entire experience was... how shall I say... off. That said, the food alone makes this place worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The meat was amazing and cooked to perfe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The meat was amazing and cooked to perfection. The sides could use some work, the potatoes were on the dry side and veggies were hardly cooked or seasoned. Great service, our waiter was knowledgeable and fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I decided to try Twin owl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I decided to try Twin owls on our recent trip to Estes Park. We we dressed casually in jeans but there were customers dressed from casual to a man in a tuxedo. Beautiful log cabin feel to the place. We were seated upstairs on the balcony where there were only two tables each for a party of two. We felt a little strange being up there by ourselves but the place quickly filled up and we had a nice view of the main dining floor. They had a live acoustic guitar players that was very nice and not to loud. We were able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. Our waitress Okie was very nice. We felt bad that she had to keep coming up the big flight of stairs to wait on us but she was always pleasant.

Their parking lot is small and since it had snowed, it was a little slick. Parking is always tricky in Estes Park anyway.

The bring you a baskets of torn up crusty bread pieces that you can dip in their olive oil and spice blend. I could have made a meal on just the bread!

We had the appetizer for two. Bacon wrapped scallops, stuffed mushrooms, and elk meat. I had never tried elk meat before and I must say I was surprised how tender and delicious it was. I will probably order it as my main course next time we go to Twin owls.

Their drinks were mixed well and their Moscato was very good.

My husband had the fillet and his only negative comment was that there was just to much stuff smothering it. He would order it again but ask for it to be "naked" instead of having all the toppings. A good piece of steak like a fillet doesn't need anything added to it in our opinion!

I had the braised short ribs and they were tender and delicious.

It is a tad pricey but we got a lot of food and the service was great. We will definitely come here again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely enjoyed this restaurant gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We absolutely enjoyed this restaurant great service romantic. Wonderful food. Worth every dollar. We enjoyed our anniversary and was treated special. Thank you

Tags: , Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were so happy to have "dis ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

My wife and I were so happy to have "discovered" this restaurant on our first winter trip to Estes Park. I know the Twin Owls is a steakhouse, but my wife had never had any better duck anywhere. I had a great piece of barramundi--I didn't want the meal to end. Terrific tiramisu--big enough to share. My wife's house salad was cold and crisp. My special starter of the night was a cup of salmon ginger soup. It was a bit salty, but good nonetheless.

Our waitress, Tasha, was attentive, but not overbearing. Great smile. I would definitely make another reservation at the Twin Owls.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for an anniversary. Great meal ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went here for an anniversary. Great meal and the live guitar playing was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go in Colo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of our favorite places to go in Colorado for a special occasion....this visit was for our 35th anniversary! Great food and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in a unique log cabin set ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very good food in a unique log cabin setting. A little skimpy on the bacon wrapped scallops (3 for $12) but they tasted very good.

All in all a very good experience. Waitress was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Great presentation of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service. Great presentation of food with soft guitar player in the background. Warm fire on a chilly evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were delicious, well-prepared, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our meals were delicious, well-prepared, and hot. Twin Owls is the best restaurant in Estes.

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good was excellent! Great experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The good was excellent! Great experience for our family get together for New Years Eve!

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at the Twin Owls Steakhouse fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at the Twin Owls Steakhouse for dinner on New Years Eve. The place has a special charm and the service was wonderful... The added bonus is their prices were good and they did not inflate their menu costs just because it was New Years Eve...

Tags: , Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Val was our waiter he was great. Food a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Val was our waiter he was great. Food and service wonderful as always

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Cozy, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner with our two kids supe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to dinner with our two kids super excited to eat at the twin owls. We loved the atmosphere, and the service was friendly and adequate, with a decent wine list however the meal was less than exciting. The salads were uninspired and not fresh, And the french onion soup weak (chicken broth with sautéed onions.)The vegetables were all cooked together so some were cooked correctly while others were raw or over cooked. The chili mashed tasted like instant potatoes and were inedible. My wife's elk dish was cooked incorrectly and each medallion was done to a different temperature. My prime rib was bland. Kids meals were fine. We skipped dessert and we just wanted to get out of the restaurant. Meal was over 200.00 bucks.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was cooked perfectly. The fires ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was cooked perfectly. The fireside table very romantic. Our waiter was was conscientious and pleasant. Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite in Estes Park. Entree ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always a favorite in Estes Park. Entrees are around $25 to $40 so not the cheapest place in Estes.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Ambiance was good. Howev ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was great. Ambiance was good. However I don't think it was worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.