About Tuyo

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-1:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Specials

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. Feb. 2017

Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

All Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/Weds Feb.

Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. Feb. 2017

Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Small Plate orders for the price of $10. Offer Only Valid Tuesday's and Wednesday's for the month of February 2017. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you for considering us for your dining experience!. Special valid Feb 22, 2017 - Feb 28, 2017 on Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

All Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/Weds Feb.

Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Full Bottles of Wine. Offer Only Valid Tuesdays and Wednesdays for the month of February 2017. Half-bottles of Wines and Champagnes are not included in this offer. Full bottles of Champagnes are also not included in this offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very much for considering us for your dining experience !. Special valid Feb 22, 2017 - Feb 28, 2017 on Wednesdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Cozy (9)
Fireplace (9)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

If you're looking for a small, quiet, intimate place ti eat with a view then Tuyo is a grwat choice. The service was outstanding, food was pretty good, the butternut squash soup with tempura shrimp is a must, only negative is the portion sizes didn't match the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for the tasting menu, nothing special, nothing impressed me... They totally damaged the foie-gras mixing it with peanut butter. I expected more... and the final price of the tasting meny with wine pairing is the same as a Michelin Star in NYC, it doesn't make ANY sense... Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The wine pairing price was different from the menu posted on their website. The meat wasn't well cooked even we asked for it twice. We asked to change the 18% of gratuity but they refused due to restaurant policy. Other than that, the tuna carpaccio was good and the Maine lobster too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved the suggestions that Dante made!!! Two thumbs up!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my 50th Birthday treat, wasn't over impressed. The food wasn't or the wine was up to what one would expect for the cost. We had to ask a number of times for silverware. We had the tasting menu, with the wine pairing. One of the courses 2 of us didn't want, the waiter didn't offer us any substitute. Overall I would say spend your money somewhere else!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfect business lunch - great menu variety, low noise level, plenty of space between tables, fast service and good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to Tuyo with my In- laws and had a wonderful time! The restaurant had great views of the Freedom Tower. The service and food truly amazing!!! I had the Butternut squash soup a must try.

I would differently go back just had the best time at at Tuyo.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Tuyo was definitely a memorable experience. We enjoyed the wine pairing with the tasting menu, and were very satisfied with our meal. Our server was an absolute pleasure to speak with and every other person who brought food, bread, drinks, etc was very knowledgeable and very kind! Definitely a wonderful birthday dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The cuisine was exquisite, the service above average, prompt, accommodating, views are spectacular, the ambience accompanied by the music was extraordinary. I will highly recommend this restaurant as a place to enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great restaurant, fantastic view of American Airlines Arena and Downtown Miami, and delicious food. Chef gifts while waiting for the food. Unique different tastes and warm cozy environment. I would recommend for a date or a formal dinner. The waiter provided exceptional advice as to choosing our food and what was his favorite and everyone that served us were very professional.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great destination restaurant. Service and food presentation were exceptional. My group really enjoyed being there and we hope to return soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfection as always! Perfect service, food and wine pairing with a beautiful view. Peaceful and romantic, not sceney.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

the tasting menu isn't cheap but it was the best meal i have had in a while. food you can't forget!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant is on the 9th floor of a culinary school. Not much else around the area. We had 8pm reservation and the hostess called to confirm. She was exceptional giving us all sorts of info about our reserved table and directions. When you walk in into the building's lobby, the guard calls the hostess to let her know the party is on its way up. It is a nice touch to be greeted by name and be seated. The views of the restaurant are Northwest so you get a view of the arena, some of the bay, and few buildings. It sparkles at night. I thought the fireplace with a few lounge tables was a nice touch. It was a slow night, so our service seemed very attentive. Food did take a bit to come out, but we we in no hurry. Food presentation was on point. The amuse bouche was a nice surprise as well as sweet chocolate treat at the end. They were out of the samosas, so we tried the lobster ravioli, which was rich and tasty. The foie gras was prepared with a pumpkin toast, jelly and a special peanut butter - sounds odd, but it was a great combo. I had perfect scallops and my companion loved the pork tenderloin entree. I would say this place is great for a quiet date or a business meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

FABULOUS AS ALWAYS, TUYO CONTINUES THE GREAT FLORIBBEAN TRADITION OF MIAMI CUISINE.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had the tasting menu. I usually don't because invariably there is something I don't like or don't eat. Here every course was great, Hamachi tiradito, scallops, Tuyo's version of ropa vieja, pana cotta and something else I don't recall I think. We were neither neglected nor hurried through our meal. We will certainly go back and take visitors from out of town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great views of the city, very attentive wait staff, but after all, you patronize a restaurant for the food.

Some items were bland-others too salty to eat. The pecan pie was Excellent! Martinis were good.

I thought it was too expensive for the value though. I would recommend it ONLY for the ambiance & presentation. The food still needs to be worked on. Thank you; I apologize for my frankness!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent view, great food, friendly staff. Love the decor

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing entree start at $30. Apps are delicious great view great for special

