Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Stand

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Parking Details:
Valet Parking located on Peabody St. - $4. per car -Best in Town

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Much improved since the last time I dined here about three years ago. Excellent food, friendly staff, and a warm, well-executed interior design to the restaurant. Reasonably priced as well. Loved the Foie Gras!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I usually enjoy dining at The Stand, however I found today's dining experience extremely disappointing. When I made my reservation, I was unaware that the restaurant only offering a limited buffet menu for Mothers Day...Waitstaff service was slow and my food was lukewarm. I won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I wished they had informed us that it was fixed menu only - I was expecting to be able to order a la carte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Stand has continually reinvented itself and has really developed into a warm, inviting restaurant with a solid menu, accommodating staff and comfortable yet contemporary space. If you haven't tried it lately, it is probably worth your while to try again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I had fish tacos that were very nice. The grapefruit and avocado salad I liked but could a bit less dressing. Fiddlehead ferns were buttery. My friend liked the crispy shrimp. Ask for bread if you want it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chef Paul Gross performs magic in the kitchen. The Stand's food is spectacular - extremely creative and delicious yet very approachable and familiar. The attention to detail is evident in every appetizer, whether it be the special lamb ribs or the great oysters. The entrees receive similar treatment - the hanger steak, the filet mignon and the salmon are all complemented perfectly and cooked with expertise. What a great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

i went to the Stand last year and it was excellent....I went back two weeks later and excellent again. But on Wednesday night I was very disappointed. My niece's four spicy, crispy shrimp were dried out and over-cooked. My husband and I ordered the steak oscar....lobster was wet, mushy, and tasteless. Our other guest enjoyed his short rib pasta.....
Value...I thought my dinner for $55 was too much...no salad, soup, bread...just steak, mash, horrid thawed lobster and two huge asparagus spears.......
Did the chef change or did I just have a bad experience? Oh yes, a small thing but I really wanted the Dover Sole and the baked pear salad which were included in their on-line menu but not on the night.
Wine list: we love a nice red wine and choose according to the variety....but the majority of the reds only said "blend". Blend of what we wondered? There was no Shirah available (our favorite) but our server recommended another very nice wine....
Pluses: nice server, quiet dining room even tho there was a special ( loud) function in the bar......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an amazing waiter named Ethan. He went above and beyond to be helpful. Great food. Wonderful atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was delicious and atmosphere was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Disappointing that after only 2 of our 3 entrees were served, those 2 diners were nearly done eating before the waitress reappeared to ask how everything was - and we had to point out that one of us did not have their entree. Horrified, she ran back and got it, but there was no actual apology or explanation. A manager should have come over and, perhaps, a dessert on the house, would have remedied the oops. Until this time, we enjoyed a special celebration with great food. Just awkward that one of our party waited 10 minutes after the others to get their entree and no one noticed. Too expensive for that kind of mistake to go unmentioned.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was nice but not wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Decent food in a nice atmosphere. Food was decent, sides were excellent. Nice craft drinks

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great - love the halibut! Wonderful service as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food. Duck pastrami was fantastic. Drinks were also very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a nice place. The food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The server, Sarah, did not skip a beat! She did a great job!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cocktails were good but took forever. Steak was over cooked. Way too much money for what we got. Just ok. No need to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food portions small and overpriced. Ordered filet that was on special, asked for it medium and it was over cooked closer to well. I am not a big eater and I was still hungry after my meal and even with sharing a side for me and my fiancé we were still hungry. Our shrimp appetizer was also overcooked and very salty and I am someone that salts my food. We shared sweet potato fries that were also a tad crisp which isn't that bad. We tried the desserts since they were made in house by the pastry chef. They were sad, the chocolate cake was not good as well as my apple desset it was so tough, not flaky like it should have been. The ice cream on the dish was good however. They do have delicious drinks and a great atmosphere, it's clean, modern and romantic. I would highly recommend getting a soup or salad or some sides to share if you are making a meal of this. The service from the waiter was enjoyable and he was friendly and professional, and food came in good timing. Besides the food runner clearing my drinks while just getting served my entree the service was good . Overall this did not make our list on a place we would like to return to anytime soon. I would have expected more for dining in this area compared to the other restaurants I've been to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service is perfect. We were not rushed and the restaurant is quiet for dinner conversations.
We will definitely return.
The desserts are fabulous!! We had the paris brest and an apple tart, both excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The good: friendly staff, nice ambiance, good location, good salads.
The bad: server was inexperienced and service was VERY slow. Main course and deserts had poor food including old shellfish. Menu failed to disclose major ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sarah was a great server... food was over salted...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great meal with great friends

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, attentive but not intrusive service, quiet, comfortable, and attractive. What else do you need?

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The portions, particularly for appetizers, were fugal. The food was good not the food relative to the cost was poor to fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We really enjoy the Stand, as the menu always evolves, offering delightful surprises. Who else has mashed parsnips? Ever have Duck Pastrami? The soups are always amazing. The wine selections tasty at reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Stand is one of our favorite restaurants. Food is amazing, wine selection has something for everyone, including very nice wines available by the glass. We started with oysters from Maine (originally from French stock) - outstanding! One of the evening specialties was a beautiful tenderloin with asparagus and whipped parsnip potatoes. So many choices for sides! We tried a trio: ramekin each of mushrooms, carrots and cauliflower. My wife said she could have enjoyed that alone for lunch. (We got an extra order to-go). Food is plentiful. We took leftovers home for the following night. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was an excellent choice for New Year's. The food was great and Iris waitstaff Sarah was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice restaurant....excellent Valet service. Would recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service and even though it was NYE we were not rushed... Excellent drink menu too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overpriced for quality of food. Decent quality but not very creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was probably the best I've had in a long time and the service was excellent as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Racheal and our private room made our last minute party a beyond expectation event😀. Thank you STAND!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My wife & I went for her Birthday. It was pretty empty on a Wednesday evening and we had a great experience. We started off with a cheese board which was delicious. I had a chop chop salad which was good and for our entrees, my wife had a waygu steak while I had the halibut both prepared perfectly. For dessert they brought my wife a hot chocolate cake on the house which was fantastic. I'd highly recommend the Stand and we'll be back for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time having dinner at The Stand and the experience was great! Awesome food and it came right on time. The atmosphere was cozy and beautiful. Our waitress Sarah was super sweet and checked on us all the time. The only is that the portion sizes are small. Otherwise, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We heard the menu was changed at The Stand so, we wanted to give it a try. Everything was delicious....Crispy Shrimp, Chop Chop salad, Halibut, Trout and Cioppini. We can't wait to go back and trying some of the other dishes. Very attentive server, Michael.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Once food and drinks were prepared well. Excellent waiter, attentive, but not intrusive. Will dine there again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I don't live in town and selected The Stand based on other reviews. I surprised my husband with reservations for dinner before a movie and it was perfect! The service was terrific - Michael, our server, was friendly, helpful and just the right amount of engaging. We had the artisanal cheese platter to start and it was delightful. Our entrees were delicious - fried chicken and short rib pasta. I wouldn't change a thing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.