About Trabocco

2213 South Shore Center
Alameda, CA 94501
View Larger Map

Trabocco brings something new and exciting to Alameda. Chef-owner, Giuseppe Naccarelli presents a seasonally inspired menu of classic Italian dishes with a modern twist, influenced by the cuisine of his native region of Abruzzo.
A Trabocco is a unique fishing pier found along the Adriatic coast of Abruzzo. Architect and Designer Lev Weisbach of Weisbach Architecture|Design was inspired by the beautiful Trabocchi of Abruzzo when he created his spectacular design. With its reclaimed wood ceilings, dramatic copper encased fireplace, and modern bar Trabocco is warm and welcoming yet strikingly dramatic and modern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Su-Sa 11:30am-4pm
Dinner Su-Th 4pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Otis St. and Park St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 521-1152

Website:
http://www.trabocco.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking in South Shore Center parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Naccarelli

Private Party Facilities:
The "Salle del Vino" provides groups of 10-16 with an intimate private dining experience. The Wine Room is separated from the Bar/Lounge area by a dramatic floor to ceiling wine wall which houses Trabocco's wines, all of which are from Italy and California.

Private Party Contact:
Christine Naccarelli: (510) 521-1152

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Trabocco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (76)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
See All
Fit for Foodies (67)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Open Kitchen (57)
Authentic (56)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Modern Decor (49)
Worth the Drive (48)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Bar Seating (39)
Wood Oven (37)
Romantic (36)
Fun (33)
Business Meals (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Casual (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Healthy (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Seasonal (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Family Style (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fireplace (18)
Cozy (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (14)
Private Room (13)
Disabled Access (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service as always!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food and service as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had dinner with a small group of frien ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I had dinner with a small group of friends for a birthday party. Excellent choice! The food was great and that was most important! There were a few specials and dishes that really sounded wonderful that we'll have to come back again for. The owner was a wonderful gentleman, he came out to sing happy birthday to our friend and exchange a few pleasantries! The pork chop, Trabocco Spaghetti and the burrata were our favorites.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love going to Trabocco for fam ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We always love going to Trabocco for family dinners. The chef is so great at making everyone who walks in the door feel welcome. We think other chefs could learn a lot from him about creating a welcoming environment, plus the delicious food.

We recommend Trabocco to friends all the time. The food is consistent, the service good, and the dining room nice. Although we have never sat there, they do have a kitchen counter so that you can watch what happens in the kitchen, maybe one day we will.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We got married earlier in the day and wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We got married earlier in the day and wanted to celebrate with dinner and a nice bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always delicious. Started with octopus a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Always delicious. Started with octopus and potatoes, tender and savoury

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food & service. A little noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food & service. A little noisey and a bit pricey for Easy Bay.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good Italian food on the Islabd-hip ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good Italian food on the Islabd-hip decor. Nice wine. Only complaint was service could have been better and waiters more responsive-we were not in a hurry though so wasn't huge deal

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, , Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great place for an awesome meal!!! Ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for an awesome meal!!! Every Time!!! Enjoy time there when in the area.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I Enjoyed a fabulous salmon salad for Va ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I Enjoyed a fabulous salmon salad for Valentine's lunch. My husband ordered a delicious gourmet pizza which was large enough to share. Always enjoy this restaurant for a special treat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Valentine's dinner a day ear ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came for Valentine's dinner a day early since I work in the industry and will be serving Valentine's dinner on Valentine's Day. Service, ambiance, and food were all spot on. They had many specials that evening, yet the server did a great job of describing all of them. We had the burrata caprese which was simple yet flavorful. For entrees we had the daily risotto which was rabbit ragu and the steak. Every component, the risotto, potatoes, spinach, and steak was cooked perfectly. The wine list looked great but I ended up bringing a bottle of Frank Family sparkling rouge which perfectly complimented our meal. For dessert we had spumoni gelato which was a nice finish. The menu was simple and straightforward. I felt value in the experience and that is definitely something I'm always looking for in a meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my go to restaurant for any and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my go to restaurant for any and all occasions. The quality of food, service and ambiance is what you would expect in Beverly Hills. Never a bad experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food, lighting ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent service, great food, lighting is a bit challenging, but everything else was terrific. Loved it and will be recommending it to friends as well as returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Such a nice meal--everything was perfect ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Such a nice meal--everything was perfect. We will be back! Our waiter Marshall was incredible. The food was all good. It's a special treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here before and it still meets our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Been here before and it still meets our expectations, service attentive without being smothering, food was well prepared and excellent. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a wonderful time at Trabocco! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a wonderful time at Trabocco! We love the outdoor (covered) tables as they are perfect for the kiddos (both experienced restaurant diners, but still young children). Staff is always accommodating modifying the menu to suit a picky 3 yo (plain noodles w evoo dipping sauce, please) and beyond that just so darn nice! Great food here at a reasonable price point, perfect for everything from family meals to date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The delicious eats (Oxtail Ravioli - Yes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The delicious eats (Oxtail Ravioli - Yes!) has been raved about before but the superb service my long time friend and I received did not go unnoticed - The perfect balance of knowing when to step in to assist and fall back allowing a table to simply enjoy their own moment is a rare art I've seen on display here. Scene was warm, patronage vibrant and I look forward to the next round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food. Definitely worth it! The w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food. Definitely worth it! The wait staff are very professional and friendly too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this place. Best restaurant in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love this place. Best restaurant in Alameda by far. Not even close. Gussepie, the owner, is wonderful. Amazing chef and classic Italian host. Get reservations, because it fills up fast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Trabocco. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Trabocco. What a pleasure to be greeted at the door by the owner, with an exuberant welcome. The service was good and the food was high quality. I really enjoyed the agnolotti with butternut squash, sage, and browned butter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a great meal at Trabocco! Such a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a great meal at Trabocco! Such a wonderful Italian restaurant in Alameda. Great service, food and ambience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Trabocco is a good restaurant. It's tryi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Trabocco is a good restaurant. It's trying hard and doing well. Is it great? No. It's good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service is impeccable w genuine friendly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service is impeccable w genuine friendly wait staff, food fresh and full flavored, owner/chef full of sincere passion!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent! Two of us had the por ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always excellent! Two of us had the pork risotto and the other had the grilled salmon, and we shared the polio e patate appetizer. Everything was tasty, seasoned perfectly, and the service was spot on. Thanks Giuseppe for providing such a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went based upon Yelp reviews and were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went based upon Yelp reviews and were not disappointed. Outstanding food! Great, friendly service. Only complkaint us that it is VERY loud and hard to carry a cobversation.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great as usual! Although I usually have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great as usual! Although I usually have one of the delicious pizzas, this time I went for the Branzino which was perfectly cooked and came with delicious rosemary roasted potatoes, roasted cauliflower and brussels. The staff are amazing, helpful and friendly. There's also an extensive outdoor eating area for when it's warm enough (it wasn't!) and a large bar with Italian wines and wines from local winery, Rockwall. Alameda doesn't have too many restaurants like this so I hope people continue to enjoy Trabocco for a long time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been wanting to try Trabocco for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had been wanting to try Trabocco for some time and finally had our chance last Saturday night. The restaurant was already jumping at 6:45 when we arrived, with several people waiting in line for a table to open. We were seated promptly and had a fun waitress who impressed us with not only great service, but her memorization of a list of "specials" that was almost as long as the regular menu. We shared a salad, pizza and the pumpkin creme brûlée for dessert. Sounds simple and maybe boring, but it was anything but. Simply delicious. Accompanied by a couple glasses of Nero D'Avola wine, it was a perfect meal. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came to Trabocco for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My husband and I came to Trabocco for the first time Saturday evening. I made our reservation through the OpenTable app for 6:15 and when we arrived at the restaurant we were seated right away. Our server, Katherine, was friendly, knowledgeable and made our dining experience enjoyable!

