About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: (301) 663-6968

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (89)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (64)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Waterfront (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Worth the Drive (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Local Ingredients (41)
Romantic (33)
Scenic View (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Private Room (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Fun (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Cozy (23)
Business Meals (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fireplace (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Authentic (20)
Tasting Menu (20)
People Watching (20)
Healthy (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Seasonal (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Organic (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Historic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Took a chance and followed the recommendation from reviews on-line. First visit Frederick, just to have dinner at The Wine Kitchen. It lived up to the excellent reviews. And the location was quite charming. Beautifully renovated area of town with a beautiful promenade along the creek thru the center of town.

Staff very friendly and accommodating, but could use a bit more education on the daily menu items. A dedicated bartender would help improve the service. Our waitress also made the drinks which meant that when her area of tables got busy, the drink orders took a while to fill (we sat in the bar area).

But the food was stellar and made up for the few imperfections. One of the best meals we have ever had. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We were late for our afternoon reservation and seriously pushing the lunch cutoff. The staff was generous to even seat us and they were kind and professional about it. They most certainly could have reasonably turned us away. I am so glad they were will to seat us. We had a lovely birthday celebration lunch. The entire experience was very positive.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

unique dishes, loved the macaroni and cheese! Had a smoked taste to it. The halibut dish was also nice. We didn't try the wines since we don't drink alcohol, but they do have an extensive wine list and they tell you which wines pair with their specific dish. We will difinitely comeback to try the other dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, prompt service, good suggestions by the waitstaff. Enjoyed the venue and evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a nice time to wine and dine here! Service a bit sloppy and slow this last time but usually just fine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service ,excellent food, and a great wine selection. Our Anniversary dinner was certainly memorable. We will definitely be back for more. Thank you for providing us with an evening we will never forget.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First the server was awesome. The appetizers (mussels and the cheesesteak fries) were good. The cheesesteak fries are a fraction as large as thy look on the website, but are still a fair value. The only negative is that the two steaks and one hamburger that were ordered were significantly overcooked. The steaks were quite expensive , so was a disappointment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined at the Wine Kitchen on Mother's Day and the food and service were excellent! Highly recommend the pork belly app, short ribs, and tiramisu! Everyone enjoyed their meal and there were no complaints! It was also a great spot for pics along the creek afterwards😊

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We sat outside and enjoyed the great weather. Our server was amazing and had some great recommendations. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dine here often and want to commend the restaurant for consistent good quality food and service. If anything goes wrong, which it rarely does, they do everything in their power to make it right. I'm impressed with how they handle the challenges of running a local small business and appreciate the great food and service they add to Frederick's restaurant scene. It's a very fun place and if you luck out with an outside table by the creek on a pretty day you will be charmed [and well fed]/

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We celebrated wedding anniversary dinner here and it's worth the drive from Gettysburg. The food is fantastic--the lamb saddle was especially great!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best food we have had in a long time and the waitress was amazing. Decor was very welcoming and all staff were friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Birthday and Mother's Day Celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortunately our reservation for celebrating closing on our house was dropped but we still had an amazing time and the food was delicious!!! We will definitely be back! :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best restaurant in Frederick! LOVE their dinner burger - everyone should have this burger.
You can't go wrong with any of their fresh, inventive, delicious plates. Amazing seafood, great vegetarian options, fantastic cocktails and the service is the best you can get!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our favorite place 10/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

LOVE this place!!Always so creatively deliciously yummy!!

