Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE

Indulge in the gourmet delicacies that TTR CITYCENTRE has to offer, focusing on locally-sourced food and house-made ingredients. Pair along with fantastic wines from around the world. There are over 150 wines on our list from which to choose, priced from $15 per bottle to over $1,000 per bottle, all of which are available by the glass (with a two-glass commitment) in addition to a variety of craft beer selections and new craft cocktails.

There’s no better place to enjoy fine wines, craft cocktails and food in a relaxing atmosphere featuring nightly live music performances.

818 Town and Country Blvd., Ste. 100
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday: 11AM – 12AM
Thursday – Saturday: 11AM – 1AM
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM

Cross Street:
I-10 and Beltway 8

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 822-1500

Website:
http://www.tastingroomwines.com/city-centre/

Entertainment:
All of our locations feature live music on selected nights of the week! From Latin guitarist to 80's cover music, we have it all!

Catering:
We have more than a dozen event spaces to choose from (not including our MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant). Our event sales staff can help you plan the perfect happy hour, corporate meeting, birthday, anniversary, wedding, rehearsal dinner, bridal shower, bachelor/bachelorette party, wine and food pairing dinner, or any other event you could imagine. With our wide variety of rooms and open spaces, we can accommodate groups from six to 600. With our full kitchen at the Uptown Park and CITYCENTRE locations, we can cater your event of any size, and we can also cater your off-site event at your office.

Parking Details:
Free parking lots are available right next to The Tasting Room at the cross streets of Town & Country Way and Town & Country Street or at Plaza Way & Beltway 8.

Public Transit:
131 MEMORIAL LTD (INBOUND)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website's Calendar of Events page for details on our upcoming events.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Tasting Room at CITYCENTRE is in the heart of Houston’s CITYCENTRE shopping & dining mecca. This location boasts over 7,000 sq. ft. of interior space & over 6,000 sq. ft. of patio space, offering a variety of spaces & configurations for any sized event. We also offer off-premise catering.

The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Early close due to Harvey curfew may have had a low number of filled tables, however the environment was pleasing and most enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for Restraunt Week, the menu was generous and delicious. Our service from walking in to leaving was Fabulous! We took our time, as the weather got bad and staff was friendly and patient. Can't wait to go next week!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and good service. You can spend all the time you want visiting with fiends. Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Booked via Open Table for 6. Then called the restaurant to increase to 10, told it wasn't a problem but when we arrived table was reserved only for 6 people. Not an issue as it wasn't busy.
Seated, offered menus and we asked for a few minutes before ordering drinks. Then we waited, and waited and although not busy we had to have someone go look for a server after waiting more than 20 mins.
We were told we couldn't order from regular lunch menu only the brunch menu although a couple at a table nearby seemed to manage to order from the lunch menu?
Service was incredibly slow, not particularly helpful and we left disappointed overall.
Food was ok but I wouldn't say that any of us would hurry back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great place for a dinner date. The music was a bit too loud, but it could have just been that night.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great spot to meet up with girlfriends for a glass of wine and light bites!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Should be renamed the bad service room. The only people who worked and seemed happy were in the back and the extremely hard working bus boy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wait staff lacked severely, this once was a place I would frequent. I will definitely not be coming back. I've had parties here for work, taken many clients here for lunch and dinner. After today, I don't believe I will give my business to them again. So disappointing, this used to be a great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The Tasting Room at CityCentre went above and beyond my expectation for my business meeting. And this hands down was the best experience that I have ever had with OpenTable. It began with a hostess calling to welcome and confirm my reservation and asking the nature of the visit. Since I was hosting a business meeting, I requested for a table towards a corner and a time reservation for 7:45pm for a Wednesday evening. When I arrived, the reservation was held as to be expected which turned out to be perfect since it was the only "Open Table" in the restaurant. The server was knowledgeable and made great recommendations with regards to their newly redesigned menu that included stellar craft cocktails. Way to knock it out of the park! Will definitely be hosting future business meetings there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The service was great. Giovanni was our server and he was great. The charcuterie cheese board was really good. The sweet potato chipotle puree was creamy with a hint of spice. The steak was tender seasoned and juicy. Unfortunately the pork chop was dry, but the manager did come to the table to discuss the order and worked with us. I did order a to go order of the pork chop for a family member and the pork chop was dry again. Overall the food was good and I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food wasn't really good. Really dissatisfied this time around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to the Tasting Room Uptown location for my bridal shower and everything was wonderful. Unfortunately at this location the service was horrible the restaurant was not packed around 130-200 for Mother's Day and it took forever to get me and my family's meal and we watched other tables get their entrees that came in after us. The waitress did not check on us occasionally my grandmother complained to the manager and she comped our mimosas, but I just think this was unacceptable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made reservations for Mother's Day brunch. Restaurant called day before of dining to confirm reservation which lead me to believe place would be crowded and they wanted to ensure proper staffing When we arrived at restaurant it was not half full, yet the wait time once seated for the waiter to come to our table took 10 minutes. Went worse from there once order was taken. Food took forever. Was cold when delivered. Wrong food after all. Informed manager who had the sense of urgency of a turtle. No way he should be in service business. Waiter said they were being slammed on Mother's Day. Really, the place wasn't busy and the brunch menu was essentially fixed at eggs or French toast. I'm a patient guy and I don't care to write a bad review - but this was really bad. Never again at the Tasting Room - City Centre. Happy Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had reservation booked for mothers day brunch. The brulee French toast and create your own omelette we're awesome. Will be coming back another time to try their full menu rather than set selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was very good and the server was very attentive . Nice lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter buffet food was cold. The only thing I felt was good was the Mimosa's and chef on hand to create omelets. Sorry guys.

