About Troquet on South

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list is at Troquet on South, where you are guaranteed to fulfill your wine connoisseur's fantasies. Executive Chef Scott Hebert will thrill you with his modern French cuisine, and Executive Pastry Chef Thomas Langille will delight your senses with exquisite desserts. Come see the champagne cart, and our lovely lounge area with contemporary cocktails.

Located near the Theater District, Troquet on South is still only five blocks away from the Opera House. Reservations are ONLY for the dining room; the bar seating is first-come, first served.

107 South St.
Boston, MA 02111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Bar - 4 pm to 1 am
Bar Food - 5 pm to 11 pm
Dining Room - 5 pm to 10 pm

Cross Street:
Tufts and South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet on South Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

They had a large selection of wine but way overpriced. I did love the option of smaller pours so you can taste many wines. We ordered the 7 course chef tasting which included a cheese course. The tasting menu was a chef's choice which I love but I felt it was a little too much fish and seafood courses. The scallop was to die for paired with seasonal ramps and morels. The tasting menu is a lot of food so go hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for a graduation party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I love the new Troquet space. Much more room at the bar and an expanded bar menu with more approachable but delicious apps. They've done a nice job with the upgrade but not sacrificing their usual superb food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great appetizers, one of the best fois gras dishes I've ever had. Casual/elegant atmosphere, white painted brick walls, low lighting, half open kitchen, tablecloths. You get the idea. Apps were stronger than entrees, but amazing staff and wine list, no stuffiness. Nice night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Troquet was recommended to me by a European colleague who said "I go there all the time. It is simply perfectly prepared food. And they have the best wine list." Having been there four times now, I agree. In my view, Troquet is at or near the top of Boston restaurants (and I go to many of them, often). For example, I would rank it above L'Espalier because the food is better and the service less pretentious.

Troquet perfectly executes sophisticated French cuisine, and does so without pretension. The dishes are nicely presented, but the focus is on the delicious taste. The waiters are almost goofy in an endearing way. And over 50 wines are available by the glass or half-glass, many of which are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Troquet has become my favorite restaurant. It is perfect in every respect: a neat dining area, soft music in the background, terrific service, and an imaginative and excellently prepared menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food at ToS was amazing and the wine list is out if this world. Each meal had it's own wine pairing which was a excellent complement to the dish. We would go back just for the Normandy butter alone! It is an expensive dinner but certainly worth the price of admission. We will be back for another celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Love the new location! Olga was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Loved it. Great new location. Delicious food, great staff. Definitely on my list of go-to restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The service was excellent. The food is very well prepared, delicious, creative, and interesting. Wonderful French dining that is worth going out to enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Favorite Boston restaurant in a new locale with more space, but same thoughtful, inspired but not trendy cuisine and splendid wines by the small/large glass and bottle, and same gracious, skilled but never stuffy service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

First time visit to their new location. Food and service were both amazing! Coral chitarra with lobster is a must try!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Outstanding experience. Creative and sophisticated cuisine, covering fish, game & meats. Great appetizers, And, also excellent comfort food, with the new pizzas (PS Great Crust on the pizzas), and other bar menu. Expansive wine list that is extremely fairly priced; and, the owner has a deep knowledge of the wines. Great cheese course. Love the new space at Troquet "on South". Top notch service. Cool vibe.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Troquet has been my favorite Boston restaurant for a long time. We only ever dined there for special occasions, because it's quite pricey... but I was excited to visit them at their new location, so we planned an evening there with friends. Honestly, though, I was a bit disappointed. The quality of the food was still great, but not as exceptional as I remember. My fish was quite bland -- the sauce and rice were excellent, but there wasn't enough of it to balance the blandness of the fish... And most disappointingly, the atmosphere just doesn't seem special at all anymore. I'm not sure that the cost of the meal makes a return visit worth it to me anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had a spectacular meal, with superb service. They addressed a specific food need with a wanting-to-please attitude, and with really great results. This is a very classy restaurant. The staff from front to back was warm and service oriented. And perhaps the best part: it has the best wine list in the City and one of the best in all of New England. The owner knows his wine, his food, and his customers. 4 people in our group, and one said it was a "desert island meal with a desert island wine." Thanks, Chris!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We dined here last Saturday night and we are still talking about what a great experience it was. First, the service - it was amazing! Our server was really friendly and he went out of his way to accommodate our requests. He also provided great recommendations. As a starter, we shared the lobster crepes and they were excellent. For dinner, I had the duo of beef and my boyfriend had the duck and we absolutely loved our entrees. For dessert, we shared the lemon tart which was also delicious. We thoroughly our dinner that evening and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

King Salmon special was fantastic. Wine choice is endless. Beautiful atmosphere. Excellent evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've been going to Troquet for years and have watched it grow into one of Boston's premier dining destinations... and a wine lovers paradise. In the new location they've added a lot. Much more room in the bar, which had a nice bar crowd on my first visit (they offer a bar menu with pizzas and such (something they never had at the original location)... a private room in the back (also a new feature). The dining room offers much more space now... much more comfortable and a more fitting environment to enjoy some of the city's best cuisine.

Just after being seated, a champagne cart arrived. How could we refuse? For starters we enjoyed the yellowtail and a couple of fantastic pastas. Main courses included the Halibut, the Steak for 2, and the incredible Dover Sole... everything loved by all. Troquet always has had excellent desserts... tonight we devoured the Chevre Cheesecake and the Panna Cotta. The kitchen hasn't skipped a beat... I'm sure the kitchen staff loves the new larger kitchen which you can see from the dining room.

The wine list is as awesome as ever... I'd say it's Boston's best wine program. Great selection, excellent pricing, served properly in the right glass at the right temperature. Chris knows his stuff.

