Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Town

Town opened in March of 2006. Located in the heart of downtown San Carlos. Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines.

716 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Monday-Friday - Mid-Day Menu: 2:30pm-5:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday 10:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Bar: 11:30am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 595-3003 ext. 7

Website:
http://www.townsc.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking in the front of Town on Laurel Street. Also there is a large free public parking lot in the rear of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Cheng

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In the heart of downtown San Carlos, Town features hand cut steaks & chops, the freshest seafood, local organic produce, hand crafted cocktails, and a wine list with a focus on California, Washington and Oregon wines. Our private dining room is perfect for your personal or corporate gatherings.

Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (107)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Special Occasion (91)
See All
Good for Birthdays (77)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Bar Seating (68)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
Casual (63)
Great for Lunch (62)
Great for Brunch (62)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Hot Spot (60)
Comfort Food (57)
Fun (57)
Business Meals (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (47)
Happy Hour (46)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for Groups (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Romantic (40)
Open Kitchen (37)
People Watching (33)
Cozy (32)
Modern Decor (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Kid-friendly (18)
Authentic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Fireplace (12)
Family Style (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Healthy (10)
Live Sports (10)
Great Beer (9)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tapas (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
3887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Once again TOWN never disappoints. Was craving the Terayaki Skirt Steak is my fav! And, took 1/2 home for dinner. We had a great server out on the deck in front....beautiful day!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a favorite for brunch - can't beat the food and they are so good with the kids.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Solid food, solid value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our family celebrated my wife's birthday at Town. This restaurant has a great reputation, and it has a great, energetic atmosphere. I was little disappointed in the food, however. The ribs I ordered were a little too charred, and it seemed like the grill had not been sufficiently cleaned before the ribs were cooked, as there was a kind of burned aftertaste. Also, our server forgot one of my son's sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always looking for a new restaurant among the hundreds in the Bay Area for a unique experience and Town delivered. The service at both bar and table was beyond outstanding with the waiters having a great sense of humor which made dinner fun and engaging (along with those great jalapeno deviled eggs).
Thanks for the experience!
Jacky

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time and enjoyed the outside seating on a beautiful day. Philly Spring Rolls and Napa Salad were wonderful. The crab sandwich was small but good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Our first trip to Town to celebrate a birthday was perfect. Great steaks followed by their
wonderful birthday treat of bread pudding!
Highly recommend !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Salmon was overcooked, carrots were mix of raw and cooked
Ribeye was good, but flavor didn't really come through
Ordered a side of fries which tasted like they had been sitting for some time/ end of the batch
Dessert was awesome-- a complementary bread/butter pudding for a birthday
Waiter was attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. The cocktails were great, service impeccable. Our waiter was very kind. We had the steak with blue cheese and it was incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great night out! Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was a little slow. The food took a long time even with the appetizer in between. Most of the dishes were served warm and seems like they were sitting for a little while. It seemed like we had to prompt the server for the remaining side dishes. Otherwise, the food tasted great. Just a little disappointed as I compare it to my past visits to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always an amazing place to go for date nights. Great food and terrific service every time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent service, very good food ( except the baked potatoes which were dry and not Hot) of course it was 9:00 p.m. Large portions and wonderful steaks and pime rib!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday good ties!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Town offers just about everything one could ask for in a "go to" restaurant: delicious comfort food that is well prepared, a friendly (and kid friendly) atmosphere, good service, and fair prices. Our waiter, in particular, was super warm and friendly, not to mention totally accommodating in meeting the needs of a toddler in our party. This restaurant is a winner.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I've had a lot of steaks in my day, but the New York Strip that I got here was one that I'll remember

