About Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

100 Lafayette St.
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
View Larger Map

Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, we offer a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Convention/North St/Third

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 346-5100

Website:
http://www.servingsushi.com/

Catering:
Please contact us info@servingsushi.com
or 225-346-5100.

Executive Chef:
Tracy Nguyen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (37)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Waterfront (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Modern Decor (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (16)
Healthy (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Spicy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food & drinks are still really good, but the atmosphere and cleanliness is to be desired. The women's bathroom was a wreck and not clean at all which is always a disappointment for a restaurant that wants to remain high-caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service was good, although it was so loud where we were sitting, we ate quickly and left! Had asked on open table for an end table but was not available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food! Awesome view! Awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

This time has the Oysters and Sashimi as appetizers and tried for the first time their Pork ... absolutely wonderful especially with the collared greens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 17, 2017

With all the similar competition that has entered the local market over the years, we had forgotten just how excellent Tsunami is. They still have the best of the best food in their specialty offerings and with the service they provide they could be at the top of the list anywhere. However, with the location and the vista looking west over the Mississippi River this Tsunami is a special destination to enjoy apart from any other. They are setting the gold standard in Baton Rouge and Louisiana. We will not wait for a special reason to go, now any MTWTFSS will be reason enough.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My first impression of Tsunami was great. The atmosphere was modern and lively and I received great service. I got an Old Fashioned to drink while my girlfriend got a Mojito. My drink was watered down mostly with a citrus mixture and I did not enjoy it, but her Mojito was very good. For the main course we both got sushi dishes. I got the Father Calais Roll, which was good, but for what I got, it was a bit pricey. I say this because it only came with 5 pieces. My girlfriend got the Candy Cane Roll which was very good. So overall great dining experience and taste for the sushi. But for specialty sushi for value I will find myself going to another restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrating Valentine's Day at Tsunami was a great way to enjoy wonderful food. The rooftop view did no disappoint. Id definitely recommend this place for a special night out with a loved one or family/friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent sushi and best sunset view in Baton Rouge!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Was there for lunch while traveling for work and the service was very quick, ideal for in and out while gaveling good tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, the cuisine was exceptional and our service was fantastic. Repeat customer who will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, sushi, and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a Valentine's Day date

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tsunami continues to meet our expectations visit after visit with their consistent quality service, ambience, food/drinks, and above all, service. Not had anything on the menu I didn't like!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Hostess looked like she didn't want to be there but our waitress was perfect. Prices are reasonable and the food is very good. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was amazing, fresh and tasty! Drinks were fun, tried sake for first time! Special place, we really enjoyed the view of downtown.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always a pleasure, we make a point to eat here every time we come to Baton Rouge. We stayed at the watermark hotel and are able to walk across the street right to your place. Go early to have a drink at the bar.

Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great experience, was disappointed that we were not able to be served outside, but views were still excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely loved this place!! Would recommend.

Definitely will go back!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Both Lafayette and Baton Rouge location serve freshly prepared EVERYTHING…Drinks, Appetizers and High Grade Sushi. The Sumo steak is even top shelf!!!! Service is five star. Baton Rouge is now my favorite because of the spectacular view over the Mississippi River...Twilight is the best time. But I will go to Lafayette more because it’s close to home.

The Ezell's have created a beautiful dinning experience!

B. Jason Toups

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Waterfront, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I loved the vibe of the place,went there for are honeymoon and was amazed with how good the sushi was. Literally best I have ever had. And are waiter Carter was AWESOME!!!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sushi is fantastic (especially the cupcake roll) and you can't beat the view!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fabulous food and atmosphere. Only downfall was that I mentioned to the host on the phone when confirming my reservation that it was a special occasion so a candle in the dessert would be nice and she said absolutely and would let our server know. Something must have happened along the way because that never transpired. We also waited about a half hour for our reservation because of other people. But it was ok, the bartender made the greatest vodka martini I've had since moving here from New York and the view was phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was very good but the portions were a little smaller than expected. Sushi roll and side of rice left us less than full.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Entire evening was delightful & delicious. Can't wait to go again & try other menu items.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Enjoyed the sushi and shrimp entree and the margarita wasn't half bad either!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very nice view and extraordinarily fresh sushi that is quite good. Portions are small though, so be prepared to have two orders (although that is not a bad thing either). Service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and view.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always fantastic, very fresh sashimi. Great service. Love this place

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2016

They do it right here. I had a sashimi platter, allowing the chef to chose my fish. Loved it. He then made me a special desert featuring Ell and cumquats! Fantastic

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My only complaint would be that the tables are too close together, especially along the wall with the bench seating on one side. We were at a table for four, when another couple was seated next to us. The couple finally asked to be moved, because they felt they were too close to us and invading our privacy. It was awkward to have them sitting right there on top of us.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I brought someone there for the first time and they absolutely loved it! The ambience, the thoroughness of the service, the friendliness of the staff, and of course the quality of the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It always great!!!! The sushi was the best in town.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We went there for my son's 21 birthday.. very nice experience, exceptional food and service.. I would highly recommend it .

