Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Rockefeller Room at The Williamsburg Inn

This contemporary fine dining restaurant serves as the jewel in the crown of the Williamsburg Inn. Paying homage to the foundation and evolution of a uniquely American cuisine, the Rockefeller Room embraces Southern tradition and infuses flavors brought to the New World from exotic lands. Featuring locally sourced ingredients and creative dishes, the menu epitomizes the Nouveau British approach to gastronomy: refined, worldly, sophisticated and adventurous. Carrying on the tradition of innovative cooking and fine dining, a meal at the Inn is a spectacular culinary experience.

136 East Francis Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Normal Hours of Operation:
Dinner a la carte 5:30pm-9:00pm daily
Sunday Brunch a la carte 11:30am-2:00pm



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburghotels.com/dining/rockefeller-room/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Travis Brust

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Wine

The Rockefeller Room at The Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort by
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Inn's restoration amazing. Thought we'd miss the Regency Room but the Rockefeller Room is warm, cozy and staffed by some veterans and a few new folks. All were professional, friendly and attentive. Of special mention are Mike the host and wine expert and Cecil our server... both articulate and caring. Makes us wanting to experience the Inn more frequently.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent service from all staff. Darrick was our server...he is exceptional! Food was outstanding. Ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent food and service . First class all the way could not have been happier made for a great date night with my wife

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

All staff were very attentive and friendly, but our server Charles was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our Meal was simply SUPERB and an excellent value for the quality. A dinner if this caliber in Northern VA would be twice as much. Our wait staff was fabulous and our main Waiter- David - was exceptional . An all- around fantastic experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Not particularly interesting menu. Beautiful setting. Very noisy large table next to ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

When I travel find dining is part of my plan. The Rockefeller room is five stars in every direction without question!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Amazing and all of us felt special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Absolutely wonderful Sunday Brunch!! It is a limited menu, so you would have to be flexible, a foodie or both to enjoy the food options. There is an eclectic choice of cocktails, all great. The service and food were perfection. A great place, 5 star as far as I'm concerned.

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Unfortunately, all meals were poor, my lamb shank especially dry and tough. Soup watery, pork belly app dry. All around it needs an overhaul. Not anywhere near the standard of the Inn of the past. Have eaten there for over 30 years. Lots of work to do.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We went to Rockefeller Room to celebrate our anniversary on a Friday evening. The room is cozy with curved banquettes where we sat and they were lovey and private. The menu is not overly large buthas a choice for everyone. What is interesting is that the offerings are unique,for example 12oz bone in filet mignon. And although the sides are listed separately, they are severed in a composition. Sometimes layered, or mixed - but overall extremely tasty. The appetizers were quite unique as well. Desserts were delicious. Service was lovely and it was very elegant dining. We estimate about 2 hours for dinner, but we loved the pace and the food. If you go a little early,when it is warm you can enjoy a cocktail out on the terrace which makes for a nice start to the evening. We are locals and enjoyed having an elegant place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Absolutely fine dining at its very best. The staff were friendly and very professional; the food was deliciously prepared (flavorful and nicely presented). The dining room was elegant and very comfortable. We will return whenever we are in Williamsburg.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Service was excellent. We would highly recommend our waiter, Cecil. He was very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding. We recommend this restaurant for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2017

