Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Southern

Located on the ground floor of the Pinnacle at Symphony Place in the heart of the burgeoning SoBro district, The Southern takes its guests on a culinary journey where every entree tells a story. The traditional yet eclectic eating house features a state-of-the-art, shuck-to-order oyster bar, a real wood-fired grill, a locally grown buying strategy, deliciously tender meats and direct sourced, guaranteed fresh, sustainable seafood. The menus at the southern combine indigenous flavors with exotic ingredients and offer an authentically southern adventure with a twist. The Southern will prove soon be to be known for its genuine hospitality and unmatched eats.

150 3rd Avenue S #110
Nashville, TN 37201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:45am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Any Other Time Menu: Daily 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Late-Night Menu: Friday - Saturday: 11pm-midnight

Cross Street:
3rd & Demonbreun

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 724-1762

Website:
http://www.thesouthernnashville.com/

Catering:
The Southern and TomKats are pleased to offer a variety of full service catering and event planning options to meet your specific needs. Whether you're planning a private dinner for 50, or a lavish event for 500, we can customize a menu that is right for you. Please feel free to contact us!
Online Form: http://thesouthernnashville.com/catering/
Phone: (615) 256-9596
Email: bosborne@tomkats.com

Parking Details:
The Southern offers 3-hour validated parking in the Pinnacle building garage (garage subject to flat rates during downtown events) and complimentary valet parking Monday thru Friday from 11am to 10pm and Saturday & Sunday 9:30am to 10pm (during lunch, brunch, and dinner).

Executive Chef:
Matt Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To make a standard reservation in our main dining room for a party of 10 or more (up to 20), please email us at reservations@thesouthernnashville.com.

For more information on private events, groups of 21+, and booking the Demonbreun Room or the Southernaire Market, please fill out the correlating form (accessible below) or e-mail eric@thesouthernnashville.com.

The Demonbreun Room at The Southern Steak & Oyster is an intimate and inviting space with plush, high-backed chairs, beautifully crafted wood tables and floor-to-ceiling windows. Accommodating up to 60 seated or 75 for a standing cocktail reception, the Demonbreun Room is the ideal setting for any gathering.
http://thesouthernnashville.com/private-events/

The Southernaire Market is perfect for intimate dinner parties, lively cocktail receptions, or that special event that needs a bit of Southern charm (up to 30 guests seated and 40 standing).
http://southernairemarket.com/events/

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Demonbreun Room and The Southernaire Market are two uniquely southern private event spaces perfect for rehearsal dinners, corporate get togethers, cocktail parties, or an intimate gathering with your friends.

The Southern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (105)
Great for Brunch (101)
Special Occasion (90)
See All
Hot Spot (90)
Comfort Food (89)
Casual (78)
Fun (73)
Great for Lunch (71)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Sunday Lunch (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
Good for Groups (66)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Bar Seating (63)
Business Meals (60)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
People Watching (56)
Worth the Drive (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Local Ingredients (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Happy Hour (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Authentic (40)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Romantic (27)
Live Music (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Great Beer (17)
Live Sports (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Scenic View (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Spicy (9)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place in close proximity to all the fun of downtown Nashville. I've eaten there several times, food is quality. The oysters are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing fresh catches, hearty salads and all sorts of different Southern inspired BBQ sandwiches :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice downtown location, off of busy Broadway. Food was good, but not great, especially for the price. Halibut (for Fish & Grits entree) was overcooked. Banana bread pudding dry and plain. Service was very good. Would try other upscale locations in downtown Nashville before returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and service! Try the scallops! Can't go wrong with filet mignon and wedge salad... both superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our third time here. The menu does change, a bit, with the seasons . The deviled eggs are great (need hot sauce on the side), the baby biscuits are perfect, scallops with grits delectable and the ribs excellent.
Even though we were celebrating my Birthday, no mention was made by the wait-staff. He was a great waiter even though he had to shout above the noise level so we could hear him speak.