Occasions and business outings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Amazing food, great views and service. Fresh farm to table ingredients, artistic food presentation. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had concert tickets for 8 downtown and Tuyo's doesn't open until 6. They accommodated us early and we had a very relaxing not rushed meal (Including their famous 6 course tasting menu) and left at 7:35 PM in time for our show. Our waiter Palton was superb and the hostess and Manager Sarah were all to be commended The food---amazing as always!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Don't know if Norman Van Aiken is still there but the dishes are superb and the service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Exquisite cuisine and service. The view was phenomenal as well. Very romantic. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had dinner here prior to a Book Fair event. Great view, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very delicious!!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A mixed bag. Appetizers ( samosa and beet salad ) were good I had snapper which was excellent but my wife's scallops had a weird almost too briny, metallic taste. We were there for Adele concert and had no problem with service. After the concert the valet had our car sitting out front of the restaurant waiting for us. Definitely the way to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The service was atrocious, our order was taken 45 min after we sat down, the food took forever to come, in spite of letting them know we needed to be finished before 7:30 to go to a show. When the food arrived one was cold, the other overcooked and instead of meat it was all fat and gristle! we got up and left as did many others...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Worst dinning experience ever we were there for over 90 minutes prior to a concert and we could not get our food we asked for the check for drinks and left. Will never return ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My wife and I were looking very much forward to dine here prior to a concert at the Arena next door which was at 730pm. We arrived punctually at 6pm and were seated right away. Our drink orders where expedited well. Then we placed our food order, so far so good. However, after that we heard nothing! We even ordered from the 'concert menu' which we expected would be served in good time. But we kept waiting for our food. After 50 minutes we asked the manager when our food is being served? He said he would check but didn't come back. Then at 705pm with no news we had no choice but to get up and leave the restaurant in order to make the concert on time. We are normally very patient people and we understand this is part of a culinary school with students etc but this was just too much with no attention from staff to our problem. We had a deadline to make for our concert but irrespective one should not wait over one hour for even the first dish to be served. Sorry to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Nice views, good food (small portions, fine with us), slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Did not enjoy my dining experience this time at Tuyo. Server was not helpful, and several times seemed unavailable. The portions this time were much smaller, and with my 3 course, none of which tasted good. Understand its students, so maybe that's why its hit or miss.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had a good time, I a very nice place for a date, it wasn't crowded.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was our first time here, and I was very pleased with the entire experience overall. Great flavors, great ambiance, and great view with absolutely impeccable service. We had a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great place and great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have been to the restaurant 5-7 times and always enjoyed the menu, service , atmosphere and view. I made the reservation for 8:45 to celebrate my husband's birthday after a cultural event downtown. We arrived 15 mins early and had to wait 35 minutes to be seated and there is no seating or a bar. I understood with a late night reservation. The issue is once seated my husband and I decided to order the Tasting Menu with the wine pairings. An expensive , yet great choice for this restaurant knowing the food and service in the past., it's a culinary arts school! The waiter took our order without any engagement, just asked if we wanted the foie gras as it was $15.00 more, we did. After 10+ minutes are first course/salad arrived sans a wine pairing for 12 minutes. When the waiter came he said this is a Sauvignon Blanc and poured a small pour. The couple next to us ordered the Miami Spice Menu and an average price bottle of wine and the waiter gushed over them about the vineyards, the barrells and process, etc.? After our 1st course I decided to complain to the manager as I didn't want to go through this for 4 more courses. When you order a Tasting Menu with wine pairings, you expect to learn more about the food, the preparation, why the sommelier and chef determined this menu and wine pairing etc. There was absolutely no engagement with us whatsoever from our waiter. The service and engagement was improved 75% once I complained and the Foie Gras was provided complementarily vs. the upcharge and we were given a split of champagne and a birthday dessert and candle in addition to our 5 courses in the tasting menu. The food was superb. I realized our waiter was inexperienced, yet service levels improved from when we first arrived. So the night was saved. I think training is needed as the other waiters were very responsive and professional. Last, the sommelier could not answer our question about the wine and seemed surprised that we would ask him?

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful food - always a new experience! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful view. Great food and quality shows in excellent flavor profiles with a new twist on some favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My boyfriend, myself and a couple who are good friends enjoyed Tuyo's Miami Spice Menu. The view from the top of the building is wonderful. The wait staff was attentive and personable and professional. Our meals were delicious...the choices were varied and well-prepared. The hostess was gracious and our waiter, Max was quite good. We trusted him to select the wine pairings.

Wine is expensive one of us who order a glass of Moscato paid $18 dollars...the wine flights were $19 for two moderate size glasses. But the wines were good.

We added adventure by taking the Metrorail and the Metromover to College Station Bayside and walking about a block. I think Miami Spice make Tuyo more affordable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We visited Tuyo again on a recent Saturday night with another couple, long time friends. We decided to try the Miami Spice menu and were not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were exemplary. I have been to Tuyo many times, and always have a great meal and am never disappointed. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

From the security guard to the hostess, waiter, food server ( delivered & described each item), valet it was anabsolutely phenomenal dining experience. Our waiter Eric was amazing, his recommendation on wine pairing and attentiveness were

Awesome!😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is exceptional. The wait staff is seems to be hit or miss, with periods of great service followed by sudden lapses. The only complaint though, would be the closeness of some of the tables and the acoustics of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2016

It's not often enough that you enter a public establishment, restaurant or otherwise, and feel the care and warmth that Tuyo and its staff offers. Small touches are everywhere, from the initial greeting to the car waiting when you exit, and in between, the food, service, atmosphere and view of the city and bay are all a cut above just about every other high end restaurant. It doesn't look like much when you enter on the street level, but the elevator takes you somewhere else altogether. The Miami Spice menu was excellent from start to finish, including my crispy skin bass in prosciutto pepper broth. Desserts too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Hostess was excellent. Not only she greeted and sat customers but picked up tables ; a hard working employee. Not impressed with the bar service, the martinis were nothing to write home about. Wine glasses were beautiful, but the servings were samplers instead of real drinks. Was not impressed with the food at all and the dessert was not acceptable. View was spectacular. Glad we tried it though!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I went for the Miami Spice menu and it was delicious. Both my companion and I loved their food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed this place thoroughly. The food was exquisite and the view was breathtaking. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place for a date night.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good but nothing outstanding. There are better option in Miami for this price range.

However the place is cosy and the scenic view is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good but below expectations and they forgot the wine (only served after starters)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Impeccable service. Beautiful scenic views of the Miami Skyline by night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.