Service was excellent... valet parking right out front but tonight we found a spot on the street. A fantastic evening... we'll return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The best of five good meals while visiting Boston. Great wine list, superb food (octopus, halibut, crab pasta and ahi), excellent service. We will return next trip to Boston.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The obsessive attention to detail that I remember from previous visits has moved to a new location.
You can taste their passion for pairing fine wine when the perfect meal.
The service is always spot on, from the minute you walk in. Our coats were promptly checked in and we were sipping a wonderful champagne within minutes.
It's worth the trip.
What ever you do, the foie gras is a must. Troquet ages like their fine wines, better with age.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful date night with my husband. Food was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the new Troquet on South. All the food was excellent. Service was also quite nice. My only complaint would be the high prices and portions on the smaller side. Still, a place I would recommend for a nice evening out!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This new space is very good. Same superb food, same stellar wine list, same quality service with many servers still on board. I dined at the old location many times and will transition happily. The bar is 10 times better than the old space. I don't love the visible cook space in the dining room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have dined in the previous location and like the ambiance of the new location even better. If you like wine, Troquet is a must. I really the effort that Chris puts into the wine program and the very fair pricing on the higher end wines. We spent $229 on a bottle of wine with dinner that a quick online search showed that it would have cost $250 to buy. In the past, I have heard people mention that the wine is great but the food is merely good but all of our meals were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great as usual. We loved the new location, but note that they don't have valet service on Sunday and Monday! Took us a while to find parking on Sunday.... Interior design is nice, rustic, comfortable lighting and loved these cute vases on the table. The food was delicious and service is great as always. Thank you, we'll be back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The service, food and ambience were very good. I will go back. However, because the pricing is so high, my friends and I will choose to go there rarely. We did discover as we were leaving that there is a bar menu and sitting at the bar would be ok in the future. The bar area is pleasant.

I have to wonder why getting a great meal in Boston has to cost over $100.00/person. This is, for most of us, special occasion pricing only. FYI, I go out to dinner often and do not look for cheap eats!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was the first Friday after they opened in the new location, and I was a bit worried about how that would change things. However, the experience was great! The food was excellent, with a few new additions. The service was extremely attentive. And the place is definitely bigger than the old place, so you feel less crowded. We will definitely keep Troquet as one of our favorite restaurants in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Took my wife here for a special birthday dinner. The food was really good but unfortunately the service was really slow and not very attentive at all, which made for a not so enjoyable time. It took a very long time to have our drinks order taken and then we even had to ask for the bread.
The cocktail menu was also a scruffy piece of paper with limited items, I just expected more. It was the last night of service at the current location so I'm not sure if this was the reason for the issues. Because of this I would give the restaurant the benefit of the doubt and I will give it another chance in the future once it opens at the new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Inventive, but not over worked, food, perfectly cooked and presented. Perfect service. Extraordinary wine list that is extremely well-priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We arrived a little late for our reservation and the staff, knowing we had a show to go to, were very attentive and quick in getting us started on our meal. The food was delicious and the wine flight was fun and went well with the food. It's on the expensive end of our price range so we'll save this one for special occasions, but it was very nice and we'll go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Well...where to start!
Servicewise, lets thank Olga first who saved our valentine's evening by providing a great service and experience.
Foodwise - with a 400$ bill, not even close to a just ok evening. We were hoping for that getaway high-end experience. Food looked great on the menu but all dishes were sadly blend, the Sole with a 20$ extra simply cannot be served overcooked,
Cutlery and Plates don't even do justice to any dishes. Table very small, Nothing to WoW us...maybe the butter service gives a little interesting experience.

Our server knew multiple issues, not her fault here of course but would have been nice to have a manager at our table for feedbacks/support.

We simply had a better experience/value to an equivalent restaurant the night before.

Overall, really overpriced. Sorry, it's a miss...

Daniel & Celine

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice Valentine's day dinner. Food was very good; pricey but tasty. Service was excellent and it wasn't overly crowded, which improved the ambiance. Definitely worth trying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The only negative was one plate had to be heated as pasta was cold. Bread and butter makes this place great. Got to try it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience was inconsistent with the posted reviews. The space is poorly designed with bathrooms opening to the kitchen. I was unable to go to the mens room since te Sous Chef is parked right in front of its door. The frumpy staff (in terms of attire, attitude and responsiveness) were inattentive to our needs and we expected some element of service for this price. The food was nothing to write home about. The wine list is the highlight but many items listed are not available. An ordinary restaurant with prices seen at extraordinary restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As usual everything was amazing. See you guys over at south street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went to Troquet pre-theater and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Shared the mushroom cavatelli which was terrific. Halibut entree was delicious. Hazelnut chocolate dessert was amazing! Would recommend very highly!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another delicious meal at Troquet before theater. Lovely view over the Boston Common. A smaller dining room upstairs, so not too noisy. Yummy food and attentive service.
Troquet is moving to new quarters. I hope the food remains so delicious and the atmosphere will be cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great Resturant! Always terrific service and food. One of our favourites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I made reservations through open table for Troquet. It was such an easy process. I liked and appreciate the fact that open table followed up with an email informing me about the traffic conditions due to the woman's march. It helped me prepare better. The tie up or reference to flower petal was great. I purchased a bouquet to be delivered at the restaurant. The bouquet was beautiful and was delivered on time. It made my wife's and my day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fully vested wait staff knowledgeable about wines and offerings. Attention to detail and diners apparent. Excellent menu offering traditional foods with a modern approach. Delicious dessert choices and a great cup of coffee too. Pre dinner bread a bit chewy for my taste, but other than that two thumbs up! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.