About Toloache-Midtown

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (116)
Authentic (113)
Casual (86)
See All
Creative Cuisine (78)
Fun (64)
Good for a Date (62)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Spicy (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Special Occasion (40)
Tapas (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (31)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Wood Oven (15)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Open Kitchen (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vegan (5)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
4375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and drinks!! Cozy place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined a day ago

Definitely not what I expected i mean what kind of Mexican restaurant doesn't have queso!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was overall fabulous as were the cocktails. Had traditional guacamole which was done well but nothing special. Queso fundido with chorizo was really incredible...well seasoned not too salty. Jicama salad was very good but did not really taste the tamarind. My husbands chicken burracha enchilada was really really fantastic. Still thinking about it now. Fresh and flavorful. The meal i would return for. Tacos (shrimp and carne asada) were good but no comparison. The chocolate dessert was really just meh. The cake was dry surrounded by good tasting sauces, the pop rocks on top were cute but would not recommend at all. our waiter was great...very profressional and helpful. Went early at 6 so not too noisy. Would definitely go back very soon! Excellent pre theatre choice! They keep track of your show time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food!! Favorite restaurant in Times Square area! Eat there every time we go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I found the restaurant accidentally and was so glad to have eaten there. The food was very, very good and the table wait staff were right on target. the staff when we entered could have been a little warmer.
I would definitely return to the restaurant for a meal.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

My favorite mexican food in Midtown. Great for after the theater.
Margaritas and guacamole trio, what could be better than this!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but service was terrible. There is a huge TV playing sports. Why?? Also the music was very loud and 90sdisco. Why would you take away from the experience with elements that don't belong? Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was really bad, the three selected wines were not available. Only the US60+ were available. We ordered an appetiser and after 5min the brought the main dish while we were just started. We had the impression that a diner should be rounded up in 15minutes. High priced but standard food. To expensive for the standard food. I will never return to this place, not recommended ! Please look for another restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorites, especially when going to the theater. Staff very accommodating in fast service, (with great attention), when we showed concern about curtain timing.
Great food, a must on the list of choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Our entire experience was fantastic! From arriving right at reservation time, and being seated without hesitation. The food and drinks were explained to us with great description! And the food was tremendous. Definitely will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food as usual. I love their black cod. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was ok
Drinks were very good
Service was very good
It was loud and I had a vent blowing in me all night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, creative menu. ambience, service
Will definitely return

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

The food here was terrific! We stuck to an assortment of appetizers which worked out very well because we were going to an early theater. We sat on the main level and perhaps the noise level is different upstairs but it was very noisy where we were.
Even though it would seem to be a no-brainer, they ask you when you walk in what time your theater starts. So many restaurants don't do that and then seem shocked when you get annoyed that your food is the lead .
Make sure to have a reservation if you'll be going at prime time because they book up very quickly!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My 2nd time there. Never disappointed. Have been there for both lunch and brunch. Both times delicious meals. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food service and drinks! Their frozen lime margarita is to die for!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food is innovative and excellent but the noise level is really high. It's hard to carry on a conversation. I've been here a few times and it is always very noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious Mexican food served in a timely manner. This should be on everyone's itinery. We got there early, so went to bar and had perfect drinks before dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

One if my go-to faves. Always great food and a good timw

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We've dined here previously and had much better experiences. As usual, the food was good, but we were extremely rushed by at least two members of the staff. In fact, we were asked if we'd like to order dessert only 20 minutes after being seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

great regional mexican dishes. try the avocado fries

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very nice place. Service was good food was good. The drinks were awesome. Everything for a good price. Worth the trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was crowded, noisy and unaccomidating. We had a 7:15 reservation and they didn't seat us until 7:30. There is no waiting area so you are crammed at the front door. The food was not special and the wait staff tried to rush us. I've been there years ago and it was much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Unbelievable hospitality! Food delicious! Will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife here for Mothers Day based off the reviews. When we walked in I was embarrassed. This is a bar . An oversized Projection screen with soccer playing and a noisy bar. We were seated downstairs among the relevers . I drove all the way from Westchester to end up in a bar in midtown. The atmosphere sucked , so it really took away from the experience. I would never go back just because I don't want to relive that moment

