Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The St. Regis Restaurant

Distinctive. Delightful. Designed by renowned architect David Rockwell, the restaurant highlights many of its original features, including the landmarked ceiling, and is set in a landscape of bold hues of black, silver, brown, cream and gold which intermingle with rich textures to create a lush, warm environment. The décor beautifully complements our cuisine, which features an eclectic blend of American cuisine with bold Spanish influences.

923 16th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
16th & K

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 509-8000

Website:
http://www.decanterdc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available upon arrival at St. Regis Hotel main entrance.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For large parties and special events please contact Camille Pisano at camille.pisano@stregis.com, or Andy Powell at andy.powell@stregis.com

Private Dining

The St. Regis Restaurant is available for private events for up to 78 guests. Existing set up can be modified to accommodate smaller groups seated at banquettes and alcove tables.

The St. Regis Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
See All
Cozy (3)
Romantic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
207 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was totally impressed with the Hotel and staff tentative to detail. Our meal and service match the premier atmosphere of the hotel. We are certainly looking forward to our next visit. Well done.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Poor food quality, not the St. Regis experience. Not many tables present for dinner, so there was no excuse, especially for the price. This was supposed to be celebrating a special occasion for our group and the experience really ruined it for us. With that said, waitress was very nice and the food quality seemed to be out of her control.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I was very disappointed. I ordered the 48 hour short rib. It was not a short rib, it was a sliced up cut of sirloin that was also like rubber. I did comment and did not finish the meal. It was removed from my bill. The food was not what I would expect. The restaurant is beautiful and the wait staff are great, they just need a new cook.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Decanter made my graduation celebration so special. In addition to delicious food, the waiters went above and beyond. I'll definitely recommend to friends and family!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I recently took out-of-town friends to Decanter on a Saturday night. We had been there four years before and liked the atmosphere and food. This time, we were surprised at how the menu was limited. For example, they only had one fish entree, but numerous beef and steak dishes. We were only the third of two tables filled the entire evening. And this is on a Saturday in May.

The service was good, but the quality and quantity of food was lacking for the price. My terrine of vegetables was bland and it had a hard chip (like a nacho chip) on top.

There were extra side dishes that one could order, suggesting that this is a steak place. However, the rest of the menu, which was gourmet, did not suggest this at all. Overall, the place was nice, but the menu could stand to have more attention given to it as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was expecting something amazing (for the venue and the price). I ordered the Crab Cakes Benedict. The eggs were poached perfectly, but that's all I can say about the meal. The English Muffin was hardly toasted (soft to the bite and not crunch). The crab cakes tasted like they came out of VanDeKamp's frozen fish sticks box. The potatoes were tasteless and chewy. VERY disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had the privilege of enjoying Easter brunch. Everything except the for Brussel sprouts was delicious. The price was $85/per adult. I thought that included unlimited mimosas, but I was wrong. Unlimited mimosas is an additional $25.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Lots of pomp and circumstance, but the food was a huge letdown. Simply not good. Over cooked steak too. Love the afternoon tea service in the lobby usually, this lunch was a total miss though.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Some of the worst food we've ever eaten. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and appointed. The food was disappointing to say the least

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent lunch here with business colleagues. Three course prix fixe offered good choices. Room is lovely and noise level is subdued, making conversation easy. Service was welcoming and generally quite attentive, though a bit less so as the meal went on. Everyone was very happy with their food choices, and the wines by the glass were terrific.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is a good place. White tablecloth. Surprised it didn't seem very busy on a Saturday night. Possibly because it's hidden within the hotel, so there's less encouragement for locals to visit. The wine display and atmosphere made things a bit of a surreal experience. The food was very good and presented well, though they did not have a tasting menu so we spent some time looking over options. For this type of place, it was surprisingly inexpensive. It's listed as being Mediterranean, but I think it's better to call it contemporary. While there are Mediterranean inspired dishes like the octopus, there's no pita which I was somewhat missing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our Valentine's day experience was great. I just wish that the pre-fix menu had a variety rather than what the chef selected. In addition, knowing ahead of time instead of the time we were seated that the menu was pre selected would have been appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Very good service. However, menu very limited and primarily meat driven - very few fish/vegetarian options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Loved the ambiance and interior design of the bar area and the actual restaurant however the menu lacked depth. Only 4 entrees to select from and there weren't any side offerings as stated in the menu online that I reviewed prior to attending the restaurant. Our servers were awesome, suggestive, and attentive but that was also because were two of possibly 3 other couples in the entire restaurant. I think if I return it will only be to have drinks in the bar/lounge area.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Breakfast was fabulous and the service was excellent.

However, when we returned in the afternoon for cocktails and appetizers we were ignored for 40+ minutes. We finally went to the bar to order our drinks and the bartender said he would send out a server to deliver our drinks. Instead, 20 minutes later, a server asked us what we wanted to drink and eat without acknowledging we had already placed our order. We were shocked by the lack of service and that fact that no one apologized for the poor service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The new chef was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The menu selection is very limited and the portions are beyond disappointing. The service was outstanding. Our meal was less than satisfying and we stopped at another restaurant on the way home. This meal was the most expensive and least satisfying meal we have had.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a NYE tasting menu from their new chef (2 weeks maybe) everything was wonderful and unique. Cocktails were top notch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and style. My wife and I wanted something special for our anniversary. We have little kids at home and were looking for an excuse to go out on the town and dress up. Before dinner we got drinks at the bar. Then we had a great dinner. The staff made us feel like royalty and we had and intimate private booth.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Sigh. We like to eat really good food & don't mind paying the price for it. I specifically looked on open table for a non prix fixed dinner for Christmas. Nothing in the notes said it was prix fixed, and other restaurants had put in the description about the prix fixed.
It was $90 a person. If the food & service were excellent - I'm in. We were completely neglected Our order just for drinks was taken 10 minutes after we sat down. Steak wasn't great. Service got better after we hit a hiccup as nothin on the menu worked for our 10 yr old. I will say they worked with us but the server freaked & had to get someone else to step in. There are Mcgee better places to eat at this price point in our city

