Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About The Smoke Ring

This Bar-B-Que haven is the brainchild of Chef Jordan Wakefield. Jordan and wife Erin Wakefield opened the doors in October 2013. This "Gastroque" concept is very chef driven, with a focus on the meat itself, as well as an infusion of unique southern cuisine. However unlike most Bar-B-Que restaurants, the sides are not an afterthought. The creamy mac-n-cheese is topped with bread crumbs and baked to order. Our crispy brussel sprouts are flash fried, then drizzled with sweet maple syrup. Just as Jordan put his touch on all of these classic items, his wife Erin created an award winning cocktail list that pairs perfectly with the delectable food. The Restaurant is located at 309 Nelson Street, in the eclectic Castleberry Hill neighborhood. We are just a short walk from many downtown attractions, such as CNN Center, Phillips Arena, Centennial Olympic Park, and The Georgia Dome.

309 Nelson Street
Atlanta, GA 30313
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm)

Cross Street:
Chapel St. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 228-6377

Website:
http://www.smokeringatlanta.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking deck for your convenience, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Wakefield

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Smoked meat, jerky and a Bloody Mary. What else could Dad possibly want on Father's Day? Celebrate Dad with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Smoke Ring Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Live Sports (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was great and service was fast. The downtown view of Atlanta was superb. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and I thought the menu was good too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was the curse of the second visit. Our first visit was far more enjoyable than this one. Service was VERY slow and so was the entire establishment. There were very few patrons around, many open tables for a Saturday night. It boils down to OK drinks, decent variety of beer and just OK BBQ. Probable won't be back.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is always oretty good. They could stand to enlarge the brunch menu and take off this site things they no longer serve 😒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was very good- brisket burrito and deviled eggs

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Horrible food, horrible service, food was so bad we left it all on the table, we saw our waiter 2 times and he was uninterested and not very nice, do yourself a favor and don't come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really liked this place! Would definitely recommend and will be back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family really enjoyed Easter brunch here. Had a great time and a superb waiter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was outstanding. I really appreciated the ambience. It is not the most ideal location but far from remote. I am more of a sweet barbecue fan and their house sauce is a vinegar base. The meats were tender and smoked just right!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This may be a great restaurant but I definitely visited on an off day. Sunday afternoon patio service was slow, forgetful and inconsistent; pets are allowed near other diners; ice in drink had melted by the time I received it. Hostess seated is at a soiled table but never returned to clean it. Server walked by us several times without acknowledging us. Took around 30 minutes to receive food once order was placed. Just not a good first visit.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

the brisket has was amazing, definitely recommend the restaurant to anyone who loves bbq. probably the best I've had in atlanta

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

great food and extensive beer list

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Volleyball tournament

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

On vacation from Chicago. Waiter was great and food was authentically Atlanta and so fresh. My kids ate alligator for the first time and loved it!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We visited Smoke Ring after seeing it featured on the Atlanta Eats show. Service was extremely slow even though there was hardly anyone there when we arrived - around 7pm on a weekday. Food was not as expected; especially for the price. Three of the four people in our group did not like the food. Very disappointed all the way around. The food did not look at all like what was depicted on the show - I had the Southern Salad which was bagged salad on a plate with a few cut up cherry tomatoes, goat cheese and corn kernels. The turkey was dry and the barbeque sauces was not liked by anyone at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a group of 9 for dinner at The Smoke Ring on March 23. I chose this place based on its proximity to GSU, menu choices, and its casual eclectic (but not TOO eclectic) vibe. The restaurant did not disappoint! For the meat eaters, there were lots of great options from the waffle fries/smoked pork nachos to the brisket plate to the pulled pork (Show Stopper) sandwich. But there were also several vegetarians in the group who thoroughly enjoyed their bean burritos, mac n' cheese, roasted Brussel sprouts and sweet potato tots. A plate of 3 sides was just the right size to make a vegetarian dinner. The service was good and the waiter was very patient as we figured out the best way to divide up the bill. I can see how the acoustics might not be ideal if the restaurant was packed, but our group was able to carry on a conversation without any problem even with a fair amount of people at tables and the bar. An added bonus that is difficult to find in Atlanta - the restaurant offers free parking in its designated parking garage adjacent to the restaurant!!! Easy peasy! Good food, good selection, good service, AND easy parking....The Smoke Ring has it all.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very good BBQ & sides. Came during cook off , mind numbing LOUD mike for contest.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I had 3 meat. My wife had the ribs. It was OK to very good. Wasn't a big fan of the brisket. The piece I got was mostly fat. Ribs were very good and so was the sausage. Side dishes as well as specialty cocktails very good as well. Seems to be a popular gathering place and was extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food needs seasoning the ribs were hard and tasteless and sides were bland good sweet potato tots potato to salad bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been here before and it was great! Maybe they were just having a off night.. but everyone's food was not good... and the service was terrible. May not go back here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ribs, cjun owanuts, and pork rinds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always great!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect service and perfect food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Tasty BBQ backed by excellent service is a winning combination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Typically good food. Mom ordered Brunswick stew and she said it was lukewarm. Waiter didn't seem very interested in our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was horrible! Food wasn't all that great! Paid way too much for crappy food!! U

