Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Tresca

Tresca is an authentic Boston North End Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cave, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. The warm and cozy atmosphere features a fireplace lit dining room both in the lower level and the beautiful Tuscan style upstairs seating overlooking famous Hanover St. in the heart of the North End. Bruins Hall of Fame Legend Ray Bourque co-owns Tresca with partners including Chef Richard Ansara. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a delicious dining experience inviting patrons to make return visits.

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 4 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday and Sunday at 4pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday. Beginning Easter Sunday, April 16th, and every Sunday thereafter, we will be offering a Breakfast Brunch Buffet from 10:00- 1:30pm.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fireplace (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
People Watching (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

I've always loved this restaurant to begin with, but I never go nearly as often as I should.
My husband and I, along with six friends of ours tried the brunch buffet today, which Tresca just started offering about a month ago....It was excellent! For $22 it's a steal.

They were serving everything from frittata, steak tips, ham, sausage, bacon, pancakes, french toast, smoked salmon and bagels, flatbread, mac and cheese, killer bolognese, eggs to order, amazing corned beef hash and some really delightful desserts including mini cannolis, cookies, carrot cake and other lovely pastries.
The cocktails were fantastic and the service was wonderful as well.

One big problem folks, it was way too quiet.

Keeping in mind that brunch at Tresca is a brand new option and a lot of us, including myself usually limit ourselves to the same two or three places that we brunch at. PEOPLE OF BOSTON: I strongly encourage you all to try the brunch at Tresca, you will not be disappointed unless a $5 glass of fresh squeezed orange juice ruins your day. If that be the case, go to Dunkin' Donuts instead.
Tresca's brunch MUST be here to stay!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service, very special Mother's Day:)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious food. The chef visited our table and made some special appetizers for us that were not currently on the menu. One of the best meals my wife and I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere with attentive staff and great food. The chef visited are table as well as the owners. Fabulous Mother's Day brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic Mother's Day Brunch! Delicious food/cocktails, attentive staff, wonderful atmosphere.
Tresca is a gem :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overprice
Portion to big
Qualité low
Parking à mess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and service and Richard the chief chef and owner is very gracious and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was delicious!! And the staff worked very well!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was average at best, it was very loud and the wait staff make it feel like a cafeteria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful second level dinning room- we were in the corner with a full view of the dinning room. Service was relaxed and casual however attentive. We were visited by the chef who knew our order and thanked us for visiting. What a wonderful first visit to little Italy- Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The veal and Bolognese combo was vey good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went for my wife's 50th birthday with a party of 6 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The service was excellent and we would go back there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely spot in the North End. Excellent food, great ambience. Only complaint was noise level -- we were on second floor -- by window, which was great -- but it felt like the conversations from the other tables were bouncing off the ceiling, making it hard to hear.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was amazing and service was excellent except for long wait time for main course meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lovely ambience with fireplace and dark wood. Very attentive staff. Beet salad was great but eggplant rigatoni lacked something. Not enough flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Wonderful service and recommendations from the waiter and bartender. Delicious pasta and appetizers. We were all very satisfied with our choices. Would definitely come back for a nice occasion (birthday or anniversary). Worth the money

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Service was great. Very accommodating to our three children with specific tastes. I thought that the food was ok...The veal parm was delicious, as was the steak. The veal marsala didn't really have any wine in it. It was more of a cream sauce with mushrooms. Desserts were delicious. Glad to have Gavi by the glass -- You don't see that very often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

great menu with many terrific options. A top choice in Boston's Little Italy. Excellent service and excellent wait staff who do a great job explaining the menu and specials. Our new go to place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my second time at Tresca and every time the food is just ok. I've had the lobster ravioli and mushroom truffle gnocchi. Both were fairly bland. Simply put, there are so many better places to eat in the North End for the same price.
Probably one of the worst dirty martini's I've ever received at a restaurant. I requested an "extra dirty tito's martini" and received a grey goose (found this out on the bill) martini with zero olive juice and too much vermouth.
Service was attentive. Too attentive. The second we put our forks down they would take our plates away, even if we weren't finished eating. This happened with every course to the point we jokingly wouldn't take our hands off the dessert plates in fear they would be taken away. We felt very rushed to turn over the table.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wine was delicious and a good selection. Food was also delicious. The waiters were attentive and very nice. The restaurant is spacious as compared to other north end restaurants. Valet parking was a nice addition.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Simply perfect in every way! Compliments to Chef Richard and team!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Went with a large family group (9 of us). We were seated upstairs, which was quiet and we had a nice meal and a great time! Have eaten downstairs, more noisy and vibrant. Food great! No problems with service.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

