About The Veranda Restaurant

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Romantic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Waterfront (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were sat next to a birthday party of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were sat next to a birthday party of two tables that were loud when there were two empty tables the whole time we were there on the other side of the veranda in a more quiet spot. We got there five minutes before our reservation time and were asked to stand and wait until closer to our before they would seat us to give their kitchen staff time to catch up. Our table had been ready for us the whole time. We should not have been made to stand there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Nice casual lunch! Beautiful setting, go ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice casual lunch! Beautiful setting, good service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing place to take someone that has n ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Amazing place to take someone that has never been. So unexpected and beautiful.

Just wish they served cream with their coffee. When we ordered desert and coffee I was disappointed to be given creamer.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful setting. We love going ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Such a beautiful setting. We love going there with the girls.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Food, service and their garden were all ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food, service and their garden were all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took two social friends for their bday s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Took two social friends for their bday s. It is so beautiful. It has become a tradition. Taken my daughter there also who is in a wheelchair. Love love the veranda. Worth the drive.

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Took my husband here on a rainy day for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Took my husband here on a rainy day for his birthday. We both really enjoyed the setting, the food, the ambiance and the overall uniqueness of eating out on a large wooden veranda of a Victorian style house. Very American and peaceful. The view was beautiful and calming. Even the rain didn't put a damper on things. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been several times for brunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been several times for brunch and have enjoyed it immensely. We have been in groups from two to 8 people and every time the food and service was consistently great! Thank you

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, , Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I call this place my Shangra-la.....love ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I call this place my Shangra-la.....love love LOVE it here!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful grounds and restaurant. It was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful grounds and restaurant. It was not busy and we could see several empty tables but with only one person sitting people it took about ten minutes with a reservation. We were informed they had run out of orange juice by 1130am on a Sunday. The food and service were outstanding and we're looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another awesome brunch at the Veranda. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Another awesome brunch at the Veranda. This is our favorite place to take friends and family and they always want to go back!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience for friends ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a great experience for friends and family, the hospitality and brunch was great!

The gardens simply beautiful! We would love to come back! Mother In Law loved it too!

She complains but did not offer her complaints but had a great time and a great review.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, , Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family got together even though it wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

My family got together even though it was raining. The service was friendly and the view of the gardens was beautiful. Would love to come back in the spring.

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding on all fronts! A truly b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding on all fronts! A truly beautiful location. I highly highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My cousin and I went here for Sunday Bru ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My cousin and I went here for Sunday Brunch; it's also our first time. When we enter the estate, it reminds me of historic houses in Savannah, GA. Outside is well kept and clean. The friendly staff greeted us. The ambiance is cozy and warm. The back side of the restaurant is charming with a beautiful view of the garden with water fountain. Our server Crystal is friendly, attentive and accommodating. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best kept secret in Fallbrook! This pla ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best kept secret in Fallbrook! This place is amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a brunch reservation for our firs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I made a brunch reservation for our first visit to The Veranda because I wanted a nice place to celebrate with my family. All seating is outside overlooking the pristine heart-shaped lake and immaculate grounds. When you arrive at the Beverly Mansion, the signs indicate that you should walk to the left around the building to enter the restaurant. My one suggestion would be to allow people the opportunity to walk in through the front doors because it felt like we were walking in through the back entrance (which I guess we were), but what made me uncomfortable was having to stand there while waiting to be seated, with the people eating at their tables right there in front of you. I think this is done to avoid running into any pre-wedding stuff that may be taking place inside the mansion. There is a sign that says, "Please wait to be seated", but we still started to question if we were in the right place after a couple of minutes of waiting. Plus, it's just awkward standing there with everyone eating so close by (not to mention it gets really hot if you have to wait on the stairs because there's another party ahead of you). I noticed another couple after us double checking the sign as well, wondering if they were in the right place to be seated. Remember that if you plan to dine here - be patient, you ARE in the right place! LOL

