Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Town

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (117)
Special Occasion (102)
Good for Birthdays (98)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Vibrant Bar Scene (90)
Bar Seating (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Hot Spot (73)
Fun (72)
Great for Lunch (71)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Business Meals (62)
Great for Brunch (60)
Comfort Food (60)
Casual (59)
Good for Groups (51)
Happy Hour (51)
People Watching (50)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Worth the Drive (43)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Romantic (30)
Cozy (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (15)
Disabled Access (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Live Sports (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tapas (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Love Town! A bit pricey, but tasty and high quality food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Just a great, great restaurant. I eat out at lunch at least 6 times and dinner 3 times a week and Town is one of my top favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant. The food is consistently delicious, and the ambience is lively. It can be difficult with little ones unless you sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, we enjoyed our time at Town. Great service, ambiance, and a wide variety of food. One heads-up to would be diners with young toddlers/infants needing a high chair- ask for a table outside or a non-booth table towards the front when making your reservation. The high chair does not mesh well with the booth table - the table is too high, and due to the elevated booth the high chair can't be scooted comfortably under the booth. They were able to move us to a non-booth table in the front, and it all worked out well.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

High quality food. The server could be a little bit more professional. But overall it was an awesome experience. I like the fact my food arrived hot. That too me tells the story.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Town is a very noisy local spot mainly intertaining an older crowd (especially at the bar).
The ribs I had were over sweet almost sickering. The Green Beans were just as bad. I think for the price you pay there should be more on the favor of the food instead of covering the tast with sauce.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner. And the bread pudding was on point as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Surprised to see that the crab sandwich that I've always enjoyed is now half the size and the same price as the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I had set a reservation to celebrate a birthday there and they were absolutely AMAZING! They were able to surprise the birthday individual by going above and beyond which I absolutely appreciated! Food was amazing! I didn't particularly like my prime rib cause it was mostly chucks of fat so I just ended up cutting it out and eating around it. I'm glad the birthday individual loved the ribeye! Super satisfied. They also surprised him with a desert after our dinner.
What I was impressed with was how friendly and how they greeted us with a smile upon arrive and had the table ready! Our waiter and host was amazing and overall, I thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Ps. That Latin corn was spot on! Yum!

Thanks for having us and making a birthday special!! We will be framing the menu! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Hostess was quick to seat us upon our arrival. Waitress was super friendly and attentive to us; especially kind to my daughter. She helped with wine selection and always came to us smiling. We were celebrating my birthday and the bread pudding was awesome as per usual. Food did not disappoint either. Love Town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our server was kind of strange as if she was looking for a fight.
Always asking to repeat our answer.
Very peculiar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Welcoming hostess, a wonderfully attentive staff and menu with many delicious food choices and yummy dessert makes this restaurant so nice to dine at.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Menu items are a hit, specials need some attention.
Keep to the tried and true and you can't go wrong!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Overall very nice restaurant. My wife and I shared the ribeye steak. We asked for medium and it came what we from the Midwest would consider rare. We asked the waiter to have it cooked to medium and it came back medium-rare, so we just ate it as all the sides were getting cold. All of the food was very good quality. The desert menu was limited so we went to another restaurant down the street for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My wife had an enchilada that was so hard , the tortilla, that it was difficult to eat. The chicken was like a rubber chicken. Overall, not a good plate for the money , or even if it were one dollar. Not going back. Second time we have been here with inferior food. Never going back

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I and our kids went here for Sunday brunch, which my wife has been asking to go to for a long time. The food did not disappoint. I had the chicken and waffles, which are amazing and my wife had something equally delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good job!! From the food to the lighting, very impressed and I can't forget the great service. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We normally love to go to Town for special occasion dinners, and have always found the food to be of highest quality. This time, on our anniversary, we had a different experience. I ordered the Horseradish crusted Filet Mignon medium, and it came closer to well-done. Hence, it was dry and tough. My husband ordered the special, a crusted Salmon. The crust was so hard to chew that he finally scooped the fish out of the crust and ate the fish without it.
This is an unusual experience for us at Town. We WILL go back again to see if maybe there were just some new people working in the kitchen who hadn't gotten the knack.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went for my husband's 40th birthday with our four children (all under 10 years old). Our waiter was amazing with the kids, they all loved their food, overall a huge success! Pricy for a group of 6, but it's a nice restaurant, so expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I have been to Town several times over the last few years and I have loved it every time. Their steaks are wonderful (I love the Filet, medium-rare with peppercorn sauce, creamed spinach and garlic mashed potatoes), their classic Manhattan and the bread pudding. I always under-eat for a day or two before I go so I'll have room for all the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great food, outstanding service...highly recommend the Skirt Steak.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

