Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, we offer a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.

100 Lafayette St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Convention/North St/Third

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 346-5100

Website:
http://www.servingsushi.com/

Catering:
Please contact us info@servingsushi.com
or 225-346-5100.

Executive Chef:
Tracy Nguyen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Happy Hour!

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

25% off rolls under $9: Alaskan.California,Crunchy,Dynamite,Grand Isle,John Breaux,Michael Doumit,Negihama,Philly,Ragin Cajun,Roll Tide,Sahbum,Salmon Skin,Shrimp Temp, Spicy Roll $5 cocktails $4 draft beer & wine $3 bottle beer & sake. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 21, 2017 - Jul 21, 2017 on Wednesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Happy Hour!

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

25% off rolls under $9: Alaskan.California,Crunchy,Dynamite,Grand Isle,John Breaux,Michael Doumit,Negihama,Philly,Ragin Cajun,Roll Tide,Sahbum,Salmon Skin,Shrimp Temp, Spicy Roll $5 cocktails $4 draft beer & wine $3 bottle beer & sake. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 21, 2017 - Jul 21, 2017 on Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Scenic View (39)
Waterfront (38)
See All
Romantic (38)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Fun (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (11)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Spicy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 3 days ago

My girlfriend and I loved everything about this place. Amazingly great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding, went for anniversary. Great service, amazing food. Gorgeous view. And after we paid the waitress brought us a free dessert with happy anniversary spelled out across plate.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Just average Shushi but nice View

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Perfect pre Mother's Day outing. River and downtown views always interesting, always changing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were seated soon after our reservation time however we didn't receive menus, appetizers or our meal because of another large party that apparently took priority over our meals. We received a boatload of apologies but if the restaurant knows it's having a large party wouldn't it prepare for this?

Great views with outdoor seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome food - great place to celebrate. Really enjoyed the open balcony area overlooking the mighty Mississippi River. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food with exceptional service and beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is truly one of my favorite places in Baton Rouge. The food is excellent and you can't beat The View

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and beautiful view of the Mississippi River. Staff was friendly and helpful too. Really nice upscale sushi restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants with great food and a fabulous view of the Mississippi River. ALWAYS great service!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our sushi was excellent. Roof top dining had a nice scenic view but only half is under some kind of shade so we had full on sun and it was Louisiana hot up there. Will definitely go back and highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I brought an Italian Exchange student who LOVES sushi. The atmosphere and view are amazing....the sushi...not as much....service was o.k.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I met my daughter for dinner and had a wonderful experience

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress was awesome, sweet, and attentive! Although we frequent Tsunami about once a month, It was my husbands birthday, and they went out of their way making this visit more personal/special! We had a great night, food was delicious and chocolate martinis did not disappoint .... the views are great as well!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful service & food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was remarkable and memorable! Had this visit occurred at or after nightfall, it would have received 5⭐️s for ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Relaxing and fun... amazing food as usual ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I always enjoy Tsunami atmosphere. I really like the spring to fall balcony dining option. The evening sun set on the Mississippi promotes excellent photo opportunity. Well worth the effort and time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a beautiful setting, especially at sunset. There was only one complaint: Our reservation was just after work during happy hour. After our first round of drinks, our hostess took a while to return to our table. When she did we all wanted to add another round (note: it was 2 mins past the cutoff time for happy hour). Our hostess refused to honor the round under happy hour even though she had not come back to the table for a while. She did not warn that happy hour is ending soon; nor did she see if we wanted to order any more under the happy hour specials... Rather, she simply refused. I am certain we would have ordered much more (food and drink) had she been more accommodating. Unfortunate.

Besides that, it was a great evening with great friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Table took over 40 minutes with reservation, even when we came 5 minutes early. Very unprofessional. Food was sub par. I got the 50 dollar steak. Asked for it medium rare, went to the table a medium steak. I didnt have the heart to send it back bc it took forever the first time. Will not eat here again even though the view is gorgeous. I'll spend my money elsewhere.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Wonderful evening, celebrating my mother's birthday :) highly recommend it!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Outside dining. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Easily in my top 10 sushi restaurants!!! Great food and unbeatable ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love Tsunami & will always return. Service is great. Food is great. We enjoy sitting outside but the noise from the bar below was a bit much this time. Not the fault of Tsunami. We will just choose to sit inside on Friday or Saturday evenings in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The size of the specialty sushi rolls were the same as a regular Philadelphia roll, yet 30-50% more expensive. The portion sizes were much smaller than really any other sushi place I've been too, yet the price did not reflect that. At any other place, 1 reg roll and 3 specialty rolls would have filled up myself, boyfriend and child. This didn't come close. We considered ordering another roll, but did not want to pay $18 for a snack. $85 + dollars later and my boyfriend still ended up eating more food at home. Quality and flavor was on par with any other sushi place. Nothing spectacular. Apparently, what lacks in the food quantity and quality is made up for in the dining experience. Fantastic view, great service. I will probably come back at some point for that reason, but the food will not be what draws me back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a wonderful evening. Excellent food served by attentive and courteous staff. The view was astounding as always. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great atmosphere. Friendly service. Excellent sushi

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Sarah, from Tsunami's, called me the morning of our dinner to confirm the reservation for party of 7 that I made using Open Table 2 weeks prior. Traffic was horrendous that afternoon and I called to notify Tsunami's that I and another person would be about 20 minutes late. Sarah answered the phone and assured me it was no problem and we would be seated when half of our party arrived. When I arrived, 20 minutes late, my friends were happily seated and had just ordered wine & drinks. After dinner, as we were walking to the theater, Sarah called my cell phone to let me know I had forgotten my credit card. I returned immediately to retrieve it. Sarah verified my identity and gave me the forgotten credit card. Thank you, Sarah, and Tsunami's for a wonderful dinner with friends!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have, for some time, been talking of trying Tsunami. I do not know why we waited so long but we will certainly be back. We arrived on a perfect evening just in time to witness one of the most beautiful sunsets over the river that I have ever seen. We had made reservations and our table was ready when we arrived. The flowers I had ordered were in place on our table. Service was impeccable. The food was excellent and not as pricey as I had expected. Everything else aside< we found the view to be breathtaking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have to say, considering I never liked sushi (granted I've only tried it once on Perkins), I loved every bit of it here. Everything about this place was really nice and my lady loved it. Well worth it! Would definitely take her back there again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a great place, but the tables were a little too close to each other. People could easily eavesdrop.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place to go. Food and service fantastic..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was the precursor to a hate date night with my wife! We enjoyed ourselves and dinner immensely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

21st birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Just wonderful all the way around. Had a nice meal outside on the balcony.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food & drinks are still really good, but the atmosphere and cleanliness is to be desired. The women's bathroom was a wreck and not clean at all which is always a disappointment for a restaurant that wants to remain high-caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food and service was good, although it was so loud where we were sitting, we ate quickly and left! Had asked on open table for an end table but was not available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Awesome food! Awesome view! Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This time has the Oysters and Sashimi as appetizers and tried for the first time their Pork ... absolutely wonderful especially with the collared greens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.