Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Osteria Savio VolpeOsteria Savio Volpe
(683)
$$$$
Italian | Mount Pleasant, Vancouver
Booked 58 times today
Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - VancouverGyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver
(220)
$$$$
Japanese | Fairview, Vancouver
Booked 47 times today
Hawksworth RestaurantHawksworth Restaurant
(2073)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 63 times today
Blue Water CafeBlue Water Cafe
(3419)
$$$$
Seafood | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 58 times today
Lupo Restaurant & VinotecaLupo Restaurant & Vinoteca
(1680)
$$$$
Italian | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 47 times today
Gotham Steakhouse and BarGotham Steakhouse and Bar
(1360)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 44 times today
Minami RestaurantMinami Restaurant
(981)
$$$$
Japanese | Yaletown, Vancouver
Booked 52 times today
Miku RestaurantMiku Restaurant
(2243)
$$$$
Japanese | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 134 times today
CinCin Ristorante + BarCinCin Ristorante + Bar
(2078)
$$$$
Italian | West End, Vancouver
Booked 47 times today
forageforage
(1668)
$$$$
Northwest | West End, Vancouver
Booked 70 times today
Black & Blue SteakhouseBlack & Blue Steakhouse
(1870)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 73 times today
L'Abattoir RestaurantL'Abattoir Restaurant
(2052)
$$$$
French | Gastown, Vancouver
Booked 46 times today
NightingaleNightingale
(900)
$$$$
Canadian | Coal Harbour, Vancouver
Booked 101 times today
Boulevard Kitchen & Oyster BarBoulevard Kitchen & Oyster Bar
(369)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Vancouver
Booked 28 times today
Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop HouseJoe Fortes Seafood & Chop House
(3337)
$$$$
Seafood | West End, Vancouver
Booked 75 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About The Reef Caribbean Restaurant - Main Street

The Reef is a Caribbean restaurant in Vancouver, British Columbia. The restaurant serves a range of authentic Caribbean dishes that highlight the distinct mélange of flavors known to the region, including West Indian curries, Jamaican jerk chicken and traditional rotis. The Reef's kitchen uses only the freshest ingredients in all its dishes and the full bar provides a healthy mix of cocktails and wine.

The menu at The Reef ranges from small plates and salads to full Caribbean meals. Start with paneer pakoras or a Jamaican patty. If you want something bigger there's plenty to choose from, like ackee and saltfish and Calypso oxtail.

4172 Main St
Vancouver, BC V5V 3P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Caribbean

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00am, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:30am

Cross Street:
26th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 874-5375

Website:
http://www.thereefrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
DJs spin every Friday and Saturday evening.

Executive Chef:
Collin Dawkins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
S
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2014

Great for something a bit different - food was tasty, music was fun, service was a bit slow. I enjoyed the plantain chips and tacos. The Dark & Stormy was delicious and I would return just for one of those!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2014

Everything was great. Really love the food. The Plantain chips are amazing! Will be back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2014

Always a pleasure to return here. This weekend the special (or "blaff") was a pulled chicken hash, with roasted red pepper, caramelized onion in a light hollandaise sauce. Please consider adding this to the regular menu. If you do, I will ALWAYS order this at brunch. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2014

Funky little bistro type restaurant. Try the tilapia tacos, and the jerk chicken. You can heat 'tings' up further with the hot sauce. Real Jamacian beer available, and the servers are friendly and efficient

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 16, 2014

House made hot sauce is amazing! Food was delicious. Had lipstick on one of our water glasses (not from us). Other than that great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2014

The food was good as always, but the service was lacking. The initial person that greeted us was great. He was energetic and professional. However the server who was at our table did not have the same energy. She didn't notice that there were 5 people at our table and therefore didn't bring another palce setting, you had to flag her down for refills on drinks, and she just looked like she did not want to be there. This decreased the enjoyability of our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2014

I had never been to a Jamaican restaurant...or Jamaica for that matter, but I will after having tasted the food at The Reef.
Highly recommended....:)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 24, 2014

Hard to hear folks sitting at you own table, sit outside if you are catching up with old friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2014

We had an awesome experience. Our waitress made our experience memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2014

Appreciate that we got a warning when we first got seated about the spiciness level of the food here (big plus on the spiciness!). The wait staff was attentive and friendly. On top of that, they have a DJ on the weekends. What more can you ask for?

