Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Tuyo

Tuyo is located on the top floor of the Miami Culinary Institute, offering a spectacular view of the bay and the Miami skyline.

415 NE 2nd Ave. Building 9,
Miami, FL 33132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:30am-1:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
North East 5 Street & North East Second Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 237-3200

Website:
http://www.tuyomiami.com/

Catering:
Available

Parking Details:
Free Parking in Lot Available as well as Valet parking for $7.00.

Public Transit:
Metrorail

Executive Chef:
Victor Santos

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuyo is available for Special events. Please call (305) 237-3200 for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Miami Culinary Institute at Miami Dade College opens the doors of our world-class facilities for your group event or corporate outing. The Food and Wine Demonstration Theater sets the perfect stage for your networking or team-building event, workshop, video conferencing, fundraiser or party.

Tuyo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Scenic View (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I wouldn't recommend the Miami Spice Menu, it wasn't very tasteful. I been to Tuyo before for lunch and the food was great, but not this time around.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The messages I received the day of telling me to confirm my reservation with them or else have it cancelled were off-putting. I got over it once we arrived and were welcomed and seated. The views are lovely for sure and the food was mostly of the quality we expected. The ceviche didn't impress and the pork belly was not as tender and succulent as a top rated chef should make it. The items we tried from the Miami Spice menu were great, especially the corn and conch chowder. Both dessert pies were deconstructed which we didn't care for but after everything else we had eaten it didn't matter so much. Service was good; the hostess was friendly. Our waiter only repeated the menu description when we asked him to tell us about certain items so he missed that opportunity to really sell us on the food; he also didn't spend much time checking on us, and so missed the chance to sell more to drink. The men who brought the bread and delivered the food to the table, though, were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent, as always! We've been back several times and never disappointed. Be sure to call them and ask for a North window table to enjoy the view of Downtown Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I wouldn't rush back, it was just okay. Food was good but a very limited menu, service was slow on a relatively not so busy evening and the environment was rather stark and plain. Felt like a corporate dining room

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Intimate room with amazing views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We tried several dishes and as a test kitchen one expects a bit more experimentation. One also expects a reasonable price for experimenting. Sadly I had a dish that I could find I any Cuban or fish restaurant .... flavors average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We ate here Wednesday evening before the Ed Sheehan concert at American Airlines arena because of its close location. The food was very creative and delicious with new takes on traditional dishes. Service was outstanding. We highly recommend this restuarant for any occasion. Our dinner plus drinks, tax, and tip averaged about $70 a person but was well worth the cost and good value for everything we had!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We went here for Miami Spice Lunch. We had difficulty finding the parking so we had to park a few blocks down. We had the Soup- which was not warm. The entree- burger and the fish was OK but the dessert- Coconut Flan was great . I am glad we went for Miami Spice b/c I wouldn't pay anymore then the special price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Just love this place. Nice and quiet, beautiful view, 4 star service, and the menu is always interesting. The menu has been changing every two weeks and such wonderful choices. Try it during "Miami Spice" you won't be sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Victor the chef is brilliant!
The service, ambiance and people who work there are fabulous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was not the first time we ate at Tuyo, and the portions in this occasion were much smaller than previous visits, maybe the description of the plates gave us an impression of a meal that was not happening, still tasty though, service could be friendlier, not that it was really bad.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I went there for Miami Spice.
The food was very good.
However, I noticed a few mistakes concerning service that shouldn't happen in this kind of high end restaurant. The waiter when pouring the wine was acting so fast that he dropped drops of wine in my glass of water or on the table.
This shouldn't happen in this kind of high-end restaurant where you would expect service to be perfect. He should pay more attention.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The place smelled fishy. The fish was undercooked and I have my doubts if it was grouper (I think it was cod) The menu they published in the web as Spice menu does not correspond to the lunch spice menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. We were seated in a great table with view of Freedom Tower, AAA and Biscayne Boulevards. Unfortunately we thought that not having a place where you can wait for your table was a huge minus. Also the elevator had a very strong and fouled smell.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very impressive. Food was excellent. Will come to eat there again.
Everyone was pleasant and professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food as always and the staff is even better! Thank you guys for making our night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Nicole was our server. She was amazing and very attentive. Nicole provided great recommendations and made the experience very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Impressive view of Downtown Miami, classy, well laid out, upscale, very attentive staff. extensive wine list. We went for the Miami Spice menu and of course a couple of the group ordered off the menu which made prices jump dramatically.
Food presentation was world-class, creative and fresh. Appetizers were tasty. Entrees not so. One steak was ordered medium and came well and tasted like it was cooked in odd grease. The Bass looked good, smelled good but had very little taste in spite of the "production" of the wait staff pouring a light drizzle of some kind of broth once it was served at the table. Did not have to ask for water, bread or wine, staff was on point about that. Desserts were a work of art but not very tasty or filling.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

