Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About The Veranda Restaurant

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Romantic (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (11)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Fun (8)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Waterfront (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was wonderful as usual. Our friends had never been there before, loved it and would like to come back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a treat to take visiting guests to the Veranda for lunch. The food, service and grounds are superb! Definitely the "hidden gem" of Fallbrook!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I really enjoyed our lunch! Such a beautiful area, too. If you want to walk the grounds ask the server. It will be a small fee of 2.50 pp. Well worth it. It is recommended you make a reservation as all seating is on the covered verandah. No indoor space.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. Wonderful French toast and creative eggs Benedict. The gardens are beautiful. We'd go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I was very excited to go on a date with my hunny for brunch. I was disappointed with the fact that since we arrived 7 mins early we were asked to come back at exactly the time of our reservation and didn't appreciate being sat in a corner. Down a very narrow hall. It felt very cramped and they didn't give us the option to sit at any of the shaded open tables. Which I might add there was a lot of tables that were either empty or could of sat like 6 people but only had 2 people sitting at them. VERY dissatisfied with that! Didn't feel they cared to make us happy and it took forever for a server to come back to check on if we wanted any drinks. I would ONLY recommend the View but not the service. Pretty disappointing :(

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Lunch with my girlfriends.
Service great until dessert course. We were not asked if we wanted dessert- just a check was presented and that was not very sweet. We tipped 15% instead of 20% if she asks.
Otherwise, it was a perfect day- cannot complain. It was late . We were the last customers for lunch and surely the waitress wanted to go home. She shouldn't think we didn't notice or assume we were not formerly in the fine dining field, so may not notice this push out the door. We noticed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Spectacular ambience! Delicious food...such a unique venue!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always awesome. Incredible atmosphere, gardens are always beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Disabled Access, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great time for our anniversary. Staff and food was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Loved everything about our experience and would highly recommend. We wanted a party of 6 table which you can not reserve on line. Just know you have to call directly to reserve for 6.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Lovely ambience, quiet - good for conversation, well-prepared and nice presentation of food. Service a wee bit slow but we enjoyed the un-rushedness. Very special place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent! Our greeting was very cold, but after that, everyone was very warm and friendly!

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The Veranda is located in a beautiful park like setting. We had reservations for brunch and got there shortly before they closed at 1:00, but they were so nice to accommodate us. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed the view. The food was great and on the fancy side. It is also a beautiful place for weddings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service, value & scenery were great as well as the presentation of the food. Only problem was my wife's omelet was cold - the cheese not melted in the slightest. Seems they cook the omelet eggs and then place so many small cold cut-up tomatoes in with the cheese the cheese doesn't melt whatsoever and it brings down the temperature of the whole thing. The cooks might want to reconsider how they prepare the omelets. Otherwise, all the other food was excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

It is a beautiful place to have lunch and a quiet visit with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and staff are very friendly! Crystal was our server and really took her time with us. Great view, it was just so hot when we went, didn't get to walk around.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was wonderful and beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I first time and we love it.. The view is awesome.. I can't wait to go back for breakfast or lunch. Best gardens I even been too!! It's so perfect and beautiful for pictures taking.. I recommend for everyone to go for breakfast or lunch. The foods are delicious. The service are kind and very respectful..

Thanks
Tou

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2017

One of my daughters got married at this venue a few years back. My wife and I knew we would be in the area and thought we would try lunch on the veranda. Turned out to be a GREAT meal, good food, great service, very relaxed peaceful atmosphere, and (for a small fee) their gardens are available to walk though afterwards. My daughter and her husband plan to take advantage of one of their picnic lunches in the near future, so this is a place I can wholeheartedly recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had brunch here on Saturday. It is a beautiful setting, on a terrace overlooking the lake and manicured grounds. There are only 14 tables and they are only open for brunch on the weekends and lunch weekdays, so reservations are at a premium and a must have. The service was impeccable. And the food was very good. I had the arugula and berry salad and and with chicken , others in our party opted for the club sandwich on freshly made focaccia , the eggs Benedict and the Belgian waffle. Everyone was happy with their choices. We will definitely make this a must go restaurant when we have guests visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Exceptional venue, stunning grounds, and food was very good - after reading some mixed reviews was pleasantly surprised at quality and freshness of food, all four of us. The desserts excellent also, highly recommend the chocolate flourless torte! Probably due to their limited hours they seemed strict about seating time, we came 10 minutes early to be seated, and they asked us to wait to maintain their 'kitchen flow'. Whatever, it didn't seem being seated then would impact their 'drink flow', but it wasn't a big deal. Everyone was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