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 25, 2014

We had a reservation during their rush. It was super busy and food took a while. Manager noticed and gave us a discount on the bill. I ordered the chicken potato roti but it was too spicy for me. Live dj played great music.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2014

The food here is so good! When I want something different than the typical breakfast options, this is where I go.
I love their jerk sauce - super spicy yet still with a delicious, well rounded flavour. Tastes great on everything!
And the staff are awesome too. I'm a little silly and surprisingly, they always play along. It seems like a fun place to work.
I highly recommend this restaurant :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 22, 2014

The reef has a fun atmosphere and a cool ambiance. We were a large party to welcome friends from out of town for dinner at 7. Since it was a Saturday night, there was a DJ, and using the Decibel counter app on my iPhone, the sound ranged from 85-100DB, which is high enough to cause auditory damage. This meant I couldn't hear the person next to me unless they turned directly towards me so I could lip read. I asked our server if it would be possible to turn the music down slightly, and she sent the manager over. He was dismissive and hyperkinetic, and made me, as a 28 year old, feel like a doddering old idiot. Then the food came, and it was mediocre, my soft tacos were a bit soggy, and my friend's beef was too tough to chew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2014

We had a group of 8. The server was really nice, personable, and made us feel like her only table....even though the place was busy on a Saturday night.
The food is excellent and easy to share.
I'll go back again for sure and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2014

Great service. exceptional food. Super accommodating for large 15+ groups, kids and last minute additions all in one go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2014

Great food, large portions, AWESOME jerk sauce! The only disappointment were the soggy plaintain chips. My plate hate a couple crunchy ones, but most were soggy. Atmosphere is loud and energetic, but wish they played some carribbean music. Service was lacking as our server only took our order and took our credit cards at the end. Overall, good place to try and a nice gem in the main street area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2014

The ambience was chill and so were the staff. But the food was not great. The slaw could use a lot of work and I am sure they could find a way to make the plates look a little more attractive. I had the Mahi and it just seemed to be missing a lot. The sauce they serve on the side was excellent (spicy) and the Johnny cakes were really nice as well. I wouldn't necessarily go there again but I can see why hipsters might like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2014

Food was amazing but they ran out of jerk chicken and couldn't accommodate all the orders. I sacrificed my meal and got the snapper but was sorely disappointed in it. The jerk chicken meal was fab though as were the appies

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2014

Overall, we had a great evening! There were 6 of us...the service was awesome and the food was enjoyable. Enjoyed our cocktails. We were glad to see a few extra wines on the menu for DOV as the wine list is a little limited. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2014

The Reef on Main Street has yummy food and cocktails! It is ideal for groups. Our group opted for the Dine Out menu and it was really good and filling!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2014

I went to The Reef during Vancouver's Dine-out event. According to my friends who had been there before, it is not usually as packed as it was that Friday night. Despite the full house, the service was outstanding. The reservation was for 3, we ended up being a party of 4 and although I know how irritating that might have been for the servers, they accommodated us quickly and with smiles. We were not an easy table that evening for various reasons and the servers went above and beyond. The food was really fantastic also and the place has a great atmosphere. I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2014

Great experience! With dine out I find restaurants are overwhelmed with the amount of people and the food quality and service suffers. Not with you guys, the food was excellent and the service was fast. Very delicious and authentic, will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 23, 2014

My enthusiasm for YVR food has been restored with an excellent meal at the Reef. A nice West Indian twist on their food and drinks makes for an enjoyable experience. No pretence, no linen table cloths, just honest food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2014

This is the second time that I have been to The Reef (Main Street Location) This time I went for the Dine out Vancouver Menu. The amount of food that I got was amazing for a dine out menu. I'm going back there from brunch next month.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2014

The jerk beef was delicious especially if you enjoy eating really hot food. The seared snapper off the dineoit menu is flavored lightly, so I thought it was okay. I think this place is better off eating on a regular day than dineout. Service was amazing though. I get the same every time, very friendly, conversative and always making sure I was good and my water always topped off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 18, 2014

We have been to this restaurant many times before and always had a great experience. This time we were there for Dine Out and felt that the quality of food wasn't up to it's usual standard. The entrees tasted good but the appetizers and desserts felt like they were quickly thrown together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2014

First time at The Reef had a great date ! Service and food was a real delight. Will be back for sure. Dine out Vancouver menu was fantastic and very well executed.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2014

I ordered the January feature - empanadas, jambalaya, and pineapple coconut tart. I had a Dark and Stormy to drink. Everything sounded better on the menu than it tasted. The food was not bad at all, it just didn't live up to my expectations. I have had a tastier Dark and Stormy at Calabash, and a tastier meal there too. The food seemed to lack the richness of flavour that I was expecting... perhaps I just don't know Caribbean food well enough to know what to expect though. I found the jambalaya a little bland for my liking. It was mostly rice, and only had a few pieces of prawn, chorizo, and chickent. The tart was good, but not memorable. I do like the atmosphere there. It is a huge space and has a comfortable feeling.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.