Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Tresca

Tresca is an authentic Boston North End Italian restaurant featuring hearty multi-regional cuisine with an exceptional wine cave, offering a selection of over 500 of the finest vintages. The warm and cozy atmosphere features a fireplace lit dining room both in the lower level and the beautiful Tuscan style upstairs seating overlooking famous Hanover St. in the heart of the North End. Bruins Hall of Fame Legend Ray Bourque co-owns Tresca with partners including Chef Richard Ansara. The service is exceptional and the menu remarkable, a delicious dining experience inviting patrons to make return visits.

233 Hanover St.
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner is available nightly from 5:00pm - 10:00pm Monday - Thursday, Friday 5pm - 11 pm. Saturday 4 pm - 11 pm and Sunday 1 pm - 9.00pm. Our full bar opens Saturday at 4:00 and Sunday at 1pm, closes at midnight during the week, 12:30 am Friday and Saturday, and 10 pm on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Cross St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-8240

Website:
http://www.trescanorthend.com/

Entertainment:
Flat screen TV, CD music

Catering:
Available for private functions.

Parking Details:
Restaurant validates for parking at local Haymarket garage. $3 for first three hours standard after three hours. Please call for directions to garage. Five minute walk to restaurant.
Valet parking is available. Look for Exclusive Valet sign; the valet space is next to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Haymarket, TD Banknorth Garden

Executive Chef:
Richard Ansara

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
The perfect romantic setting for an engagement party, rehearsal dinner or cozy intimate wedding. For an exceptional birthday cake or anniversary cake please call in advance and make arrangements.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The main dining room seats up to 80 and the smaller dining room seats up to 30. All have fireplaces and are available for luncheons, dinners, cocktail parties, and seminars.

Tresca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Authentic (27)
Casual (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
People Watching (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Fun (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Scenic View (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner by the open air windows. Great Birthday celebration. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food! Some of the best Italian food in the north end that I’ve ever eaten

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for the first time Saturday night. Heard the place was very busy so we made a reservation. Had a lovely seat on the second overlooking busy, with pedestrian traffic, Hanover Street. The service was spot-on as was the appetizers and entrees. Good wine selection and saw Rich, the chef/owner, actually interacting with customers and inquiring about their meals. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

food and atmosphere was outstanding !! Service was above and beyond !! highly reccomend

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

I had been to Tresca a few years ago, but only for drinks and dessert. I was so happy that we were able to get back there- I have moved to the North End and love trying lots of different places, but Tresca was definitely on my list. We had a great seat near a window, and the food was out of this world! Our waiter was great and checked on us multiple times to ensure that we liked our food choices and had everything we needed! We all loved it and will definitely go back again!!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I took my Asian date, who is not familiar with Italian food, here on a Friday night. I ordered from the menu avoiding cheesy and cream-based items. We had a garden salads, shrimp scampi and split the veal chop. Everything was excellent! My date particularly loved the angel hair pasta in scampi sauce.

Service and ambiance were great. Validated parking at Boston Marketplace Garage was an added “Benny”.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

This is the place to go for great Italian food. I beleive I had the best chicken parm ever. The staff was wonderful and gracious. We even had the opportunity to chat with Chef Rich too. We highly recommend Tresca if you are visiting the North End.

Gina and Paul

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Tresca’s is a favorite in the North end. The food never disappoints. Good service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had the pumpkin risotto and it was a culinary highlight of our entire vacation!! If we hadn't reserved a table through this app, we wouldn't have gotten through the door it was so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went to Tresca to celebrate a friend’s engagement. This was our first time there, but won’t be our last! The service was great and the food was amazing! Would definitely recommend Tresca and will definitely be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were super happy that Tresca gave us the table we want! food was amazing, our waiter (matt?) Was excellent waiter, made our night great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Truly excellent food. Authentic, well prepared and presented. One of Boston's North End gems!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great place in the north end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I picked this spot to celebrate my birthday. The food was very disappointing and it was not cheap. I would not go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great place with quick service in a very special environment. Delicious Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

On our flight into Boston, a fellow traveler from the Boston area recommended Tresca, so we decided to try it, and we weren't sorry! Rarely do we ever get a visit at our table from the chef, but Richard came by twice and very engagingly talked about dishes he was proudest of. We took his advice and had the veal chop and the swordfish - definitely wonderful fare! Our waitress, Sarah, was a gem! A really lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Friendly and efficient staff and awesome food! Antipasto was a great start. Delicious bread and aioli

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Tresca's was wonderful as it always is. The staff is outstanding and the food is exceptional. Tresca's is our destination whenever we are in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was very good and the food was fantastic!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was my first time at Tresca and will definitely be my last time. I recently had a Gilt City G.C. for this restaurant and thought this would be a good place to try as my Hubby and I love the North End. Since we have been to the North End several times this Summer, we've had some amazing dining experiences - this was not one of them.