I ordered the shaved prime rib sandwich. I was expecting rare shaved prime rib like I order from my local deli. What I got was well done meat that was not shaved nor had the quality of prime rib. I would equate it to a poor Philly steak sandwich and you would at least get more meat on a real Philly steak sandwich. I also had a glass of beer which was one of the smallest I've had. For such an elegant place, I expected a lot more in the way of food quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely place to bring your Mom for the afternoon. Beautiful Tropical Gardens. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Beautiful location great food nice leisurely lunch overlooking the heart shaped lake. A wonderful place to take friends to impress them

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A wonderful paradise with gardens and a surrounding lake. A romantic getaway. The food was delicious, especially the brussels sprouts as an appetizer! Try them and you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lovely, elegant, and relaxing. The perfect lunch setting for my mom's 90th birthday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A classy place,very good service and great food. Would recommend it to friends and family

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Could not ask for a more beautiful venue or better service for brunch. There are not many tables so it's like having a meal with a small group at the mansion. It was a hot day so the ice water with lemon as soon as we sat down was much appreciated. There several champagne beverages to choose from-all very tasty. The avocado spring roll appetizer was delicious, the mushroom bites a bit odd. The men had the Cuban sandwich and it was heavy on ham and light on pork tenderloin-a bit off balance but tasty. My BLT Avocado was beautiful although I would have liked the bread toasted. My friend had the omelet and declared it delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My daughter and I had a scrumptious brunch on a Saturday. Seating is very limited, so by all means...make reservations...especially on the weekends! Lunch is available weekdays, along with the option to have a box lunch or basket lunch that you can picnic with on the property for a more private/romantic meal, next to the lush sounds of waterfalls if you want. Take a breathtaking stroll around 18 acres of gardens. We did and were blown away! They're only open from 9am-2pm...so, check on times for lunch and/or brunch. I can't wait to go back!!! Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The restaurant and grounds are beautiful. The service was good. The food is OK; they need a little help with the menu (maybe a chef)? It was worth the drive to sit in a beautiful setting on a warm Sunday afternoon and enjoy a mimosa or two.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have eaten there many times. And taken visiting guests and relatives. Always outstanding service, food, views, and gardens. We love the Veranda, and we would recommend it to everyone, but then, we would never get a reservation. Will eat there many, many, more times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I expected more based on the reviews and general word of mouth in the North County area. The venue is gorgeous and worth a trip to The Veranda on its own. The grounds are fabulous and super well groomed. Great views from all exterior tables.

The food was decent, but not 5 stars. I would rate it 4 stars for Fallbrook and 3 stars for the County. The Bloody Mary's were excellent. The complementary antipasto looked like it was prepared eight hours earlier and refrigerated. The menu was interesting and had nice choices, but all four of us were left less than impressed. One had an omelet that was average at best. Another had a breakfast burrito and ate half, not interested in taking the other half home. The other two of us had the Cuban sandwich witch had too little meat and odd taking pickles.

It is worth a visit for the grounds (Grand Tradition), but it is not a culinary dream.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My family and I went for breakfast and the entire atmosphere was excellent ! I am looking forward to go back again. Great food, beautiful view . Excellent service .👍🥂

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food is outstanding and you can't beat the relaxing view. The prime rib sandwich was the best. Tender and flavorful. The spinach salad was great too. Just be sure to make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This was a wonderful venue for lunch, The meals are delicious and reasonably priced. The service was impeccable! It was a warm day (90's) but the outdoor fans provided a comfortable enviroment. The walk around the garden paths after lunch was outstanding, just a wonderful place~

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Veranda Restaurant in Fallbrook is run by the Grand Tradition wedding and event venue and has a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding gardens. It's a beautiful location. The wait staff were very friendly and efficient and the food and bloody marys were very good. It is definitely worth the drive to Fallbrook!

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The wait staff was excellent. Our party was drinking water only and I was ready to ask for a pitcher when Cortland brought a carafe of iced water.

Alexis was friendly and offered menu suggestions as well as answered all of our questions.

We will no doubt come back to enjoy another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely location for a first brunch in Fallbrook. Well presented tasty brunch (but beware portions are not small!) Interesting (and tasty) cocktail options.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Beautiful garden tour after brunch. Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Great motorcycle ride. Would highly recommend it

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Friday, June 30 at 1:45 p.m. was a perfect time at the Veranda. I took a friend to lunch for her birthday. It is such a beautiful, peaceful and unique place to celebrate a birthday. This was the second time I celebrated a birthday at the Veranda. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.