Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Stand

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food. Service was slow. Several of the wines on the list were out of stock-surprising for a Saturday evening! Loved the charcuterie board!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I was amazed at the good food and the ambiance. The server was stellar. Good place for a date. My wife and I celebrated our 44th anniversary here and she loved it. I'm glad I found this place on Open Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best in Michigan and maybe the best in town; do you really want to eat good food? please go and taste; as french I can say it is the first time i eat food of such a good quality in Michigan. Prices are not too expensive too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Brian our server was fabulous. Staff attentive, food served was delicious and modifications for dietary preferences were perfect. Recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food is very good, they charge too much for the drinks

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We have been to The Stand several times and the food and the service are always top notch. The burgers are to die for. Looking forwards to returning in the near future!!!

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The Stand is one of my restaurant faves! My family or friends try to visit weekly 💜

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good was excellent. Mussels in tomato sauce was great. My friend thought the filet was very good. Waiter was very helpful, brought wine samples for my friend so she found one she liked.

Prices were high, but worth the price. I would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

High end restaurant. Excellent service. Food was great. However very pricey, especially the wine. I like to get value for what I spend & in this respect it did not meet the mark.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It had been a long time since our last visit but we will be back very soon...it was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a great meal (short ribs and pasta) and the service was good. The restaurant is very stylish and in a good location.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was ok, the service was fine. It didn't light my eager to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We love it there. Very special place. Outstanding food, quiet atmosphere, and wonderful staff.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Once again a delicious meal and wonderful service. Wonderful dining and drinks very satisfying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was great in overall and the service was ok.
I enjoyed fish tacos and lox and bagle.
However, fried chicken and shortril pasta was little too salty.
Even though i mentioned that today was my wife's birthday at the reception, no one said anything until we finished our dinner.
But the people were nice in general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Ethan is the best waiter ever! Thank you for another flawless ev Ning!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Much improved since the last time I dined here about three years ago. Excellent food, friendly staff, and a warm, well-executed interior design to the restaurant. Reasonably priced as well. Loved the Foie Gras!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I usually enjoy dining at The Stand, however I found today's dining experience extremely disappointing. When I made my reservation, I was unaware that the restaurant only offering a limited buffet menu for Mothers Day...Waitstaff service was slow and my food was lukewarm. I won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I wished they had informed us that it was fixed menu only - I was expecting to be able to order a la carte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Stand has continually reinvented itself and has really developed into a warm, inviting restaurant with a solid menu, accommodating staff and comfortable yet contemporary space. If you haven't tried it lately, it is probably worth your while to try again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch at The Stand was an excellent experience. The food was fantastic, the service was exceptional, and we had a great time. This is the perfect place for a special occasion or a romantic dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I had fish tacos that were very nice. The grapefruit and avocado salad I liked but could a bit less dressing. Fiddlehead ferns were buttery. My friend liked the crispy shrimp. Ask for bread if you want it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Chef Paul Gross performs magic in the kitchen. The Stand's food is spectacular - extremely creative and delicious yet very approachable and familiar. The attention to detail is evident in every appetizer, whether it be the special lamb ribs or the great oysters. The entrees receive similar treatment - the hanger steak, the filet mignon and the salmon are all complemented perfectly and cooked with expertise. What a great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

i went to the Stand last year and it was excellent....I went back two weeks later and excellent again. But on Wednesday night I was very disappointed. My niece's four spicy, crispy shrimp were dried out and over-cooked. My husband and I ordered the steak oscar....lobster was wet, mushy, and tasteless. Our other guest enjoyed his short rib pasta.....
Value...I thought my dinner for $55 was too much...no salad, soup, bread...just steak, mash, horrid thawed lobster and two huge asparagus spears.......
Did the chef change or did I just have a bad experience? Oh yes, a small thing but I really wanted the Dover Sole and the baked pear salad which were included in their on-line menu but not on the night.
Wine list: we love a nice red wine and choose according to the variety....but the majority of the reds only said "blend". Blend of what we wondered? There was no Shirah available (our favorite) but our server recommended another very nice wine....
Pluses: nice server, quiet dining room even tho there was a special ( loud) function in the bar......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We had an amazing waiter named Ethan. He went above and beyond to be helpful. Great food. Wonderful atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was delicious and atmosphere was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Disappointing that after only 2 of our 3 entrees were served, those 2 diners were nearly done eating before the waitress reappeared to ask how everything was - and we had to point out that one of us did not have their entree. Horrified, she ran back and got it, but there was no actual apology or explanation. A manager should have come over and, perhaps, a dessert on the house, would have remedied the oops. Until this time, we enjoyed a special celebration with great food. Just awkward that one of our party waited 10 minutes after the others to get their entree and no one noticed. Too expensive for that kind of mistake to go unmentioned.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was nice but not wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Decent food in a nice atmosphere. Food was decent, sides were excellent. Nice craft drinks

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great - love the halibut! Wonderful service as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food. Duck pastrami was fantastic. Drinks were also very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a nice place. The food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The server, Sarah, did not skip a beat! She did a great job!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cocktails were good but took forever. Steak was over cooked. Way too much money for what we got. Just ok. No need to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food portions small and overpriced. Ordered filet that was on special, asked for it medium and it was over cooked closer to well. I am not a big eater and I was still hungry after my meal and even with sharing a side for me and my fiancé we were still hungry. Our shrimp appetizer was also overcooked and very salty and I am someone that salts my food. We shared sweet potato fries that were also a tad crisp which isn't that bad. We tried the desserts since they were made in house by the pastry chef. They were sad, the chocolate cake was not good as well as my apple desset it was so tough, not flaky like it should have been. The ice cream on the dish was good however. They do have delicious drinks and a great atmosphere, it's clean, modern and romantic. I would highly recommend getting a soup or salad or some sides to share if you are making a meal of this. The service from the waiter was enjoyable and he was friendly and professional, and food came in good timing. Besides the food runner clearing my drinks while just getting served my entree the service was good . Overall this did not make our list on a place we would like to return to anytime soon. I would have expected more for dining in this area compared to the other restaurants I've been to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service is perfect. We were not rushed and the restaurant is quiet for dinner conversations.
We will definitely return.
The desserts are fabulous!! We had the paris brest and an apple tart, both excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The good: friendly staff, nice ambiance, good location, good salads.
The bad: server was inexperienced and service was VERY slow. Main course and deserts had poor food including old shellfish. Menu failed to disclose major ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Sarah was a great server... food was over salted...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great meal with great friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.