Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE

Indulge in the gourmet delicacies that TTR CITYCENTRE has to offer, focusing on locally-sourced food and house-made ingredients. Pair along with fantastic wines from around the world. There are over 150 wines on our list from which to choose, priced from $15 per bottle to over $1,000 per bottle, all of which are available by the glass (with a two-glass commitment) in addition to a variety of craft beer selections and new craft cocktails.

There’s no better place to enjoy fine wines, craft cocktails and food in a relaxing atmosphere featuring nightly live music performances.

818 Town and Country Blvd., Ste. 100
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday: 11AM – 12AM
Thursday – Saturday: 11AM – 1AM
Sunday: 10AM – 10PM

Cross Street:
I-10 and Beltway 8

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 822-1500

Website:
http://www.tastingroomwines.com/city-centre/

Entertainment:
All of our locations feature live music on selected nights of the week! From Latin guitarist to 80's cover music, we have it all!

Catering:
We have more than a dozen event spaces to choose from (not including our MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant). Our event sales staff can help you plan the perfect happy hour, corporate meeting, birthday, anniversary, wedding, rehearsal dinner, bridal shower, bachelor/bachelorette party, wine and food pairing dinner, or any other event you could imagine. With our wide variety of rooms and open spaces, we can accommodate groups from six to 600. With our full kitchen at the Uptown Park and CITYCENTRE locations, we can cater your event of any size, and we can also cater your off-site event at your office.

Parking Details:
Free parking lots are available right next to The Tasting Room at the cross streets of Town & Country Way and Town & Country Street or at Plaza Way & Beltway 8.

Public Transit:
131 MEMORIAL LTD (INBOUND)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website's Calendar of Events page for details on our upcoming events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Tasting Room at CITYCENTRE is in the heart of Houston’s CITYCENTRE shopping & dining mecca. This location boasts over 7,000 sq. ft. of interior space & over 6,000 sq. ft. of patio space, offering a variety of spaces & configurations for any sized event. We also offer off-premise catering.

The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
See All
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food wasn't really good. Really dissatisfied this time around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to the Tasting Room Uptown location for my bridal shower and everything was wonderful. Unfortunately at this location the service was horrible the restaurant was not packed around 130-200 for Mother's Day and it took forever to get me and my family's meal and we watched other tables get their entrees that came in after us. The waitress did not check on us occasionally my grandmother complained to the manager and she comped our mimosas, but I just think this was unacceptable.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made reservations for Mother's Day brunch. Restaurant called day before of dining to confirm reservation which lead me to believe place would be crowded and they wanted to ensure proper staffing When we arrived at restaurant it was not half full, yet the wait time once seated for the waiter to come to our table took 10 minutes. Went worse from there once order was taken. Food took forever. Was cold when delivered. Wrong food after all. Informed manager who had the sense of urgency of a turtle. No way he should be in service business. Waiter said they were being slammed on Mother's Day. Really, the place wasn't busy and the brunch menu was essentially fixed at eggs or French toast. I'm a patient guy and I don't care to write a bad review - but this was really bad. Never again at the Tasting Room - City Centre. Happy Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was very good and the server was very attentive . Nice lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter buffet food was cold. The only thing I felt was good was the Mimosa's and chef on hand to create omelets. Sorry guys.

I have been here before for late night dinner and wine it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First time brunch buffet for The Tasting Room! Good food, great service...advised a few 'tweaks!' Definitely coming back!!! Angelique is an amazing manager! Thanks for a great morning/afternoon!!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I already sent feedback as soon as I returned home but I will reiterate. I have been to The Tasting Room on Mother's Day of 2016 and was very pleased with the food. Unfortunately, when I returned with my son on Easter Sunday 2017, I was extremely disappointed. We had a seating at 10:00 AM and nothing was ready, many people came to apologize for the inconvenience but, we didn't start until 10:15 AM. I was disappointed in the offering of food, the meat was luke warm at best and the other offerings were less then appetizing, especially at a cost of $45 per person. We were offered mimosa's and water, no juice or coffee for brunch. I have to say I have had a better complimentary breakfast at a hotel, then this buffet. Like I said the Mother's Day menu was fabulous and my suggestion would be to either offer a regular menu or put some of the amazing dishes that are on your menu, on the buffet. That's what I was looking forward to and unfortunately didn't receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent service for a evening out. Great selection of wines and small bites. Great for intimate conversations with friends.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an early supper at 4:30pm so no problems with traffic or noise in the restaurant. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable about wines and food. We had crab cake, French onion soup, and a pork topping pizza; all very good especially the pizza. Creme brulee could have been a llttle more creamy. A little on the high $ side.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Sadly didn't even stay. It was a very long day, walked in to a very loud musician. There was a group of us, we were seated very close to the speakers in a mostly empty restaurant. It was so loud there was no way we could have even had a conversation. The waiter did not show to the table for several minutes after we arrived he dropped of menus and left for quite sometime again. This was plenty of time for us to decide that we did not plan on staying. Didn't even stay for a drink. Had I known prior to arriving there was live music we would have made alternate arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Acoustic guitar, but amplified too loud to have a conversation, even though sitting at the back of the dining area. Ended up being overly expensive for the "experience". Medium wine carafe is over priced...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I used to love Tasting Room City Centre, but my last two visits have been disappointing. The cheese on my pizza was grayish. I should have sent it back and regret not doing so. Service -- even when they aren't busy -- is not particularly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Tasting Room in City Centre is nicely located at the north edge of the shopping area. The food choices are great. I had crab cake and also salmon sliders. Loved both.
Server was attentive, personable and just chatty enough.
Of course, the wine selection is amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service has been lackluster my last two visits. Great wine list and pizza.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was terrible. Their menu has really become generic compared to what it used to be. The charcuterie board had cheese portions literally for a mouse. The pizza was supposed to have Italian sausage and it was definitely hamburger meat and when I told the server he said I was wrong. Disappointing it used to be some of the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

