The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE

4.2
525 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Indulge in the gourmet delicacies that TTR CITYCENTRE has to offer, focusing on locally-sourced food and house-made ingredients. Pair along with fantastic wines from around the world. There are over 150 wines on our list from which to choose, priced from $15 per bottle to over $1,000 per bottle, all of which are available by the glass (with a two-glass commitment) in addition to a variety of craft beer selections and new craft cocktails.

There’s no better place to enjoy fine wines, craft cocktails and food in a relaxing atmosphere featuring nightly live music performances.
What 525 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
London
9 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was awesome and the 20% off rose bottles was great

Report
Helpful
OT
Austin
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 3

The service was excellent. I had a reservation because live music was offered but they put the reserved tables right next to the musician in France not of the amplifiers. I think that was too close. I imagine some like that but I do not.

Report
Helpful
KH
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our server, Paige, was fantastic - really on top of things and super helpful!

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good place. Not enough selection of Whisky or individual glasses of wine

Report
Helpful
LW
Houston
7 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The service and food was great during the valentine’s evening rush

Report
Helpful
H
Houston
18 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

Good food - happy hour prices are great - a little loud and crowded - good value

Report
Helpful
h
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

It was a k

Report
Helpful
P
Houston
84 reviews
Dined on December 28, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

We wanted a quiet evening out with some wine and a light dinner. The food was very good. The salads are HUGE and I only wanted a dinner salad so it was much too much. Wish they would offer a side or dinner salad size portion. We had the tempura asparagus which is delicious esp with the garlic aoli dipping sauce and shared the steak frites dinner.
Didn’t know they had a band on Friday nights and they were very loud but we asked to be seated as far away as possible which made it possible for us to have a conversation and a very enjoyable dinner.

Report
Helpful
AK
Houston
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Overall the tasting room was great, the food was really good and our server was super helpful with choosing the right meal, she was also very knowledgeable on her wines and knew the right taste I was going for. Definitely, recommend if you are going on a date or just for some good wine!

Report
Helpful
SD
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service and the ambiance is awesome! I love the pizza and the live music.

Report
Helpful
AB
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 4

It was busy that night. Our meal took over 2 1/2 hours. It was a long time between visits from the waiter. The quality of the food (lamb and beef tips) was not as good as in past visits. The menu is greatly reduced. It is a great night scene, may need to stick with appetizers and better service.

Report
Helpful
s
Dallas
52 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

Nice experience. The food was fresh. Service was good...it was a busy night.

Report
Helpful
l
Houston
5 reviews
Dined on November 4, 2018
Overall 3food 1service 3ambience 3

I love the wine selection -- upset last two times no Cakebread available. Option was good. Food was the worst I have had there -- service slow and forgot the cheese plate. Menu has been changed and none of it very appetizing, honestly. Best for good talk over a glass of wine and cheese plate -- you will be pleased if you stick to that and not looking to eat there.

Report
Helpful
d
Houston
10 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

While the name sets up an expectation for a nice wine tasting experience, I was also impressed by the excellent quality foods to accompany wines. Terrific experience. Great place to gather in the bar area for wine and conversation. I hope you enjoy!

Report
Helpful
MM
Houston
16 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

haven't been here in a long while and I found the new look and new menu pretty awesome. I'll be back for sure

Report
Helpful
WS
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2018
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 4

Brandon was a great server. Janes is a very nice manager. Pizza crust was soggy. Baked goat cheese, fig, bacon, pecan dish is our fav. Champagne was yum.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

This is one brunch restaurant where you won’t have to worry about over-eating Absolutely the smallest portions. I had crabmeat eggs Benedict and daughter had eggs with salmon. There were maybe 2 teaspoons (that’s being generous!) of crab on each of my 2 small toasts and a paper thin slice of salmon on my daughters. Seevice was slow and we had to ask for our check - oh, and we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. Maybe everyone else already knew what we learned: Pricy food, tiny portions and so-so service

Report
Helpful
MB
Houston
5 reviews
Dined on August 3, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My folks were in from out of town. We enjoyed the House Red, cheese board, Champagne salad, burger and teuffle fries. The band did a great job and our server DeeDee was very patient and made wonderful suggestions. We will return!

Report
Helpful
LC
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 3

Nice atmosphere and decent live music. Service was attentive, but the food was not good value for money. Steaks were overdone (they remade them, which was appreciated), but in general the quality wasn’t worth prices.

