About Town

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Special Occasion (89)
Good for Birthdays (86)
See All
Bar Seating (81)
Great for Lunch (75)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Great for Brunch (63)
Vibrant Bar Scene (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Hot Spot (55)
Fun (54)
Casual (48)
Worth the Drive (48)
Business Meals (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Comfort Food (47)
Romantic (44)
Open Kitchen (38)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Cozy (37)
People Watching (36)
Happy Hour (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Modern Decor (29)
Fireplace (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Kid-friendly (21)
Authentic (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Live Sports (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (12)
Private Room (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Great Beer (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Family Style (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Birthday day for daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent meal and service! First time visit for two of our group and they were so pleased!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

when you first walk in it is very crowded with people at the bar and people waiting to be seated. They need to augment the crowding and noise at the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I love Town and go there often. The food is good but the service the last couple of times has been slow. Love their cucumber martini!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time. The food, the service were all very good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic place! We've been her three times and it just never fails. This time it was my dads 98th birthday. There were only four of us but what a great time we had. My father ate everything and almost licked the plate clean. A birthday shout out was written on the top of the menu with his name and date. Well done TOWN!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice restaurant. My girlfriend really enjoyed her meal but I was extremely disappointed with my meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Town never disappoints. The food is amazing. The staff is personable, friendly, attentive, and fantastic at their job. The overall ambiance is super comfortable as well. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Worse meal I've ever gotten. Nasty Cobb salad. The presentation wasn't nice nor the quality of food freshness. The avocado was brown. The bacon wasn't crispy. The chicken wasn't juicy like a rotisserie chicken should be. The waiter never brought my Brussels sprouts and bacon that I ordered. Also food came out really slow for a poorly made salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Typically food is very good but tonight the food was salty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was delicious and cooked perfectly. We had a lovely meal. I love prime rib and it was perfection. We will definitely come back. All the staff was courteous and friendly. Terrific service too. We had a nice relaxed meal. Oh, the bar is excellent too. The best Bloody Mary I've had in a long time. Thank you TOWN !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, but not as great as the hype I have listened to for so long. We were celebrating our Valentines Day and wanted the meal to be paced out and enjoy all of the things that a dinner date should entail. The cocktails and appetizers were served immediately and we barely had time to finish them before the main course came out. Kind of a let down for the 88 dollars we spent on one entree .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my 2nd time dining at Town, 1st time with my family. My steak was not cooked properly. I ordered it medium rare & it was almost medium well. My husband's prime rib was raw when it should have been medium rare. The kid's food was good & Town did not disappoint with their famous bread putting .. yumMm

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Town used to be a go-to for me, especially brunch. But they seem to have tried a number of cost cutting techniques, seriously downgrading the quality of the food and increasing prices. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Really bad waiter (JJ). Everyone else was great but he showed up only to take our order and drop the check off (with a wink nonetheless). Meanwhile 75% of our order came out incorrect. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great and consistent. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a group of 8 come for a little friends' gathering and were able to fit in one of their round booths which is cozy and intimate. It was excellent! We were also able to coordinate with the restaurant to arrange to come a bit earlier to decorate for the occasion which was nice. Please note that you can bring your own dessert but be aware there is a cake-cutting fee per person, so please ask ahead of time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food great service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, good service and a reasonable value.!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was excellent! We arrived early so as not to be overcome with the noise level that is usually at Town.

Our server was super attentive and on top of everything. We have been to Town often and usually my food is excellent. Unfortunately, this time my prime rib was the toughest piece of meat I've ever had! That dinner felt like a waste of money.

Otherwise, good meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

best prime rib anywhere on the Peninsula. Thursday night and crowded and noisy, but fun. very young crowd full of energy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice place to go, staff is friendly and food delicious! It was around 100 for couple

