Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea

Hawaii's first and only Relais & Châteaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation.

From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden. Voted one of OpenTable's Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants for 2016.

555 Kaukahi Street
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Contemporary European, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Kalai Waa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-2224

Website:
http://www.hotelwailea.com/RHW

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and Blues every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Come watch the dancing fingers of Mark Johnstone, an extremely talented jazz musician whom began playing at the age of five. Accompanied by John Zangrando on the saxophone Friday Night, you will feel the sounds in your soul. Saturday he teams up with Marcus Johnson on his upright bass sending the sensational beats drumming through your feet. Sunday nights hear soulful R&B tunes of Kelly Covington and Brian Cuomo. Their songs will bring you back to the memories of the past while you make new ones in the present.

Parking Details:
We have complimentary valet available or self parking if preferred.

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties on the open air lanai as well as in our garden dining area. Our upstairs lanai can accommodate up to 70 guests with a picturesque view of the ocean. The intimate garden dining area will seat up to 50 guests.

We have on site wedding ceremony space available as well. Please call for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeannette Kasin: (808) 463-7978

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
See All
Scenic View (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great experience. Server is very knowledgeable about the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Phenomenal Restaurant experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! 4 of us had a different entree and each were perfect. Beat salad was so unique and most ingredients are local. Ambience was stunning and it's open air make it extremely quiet and easy to have conversation. This IS DINING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great meal, excellent service. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food in a beautiful setting. We had a great time and will definitely return again next tine we are in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The restaurant was great and we had an incredible experience. From the moment we walked in. The food was amazing and our server was great! He was so knowledgeable, friendly and offered great recommendations, we were very impressed and he really made our night unforgettable. We were there to celebrate 33rd birthday and it was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here and absolutely fell in love with this place! It was a gorgeous table with wonderful food. Hats off to the chef!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 24, 2017

From the moment you enter the gates to Hotel Wailea, you feel calm & relaxed. You enter in to this beautiful world of lush greenery & the aloha spirit. Everyone is genuinely nice & professional - from the valet, to Madison the hostess, to our exceptional server Chris & runner Samson. What an incredible team & a memorable experience for us. Chef Sato excelled in ALL of our choices. We will definitely be back! Mahalo!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great dining experience, vest views on Maui, will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was a nice dinner but didn't compare to our other fancy honeymoon dinners. The view was okay- we were kind of put in the corner. The service was good but it's hard when you are comparing it to incredible service. My favorite parts of the meal were the appetizers and the wine... I guess I just expect more with this price tag. Also, this was the only fancy meal that we didn't get a dessert to celebrate our honeymoon. While not an expectation, certainly stands out as the only one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

First class restaurant, always come here when on vacation in maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This restaurant is expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Both our fish dishes were perfection - creative and tasty. The pretzel rolls were some of the best bread I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good, but not great. The lamb chops were quite good. All of the other food we had was average.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious food, attentive staff, knowledgeable sommelier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Staying at resort for our honeymoon. The view and the ambiance is second to none. The service is great and the food, what we ate, was excellent all around. My only issue is that the menu is extremely limited. We skipped right to the entree as the wife has nut allergies and that combined with personal taste left nothing from the starters and appetizers to eat. There are 5 or 6 entrees and less desserts to choose from. Again, no complaints on the food but need more choices in my opinion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My husband and I went here on our babymoon. The views are spectacular. The food was also amazing. The snapper was a must try! Our server Chris was fantastic and gave us great food recommendations as well as things to do on our trip. Very romantic setting but also an unforgettable view from each table. Does not disappoint!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Simply the best setting for dinner possible. The service and food were incredible too. A lifelong memory.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Romantic and cozy with amazing local organic ingredients perfectly prepared. We went for our anniversary and it was exactly what we were hoping for. Our new favorite restaurant in Wailea!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 29, 2017

People were friendly but sitting towards the end of the steps for people dining below, not my ideal sitting area. The food was really tasty and a very unique set up for dessert! Wanted to take a photo when we left but we couldn't find anyone at time.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I am extremely disappointed that I booked this reservation for 1000 points and only got 100 pts. I tried to contact them by sending a private note to correct the points. The restaurant never got back to me nor did they give the amount of points. It's Sunday and I had dinner on Tuesday. And I gave a very high rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Spectacular

