Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Toast Birmingham

Casual comfortable yet whimsical atmosphere featuring a cozy outdoor patio and the open air living room setting of the "Blue Room". Serving artfully prepared, progressive American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, an eclectic wine list, craft cocktails, extensive local craft beer list, local music and the friendliest service!

Award winning Executive Chef Chris Gadulka joined the Toast team in August 2015. His use of unique ingredients; wild cultivated mushrooms, sustainable products, local produce, naturally grown and sustainable proteins adds an exciting take on the already Award winning Toast kitchen. Awarded Best Breakfast in Detroit area for the 15th year in a row. Awarded "Neighborhood Gem" and Diner Choice Award by Open Table for the second year. Named "Best Restaurants in Michigan" , Urban Spoon, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

203 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Patio Seating and Open Air dining
Winter Hours
Breakfast: Monday: 7am - 4pm Tue - Friday: 7:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday : 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 258-6278

Website:
http://www.eatattoast.com/

Catering:
Contact: Catering@eatattoast.com

Host at Toast, No matter the occasion, our staff works with you to create a memorable occasion featuring unique cuisine and a high level of service! The Blue room at Toast is a wonderful venue for more intimate gatherings or meetings. It Can service 35 seated and 60 people for a cocktail party or passed Hors d'oeuvres affair. Whether an Evening Party, Lunch with Friends, Business meeting or Family celebration; Toast offers a distinct dining experience.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking and public lot is less than a block away and is free for first two hours!

Executive Chef:
Myles McVay

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate 20 - 50 for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Tony Minicilli: (734) 716-4405

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Comfort Food (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Toast is a great spot for brunch! I've never come for lunch or dinner, but the brunch menu is fantastic. The food is delicious and have loved everything I've ordered. Outdoor seating is great for cool summer days.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is great. Never have been disappointed. Drinks are always perfect as well. Service is usually fantastic. It wasn't bad this time, just ok. One of my absolute favorites in downtown Birmingham. They're usually pretty busy, but never have a wait when I use this app.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Showed up 15 minutes earlier than my reservation and they seated us quickly! Busy since it was a Friday but so worth the drive from Livonia. Great food, atmosphere and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had breakfast with our local partner in Birmingham. Love the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I tried Toast as a casual, fun, but somewhat upscale option for a second date with someone I had just met online. I loved the decor and overall vibe of the place. The food was good. The waitstaff were attentive without being intrusive. The only downside to me was that the tables on either side of us were literally inches away from our table. I felt like my every word was being overheard by the people on either side of me. (In Toast's defense, the proximity to our neighbors wouldn't have mattered as much if the restaurant had been loud and full of people.) Other than that, no complaints, and I'd definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Chicken and waffles was delicious, so was my blueberry margarita with fresh blueberries on top. Also liked the grits, and I don't eat grits. Service was great, manager even took time to work the room and greet all tables. Very eclectic decor. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have been here numerous times for dinner and the menu keeps getting better and better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was excellent; everyone (staff) was friendly, helpful and upbeat. The ambience was lively and great atmosphere for dining. The meal was interesting, but not as succulent as I would have preferred for breakfast/brunch. A bit pricey for the type of menu offered, but overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great place! My family went for dinner and I was really surprised on how great the dinner menu and food was. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Service was great, she made good recommendations. Food was fantastic, prepared fresh and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were looking for a local cool place and found it. Had a simple breakfast but service and ambiance was awesome. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Friendly service and the food was good. Not necessarily a menu for everyone as the fare is eclectic. We were told by our waiter that they had run out of two items we ordered, but he suggested great alternatives.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our dinner was very good and our waiter Marco was attentive and had good suggestions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was very good, but the $21 chicken and waffle seemed severely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I had a nice experience for my first visit. The food was terrific, a bit pricey for breakfast food.
The area where we were seated was a little loud and cold. Overall, the experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Toast is always consistently good. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual, the service is always good. The menu is unique and delicious. It's a definite "go-to" in the area.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had the bacon fried rice! It was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great menu and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I really love this place, food is delicious but it is a bit loud for a business meeting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food was good but over priced in my opinion. Good Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The service was slow and the chicken and waffle dish was not that good. The calamari was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The wait staff was really good. The food only OK. We were crammed at an uncomfortable table. Definitely a better breakfast than dinner place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good food/good service We really enjoyed our lunch at toast

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Decore and menu selection very good. Long delay recieving drinks and food, broccoli soup tasted old, acorn squash was raw. We should have sent it back, server didnt check back for 10 minutes. Because we were with friends and on a time schedule, i let it go. Will not be 1st choice when going out.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The rice stuffed acorn squash was bland! The chicken from the chicken & waffles was overdone and the waffle was soggy! I can't even explain the chicken and dumplings dish. I asked for a mojito and instead of mint I received basil, which would have been acceptable but it would have been nice to be asked first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome experience. Best Sea Bass dish I have ever had! Service is personable & warm. Ambiance is eclectic and cool. Strong menu and wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was excellent but it was clear they were short staffed so dinner took a long time. The short ribs were the best of the four meals we had.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Chicken and waffles was amazing and the cocktails were inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good. Waiter wasn't. Clearly we were not an ideal table as we were not drinking.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My friend and I had a great experience, as usual! Will be back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service were both outstanding. We had a great time.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Didn't care for the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Quirky fun decor and very interesting, quirky food. The tomato soup is great and I had to have the Bacon Fried Rice, which also is very good and filling. The highlight is the Perogis. Not a big wine selection but the Cabernet I sampled was good.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved it. Hit across the board: food, service, ambiance. Really really great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Sat by hostess, no water or drinks for at least ten minutes ( we wanted to catch a movie after) Waiter finally came but stopped to chit chat with table next to ours that was already leaving for quite a long time before even acknowledging us which was really rude. Had to skip entrees now and order soups and an app now to make movie. Tomato soup was very spicy but not described that way and mushroom toast was laughable ( was diced potatoes and sausage and almost zero mushrooms on dry white toast), so dry you put it on toast and it just fell off. Food runners brought food and waiter never checked on us for drinks until he brought the check (tip time). Had good breakfast there in the past, never again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Good coffee, great omelets - good place for a business breakfast meeting

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Delicious food- excellent service and the upscale and fun atmosphere made the dinner terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall not bad. App's and Caesar salad were the stars. Steak Frites was under seasoned and lacked flavor. Fries were underdone. Pork Pot Pie - needs serious evaluation. Very greasy lacked any vegetables.

Chicken and dumplings was good but could have had a tad bit more veggies and seasoning.

Our waiter Marco was great - friendly, attentive and was overall great. I would stick with Toast for breakfast/brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was pretty good. The cranberry cream cheese stuffed french toast is deceiving, there were no cranberries, much to my disappointment. Flavored cream cheese is a bit boring. I should have went for the B street dish, so so much better. The other party eating with me had a veggie burrito which they said was really delicious. So over all, was good

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ordered soup and an entre each. The soup was amazing. We had a bit of an issue with the entree's, however. The manager, took care of us, handled the bill and gave us a gift card for the next time we come. He handled it very well, and I would recommend Toast to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.