First of all I will thank the Manager for paying for our meal due to the delays in food service. Kind of a weird night and this is the second time it's happened to us at the 5 o'clock seating on a holiday. We didn't order much . We had a beer and a martini which was tasty. We ordered the cauliflower which my wife loves and kept eating. And we ordered the chicken n ribs as a entree to share which took til after 6pm to arrive and by then my wife filled up on cauliflower and she brought her dinner home. They did apologize that they had a very busy brunch but we were hoping for a nice early meal to get home and enjoy the rest of the evening. Town is our favorite restaurant but some consistency is lacking . Hope it improves because we like to make that special trip from Fremont to enjoy the food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Tried Town with friends last night. Just average and everyone was underwhelmed with the food. Two of our guest's dinners fell to the ground...complete accident. The manager, without our asking, didn't charge us for our entrees. The service we received was good but our meals lacked flavor and creativity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We celebrated Kelvin's birthday. Nice touch was the personalized menus! Our waiter was very nice, welcoming. The wedge salad was yummy! K ordered his fave meatloaf, BT ordered the teriyaki skirt steak...They loved it esp with onion rings and mashed potatoes. B finished it and T brought a little home. I ordered the salmon...was tasty. Surprise birthday dessert was the bread pudding and they put a candle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Upscale dining with good prices...good attention to detail. Accommodating. Best to make reservations...quite popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent service, very good food. Very noisy. Don't go there for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our group of eight had a marvelous time. Everyone found something on the menu they loved. A highlight was when the person having a birthday found a special, personalized happy birthday greeting on the top of our table's menus. She giggled!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Town has good food but I tried their meat loaf for the first time and I wouldn't recommend that. It was disappointing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I'm sure that all sorts of people enjoy Town for all sorts of reasons. In our family, we go primarily for the filet mignon, and we are seldom disappointed. This last visit, I ventured into new territory and ordered the Town cut (16 oz) prime rib. It was served just at the edge of rare, perfectly to my liking. As long as there are meat-eaters in my family, we will continue to go to Town for those special-occasion dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I love this place and can't go more than a few weeks without dining there. When I want a long conversation with a friend I am never rushed and I really appreciate that. Great food and terrific staff!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went on a Saturday for dinner at 9:00 pm. We loved to see the place full of people, it has a nice energy, not quiet at all but we liked it. The food is delicious and the portions are generous. We had different cuts of meat and they were all great. A little bit pricey but it was worth it.
They have plenty of non-stop alcoholic drinks which is great for those driving. They have multiple TVs if you want to watch a game. This is not a quiet and romantic spot and I recommend it for a fun night with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Prices reflect fine dining, but surroundings lend to a sports bar...t.v., loud, almost disjointed. Trying to be too many things. Fried cauliflower appetizer was the best thing. Pistachio crusted halibut did not taste fresh and probably should have been sent back. Halibut tostada appetizers did not taste fresh either. Kitchen could take a lesson from La Viga in RWC on how to do fish items. Wine list over priced by about 20%. Our server was very good...friendly and attentive. Since you asked: another friend gave me basically the same review, but not until after we dined there. She also said that she would never return. In the end, there are too many good restaurants in the area, that are less expensive and with exceptional quality, to pay more than is necessary .

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The staff was excellent. It was a surprise that they customized the menu with our names for our bday. That is awesome!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This place never fails! Great service, great food! The lighting could be a teeny but brighter, that's my only qualm for this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Town is a VERY lively restaurant. It is packed all the time and quite loud. I like the noise level because it feels vibrant, but it can be hard to talk with your dining companions at times. The service is very good. Servers always seem very know the menu very well. They also have a gluten free menu, which offers lots of excellent low carb/low fat options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service!! Enjoyed a wonderful evening for a special event.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Way too loud in the corner by the fireplace this night. Otherwise good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The 75 cents per person for health insurance is VERY onerous. It is NOT the money, it is
a) Very bad policy. Should support the ACA insurance like everyone else.
b) It hypocritical in claiming it is not political when it VERY much is POLITICAL.
c)Food price is ALSO NOT the issue. It cost me $13 on a $290 bill. CORRECTION: this is 4.5% and could be absorbed by modest price increase.

I will not return until this policy is revoked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This place never disappoints. The service is always top notch and the food is always amazing. On the rare occasion something does go wrong they will always correct it with no hassle. One of the best things about this place is that it can be great for a casual meal, first date, business meal, anniversary meal, etc etc. You just can't go wrong with this place.

PS. Always leave room for the bread pudding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious brunch followed by famous bread pudding and great service . Reservations are a must but so worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.