About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: (301) 663-6968

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Notable Wine List (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (46)
Scenic View (41)
Waterfront (40)
Local Ingredients (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Casual (29)
People Watching (29)
Fun (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great Beer (9)
Seasonal (9)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding, the service was great, the view was beautiful and the wine was perfect! We ended up leaving with a whole case of wine. :)

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was very good, however service was extremely slow and it was a Tuesday night . . . would hate to see what their service is like on a busy weekend night.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our meal and experience at The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, quite frankly, could not have been better. From the initial greeting to the friendly farewell, our experience , service, food and attention to every detail was perfect. A couple of points to consider when you go (and it should be when, not if).
1. The wine flights are a fantastic way to taste (and learn) about several wines without over imbibing. Tuesday night is Flight Night so they are only $9 a flight...worth the trip.
2. Appetizers were flavorful, presented beautifully and appropriately sized. Perfect start to the meal.
3. As a vegetarian, I tried my first-ever squash steak. It will not be my last. The combination of the squash and pistachio butter was exceptional. That being said, the creamed corn side nearly stole the show. Not your traditional heavy cream over soft corn...this was fresh, crispy, light and a perfect compliment to the meal.
4. My wife got the Hay Brined Chicken. She was ready to go back the following day for more. It was that good.
5. The dessert menu is just right and we went with the Blueberries and cream. Again, great flavors (a little lemon, a little cornbread, a little cream and meringue) and perfect portion. We shared and that coupled with a fresh french pressed coffee topped the meal off just right.

As important as the food, the service was impeccable. Friendly and responsive while creating a comfortable ambiance and a relaxed environment. True fine dining for us without any of the pretension.

We could not recommend The Wine Kitchen on the Creek any more enthusiastically. Do yourself a favor and set a date now!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

John and the Wine Kitchen crew ALWAYS deliver! We had a birthday party for seven and everything was delicious! From the cheese and meat plate to the fried green tomatoes for starters until we all had our entrees--including the wagu beef, cod, halibut and butternut mignon (a GREAT surprise!), we were served some amazing flavors. Everyone enjoyed the food and Shane's excellent service. Shane is new to WK, but he's a fantastic and engaging addition! What a great addition to this amazing team!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had reservations but had to wait for about 15 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Tuesday was wine flight night. A nice bonus to an already great setting.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Dinner is pricey and portions small. Seems you need to order multiple (expensive) items if you wish to actually be full. I felt we got ripped off by the Cod entree, a TINY portion for the price, dry, with seemingly no flavor/seasoning. Gone in about 4 bites. Not fun to leave hungry after spending that much money. The burger however was excellent and bursting with flavor. Service was quick and efficient almost to a fault. Felt rushed and impersonal. We had 3 separate waitresses throughout our meal. Not one of them checked on us while we were eating or asked us how the food was. Patio is beautiful but apparently you can't make reservations specifically for outdoor. If you've got the money to experiment you can certainly find plenty of good things on the menu. Otherwise go for lunch, which is a much better value.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Shane was an amazing waiter. Food was outstanding. Will be back for more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is the second time we have eaten here with friends and it did not disappoint again. The food and service were very good - nothing more to say other than it is a place conducive to a nice eating/fellowship experience. We plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is always great at the Wine Kitchen, as is the wine, but you need to plan to spend a lot of time there. We waited almost an hour between the appetizer and the dinner. It was getting a little silly. The waiter kept asking if we wanted more wine, but never came with a status about our food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The "C" team was on. Waitress was horrible. Never came back to ask about drinks. Meal was cold. We ate inside and the staff was outside. Not up to there usual excellence.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Will certainly come back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The kitchen knows how to get the most from simple but fresh ingredients. And they know how to sauce without disguising the flavor of the meat or fish that it covers. Obviously, they know how to select wines that are worthy of the cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Absolutely loved it! I used it as a place to gather friends from all over MD, PA, NoVA, and D.C. and they raved about the food and the settings. Wonderful service. You can't go wrong here for an enjoyable time and delicious food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food and interesting wines but on the expensive side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

A fabulous dinner by the water - fun flights of rosé and wines from the Spanish Plain, a delicious appetizer of tuna tacos, followed by salad and a hamburger (oh that bacon jam!!!). And TWO desserts, although we usually share! Chocolate for me, blueberries for him...all note-worthy. We'll soon return with friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a treat to dine here. The table we were seated at. Was near the kitchen and very noisy. They had no problem moving us. Very accommodating. Everyone loved their meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always a favorite. Always something different. Always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Food was really good, I wish they gave you more of the Tuna Tacos for the price. They were outstanding though. Little disappointed in the alcohol prices, I thought 12 dollars for a cocktail was pricey. Overall the food was very good and the services was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Well all we can say is the food was masterful! We will be back!
I love love the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food here is excellent. It's not cheap but for what you get, it is good value. There is a lot of attention to detail. The portions are sized so you can finish all your food but you do get enough to eat. If you're on a budget, go for the excellent burgers and yummy fries.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I had brunch at the Wine Kitchen on the Creek and was really glad I did. I'd had this restaurant on my list for awhile for trips to Frederick and the food was very good. It was a beautiful morning and this restaurant is in a part of Frederick I'd never been before. There's a beautiful walkway along the creek with bridges to walk to the other side, waterlilies growing in the creek, and wonderful Trump L'Oeil all over one of the bridges. I can't wait to explore this area further on future trips. Back to the restaurant I ordered a breakfast that included scrambled eggs, fennel sausage (yum), a hash brown 'cake', and choucroute over the sausage. I also ordered two chive biscuits (hey, they were small) to go with my plate and also a corn biscuit 'to go' to have later in the day. I'm a biscuit fan and these were delicious. Downsides to this restaurant? There are a few. Portions are small but I did feel satisfied at the end of my meal, and the atmosphere is meh. I would return here but will check out other spots in the area as well. It is definitely a really beautiful area for walking around.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Waterfront, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great as always! Thank you for being a consistently great restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had an amazing experience. From the ham, pineapple and gruyere rolls, to the beet and goat cheese salad and finally to the tuna and the Rib entrees, everything was really, REALLY, good!

