About The Smoke Ring

309 Nelson Street
Atlanta, GA 30313
View Larger Map

This Bar-B-Que haven is the brainchild of Chef Jordan Wakefield. Jordan and wife Erin Wakefield opened the doors in October 2013. This "Gastroque" concept is very chef driven, with a focus on the meat itself, as well as an infusion of unique southern cuisine. However unlike most Bar-B-Que restaurants, the sides are not an afterthought. The creamy mac-n-cheese is topped with bread crumbs and baked to order. Our crispy brussel sprouts are flash fried, then drizzled with sweet maple syrup. Just as Jordan put his touch on all of these classic items, his wife Erin created an award winning cocktail list that pairs perfectly with the delectable food. The Restaurant is located at 309 Nelson Street, in the eclectic Castleberry Hill neighborhood. We are just a short walk from many downtown attractions, such as CNN Center, Phillips Arena, Centennial Olympic Park, and The Georgia Dome.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:

Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm)

Cross Street:
Chapel St. SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 228-6377

Website:
http://www.smokeringatlanta.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking deck for your convenience, free of charge.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Wakefield

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Smoke Ring Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Great Beer (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Sports (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was horrible! Food wasn't all that great! Paid way too much for crappy food!! U

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Had an evening out with our daughter and her family. Very comfortable in town neighborhood restaurant with a great view of the City and within walking distance to the sport venues. Food is consistently good. We especially like the fried gator tail and all of the smoked meats.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

No better brisket or pork belly ANYWHERE in the city. And the sides are great, too. Service is very fast. We came for lunch during lunch hour, and our mean was perfectly served not long after we ordered. Food is SO good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everyone from hostess to waitress was amazing. The food was absolutely fabulous and the setting was just so relaxed and romantic. If your a how lover a must try/

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was entertaining two gentlemen from Japan, and wanted them to have a "Southern" food experience. Our waitress helped them with a 3 meat, 3 side combo, which they split, and hooked them up with some great local beer.

One of her recommendations, the smoked half chicken, was fantastic. Our starter, the smoked trout dip should not be missed. The ribs were good, but the brisket and chicken were the best in town.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really like and enjoy this place, however, our open table reservation wasn't on the books when we got there. Glad it wasn't crowded and we got in no problem!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I absolutely loved everything about this restaurant! We started out with the hot boiled peanuts which were a nice surprise and then had a variety of small plates, brisket and pulled pork plates. I have to say this was the best tasting BBQ I've have in quite some time! The building is very uniquely designed and has a great ambiance. Chef Jordan Wakefield came out and introduced himself which was very cool. All the staff was very friendly and service was on point. I will definitely be back as I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never had anything I didn't like at Smokering! Chef Jordan Wakefield has an amazingly creative mind and comes up with a one of a kind dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I eat a lot of barbecue and this place nails it. Perfect amount of smoke, tender and perfectly cooked meat. The house barbecue sauce is pretty tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Family went for our daughters 21st Birthday for mid day lunch/dinner 1/29/17. We saw it on Atlanta Eats TV Show. Food was good and so was the service and they gave my daughter a "Birthday Shot" which was so awesome. We live in Flowery Branch GA about an hour away and would return to eat at Smoke Ring again if in the Atlanta Area, although the food was very good we would not drive an hour to eat there. Smoke Ring would be a great place to hang out and watch sporting events.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent food -- clever variations on southern BBQ (e.g. blue cheese in the potato salad, cinnamon in the collards). Very generous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Very good barbecue but too noisy. Not great for a business meeting.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Rowdy crowd post game and a server that seemed very overwhelmed. Disappointing overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved the Pepper Vodka Bloody Mary, Smoked Turkey, and Crispy Brussel Sprouts! Great place to go before an Atlanta Falcons game...especially when they win too ;-)!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant has a great vibe to it and a nice view of the city. Our server Brandon was attentive and friendly. Great drink selection. The food was stellar. Fried green tomatoes were some of the best I've had. Smoked brisket was delicious, side dishes were delectable. The Brussels sprouts were amazing. Thank you for a wonderful meal before the game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was a major disappointment. Located in an up and coming area, and with a nice ambiance, everything fell apart after that. The menu is mostly picking a barbecued meat and the sides you want. We had 5 people and had to repeat our order 3 times to the waiter. Of course, 1 order was completely wrong. That aside, the food was mediocre. The brisket was fatty, the pork was bland. The smoked turkey was ok, but nothing great.

Our sides ranged from ok to "not very good". There are too any options in Atlanta to go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was very good. Don't miss the fried green tomatoes, or mac and cheese with pimento cheese.

On a night when the restaurant was not busy, our service was pretty slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Before a Falcons game, we went to Smoke Ring off a recommendation from a friend. It was so amazing. They had a live bluegrass band that was delightful, not too loud but still really fun. The BBQ was delicious! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service were perfect! Can't wait to go back!!!! Chef Jordan makes the best BBQ pork I've ever had, Erin and Sarah were friendly and efficient and nothing less than awesome!!!! This is the first review I've ever given for a restaurant and I'm kind of a food snob :))) Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent place before Falcons game! Great blue grass band too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Initial waiter was very rude. He came to our table as I was deciding on what drink to order. He asks what we wanted, I hesitated, and he said, "You tell me you are ready to order drinks and you don't even know what you want! You're not the only table I have."