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day was nice. We had our reservation and we actually didn't have to wait which was nice. We order a couple of cocktails which were nice ...mine was a little weak. Waitress recommended another which turned out a little better. Food wise try the cauliflower appetizer which was amazing! My wife enjoyed the tartar but they ran out of the special soup for the night. I ordered the chicken and ribs and I was actually disappointed for the first time with the ribs. They weren't falling off the bone and tender which I am accustomed too there. We come to town at least monthly so we know what to expect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was everything we had heard it was. Great food, great service and just a good experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and service - always a great place to go to !!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server, Michael, was fun and wonderful. As usual the skirt steak was delicious! My husband had the crispy chicken. Our salads were yummy. We love Town!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was amazing service 10 over great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've eaten at Town many times and absolutely love the menu. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great birthday brunch at TOWN. Kirsten, our server, was training someone and they worked as a great team. It was a very happy and cozy outing. Can't wait to return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was my wife's & I first visit to Town & looking forward to returning. We had the salmon & skirt steak with bread pudding for dessert. All was great. It was busy but the service was good & the food came out hot.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyable meal of shared plates. Banana Pound Cake delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great steaks & prime rib. Excellent desserts. Fun place to go for drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Live Sports, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Casual, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had the deviled eggs, crispy cauliflower and Chilean sea bass... ABSOLUTELY magnificent. The cocktails were fantastic and the service was also spectacular! Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Met up for a first date great food great atmosphere had a great time will definitely be back

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is a great restaurant. My friend had the crispy chicken sandwich with salad on the side, and I had the mushroom bisque and the avocado toast. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Really overcrowded. On time for reservation, but restaurant running behind. Had to wait outside. Wait staff too stretched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience . Food is top notch, service is good and looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Have been coming for a few years but noticed some items on the menu isn't as great (salad lacked flavor, burger patty was grisly, and deviled eggs were "old"). That's too bad.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the best seat in the house right in front of the fireplace so we enjoyed our experience from the start! Our waiter was very kind and attentive to the fact I had the gluten-free menu and said they would be diligent, however when the meal came I was served a side of Mac and Cheese in error. Just a small slip. All in all, the food was delicious and the ambiance was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We always come here for our anniversary. It's definitely one of our top go to places. They have a gluten free option for most of the dishes and the food is always phenomenal. Every year they give us a bread pudding (I don't eat it because of my allergy) and my fiancé loves it! I also love that they add a "happy anniversary" printed onto our menus. It's the little things that make everything amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great surf and turf. Tasty broiled shrimp appetizer. Very good cocktails.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always busy, make a reservation. Food is always good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Usually very happy at Town but this was a very rushed experience. Salad/soup in front of us when the main course came and was shoved onto an already full table. Before we finished the waiter left the check. He returned quickly and asked if we were ready to pay; our desserts were still in progress. Will think twice about going back after this. Also, somebody tell these waiters to stop asking if you want change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The meat is Outstanding! The veggies and the Butternut Soup? To die for!!

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food was good and the server was nice. There were two of us and it was our first visit and our anniversary. The one meal was overdone so they took it back to remake it and our other meal we tried to slow down finishing the meal left on the table to wait to eat together and did not have the opportunity. This was disappointing as it was our wedding anniversary and a special occasion. Would have rather had them take both so we could eat together for the time alone together. Unfortunate set of circumstances. It would have been nice to be offered a gift card for another time.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There could be a wait during peak hours, so make a reservation. It's a great brunch/lunch spot but be mindful that the kitchen closes at 2:30pm. The Benedict a Trois is great for those that love eggs Benedict. If you have a sweet tooth, they have waffles! The bellinnis are nice and light if you like a kick in your drink. Overall, consistently good food and great service, albeit being crowded and being in the less quiet side.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was very impressed with the personalized birthday menus . Everyone in the party, especially the birthday gal , was pleasantly surprised. Thank you Town.. you never let us down!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I found TOWN on Yelp. I was looking for just the right place for my family to celebrate a late Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Year with my dad and my stepmom who live in Belmont. I didn't want them to drive very far. We were all driving in from the other direction, so we met here and had the most incredible Sunday brunch. It was one of those special times when everything goes just perfectly. The food was amazing, the restaurant was very cozy and richy-rich! The drinks were wonderful! My granddaughter (7 yrs.) loved it too! We were able to fit in a booth, all nine of us, so the seating was very comfortable. We loved our waitress too. It was almost like she could read our minds. Her timing was excellent and she was knowledgeable about the entrees if we had any questions. We were all very excited and pleased about our choices. Excellent tasting food is very important to our family! All in all, one of our best get-togethers ever!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food as always. However steak au poivre disappointed this time. No need to douse it with cornstarch filled gloopy sauce over a nice piece of meat. Please revisit this recipe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.