Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, our Downtown Baton Rouge location offers a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.

100 Lafayette St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Convention/North St/Third

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 346-5100

Website:
http://www.servingsushi.com/

Catering:
Please contact us info@servingsushi.com
or 225-346-5100.

Executive Chef:
Tracy Nguyen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour!

Thursdays, Fridays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour!

Thursdays, Fridays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

25% off rolls under $9: Alaskan.California,Crunchy,Dynamite,Grand Isle,John Breaux,Michael Doumit,Negihama,Philly,Ragin Cajun,Roll Tide,Sahbum,Salmon Skin,Shrimp Temp, Spicy Roll $5 cocktails $4 draft beer & wine $3 bottle beer & sake. Excludes Tax and Tip. We also offer this Happy Hour ALL NIGHT on Tuesday. 3p-10p. Special valid Aug 17, 2017 - Dec 17, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Scenic View (28)
Waterfront (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fun (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Views of the sunset over the river were amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food great service best sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We love Tsunami. This experience was just as great as our past ones there. Our server was really sweet and attentive, and the atmosphere was perfect. One of my favorite spots in Baton Rouge!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Awesome! Food is always great. Best sushi in Louisiana by far!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I have been to Tsunami's several times and always pleased with the quality of food and exceptional service.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Tsunami has always impressed me everytime I've been!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food! Very accommodating...I am highly allergic to sesame seeds and sesame seed oil. This is the only place I will eat sushi because they are very careful with food allergies and I can trust them to prepare my food correctly. Love this place!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Wonderful view and wonderful service. Enjoyed menu choices we made.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was as good or better than I have ever experienced in any Baton Rouge restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic service! Sushi was well made and creative. Our waitress Linda was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommended the fried oysters. Was not disappointed at all!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I love tsunami's in Baton Rouge. The view the atmosphere are awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very professional service and good sushi. Highly recommend

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I used to frequent the original Tsunami in Lafayette when it first opened years ago. I happened to be in Baton Rouge(I live in another state now), and was exciting see that there was one here. Everything was as good or better than I remember. Our server Joe mad two excellent suggestions for sake. The oysters and the shrimp miso are a must have. We had several sushi rolls and the baked salmon. All were awesome, and my only disappointment is that I don't live in a louisiana anymore to eat here more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went Tuesday night for 1/2 cocktails. When I got the bill they were full price. Waiter never informed us about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Pros:
- Scenic waterfront view
- Rooftop balcony and outdoor seating
- Large selection of sushi options

Cons:
- Hostesses were not very welcoming and seemed unorganized
- Groups seated nearby made it hard to hear one-on-one conversation
- Special note/request made (via OpenTable online reservation) was not acknowledged

Overall: My visit did not meet my expectations for the occasion, however, the food was good and our server was nice. I would recommend Tsunami for group gatherings but am not planning to return to this location on a date.

Items ordered:
- Crunchy Roll
- Sumo Ribeye
- Shrimp & Grits

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great Sushi, good quality ingredients and very fresh fish. On the expensive side so not a cheap dinner but the view is amazing. A nice place for business lunch, or date night. Can be loud so probably not for a quiet and cozy date but a great location and food, especially for a celebration or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Tsunami is quite possibly the best sushi restaurant in Baton Rouge.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Enjoyable evening. Tables are a little close together so it seems as though the table next to you is being included in your conversations but still overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time, and were able to enjoy the fireworks over the river while dining.
The only suggestion I have is to find a way to cool the restaurant a bit more in the midst of this hot weather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was good. But we were going to order an appetizer and they didn't have one of the main ingredients. They told us it was an up charge to get all shrimp. But it was not our fault that they did not have the peppers.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We come here frequently. We like the food and the ambiance. But now that the hot weather has come, they can't seem to cool the place adequately. So if that will bother you, you may want to find a place with better AC

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great view, service and food. We had the Big Easy roll which was excellent and the shrimp with the creamed corn grits. We would highly recommend both dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Everything was delicious. The one problem was that the menu stated the pork chop had 3 main components; the pork chop, tzatziki, and tandoori sauce. The plate came with no tsatziki and when we asked for it we were informed they were out. That should have been told to us before putting our order in. We were offered other options for sauces and after picking one we were shocked to be charged for it!! Other than that it was quite good.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Tsunami will replace my previous go-to sushi restaurant in the BR area. A little longer drive but that's a small inconvenience. Parking was easy, prices were right, all was well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Everything was good. The only thing I have to complain is that I told the staff that we were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary but no attention or anything special was done for us. That is why I gave 3 stars instead of 5 stars on service and 4 stars on overall

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Well rounded place with great food and beautiful view of river.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Spicy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Love love the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great. Good value, good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Dined here while traveling. Accustomed to adventurous Japanese Cuisine in LA, so it was just okay for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We have dined here on several occasions in the past. We got engaged here & decided to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. Selections of sushi are always hard to pick as they have all been good so far. Our waitress was atttentive and pleasant and we enjoyed our dinner. Dessert was great too - we had the Tsunami chocolate cake with ice cream and berries. First time we've had dessert here and will be trying it again next time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Beige our waitress was great!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food is always consistent & good. When making my reservation, I was asked if there was any special occasion or special instructions. I mentioned we were celebrating my daughter's birthday, which was the evening we visited the restaurant. No mention was made of her birthday. Why ask if you don't follow through? Also, we always seem to get the table by the waiter's work area. (Several years ago, you offered a 6oz filet with veggies. Sure wish you would bring that back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Granddaughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was my first time and it's my new favorite, drinks were awesome, the food and service were impeccable!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

As usual, Tsunami was amazing. Can't get enough of their sushi, every new roll I try has been amazing. Lovely ambiance as well :) my favorite Baton Rouge sushi!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My girlfriend and I loved everything about this place. Amazingly great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.