Report
Helpful
P
Houston
32 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

Used to serve great wines with expert waiters. No more - unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on July 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was my first time at this location, I usually go to the Galleria and I was surprised, it was beautiful we loved it...

Report
Helpful
T
Houston
39 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Could have been better. More private message left for The Tasting Room management.

Report
Helpful
RK
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

Food was very good however service was average. In addition, the section in which we sat had no air conditioning so my whole party was hot the whole time (waiter said it was broken).

Report
Helpful
GB
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

Food mediocre at best. Will not return again. Wine choices also subpar.

Report
Helpful
OT
Frankfurt Area
3 reviews
Dined on May 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was excellent as was the service. If you like wine, stay away from the house wines, we each tried one and they both tasted like grape juice. We had one more wine off the full wine list and it was very good.

Report
Helpful
OT
Houston
7 reviews
Dined on May 6, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

It was a slow start to the day with only 3 other tables filled but that allowed our server to pay close attention us and help make a few great recommendations for brunch. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
OT
Houston
1 review
Dined on April 7, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was for our first anniversary and we were given a lovely corner table and taken such good care of! They even brought us complimentary champagne to toast!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 1ambience 5

Waiter was bad everything else was good

Report
Helpful
KA
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 5

Server made our first experience horrible. He didn’t explain the menu, didn’t suggest nor offer us wines to sample and Didn’t check on us to refill our glasses or ensure we were Satisfied

Report
Helpful
DR
Houston
12 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

The food was good. The wine menu was also good. But the wine knowledge displayed by the staff was not nearly as good as it should have been. The staff gave us fairly stock wine recommendations that had little to do with our preferences or our food choices. For a normal restaurant, I think that poor level of wine appreciation is somewhat understandable. But this restaurant should be better.

Report
Helpful
P
Houston
15 reviews
Dined on March 18, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

I went there for Sunday brunch. My arrival was 11:30, but didn’t get my food until 45 minutes later. Mind you, the restaurant was dead and there were only a few people in the restaurant. A very inefficient and unexperienced waiter was assigned to my table and he kept telling us the food was coming. When I finally complained how long it had been taking he told me that the pizza oven wasn’t warm enough. BS! The restaurant opened at 10 am on Sunday and the kitchen wasn’t up and running yet? The place is pathetic! No wonder people stopped going to the location.

Report
Helpful
LM
Houston
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I really enjoy the Tasting Room. It is one of my favorite spots. I would suggest it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
SG
Houston
8 reviews
Dined on February 24, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A fun location for some good wine and a quick bite! They have a good wine list, their food selections pair nicely with wine, and the service was fantastic. Our waitress was very attentive and engaging. She also explained that even bottles of wine that don't offer "by the glass" on their menu can still be opened if you have at least two glasses from that bottle (perfect for couples who want to try a variety of wines). We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
a
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 5

Not the usual standard

Report
Helpful
OT
Houston
1 review
Dined on February 17, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great service! Lovelynight

Report
Helpful
a
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always good service , good food, good drinks & wine. Our new favorite place w/ great live music

Report
Helpful
a
Houston
6 reviews
Dined on February 3, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good drinks, vast wine selection & a rocking band, The Stan G Band. Bring those guys back, pleaseee! Rico did a great job serving us @ our pace , which was slow. Perfect! Definitely coming back!!

Report
Helpful
i
Houston
73 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2018
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 3

Some serious and well made food dishes. Wine is a strength. Nice distribution of choices with some value wines included. Too loud but enjoyable. I’ll be back.

Report
Helpful
D
Houston
14 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Ambience was great, food excellent and service was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
OT
Denver
1 review
Dined on January 29, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

The atmosphere was bright, full of life, but at the same time EXTREMELY loud and hard to hear, think or carry on a conversation with my fiance.

We ordered two appetizers, the Bruschetta and Truffle Fries:
Brushetta: the bread was soggy from the oils/spreads as it was not grilled enough before toppings were added. Maybe the dice tomatoes weren't drained enough. I've had much better.
Truffle fries: Tasted like normal fries with some seasoning, and light sprinkle of cheese. No trace of truffle whatsoever which was the main reason we ordered them.
We ordered two Entres, two different salads:
Champagne: Dry and lacking much flavor. Nothing stood out other than the tasting of greens.
TTR: Dry and lacking much flavor. Nothing stood out other than the tasting of greens.


The service was the best part of the experience *

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by The Tasting Room - CITYCENTRE