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Amazing! The filet was the best meal I've ever had. We also had the tomatoes and ricotta with the best gluten free bread (very knowledgeable staff about celiac disease). Bar tender Chad was wonderful and made us the best drinks at the bar before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Stayed on the beautiful property and ate dinner at the restaurant. So a short walk to the restaurant on beautiful grounds. The truffle risotto was probably one of the best ever I have eaten. I had the tenderloin which I would give a 4.8 out of 5. The side of carrots were fabulous and I need the chimichurri recipe. My partner had the lobster and crab dish. He stated that it was the best lobster dish he has in his life. The spectacular view sets the entire meal over the top! The desert not to be missed is the chocolate lava cake and the special that night was the Nutella soufflé smooth and light! Overall, 4.9 out of 5 stars!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We visited this place often when it was Capische? We loved the former menu and the fantastic sunset views. Unfortunately, the menu under new ownership left us disappointed. Not only were the costs significantly higher, but flavors were lacking. I had red snapper that was so tough that I really needed more than s butter knife to cut it. And there was no vegetarian option other than an incredibly small portion of risotto served as an appetizer. I will miss the sunsets from this restaurant, but not the food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sometimes restaurants in hotels are are bit ordinary. Not The Restaurant! We had a fabulous dinner for my wife's birthday with our 2 girls. It's certainly not inexpensive but you can feel and taste the quality throughout.
We'll be back for our next special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This restaurant is among our top 5 in the world. The setting is beautiful and very romantic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Perfection. Absolutely amazing view, food, ambiance, service, and sunset. Best place on Maui. A do not miss. Loved it. One of my favourite dining experiences ever - and I travel all over the world.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and an even better bartender who produces some amazing cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing food, blew away mama's. Sole was great ask for him!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Best meal that we've had on Maui. Excellent service and the view can't be beat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service, food, ambiance hands down the best place to impress anyone. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is now owned by the hotel and the food was superb. Lovely menu. Good choices and worth a visit. Service a tad spotty. Once tried to deliver our dinner to a different table. You can bring your own wine for a corkage fee. The wine menu is very expensive and some over the top mark ups on wine. Food though very good and desserts were special. Well done. We would return again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Beautiful sunset views, delicious food and lovely wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My new husband and I just returned from an 11-night stay at Hotel Wailea. Of course, we tried the restaurant (three times). Needless to day, it was delicious. We went for dinner twice, and breakfast once. For dinner, we arrived on the evening of our wedding day (our marriage ceremony was in the morning). I had the lamb chops (best lamb chops I've had- be sure to use ALL the chutney that comes with them- it is scrumptious) and my husband ordered the snapper. While I was blown away by the flavors on my dish, he simply enjoyed the snapper- it wasn't much different than any other snapper dish we've had. That evening, we didn't order any appetizers, but we did do the molten lava cake and all said, the meal left us satisfied. Benjamin was our waiter, and he was prompt and personable (although I'm fairly certain he didn't know how special the meal was for us, and we didn't divulge). On our second visit, we ordered the kale caesar salad, the risotto, and the bolognese. All were delicious. We were seated in one of the bar high-top tables that evening because the restaurant was particularly busy, and that was fine by us. Finally, breakfast. Goodness, breakfast was amazing. I wish I remembered our waitress' name, because she suggested little add-ons that blew the avocado toast and the eggs benedict out of the water. She wasn't trying to up-sell, she was genuinely trying to make our meal amazing. She had the most beautiful smile, and she was by far our best server the entire stay- at any establishment. All said, we can't wait to return to Maui to visit Hotel Wailea and The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

11 high-end dinners on Maui and this was #1. Excellent food and service, some unusual menu items and a beautiful setting. Try the Upcountry heirloom tomato appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Beautiful setting, very romantic. Good wine list, and excellent food. Perfect service. Were there for our honeymoon and couldn't have been better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Just Wow food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Sadly it the food missed the mark. My ahi was good but not exceptional.im used to just knock me out of my seat fantastic. Ambience is great. It just missed the mark today. My wives lobster was the same. Good but not exceptional. This is always my go to spot when on this side of the island. Hoping they improve next trip.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My wife and I visited Hotel Wailea and dined at the restaurant in May of 2017. The entire experience--everything from the atmosphere, to the service, and of course the food, was exceptional.

I have no doubt that we would dine here again if we have the opportunity to do so!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.