The food at Trabocco is amazing! Chef Giuseppe, is wonderful at creating an Italian menu with a twist! We truly enjoyed our entrées & drinks and the desserts are amazing as well!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here a few times and it's always gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Been here a few times and it's always great. Tasty food, good service. We sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen. The extremely charismatic owner/head chef has been there every time and is friendly and welcoming to everyone who sits down by cracking jokes and offering ebullient and hearty greetings while also manning the pizza oven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is delicious, classy inside even th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is delicious, classy inside even though it's located in the mall. I think being in the mall makes it convenient and easy to park! Usually when I have eaten dinner here the food arrives in a reasonable amount of time, but lunch really took a long time and not sure why since restaurant wasn't full. So except for that I would have given 5 stars instead. Wait staff is always great. Didn't see the chef/owner this time but I do like that he generally takes a minute to say hello to the guests. Again, the food is really delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The octopus was fantastic. Thanks Chef, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The octopus was fantastic. Thanks Chef, for recommending it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The meal was superb. Roasted cauliflower ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The meal was superb. Roasted cauliflower bisque and a whole grilled branzino served with roasted Brussels sprouts. Delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as always a wonderful and inviting place ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

as always a wonderful and inviting place to eat!! Never a disappointment.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, , Great for Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first trip to Trabocco. great energy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our first trip to Trabocco. great energy and vibe. It is noisy and not a great place for kids, although there were a few. 3 tables celebrated birthday so certainly could be a special occasion place for you.

Loved the décor. Huge & tall atrium space open to a skylight.

The waiters and servers really seemed to work as a team and hop. They were quick!

The vegetarian lasagna was very light and cheesy. there were fewer layers of noodles and more cheese and veggies. Nice touch and a bit unique. My wife enjoyed the grilled sea bass which was deliver with the whole fish. I enjoined the pasta Bolognese. Very nice, and generous portion.

We would defineately return, special occasion or not

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

just wanted to drive sunday, asked googl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

just wanted to drive sunday, asked google for italian restaurant in alameda and we choose Trabocco. loved our visit to the restaurant, shopping and the beach. My pasta was cooked well and tasty, good cocktail list, friendly staff, pizza looked yummy coming out of the wood oven.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Trabocco a number of times, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been to Trabocco a number of times, both with small and large groups. It is always the same...fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful lunch at Trabocco! It was my b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful lunch at Trabocco! It was my birthday and this is exactly where I wanted to go. Comfortable surroundings! Attentive waitstaff! And amazing Italian food!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was completely disengaged and nev ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Server was completely disengaged and never made eye contact or noticed when we needed another drink. Had to summons him for everything. Such a disappointment as it's apparent the owner/chef cares so much about his patrons -- greeting them personally both times we have dined when visiting on business. I will continue to come back but hope the wait staff gets in line with ownership.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Went to Trabocco for my BDay with spouse ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went to Trabocco for my BDay with spouse and 3 friends. I had been there before, none of the others had eaten there previously. They all declared it some of the best Italian food in the Bay Area. It was truly delicious and I'm looking forward to returning soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent! I a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and service was excellent! I am so happy that there is such a nice restaurant within walking distance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined here for the first time at the sug ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dined here for the first time at the suggestion of a friend, it is very loud, off the top, but the food is well prepared, the cocktails are tasty, and we had good service. Enjoyed the octopus, beet salad, agnolotti, chicken, and the panna cotta along with the chocolate cake. If in the area, we'd go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.