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you to the staff at the Decanter- St. Regis for truly understanding opulence and fine dining. The three course meal met my taste buds and the decor/ambience was simply divine. I also appreciated the service from the staff who remained professional but not stuffy. Thanks again for making this dining experience on Christmas 2016 a most memorable moment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had dinner for a party of six on Christmas Eve. Overall, I thought the restaurant did a terrific job.
First of all I was surprised that the menu that night was more flexible that the menu shown on the restaurant's website. It incorporated some of the bar menu's less formal and less pricey food in addition the regular dinner entrees.
Second, the food was good, very good in some respects. It was apparent from the VERY high quality of the accompaniments that they were using first quality ingredients - the fig jam and the whole grain mustard that came with the charcuterie was amazing, for example. The bread was first rate.
Third, the bill we received was considerably less than I had expected. It was quite reasonable for a meal of this quality. We had a Puligny Montrachet, for example, that was excellent and a bargain - for a restaurant - for $70.
Fourth, and most importantly, everyone on the wait staff was clearly formally trained, served the meal beautifully, was agreeable, welcoming, and a pleasure to deal with. It was the best service I have had in a restaurant in MANY years.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was okay. Steak was overcooked and needs some options for sides but came with nothing but fries. The highlight were the appetizers. FANTASTIC appetizers. Wish we could've ordered all of them. Dinner overall was fine but the downside was the valet parking. When we pulled at the hotel, the valet said it was free. I read on the website that the valet was $8. The valet kep telling me it was free and wouldn't accept my $8 payment. Then when the dinner was over and we got the car, the valet said the bill was $29. INSANE. Then I went over to one of the managers and she said it was $12. So...which is it?? Everyone is telling me different things. The valet wouldn't let me go until the $29 bill was settled. Eventually, the manager told us she was sorry for the miscommunication and let us go for free. Absolutely unacceptable. Night would've been better if valet and the restaurant had a clear communication and worked it all out. Ruined the night by the rude valet attendant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing dinner . Service was great . Perfect for a special date night

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Emre my waiter from Turkey was absolutely tremendous. He deserves a big fat raise.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service was very good. But the food wasn't so good. The food was very average. Maybe it's time to find a different chef. The Mac n cheese tasted and look like my kids Mac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Elegant dining, top notch service and well prepared dishes make this a reliably good choice for business entertaining. Very pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My husband and I came for lunch for the Iceland Food Week Menu. Everything was fantastic. The service, including the gentleman at the hotel's main entrance, was stellar. We were greeted and seated right away in a lovely booth, per my request on the reservation. I was impressed by the hostess offering me a black napkin since I was wearing black pants. I declined but appreciated that they pay attention to the possibility of unsightly lint patches. Our server was equally friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the special menu. The restaurant itself is beautiful and they have a great wine room that doubles as an impressive display. I would love to return for a romantic date night. Highly recommend Decanter.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Girls birthday dinner. Lots of great champagne! A few of us had the chef's tasting menu and were quite pleased with the selections. Wait staff were great as well.
Beautiful dining room with a fabulous ceiling!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was superb. The staff is incredible and very accommodating. We will be back! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

El servicio desde que uno llega y le reciben el coche, es de primera clase. Todos, sin excepción , nos trataron amablemente y estuvieron atentos todo el tiempo a lo que pudiéramos necesitar. La experiencia de la semana de comida con las chefs mexicanas fue inolvidable, los platillos estuvieron exquisitos y la atención de la chef fue un gran detalle.
Las personas que nos atendieron durante nuestra cena fueron super atentas y nos hicieron sentir muy bien. Salimos realmente felices con la experiencia.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We went during the week celebrating Mexican food, featuring two guest chefs and a special menu. We couldn't have been happier with our selections. The food (including the grasshoppers!!) was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The whole dining experience was great! Both dinner and service were absolute amazing. The restaurant environment is really nice, with a combination of modern inside the tradition of the St. Regis hotel. Besides, the deserts were on the house because there was a confusion on Open Table with the dates of an special menu that we were expecting and our reservation date that had the regular menu. And now, we are coming back one more time for the special Mexican dinner menu...! Thanks to Decanter for the nice evening and dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wow! Fabulous service, and wonderful food. I was attending a meeting nearby, and wanted a quiet meal. The hostess made me feel at home right away, and the food was mouthwatering. ALso, everything arrived quickly, and without feeling rushed.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Armando and Omar were great waiters and deserve a raise

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

My new favorite breakfast meeting spot! Outstanding food and service, wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Stephan the waiter and the hostess who seated me what absolutely tremendous. They both deserve raises right now. absolutely mThe place smelled like roses . Inwill come back there anytime. The food was just exquisite

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Love this bar/restaurant, located on 16th & K, just a block from the White House!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2016

It took over an hour to have lunch for four people served at 11:30am! There was only one other party (2 people) in the restaurant the entire time my group was there. The service was excellent. The food delivery was terrible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect spot for a business lunch with nice food and great service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.