Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Tresca

Tresca is an authentic Boston North End Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cave, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. The warm and cozy atmosphere features a fireplace lit dining room both in the lower level and the beautiful Tuscan style upstairs seating overlooking famous Hanover St. in the heart of the North End. Bruins Hall of Fame Legend Ray Bourque co-owns Tresca with partners including Chef Richard Ansara. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a delicious dining experience inviting patrons to make return visits.

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 1 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday at 4:00 and Sunday at 1pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Authentic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
People Watching (21)
Business Meals (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Super disappointed with Tresca. I did a ton of research and decided to believe all the positive reviews, but I guess I should have given some weight to the negative ones. We had the veal parmesan (2 of them actually), a creamy shrimp dish, and a pizza. None of them were good - wow. The pizza was indescribable, as there was basically nothing to describe. The veal was thicker than normal, and seemed like good quality, so I'll give them credit for that. However, the sauce was not good, the cheese on top was tasteless, and it seemed like it was sitting somewhere being kept hot as the rest of the meals were being finished. It just wasn't good. My wife's shrimp dish was also pretty tasteless, and that pizza (which I already mentioned) was really lame. Ehhhh ambiance, but the waiter and bus boy were very nice and accommodating, which was the best part of the evening. We would never go back, which is a bummer because I want to find another really good restaurant in the North End, where I've been going for decades. I so wanted to like this one but it didn't work out that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! I took my daughter for a special ladies' evening out to celebrate her upcoming nuptials. The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the restaurant was very comfortable. The portions were more than ample - so much so that we had enough for a light lunch the next day. We enjoyed people-watching from our table by the window. We especially appreciated meeting the chef-owner who took the time to come around and ensure that we were pleased with our meals! Our one regret was that we didn't have enough room to try dessert! We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My son, the pilot, flew in to Boston on a Saturday night and met his Mom and Dad for a good meal. I made a reservation at Tresca's although I had not been there before. I was so glad I did. The restaurant was great. Loved the ambiance, food, and service. The chocolate lava cake was absolutely delicious, not heavy. It was very noisy for awhile but that is to be expected on a Saturday night. It was a memorable dinner and hope to go back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was terrific. Very noisy upstairs dining room.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Service was great, food was great. We had an early reservation so we had seating at an open window for the street ambience. The only issue we had was with the reservation, it was not on their reservation list. I assume this is a glitch between Tresca and OpenTable.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Plenty of food but not overwhelming. We had a very nice experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food but very noisy.
Beet carpaccio excellent, pastas - large portions and tasty.
Wine a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Tresca's, so when friends wanted to meet us in town, we suggested dining there. Even on a Sunday evening in the middle of Labor Day weekend, it was busy. There were many groups of 4 or more and what appeared to be family gatherings, all enjoying the great food and ambiance.

Everyone at our table enjoyed our dishes - salads for starters, then 3 different pastas including the lobster ravioli special that was amazing, a huge portion of chicken parm and a great veal chop.

The busy room kept the staff running, but almost always with a smile! A great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was outstanding and generous portions. Would like to see tables a little further apart. Wth so many people in a small space the noise level is high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went for an anniversary- service and staff were very attentive and speedy with drinks and food. Our entree meals were poor, pizza tasted like a frozen pizza and the pasta was over cooked. Little disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Best calamari in Boston
Bolognese excellent
Nice location good service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

First time at Tresca. Excellent meal, good wine recommendation from our server, all was quite good. We would return.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Unbelievable lobster raviolis! Food, service and atmosphere were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Quick and efficient service from start to finish. Wait staff were friendly and helpful. Pasta a perfect el dente. Marinara sauce done the way it should be done, in my opinion, of course. The seafood dish we selected had a sea full. The scallops came out perfectly in that they can be overcooked (not unusual) in a red sauce. There were, in fact, no downsides whatsoever at this restaurant. Our Thanks to the chef and staff of Tresca for a thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was delicious and he service was excellent. A little pricey but worth the trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delicious food, great service and excellent wine! A favorite on Hanover street in Boston's North End

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We celebrated a birthday & it was excellent! Very friendly greeting & great service by the wait staff. Wonderful recommendation on wine & awesome food! Sat at table upstairs at the window which was open to a beautiful night. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I ordered the gnocci. it was pretty compared to other places. my friend had the bolognese and chicken parm. they both said it was good. we all agreed that the price is on the higher end than expected but service was very good. celebrated a friend's anniversary and they brought out a slice of chocolate cake that was very yummy.

