About The Stand

34977 Woodward Ave
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Welcome to modern American food with serious local flavor; or as we like to say, rustic but refined. Just some of The Stand's distinctions include charcuterie, craft beers, private dining areas, a 10-seat chef's table and so much more. It's downtown cool with an uptown vibe.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday; Sunday Closed

Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am - 4pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 4-10pm
Friday-Saturday 4-12am



Cross Street:
Maple and Woodward. Entrance is on Peabody Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 220-4237

Website:
http://www.thestandbistro.com/

Entertainment:
None

Parking Details:
Valet Parking located on Peabody St. - $4. per car -Best in Town

Executive Chef:
Chef Paul Grosz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Stand Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (6)
Private Room (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always great - love the halibut! Wonderful service as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food. Duck pastrami was fantastic. Drinks were also very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a nice place. The food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The server, Sarah, did not skip a beat! She did a great job!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cocktails were good but took forever. Steak was over cooked. Way too much money for what we got. Just ok. No need to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food portions small and overpriced. Ordered filet that was on special, asked for it medium and it was over cooked closer to well. I am not a big eater and I was still hungry after my meal and even with sharing a side for me and my fiancé we were still hungry. Our shrimp appetizer was also overcooked and very salty and I am someone that salts my food. We shared sweet potato fries that were also a tad crisp which isn't that bad. We tried the desserts since they were made in house by the pastry chef. They were sad, the chocolate cake was not good as well as my apple desset it was so tough, not flaky like it should have been. The ice cream on the dish was good however. They do have delicious drinks and a great atmosphere, it's clean, modern and romantic. I would highly recommend getting a soup or salad or some sides to share if you are making a meal of this. The service from the waiter was enjoyable and he was friendly and professional, and food came in good timing. Besides the food runner clearing my drinks while just getting served my entree the service was good . Overall this did not make our list on a place we would like to return to anytime soon. I would have expected more for dining in this area compared to the other restaurants I've been to.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service is perfect. We were not rushed and the restaurant is quiet for dinner conversations.

We will definitely return.

The desserts are fabulous!! We had the paris brest and an apple tart, both excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The good: friendly staff, nice ambiance, good location, good salads.

The bad: server was inexperienced and service was VERY slow. Main course and deserts had poor food including old shellfish. Menu failed to disclose major ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sarah was a great server... food was over salted...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great meal with great friends

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food, attentive but not intrusive service, quiet, comfortable, and attractive. What else do you need?

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The portions, particularly for appetizers, were fugal. The food was good not the food relative to the cost was poor to fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We really enjoy the Stand, as the menu always evolves, offering delightful surprises. Who else has mashed parsnips? Ever have Duck Pastrami? The soups are always amazing. The wine selections tasty at reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Stand is one of our favorite restaurants. Food is amazing, wine selection has something for everyone, including very nice wines available by the glass. We started with oysters from Maine (originally from French stock) - outstanding! One of the evening specialties was a beautiful tenderloin with asparagus and whipped parsnip potatoes. So many choices for sides! We tried a trio: ramekin each of mushrooms, carrots and cauliflower. My wife said she could have enjoyed that alone for lunch. (We got an extra order to-go). Food is plentiful. We took leftovers home for the following night. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was an excellent choice for New Year's. The food was great and Iris waitstaff Sarah was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice restaurant....excellent Valet service. Would recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, service and even though it was NYE we were not rushed... Excellent drink menu too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overpriced for quality of food. Decent quality but not very creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was probably the best I've had in a long time and the service was excellent as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Racheal and our private room made our last minute party a beyond expectation event😀. Thank you STAND!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My wife & I went for her Birthday. It was pretty empty on a Wednesday evening and we had a great experience. We started off with a cheese board which was delicious. I had a chop chop salad which was good and for our entrees, my wife had a waygu steak while I had the halibut both prepared perfectly. For dessert they brought my wife a hot chocolate cake on the house which was fantastic. I'd highly recommend the Stand and we'll be back for sure

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time having dinner at The Stand and the experience was great! Awesome food and it came right on time. The atmosphere was cozy and beautiful. Our waitress Sarah was super sweet and checked on us all the time. The only is that the portion sizes are small. Otherwise, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We heard the menu was changed at The Stand so, we wanted to give it a try. Everything was delicious....Crispy Shrimp, Chop Chop salad, Halibut, Trout and Cioppini. We can't wait to go back and trying some of the other dishes. Very attentive server, Michael.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Once food and drinks were prepared well. Excellent waiter, attentive, but not intrusive. Will dine there again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I don't live in town and selected The Stand based on other reviews. I surprised my husband with reservations for dinner before a movie and it was perfect! The service was terrific - Michael, our server, was friendly, helpful and just the right amount of engaging. We had the artisanal cheese platter to start and it was delightful. Our entrees were delicious - fried chicken and short rib pasta. I wouldn't change a thing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I personally didn't find the menu very interesting. Most of the food was excellent though. A few things were not good at all. Our server was very friendly and professional. I just didn't see anything that special in the food that makes it recommendable. But that might just ne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bottom line, this place was a huge disappointment. The service from the beginning was not great. As we were escorted to our table, there were more than a handful of tables that hadn't been bused yet. The menu price was similar to one of a fine dining establishment, but ALL things ordered were not close to the price level they charge. Both our main dishes were piping hot, yet appeared to have been sitting under the heat lamps for quite awhile. Both were extremely over salted. We rarely write reviews, but the caliber they're trying to sell this place is far lower. Don't waste your money. This is a rundown establishment that charges a pretty penny for good ratings they must have gotten in the past. You can't charge 50 for a steak, have uncleared tables, poor service, over salted food that's practically inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Fish was very heavy in butter - appetizer ok, Brussels sprouts - one of their recommended favorites was just ok. The place was quiet on a Monday evening - not unexpected, the waiter was very energetic and pleasant. The drinks were moderate size and price. Thought it was just ok

