Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (fka Capische)

Hawaii's first and only Relais & Châteaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation.

From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden. Voted one of OpenTable's Top 100 Most Romantic Restaurants for 2016.

555 Kaukahi Street
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Contemporary European, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Kalai Waa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-2224

Website:
http://www.hotelwailea.com/RHW

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and Blues every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Come watch the dancing fingers of Mark Johnstone, an extremely talented jazz musician whom began playing at the age of five. Accompanied by John Zangrando on the saxophone Friday Night, you will feel the sounds in your soul. Saturday he teams up with Marcus Johnson on his upright bass sending the sensational beats drumming through your feet. Sunday nights hear soulful R&B tunes of Kelly Covington and Brian Cuomo. Their songs will bring you back to the memories of the past while you make new ones in the present.

Parking Details:
We have complimentary valet available or self parking if preferred.

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties on the open air lanai as well as in our garden dining area. Our upstairs lanai can accommodate up to 70 guests with a picturesque view of the ocean. The intimate garden dining area will seat up to 50 guests.

We have on site wedding ceremony space available as well. Please call for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeannette Kasin: (808) 463-7978

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (fka Capische) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Scenic View (47)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Modern Decor (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (2)
Casual (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We visited Hotel Wailea restaurant on a Monday evening. We were familiar with the Relais and Chateaux designation from traveling in Europe. We know to expect excellence from this establishments who have this designation. Hotel Wailea did not disappoint. Everything was high quality. Service was exceptional. Roasted beet salad and crisp Mahi were both delicious. Balance flavors, perfectly cooked. We will go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the beautiful corner where we could see the sunset... although we live on Maui that never grows old... this is one of the few that offer Kamaaina... for us locals... the Food was great and the wait staff treated us like royalty... will definitely come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent. Don't skip dessert. Wine was pricey.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent in all categories. Best spaghetti in the world.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best meal I have had in a long time. My wife and I just stumbled across this on Open Table and were blown away! We had an amazing bottle of wine while nibbling on apps and watching the sun set over a canopy of trees and the great view of the pacific. I travel all over the world and eat at amazing restaurants for my work. This sticks out among the best. Anytime I pass through Maui I will seek this place out with reckless abandon! It's fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Risotto was excellent Smoked beets were also a good choice I had the snapper which was very good others in my party chose chicken which was nothing special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Meal was fantastic, amazing property!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Beautiful outdoor dining but also gorgeous place . As you walk to restaurant you see this beautiful black lava rock waterfall , and as you enter the building there's a high wooden ceiling that reminds you of island sophistication.
Service was genuine and really loved the recommendation of the fish that we had. It was very tasty and the vegetables were all fresh. The Caesar salad was a great start also. Ended the dinner with a delicious soufflé accompanied with gelato. Be sure to make room for this 😉.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

