Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Trabocco

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: (510) 521-1152

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Good for a Date (73)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
See All
Good for Birthdays (65)
Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for Groups (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Authentic (51)
Great for Lunch (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fun (44)
Bar Seating (43)
Romantic (40)
Casual (39)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Cozy (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Seasonal (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Disabled Access (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
People Watching (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Too expensive for the relatively poor quality. Crowded tables and poor service. For the same price you can try Delfina or Perbacco and get much better food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Another great evening out at Trabocco.
Our wait staff was great and the pizza and pasta wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely love this place! Awesome food and great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved the vibe and the food!! The owner/chef happened to be at the podium when we arrived and greeted us like long lost friends (it was our first time) and we felt immediately at home. Our server was terrific and the menu extensive. Portions were beautifully presented and very generous. We mentioned that it was our anniversary and they gave us complementary desserts. The excellent flourless chocolate cake arrived on a large platter with an anniversary greeting and lovely flourishes - delivered by the owner/chef and our terrific server, complete with a song.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The owner came and sat to welcome us; the wait staff were in good humor, helpful in just the right amount, and competent. The pasta is HOMEMADE (I could stop right here and you would know it is heaven on earth) and you can see it being made through a window. Recipes are inventive (not traditional so you shouldn't expect the old standards) and delicious. I had the butternut sage ravioli and my friend had the NY steak w/spinach and almond potatoes. Both were excellent as were the burrata appetizer and the pumpkin crème brulee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Amazing food! Love at first bite! Great menu choice! Great wine! The chef was greeting to say goodbye Ciao! Come back soon💜 Thank you

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I made reservations for 7:30p and showed up on time. The weather was beautiful, so my date asked if we could sit outside. They did not hesitate to accommodate our request. We were seated outside and it was a perfect evening. The service was impeccable (friendly with a smile), and the food was incredible. And as usual, the Head Chef came out to greet us and wished us a merry evening. You never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Read the reviews on Open Table and decided we needed to try it out. Was not disappointed. Tucked away in a shopping center it indeed is a hidden gem. We started with calamari which was crisp and the octopus was delicious. We each had different entrees and thoroughly enjoyed them. Desserts were flavorful and worth every calorie. Benjamin, our waiter, was very attentive. Worth the 35 minute drive! Will definitely head there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Trabocco always delivers a really good, quality meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The only restaurant for my wife and I for fine dinning, wine, and cocktails in Alameda. Best Italian food, and also grilled fish and meats. We also occasionally enjoy lunch in the open air patio. If you don't live in Alameda, it's worth a trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

It's in the middle of a shopping center, but could easily be found in the gourmet getto or in a foodie neighborhood. Great menu, friendly service and a chef that knows what he's doing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Enjoyed the restaurant with our family of 4 adults. Fantastic abruzzo gnocci (add sausage), seafood stew, and pumpkin raviolis!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Excellent food as always! Still quite noisy so hard to have conversation with a group.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was amazing, and we enjoyed perfect wait service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We have a beautiful experience with friends in celebration of my birthday! The food was just outstanding, the wait staff was incredible and we LOVED having the chef come to our table - what a personal touch!

Love Trabocco's!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I eat here for lunch and dinner whenever in town on business. Great food. I haven’t had a dish yet that I didn’t like. Try the oxtail ravioli! They make their pasta on site. The dessert that begins with a “Z” is my favorite. Chef Guiseppe is always around helping to prepare/ serve food or visiting the tables. He actually remembers you and Ian from out of town! That’s a rarity these days.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food was delicious! The menu was different from other Italian restaurants, but fantastic taste in all the food ordered. I can't wait to come and dine again when in Alameda.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good for Groups, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Spicy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We really livevestting here it’s our favorite restaurant in Alameda.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

So noisy that we couldn't even carry on a conversation. New York steak was so tough that my husband couldn't eat it. My Lasagna was excellent though. Been there several times and the food was wonderful. This was our second unhappy experience. Won't go back

