About The Southern

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (146)
Special Occasion (123)
Hot Spot (120)
See All
Casual (117)
Fun (98)
Business Meals (93)
Comfort Food (92)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Creative Cuisine (86)
Good for Birthdays (85)
Bar Seating (82)
Great for Brunch (80)
Good for Groups (77)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
Pre/post Theatre (73)
Vibrant Bar Scene (72)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Happy Hour (65)
Worth the Drive (64)
Great for Lunch (62)
Local Ingredients (61)
Authentic (58)
People Watching (52)
Modern Decor (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Romantic (40)
Open Kitchen (39)
Cozy (29)
Private Room (28)
Late-night Find (26)
Tasting Menu (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Outstanding Value (24)
Great Beer (24)
Live Sports (23)
Live Music (17)
Seasonal (17)
Family Style (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Healthy (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Historic (10)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best food and experience restaurants in Nashville. I highly recommend this one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good, the service was excellent. Restaurant is very loud when full. Atmosphere is a cool place to have a meal. Enjoyable place to meet with co-workers, friends, family, good menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

I took a small group of out-of-town colleagues to The Southern because they wanted to go to a casual but local favorite restaurant for the Nashville experience. It was perfect! Wonderful food, great service and terrific atmosphere that everyone loved. I would go again at next opportunity.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Friendliness of staff is topnotch, but then it is the "Southern". Great location for a pre-hockey game meal. Nice variety of menu items, and everything is always very good. Wood smoked grill gives a nice touch to meets. And if you like asparagus this the place to order it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Always enjoy the steaks, the ability to choose my own and have it prepared the way I like it. I was excited to have some of the fresh oysters I've enjoyed here in the past but was a little disappointed in the size and quality of the oysters this time around. Atmosphere is fun but definitely too noisy for an intimate conversation. The blueberry crumble was tasty and definitely unique. Complimentary parking with all of the construction downtown is definitely a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for 40th bday with friends and the food was excellent as was the service. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Daniel was one of the best!! Very sweet and helpful. Such a perfect meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Been here on every trip to Nashville. Great food, amazing atmosphere, perfect location.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Our group of four was seated next to a Bachelorette party of 10-12. They were very loud and had no concern for effecting the dining experience of those around them. There were private rooms in the back that were open. I think it would be to the Southern's advantage to seat those groups in the private room areas. We will not return to the Southern for dinner on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The Southern offered a variety of authentic, delicious southern cuisine. The steak and biscuit dish was scrumptious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was good and our waitress Alex did a fantastic job.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was great, we had a very refreshingly personable waitress. The Bella was cooked to perfection and the steak biscuit appetizers were very tasty. Overall some of the best food I have had in Nashville. I would recommend checking it out no matter which meal you were looking for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

There was a problem with one dish, fish was not cooked correctly. Beyond that everything else was great.

Tags: Live Sports, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Loved the Bless Your Heart Salad. Two of us had it and raved about it. One friend ordered

the market fish salad that was to come with salmon. It took forever and then came with mahi mahi which she accepted since we needed to make the symphony. They did ask if she was ok with that and she said yes though all the way through the meal she kept saying she really wanted salmon. There was no adjustment to her bill.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was very friendly and quick and personable. He helped us understand the menu options and refilled our glasses very quickly. The portobello mushroom sandwich was absolutely delicious! I'll definitely order that again. Love the atmosphere and the vibe of the restaurant. Great staff too. Will definitely bring my friends and out-of-town friends here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always enjoy both breakfast and lunch meetings at The Southern. I especially like bringing out of town clients or company to this restaurant. It gives a great urban Nashville and southern vibe and delicious food to boot. Great service, though at times it can get loud in certain parts of the location. Breakfast was fantastic!!! And much more moderate on noise level. It's clearly a happening place so make reservations.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were celebrating our post Valentine's Day dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of my favorite nashville resturants, and I live in Nashville.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very good. They were about 15 minutes late seating us for our reservation; however, they made up for it by giving us two free appetizers. Great experience and great good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food, fun atmosphere. Crowded and had to wait 20 minutes past reservation time, but we're comped appetizers. Eclectic menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food - great service - friendly atmosphere -- pricing acceptable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When i booked this Valentine's Date I wasn't aware of a "set" menu. I chose it because my picky boyfriend liked the food. So as you can imagine having to pick from what he called a "prom" menu made it a very lackluster experience. Sorry . Love the Southern but hated the choice in food. Smoked Filet was dried out by our 9:15 reservations. Just such a disappointment for the price and forced menu

