About Troquet

Boston's most exciting & comprehensive wine list cannot be found at a steakhouse or hotel; it is at Troquet, where cutting-edge cuisine & a killer view of the Boston Common act as accompaniments to an evening guaranteed to fulfill any wine connoisseur's fantasies. Please allow a minimum of two hours for dinner.

140 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Charles and Tremont

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 695-9463

Website:
http://www.troquetboston.com/

Public Transit:
Green line to Boylston Street.

Executive Chef:
Scott Hebert

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Troquet Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Good for Groups (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We arrived a little late for our reservation and the staff, knowing we had a show to go to, were very attentive and quick in getting us started on our meal. The food was delicious and the wine flight was fun and went well with the food. It's on the expensive end of our price range so we'll save this one for special occasions, but it was very nice and we'll go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Well...where to start!

Servicewise, lets thank Olga first who saved our valentine's evening by providing a great service and experience.

Foodwise - with a 400$ bill, not even close to a just ok evening. We were hoping for that getaway high-end experience. Food looked great on the menu but all dishes were sadly blend, the Sole with a 20$ extra simply cannot be served overcooked,

Cutlery and Plates don't even do justice to any dishes. Table very small, Nothing to WoW us...maybe the butter service gives a little interesting experience.

Our server knew multiple issues, not her fault here of course but would have been nice to have a manager at our table for feedbacks/support.

We simply had a better experience/value to an equivalent restaurant the night before.

Overall, really overpriced. Sorry, it's a miss...

Daniel & Celine

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice Valentine's day dinner. Food was very good; pricey but tasty. Service was excellent and it wasn't overly crowded, which improved the ambiance. Definitely worth trying!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The only negative was one plate had to be heated as pasta was cold. Bread and butter makes this place great. Got to try it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our experience was inconsistent with the posted reviews. The space is poorly designed with bathrooms opening to the kitchen. I was unable to go to the mens room since te Sous Chef is parked right in front of its door. The frumpy staff (in terms of attire, attitude and responsiveness) were inattentive to our needs and we expected some element of service for this price. The food was nothing to write home about. The wine list is the highlight but many items listed are not available. An ordinary restaurant with prices seen at extraordinary restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As usual everything was amazing. See you guys over at south street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went to Troquet pre-theater and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Shared the mushroom cavatelli which was terrific. Halibut entree was delicious. Hazelnut chocolate dessert was amazing! Would recommend very highly!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another delicious meal at Troquet before theater. Lovely view over the Boston Common. A smaller dining room upstairs, so not too noisy. Yummy food and attentive service.

Troquet is moving to new quarters. I hope the food remains so delicious and the atmosphere will be cozy.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great Resturant! Always terrific service and food. One of our favourites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I made reservations through open table for Troquet. It was such an easy process. I liked and appreciate the fact that open table followed up with an email informing me about the traffic conditions due to the woman's march. It helped me prepare better. The tie up or reference to flower petal was great. I purchased a bouquet to be delivered at the restaurant. The bouquet was beautiful and was delivered on time. It made my wife's and my day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fully vested wait staff knowledgeable about wines and offerings. Attention to detail and diners apparent. Excellent menu offering traditional foods with a modern approach. Delicious dessert choices and a great cup of coffee too. Pre dinner bread a bit chewy for my taste, but other than that two thumbs up! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Restaurant over to south street Feb 1. Food was gourmet, service was impeccable. Grilled octopus appetizer was very good as was lamb entree. Food and wine are a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dinner at Troquet is not just dinner but a dining experience. The only way to truly appreciate the art - and make no mistake it is an art - that is the cuisine at Troquet is through a Chefs Tasting! Troquet is hands down the best gem in the city of Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent French cuisine comparable to high end restaurants in France. Very good service. Outstanding wine list that covers price ranges from affordable to special occasions only.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

nothing about this restaurant ever gets old no matter how many times I go! The best restaurant - staff, wine, and food - in Boston. By a mile.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve fireworks spectacular. Outstanding view that everyone was willing to share. Food is exceptional. "Limited" menu had plenty of options, unlike some other prix fixe menus that didn't offer a full variety of plates. Everything was perfect. Wine selections and pairings are also exceptional. Service was friendly and helpful without being invasive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best restaurant in Boston... by far. Exceptional food, peerless wine list and very professional (yet still friendly) service teams. Owned and managed by good people, the utmost care goes into preparing every meal and every dining experience. There are several top-notch restaurants in Boston, but Troquet is the best of the best by a long shot.

Special thanks to Olga and the rest of the team for providing us with an amazing experience on Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wine selection & pairings were superior. There was a serving error that resulted in our meals being brought to the table about 15 minutes apart. Food was superior. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent and of course that just means the prices are expensive but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was superb and the wine parings wonderful. We came into town for a show and they made sure we were out in time but not rushed. The server was well versed in the menu and helped us enjoy our experience even more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fine dining courses paired with tasty wine by the glass. So many choices and combinations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Troquet remains one of the top venues in Boston. Imaginative cuisine with very fresh ingredients and inspiring combinations of flavors, every serving is a delight as well as a surprise. Outstanding service in a remarkably quiet environment. the wine pairings has always been a successful and welcomed addition.