When it comes to restaurant reviews, I tend to be a tough critic, but I have nothing but good to say about the Rockafeller Room. The service was A++, Attentive but discreet. The food was fantastic! Just a wonderful dinner in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We hadn't been to the Williamsburg Inn for dinner for several years. The new Rockefeller Room is very nice, completely different from the Regency Room in years past. The atmosphere and food was very good. The fish special of the night, rockfish, was outstanding. Service was spotty and the wait staff was short handed and seemed somewhat overwhelmed. We will try it again when in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was very uncoordinated. You never knew whom to ask for help. The main waiter did not check on us. We had to ask for salt and pepper, for sugar. Menu was not remarkable. The front needed an additional person to greet and take care of guests in order to seat them. Wait staff had forgotten that I had ordered coffee and a dessert. Dessert came after coffee was cold. We had to ask for our check. Waiter had forgotten to add in the dessert and had to take the check away from us. There was noise level from another table. I am really sad that this is a bad review. Service has gone down from our past visits. The croque madame had Va ham, but there were no other traditional Va offerings on the menu. We enjoyed the Raleigh cocktail. Food was very slow coming out of the kitchen. I chose this place for my birthday. It was just my spouse and I for the Sunday brunch. This makes me very sad about the Williamsburg Inn because if I had invited guests from out of town for a special celebration, I would have been very embarrassed. I hope CW will retrain the staff, the front, and get the kitchen to get food out in a more timely manner. I'd like to go back and try the salmon. I'd like to see things improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The Williamsburg Inn is an iconic venue in Williamsburg. But the Rockefeller Room, though I had no complaints, was not where I would choose to return. Quite frankly, the back patio was more beautiful, engaging, and romantic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Incredible dining experience. We went there for my husband's 60th birthday and started with pre dinner cocktails on the terrace. Great value and good selection of wines and beer for $
5!
Dinner was incredible.. We split everything and it was perfect. Started with the crab cake, then moved onto the bibb salad. Both were very tasteful. Had the Rockefeller fillet served on potatoes with asparagus and shrimp. It all melted in your mouth! One of the best most flavorful meals ever! Finished the meal of with the chocolate dessert. Just the right size to finish our celebration with something sweer. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We arrived here mid-week to re-visit a familiar and highly regarded dining room in the Williamsburg Inn. I have been going here whenever in Williamsburg for about 45 years but am sad to report the gracious, old-style room featuring great food with live dinner music is no more. I found the old room had closed this year and now the "fine dining" is in a nice, if rather ordinary, small room. The food is still very good, service nice, but it does not have the same memories.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

We were extremely disappointed in our dining experience. We arrived 5 minutes early, and were asked to wait with only 5 or 6 tables occupied. The waiter was hard to understand. The wine steward was very helpful, but the wine list was a sorry excuse for a collection of wines. Such bizarre choices to pair with the menu.

I tried to order beef tenderloin and the restaurant was OOS. They subbed a strip, quite a step down, but it was satisfactory. The other gentleman’s Dish was fine but both ladies were less than impressed with their fish entrees.
The highlight of the meal were the desserts- both were outstanding.

Considering this was the top rated restaurant in the area, we were disappointed in the experience. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a beautiful dinner at The Williamsburg Inn. The overall experience was fantastic. The food choices were good, the meal was well prepared and the presentation was spectacular. The service was exceptional and the manager made a special visit to our table to wish us a Happy Anniversary. Much to our surprise at end of our meal we received a special desert treat served on a plate drizzled in chocolate with best wishes for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed this special occasion and would definitely recommend a visit to The Rockefeller Room at The Wiliamsburg Inn for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dinner for our anniversary. George our server and the sommelier was very attentive and gave excellent service and made a great dinner ever better. Food was fantastic and worth every penny spent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Superb service, elegant atmosphere, excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It is truly an extraordinary dinning experience. The patio bar is amazing and all of the staff are wonderful and professional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 13, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience! From the very cheery bread server (Charlotte), to the excellent service provided by our waiter (Tristen), up through the dining room manager, Mark Harper, and finally the Director of the Restaurant, Christopher Castle, the meal had all the qualities of a 5 star establishment. My husband and I have been lucky enough to have dined at 2 such restaurants, and this one is of the same caliber. The room itself is muted beauty, with elegant furniture very tastefully arranged. The tables are adorned with fresh flowers and candles, and the chairs are soft and comfortable. The food was perfectly prepared. I had the bone-in filet mignon, with shrimp and asparagus. It was outstanding. My husband had the lamb with roasted root vegetables. It was served medium rare and the flavor was perfect. He also had the crab cake which was the best we have ever tasted. Even the bread service was top shelf, with specially prepared butter and 3 different varieties served. We were too full to sample the desserts but it was very tempting. Do yourself a favor and do not miss this place if you are visiting the Williamsburg area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Service was attentive and friendly. When I commented the swivel chairs were uncomfortable, a waiter suggested I try another type. When I said it was much better, he moved the chairs. My brunch was good, my water glass was never left empty. Alcoholic beverages were not pushed. The Eggs Rockefeller, a variation of Eggs Benedict, was very tasty and the short rib meat was fork tender.

