About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Closed Mondays
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30, Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday 4:00 pm - 9 pm
Brunch: Friday, Saturday, & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchrestaurantandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (39)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Casual (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vegan (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite place in Midtown Sacramento! ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite place in Midtown Sacramento! The menu will not dissapoint:)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great, but the service was terrible. We ordered fried avocado as an appetizer and our entrees about ten minutes later.

While waiting I watched three other tables, which arrived after us, get their entree orders. This was almost 45 minutes after we placed our order for the appetizer. I asked an older gentleman, who may have been the owner, about our appetizer and entrees. He promptly went to the back and returned with our entrees. The food was warm which indicated it has been sitting for awhile. Did I mention we never received our fried avocado.

We questioned the waitress about our order. She merely left and returned with the time the order was put in and stated it may have taken awhile because of the pork tenderloin. One tenderloin was perfect and one was overcooked. I know it doesn't take 30 minutes to cook tenderloins.

The main issue I had with the service is the waitress merely wanted to provide the time the order was put in. She never apologized or provided a reason as to why we never received the missing fried avocado.

People make mistakes and our bill was corrrected. However, all we really wanted was an apology and not excuses, but we never received one.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!! Received persona ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!! Received personal follow up from restaurant and was assured they would make our anniversary (on Valentine's Day) extra special. Had to wait 10 minutes past reservation to be seated and then they tried to seat us in the congested, noisy bar section. After letting hostess know that was not acceptable, her response was that we would have to wait longer while she tried to switch us to another table. What a MEMORABLE experience they left us with! What started as a nice surprise for a very special event ended with me feeling they didn't care at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!That is what making a reservation almost 2 weeks ahead and then getting a personal follow up gets you!!!! To top it off, even after sending email via website, there was no apology or follow up at all!!!!! GREAT customer service!!!! They blew it and do not deserve our business ever again!!!!!!!!! I guess they do not realize how powerful word of mouth is . . . What a shame!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

I appreciate that the restaurant offers ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

I appreciate that the restaurant offers vegan options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My fiance and I went to The Porch for a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

My fiance and I went to The Porch for a Valentine's Day dinner. I was disappointed that they did not have the fried green tomatoes that were represented on the menu. The server was friendly, but the service was very slow. We ordered a "starter" of beignets, which arrived with our dinner rather than before. The food wasn't great (I had a shrimp po'boy and my fiance ordered a hamburger), but I will likely be back to try the fried chicken.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Every time we go to The Porch we're impr ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Every time we go to The Porch we're impressed with the good food and service - Janelle is an excellent server. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was nice - the restaurant, at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was nice - the restaurant, atmosphere, service and the spot. The food was okay, it wasn't as flavorful and kind of pricy. Just my opinion, some may like it though. You got to try it for yourself.

Tags: Organic, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service! We had a party of 10 for ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service! We had a party of 10 for brunch which can be tough to manage. The staff was attentive, bringing coffee and water throughout our meal, and even exchanging a meal when my friend accidentally ordered something with pork in it. Very impressed!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! I can't complain about ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was amazing! I can't complain about that. Yet it was a long wait to get served 1 1/2 hours. Maybe because it was valentine's week. But nevertheless it was worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We decided to eat here before attending ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We decided to eat here before attending the theatre. They sat us before our reservation time, which was nice. Our waitress was friendly and informative It was pretty noisy and difficult to hold a conversation. Excellent starter of garlic bread with brie and housemade jam. The collards were excellent. The grits were a bit bland as well as the cornmeal battered cauliflower. My trip tip meatloaf and mashed potatoes was very good. My friend was underwhelmed with the fried chicken. I am interested in trying some other menu items especially the fried green tomatoes.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress, Yvette, was awesome! The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waitress, Yvette, was awesome! The drinks she recommended were excellent and she was very responsive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We plan to return soon! Also pleased to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We plan to return soon! Also pleased to discover today that you serve breakfasts, so I plan to bring some friends on Sunday morning after church. Really appreciate reasonable noise level. Do you know that can be improved with Sound Panels? With all the people with "reduced hearing" a reduced sound level would be a great draw!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite Sacramento restauran ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our favorite Sacramento restaurants. Pimiento cheese is amazing. I would say their desserts could be the best in town also. I could go there for a cocktail and dessert only and be happy. If you get dinner save room for dessert. Never had a bad dish there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ian, the bartender was great! Very frie ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ian, the bartender was great! Very friendly and knowledgeable about his liquor and wine. He made great recommendations about the food. We had the mac and cheese and fried green tomatoes - both were fabulous! Split the fried chicken - yummy - between the 2 of us and still brought leftovers home! Big entrees! We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, however they did not ment ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was good, however they did not mention upcharges for sweet potato fries vs fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