On this visit I brought my parents, who have frequented several North End establishments. The staff was so friendly, every one of them. The food was fantastic! Chicken Parm was a hit, the meatballs appetizer is the best I've ever had, and all of the meals were so delicious! Highly recommend this restaurant for anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

NOT one "smile" on employees face, and the chef (needing a shave) looked miserable. The buffet had little or NO merchandising, NO FRESH FLOWERS anywhere, it was EASTER SUNDAY. The whole ambience and general feeling was not a pleasant one, not cheerful. Also, not steamship round, or carving station, just very poorly done and appeared unprofessional.
We were a party of seven, my entire family.
Will not return!
H. Ritchie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We both ordered beef from the special menu and we were both favorably impressed with the quality and presentation. We usually don't order beef in an Italian restaurant, but we are glad we did this time. We loved the atmosphere and the service was fabulous. We will definitely return there.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was very attentive; we didn;t need to ask for more of anything, our waiter was very "on point" - we requested a table with a view when we booked reservation, and were happy to be seated right at the open window on the first floor (perfect for people watching on Hanover street on a busy Saturday night). My husband had a great sirloin and my swordfish was perfectly cooked. I would definitely go back/recommend to someone looking to make a reservation somewhere fairly priced and delicious/romantic in North End.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were visiting our son for the weekend. We always like to try the restaurants in the North End.
We shared a panzanella salad and their Nachos Bolognese, which was delicious and different. We had chicken parmesan with pasta, veal chop, pumpkin ravioli, and swordfish putanesca. We were all very pleased with our selections. The server was professional and knowledgeable. The dishes were presented well and cooked perfectly We had some chianti . No room for dessert. We will definitely come back to this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. Visited during Marathon Weekend, and Chef was very accommodating to my daughter who is vegetarian.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Hands down my favorite place in the North End of Boston. Friendly staff, great food, cool vibe, moderate cost. The meatball apps are a must! Valet Parking makes is so easy to get in and out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday. 9 people in our party. Room and table upstairs overlooking street was very nice and comfortable. Food, service, and ambiance was great. A fun night. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Tresca was recommended by a local while I was in Boston on business. As a fan of both the Bruins and Italian food, I had to go.
Service was excellent and the food was excellent . Calamari app , Veal Picatta as entree for me and Bolignese for my coworker. All excellent. Including a few drinks , the cost was very reasonable for the area. Overall had a great dinner and would recommend Tresca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've been to Tresca several times and always have a wonderful meal! The mushroom gnocchi is one of my favorite dishes in the North End. Great value for the food, and the service is wonderful. Good wine list too.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Family of 4 had fantastic meals with a great service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Came down from Canada to see a few Bruin games and really enjoy the restaurant. The food was fantastic and the staff was attentive and very friendly. Met some interesting people from different parts of the US. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Best Veal Chop we ever had! We had dinner early at 5:15, and it was very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I took a group of 10 to Tresca on a Monday night during a convention. We had no difficulty with a last minute reservation. Our waiter was great and very helpful, and explained dishes to those unfamiliar. Our food was good, and for most places in America would have been considered outstanding, but in the North End I have had much better for a better value. Three of us ordered the Seafood Fra Diavolo and they came out in three different sizes with obvious differences in the amount of food on the dish. The waiter even joked about this. What restaurant does that? I had a much better cioppino further down Hanover St. on Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We dined at Tresca after a show. We were able to make a last minute reservation for 3 as we had not planned ahead. We were seated immediately. Waited on quickly. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was above average and arrived in a prompt fashion. My big complaint was the noise level. It was almost impossible to hear each other at the table. I tried moving closer to my husband, but the tables were so close together that I could not. Another waiter actually asked me to move so he could squeeze in to serve the other table. Although the food was good, I would probably not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our food was good. The Fra Diablo lacked the Diablo but it was fresh with good flavor. Our server was a little busy (inattentive) that cost him an additional round of cocktails. Overall, we would return but there are certainly better values on Hanover Street.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was excellent - the food, the value provided, the service, the setting, and the people. We are definitely coming back with other people the next time.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I didn't know who Ray Burke was but he has one fantastic restaurant and maybe one of the best chefs in Boston. Food was outstanding, great portions for North End and great selection. All our servers were attentive and explained all our dishes. A personal visit from the chef capped the evening. Even the owner came over to make sure we were taken care of. Funny accent but still a nice gesture.

Having visited all the top restaurants in the North End, I couldn't recommend Tresca any stronger.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.