Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Southern

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (158)
Hot Spot (130)
Special Occasion (123)
See All
Comfort Food (122)
Casual (118)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Fun (103)
Bar Seating (96)
Vibrant Bar Scene (87)
Creative Cuisine (87)
Good for Groups (85)
Great for Brunch (85)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Business Meals (81)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Great for Lunch (75)
Happy Hour (72)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Pre/post Theatre (68)
People Watching (65)
Local Ingredients (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Authentic (58)
Sunday Lunch (56)
Modern Decor (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Open Kitchen (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (34)
Private Room (29)
Cozy (28)
Great Beer (26)
Live Music (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Late-night Find (16)
Live Sports (16)
Seasonal (14)
Historic (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (11)
Healthy (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Spicy (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Scenic View (7)
Organic (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good as always. Service good, people polite and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent place to eat before a hockey game! Good food, great service and very close to arena! Go Southern Preds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

We were all disappointed in our brunch. We have been to The Southern on numerous occasions, and have loved it. This last visit, the food was just not up to par. I am not sure what has changed, but something did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

A must for those that want to try Southern
Especially for the notherners

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

We will always make a point to eat at The Southern when in Nashville. The menu is unique and the food is delicious. Their Sunday brunch menu was smaller but had something for everyone's taste.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Spicy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second time there, brought a friend after talking so much about it and the service was terrible. Our waiter made us flag him down for everything and it wasn't very busy. We had to stop him and ask if we could place our order after 30 minutes and he acted like he was put out.
The wrong order was brought to our table, it was a simple 3 plate order, very frustrating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Very loud so be ready to talk louder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & service! Went for Sunday brunch. Delicious eggs Benedict! What more could you want!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

loved the food service and ambiance wish we had discovered this gem earlier when visiting we certainly would have dined there more than once

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We were only in Nashville for one day, so went to the Country Music Hall of Fame, then the Southern on a recommendation from a friend....we were not disappointed! Great service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

A lot of style, not much substance. Was in Nashville on vacation and went to brunch on a Saturday, and food came out within 15 minutes but it was cold, leading me to believe the food was not made to order! I was pretty disappointed because it had such good reviews but I would look elsewhere if you are from out of town looking for something special.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

We went during Saturday brunch, which is a busy time for any Nashville brunch place. The service wasn't amazing and it didn't appear to be that the server was too busy; that said, the food was generally pretty good (try the hot chicken with the chicken and waffles- way better than the eggs Benedict on biscuit). We enjoyed brunch and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious Saturday brunch! We'll be back! Make reservations!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for brunch, service (David) was great. Nice spicy Bloody Mary, good medium heat hot chicken and waffles, good steak and blue cheese biscuit with egg. Quite noisy at 9:45a but still highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time. Steaks had great flavor and Daniel took great care of us.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Really great - everything. Loved it. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch at Southern was delicious.....unfortunately for the time we were there we were unable to get dinner reservations. If you are going....plan ahead.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second meal at the Southern. First was dinner and this was lunch. Restaurant was too noisy at lunch to have a decent conversation. Both times, the food was acceptable but nothing to recommend or rave about. The servers were pleasant and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was awesome except trying to get seating even though we had reservations.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding! Trying to impress visitors? Go to the Southern. Short walk to other venues after a great dinner!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

First time in Nashville. Great food. Fun experience. Very affordable. Good location. Great Nashville experience. I will recommend to everyone

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were in Nashville for just one night and chose The Southern as our dining spot. We were not disappointed! Delicious oysters on the half shell! Happy hour wine was good and therefore great value! My husband had the lamb and I had fish and grits. Great taste combinations!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Love The Southern

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We love The Southern & go there every time we are in Nashville!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I was responsible for scheduling the business lunch and I was very pleased.. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Our server was very knowledgeable and efficient.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great. A little noises at night but everything else is great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I absolutely loved having my Mother's Day Brunch here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH. GREAT SERVICE, GREAT FOOD, WONDERFUL SERVICE
RECOMMEND FOR ANY OCCASION

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was great. The only criticism I have is that there was no changing table in the women's bathroom and I had to change my three month old on a small bench.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is the loudest restaurant. Don't go if you want to have a conversation with your dinner date. Tables are so close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Deelicious. Oysters (VaVa Voom), gumbo, chicken and waffle, blood orange mimosa. All great. Friendly staff and a band. Fun too

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time and a great waitress. I had been at the restaurant for business purposes, but when my husband and I had an opportunity to visit by ourselves a few years later, I jumped at it. It was a great dinner again, but a great "date" for just the two of us.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was great! Service was a little slow even though the place was not nearly full. Still a very nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Zak our waiter was awesome!!

Valet parking experience NOT GOOD! Waited 45 min to get our car after brunch in hot sun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great variety of creative dishes. Grilled oysters, pork belly tacos and crispy chicken over mac and cheese with sautéed greens were all standouts. Fun place. Friendly people, loud and lively bar area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice Brunch spot. Affordable pitchers of mimosas!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The raw oysters were awesome. So fresh and cold very refreshing! The garlic steak and biscuits were wonderful too. I drink chardonnay and was not impressed with the wine list. Thanks!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have dined at The Southern on multiple occasions and have found the food to be delightful. However, lunch with my friend who was visiting Nashville from New York was abismal. I was stunned. The gumbo was average and the wedge salad was positively horrendous as was my dining companion's portobello sandwich. And, a side order never arrived. The waiter was less than attentive. If I return it will be for the raw bar. But frankly, with Fin and Pearl, Urban Grub , why bother?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful food choices
Great Bloody Mary
Great waiter

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Southern is a solid in Nashvegas! It is the standard by which others should be judged!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.