Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tuyo

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-1:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Specials

Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/ Wed in May

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. May. 2017

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Full Bottles of Wine 50% off on Tues/ Wed in May

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Full Bottles of Wine. Offer Only Valid Tuesdays and Wednesdays for the month of May 2017. Half-bottles of Wines and Champagnes are not included in this offer. Full bottles of Champagnes are also not included in this offer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you so very much for considering us for your dining experience !. Special valid May 16, 2017 - May 31, 2017 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

2 for $10 on Small Plates; Tues.&Wed. May. 2017

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Small Plates orders for the price of $10. Offer Only Valid Tuesday's and Wednesday's for the month of May 2017. Excludes Tax and Tip. Thank you for considering us for your dining experience!. Special valid May 16, 2017 - May 31, 2017 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Scenic View (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fireplace (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Good: Very nice view and small intimate setting. Romantic and the bathrooms were spotless and very beautiful. My family enjoyed their meals immensely and the pricing was normal for a nice restaurant in the area ($20-28 per meal).

The bad;
Waitress was ok but pretty curt when we asked about a vegetarian option for my child. She was unwilling to go see if they could make simple scrambled eggs or anything other than french fries. $6 for a small plate of fries seems highly unreasonable especially when the kids meals including meat were $10-12. Not to mention my kid ate fries for a meal. To make matters worse we overheard our waitress saying to the table next to us that she would check with the chef to see if he could make something else for them. Disappointing.

I wouldn't recommend for vegans unless you call ahead and specifically ask that they make it vegan (and make them list each ingredient in the process). When my vegan sister asked one of the chefs about the pad thai he insisted it was vegan (The pad thai had egg in in when I ordered it). Not sure if they know what vegan means.

Overall the rest of my family enjoyed their food so I was happy that I found this place. Would be willing to go back for romantic outing with my meat eating hubby.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was fantastic. Beautiful presentation, imbecile service, mouthwatering food. May I make my reservation for next year now? Can't wait that long, I'll have to create my own occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as usual, the service was not as great as usual. The wait staff was not on point.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Impeccable restaurant, wonderful food, the duck is a must!!. Elegant ambiance with breathtaking skyline view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A restaurant where you can have delicious food, a great view & enjoy table conversation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent overall - i am always amazed at the quality of the food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Simply perfect, went for my wife's birthday and everyone from the valet to chef made my wife's night memorable. The food was excellent, tatesful, beautiful decor. The view is gorgeous, low music, and dimmed lights, very romantic. We will definitely go back and recommend it to everyone for date, anniversary, bday dinner, etc.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a fantastic three course meal. Service, food and overall experience was fantastic.

Will surely return.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delicious testing menu, very modern place and food. If you try for sure you will repeit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was awesome. Service was even better. The valet parking was not good as the attendant sat in his car a good ten minutes as he was on his phone before he came and got my keys

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were greeted by the concierge of the Miami Culinary Institute lobby whom had instructed us to the 8th (top floor). Quite a nice safety feature of a restaurant located in Downtown Miami. Once the elevator hit the top floor and the doors opened welcoming us to an exquisitely decorated and dimly lit host foyer the experience had already exceeded our expectations. Philip was our waiter, and he was very attentive and accommodating to us. We ordered the Confit Duck Spring Rolls to start, which I will say that although the spring roll wrap itself was uncooked ( I personally prefer a crunchy texture for spring rolls) the overall taste was impeccable! After we were complimented by the chef with the most delicious hors d'oeuvres I had ever tasted. It was topped off with a duck prosciutto house made and aged a couple months, can you say culinary work of excellence!? For our main courses we ordered (and shared) Pan Roasted Breast of Rohan Duck and the Maine Lobster Tagliatele in Fra Diavolo. The duck was prepared well done for us as asked, but still very tender; and the different flavors of the dish complimented each other flawlessly. The Lobster Tagliatele was phenomenal. As a New Englander, I have tasted some pretty unfortunate Maine lobster dishes in Miami. This plate was just outstanding. The lobster tasted young, and was also large in size. The english peas along with the young artichokes worked so well together, I will definitely consider that fusion for future home cooking. And can we talk presentation? Every plate was too attractive to eat, however, once the first bite is taken you cannot go back from there. For dessert we ordered the Pistachio Cake and I mentioned it was my boyfriends birthday cake, such savory flavors were blended into a work of art. The pastry chef had prepared him a complimentary dessert of Peanut White Nougat, and Baked Alaska Cake, with Happy Birthday written in chocolate. Outstanding chefs. Amazing overall experience. Will return very soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Organic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I normally don't review a restaurant unless I have a bad experience, but I had to take the time to briefly review my amazing experience at Tuyo. First, the restaurant is beautiful and quiet. I went on a Saturday evening (7:30 PM) and the restaurant was not particularly crowded. The restaurant has stunning views of the American Airlines Arena and the Freedom Tower. The food was absolutely excellent and I had the best lamb I have ever tasted. The only thing better than the view and food was the service. Everyone was incredibly friendly and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the ingredients used by the chef. While he was not coming to the table every other minute, our server was clearly aware of our eating pace and each plate arrived with great timing. We were never wanting for water or drinks, and our silverware was constantly changed after every dish. I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Over priced, service was great, the food not so much and the wines were so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was great as well as the view. A little pricey but worth it. We didn't understand why there weren't more people there.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A beautiful restaurant, the food was fantastic and the service excellent. Very impressed with the level of service. Easy to get to and the parking is accessible, free and very close by. Great restaurant to go to anytime but especially right before any event at the American Airlines arena or at Bayside. Loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excelente en todos los sentidos, volveré

