Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Trabocco

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: (510) 521-1152

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (81)
Special Occasion (78)
Fit for Foodies (76)
See All
Open Kitchen (71)
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Authentic (57)
Great for Lunch (55)
Wood Oven (52)
Worth the Drive (52)
Modern Decor (51)
Bar Seating (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Casual (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Business Meals (37)
Romantic (36)
Fun (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Comfort Food (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Healthy (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
People Watching (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Cozy (20)
Fireplace (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Disabled Access (16)
Family Style (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Seasonal (14)
Private Room (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Organic (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is always great, owner takes pride and treats his guests like family. Service can be a little slow and the bus boys need a little more refinement.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful waiter and staff, nice being acknowledged by the Chef. Food was great, fish cooked just right not over cooked. Risotto was the best my husband has had. Great drinks and the final touch was the dessert which was great. Thank you for making our first visit so amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Lamb shank risotto was divine- creamy texture, tangy goat cheese. House salad crisp, fresh, tasty. Veg ravioli light & delicious . Very loud, tables close together, but otherwise great dinner place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

One of Alameda's best restaurants. Great service and a good Italian meal. You can always count on Trabocco for a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was delicious but service was lacking. Our first server let us know that someone called in sick that evening. The second server asked us, "Well are you going to do something or what?" when taking our dessert order from the menus that we obtained from the bus boy. Very noisy and drinks were slow to be refilled. The food was great though so I may give the service another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner a great deal except the osso bucco but the server kindly removed it from our bill. Skip the desserts too. You would never imagine a fine dining experience in a strip mall but you'll have just that here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Trabocco is a very, very good restaurant. The sauteed octopus is one of the best dishes around. And, the lasagna is the best I have ever had ... anywhere!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We dined with friends who had been to Trabocco many times. The atmosphere is bright and cheery. We were greeted by the owner and later Chef came to our table. Service was very good and the food was excellent. Our friends told our server and Chef that we are getting married soon and Chef brought a surprise dessert to our table, the presentation was gorgeous. We will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Trabocco is the best restaurant I've eaten in California

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very good quality Italian. For the island of Alameda very probably the best restaurant. Caring owner, good staff, carefully prepared food. A nice warm ambience. Will return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Beautifullly presented ravioli alla zucca and delicious seafood brodetto alla Vastese. Attentive and pleasant staff. What's not to like?

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to Trabocco twice. The service is always very good. The first time it was absolutely exceptional! This time it was still very good. The food comes out very quickly considering how busy they are. The chef speaks to customers and comes into the dining area. The staff - from the hosts to the bussers - are very professional and friendly. The restaurant is beautifully appointed - a very pleasant space to be in.

Both times I went, I found the food to be lacking salt. My husband, who uses very little salt, felt the same way. The food is of good quality. Always hot and fresh when served. The chocolate torte is AMAZING! However, their meat lacks flavor (to me).

Overall, it is a really nice restaurant. It's my mother's go to spot. My husband and I prefer a place with more developed flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu here continues to be solid. The core menu is a bit stale, but the specials are always good. Service on this visit was horrible- not our usual positive experience. We had very late reservations and our server appeared to be frustrated by the late seating. He was completely unhelpful (bordering on belligerent) in offering a wine suggestion, he did not offer to review the specials until we specifically asked what they were (again, specials are a key part of the menu), and tried to rush every aspect of our dinner. The food was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome place!! If you like Italian food you should definitely come here. Get the Mezzo e Mezzo. Aka the pizza calzone

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another great meal with terrific service! We just love this place!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Once dinner was served, there was no follow-up AT ALL. Server disapeared (poof, she was gone).
The pork chop (a beautiful cut of meat) was dry and tasteless, over cooked. Unfortunately this restaurant is overrated and doesn't live up to the hype. The server couldn't live up to her opinion of herself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I held my book club here. We had pizza and salad with an appetizer. It was the third time we had held book club here. They reserved the front table for us. The service and the food were exemplary. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the attentive service. To accommodate us, the salads were split so we each had individual salads, and the server cut up our pizzas for us, so it was easier to share. Everything went perfectly. We totally enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Awesome place, very clean, great atmosphere, and you can tell the chef has to be the owner because he comes to every table to make sure all the patrons are happy.