This is the place to have dinner during the Holidays...I missed the ambiance of the season since it is September.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The Southern is my family's go-to spot for birthdays, anniversaries and brunches. It's almost always good and worth the value. This time I even picked out my own steak. You can't beat a 22 ounce, five week dry aged, bone-in ribeye on your birthday.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent. Wait staff great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I had a delicious breakfast at The Southern before leaving town. Excellent house-made sauces, jam and heavy Southern food. We'd definitely visit again if we come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

We ate here twice. The food was amazing and our servers were friendly and knowledgeable about the local attractions and area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had the strip steak and my significant other had the filet. Both steaks were cooked to perfection. One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch ever!! Great food, fun atmosphere, excellent service, and amazing band.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Southern (or their parent company) catered our wedding, and every year we come back to celebrate. They never cease to exceed our expectations with their service and the quality of their food—today was no exception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere . We enjoyed our time at breakfast!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Extremely busy restaurant. We had brunch. The menu is limited. We are not picky eaters. The salad had am overpowering dressing. There was a basic heavy pasta and egg dish. The cajun sauce on the shrimp and grits looked was ok. Crab cakes were basic. The Bloody Marys were good. We would recommend going there for the fun and t-shirts but not expect gourmet meals.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was great service and even better food. Thank you so much for this!! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The restaurant was very nice and the food was amazing! I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants in Nashville! We always make it there each time we visit. Great food with a yummy southern flair, great service, vibrant fun bar scene. Absolutely should not miss this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for the oysters. Hubs said they were just ok. I made lunch reservations and apparently they weren't having lunch that day. Brunch until 3 and then dinner menu. My drink was mostly rum, which some would enjoy, but if I wanted it straight, I would have ordered it that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I've been here a few times. We had a large party of 10 with reservations. Not their fault that "our" table was lingering but we were starving! Finally got seated 30 minutes late and they gave us a couple free appetizers. We were seated in a very un fun and sterile---and FREEZING--back room. Bummer cuz the front area is so much more vibrant and fun. I'll go back cuz the food and the scene is great but would rather sit at the bar and people watch. Not my favorite visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Awesome food, service & ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is our second visit to The Soutern and we were not disappointed. The Southern is amazing and completely worth the price. I will always stop by when visiting Nashville because it is THAT GOOD! Highly recommend making a reservation because there is always high demand for a table. Great service, fun atmosphere, and amazing food/drinks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of Nashville's best. Great for lunch as well as a great evening steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Out of town wedding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We went during an offtime at 2:30 so it's possible dinner is better. I had grouper that I had to send back which I never do! The deviled egg appetizer wasn't fresh. We did have good service and we sat on the patio which was nice.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I love this restaurant and visit every time In Nashville. Only disappointment is we couldn't get the chicken fried chicken for a late lunch and that is what we came for. Though our other choices were very good!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I've been for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. But the birthday lunch for my daughter was a disappointment. The dessert-chocolate cake-was small and dry. It seemed a week old. The hot chicken was only so-so. I must say that the squash with goat cheese was great, though. I will visit again, only in the evening; Not for lunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food mediocre, expected great food. For price of entree's expected amazing taste. Great service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant. The food was INCREDIBLE. I had the steak frites with green bean sauté and I could not make myself stop eating. After dinner, even though I was stuffed, I wanted another plate. The atmosphere and drinks were amazing, the service was on point, and the oysters were fantastic. We arrived 30 minutes prior to our reservation and they sat us at our table immediately. Definitely worth the drive if you're not in Nashville and it's walking distance from most hotels in downtown Nashville. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Really good spot with modern Southern vibe. Server was good but the place seemed understaffed in terms of bussing tables.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent food, drinks & service. Menu options are suberb! Will be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Best meal we had in Nashville! We had the steak sliders for an appetizer and the strip steak and fried chicken for dinner. All were delicious. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Good food with generous portions. Service was excellent during a very busy night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Eric, our waiter, was stunning!! Whenever we had a minor issue he doubled down to our satisfaction. A great bar scene and perfect for solo dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service and quality of food was excellent. Also free dessert for my son on his birthday.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always our favorite brunch spot to dine alone or meet up with friends. The service is always top notch and you cant go wrong with whatever you order!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great atmosphere though the band was a little bit too loud for reasonable conversation. Server was a hoot. Great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love the Southern and am a frequent customer. Wish the brunch menu had a more variety to it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was great! I went for brunch and had the chicken and waffles. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food. Too loud. A bit rushed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service. Knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.