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love The Southern. We always receive top notch service and excellent food. Valentine's Day was no different. A great prix fixe menu with variety. I got out of my box and tried a duck confit salad that was amazing. We will go back again and again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The entire experience at The Southern was enjoyable and top notch. The valet parking was nice and the valets were super friendly. We had the apple butternut squash soup as an appetizer and it was delicious. Our entrée was the filet mignon and it was perfectly cooked. We finished our dining experience with the chocolate gelato. We will definitely recommend The Southern to all of our friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our menu selections for the Valentines "prix fixe" Dinner was amazing at the Southern. From the appetizer to the delicious desserts. Our hats off to Executive Chef Matt Farley and Chef de Cuisine, Paul Brantley. Also a big shout out to our server Bekah who made our whole dining experience a great one. We will definitely recommend our friends and family to your establishment when they visit Nashville.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was great but expensive! We spent $174.00 for 2 people for dinner for Valentine's day, and we had NO alcholol. Did not know the special menu was the only available menu available. It was too expensive for the portions. The chocolate cake was dry. The filet was wonderful. For $65.00 per person you could put a little more food on the plate.

Chose this venue because of the proximity to Symphony. But need to investigate the menu the next time. If you have

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and ambiance for Valentines Day!!! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came in for lunch on Valentines and, as always, it was amazing. The service was on point and the oysters were incredibly fresh. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

PHENOMENAL in every way!! Excellent food and service. Fine dining in an unpretentious atmosphere. We absolutely loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great steaks. Good atmosphere. A little loud but to be expected in a packed restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to Southern several times for lunch and it is a very buttoned up, professional crowd. Went their earing a tie for dinner and felt very over dressed. Much more casual than during the day. Otherwise, great experience as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

"The Belle" filet was awesome, the service even better! Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went on a Sunday and had reservations but we were able to be seating sooner. Service was great and the food didn't take long to arrive. We had a sirloin steak and the fish and grits. Both were great. It is a. It noisy but the ambience is still good. Definitely will be going back

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had The Belle filet mignon, wonderfully tender but a little dry despite the glaze on it. My husband had bbq'd ribs, delicious smoky-flavored sauce on them. Salads were wedge and "bless your heart" salads with a little too many artichoke hearts, more lettuce and perhaps arugula would have broken up the heaviness of the artichoke and hearts of palm. Spice cake was delicious with pumpkin gelato. Liked the warm rolls that tasted like cheese biscuits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We dined at the Southern for my daughter’s birthday. We made our reservations for 4 a little over 5 weeks out, and it was on a Sunday evening. I really liked how the Southern validates your parking ticket if you park at the Pinnacle Bldg. saving us the cost of parking for the evening. We were seated as soon as we arrived at the restaurant. Our waitress arrived quickly taking our drink order and bringing us all waters. We ordered an app, (deviled eggs) and my husband ordered a ½ dozen of oysters. Which we received in a nice flowing order. Our table ordered two steaks, one GIANT burger !!!, and the fish tacos. We all tasted each other’s dishes and they were all wonderful. Since our table had a birthday they brought us a Blueberry Crumble with fresh blueberries adoring the top and ice-cream. What we learned after we raved to the waitress about the dessert was that it was gluten free and a non-dairy ice cream made in house with coconut milk!! Wonderful evening will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our server provided excellent service, and the food was excellent as usual!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I definitely recommend the Southern if you're in Nashville. Was there for a girls weekend with a bunch of foodies and this was definitely our favorite place - even better than Husk and other notables. The filet is to die for!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second visit was certainly as good as the first. Four of us had a wonderful meal. Barbecue shrimp appetizer was exceptional ! Great service too.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service, excellent food. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had eight people in our dinner party. The food, service and ambiance were amazing. Each person commented on their food. We had several different types of steak, brisket and fish. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at The Southern. The food was excellent and we received top notch service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service, great food and agreat place for a special occasion. Shout out to Byran(Manager) for making us feel welcomed and checking on us after dinner. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved the atmosphere with the relaxed music and I liked the location. I would definitely return to try other dishes and I especially would like to try the lunch menu.

I suggested that each person try something different and we each had an opportunity to sample the dish. The Crab Cakes were awesome and so was the Cuban.

Service was good and the wait staff was very friendly and answered questions about the menu.

Definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was looking forward to the chicken fried chicken but they were only serving brunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Son's Birthday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved it. Family in town and they thought it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My filet was very fatty. Our server was very short with our group.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed our Valentine's dinner at the Southern. As always, the food and atmosphere are great...and the oyster selection is top-notch. The location is perfect if you want to have a nice dinner before walking along Broadway to catch the many music venues. Would recommend The Southern to anyone looking for a great food at a great value!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Got my order wrong. Food was just ok. Thank goodness for a great location and free valet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this restaurant and hit it every time we are in Nashville. The pork chops are likely the best I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.