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had an evening out with our daughter and her family. Very comfortable in town neighborhood restaurant with a great view of the City and within walking distance to the sport venues. Food is consistently good. We especially like the fried gator tail and all of the smoked meats.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

No better brisket or pork belly ANYWHERE in the city. And the sides are great, too. Service is very fast. We came for lunch during lunch hour, and our mean was perfectly served not long after we ordered. Food is SO good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everyone from hostess to waitress was amazing. The food was absolutely fabulous and the setting was just so relaxed and romantic. If your a how lover a must try/

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was entertaining two gentlemen from Japan, and wanted them to have a "Southern" food experience. Our waitress helped them with a 3 meat, 3 side combo, which they split, and hooked them up with some great local beer.

One of her recommendations, the smoked half chicken, was fantastic. Our starter, the smoked trout dip should not be missed. The ribs were good, but the brisket and chicken were the best in town.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really like and enjoy this place, however, our open table reservation wasn't on the books when we got there. Glad it wasn't crowded and we got in no problem!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I absolutely loved everything about this restaurant! We started out with the hot boiled peanuts which were a nice surprise and then had a variety of small plates, brisket and pulled pork plates. I have to say this was the best tasting BBQ I've have in quite some time! The building is very uniquely designed and has a great ambiance. Chef Jordan Wakefield came out and introduced himself which was very cool. All the staff was very friendly and service was on point. I will definitely be back as I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never had anything I didn't like at Smokering! Chef Jordan Wakefield has an amazingly creative mind and comes up with a one of a kind dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I eat a lot of barbecue and this place nails it. Perfect amount of smoke, tender and perfectly cooked meat. The house barbecue sauce is pretty tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Family went for our daughters 21st Birthday for mid day lunch/dinner 1/29/17. We saw it on Atlanta Eats TV Show. Food was good and so was the service and they gave my daughter a "Birthday Shot" which was so awesome. We live in Flowery Branch GA about an hour away and would return to eat at Smoke Ring again if in the Atlanta Area, although the food was very good we would not drive an hour to eat there. Smoke Ring would be a great place to hang out and watch sporting events.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent food -- clever variations on southern BBQ (e.g. blue cheese in the potato salad, cinnamon in the collards). Very generous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very good barbecue but too noisy. Not great for a business meeting.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Rowdy crowd post game and a server that seemed very overwhelmed. Disappointing overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved the Pepper Vodka Bloody Mary, Smoked Turkey, and Crispy Brussel Sprouts! Great place to go before an Atlanta Falcons game...especially when they win too ;-)!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant has a great vibe to it and a nice view of the city. Our server Brandon was attentive and friendly. Great drink selection. The food was stellar. Fried green tomatoes were some of the best I've had. Smoked brisket was delicious, side dishes were delectable. The Brussels sprouts were amazing. Thank you for a wonderful meal before the game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was a major disappointment. Located in an up and coming area, and with a nice ambiance, everything fell apart after that. The menu is mostly picking a barbecued meat and the sides you want. We had 5 people and had to repeat our order 3 times to the waiter. Of course, 1 order was completely wrong. That aside, the food was mediocre. The brisket was fatty, the pork was bland. The smoked turkey was ok, but nothing great.
Our sides ranged from ok to "not very good". There are too any options in Atlanta to go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.