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a wonderful meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pretty crowded and not that welcoming when we arrived. A waiting area would be nice. From then on however we had a great experience. Device was good, not intrusive, but attentive. Food was excellent!! Try the gruyere and ramp rolls. Nice surprise

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Wine Kitchen is my go-to place for lunch or dinner in Frederick

Tags: Private Room, Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was delicious and the wine list very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delightful repast along the creek. Outdoor seating is first come first served. But we asked for it anyway - worth even a little wait to sit creekside and enjoy your delicious meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Organic, Waterfront, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great meal at WK. My wife and I have been here several times and never had anything but a wonderful experience. The food and service are always on point.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to the Wine Kitchen before and loved it. I was a bit disappointed this time because while the food was delicious as always, the wine service was incredibly slow. Normally, we like to do the wine flights and tastes of a lot of different wines but this time it seemed to take forever for the bar to fill our orders. For a place called the Wine Kitchen, it was amazing how long my wine glass was empty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We arrived at 5:30 for our reservation, seated right away, ordered drinks and appetizers. We received our drinks at a good time along with our starter. Everything was delicious, the mule drink came out in a non mule cup which was strange. The wine flights are good and good price ranges. We ordered our main course but it took about an hour to get drinks/dinner, and had to leave to pick up our son so didnt really enjoy dinner :(. This was disappointing. Our waiter could sense we waited awhile and took off the last two drinks off our bill which made up for the slow service. All in all it was yummy and I will come back but probably sit at the bar.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of my favorite places in Frederick! The food is always amazing and they have great cocktails. Their waitstaff is always pleasant, particularly Tim who is very funny. If you're able to sit outside it makes for a perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were seated at a table for two which was set in a busy location where servers were traveling past to the outdoor dining area. It was rather distracting. Another table near a window out of the way stayed empty for most of the evening. The special chicken dish was outstanding. We ordered smoked nuts with our drinks and they were a perfect complement with a smokey roasted flavor. The dessert with the flourless chocolate cake and banana ice cream was creamy and rich. A delicious end to a satisfying meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were really looking forward to a nice anniversary dinner. We were crammed into a tiny table with barely enough room to get in. It was so loud we had to yell to hear each other. There was no privacy. Felt like I was dining with 4 total strangers. I even had requested a quiet table. Food was ok. Too bad it seemed like it was a great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Another fantastic experience! Celebrated our 10 year anniversary with our kids present (baby sitter fell through) and the staff were great. Food was amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fabulous as always!!! My favorite restaurant in town!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Met my Brother in Law and wife for early drinks and appetizers. got a table outside on a brilliant, sunny day. Small plates were great for sharing along with wine flights. Hostess sat us promptly and our waiter was fun and knew his stuff. Great location for sitting along the creek, people watch and sharing a meal. Fills up outside so go early or be prepared to wait. Indoor bar was happening also so waiting isnt bad.
Enjoy!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lacked vegetarian choices. Short Ribs were excellent! Be prepared to spend...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Everything it was hyped to be. Wine selection was great and especially like the flights selections we did sharing at the table to help confirm the glass we wanted with dinner. Our server, Tom was outstanding and made very good suggestions. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place for a date night. Service is top notch! Food was a little over seasoned for my taste, and they graciously fixed it with a wonderful less seasoned entré.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As Always - GREAT. Special occasion, drinks at the bar, everyday dining or Sunday brunch on the patio. Always great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The purpose of our meal, was to celebrate the "End of Tax Season". We wanted a place that was "fun" but not too loud. The food was absolutely fantastic! The four (4) of us all felt we had hit a home run. Thank You!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Wood Oven, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful restaurant in downtown Frederick along Carroll Creek. Outside patio dining in warmer weather . Great addition to the area serving high quality , wonderfully prepared food . Excellent service provided by the wait staff . Highly recommend dining there !

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food and experience was really good! We would definitely return. There were a couple issues that kept this from being a top notch experience. First, my wife ordered the trout but was given salmon instead. Everything else about the dish was as described in the menu, so not sure what happened there. We should have asked but didn't. Second, I ordered my steak cooked medium but it came cooked more than that. It was definitely more like well done. Fortunately it still tasted delicious, so I just let it be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great wine selections and a wide ranging menu of very well prepared foods. The wine flights are a fun option. The staff is appropriately attentive and helpful in guiding you as to food or wine, if you need that. This is one of Frederick 's several premium dining experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.