Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 2.60mi
  3. Distance: 2.73mi
  4. Distance: 2.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.44mi
  2. Distance: 2.60mi
  3. Distance: 2.73mi
  4. Distance: 2.91mi

About Toast - Summerville

The famous Toast of Charleston restaurant is now open in Summerville! Toast of Summerville offers the same great food and service that Toast of Charleston has become famous for.

717 Old Trolley Road
Summerville, SC 29485
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Wednesday: 7:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Saturday: 7:00am-11:00pm
Sunday: 7:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Brandy Mill Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 900-4422

Website:
http://www.toastofcharleston.com/?utm_source=Open Table&utm_medium=TOS OpenTable&utm_campaign=TOS OpenTable&utm_term=annual

Parking Details:
We offer out guests a parking lot.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast - Summerville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The servers were vey attentive. Food was kind of bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made Mother's Day reservations and was extremely disappointed to find out that my party could not be seated for at least 30 minutes. What's the purpose of making reservations, and arriving on time if the establishment is going to over book like an airline carrier? Needless to say, we decided not to wait and took our business to another establishment. You can't give away reserved tables to walk up customers. Just don't take reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch buffet. Great selection and mimosas. Cozy corner table at bar. Friendly and attentive service from bartender, who is also a veteran (always glad to tip a vet).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We made reservations for a Mothers' Day luncheon and arrived on time only to find even with reservations, we would have an hour or more wait. There were at least 10 other families waiting with reservations as well. We cancelled our reservation with great disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had Mother's Day brunch. The food was good and the watress was very attentive. The atmosphere was nice even as busy as it was. I give our watress 5 stars, but have to deduct 2 stars from service because we arrived 5 minutes before our reservation and still had to wait 45 minutes past our reservation to be seated. Not sure the point in reservations if you still have to wait.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food for sure! The main issue is that we made reservations and were seated 30 minutes later. When we arrived, the hostess had names down on a wait list and we were put on this list even though we had reservations. C'mon now! We should have been seated in five minutes but had to wait. Additionally, many tables were open and the staff did not have a good understanding of what tables were available.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The special mothers day buffet of crab cakes, shrimp and grits, French toast, along with other delightful entrees was great. The food was very good. I would definitely come back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and management. Food quality was ok. Service timing was a bit off. Apps and salads arrived within 5 min of the main course, which was undercooked. Manager and wait staff were very attentive, but the kitchen is lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was okay. They forgot to add cheese to omelet and only offered to bring side of cheese, not the same. Server was not around much even though restaurant was slow. Took a long timw to get check and hostess finally came over to take credit card. Guessing downtown is a better experience. Good enough wouldn't go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was good. The food was overall good. The biscuit I had was a little dry, but friend who also had one said hers was good. Third friend had the french toast and said it was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Was fantastic food and service. A favorite for sure as new residents!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Toast is a truly exceptional restaurant! They have excellent food, an amazing staff, and a very clean - warm - inviting - family setting. You won't find anything commercialized about this place... they take pride in being a South Carolina gem!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The waitress was pleasant and attentive. The Mimosa was wonderful. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter brunch and excellent service. We had a reservation and were immediately seated. There were many folks there but plenty of food. Crowd was quiet and food was great!!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Unfortunately, the dining experience during Easter Brunch wasn't great at all. For the price paid, they had minimal items and the quality was sub par. We left with food on the plates and feeling a bit underwhelmed. The server was attentive and tried to make it a nice experience although did notice him walking around...picking up the signed bills at other tables and scanning to see what kind of tip people left as soon as they were gone from the table. The location and size of this restaurant isn't conducive for serving an Easter brunch and the quality of food not what you'd expect from Toast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service and food was great - very busy - felt a little rushed - understandable since it was Easter

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited Toast for Easter Brunch and the buffet was not good... most of food cold/ and/ or over cooked. Definitely not the experience I had had in the past!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service was great and I loved that we didn't have to compete with loud music to talk. The food was pretty good, but overall it seemed overpriced. We had a fun night out though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have been here a few times, each with less than great service and food. Yesterday was the last. We arrived and the waiter had no idea what he was doing, acted as if he was high or drunk.
sat us, brought coffee, took all orders and forgot one of us, brought food, no flatware. I had ordered pancakes, they brought one, said the other was coming. They brought the other on another plate and asked if I would "flop" it ontop of my first one. (kinda funny).
we ate, and honestly the food was just fine. The waiter kept wandering around, and others as well. really chaos. We finally went behind the counter and got our own flatware so we could eat.
After eating we sat, waiting on our check, and waiting, and waiting.. we saw the lobby was full of customers waiting for a seat. They could clearly see that most of the restaurant was simply waiting on a check, they were not happy.
About then our waiter slammed into a waitress, spilling hot coffee on a young lady. a total mess.
We never did get our check. We decided to simply go to the counter and pay. The guy didn't seem to think anything was wrong, offered no compensation, or an apology at all.

fyi, the owner might want to consider random drug tests.

