Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Toast Birmingham

Casual comfortable yet whimsical atmosphere featuring a cozy outdoor patio and the open air living room setting of the "Blue Room". Serving artfully prepared, progressive American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, an eclectic wine list, craft cocktails, extensive local craft beer list, local music and the friendliest service!

Award winning Executive Chef Chris Gadulka joined the Toast team in August 2015. His use of unique ingredients; wild cultivated mushrooms, sustainable products, local produce, naturally grown and sustainable proteins adds an exciting take on the already Award winning Toast kitchen. Awarded Best Breakfast in Detroit area for the 15th year in a row. Awarded "Neighborhood Gem" and Diner Choice Award by Open Table for the second year. Named "Best Restaurants in Michigan" , Urban Spoon, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

203 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Patio Seating and Open Air dining
Winter Hours
Breakfast: Monday: 7am - 4pm Tue - Friday: 7:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday : 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 258-6278

Website:
http://www.eatattoast.com/

Catering:
Contact: Catering@eatattoast.com

Host at Toast, No matter the occasion, our staff works with you to create a memorable occasion featuring unique cuisine and a high level of service! The Blue room at Toast is a wonderful venue for more intimate gatherings or meetings. It Can service 35 seated and 60 people for a cocktail party or passed Hors d'oeuvres affair. Whether an Evening Party, Lunch with Friends, Business meeting or Family celebration; Toast offers a distinct dining experience.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking and public lot is less than a block away and is free for first two hours!

Executive Chef:
Myles McVay

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate 20 - 50 for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Tony Minicilli: (734) 716-4405

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

As always- great food and a great atmosphere. Marco the waiter is the best! He always takes time to talk to you and explains dishes in good detail. Go to spot for our family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great Food! Great Service! Will be back! Great for business lunch

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The ambiance of Toast is what makes it so special. There is always good music playing and the servers are nice and knowledgeable. The menu consists of classic favorites and new innovations so there is something for everyone. There is a nice description of menu items to help you decide if you'd like to be adventurous or stick with what you know.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We have been here before and like the option of outdoor seating in the summer. During this visit we had a very bad experience. The table where they sat us had butter packets all over the floor. When we mentioned it they just gave us napkins and my husband was on his hands and knees cleaning it up. The waitress acted annoyed that we would even bring it up. I ended up getting butter all over my shoes. Pretty rude and poor service overall. In our previous visits we find that the service makes the experience either pretty good or really bad. The food was just ok for the value. We ordered the bursts and the prosciutto was so fatty we could barely eat it. Next time I'll skip it and find another restaurant nearby with outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Cold soup. Dirty silverware. Poor service. Overcharged. Food was horrible. My wife became very ill after eating. Not sure if they are going out of business but toast is s good name for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Just a dinner out with my husband - super cool spot but the service was slow. Ordered drinks and appetizer - got appetizer within 5 minutes and had to ask about drinks. Server said it was because there was a large party that came in. I'll add that we were there first and drinks were ordered before the party all arrived. Server seemed overwhelmed with tables that were being sat around us and we felt the brunt of it. Food was excellent and drinks (once we finally got them) were fabulous. We will give it another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We all loved the brunch food selection. We came together for a birthday brunch and did not regret the decision at all. Service was good, food was delicious, and we left very satisfied. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

4 entrees and 2 appetizers were bland. Better for brunch than dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

First time at Toast! was a nice evening to dine outside. Friendly service a d good food. Nice relaxing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Waitesss wasn't friendly everything was good. But we expected her to smile a little