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to the Stand to use an OpenTable gift card. Made a reservation, hostess never checked us in. Seated in a nice booth - but were the only party there at 6:30. Very quiet, awkward ambiance. Food and drinks were all good - but nothing amazing. Portions were very strange. For example, ordered Short Rib appetizer which was enough for a main course, while the Shrimp appetizer was just four Shrimp on a plate. Was told the Brussels Sprouts were amazing - very average. Best thing we had was the Lobster Bisque. When we went to redeem our OpenTable gift card (which has never been an issue) nobody knew how to do it. Our server quickly abandoned us when he found out we were using a gift card. Ultimately had to get the Manager to help which took several attempts. Very lackluster experience - would not have an interest in returning when there are so many better options in Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I'd try it again but not the f

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice charcuterie board, great dishes w/ imaginative accompaniments. Attentive, knowledgable service. A very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Did not know what to expect and the 3 of us thought it was wonderful. The pear salad was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I cannot figure out why this restaurant isn't talked about more. While I can say that not every meal I have eaten here has been amazing, it is consistently innovative, and good. This past weekend was a great example. Hard not to enjoy scallops topped with foie gras. My pear salad which contained an entire poached pear, blue cheese, candied pecans and pomegranate seeds, was great as well. It isn't cheap, but it is good, and in my opinion, should be considered more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Well priced. Comfortable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The Stand is a nice place but I'm not sure who they are trying to cater to. My wife and I went there for dinner Friday night and thought the place was very nice and friendly feeling. The food was good but not great by any means. the food was not up to snuff with other area restaurants. I found the menu somewhat limited and presentation and quality of the fish we ordered was very average and overly sauced and spiced. I was paying my bill which was 200.00 and a young couple sat next to us and he was wearing a baseball cap and was not asked to remove it. I am old school when it comes to hats they are worn outside not in a restaurant. I am sorry to see that The Stand would allow that it looks cheap and tacky while others are dressed in somewhat formal casual attire. I know everything is going casual but please no baseball caps. I will probably not return based on that I think there should be a minimal standard in a restaurant like this especially in Birmingham

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was not as good as previous visit. Restaurant empty on aThursday night, not fun, asked server if fried chicken came with potatoes, she said no,ordered fries, when she brought food it came with mashed. annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The menu is very intriguing and diverse, and fulfills its promise by being very tasty. We had great service. We are definitely going to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2016

My friend and I ordered Bronzino and halibut. It was tasty but the portions were very small for the price and bread wasn't even offered. Even though it was a Tuesday night there were only 2 additional tables of patrons. We won't be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I enjoy going to the Stand because the food is pretty reliable, the service is usually very good and you can actually talk to your friends without having to shout over all the noise so often experienced in many of the new chic restaurants around town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed another great meal at The Stand. Both the food and the service were excellent. We highly recommend. We're looking forward to returning in the near future. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Stand was excellent, as always. We dine here often and have always had great food and service. We took my in-laws here to celebrate a special occasion. We are foodies but they aren't and we were all easily able to find something we love on the menu. There are many selections that are approachable to people not wanting overly fussy food and many options that are unique and creative. I have difficult food allergies (dairy and gluten) and they are always able to accommodate and give me something amazing (rather than the bland, sauceless and minimal choices I typically have elsewhere). The service is spot on, never having you wanting for more but always having everything you need. They are friendly but not invasive. Never have we looked for someone to attend to us (they were always just there) and never have we had a conversation interrupted by service. The atmosphere is casual enough that you could wear jeans and formal enough to go dressed to the nines. I wouldn't recommend taking young kids (toddler's) there but it would be a great fit for a family meal. The prices are reasonable (in line with most mid range restaurants), Most entres average less than $30 and are a full meal (no need for sides but they are great). You'd be hard pressed to find this quality of food and service with this price tag anywhere. The location is great and we particularly love to go in August when we can watch the classic cars on Woodward through the floor to ceiling windows. It always feels like you're in a busy, beautiful city. They have valet parking so no worries there. All around excellent experience!!! Did I mention that the chef / owner generously donate their time, talents and product to many local charities? Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Decided last minute to visit early on a friday night. Great decision! My halibut was phenomenal and my husband's branzino was out of this world! We will be back. Thank you for the great meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed our meal at The Stand. Food was very good, service was great.....will definitely return. I had the Veal chop special and it was very flavorful and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Found lots of entries on the menu that would have been good. I had the halibut and it was excellent. A friend had the smoked diver scallops and those were also excellent. Flavors were exceptional. Service was great as well. Wine list was not extensive but had an excellent chardonnay from CA. Prices overall were reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Mondays may be slow in most restaurants, but they can make for a pleasant, quiet, low-key meal. This was our experience at The Stand. Outstanding food, a wonderful wine discovery, and efficient, friendly, knowledgeable service by waiter Brian. A bit pricey, but worth it for such an experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Soup was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Poor experience starting with an inexperienced waiter and pitiful bread basket.

Lousy food, inattentive staff.

Restaurant is a large attractive space-it needs help!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.