We've been to the one downtown, its nothing like this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was great. No wait time with reservation. Was disappointed with the" Famous" shrimp and grits

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was pretty good. My crab cakes were a little burnt , but good, and my red rice was cold. My wife loved the salmon. Overall nice spot. I would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

When a patron has reservations and they arrive prior to a call, don't take the call and then seat them. The waiters could be a bit more enthusiastic. The pork chops were burnt, the fried tomatoes were the bomb! I may give this restaurant another try, prices are not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our second visit and we were overall pleased with this experience. The waiter was new to the job and a little inexperienced but he was pleasant and sufficient. My wife had the fried flounder in which she absolutely enjoyed with the exception of coleslaw. She stated it was horrible and just simply left it. My friend and I both had the steak and found it acceptable except they were out of A-1 sauce. I felt someone should have taking the initiative and ran to a local store and made a purchase to accommodate their dinner guests. The deserts were amazing!!! We will be back ..

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food and service was fantastic. First time patron, will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Nice cozy place to unwind, and enjoy some good food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Zacatecas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I felt like I was at an Applebees or TGI Fridays. The food was not very good and the wait staff could use some training. It wouldn't be a bad idea to simplify the menu and do a few things well rather than lots of mediocre food options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We had Kendra and she was training a new server... they both did an amazing job making sure we were happy with everything and keeping our drinks full.
Food was great husband loved the sample of Shrimp&Grits....
The Sweet Tea Chicken was amazing...
We will go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our visit. The food was good, the atmosphere was good for a mid-day get together with friends. We stayed longer than anticipated, yet we did not at any time feel pressured to leave.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Took the family here to celebrate a birthday. Thought it would be a good alternative to going into Charleston during Restaurant Week. Appetizers of fried green tomatoes and coconut shrimp were delicious! Main courses varied..shrimp and grits less than ordinary; crab cakes were better than they looked (they looked way over cooked). Server tried to push the ref velvet cupcakes even though was told we really don't do "cake"; ordered two key lime pies...only one left,,.didnt notice until the next t day that she still charged for two!! Not sure we'll be back..expected more.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for restaurant week. The french onion soup was super super salty. I couldn't finish mine.
I got the sweet tea glazed chicken. It was okay. The glaze didn't really have any flavor to it. Which was shocking cause after the soup I thought it would be super sweet. The chicken was dunked in the glaze and by the end of the meal the breading was coming off the chicken. Should have asked for the glaze on the side.
My husband got the shrimp and grits and he said they were ok.
Husband and I both agreed that everything kinda tasted "canned" or "processed". Shame.
First time and probably last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was excellent! Service was pretty good and the quaintness this local)k

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Awesome food and service! Kendra was great and all staff friendly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The waitress and the food were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had a great experience wait staff was on top of everything, food was really good and good pricing will make this a regular place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I brought my sister here for her graduation dinner and it was her first time eating at a non fast food/sports bar restaurant. Her review would have been all 5 stars and that is what's important to me. However, I was not too impressed. James is a wonderful server, extremely timely and personable. The difference her menu however was just okay and I've eaten a similar menu at better places. The crab dip was amazing I could have easily eaten it for the entire dinner! But the shrimp and grits was missing something crucial. I've eaten this dish done a million different ways and still there's always that flavor that brings me back home, it's the sole reason I order the dish. As far as the sides go their potato salad is the biggest disappointment ever. The potatoes were extremely over cooked and it ruined the entire dish. The cake took me out of this world. My sister begged me to buy it and bring it home but I know we'd both eat ourselves sick with sweets!!!! I will definitely return for breakfast one day but dinner? Never again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were very disappointed. The waiter didn't know the menu at all. He said he normally worked breakfasts and was unable to explain different dishes we asked about.We were there for a birthday dinner with no acknowledgement from them. The desserts were stale and should have been thrown out. Alot of other choices to pick from so I will not go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving meal was good. Staff very attentive. Great that they still offered a full menu so that others in our party could order something else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We didn't have silverware till we got our food like 3mins. We asked 2 servers to bring it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have been to the location in Summerville twice and both times the service and food has been great. Their catfish and sweet tea chicken are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.