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Trabocco is an Alameda Authentic Italian dining gem in the midst of nicely modernized Southshore shopping center. The fine dining ambience inside is very inviting. Patio seating is plentiful and relaxing. The food is fresh, well- prepared authentic Italian food. Service level was friendly, fast and welcoming. Now that I've tried lunch, I'll be back for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Trabocco consistently delivers whether the first time or the 10th. My guest from Hawaii was quite impressed with what Giuseppe and spouse have brought to Alameda, the professionalism of the wait staff, and the quality of the food served. If you have not had the octopus appetizer, you must have at next opportunity...I could eat three plates of it as my entree. Yes, it can get a little loud there but then you get the sense of being in the community that is Alameda. A highly reliable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our waitress was the best! Unfortunately I can't remember her name, but she was from Russia. She went above and beyond to please us with our picky needs! She spent a lot of time helping us make choices and didn't once act like she was irritated by us, which I would have been lol. The food was really good and the ambiance was great. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Trabocco is probably the best restaurant in Alameda. Always excellent food and service. Hidden inside an outdoor mall, this restaurant is a real gem. Wonderful Italian, perfectly prepared. Gorgeous plates of food and wonderful drinks and wine list. The service is the best I've had in years!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend and will return in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

This place is incredible! wonderful fresh food, always a special treat. The staff are amazing and take good care of you.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quick Bite, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent food and great service. I put it was my sons 16th bday in comments on the online reservation page and after dinner the head chef/owner came over with a dessert and 'Happy 16th Bitthday' written in chocolate on the plate. Plus he sang happy birthday to him. Made my sons bday dinner extra special. The whole staff is very friendly. Will definitely go back and recommend to all my friends!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

As good as always. Very good service and food. My girlfriend an I had our yearly birthday lunch. I also go there with family and friends and it is close to my home in Alameda.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Took friends who are also clients and restaurant owners to treat them to a special evening. I think they enjoyed it very much. As usual Guiseppe came out to greet us personally. The food was excellent as always and the service attentive. My only complaint was that the lighting is VERY dim. Would love to have a bit more light without losing ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Trabocco is a great Alameda neighborhood gem, but besides that it is worth the trip if you are in the East Bay and enjoy authentic Italian. This restaurant pays attention to the quality of ingredients and serves them in a comforting way that always makes the visit worthwile.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great place to eat in Alameda. The staff was nice enough to split several dishes we shared and plated them for each of us. Food is tasty and generous portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was delicious. Service outstanding. Nice vibe.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Always great food. I introduced a friend from out of town as it was his birthday. The birthday dessert was over the top and presented by the chef. Very nice unexpected touch!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is a favorite. Good food good service interesting menu choices very pleasant environment. Love when the chef comes out to greet the guests.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Good service, pleasant staff and great food as usual.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Never disappoints!! Great food and service.
Always had an amazing time

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

This a great date spot, but unfortunately the food doesn't warrant the price. The wait staff was excellent no complaints at all with the wait staff at all, they were tremendous. It was the food that just didn't do it for me or would make me want to go back. It is a happening spot in Alameda with a nice bar area. We didn't try the Pizza but did look appetizing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Hostess and waiter made a point to mention our special Wedding Anniversary, even brought a complimentary dessert to our table!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was fresh, delicious and tasty! Great selection of specials and it was hard to select one. I had a Mediterranean Sea Bass and my husband enjoyed the chicken with polenta and seasonal vegetables and we both loved the heirloom tomato and the homemade burrata cheese appetizer. Giussepe, the owner and head chef, made us feel extra special on our anniversary, took the time to chat with us and make sure everything was perfect. He also presented us with a wonderful anniversary dessert. Love this neighborhood gem, modern and comfortable atmosphere, but mostly the care and thoughtfulness of the owners for their restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wonderfully inviting, elegant without trying to be and sumptuous flavors!
Trabocco is exceptional in its welcoming staff, its friendly owner--Guiseppe and the total commitment to excellence in food offerings.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

If we could give more than 5 stars we would. Food and service is always wonderful and perfect! We had "Cristina" pizza, and duck special. Just as good as the last time we had it. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.