About The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (fka Capische)

Hawaii's first and only Relais & Châteaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation.

From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden. Voted one of OpenTable's Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants for 2016.

555 Kaukahi Street
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Contemporary European, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Kalai Waa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-2224

Website:
http://www.hotelwailea.com/RHW

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and Blues every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Come watch the dancing fingers of Mark Johnstone, an extremely talented jazz musician whom began playing at the age of five. Accompanied by John Zangrando on the saxophone Friday Night, you will feel the sounds in your soul. Saturday he teams up with Marcus Johnson on his upright bass sending the sensational beats drumming through your feet. Sunday nights hear soulful R&B tunes of Kelly Covington and Brian Cuomo. Their songs will bring you back to the memories of the past while you make new ones in the present.

Parking Details:
We have complimentary valet available or self parking if preferred.

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties on the open air lanai as well as in our garden dining area. Our upstairs lanai can accommodate up to 70 guests with a picturesque view of the ocean. The intimate garden dining area will seat up to 50 guests.

We have on site wedding ceremony space available as well. Please call for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeannette Kasin: (808) 463-7978

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (fka Capische) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (29)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Waterfront (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful experience. The kampachi was the best sashimi I have ever had. The best meal we had on Maui . I can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding flavours !!! Fabulous ambience.

Great wine selection and excellent food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Beautiful and romantic setting with absolutely fantastic service. Our favorite restaurant in Wailea!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Over priced ! Small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Have been here when it was Capische. The menu has changed, but the food, service and atmosphere are still terrific. A little pricey, but worth a splurge. And after all it's Maui, nothing's cheap.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant when it was Capische and were nervous about the new restaurant & chef but it was amazing! The food was absolutely delicious, the service wonderful and the venue just beautiful! We loved it so much that we cancelled one of our dinner at another restaurant while we are still in Wailea to go again! Very romantic as well, especially if you request a table in the garden area. Great sunsets view upstair tables!

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day. This is the third visit for us. We usually make it the first upon arriving in Maui. It has become a favorite of ours. The prior years we celebrated our anniversary. Nothing but good things to say from the food to the ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have gone to Capise a number of times and thought it was the best ever. Under new ownership the restaurant is good but no longer the great experience at it was before. Menu items are good but not fantastic We will likely return, but really wish things had not changed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service food and not overpriced. Will return!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It's great but the map location is not correct. The location is up the hill not near the beach!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The restaurant mostly has seats on a balcony overlooking the ocean. When they sat us at the railing during a lull in the rain storm, I thought they were overly optimistic. When the wind blew the rain in, we asked to be moved to one of the booths on the wall side of the balcony. The rain eventually let up and we got a beautiful view of the sunset, but only after some fairly heavy rainfall. The food was excellent. It's one of the best meals we ever had, with every dish prepared extremely well. The cost was up there, but definitely worth it for a special event if you can afford it. I had the gnocchi (which is as light as gnocchi is meant to be, whole Maine lobster (with a stop over in Kona; the body was split in half, stuffed with crab and extremely easy to eat), mushrooms and sage (which was grilled to perfection) and gingerbread souffle.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is an excellent restaurant and a lovely way to spend an evening. My wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal that was professionally served and beautifully presented. Our table enjoyed a beautiful view and then a star lit sky. We are from New York and we have eaten out almost every night since we arrived on Maui six weeks ago and this was clearly our finest meal and experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Well, it's complicated. The attention to detail is wonderful as is the subtle complications of the crunch of sea salt in the butter, the aroma of the bread....and then there is dinner. My wife said the steak was the best ever- again, not your ordinary presentation. The stuffed lobster and vegetable "linguini" was great. All that and a bottle of Italian Cab- Franc made for a memorable meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We love this restaurant formerly named Capische for it's delicious if minimal food. Understand the high cost, but they are pushing that! No reason that the portions cannot be a bit larger for that cost. You'd never need a doggy bag here. But the chef is superb. Truly a master!! Just be prepared for a large check at the end. Of course if you don't drink, you may be OK. We will not stay regulars, coming weekly for 6 months while we're here. $270 is too much for a weekly dinner with all the good restaurants here!! (Each (2) had two drinks)!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great restaurant but pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely fabulous!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Beautiful location with exceptional service. The food tasted amazing. We were there to celebrate our wedding and they gave us a complimentary drink. Menu was pricey but as it was a very special occasion, we felt it was worth it. Valet parking was complimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fancy super refined upscale dining in Hawaii. Not waterfront but the elevated view is beautiful overlooking the Pacific. Great wine selection too. Perfect special place to watch the sunset