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It was my boyfriend's birthday and took him out to a nice steak dinner. We had the New Orleans BBQ Shrimp and they were amazing. The sauce had Cajun seasoning and the shrimp was cooked to perfection. Wish we would have had more bread to sop up the sauce. He had the bone in rib eye-medium rare and I ordered the surf and turf - medium rare as well. For sides we had mac n cheese, French fries, asparagus and garlic lime chili. His rib eye came out as ordered and was delicious. My lobster was also cooked perfectly - it melted in your mouth. My filet mignon on the other hand came out medium instead of med/rare. Our server questioned whether it wasn't cooked properly and asked me to cut it in the middle. And yes, it was medium (barely any pink in the center). She took it and while I waited she brought me back a tiny cup of their soup of the day (red pepper bisque) which was delicious. When she returned with a new filet mignon, it was cooked properly. The sides were not great (mac n cheese was dry, fries were not warm when they came out, chili garlic green beans were over cooked and too sweet)..the only standout was the asparagus. For dessert we had the bread pudding which was also very good. It was a lot of food and the dessert was complimentary since it was a birthday celebration. We will be back for another date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Probably my favorite restaurant on the Peninsula. Great food, good service, good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

literally the best chocolate cake that ever existed. And the skirt steak - amazing. Everything amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Celebrated our 49th Anniversary. Was given a great table close to all the action and just loved it. The service is fantastic and the food perfect. We love this restaurant and rate it among our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Town is by far my favorite restaurant in the area. Consistently excellent food, outstanding service, and always a great vibe for brunch, HH and dinner. I really appreciate good, attentive service and Town never disappoints. It's not cheap, but portions are big, giving you more bang for your buck and you can always take half home for another meal. Reservations are recommended and fill up fast, especially on the weekends. Try the bread pudding if you have room for dessert - delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My friends and I try to get together for brunch once a month. Our place of choice is Town! Great food, bottomless mimosas, great staff and right outside is the farmer's market.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great restaurant, food and service.

Restrooms are horrible. Too small and fixtures are broken. It is ridiculous that they are sooooo successful and are not spending the dough rey meeee to upgrade their restrooms. They are used by 6 poeple every two minutes and desperately need upgrading.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Town is a great place to have lunch or dinner, for dinner it is a bit noisy at times. I had to get up and ask a vulgar drunk at the end of the bar to tone it down, he was quite loud. I have had the creamed spinach every time we have had dinner at Town, however, this time the creamed spinach was so salty I had to send it back. It was almost as if someone had placed extra salt in the spinach, I don't know if other diners experienced the same issue.
I and my wife really love Town resturant and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Easy to understand menu. Prime Rib was excellent and cooked exactly as requested. Filet had excellent flavor but was cooked a little more than requested. Beets as a side dish were magnificent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Nice place to eat a casual meal. Street dining is lovely on a warm sunny day.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food and drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The dinner was excellent. Service was outstanding g

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our waiter was personable, meticulous and simply put fantastic! Town never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good food. Service OK. Nice bar to watch TV

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of favorites places in the area. Great bar scene, fun people watching and great food. They have excellent service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

First time a Town for lunch. Everything was very good

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We have been to Town a few times, and are very pleased with the quick service and plentiful entrees. There are so many sides to choose from to complete your steak . Server was attentive, yet not over-bearing to our needs. Prime rib was very good. Because we were celebrating a birthday, our server brought us a candle-lit dessert to share. I'm glad Town is in the Open Table gift card program since we have a few of those from our generous children.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Yikes! I hope this was an off night for the restaurant. The service was poor and our order was done incorrectly (undercooked, almost raw meat and wrong side). The delight at the end of the evening was someone getting seriously ill in the women's restroom. The meal was a few hundred dollars, but the experience was more like Applebees than a five-star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have been several times and the food is always very good. The last time we went it was also excellent. It was my daughter's birthday and they put her name on our group's menus and brought her bread pudding on the house. Very nice!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We go at least once or twice a week
EVERY TIME is perfect 👍🏻❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time i trying this place, it was delicious. Steak and baby back ribs were really good. Service was impeccable.. I recommend this place but you should made a reservation.

It was noisy inside so we prefer to eat outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for a special occasion...it never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Town never disappoints. The food and service are impeccable! Love the Napa Cabbage salad...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.