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Toloache was a lovely restaurant convenient to the theater district. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The ambiance was nice, although the noise level was a bit high, and the tables were very close together. It was expensive for Mexican food, but probably not for a restaurant so close to Times square.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is absolutely awesome ! The food was amazing, simple, fresh but excellent. Given how busy it was the service was also very good ! Highly recommended.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great and the service was equally pleasing! The drinks were interesting and reasonable. Will be back to try out the brunch menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Server was not very friendly and she wasn't very helpful. We ordered 3 drinks which didn't have any alcohol in it (or the bare minimum) so we decided to leave and go to another bar. I come to this restaurant for business meals and I came for my boyfriend's bday since the drinks and food are usually very good but I think after this experience, I'll be taking this place off my list of places for business meals.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Though our food was good, it certainly is not the best Mexican fare in the city. The reason for this less than stellar review is due to the service at Toloache midtown. This is the second time I have dined there and I walked away BOTH times remarking about the rude and arrogant waitstaff. My friend asked a simple question of our waiter and he actually sucked his teeth at him. Really? I had to flag the waiter down FOUR times to fill water glasses and ask for a second glass of wine because we had waited for so long getting thirsty.

I used to work as a waiter in NYC so I'm normally very forgiving but this service was really poor. It's a shame because the food really was good.

Unfortunately I don't think I'll go back. Don't want to inconvenience the waitstaff. Better go elsewhere.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

for many years this restaurant was one of my favorites but on a recent visit the quality of the food had diminished. The tacos are still extraordinarily good with delicious soft corn tacos and very interesting, tasty fillings at a reasonable price. I had their signature chicken dish and it tasted like a parboiled then roasted chicken made way in advance so that even the corn tomato sauce could not make up for it. This was a special event for us and fortunately saved at the last minute by an extraordinarily delicious brownie dessert

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service at reasonable prices.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Had a very nice pre theater lunch. Food and drink excellent. Prices are a tad high for the quantity. I would lunch there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

love toloache! whether a big meal of a light pre-theatre bite, its delicious..,especially love that truffle quesadilla !

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wish there was a happy hour...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were on a girls weekend visiting from Toronto, Canada and were looking for restaurants near The Gershwin Theatre and we came across this gem. Great food and ambiance with vegetarian options. Would definitely come back here when we visit again!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were in NYC for a weekend and were looking for a restaurant where we could make a reservation and get some good food. Toloache had a reservation at 6:15 and the reviews were great, so we went there as we were attending Wicked, which is right next door. The seating is rather tight. We sat in a corner table which worked out well. We ordered chips and salsa, tacos, and the chicken quesadilla for our meal. The portions were very small, which was ok because we had a big lunch. I also ordered churros for dessert, which were freshly made with an amazing caramel and dark Mexican chocolate sauce....delectable! Two cautions: First,don't go here really hungry as the portions were rather small; the entrees have larger portions. Second, if you tell them you're going to show, they will keep things moving quickly...it will not be a leisure meal. Although the food was excellent and fresh, we gave it an average rating for most categories due to the portions sizes, atmosphere, and speed of serving. I think this place is better for an after-show place.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went here twice and both meals were fantastic. Make a reservation as it gets crowed before theater performances.

Tags: Fireplace, Spicy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was perfect for before afternoon play. It opens at 11:30 on Saturday. We got there at 12. Right after we got settle the restaurant started filling up. Very busy place. I felt rushed to leave but when we asked for coffee the wait staff was polite and friendly. It you on Saturday get there early. There were people waiting around, although the restaurant has two levels. Food was great. especially for the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are never disappointed with Toloache and this visit was another great one! Service has always been friendly and the food (especially the guacamole!) is outstanding, not to mention the great margaritas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.