If you want a great meal out in Wailea then look no further. Elegant yet not stuffy at all. The server we had (Erika) and the service team was top notch. I have eaten at many of the great fine dining places around Maui and I must say this is one of the best all around experiences I have ever had on the island. Wine list very well thought out with a great diverse selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were excited about this restaurant based on the reviews and the rating. It's very beautiful and also very pricey. We were disappointed in the waiter. He was not very friendly and left us sitting unattended for long periods of time. I believe he was annoyed because we were not in a hurry and had trouble deciding on our entrees. But, he was not very helpful either.
It was a special occasion for us and we were disappointed ... especially with how expensive it is.
However, we loved Hotel Wailea!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful experience from excellent food, excellent service from Chris and team, and one of the best table views at any restaurant anywhere especially for sunset. Great location for special occasions and for those who appreciate excellent food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at
This restaurant --food, service, ambiance --best in Wailea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The setting and the food were both spectacular. The Kampachi Crudo was amazing, and the duck breast was fantastic. Our server gave outstanding advice -- timing and quality of service was spot on. Lovely setting. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great location, menu and service. If you are looking for fine dining, spectacular view and ability to carry on a conversation without all the noise and distractions typical of the massive, Wailea resort hotels, this is the spot! Look forward to celebrating another anniversary dinner at the Wailea Hotel next year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The most wonderful night in Maui. Beautiful view. Amazing food. Top service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing service! Great food! Good entertainment! Spectacular view at sunset! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing. 3 women who have a passion for food that every bite will take your breath away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We ordered a couple salads and a starter. There is really not much else on the menu for vegetarians. It would be nice to have a vegetarian option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Comparison of Capische vs. Restaurant at Wailea: Disappointed in the new restaurant chef presentations and taste of food. View is still awesome from the restaurant. At least Capische made much better chocolate martinis!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Having dined at Capische? many times in the past, I must only compare this new incarnation to that. The ambience is decidedly more reserved. There was no live music. Only the balcony was available. (I love eating in the garden below, but maybe because it wasn't that busy they kept it closed.) The service by Chris and Franklin (a Capische? holdover) was excellent. Another reviewer mentioned an amuse bouche, but none was offered. The food was of excellent quality. I ordered starter of risotto--- tasted great, cooked perfectly, but very small portion. I could not justify paying $28 for the tomato salad. The fish was perfectly cooked and a generous portion. All in all a good experience and I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Romantic atmosphere. Corner table on lanai with 270 degree ocean view of Kaho'olawe, Molokini, West Maui at sunset (6:30 reservation). Excellent kampachi amuse bouche, Kampachi (amberjack) crudo appetizer, and fresh catch (also kampachi!). Lamb chops were generously meaty and flavorful. Dessert was fun: a deconstructed S'mores called Molten Lava Cake. Excellent low-key friendly service by Chris (and runner Frank?). We appreciated the low-noise level, and the quiet music in the background for conversation. We recently stayed in Relais & Chateaux property in Capri, Italy, and it was nice to visit another one close by on our island.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Beautiful setting. Spectacular views, especially for sunset. Service & menu selection excellent. A little too pricey in my opinion--we have had fine dining experiences at similar restaurants for less money. Would probably return for a special occasion only.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very well-prepared food (we had the Onaga, the Ahi, the carrots, and the Kale salad), beautiful setting, fantastic view, friendly service. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Recd only 100 points should have recd 1000 see my confirmation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very expensive, and not much else. Go elsewhere for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had to wait 30 minutes for our table past our reservation time (which we were a few minutes early for). There was a wedding going on while we were having dinner and the noise of the wedding was clearly heard, and competed with the pianist who was playing for the restaurant. Let's just say having two (very different) songs simultaneously play all evening was not exactly enjoyable. The food was good, our waiter, Christopher, was wonderful, but the evening was ruined by a terrible headache due to the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I dined here our last night in Maui. The view was spectacular from the main floor overlooking the ocean and Molokini Crater, and the ambiance was very romantic. We had a 6pm reservation to catch the sunset. Food was delicious, a little pricey but worth it. Wine list was excellent. We loved the souffle of the day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is one of the best locations to enjoy dinner in wailea. The hotel is beautiful and the seating area for dinner is fantastic. Cocktails to start were average. The fois gras and kale salad for appetizers were great. The lamb chop easily beat out the filet for main course. The s'more desert was unique, but not a star. Service was good, not great.....the ambience stole the show.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great overall experience in service, ambiance and food quality. Best gnocchi ever!
Romantic and serene. Five stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food and service..highly recommended if in Wailea!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I guess it was an off night servicewise. It wasn't the cohesive dining experience that I expected and received the past 5 times when it was Capische

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

What a stunning location and beautiful venue. We had our adult son with us and all three of us enjoyed the evening from the view, then the wine list and menu. The food was prepared to perfection, our enter hot ( my husbands measurements) and dessert define.
It was our 35th wedding anniversary and we noted that when we made the reservation so we were a bit disappointed that was never mentioned or celebrated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing! The service could not be beat!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have stayed at the wonderful Hotel Wailea on two separate trips and we look forward to our meals here. Our latest meal was delicious ...a creative red snapper entree that was divine with a yummy chocolate fudge soufflé and a beautiful Madeira dessert wine to finish!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was amazing. Food delish! No view after sunset because it is really dark up there. Staff was really nice. Get the dessert sampler box. YUM

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

A fantastic setting with top notch food and service. Staff was very professional and attentive. A perfect place for a special occasion

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This was such a wonderful experience...food and ambiance were perfect for romantic dinner or with friends ....choices were interesting and delicious ...dessert was out of this world !!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

view was spectacular - quite surprising actually. Chris was our server and did a beautiful job making the evening a special night to remember. The food was delicious and fresh. The only downside is that we felt the pricing was about 10% higher than comparable dining experiences.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.