About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (103)
Authentic (73)
Casual (72)
See All
Good for a Date (69)
Fun (65)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Great for Lunch (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Tapas (38)
Good for Groups (34)
Spicy (33)
Cozy (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Romantic (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
People Watching (16)
Quick Bite (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
4169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to Toloache for a casual busines ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We went to Toloache for a casual business dinner - all friends. The food was outstanding! We all started with margaritas, all we're so tasty. The traditional guac 3 ceviches to share were amazing. One guest with us was vegan and she had the quinoa and raved. The tacos and quesadillas were so delicious, obviously the chefs take their jobs seriously. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting NYC. You'll need a reservation on weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to the city for a night to see a sh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to the city for a night to see a show. Food and drinks were great. Service was great. Quick turn around to be able to get to show on time. Highly recommend.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I each had one drink, a ma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

My friend and I each had one drink, a main course and some guacamole and the tab came to over $100. Neither of us had anything exotic. The food was mediocre and we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved it, went with two of my girl frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved it, went with two of my girl friends for my birthday dinner. We all ordered tacos and were kind of disappointed that there were only two tacos, 3 would've been perfect. Deserts were good, plantains were very sweet. We were seated upstairs in a corner which was a really nice spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been here twice now and love it. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here twice now and love it. This time, we (my husband and I) met our son and his girlfriend here and ate before a show. We all happened to arrive pretty early for the reservation and the hostess was very nice and found us a table way ahead of when our table was reserved for. We had a nice, leisurely meal and enjoyed our food immensely. The service was also great! Friendly, attentive and helpful. We'll definitely be back. It's a great location for theater lovers too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tapas, Casual, Wood Oven, Spicy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service, Delicious Food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Service, Delicious Food

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Wood Oven, Spicy, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had valentines dinner with my wife, the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Had valentines dinner with my wife, the Tacos were true Mexican food, outstanding in taste. The margaritas were great and the service was top notch. Everything we ordered came to the table quickly. If they had Mariachi you would be in Cancun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, but very small portio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good, but very small portions for the cost. It is also more casual than it seems in the pictures.

If it was more affordable I would certainly go back, but for the price to food ratio I'd much rather go elsewhere.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was not good. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not good. The service was odd. The temperature was hot and then they kicked on the air and it was freezing and then it was hot again. I ordered a quesadilla based on their recommendation. It was a small piece of bread with a tiny bit of cheese, a sprinkle of corn and some truffle oil. Really not good. The waiter wanted us to share our dinner items but we didn't say we wanted to. We had to explain that we didn't want to share it. He acted confused and said 'okay if you don't want to' as if we had offended him. They were very also energetic in their service, trying to joke about this and that, but it came across pushy and weird and would have preferred just regular service. We won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I visit NYC a couple times a year for bu ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I visit NYC a couple times a year for business. This was a great find! Fantastic food and wonderful wait staff!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small tables but excellent service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Small tables but excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

We got it wrong! We should have asked th ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We got it wrong! We should have asked the waiter for advice; what we received was not what we were expecting (tacos) so we were disappointed.

What we had was tasty, but small portions (more like a starter) even though it was near to a main course price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A very good place to go out and eat, exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A very good place to go out and eat, excellent service, the food was well presented and really delicious. The soft taco appetizers were perfect, and the sea food combo paella was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trio guacamole was interesting, but rest ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Trio guacamole was interesting, but rest of food was not great, extremely overpriced for small portions. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Guacamole was good but pricey. Entree w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Guacamole was good but pricey. Entree was smallest Quesadilla I ever had. Taste was just okay. Tres Leches cake was outstanding. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing, but not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived at 10:40 and the kitchen clos ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived at 10:40 and the kitchen closed at 11 so were a bit rushed. That said, our waiter was very friendly and we had a few really delicious dishes. The brisket and short rib tacos are really tasty and not fatty, perfectly seasoned. We also really liked the kale salad. The manager was really generous and brought us dessert on the house. I will definitely return and try a few more items (but a little earlier!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service. Amazing frozen margaritas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service.

Amazing frozen margaritas. Best ever.

Same for the dessert, Chocoflan.

I was given two glasses of champagne and dessert on the house for my 30th anniversary.