We'd def come back again but probably not a frequent place we'd go to.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Awesome restaurant. The bolognese nachos with the whipped ricotta was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary with another couple and had a great time. The food was very good and the service was also good. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful food everything was perfect great location service was great

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Loved everything about it. Never been disappointed

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great meal, great service, great ambiance. Triple WIN!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food and service from the wait staff!! We had the Restaurant Week menu and the apps, the main dish and desserts were excellent. I had the burratta, husband had the arrincini and we both had the rib eye steak! Cocktails were great. Steve, our server was awesome and attentive! We wished we had sat upstairs but they had a private party. We will definitely be coming back. I so want to sit at the romantic table outside on the balcony!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

As out of towners, picking a good Italian restaurant in the North End is rather daunting. We chose Tresca based upon a recommendation. We were not disappointed and, in fact, pleasantly surprised at the wonderful presentation and taste of the food. Added to that was the great service, with the owner and chef both asking us if our experience was great. We are Southern, not that familiar with Boston. We have some great Italian restaurants in our City but this was one of our best experiences on this trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We were in Boston for an appointment and decided to take advantage of restaurant week and we were very pleased. The food was great, staff very attentive but not overly. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very good atmosphere! One of the better meals I have had!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Went for my husband's birthday. Ordered the antipasto dish and was instantly disappointed. It was large, however the meat reminded me of lunch meat and the cheese was just okay.
We ordered a chicken dish that was a little overcooked and the margarita pizza was bland.
A little disappointed in the food, however the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Richard is a creative wizard in the kitchen and if you can dream it, he can make it. I was very lucky that Box 77 had a cancelation and we had a special opportunity to sit outside, on the balcony and overlook Hanover street on a gorgeous summer night. My only regret is that I don't live closer to the North End or I would be a frequent visitor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Loved it, and will certainly be back again when in the North End. The food is excellent as well as the service. They are even very good with kids, my kids also loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We arrived 15 min prior to our reservation and we were sat right away. Personnel wise everyone was great. As far as the food goes it was great and not overpriced.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food awesome service thank you. We would definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Chef Richard came out to greet us after a fantastic meal. Go to Tresca!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I took our friends to have dinner at Tresca because we have always been so happy with the quality of the food, service and friendliness of the staff.
This night chef Rich Ansara came out and told us of some of the specials he was contemplating and I inquired about appetizers as well.
We chose the Anna Maria's Famous Stuffed Meatballs made from ground veal and sirloin, cipolini onions, fire roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella, tomato basil sauce with grilled focaccia. One of my favorites and a signature dish here.
We also chose an order of the Tresca spring rolls which were stuffed with roasted vegetables, cheeses and served with a dipping sauce, again superb!
For the main course I decided to take the Chef Rich's pick as did one of my guests to have the slightly seared Tuna steak over capellini. Tuna that was likely sashimi grade just seared on both sides served with a sauce reduction to dress the pasta. We both loved it.
My wife and our other guest had the Fra Diavolo, my wife favorite dish here and one she seems to really love as its prepared here.
Once again Chef Richard Ansara hit it out of the park and we were all so very happy with the food and the experience.
If your in the North End and you are looking for superb quality Italian food that is ingeniously and thoughtfully prepared you have to stop here.
A Must Visit Restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was our daughters birthday and this is her favorite restaurant! Food, service and overall experience was fantastic as usual...thank you Tresca!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Visited while vacationing, based on several reviews. It's a winner. Creative specials, quick attentive, but not intrusive service. Steven our waiter gets high marks for recommendations and skillful service. We came in stressed due to outside issues, and spent several minutes on my phone trying to deal with a planned luncheon the next day. The staff noticed and made every effort to insure our dining experience was relaxed and enjoyable, which it was. Chef is creative and our beet carpaccio was a perfect intro to our main courses of a Tuna steak in walnut pesto perfectly seared, and Filet Mignon Oscar with a bernaise sauce that was spot on. Highly recommend. Our next trip to Boston will include at least one meal at Tresca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I knew we would get a good meal when i saw Richards name on the menu. I have enjoyed his cooking since appetito. I informed my family that he is here since they too have frequented the resaurant where he works over the years

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife, daughter and I had a fabulous time at Tresca. The food was delicious -- we were still raving about it the next day. I had the lobster ravs, and shared a chicken parm egg roll special appetizer and stuffed meatball appetizer. The chocolate chip dessert was sinful!. Matt took care of us with just the right amount of attention without pestering or rushing us. We have been to many North End restaurants but Tresca is the best by far. We will definitely return again, hopefully the next time we are in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.