Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Veranda Restaurant

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fun (4)
Waterfront (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food good service beautiful ambience very fresh tasting food

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lunch at The Veranda is always a delight and a treat for the eyes. Food and view will never disappoint. This has been and always will be a favorite place to go for lunch.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We enjoy bringing others to the Grand Tradition to experience the beautiful hidden gem of Fallbrook. As always it was a delightful time. I am disappointed though that the Orchid Bar will not be open to the public for Happy Hour this summer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great time for celebrating my birthday. The food was very good, very reasonably priced. We had the Avocado Egg Roll for appetizer along with the dish of veggies with dip and fruit with yogurt already on the table, and for our brunch, we ordered the Veggie Quiche with Home Fries Potatoes. Everything tasted great and was beautifully presented. At the end of our meal, our server brought out a special mini-dessert for me and my husband to share, and he even videoed on my phone us singing happy birthday and me blowing out the candle. Beautiful view of the manicured lawn and pond with fountain, and while dining we enjoyed watching a wedding party be photographed in the gardens. Afterwards, we walked around to look at all the luscious gardens with waterfalls and exotic flowers. Romantic, peaceful and charming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoyed brunch. The grounds are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I came here to celebrate a friends birthday. I had tried to get earlier reservations when my daughter was in town from college and nothing was available. I booked a couple weeks out and sadly, it turned out to be the weekend it rained - a lot. Heat lamps were turned on and the food, service, and wonderful setting were so wonderful even the rain couldn't spoil the day. I would come back here again, but be sure to make reservations well in advance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The grounds are beautiful we arrived early just to walk the grounds. The view from the Veranda restaurant is grand. The lunch could not have been better. The staff kind and helpful. The cost is quite reasonable.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Celebrating my birthday and favorite place to go. Love the view from porch..... so relaxing and romantic. Our young server Nick was very good and attentive to our lunch. Food is excellent and presentation is beautiful with flowers.🤗

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I rated the noise level as quiet because we had the last table on the veranda, so we were spared some of the noise from being in the center of the veranda. We had visited Grand Tradition before (we drive up from San Diego), so we were eager to re-visit the gardens, waterfalls, beautiful flower beds. I made our reservation on Open Table but also received a live phone call from Grand Tradition two days before our lunch to confirm. After our lunch, we told the waitress we were eager to walk the paths through the gardens, and we were told that there was going to be a wedding later that day and that we weren't allowed to see the gardens! WHAT??! Why weren't we told that when they called us to confirm the reservation??! We wouldn't have driven up just for lunch. Makes us wonder if they just didn't want to "lose" the lunch revenue by telling us that. Our lunch was delicious, and you can't beat the veranda for ambiance. But the fact that we weren't told about the wedding so we could make a different decision has left a bad taste in our mouths. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Awesome as always! Our son and his girlfriend were very impressed with the ambiance, food and the service.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time at the Veranda and it was exquisite! After brunch, we took a stroll in the gardens, a must see while you are there. There are also various places you can have a snack, drink and enjoy the waterfalls. Definitely a place to visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I was proud to take my friend for lunch as a thank you. She loved it and even took pictures of the grounds

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

2 weeks in a row - Always love taking friends to The Veranda!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Thought tables were a little too close together. We had a group of about 10 female tennis players celebrating a birthday next to us. Although they were not very loud my husband and I could follow the whole conversation . They had a lot of fun but did not share any of their beautiful birthday cake with us ......Too bad!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great place for lunch! Views and the Veranda Dining are not to be missed! Polite servers!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I love The Veranda at Grand Traditions Garden Estates! I call this place my Shangrala....never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A+ all around. Make reservations ahead of time! Easy to do with Open Table!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Healthy, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went with our 6 year old for brunch and had a very enjoyable experience. The service was excellent, the brunch options were delicious (the bagel with lox and the waffle with fresh berries were particularly good) and the setting was lovely. All tables have a view of the lake and lawn. We had a large wedding-related party next to us, but the noise never really disturbed our dining. For the setting, we considered the food to be a good value (about $10-$11 per main). It's worth taking the time after your meal to stroll around the lake and explore the nearby Compass Garden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love the Veranda restaurant at the Grand Tradition! It is so nice to sit outside on the porch and enjoy the great food and the beautiful view of the gardens. Wonderful for breakfast, brunch and lunch. Everything is well kept and clean, the service is very friendly and the beautifully presented food tastes delicious! All in all a very pleasant dining experience! Always love to come back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A lovely restaurant with a peaceful ambiance. We took an out of town guest and fun was had by all. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good food, great seating with an amazing view of a well manicured yard. An oasis! The wait staff works hard to keep the customers happy and served on time. Every guests I've brought in were amazed and truly enjoyed the experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fantastic grounds, wonderful food, great service! What else can you ask for?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