Although the room has recently been redecorated, a less trendy, almost gloomy, wall color and comfortable chairs would improve the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Unbelievable service. Fantastic menus for veggies and meat lovers. Mr Polk made the meal so memorable. Thank you so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My rating is based upon the following: The new barrel-shaped chairs were extremely uncomfortable. They are too heavy to position at the table and they swivel which made it feel unsafe. The upholstery is slick and the way the back inclines it feels like you are sliding out of the chair. The hostess switched out the barrel chair for a straight chair I could safely sit in, but it was not a comfortable chair you would expect in a fine dining room. The new décor is somber and has a masculine feel, kind of like a men's club. The quality of the meal was inconsistent. Carrot curry soup was outstanding, excellent flavor and nice presentation done by the server. The banana fosters French toast tasted like maple syrup with cinnamon and lacked a pleasant presentation. The server was professional, attentive, and friendly and made the dining a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fine, seasonally changing menu with options for all diners.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Enjoyed the meal overall. However, portions were on the small side (particularly, salads and dessert). We were both hungry within an hour. Environment was pleasant and relatively quiet with efficient and well-timed Service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great experience! The service was wonderful as was the meal. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good but portions very small with little portion of vegetables. Staff was very attentive. More attention to side dishes particularly veggies.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The Rockefeller Room provided us an exceptional dining experience. This was a return for us after over 20 years and absolutely everything we remembered about the experience, it's high quality, superb service, and unique presentation were fulfilled ... several times over. The lady who took care of us, Patti, has worked at the Williamsburg Inn for over 30 years and aside from being genuinely warm and personable, she was a font of history that added immensely to our meal. On any level we enjoy measuring a quality dining experience, The Rockefeller Room sets the bar for excellence!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

What a treat to dine at the Williamsburg Inn. Shout out to our waitress, Patty, who was wonderful. Food was delicious! Atmosphere superb ... Overall nicest meal we have had out in a long time. Can't wait to return. Thank you all for such a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was great. Everything else was average at best. Service was underwhelming and by the end of our meal you could feel the rush of the staff trying to go home. The ambiance also left a lot to be desired. We were hoping for a more romantic setting given the stateliness of the Williamsburg Inn, but it felt like an average hotel dining room you'd find in a Holiday Inn or on a cruise ship (the lack of character/charm highlighted by the super bright white lights). I would try the brunch because I did enjoy the food, but I would not go back for dinner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food was great and service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious dinner, impeccable service. Fabulous night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent food. Service is fantastic. Dining room is very elegant. We come here every time we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Enjoyed an excellent meal recently at the new Rockefeller Room at the Williamsburg Inn. Our party had the shrimp & grits and duck breast with the farmer's greens with the Oysters Abby appetizer. The ambiance was very relaxing and comfortable. Darrick our server was attentive and accommodating. Overall, our experience at the Rockefeller Room was outstanding and highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

As long time patrons of Sunday brunch in the Regency Room, we were a little anxious over the recent renovations and the relocating brunch to The Rockefeller Room. Quickly our concerns disappeared when we were seated by a wonderful hostess and then quickly met by a fabulous wait staff team of Chris and Jermaine. The menu provided a tantalizing array of local sourced selections. But first, let's discuss the cocktails. Perfection in glasses! I believe they were called the Raleigh Square and Lemongrass Daiquiri . Huge applause to the bartender for ingenious and unique cocktails. Chris suggested the Waffle and Duck appetizer with homemade Blackberry sauce. We are so thrilled that we took our waiter's suggestion. We then proceeded with Rockefeller Benedict and Croque Mary. The portions were ample and the presentation and taste were perfectly delicious. To finish off this exceptional meal, we had a French press of an Incan decaf smooth and piping hot coffee with Bread pudding made from buttery croissants and a warm chocolate cake topped with a decadent chocolate ice cream. We are counting our days until we return. This was honestly one of the best meals we have enjoyed in a long time, experienced in a spectacularly beautiful Inn served by a professional and customer oriented staff. Thank you to all of the staff and chefs at the Williamsburg Inn Rockefeller Room.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.