May well be that this is a reaction to frequent visits: The physical space could use a make over!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very fine food, excellent service, great wine list, polished and sophisticated but not stuffy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful food and tremendous service. Although it's pricey it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Troquet is a great restaurant in the heart of Boston. Fabulous food, fabulous view and fabulous service. This is a great go-to restaurant before theatre in Boston.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great pre-theatre spot - super food, easy walk to theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent cuisine...1st course of Ricotta Cavatelli was exceptional...notable deep wine list (bottles)...wines by the glass extensive and offered in both 2oz. and 4oz. sizes...excellent for tasting several wines without consuming too much in total...fantastic desserts made for a crowning finish to the dining experience...Highly Recommend!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Two months away from this place is, well, two months too long. Best restaurant in town.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in Boston. The food never fails to amaze.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and amazing service - enjoyed every course. We had the chilled lobster crepe and polenta agnolottie for appetizers, the cavatelli as an entree along with a lamb special - all of which were delicious. Will definitely be back and would recommend for business dinners as well as special occasions.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The trifecta...excellent food, wine and service!

Many gems on tbe wine list.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful dinner. We started with the lobster crepe which was amazing. I had the chicken which was also delicious. We elected to do the wine pairings. I would highly recommend doing this at it does enhance the flavors of the dish!

By far my favorite was the apple and brie dessert. This was delectable! We can't wait to go back. This was an excellent venue to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our first visit, but certainly will not be our last. Excellent food and service from very friendly people in a beautiful comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We always have such a fabulous experience at Troquet, and this time was no exception. Everything from the service to the food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Best wine list in Boston with fantastic food to match!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always consistent and fine dining. Horrible atmosphere, needs paint, remodeling, updating. Atmosphere a turn-off to all but foodies.

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The overall dining experience was fair. I was disappointed with my meal (Tuna) and the wine selection. We sampled 3 wines before settling on a 4th, which wasn't very good. For a restaurant that advertises it's wine selection, I was disappointed in the quality. The decore of the restaurant was also disappointing down stairs and in need of some TLC.

I would not recommend this restaurant as one of the better high end restaurants in Boston. I was looking for a "Wow" and the overall experience feel pretty short of that expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'm a vegetarian so I can eat about two things on the menu, but they're both delicious. My mother and I are good cooks, so we often scoff at what other similar restaurants have to offer. Not this place--we love it. We'll still go, but will miss the lovely view of the Common through the windows when it changes its location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Went here for a dinner date before the theater. The experience was all-around wonderful: fantastic food, service, and ambiance. Definitely going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The cuisine is excellent ! The wines are expensive but you can take a lot of them by the glass

so to match your choice of food nicely. The room is not very warm or cosy but is reasonably elegant. The two or three tables by the window overlooking the Boston Common are of course

best. Service was not always very coordinated, but the food was delicious !

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Delightful dinner experience before theatre. Very friendly host and staff. A definite keeper. Food was exceptional. Presentation creative. Staff very respectful of our theatre time. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Lovely place near Theatre District. Excellent food and warm service. Stairs awkwardly deliver you right on top of the kitchen, and there are tables near the kitchen which are not as nice as those near the windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Interesting menu and wine list. We went pre theater and had 4 appetizers that were all unique, visually very attractive, and very good. We were tight on time so we could not take advantage of the 5 or 7 item pairing menu but will be back to do that as we loved the atmosphere, service and the view of the commons and are looking forward to taking advantage of the extensive wine list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Food was Excellent, Wine list is out of this world with a WIDE range of older wines at great value

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Troquet is a place I visited once many years ago and never returned. I forgot why, until I say the prices. The markup on the wine is horrendous. Pillar Box Red is a $13.- bottle of wine. You'll pay close to $80.- a bottle buying it by the ounce at this place. The same is true for the Breca. And those are just the ones I could easily recall. How about a nice piece of Dover Sole? Better ask the price first, because it says MP (market price) and that happens to be $60.! Just not worth it. When we were leaving I said to my date "You go first and see if anyone asks how dinner was or if everything was OK". Guess what? Too busy looking at their cell phones.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This place is a well-hidden gem! Great food, Wonderful wine and lovely ambiance. I will be returning soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Clear, diverse menu. Professional service. Comfortable space. Great food with perfect wine pairing. Superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and the service was excellent. I hidden gem!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had dinner at Troquet with friends visiting from New York. The food was excellent as usual. The wine list continues to be fairly priced for the quality of the wines offered. This allows mere mortals to drink some exceptional Bourdeauxs, at least for special occasions. Everyone in our group was very pleased with their dinner, the service, the décor and the overall experience. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.