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food, ambiance, customer service are excellent!! Very good place in Miami

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Service very good
Food tasty and well presented
Prices affordable
Great views of bay and city
Very hospitable

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went for my 21st birthday. A quiet dinner with my mom and we were the only one there. It was nice to have a gourmet dinner in a quit setting with a beautiful view on the 8th floor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful scenic views of Miami
Excellent tasting food
Great service from start to finish

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food . Portions too small . Because food tastes good & not enough for the $.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nice service, very good seafood, and we were offered nice free appetizers, and nice complimentary dessert
View is fantastic from the top floor of the Miami Culinary Academy building.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great restaurant not really busy but service is the best The I'll be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful from beginning to end. The manager himself took us up to the restaurant, and after dinner took us to meet the chef. I was surprised to learn Chef Van Aiken had left, but Tuyo is still a high quality fine dining establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious and wonderful view!! Excellent before Miami Heat dinner high end choice. Great parking accommodation if you ask! Quiet and modern feel

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Ein interessanter Ausblick verbunden mit einem Menü auf hohem Niveau. Aber die Klimatisierung war geradezu eisig und der Service entsprach keinesfalls dem geforderten Preis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome food. Wonderful service. Beautiful views. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent in everything, good food, prices, services. I will be back soon

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A bit pricey but outstanding food and service. If you go for the first time I recommend the tasting (you can get 5 or 6 courses for a set price, portions are smaller than regular but still well served). My lady and I went for our anniversary and we were very impressed, and the view at night is nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is actually the best restaurant I have been to. Service was something I've never seen before. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

If you're looking for a small, quiet, intimate place ti eat with a view then Tuyo is a grwat choice. The service was outstanding, food was pretty good, the butternut squash soup with tempura shrimp is a must, only negative is the portion sizes didn't match the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went for the tasting menu, nothing special, nothing impressed me... They totally damaged the foie-gras mixing it with peanut butter. I expected more... and the final price of the tasting meny with wine pairing is the same as a Michelin Star in NYC, it doesn't make ANY sense... Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The wine pairing price was different from the menu posted on their website. The meat wasn't well cooked even we asked for it twice. We asked to change the 18% of gratuity but they refused due to restaurant policy. Other than that, the tuna carpaccio was good and the Maine lobster too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food is standard fare at Tuyo, and this evening was no different for my wife and I. We where surprised by the amount of 20 somethings coming here for valentines, and the associated noise level with these patrons was higher than normal, but that's the patrons, not the staff or restaurant.

Our waiter was excellent at making pairing suggestions beyond what the menu recommended, and we never felt rushed to flip the table.

Our only disappointment was tasting that the cafe seemed to come out of a Nescafe machine instead of an espresso machine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved the suggestions that Dante made!!! Two thumbs up!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my 50th Birthday treat, wasn't over impressed. The food wasn't or the wine was up to what one would expect for the cost. We had to ask a number of times for silverware. We had the tasting menu, with the wine pairing. One of the courses 2 of us didn't want, the waiter didn't offer us any substitute. Overall I would say spend your money somewhere else!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Perfect business lunch - great menu variety, low noise level, plenty of space between tables, fast service and good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to Tuyo with my In- laws and had a wonderful time! The restaurant had great views of the Freedom Tower. The service and food truly amazing!!! I had the Butternut squash soup a must try.
I would differently go back just had the best time at at Tuyo.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.