First and foremost, I noted an allergy on my Open Table reservations. The Server told me the Chef was planning to speak to me - he never did. I also went over my allergy in depth with my Server since the Chef didn't come by - he suggested the Chicken Marsala - I sent my entrée back as this dish usually is cooked with mushroom and pancetta or prosciutto. This wasn't the case as no mushrooms came and the chicken had no flavor whatsoever or no Marsala flavor - it tasted like olive oil - I sent it back. No Manager came over or even asked if there was anything they could do for me or even apologized. Since I read a lot of mixed reviews on this restaurant, I definitely agreed with all the negative comments I read about the restaurant.

Since I didn't have much too eat due to an ingredient being in their bread that I'm allergic to, I was limited to what I could eat and left hungry. After leaving the restaurant, my hubby and I went elsewhere in which I ordered something to take home and eat. Save yourself time and SKIP THIS RESTAURANT - too many great choices to dine at that the service and food are amazing. This was without a doubt the worst restaurant I have ever dined in, in the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food, great service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Superior service. The chefs specials are out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Took our daughter from BC out for dinner. Food was spectacular-Cowboy Italiano steak was simply delicious as was the filet mignon with the lobster tail. I had the most amazing mushroom appetizer special-mushrooms in a ricotta cheese filling wrapped in phylo dough-it was the best thing I've ever eaten. Really wonderful staff-service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great experience. Visiting son at college and had his grandparents with us as well. Friendly, great service, accommodated a diet restriction with no issue whatsoever. Order several apps and they were very good . The entrees were outstanding Lobster ravioli is incredible as were chicken and veal parmesan. Overall great experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Super disappointed with Tresca. I did a ton of research and decided to believe all the positive reviews, but I guess I should have given some weight to the negative ones. We had the veal parmesan (2 of them actually), a creamy shrimp dish, and a pizza. None of them were good - wow. The pizza was indescribable, as there was basically nothing to describe. The veal was thicker than normal, and seemed like good quality, so I'll give them credit for that. However, the sauce was not good, the cheese on top was tasteless, and it seemed like it was sitting somewhere being kept hot as the rest of the meals were being finished. It just wasn't good. My wife's shrimp dish was also pretty tasteless, and that pizza (which I already mentioned) was really lame. Ehhhh ambiance, but the waiter and bus boy were very nice and accommodating, which was the best part of the evening. We would never go back, which is a bummer because I want to find another really good restaurant in the North End, where I've been going for decades. I so wanted to like this one but it didn't work out that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a lovely meal and our server was wonderful. I will be thinking of the filo with three types of mushrooms any time I need to feel better about the world. An appetizer so good I considered cancelling my entree and getting a second serving.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! I took my daughter for a special ladies' evening out to celebrate her upcoming nuptials. The food was delicious, the service excellent, and the restaurant was very comfortable. The portions were more than ample - so much so that we had enough for a light lunch the next day. We enjoyed people-watching from our table by the window. We especially appreciated meeting the chef-owner who took the time to come around and ensure that we were pleased with our meals! Our one regret was that we didn't have enough room to try dessert! We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My son, the pilot, flew in to Boston on a Saturday night and met his Mom and Dad for a good meal. I made a reservation at Tresca's although I had not been there before. I was so glad I did. The restaurant was great. Loved the ambiance, food, and service. The chocolate lava cake was absolutely delicious, not heavy. It was very noisy for awhile but that is to be expected on a Saturday night. It was a memorable dinner and hope to go back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was terrific. Very noisy upstairs dining room.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Service was great, food was great. We had an early reservation so we had seating at an open window for the street ambience. The only issue we had was with the reservation, it was not on their reservation list. I assume this is a glitch between Tresca and OpenTable.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Plenty of food but not overwhelming. We had a very nice experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good food but very noisy.
Beet carpaccio excellent, pastas - large portions and tasty.
Wine a bit expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Tresca's, so when friends wanted to meet us in town, we suggested dining there. Even on a Sunday evening in the middle of Labor Day weekend, it was busy. There were many groups of 4 or more and what appeared to be family gatherings, all enjoying the great food and ambiance.

Everyone at our table enjoyed our dishes - salads for starters, then 3 different pastas including the lobster ravioli special that was amazing, a huge portion of chicken parm and a great veal chop.

The busy room kept the staff running, but almost always with a smile! A great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was outstanding and generous portions. Would like to see tables a little further apart. Wth so many people in a small space the noise level is high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went for an anniversary- service and staff were very attentive and speedy with drinks and food. Our entree meals were poor, pizza tasted like a frozen pizza and the pasta was over cooked. Little disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Best calamari in Boston
Bolognese excellent
Nice location good service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

First time at Tresca. Excellent meal, good wine recommendation from our server, all was quite good. We would return.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Unbelievable lobster raviolis! Food, service and atmosphere were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.