Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About The Smoke Ring

This Bar-B-Que haven is the brainchild of Chef Jordan Wakefield. Jordan and wife Erin Wakefield opened the doors in October 2013. This "Gastroque" concept is very chef driven, with a focus on the meat itself, as well as an infusion of unique southern cuisine. However unlike most Bar-B-Que restaurants, the sides are not an afterthought. The creamy mac-n-cheese is topped with bread crumbs and baked to order. Our crispy brussel sprouts are flash fried, then drizzled with sweet maple syrup. Just as Jordan put his touch on all of these classic items, his wife Erin created an award winning cocktail list that pairs perfectly with the delectable food. The Restaurant is located at 309 Nelson Street, in the eclectic Castleberry Hill neighborhood. We are just a short walk from many downtown attractions, such as CNN Center, Phillips Arena, Centennial Olympic Park, and The Georgia Dome.

309 Nelson Street
Atlanta, GA 30313
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm)

Cross Street:
Chapel St. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 228-6377

Website:
http://www.smokeringatlanta.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking deck for your convenience, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Wakefield

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Smoke Ring Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Comfort Food (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our waitress was excellent but the food was sub par. The food tasted as if it was right out of the microwave. Not fresh at all. My husband's order of baby back ribs were dry. This is my third time here but first review. Will not return for a fourth time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Staff was uninformed of specials. Also the restaurant was out of several things when we visited. Substitutions were made without asking us - Including spicy hot pepper jack cheese on a child's grilled cheese.
Food was good, music was good, but the restaurant was unable to deliver what they were selling.
Food came out wrong and bill was wrong. Server unaware of website specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely outstanding - we were in the area and looking for something Southern for our Northern family... BBQ looked great. The sandwiches were amazing, the fried pickles top notch, and one at our table choose the chicken and waffles off the brunch menu. The kids were treated like people, drinks stayed full, or server was attentive without being overbearing, and the atmosphere was family friendly. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

All good. Might be too popular because they were out of some items on last Friday. Need to make sure inventory is in stock. My friend wanted 2 separate items that were out of stock at 1pm. What happens when MB Dome opens this Saturday?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I was really excited about taking my husband here for his birthday last weekend. The ambience is nice and I can see this being a busy spot during game days. Unfortunately, the experience was just okay. We ordered brisket and turkey as a part of the pick 3 meal. Shortly after ordering, our server came to tell us they were out of both. It was only 6pm so it's not as if it was late night. We were disappointed because brisket is one of the main reasons to go to a bbq place. We ordered pork belly and pulled pork instead and it was just okay. They also don't offer anything special for birthdays or at least didn't for my husband even though we mentioned it to the server. He was nice and did a fine job as server but we were definitely disappointed with the experience. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We knew nothing about Smoke Ring before we got there. It is a casual place with a very relaxed and comfortable feel. Overall, our server was very helpful and despite having to serve several tables, was able to be as attentive as we needed him to be. The food was quite good - two of us got the pulled pork plate & enjoyed it with the sweet potato tots (hillbilly caviar was also quite good). We were a little disappointed that they were out of alligator tails as it was one thing that attracted us to the place. Moreover, we had a couple vegetarians that had a hard time finding options for appetizers given that many of the the vegetable dishes (even the tots, I believe) were prepared with a meat base or broth. Other than that, we have a great time! I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

My last review of smoke ring wasn't scathing but it wasn't good either. We had a horrible server who really killed the mood and ruined the meal but Our sweet waitress more than made up for it this time. She was friendly and attentive without being overwhelming. She made great suggestions and was always available when she needed to be. I don't remember her name but she wore a nose ring and rainbow bracelets.

The food was great and came to the table fresh and hot. The Brussels sprouts were just amazing! Last time I dined here I swore I would never come back but, I'm glad I did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My college-age son and I went to The Smoke Ring for Sunday brunch and we were not disappointed. He ordered the Smoked Brisket Hash and loved it. The serving size was so generous that he couldn't finish it. I had the Breakfast Burrito and was really pleased. I added a few of the delicious BBQ sauces that were on the table. I also ordered a side of home fries that were delicious. Our server was fantastic. She was so friendly. The food came out quickly and she kept our Cokes refilled! I wish this restaurant was on the North side of town so I could come more often! You can see the new Mercedes Benz stadium from the restaurant. This would be a good spot before or after a game.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We stumbled on the Smoke Ring and it was the best. Loved the smoked Turkey and the wings in the Peach Teriyaki sauce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We actually had dinner reservations at a different restaurant but due to heavy delays on the interstate we had to cancel and ended up at smoke ring for the first time in over 2 years!