I have been here before for late night dinner and wine it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time brunch buffet for The Tasting Room! Good food, great service...advised a few 'tweaks!' Definitely coming back!!! Angelique is an amazing manager! Thanks for a great morning/afternoon!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I already sent feedback as soon as I returned home but I will reiterate. I have been to The Tasting Room on Mother's Day of 2016 and was very pleased with the food. Unfortunately, when I returned with my son on Easter Sunday 2017, I was extremely disappointed. We had a seating at 10:00 AM and nothing was ready, many people came to apologize for the inconvenience but, we didn't start until 10:15 AM. I was disappointed in the offering of food, the meat was luke warm at best and the other offerings were less then appetizing, especially at a cost of $45 per person. We were offered mimosa's and water, no juice or coffee for brunch. I have to say I have had a better complimentary breakfast at a hotel, then this buffet. Like I said the Mother's Day menu was fabulous and my suggestion would be to either offer a regular menu or put some of the amazing dishes that are on your menu, on the buffet. That's what I was looking forward to and unfortunately didn't receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service for a evening out. Great selection of wines and small bites. Great for intimate conversations with friends.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an early supper at 4:30pm so no problems with traffic or noise in the restaurant. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable about wines and food. We had crab cake, French onion soup, and a pork topping pizza; all very good especially the pizza. Creme brulee could have been a llttle more creamy. A little on the high $ side.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Sadly didn't even stay. It was a very long day, walked in to a very loud musician. There was a group of us, we were seated very close to the speakers in a mostly empty restaurant. It was so loud there was no way we could have even had a conversation. The waiter did not show to the table for several minutes after we arrived he dropped of menus and left for quite sometime again. This was plenty of time for us to decide that we did not plan on staying. Didn't even stay for a drink. Had I known prior to arriving there was live music we would have made alternate arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Acoustic guitar, but amplified too loud to have a conversation, even though sitting at the back of the dining area. Ended up being overly expensive for the "experience". Medium wine carafe is over priced...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I used to love Tasting Room City Centre, but my last two visits have been disappointing. The cheese on my pizza was grayish. I should have sent it back and regret not doing so. Service -- even when they aren't busy -- is not particularly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Tasting Room in City Centre is nicely located at the north edge of the shopping area. The food choices are great. I had crab cake and also salmon sliders. Loved both.
Server was attentive, personable and just chatty enough.
Of course, the wine selection is amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service has been lackluster my last two visits. Great wine list and pizza.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was terrible. Their menu has really become generic compared to what it used to be. The charcuterie board had cheese portions literally for a mouse. The pizza was supposed to have Italian sausage and it was definitely hamburger meat and when I told the server he said I was wrong. Disappointing it used to be some of the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There's a management problem here. The last several times we've been, there hasn't been enough staff to wait on us. Today we got the wrong food, and because she was so busy, she never corrected the mistake. They are friendly though and the food/drinks are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food variety and quality is deteriorating dramatically. This also is applicable to the wine list.
Disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Has severely gone down hill. They used to be a wine bar with an excellent chef at the helm. Now all their food options are unexciting and the wine options are severely lacking. This used to be a wine bar, but has clearly decided to conform to a normal bar atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not very comfortable and very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was my first time "Happy Hour" as a mother! My mother, over age 70, came with. We loved it until the life music was to loud!!! We couldn't hear eachother anymore, and the loud speakers was hurting her ears!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice place, good for a date or time with friends- friendly service but Everything is overpriced. Good for a once in a while splurge

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I've been there several times and the one night my husband and I decide to go out and have a wonderful date night. This place made it horrible. First off the waiter didn't know what drinks were being served as he went and walked back and forth to ask the Bar what drinks were available. I mean seriously at 8:30 pm and you run out of mojitos or any good wine? What kind of place this become? We ordered a cocktail. It was okay. We order the steak tartar and was horrible. We try and order the steak frites and according to the waiter they were out. The couple behind us order the same dish and got theirs which I find very odd because they even got there way after we did. We left after our cocktails and salad. Would I recommend this place ? NO HECK NO! Did I waste my time and money there. We sure did. THANKS FOR RUINING DATE NIGHT and the great experience we used to get from the Tasting room. Maybe y'all need to invest time in waiters like before that knew about wine and had great taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday. They were really nice in letting us drop off our birthday cake for a few hours before our reservation so we can do an activity before our reservation. Over all for 3 people on our check we spent about $80 for 3 brunch entrees, 2 mimosas, and a coke. The brunch was very very heavy on the bread. My "Champagne" crab benedict was served on a very very thick piece of bread (maybe sourdough). It was very hard to eat but tasty. My husband's sandwich was served in between two pieces of this same ginormous bread and he was only able to eat half of it. The service was just OK. We were a table of 7 adults and 1 child and all of our food came out at different times. The server never came to refill our water during the meal and when we asked for a refill, he only refilled the person's water who asked for the refill instead of the whole table who was all out of water. After we ate, we sat for a while and I had to get up and ask the bar back to tell our waiter that we were ready for the cake to be served. Overall pretty disappointing service for a special occasion with OK food. At least my pomegranate mimosa was pretty good. 3 stars overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance and the service! Was there for Brunch, the French Toast is superb!

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a really nice time at the Tasting Room and plan to go back again. Our waiter Keys especially made it a pleasant experience. Menu is limited though so if you want a full meal eat first then visit the Tasting Room for ambiance, pleasant live music, great wine, good dessert and conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

First date couldn't have been better.. staff very accommodating to my requests..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food & service is great but the acoustics inside make it really impossible to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Waiter served my date a glass of wine with bug in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.