What a gorgeous setting for a weekend brunch - The Grand Tradition in Fallbrook has 33 acres of beautiful gardens - centered by a heart-shaped lake complete with a gazebo and walking path around the perimeter. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, beautifully presented, fresh, and served magnificently! I highly recommend this gorgeous Victorian estate and gardens for your next special family brunch - what a gem in the heart of Fallbrook!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A great dining experience. The food and service were outstanding! Our special guest were very impressed. My wife and I were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Really enjoyed the walk around the beautiful gardens!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

After a stroll through the beautiful gardens, we had a delicious lunch served on the veranda with a gorgeous view of the lake and gardens below! The food is fresh, plentiful, inexpensive and served with a beautiful presentation on each plate.

The staff is very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend this lovely venue for brunch or lunch, and leave plenty of time to enjoy an easy stroll through the beautiful, tropical gardens too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. Great Service. Great view.
Do not miss this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Sitting on the veranda, overlooking the lake and having a lovely relaxing brunch was perfect. Definitely intend to make the drive again, have lunch and next time stroll through the gardens. SO worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Outstanding. The grounds are stunning, staff very friendly and attentive. Prices are reasonable for the amount of food you get. Had to take half of all the meals home. The homemade lemonade was fabulous. Every dish had a beautiful fresh flower laid on top, beautiful touch. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always enjoy the beautiful ambiance of The Grand Tradition - delicious, reasonable food and the beautiful grounds surrounding the restaurant. A most enjoyable combination.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had high expectations and hopes, so I thought it was possible I'd be disappointed. I wasn't. My luncheon here was exquisite and just as delightful as I hoped. I can't wait to return! Thanks to Delana and Crystal for your gracious, warm hospitality and courtesy. The surroundings are fabulous. I dislike loud noise when I'm relaxing over a good meal in a lovely place, so the quiet and peace were pure tonic. Thanks so much to everyone I encountered; you were all unfailingly helpful and friendly. Wonderful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Returning to the Grand Tradition Estate for a meal is always joyful. We were married at the Estate on Halloween, so we look forward to each return. The food was delicious and the environment serene.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I come here every year for our anniversary (We got married here), and the food is always excellent, the staff are friendly and professional, the ambience is wonderful, and the value cannot be beat. The prices for their tasty brunches are pretty much the same as going to Denny's and Denny's can't even TOUCH the Veranda's quality on every level. I love coming here every year, walking the grounds and reminiscing about our wedding day. It truly is a special place.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Couldn"t find a better place for Sunday Brunch. Views are beyond beautiful.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were sat next to a birthday party of two tables that were loud when there were two empty tables the whole time we were there on the other side of the veranda in a more quiet spot. We got there five minutes before our reservation time and were asked to stand and wait until closer to our before they would seat us to give their kitchen staff time to catch up. Our table had been ready for us the whole time. We should not have been made to stand there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice casual lunch! Beautiful setting, good service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing place to take someone that has never been. So unexpected and beautiful.
Just wish they served cream with their coffee. When we ordered desert and coffee I was disappointed to be given creamer.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Such a beautiful setting. We love going there with the girls.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, service and their garden were all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Took two social friends for their bday s. It is so beautiful. It has become a tradition. Taken my daughter there also who is in a wheelchair. Love love the veranda. Worth the drive.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Took my husband here on a rainy day for his birthday. We both really enjoyed the setting, the food, the ambiance and the overall uniqueness of eating out on a large wooden veranda of a Victorian style house. Very American and peaceful. The view was beautiful and calming. Even the rain didn't put a damper on things. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.