As usual the chef was amazing. We went for Miami Spice and it was fabulous. The service however was not good. Funny thing is I've been to this restaurant before and on 2 previous occasions I've had the same waiter. Go figure.
While he said knowledgeable about the menu, giving you the info and details of what's available and how it's made, he's impatient and makes you feel like you're taking up his time. Tuyo isn't the most upscale restaurant in Miami by any means, but it's definitely "up there" and guests shouldn't be made to feel like they're unwelcome or being an inconvenience to the staff. The staff is there to be servisable and helpful. This gentleman has served me 3 times and I always feel like i dressed
Up and spent my money to upset him instead of to be shown appreciation and a good time.

I highly recommend this restaurant. the service from this gentleman is atrocious. It'll ruin your night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Tuyo is truly and exceptional restaurant. We just went one in my party several times and my first. Disappointing that during Miami Spice week there were so few people in attendance. Only three tables including us. The "Spice" menu was quite acceptable with several wonderful choices, the service was impeccable, and the venue is wonderful, especially if you get there before sunset, and you witness the evening arrive in Miami. The view, faces Biscayne Blvd, the AA Arena, Biscayne Bay, the Frost Science Center, and the Perez Museum, and a breathtaking view of Miami Beach. They are changing the menu every few weeks for "Spice" and will once again attend. Loved the place.
RDP

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great view. Good appetizers. Dissapointing entres. Nice service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The view was amazing but unfortunately, I wish I could say the same about the service and the food. Our server was not personable at all, he was indifferent and never checked on our table to see how everything was. The food was mediocre, nothing spectacular. We're so glad we came in for miami spice weekend and took advantage of the pre-fix menu because we probably wouldn't pay the kind of price they normally charge on their regular menu. We probably won't return to this restaurant again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food and service beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Stake was cold and overcooked, not sure how they missed it. All other food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Located at the Miami Culinary Institute downtown, it is a beautiful, quiet little restaurant with creative menu and highly pleasant staff with an unusually humble approach. The wine list is extensive and the prices are reasonable. The Miami Spice menu was a great intro to their style. We will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great Miami Spice Dinner, served with good cocktails. Service was on top as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Beautiful view! Very good food and service! The Miami Spice Menu was delicious. The corn creme brulee was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food is simply lovely! The environment pleasant and service was nice.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We opted for the tasting menu. The ideas were good but the execution was poor and some of the food tasted like "out of a box". Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Staff was not energetic and they came off as pretentious. Food was good, but staff wasn't ideal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was a pleasant surprise....

Food was wonderful. We literally liked everything we had
There was even "gift" dish from the chef to cleanse our pallets at the start which was a nice touch
Food Presentation was much more "high end" than I expected.
Black Forest Dessert was one of the best desserts I've ever had. Very creative with flavors and presentation.

View of downtown was terrific and not expected.
Service was VERY good...
Wine-list was quite good and not overly expensive (although we brought our own)

We were there for a pre-theater show so we had reservations quite early so the restaurant was very quiet when we first arrived
Next time we will go later to get a better sense of the "VIBE"

Only small downside was the corking fee was a little pricy ($35), but again they had a good wine selection, so next time I wouod not bring wine

Would go again in HEART BEAT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Second time was better then the first. Thank you for a splendid evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Michael and Sara were both phenomenal! We arrived and had the restaurant to ourselves for the start of our evening. It was very intimate and just added to our overall experience. The food was excellent and prepared with passion and expertise that is becoming more rare in the culinary world today. Chef Victor was kind enough to help serve our entrees and even took the time to explain the components of each and how they married together. I would definitely return the next time I am in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A little toooo quiet. Prices could be about 20% less and I'd go back. South beach ocean drive prices in downtown? No.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Best service and meal I've had in Miami. Quite the experience. Menu is amazingly structured and executed. Will absolutely return. Our server was great. Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very happy to have shared this great dining spot with a new resident to Miami. It is a great restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a great dinner experience. The service is top notch and the local food and care given is terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I made reservations for 5 for Father's day due to an email I received. I was really looking forward for my son in law to enjoy this place. We all did with a couple of exceptions. I would have rather had the food warmer. All of the plates were room temperature.The food was very tasty. The appearance on some dishes were different and fancy. I have worked in the Customer Service Industry all of my life and my opinion on our server was not satisfactory. He had no social skills. As a matter a fact, his responses were sarcastic. It seemed like he was in a bad mood. We all agreed. In reference to the prices, some plates were a bit over priced.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Exceptional setting and service. The food is good with a wide variety of choices. Have the lamb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Some of the best food in Miami and there's hardly ever anyone there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.