The sushi was extremely fresh and flavorful..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My parents were visiting me for the first time since I moved to Baton Rouge and Tsunami came highly recommended. It did not disappoint! Everything was perfect. The food, the drinks, the atmosphere, the VIEWS. Fantastic meal and perfect Friday night spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always great sushi at Tsunami's. the cocktails are creative and so are the sushi men and bartenders.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our date night was perfect! Close to the river walk with a gorgeous view, an attentive yet hands off waitress, perfect noise level, and delicious drink and food options. We'll be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great views of the Mississippi River. Very good sushi. Fun atmosphere. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We drive slightly over an hour very often just for Tsunami's sushi. I've given so many other restaurants a chance but nowhere else can I find the quality of sushi that Tsunami offers. The location is gorgeous and the staff is always amazing! My husband and I love this place and between their Lafayette & Baton Rouge locations, have eaten at Tsunami for over 5+ years. We can't wait for the New Orleans location to open, since it will be closer to us than Bagon Rouge, but you can't beat the view and ambiance of BR! Nonetheless, we don't suggest any other sushi to anyone! No one compares!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been a patron of the Tsunami Lafayette location for nearly a decade and have never left disappointed. My husband and I were traveling through Baton Rouge on Friday and decided to book a table at the Baton Rouge location for dinner since we had never eaten there. It was absolutely TERRIBLE. We ordered three rolls and the Sunflower. The only thing that turned out okay was the Sunflower. The three rolls were truly awful. The cream cheese in the Green Monster (which I always order in Lafayette) tasted rancid and the rice was extremely dry. The Lava roll (another one of my usual orders) was literally drowning in disgusting gobs of mayo. The Ragin Cajun could hardly even be chewed because it was so tough. We are not the type to pitch a fit in a restaurant and cause a scene, so we just asked for our check.

I wish I could say the worst part of the whole experience was the food, but it wasn't. The hosts at the host stand are snobby and rude and act like they are too trendy to be helpful. I'm sorry, but they work at a restaurant as servers. That attitude has to go. Our waitress, although she was nice (and seemed like she was high), could scarcely be found even though we were her only table.

FINALLY- the WORST part- There was a waitress (not our waitress) who was wearing the tightest, shortest, most obscene skirt I think I've ever seen someone wear in public. She was not thin. She was big... far, far too big to be wearing the teeny, tiny, little elastic skirt she had on. I'm really trying not to exaggerate right now. I could see everything this girl had to offer. It was extremely unpleasant. I do not want to look at someone's butt cheeks and other body parts while I am dining! I did mention this to a girl at the host stand on our way out of the restaurant and she rolled her eyes at me. Figures!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had a lovely dinner until the group in our section became boisterous from over consumption of alcohol. The staff did encourage them to leave.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It is a beautiful place, and the food was delicious.This place is perfect to share with family and friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was on time for my reservation was told by one of three hosts that my table would be ready in a few minutes. 20 minutes later when my boyfriend checked on our table he was told that I had been texted that our table was ready. I checked my phone, there was no text or email or apology. Then it probably took about 45 minutes to get our food after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was fabulous. We were sitting on the veranda overlooking the Mississippi River so we had an awesome view. The service was wonderful. It is a 'must do' for anyone looking for great food and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sushi was good but the drinks were below average..ordered lemon drop martinis & they were horrible..not even cold & no sugar room

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was poor - forgot our appetizer and a sushi roll. But our section was packed. I would go back tho. Our meal just didn't flow

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My only negative is that we had an 8:00 reservation and were not seated, after several inquiries about our table, until 45 minutes later. Walk ins were seated while we waited. Had out of town company and was embarrassing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The view is one of the best in BR. The service left a little to be desired. We had to keep asking for the same things over and over because the waiter had forgotten. The drinks was very tasty however the sushi was just ok.

Overall, a nice experience and the view line is worth a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Service on point. Food was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Enjoyed outside seating as the sunset. Great vistas.

Tags: Vegan, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.