Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Closed Mondays
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30, Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday 4:00 pm - 9 pm
Brunch: Friday, Saturday, & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchrestaurantandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (38)
Good for a Date (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Casual (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Organic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vegan (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

The fried green tomatoes and chicken and waffles were very tasty dishes. We would order again.

F

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday brunch! Overall enjoyable but a few hiccups:

- Couldn't find gin to make a featured gin cocktail. The drink ended up coming out after we were done eating.
- Food was verging on cool when we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the vegan options at the Porch and the ever changing menu. I think some items on the menu are a little over priced but I do always enjoy the food. The service here has always been exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was busy, but not full, and the waitress was friendly, drinks and food were great, HOWEVER, the service was extremely slow. We waited over an hour for our food. For a restaurant to be so slow on a Saturday evening was really unacceptable, therefore I would not recommend this restaurant for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was very well done, although it was a bit louder than we expected. We recommend The Porch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I love the Porch. Only recommendation: add more cajun options to menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Breakfast came out cold, biscuits and gravy had a sweet topping vs the typical salty, savory taste. The place was only half full when our food arrived at 10 am on a Saturday. Sacramento has much better breakfasts to be had all over midtown and East Sac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wow! Amazing experience and the food was fresh and outstanding! Our waitress was great!! Highly recommend!! Even though the cost for two I thought was a little much, we’ll definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Organic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great brunch! Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food is delicious! The service is better than any I've received in a very long time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Was recommended by a friend for Southern comfort food & it did not disappoint!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Ordered a handful of items off the Vegan Chef Challenge menu and they were all delicious! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great service, awesome meal and dessert!

Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I travel all over this country and have spent a lot of time in the Gulf and South. I am always experimenting with food and eager to try new places to eat while on the road. The Porch is as good as it gets. Their Shrimp PoBoy is as good if not better than anything I have had in New Orleans!!! Everything we ate here was excellent and love the feel of the dining as well. As soon as I walked up, I felt like I was in some diner down in the South. A MUST EAT while in Sacramento!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Horrible service. Horrible food. It was so loud yippy couldn't even have a normal conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Love the vegan options - cauliflower po boy. So nice to sit on the 'porch' and enjoy the evening. Great service, atmosphere and food. Just a really cool spot in midtown that makes you feel like you are in South Carolina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We took our moms out for their birthday and our server was AMAZING, food was fantastic and the ambiance was all we had hoped it to be. Thank you for making it a great celebration!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal in a really fun environment. Our server was great, the food wonderful and portions huge! Try the fried chicken with green beans (no greenes the night we were there) and real mashed potatoes. Excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was very good. The best gouda grits I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

What a awesome change! Southern comfort food was exceptional! Shrimp and Grits perfect with just a small amount of BQ sauce. Service was very relaxed and at just the right pace! Will be back very soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Loved everything except the noise. I like a restaurant to have good energy, but the noise level made it hard to have a conversation.
We both had the fried chicken, and it was amazing. Worth the trip.

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great Southern food, for someone like me, not from the South. Don't know how "authentic" the Southern menu is, but the food was tasty and filling. The fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and fried okra were very good! Our waitress was very friendly and very helpful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Been frequenting The Porch more often since they always have vegan options on the menu now. Vegan food is outstanding and probably the best value on the menu. I continue to enjoy the high quality of the bartenders as well when it comes to making cocktails.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We love this place. We just recently moved to Sacramento and have been looking for a really great fried chicken place when we can't get to Napa. This is the place. The chicken is incredible. Huge pieces and the sides are massive - you will have enough to take to work for lunch for days. The chicken is crunchy and moist (has been doing a backstroke in buttermilk for hours). We love the mashed potatoes and the grilled corn-on-the-cob (not mushy, great flavor). Their fried chicken salad for brunch is so good. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great, friendly staff and fantastic food. It was a step above our already high expectations. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Porch was fabulous! Plenty of options for vegetarians/vegans and the good was amazing! Loved the wait staff ... one of my best Sacramento dining experiences!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Taking a lady from the South for some Low Country excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

really enjoyed the food and the help was very friendly and we got right in with our reservation. Since it was my wives birthday they made it a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Porch is a very inviting and homestyle atmosphere. The food was well prepared and had excellent seasoning and taste.
I would recommend the Porch for anyone looking for a casual quiet and friendly restaurant with several choices on the menu for a variety of tastes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Nick the waiter was phenomenal! So warm and knowledgeable. Would come back 1000%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I had not been to The Porch in years, and was pleasantly surprised by both the food and the customer service for a recent birthday brunch. First, they took the time to ask the name of the birthday celebrant for this day, and printed their name on the menu that was presented. The Bloody Mary was one of the best I've had, and the dishes we ordered were wonderful. (Shrimp and grits and the "hash up" as I recall.) To top it off, they brought a lovely dessert (buttermilk ice cream with fresh fruit) with a candle to the table to mark the special event. I noted how the place had a full crowd, even in the late afternoon, years after opening. Nice job!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Normally we absolutely love this place but this time just ended up being a stinker. I ordered something a little bit unusual and it turned out to be very lackluster in flavor. We love to sit on the porch with our pooch (very dog-friendly staff) and watch the car accidents occur on K Street. Definitely enjoy a Bloody Mary and biscuits!!! Outta this world, lazy weekend brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent Southern and New Orleans cuisine. The fried chicken is my go to dish. The patio is great for outdoor dining. The service is attentive and friendly. Overall, a great experience. We try to go every time we visit Midtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent restaurant, and a big change from the usual scene around Sacramento. Superb service, very tasty, very FILLING food, but not outrageously greasy or overdone NOLA. There was a spark of creativity to the southern standards, very much enjoyed.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice brunch. One of our favorite spots in Midtown Sacramento - consistently good

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Porch is such a cute restaurant! We celebrated our anniversary here and they made it extra special! The menus even were printed to include Happy Anniversary and the date!

The staff provided exceptional service and provided great recommendations! We went for brunch and the food was amazing! I definitely recommend the chicken and waffles & bacon! They also have really great coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Truly Southern restaurants serve Coke, not Pepsi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was very good. I would definitely go back for dinner

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had our dinner on the porch which was delightful in the evening. My chicken fried steak and mashed potatoes were bland, the gravy was tasteless and the biscuit was bland, too. The mashed potatoes were lumpy and bland. My companions each ordered salads which they say were good. Our server was great at making substitutions on the salads. We ordered the bread pudding with ice cream. It was dense and served in a long rectangle (like a cube of butter...only longer). It was just too dense and dry.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.