About Toloache-Midtown

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (133)
Authentic (86)
Fun (78)
See All
Creative Cuisine (74)
Casual (65)
Good for a Date (56)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Spicy (46)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (39)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Tapas (29)
Bar Seating (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Cozy (17)
Quick Bite (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Business Meals (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Romantic (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Live Sports (6)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Sort By:
S
4608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 hours ago

Food is always great, the music is a little on the loud side and there are no seats with quieter noise level. Service is friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very expensive for $24 chicken enchilada entrée, they give you two rolled enchiladas with no rice or beans or any other sides to fill the plate. It was closer to an appetizer than a filling entrée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my 3rd time and I took business colleagues from London for a casual but fun evening. The service was excellent as was the food and my colleagues loved it! It is a bit noisy so if you are looking for a quiet place this isn't it, but if you seek a vibrant environment with excellent Mexican food, this is your place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I was seated promptly when I arrived and greeted by way server promptly. He made great recommendations on a cocktail and dinner, both were fantastic. Great service, a simple menu that offered a nice variety which I appreciate. A lot of options without being overwhelming. I will definitely keep this restaurant on my go to list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting from Australia and wanted a quick meal before a broadway show. The best Mexican food we have ever eaten anywhere - very different style but delicious flavours. Service was very prompt too.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

start with a specialty margarita (e.g. cucumber and jalapeno) and share some of the chef's inventive specialty tacos (e.g. spicy lobster). you'll be very happy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Not your father's Mexican cuisine. In addition to the old standbys they have new slants on traditional fare. Good service will get you to your show on time. Lively but not overwhelming atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first visit to Toloache. There were four in our group. We each had soda with one refill. We were shocked to see our bill. We were charged $24 for drinks alone. OUTRAGEOUS! The glasses were very small and we weren't aware that we had to pay for refills. This shock alone ruin our experiences with Toloache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food. Great flavors and preparations. Lots of choices. The short rib quesadilla and the miso cod fish were outstanding. The service was attentive and very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Hi!
I visited Toloache with my two boys and we enjoyed it!
Food was authentically Mexican and the staff were kind and friendly!
We will go back soon!
Blessings!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Toloache was a great treat for a pre-theater brunch. The decor is fresh with folk art but not overdone. The menu has many interesting Mexican choices. If you want spice in your food you have to ask for it, as otherwise they assume that you want it mild. We had huaraches (not the shoe, but corn cakes enclosing cheese, beans and salsa) and pozole rojo (a seasonal special), plus of course guacamole for the group.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was excellent with many unusual ingredients. The service was attentive and friendly

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food delicious albeit a bit more expensive than it should be...one chile relleno should not cost over $20 (two, okay). But the staff is very attentive and the ambiance is fun. Drinks are delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went opening night a few years ago, once more before a play and then again this past weekend. The food is very good and the place is packed. But our waiter was inattentive with lots of attitude. actually he was odd and unfriendly. My guess is he will not last there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We arrived late due to traffic, but our reservation was honored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service were absolutely fantastic. It was a bit loud at lunch time, but lovely after 2:30pm when a few noisy groups departed.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I love this restaurant! Always a solid experience. Great food, great service and delicious cocktails. I can't rave about this place enough. With "hard to find good food" in midtown, this is notches above the rest. I am and will always be a loyal customer. Thank you Toloache!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fun, Organic, Bar Seating, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very very loud. Food was alright but underwhelming for the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Just ok, definitely nothing special. Convenient to Times Square but I was not very impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Good Mexican Food and Cocktails. Maize dessert was awesome. A good time!!

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

They kept seating people who came after us. Food portion was very small for the price we paid.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Went for a business lunch. Restaurant called to confirm reservation and table was ready when we arrived despite a busy lunch crowd. Seven colleagues with very varied tastes - including vegetarians, pescetarians, and someone who has to eat gluten free - all thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The service was great as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Really good authentic up scale Mexican food in midtown. Friendly service and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Dont let the wait staff rush you. They try by asking you to order entrees as soon as you get your cocktails and appetizers. Part of the fun of this restaurant is to enjoy 2 or 3 appetizers snd a couple if margaritas.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Nothing bad to say about the place. Everything was as expected, no complaints and would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants to visit when I'm in New York. The food and the service never disappoints. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Made a reservation for a special birthday. Asked for a more private table. When I got there they put me in between a party of a bunch of college kids who were being obnoxious the whole time. They couldn't put us at a corner table because we needed 3 people and not 2. I understand that it is reserved for bigger parties but it was a disappointing experience overall and the guacamole is way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Too loud , expensive, drinks $14 each, guacamole $14???
Flavor great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Awesome food and Margaritas. Have been there several times for lunch and Toloache never disappoints. Recommend the homemade guacamole, love the Suadera and the Chef's Selection Margarita is not to be missed.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Guacamole was not fresh made to order. Came out cold and brown, likely pre-made and refrigerated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good food. Quick meal before a show. No atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food! Loved it! Enchiladas & tacos were terrific as was our water!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Pre-theater family dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

been to Toloache on several occasion when I get to NYC. Every time I am delighted with the overall quality of the food, service, and value. Love this placard definitely will be coming back on the next business trip to NYC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was overly crowded and the tables were very close together. The service was pretty good, but it didn't make up for the crowded space. Food was good overall, but seemed a little overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent guacamole, frozen margueritas and superb tacos. Really recommend brisket taco - the best! Very nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Guacamole and queso was very good but entrees were lukewarm (which I hate!!) I would not recommend this place for Mexican food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Highly recommend! My wife and I looked at the reviews on OpenTable and they all seemed to be positive so we gave it a try and we were not disappointed we will absolutely go back the next time we're in the city!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philippines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dessert sucks. Bring back the original items like flan and tres leches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I've never had a single layer quesadilla in my life. And it was really small. I've paid a lot for food before and lived it. At Toloache I've never paid so much and been so unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.