The food was very good but was served to us barely hot. The service was probably the worst I've ever had. The restaurant only had 3 tables when we arrived at 930 and we had to track our server down for everything. Definitely won't be back for another 2 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Ask for the booth in the middle. Play a vintage 1980s arcade game.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

First time at the smoke ring and I wasn’t disappointed. I started with the smoked chicken appetizer with that tangy but very brightening white sauce which made it better (even so it didn’t need it.) Then I took the audacity to have the half rib and the lamb belly. I usually like ribs but the lamb belly was the highlight of my lunch/dinner (I was there at 3 pm). The sides were excellent (you have to go with the corn on the cob with that Mexican cheese (cotija) and the macaroni with 3 cheeses. Plates are large. Thus, doggy bag is a given. Also, the bartender is great. Just a good time in Atlanta. THANK YOU

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was delicious. The service was terrible. We waited over 40 minutes from the time we ordered our food to the time we received our food. The waiter must of delayed putting in our order and we barely received an apology. The food was really good so we may give it another chance.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We rsvp for 6 for brunch to celebrate Fathers Day. Took 15 min for our waiter to greet is and ask for our drinks. We waited another 10 minutes for the brunch menu. Everyone else was given the brunch menu from the moment they arrived. The tables around us would come and go by the time our food arrived. Bottomless mimosas? Yeah right. The wait for our mimosas was 10 min while everyone around us would receive their drinks in a timely manner. It was as if our waiter avoided us intentionally. His name is Nicholas. We will not be returning to the smoke ring.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waiter was very nice and attentive . Great food and a nice chill spot

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We have been many times but we're very disappointed with this visit. Food was like warm and service was not good - she forgot several things and delivered wrong items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Really enjoyed Smoke Ring... their smoked wings are outstanding, perhaps better than Fox Brothers. Also loved the pork platter with beans and potato salad. Bourbon cocktails were good too.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Birthday dinner for girlfriend

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was great and service was fast. The downtown view of Atlanta was superb. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and I thought the menu was good too.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was the curse of the second visit. Our first visit was far more enjoyable than this one. Service was VERY slow and so was the entire establishment. There were very few patrons around, many open tables for a Saturday night. It boils down to OK drinks, decent variety of beer and just OK BBQ. Probable won't be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is always oretty good. They could stand to enlarge the brunch menu and take off this site things they no longer serve 😒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was very good- brisket burrito and deviled eggs

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Horrible food, horrible service, food was so bad we left it all on the table, we saw our waiter 2 times and he was uninterested and not very nice, do yourself a favor and don't come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really liked this place! Would definitely recommend and will be back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family really enjoyed Easter brunch here. Had a great time and a superb waiter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was outstanding. I really appreciated the ambience. It is not the most ideal location but far from remote. I am more of a sweet barbecue fan and their house sauce is a vinegar base. The meats were tender and smoked just right!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This may be a great restaurant but I definitely visited on an off day. Sunday afternoon patio service was slow, forgetful and inconsistent; pets are allowed near other diners; ice in drink had melted by the time I received it. Hostess seated is at a soiled table but never returned to clean it. Server walked by us several times without acknowledging us. Took around 30 minutes to receive food once order was placed. Just not a good first visit.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

the brisket has was amazing, definitely recommend the restaurant to anyone who loves bbq. probably the best I've had in atlanta

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

great food and extensive beer list

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Volleyball tournament

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

On vacation from Chicago. Waiter was great and food was authentically Atlanta and so fresh. My kids ate alligator for the first time and loved it!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We visited Smoke Ring after seeing it featured on the Atlanta Eats show. Service was extremely slow even though there was hardly anyone there when we arrived - around 7pm on a weekday. Food was not as expected; especially for the price. Three of the four people in our group did not like the food. Very disappointed all the way around. The food did not look at all like what was depicted on the show - I had the Southern Salad which was bagged salad on a plate with a few cut up cherry tomatoes, goat cheese and corn kernels. The turkey was dry and the barbeque sauces was not liked by anyone at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a group of 9 for dinner at The Smoke Ring on March 23. I chose this place based on its proximity to GSU, menu choices, and its casual eclectic (but not TOO eclectic) vibe. The restaurant did not disappoint! For the meat eaters, there were lots of great options from the waffle fries/smoked pork nachos to the brisket plate to the pulled pork (Show Stopper) sandwich. But there were also several vegetarians in the group who thoroughly enjoyed their bean burritos, mac n' cheese, roasted Brussel sprouts and sweet potato tots. A plate of 3 sides was just the right size to make a vegetarian dinner. The service was good and the waiter was very patient as we figured out the best way to divide up the bill. I can see how the acoustics might not be ideal if the restaurant was packed, but our group was able to carry on a conversation without any problem even with a fair amount of people at tables and the bar. An added bonus that is difficult to find in Atlanta - the restaurant offers free parking in its designated parking garage adjacent to the restaurant!!! Easy peasy! Good food, good selection, good service, AND easy parking....The Smoke Ring has it all.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very good BBQ & sides. Came during cook off , mind numbing LOUD mike for contest.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I had 3 meat. My wife had the ribs. It was OK to very good. Wasn't a big fan of the brisket. The piece I got was mostly fat. Ribs were very good and so was the sausage. Side dishes as well as specialty cocktails very good as well. Seems to be a popular gathering place and was extremely noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food needs seasoning the ribs were hard and tasteless and sides were bland good sweet potato tots potato to salad bland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been here before and it was great! Maybe they were just having a off night.. but everyone's food was not good... and the service was terrible. May not go back here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ribs, cjun owanuts, and pork rinds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always great!!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect service and perfect food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.