Shane , our waiter, was also stellar. He was genuine in his recommendations and shared our appreciation for the food experience. We will ask for him every time we return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were celebrating my daughter's birthday at the Wine Kitchen. They did a very nice job helping us! A card was left on the table which my daughter appreciated; it was a nice, classy touch and made the evening. A special thanks goes out to Weylin our server; he did a wonderful job! All in all, great food, service & a great night thanks to the Wine Kitchen! We'll be back soon! Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We sat outside by the creek. The food was amazing and the service could not have been better from our server(Shane) to the manager(John). If we are ever in the area again we will go there for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I can always count on having a wonderful experience when I eat at The Wine Kitchen. We ate outside and it was great sitting under the flowers while watching the creek and the people walking by. The food was delicious and our server was exceptional. I cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent food and presentation. I have my favorites but I like to try new items on the menu. Wait staff are always pleasant.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The WIne Kitchen provided a great venue for our business meeting. Tim did a great job of making sure we had a private area to hold our meeting and he and the staff were fantastic. Would definitely consider The Wine Kitchen for our meeting again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Well, I'm back again and pleasantly surprised the bar menu slightly changed, so I experienced some new items! One, if it's Tuesday, go with the Roll Out The Red Carpet wine flight, truly a winner, although happy hour wines are good too. New on bar menu were two types of oysters, fried and on the half shell, both excellent! Always love their steak Frites, and today substituted fries with side salad! Cooked to perfection and melted like butter! Last, tried the duck spring rolls and were surprisingly good! My favorite place to eat while in Frederick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Six of us went for brunch. I looked at the menu online and (wrongly) assumed it was a sample menu.

The food was very good, but the menu options were limited (ie. only one omelet option available). When we asked our server about substitutions in the omelet she made it seem like it was a huge deal. It seemed to annoy her when we asked if toast came with the omelet (it didn't).

Obviously, it was ultimately my fault for assuming the menu was more flexible, but the server could have made it a more pleasant dining experience by not treating us like we were a burden on her time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, a little on the pricy side but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a beautiful and memorable experience. Our family's go to restaurant for that very special meal. Thank you for your outstanding service and choices. Each time we come back we fall in love all over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My friend and I went for lunch and had very enjoyable experience. The food, drinks and dessert were delicious. We had a great view of the creek from our window table. I would have given a 4 star rating accept there were several different waiters/waitresses that checked on our table in addition to our main server, slightly confusing and also made us feel as if they were trying to get us to leave. The last waitress that approached us presented the check without first asking if there was anything else they could provide and automatically assumed we were ready for the check and used a tone and facial expression or lack there of that made it clear that was our only option. I will definitely go back and hopefully personalities will more upbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was great for lunch. The entire group enjoyed everything from the wine, shrimp and grits, Mexican BLT, Homemade Pastrami and Dessert. The service was outstanding and price just right. Highly recommend this place for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 47th Wedding Anniversary at the Wine Kitchen. It was a wonderful experience. We had a nice corner seat near the window and was surprised with champagne. We had 3 appetizers -- marinated olives, fried tomatoes, oysters. Shared a dinner of filet mignon followed by a dessert. It was a wonderful meal. Our server, Tim, was very accommodating and personable. We plan to return for future occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great seafood! Great atmosphere! Great wine! Great service! Great place to bring friends from out of town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Waitress customer service could be better. We waited 8 minutes at our table before being acknowledged. If your that busy say so but at least tell us. No one likes to be ignored. No water nothing. HOWEVER eventually all turned out. Food is excellent. Would go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love the food and service here. The service is attentive, prompt, and friendly without being intrusive. The food is always delicious and attractively presented. We love the descriptive cards that come with our wine selections.
On this visit, I had the lamb special. It was very good, but I've had better, truly outsanding meals here. We opted for a dish of smoked nuts to start, rather than a full appetizer. The nuts were delicious and didn't fill us up while waiting for dinner.
We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I was really looking forward to eating here since it was recommended by a friend. We just ate here 2 days ago. Unfortunately the food was very disappointing. My son ordered a Cobb Salad which had a few pieces of lettuce on a plate with 1 cut up egg, a sliver of avocado and that was it for $14.00. My husband had the burger which was 3" in diameter and had a bacon jam on top that was horrible. My butternut squash was ok but the mushrooms tasted like rubber and it was served with a dish of corn (tasted like canned). The waiter was attentive but for the quality and price go elsewhere. There are a lot of different restaurants in Frederick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.