Thanks for making my visit a memorable one.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was terrific.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal. Guacamole was fantastic. A ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great meal. Guacamole was fantastic. All fishes were fresh and very flavorful. We will return. Manager met with us after the meal. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good food and service; fun atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good food and service; fun atmosphere and a great bartender. We had a blast!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is wonderful. Tacos to full plates ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is wonderful. Tacos to full plates are awesome. Great that dishes are not spicy but are full of spice and flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very unique use of traditional Mexican i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very unique use of traditional Mexican ingredients and styles!

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

we really enjoyed our pre-theater dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

we really enjoyed our pre-theater dinner at Toloache. Food was delicious. Loved our waiter Miguel, who made some great recommendations and followed up to see if we enjoyed them. Fun, casual place with great food and great service...works for me!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great and the food was s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The service was great and the food was splendid

Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Spicy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even though we were 20 minutes late, the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Even though we were 20 minutes late, the wonderful staff seated us right away. The ceviche is wonderful, as is the guacamole. Surprisingly, they also do a really nice job on the veggies. Everyone is friendly and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very very very loud - had to shout to ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

very very very loud - had to shout to have a conversation. Food portions were smaller than I remember. Average at best

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was excellent. Restaurant was packe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was excellent. Restaurant was packed so it was tough hailing down a waiter/waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome restaurant week lunch special! T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Awesome restaurant week lunch special! The food was delicious and the drinks were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious food, terrific service, wait ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Scrumptious food, terrific service, waiter was very attentive and very careful to observe our gluten-free needs! Love the creative dishes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my meal at this authentic Mexica ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Enjoyed my meal at this authentic Mexican food restaurant. Enjoyed the Carne Asada and my date enjoyed the guacamole. It was excellent. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's across the street from my job and I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It's across the street from my job and I'd been wanting to go or a while, so we decided to go for a business dinner during Restaurant Week. The food was great, but the service was very slow. We only had a 1.5 hours and it took forever for our desert to come out so we ended up skipping it. It wasn't that busy, so I don't know what the delay was. The waiter did apologize, but the damage was done.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We enjoyed the food very much. It was a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed the food very much. It was a pre-fixed menu due to NY restaurant week; however, the choices and portions were great. Delicioso!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nice great service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was nice great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The worst meal and service I've had in a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The worst meal and service I've had in a long time in NYC. Made reservations specifying that I had a garlic allergy -- "No problem -- we can accommodate" I am told. Get there -- same thing . At the end, the only thing that I was able to eat was guacamole and queso -- WOW! Horrible horrible horrible and needless to say, server was beyond NOT bright and slow!

Would nerver ever go back and will pop a bottle of champagne the day this establishment closes its doors, which am pretty sure will be happening in the next 12 to 14 months.

When will restaurant owners finally realize -- dining out is about SERVICE and making the dinner feel WELCOME!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

It was very good...but somethingshe's I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was very good...but somethingshe's I expected more. We got the church's for dessert and last time I've had them at other restaurants they were pretty large. These church's were like the size of a kids toothbrush...not worth the 10 bucks...drinks were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food and a great value for p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Exceptional food and a great value for pre theatre meal. Guacamole was out of this world. A bit noisy and cramped, but never felt uncomfortable or rushed

Tags: Casual, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food came incredibly fast - almost t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food came incredibly fast - almost too fast but then the server was nowhere to be found when it was time for the check. We both got the tacos which were delicious but the portions were small (we ordered off of the lunch menu if that matters).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, ambiance, service and attent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food, ambiance, service and attention. Excellent! A classic Mexican restaurant with a modern twist.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, great drinks and food. Servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Nice place, great drinks and food. Service is great and it's a busy place. A little loud for my taste but I'm still a regular there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Toloache-Midtown is an ultra-convenient ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Toloache-Midtown is an ultra-convenient place for a late-night dinner after a Broadway play. On a Wednesday night, the restaurant was noisy, but uncrowded. We ate from the Restaurant Week special menu, and especially enjoyed the shrimp-tortilla soup and marinated skirt steak. The yellowfin tuna was not flavorful. Service was reasonably attentive. Our biggest complaint: overall, the food was quite salty.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.