If you have a special occasion let the server know, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Authentic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our server was surprisingly condescending and rude. She was clearly having a bad day, but that doesn't justify her attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is a large restaurant that is doing formulaic Italian food that lacks flavor. Salted cod appetizer was chewy; flageolet salad had no flavor; sea bass special - fish was cooked well and hot but sides of spinach and polenta were flavorless and cold. It's very loud and feels like a chain restaurant. Service was good, we were seated promptly and the wait staff was attentive, but appetizers were served together instead of timed one at a time. There are so many good Italian restaurants in the Bay Area and even in Alameda, I would never go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always delicious. A little loud but seeing the owner every night with his lovely wife makes it worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A wonderful gem in Alameda. Extensive Italia cuisine beyond piazza. The waiter read us a list of dinner specials for the main course that was longer than the printed list!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I love Trabocco! This is a great restaurant for special occasions or just because! I have sat at the chef's table and watched the chefs in the kitchen work, I have sat in the bar and watched the games on flat screen tv's while we drank and ate, and I have sat in the beautiful restaurant. The service is great and I love the owner! Every occasion I have visited, he was always kind and welcoming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I am never disappointed when I go to Trabocco. I had the seafood pasta which was outrageous!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a very good lunch and met the the chef - very friendly - and had a good time. Service had opportunities as there was a missed beverage and it was less attentive than expected. The food filled the gap and it was a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is where we celebrate birthdays. Chef/owner recognizes us, wait staff are wonderful and it is a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary and were well taken care of from the moment we walked in. Food was amazing, service was impeccable and we both felt appreciated. Would certainly go back to try more of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had a last minute change-of-venue for a quiet wedding anniversary dinner that went from two to five persons. Trabocco came through and accommodated us. Great meals. Great service and wonderful ambiance. Highly recommend .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The wait staff is fabulous and the owner/chef is a gem, sincere and caring about the guests experience being the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The patio is very relaxing, great for families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have been here often. We like the owner/chef because he is personable and appreciates his customers. The food is consistently excellent. We mostly always order the same dishes: margharita pizza, cappresse salad, duck, octopus and the beef carpaccio. The wait staff is always attentive and professional. We also like the house zinfandel which is from local winery, Rockwall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Delicious! I had a duck risotto that was amazing! My wife had the lasagna it was also very good and a huge portion!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

HUGE portions. My dish was great, but be careful when you order a special. We noticed the head chef was singing to several different tables for their birthdays, and so we figured that the sous chef made the special. The veal was chewy, spinach was not salted or seasoned at all and was very bitter, indicating that it was overcooked. It was bad enough to send it back and get another dish. The server was very kind about it and handled the situation very professionally. The replacement dish, which was the oxtail ravioli, was good except it had way too much parmesan and way too heavy of sauce. I ordered the butternut squash stuffed pasta. It was good but once again, the sauce was a very odd choice (tomato) for the pasta. I would have much preferred it without the tomato sauce.
Not good enough for the price.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service is amazing feel like you're visiting friends. They make you feel special. Food is out of this world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A absolute gem in Alameda! Excellent food & service! The executive chef Giuseppe is amazing & always so welcoming! Love this place!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had reservations for 4 and was seated on time. Given bread and olive oil. Bread was warm and crusty! Our table ordered the grilled octopus and fried calamari for appetizer. Nice portions and delicious. Calamari was very light. Main courses were the Cristina pizza, chicken and gnocchi. Again portions were good. Pizza was 12 in. 1/2 chicken with starch and vegetable. Gnocchis were light. Overall great meal. Would go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great "hidden gem" in our oldest shopping mall -- great staff, food, and cocktails, with a noteworthy wine list. The singular dishes offered at Trabocco keep regulars coming back and draw in new customers daily. Better make a reservation unless you want to try to find a place in the bar to eat. You can get a quick lunch, dinner, or snack at the counter if you're in a hurry.

Tags: Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

One of our very favorite restaurants, and some of the best food in the east bay-San Francisco area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fantastic experience - went here two nights out of the first week when we moved to Alameda. Great quality food and service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Get the squash dumplings! Pizza crust is great, and the zabbagione is delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.