There's a management problem here. The last several times we've been, there hasn't been enough staff to wait on us. Today we got the wrong food, and because she was so busy, she never corrected the mistake. They are friendly though and the food/drinks are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food variety and quality is deteriorating dramatically. This also is applicable to the wine list.
Disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Has severely gone down hill. They used to be a wine bar with an excellent chef at the helm. Now all their food options are unexciting and the wine options are severely lacking. This used to be a wine bar, but has clearly decided to conform to a normal bar atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not very comfortable and very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was my first time "Happy Hour" as a mother! My mother, over age 70, came with. We loved it until the life music was to loud!!! We couldn't hear eachother anymore, and the loud speakers was hurting her ears!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice place, good for a date or time with friends- friendly service but Everything is overpriced. Good for a once in a while splurge

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I've been there several times and the one night my husband and I decide to go out and have a wonderful date night. This place made it horrible. First off the waiter didn't know what drinks were being served as he went and walked back and forth to ask the Bar what drinks were available. I mean seriously at 8:30 pm and you run out of mojitos or any good wine? What kind of place this become? We ordered a cocktail. It was okay. We order the steak tartar and was horrible. We try and order the steak frites and according to the waiter they were out. The couple behind us order the same dish and got theirs which I find very odd because they even got there way after we did. We left after our cocktails and salad. Would I recommend this place ? NO HECK NO! Did I waste my time and money there. We sure did. THANKS FOR RUINING DATE NIGHT and the great experience we used to get from the Tasting room. Maybe y'all need to invest time in waiters like before that knew about wine and had great taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday. They were really nice in letting us drop off our birthday cake for a few hours before our reservation so we can do an activity before our reservation. Over all for 3 people on our check we spent about $80 for 3 brunch entrees, 2 mimosas, and a coke. The brunch was very very heavy on the bread. My "Champagne" crab benedict was served on a very very thick piece of bread (maybe sourdough). It was very hard to eat but tasty. My husband's sandwich was served in between two pieces of this same ginormous bread and he was only able to eat half of it. The service was just OK. We were a table of 7 adults and 1 child and all of our food came out at different times. The server never came to refill our water during the meal and when we asked for a refill, he only refilled the person's water who asked for the refill instead of the whole table who was all out of water. After we ate, we sat for a while and I had to get up and ask the bar back to tell our waiter that we were ready for the cake to be served. Overall pretty disappointing service for a special occasion with OK food. At least my pomegranate mimosa was pretty good. 3 stars overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance and the service! Was there for Brunch, the French Toast is superb!

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a really nice time at the Tasting Room and plan to go back again. Our waiter Keys especially made it a pleasant experience. Menu is limited though so if you want a full meal eat first then visit the Tasting Room for ambiance, pleasant live music, great wine, good dessert and conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

First date couldn't have been better.. staff very accommodating to my requests..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food & service is great but the acoustics inside make it really impossible to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Waiter served my date a glass of wine with bug in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I arrived on time for my reservation and was kindly greeted and escorted to my table by Brian. Very nice, very welcoming. After my phone died when waiting for the rest of my party, Brian willingly, helpfully, and safely stored my phone in a safe secure so that it could charge without disturbance. Meal great, Old Fashioned was perfect, and the gentleman refilling our glasses was warm and polite and sadly I regret not getting his name. All the way around, it was a very enjoyable experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Loved everything about our brunch. Helpful, informative servers, delicious, carefully prepared dishes, a beautiful patio. Only problem was family with 2 kids who totally lost control of their son, and instead of correcting him (or taking him home) allowed him to scream continuously for 45 minutes. Will go back soon, but will seat ourselves well away from young ones. We are proud grandparents who feel that you shouldn't allow your kids to disrupt others for a long period,

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love love love the TTR house salad w/ grilled shrimp. So good !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I've had the pleasure of hosting two bridal showers at this venue. It's a great mix of elegant and festive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I LOVE TTR - just wish the noise level could be lowered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I enjoy visiting the Tasting Room. Bar stools are not as comfortable for me as regular height chairs because I am only 5'3" but other than that I like everything else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The place is very clean. There is live music performed (we came on Sunday). Food tastes very good! We enjoy it very much!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Loved the HRW menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We ordered from the Houston Restaurant Weeks menu and were a bit disappointed that a few of the options weren't available (which made the HRW menu much more restrictive). It's more of a wine bar than a culinarily (if that's a word) impressive place. The food was good, but not overly impressive or imaginative. What was impressive was the wine. Our server was very good as well. If you're a die-hard foodie there are other options in City Centre. But if you're in it for the wine then you'll enjoy it here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The place was cool. The food was good. The prices were decent. Not a kid friendly place. And def not good service. We had this waiter who didn't even introduce himself to us, I honestly thought he was the busboy in the beginning. Its nice to know who your waiter is but I was so confused because there were too many people who came to our table. I didn't have any problems with the food, it was good. I would def not come because of the service. They treated us like we didn't have money to spend. Which is ridiculous because we spent over 400.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.