We always love coming to The Porch. Ther ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We always love coming to The Porch. There is always great food, great service and a great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Amazing food! I was going to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, Amazing food! I was going to try something new other than my favorite, shrimp and grits, but sadly they were out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all the way around! Great tast ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent all the way around! Great tasting comfort food and huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went based on previous reviews. The pl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I went based on previous reviews. The place lived up to the reviews. Very good!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find....had brunch and will defini ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great find....had brunch and will definitely return for an evening meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent one of a kind meals... Born in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent one of a kind meals...

Born in Mobile, but never tasted Southern Cuisine like I had last nite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great time at The Porch. My frie ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Another great time at The Porch. My friends and I took advantage of the Dine Downtown menu this time around.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place. Some great items others just ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun place. Some great items others just okay. Service was slow very busy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We ate at The Porch as part of the Dine ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ate at The Porch as part of the Dine Downtown Sacramento week, with prix fixe mens for $35. The food was not as good as the time we ate there before - an odd selection of dishes in the prix fixe men, except for the blood orange cheesecake for dessert, which was excellent. The service was also very friendly and helpful. It is, however, a pretty loud restaurant as soon as it gets at all crowded.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pleasant service, nice room, and hood dr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Pleasant service, nice room, and hood drinks. Food is ok, certainly not gourmet, but they are not charging gourmet prices. Large portions, could easily take half home for a nice lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We will be back. Share the chicken so y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We will be back. Share the chicken so you enjoy the side dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! Good price since it's D ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was great! Good price since it's Dine downtown week. Comfort and southern cooking...fried chicken was excellent and the gravy on mash had so much flavor! The pound cake and buttermilk ice cream was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!!!!!! Food was creative and de ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 16, 2017

AMAZING!!!!!!

Food was creative and delicious.

Drinks were on point!!!

I will be going back for sure.

Great Vegan/Vegetarian options.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I got food poisoning here ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband and I got food poisoning here. Do not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I love the Porch! The food is amazing, t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I love the Porch! The food is amazing, the service is impeccable- Great place to go for yummy Southern food. Throw your diet out the window and go to the Porch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at the Porch and w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was our first time at the Porch and we absolutely loved it! The food was amazing and the service was friendly and responsive. Our food came out quickly and everything was perfect. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Limited menu with very heavy food.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Limited menu with very heavy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Wait time for drinks & food was long. W ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wait time for drinks & food was long. Waitress was good. Very loud atmosphere. Once dinner finally arrived, my chicken was undercooked. Disappointed in my Dine Downtown experience. We even managed to get a parking ticket.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The Porch is a great mid town restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The Porch is a great mid town restaurant. I have enjoyed the food. My boyfriend's favorite is the fried chicken. Great place for brunch!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, quaint lunch spot! The service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great, quaint lunch spot! The service -- server was great. We had salads and po-boy's. Not your traditional New Orleans style po-boy, but it was still great. I can't wait to go back and try their weekend brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great as always. Server Shelley wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food great as always. Server Shelley was OUTSTANDING!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at a table in the bar for Sunday ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We sat at a table in the bar for Sunday Brunch, and although our waitress was very nice, there was a big gap in the timing of the service. Drinks were slow, two of three meals came out 5 minuets before the third.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I made reservations for a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I made reservations for a Saturday evening but when we arrived it was apparent they weren't needed. The pool weather might have been partly to blame but we were one of about 3 parties in the whole place.

We were seated promptly, got our drink orders in and perused the menu. He settled on the fried chicken and I got the shrimp and grits. It felt like we waited quite a bit for our food considering how slow it was, but the food came out piping hot. The portions were reasonable for the price. My husband rarely brings home leftovers (I can't remember a time in the past 5 years) but he boxed up about half of his plate that he couldn't finish. I usually bring home leftovers and also boxed up about half of my dish.

He said he would visit again. I probably wouldn't go out of my way to do it but it's a nice place to go if you want good southern inspired food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent food and cocktails...highly re ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and cocktails...highly recommend. We went for my birthday and had cocktails ( they have an extensive bourbon menu and many of the cocktails are made with high end bourbon). Had beignets to start and they were very good. Shrimp and grits for our main course, most delicious! Great desserts also, we had the apple fritters with caramel ice cream.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely love their brunch menu, and t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Absolutely love their brunch menu, and the service is exceptional. Our server was very in tune with our pace and timing- respectful and attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.