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The location is gorgeous. The garden is magical. The service was superb and the food was outstanding. I didn't put one bite in my mouth that wasn't amazing! Our best Maui dinner... :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We loved the previous incarnation as Capiche but the infusion of Relais and Chateau has taken it up a notch. Highly recommended for a superb dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Limited menu, but everything we had tasted fantastic! Unfortunately, it is expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent! Happy customers! Kudos to wait staff Benjamin and Samson. Applause to Chef Marco! For all the creative preparation that has gone into the menu. Loved the kale Caesar salad, as well as the Tropical fruit dessert that was a perfectly matched to our comp'd anniversary Prosecc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Really great food in a beautiful space. Wish we had gotten there before sunset to see the view. Only issue was a very pretentious waiter and one undercooked entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Chris our waiter was wonderful as was his helper for the evening. This restaurant is fantastic. From view to drinks to dessert, perfection. Can't wait to return on our next visit to this lovely island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was exquisite. The atmosphere was pleasant. The service was v-e-r-y s-l-o-w. We were sitting for 45 minutes until the cold appetizers were served. If you want dinner here, it would be advisable to arrive at lunch and order your dinner. Then it might be served at the desired time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

As a Relais and Chateau restaurant I was expecting a fabulous evening. I did phone the restaurant to indicate that we were celebrating an anniversary. This was not recognized at any time during the evening. We shared a mushroom risotto. It came in a bowl with no serving utensils. The waiter put it on the table and disappeared. We had to serve ourselves with our fork. The fish special of the day was excellently prepared as were a side of mushrooms. Overall, we were somewhat ignored. Disappointing for an upscale restaurant with process that are high even by Wailea standards. Many better options in the vicinity.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Outstanding in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This dinner with my wife for 49th anniversary was one of best we have had in many years. The selection was perfect. Service was top notch and dinner was beyond 5 stars. Mahalo to the chef and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We go to Maui once a year and a trip to Capische is ALWAYS a must. We love that it's set away from the action, has a sweeping view of the water, and amazing food. Their heirloom tomato salad is a must try!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent quality food. Great ambiance and service. Great views of the Maui Sunset. One of th must visit restaurants. However a bit pricy, so some may want to reserve for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Very small and romantic with wonderful views. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Exquisite dining experience - beautiful, creative food and presentation, delightful and attentive service, well balanced wine list. One of our favorite restaurant destinations when we're on Maui.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Special occasion for us and touched the restaurant remembered and comp'd a dessert. Dishes were very good, ahi tatare and grilled ahi main particularly memorable. Volcano dessert amazing. Portions were a bit small for price and value overall felt average ($275+ for 2 with a couple of glasses of lower end wine) I'd probably go back but suspect I'd try somewhere else at the same price point first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Nice location, OK venue! Service a bit disjointed! Wine list OK. Food very rich and good! Could not eat there every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Meal was excellent. Everything our server suggested was perfect, even dessert. Definitely will go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food. No problems with seating. Great views and excellent service!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing service. Our server was Erica. She was highly knowledgeable able the menu and was able to paint a very specific picture of the flavors and textures of each dish. Erica made it very easy for us to figure out exactly what we wanted to eat. She also provides very good drink suggestions. At one point, we were torn about which Pinot Noir to drink. She gave us a description of each and brought samples for us to try, rounding out our meal with the perfect beverage. Great experience and very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We waited a little bit for our entrees but the food was excellent!

Amazing view too with sunset and whales breaching on the horizon while you're seating.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Absolutely the best in Wailea! Service, staff, food all 5 star!! Good vino list as well. We're in love with this place!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

After this meal, I am convinced that there is only one restaurant on maui that is fantastic in every sense of the meaning and this is the one!!!

Every dish was excellent, our server Sole (pronounced Soleil) was perfect, polished and professional.

Great wine list too. Check out the price point on the 1990 Penfolds grange. Wow. Treat yourself. We will most certainly be back!!! A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Christopher, our waiter, was very knowledgeable and friendly which made the evening more enjoyable!

Thoroughly enjoyed dinner.

NC

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wow! Best we've had on the island! Views, vino, whole package! Will definitely dine again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing experience! Capische is a must do every time we come to Maui. The food, service and atmosphere are consistently impeccable! We had a spectacular sunset view table and several very attentive servers along with live piano in the background to set the ambiance. The kale and caprese salads were particularly good, both were full of very fresh, flavorful, fragrant produce. Both fish plates, the ahi and kampachi were perfectly prepared. Desert was hard to choose, but we selected the white chocolate mousse. It was the perfect ending to a fabulous meal. You will love this dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this restaurant! The food was outstanding local ingredients cleverly put together like art. Handcrafted drinks that were sumptuous. And one of the best sunset views around good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Truly a memorable meal and experience and surely the best and most inspired food in Wailea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very awesome place . Great people and very friendly workers. Waiters are very incredible they really know what there doing well trained and the chef is the best we really enjoy the delicious food. Kudos to all of you 😊 Me and my girlfriend is looking forward to comeback soon.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I have been blessed to dine at some of the best restaurants in many countries. This was a memorable experience and will be on our must do list each time we are back in Maui. The ambiance is special with an amazing sunset view from the terrace that also overlooked the garden dining area. The menu was filled with tempting creations that were presented so well and tasted even better. Michael, our server, gave expert advice in pairings that perfectly blended hearing your preferences and steering you to what you would enjoy. We dined relatively early (5:30 pm) so we could fully enjoy the Wailea sunset and several of the chef's daily creations were presented which was a great touch.

Overall, just a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.