Once we were seated, everything was great! My husband LOVED the Wellington Benedict, and my kids were happy with the French Toast, Bagels with Lox, and I enjoyed the breakfast burrito. Our server Nicolas, was great, and the music added a nice touch! We added on the garden tickets to our bill so we could walk off some of that food before going home! Overall, a very relaxing ambience between the restaurant, gardens, and waterfalls to celebrate our special event. I only wish they served dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, scenic restaurant! Overlooks ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Beautiful, scenic restaurant! Overlooks a lake and vast garden area. Food was a great value, too. Wonderful for an intimate lunch with your loved one.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, , Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was wonderful. It had d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This restaurant was wonderful. It had delicious food, the service was excellent and the setting was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at the Veranda and then t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love eating at the Veranda and then taking a walk through the gardens after. The food is delicious and the presentation is beautiful!! It's like having a beautiful meal in the quiet beauty of amazing gardens!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scenic surrounding beauty exceeded m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The scenic surrounding beauty exceeded my expectations! It didn't even look like dry California.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting with a view of the sma ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful setting with a view of the small lake. Food and presentation was outstanding and reasonably priced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breathtaking setting, amazing food and a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Breathtaking setting, amazing food and attentive service! This is the second year I've come for my birthday brunch and both times have exceeded my expectations!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant! Hope to go there ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Hope to go there again soon. The food was really good and the service was excellent! The view of the Lake and grounds was so beautiful! Can't say enough about the Veranda.

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handicap parking sign on the right shoul ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Handicap parking sign on the right should include the info RAMP. We parked next to the tent>no clear signage as to best approach to porch; my husband had to haul his walker up the steps to access porch. An exhausting beginning for one with COPD. Please mark the easiest ramped or no-steps access to Veranda and the gardens. Thank you for honoring our request to be seated away from groups. Our Midwestern guests were refreshed by the ambience of the gardens. Staff were kind to reserve desserts for us to enjoy later at the Orchid Bar seating.

The chocolate cake was outstanding. The bread pudding was dry and inedible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The Veranda Restaurant was perfect for a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant was perfect for a special Birthday with friends. The table setting, white linen tablecloth & fresh flowers were beautiful, along with the terrific picturesque view of the lake and garden. The service was superb. The food was excellent, and we loved the drink selection. Something for everyone. I will definitely be returning very soon.

Thanks for making a perfect Birthday outing! Loved it.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite spots. The su ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots. The surrounding are incomparable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always relaxing, good food, great ambian ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always relaxing, good food, great ambiance, nice scenery overlooking a hearth shaped lake. Don't forget to tour the gardens after you eat, easy walking and beautiful grounds.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Most beautiful setting you can find, on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Most beautiful setting you can find, on a veranda, with paddle fans going looking out a very green lawn with blooming flowers onto a lake with a fountain in the middle

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. The presentation was beautiful to include edible flowers. The grounds are amazing and great fun to walk through after lunch. As a vegan I was disappointed to see the portobello mushroom sandwich left the menu. The only choice for Vegans or is a salad. There was a vegetarian sandwich that included cheese.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Two of us had to sit in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great view. Two of us had to sit in the sun, though. We still enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch was delicious and served in an app ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Lunch was delicious and served in an appetizing manner. The view of the grounds while dining was also delightful. Will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely lunch. Food was great. Sweet pota ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lovely lunch. Food was great. Sweet potato fries and Berry Lemon Marscapone cake were

To die for. Crystal was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic lunch and a beautiful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch and a beautiful view of the gardens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant .... My husband ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our favorite restaurant .... My husband was several times this past year in hospital and his first request was to make a reservation at the Veranda Restaurant. 👍🏻.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Veranda Restaurant is a class act. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant is a class act. The setting is wonderful, a view of part of the estate, the heart shaped pool, fountain, and gazebo. The tables are set beautifully on the veranda, the food quality is excellent, and the presentation of the food is wonderful, complete with edible flowers on every dish. It is a great place to dine with a special someone or friends. It is a hidden gem in Fallbrook.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch and it was great food, great views, and wonderful environment. We ordered 2 starters(beignets and meat/cheese plate) to share and there was enough for 4 people. The actual entrees were well portioned and very tasty. We two special requests for modifications and they were more than happy to accommodate. We went at 9:15 and the sun was very hot, we had to move over a little.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town friends introduced me to The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Out of town friends introduced me to The Grand Tradition Veranda Restaurant last year. Three of my local friends finally agreed on a date for us to enjoy lunch and the beautiful scenery last week. They couldn't thank me enough for suggesting the Veranda for lunch. And, they want to come back soon to enjoy all over again. It was a beautiful day and everyone agreed that the food was delicious, the service was perfect, and the flowers were exquisite. Thank You.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and interesting. Spectacu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good and interesting. Spectacular setting. Service very nice but a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

You will not be disappointed in this lov ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2016

You will not be disappointed in this lovely and unique dining experience. Go early and stroll the gardens before lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.