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I met two friends from high school at Toast last Monday morning. I made reservations but didn't need to since there were plenty of open tables. Our waitress made us feel very welcome. She shared suggestions and didn't rush us during our meal. The coffee was delicious but rather
expensive and the food was amazingly creative and scrumptious. It was a treat to dine at Toast!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Fun, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Really good kid menu.....adult lunch/dinner options more limited as this is really skewed towards breakfast dining. Overall, a pleasant experience with quality food and efficient service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very disappointed with the meal. Had to send back both dinners for me and my my wife. Came back a little better the second time. Offered an apology only no discount or meal voucher for the future. Thought they should have at least offered a free drink. It had been a while since I had last visited and I will be in no hurry to return as I have many other choices near by. Service overall was a little on the slow side as the place was not overly crowded.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food was terrible whitefish with cornmeal was like eating sand pebbles. I had the pasta it was flavored with the artichoke marinade and vinegar. Everything was very sub par and when mentioned to the waiter that the fish was not good he just laughed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Toast is a great spot for brunch! I've never come for lunch or dinner, but the brunch menu is fantastic. The food is delicious and have loved everything I've ordered. Outdoor seating is great for cool summer days.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is great. Never have been disappointed. Drinks are always perfect as well. Service is usually fantastic. It wasn't bad this time, just ok. One of my absolute favorites in downtown Birmingham. They're usually pretty busy, but never have a wait when I use this app.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Showed up 15 minutes earlier than my reservation and they seated us quickly! Busy since it was a Friday but so worth the drive from Livonia. Great food, atmosphere and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had breakfast with our local partner in Birmingham. Love the food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I tried Toast as a casual, fun, but somewhat upscale option for a second date with someone I had just met online. I loved the decor and overall vibe of the place. The food was good. The waitstaff were attentive without being intrusive. The only downside to me was that the tables on either side of us were literally inches away from our table. I felt like my every word was being overheard by the people on either side of me. (In Toast's defense, the proximity to our neighbors wouldn't have mattered as much if the restaurant had been loud and full of people.) Other than that, no complaints, and I'd definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Chicken and waffles was delicious, so was my blueberry margarita with fresh blueberries on top. Also liked the grits, and I don't eat grits. Service was great, manager even took time to work the room and greet all tables. Very eclectic decor. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have been here numerous times for dinner and the menu keeps getting better and better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was excellent; everyone (staff) was friendly, helpful and upbeat. The ambience was lively and great atmosphere for dining. The meal was interesting, but not as succulent as I would have preferred for breakfast/brunch. A bit pricey for the type of menu offered, but overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great place! My family went for dinner and I was really surprised on how great the dinner menu and food was. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Service was great, she made good recommendations. Food was fantastic, prepared fresh and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were looking for a local cool place and found it. Had a simple breakfast but service and ambiance was awesome. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Friendly service and the food was good. Not necessarily a menu for everyone as the fare is eclectic. We were told by our waiter that they had run out of two items we ordered, but he suggested great alternatives.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was very good, but the $21 chicken and waffle seemed severely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our dinner was very good and our waiter Marco was attentive and had good suggestions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I had a nice experience for my first visit. The food was terrific, a bit pricey for breakfast food.
The area where we were seated was a little loud and cold. Overall, the experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Toast is always consistently good. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual, the service is always good. The menu is unique and delicious. It's a definite "go-to" in the area.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had the bacon fried rice! It was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great menu and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I really love this place, food is delicious but it is a bit loud for a business meeting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food was good but over priced in my opinion. Good Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service was slow and the chicken and waffle dish was not that good. The calamari was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The wait staff was really good. The food only OK. We were crammed at an uncomfortable table. Definitely a better breakfast than dinner place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Good food/good service We really enjoyed our lunch at toast

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Decore and menu selection very good. Long delay recieving drinks and food, broccoli soup tasted old, acorn squash was raw. We should have sent it back, server didnt check back for 10 minutes. Because we were with friends and on a time schedule, i let it go. Will not be 1st choice when going out.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The rice stuffed acorn squash was bland! The chicken from the chicken & waffles was overdone and the waffle was soggy! I can't even explain the chicken and dumplings dish. I asked for a mojito and instead of mint I received basil, which would have been acceptable but it would have been nice to be asked first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.