I asked for the manager and she proceeds to send over a more accommodating waiter...a "black man." Guessing she thought this would fit the only black table in the restaurant. Smh. First and last time ever going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, great service. I highly recommend the smoked brisket

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very impressed with atmosphere, service and food. From the hostess to the server, everyone was friendly and genuinely concerned with our comfort. They have a wonderful selection of sides and the pulled chicken was amazing!

We are not from Atlanta, but our son is and I believe we have found a new place for him to take friends:)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted southern food and this restaurant fit the bill. The hostess was especially friendly and helpful in finding us a table even on a very busy New Year's Eve.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice ambiance, but food could be better: I'd recommend the fried green tomatoes and Brussels sprouts. Artichoke was difficult to eat (you get a small bit of "meat" after peeling away many layers) and a bit on the oily side. Ribs were good but could have had more flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were in Atlanta for a conference, and wanted to find a BBQ place, so Open Table came in handy. The food was fantastic - so good! If I was traveling to Atlanta, I'd make an effort to return to Smoke Ring.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went with a group of six colleagues and had an absolute blast. Tremendous fast and even more amazing staff. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely the worst BBQ I've ever eaten! The meat was prepared well but the sauces were terrible. Unless you are a huge fan of cinnamon ... you will not like it. Even the collards had an overwhelming taste of cinnamon. I will never make this mistake again! YUCK!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We saw the restaurant on Atlanta Eats and we knew we had to go.

Our waiter Kyle was great, knowledgeable and we loved his recommendations. The brisket, pork belly and wings are to die for we will be back to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service team were attentive but not over bearing, informative and knowledgeable. We had ribs and brisket while sharing 4 sides, the Brussels sprouts, Mac-n-cheese, and the blue cheese potato salad were fantastic.

Would recommend this as neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Tim, our server, was so outstanding. We saw your restaurant on a local dining program and had to try it as we love good BBQ. He was really helpful in making our choices as newbies.

We were bummed to find a couple of things on the menu from the show were not on the menu currently, but Tim worked his magic. The chef prepared the fried ribs and the spare ribs.

We enjoyed the meal very much. I do think the music was too loud for the small late lunch/early dinner crowd.

We will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very nice chill establishment. Staff was nice. Food was good. I recommend brisket, Mac n Cheese as well as Brunswick Stew.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Live Music, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I came here for my birthday with a party of 12. Our waiter started off pleasant enough, but had a bad attitude about half way through. The food was average. I ordered ribs and ate them naked because all their bbq sauce was vinegar based. I asked the waiter to have the bartender make me up a special drink from my birthday, but what I got was their version of a long Island, off their menu, that I didn't like. My mom got wings & said they were really good. I liked the mac & cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Showed up before our reservation time and were seated. 15 minutes went by with no acknowledgement we were there, no water, no eye contact from any servers as we tried to get their attention. We left. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our group of nine had an amazing meal at Smoke Ring. The menu had something for everyone, and everyone truly enjoyed their food. There were more than enough creative options on the menu to satisfy the foodies among us, and even our picky eaters found menu items to rave about. Can't say enough about Timothy H., our server, who was polite, friendly, helpful and just plain nice. An awesome experience all around!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went before UGA vs NC Chickfila Kick off. They took reservations which was completely awesome. Service was a little slow but the place was very busy. Our waiter hustled but possibly had to many tables wanting too many adult beverages! Love love the fact they took reservations. I will definitely go there again before any event at the dome. Location is really convenient

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place for a quick pre game meal and drinks before heading to the Dome. Great drinks, food and staff was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and great service! Bartender was very informative and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good and eclectic, a good twist on bbq.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have eaten here before. The food is great but this time the service was horrible. It took almost 10 minutes for someone to make contact with us and take drink orders once we were seated. When we did order we waiting 45-50 mins before we were told that a larger group was given our order of ribs and they no longer had any. I get that places run out, but don't wait an hour to break the news. It was a ridiculously long wait. They were severely understaffed. Good BBQ just bad dining experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2016

SErvice was slow. food was ok. value dosen't match price.

Advertised burbon and cigar for $10 and it was never offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great restaurant. Everything from the pig sty nachos to the pork belly was absolutely delicious. Had one of their listed cocktails and was also very good.

Would definitely go back or recommend it to others if you love BBQ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Ribs were AWESOME. All the other food we had was good too. The only thing we didn't like was the BBQ sauce. If they had some traditional sauce, this would get 5 stars all around. Call ahead to make sure they have ribs. We got the last rack on a Sunday afternoon. Not sure why they don't keep them in stock. But overall, really good food & a nice casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Easy to find even for those from out of town. Close to airport for those who land and immediately crave BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was good and reasonably priced for what it was. Our server was great, and even let us sample some of the sides that were not made in your typical fashion. It is definitely a place that we will visit again and I hope it stays around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Fantastic food and overall ambience for upscale BBQ. Tim was a great server. And Suzy was great to ensure that we were still coming even though we were late for our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Super casual- but fun place to eat. The fried bologna slider should be a good indication of what kind of night to expect. (It was awesome.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Deviled eggs , beef brisket , Brussel sprouts , German sausage , pulled pork , pork belly , 3 cheese Mac n cheese, baked beans were all amazing. Timothy was an excellent waiter. Very knowledgeable. Oh and I can't forget the strawberry cake !!!! EXCELLENT

Great drinks too. Not weak. Good beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.