Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento

The Porch offers Sacramento a delicious down-home low country dining experience located right in the heart of Midtown! Featuring over 100 bourbons

1815 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:


Closed Mondays
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Friday 5:00pm-10:30, Saturday 4:00 pm - 10:30 pm, Sunday 4:00 pm - 9 pm
Brunch: Friday, Saturday, & Sunday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
18th & K Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-2423

Website:
http://www.theporchrestaurantandbar.com/

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Clemmons

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Porch Restaurant & Bar - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (48)
Great for Brunch (38)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Casual (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Fun (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Authentic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vegan (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (6)
Romantic (6)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful dinner celebrating our 39th anniversary. Loved how they customized our paper menu with our names. Fun and yummy evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

If you are Sacramento put this on your list!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent brunch! Debbie was our waitress and was awesome. She was our waitress when we had dinner there also. She went above and beyond normal service and even let us sample some others dishes. Great food, bloody Mary's, and Debbie. Great accet to your business.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was excellent and personable. Menu choices were varied and very unique. All our dishes were very tasty. Portion size was generous.
Nice ambience.
I would go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Loved The Porch! It is a must eat when in Sacramento! Portion sizes are huge and the foor is delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was great, I had the fried chicken, biscuits and gravy off the social hour menu. The menus change regularly, so the one on the web may not be what they are serving, This was my case, but the cook happily obliged when asked by the server. The restaurant is loud and even though it was mid week, the bar was very crowded and contributed to the noise. Service was a bit slow, but the server kept us informed of our order. Hubby had the salmon and thought it was a bit bland. Would definitely go there again and try to save room for dessert. Nice surprise, we were going to a play at the community center and revived 10% off our meal upon showing our tickets.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I had the crispy shirp salad and the shrimp were sooo tasty and well cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to The Porch three times, two of which have been for special occasions. It's a lovely little restaurant that is busy, but never terribly noisy. Each time, our server has been top of her game, energetic, wonderfully accommodating and helpful. Their brunch options are usually really something special, and the food is wonderful. A couple dishes I've had tend to be a little salt heavy (the chickpea scrambles and the fries), but overall, really good flavors. AND I love that it's a nicer restaurant that offers vegan options--though I'd always love to see more! MUST ORDER ITEMS: Fried green tomatoes, cajun fried beets, and the Porch Mary cocktail--best Bloody Mary I've EVER had, hands down.

Tags: Vegan, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food options for all diets. Absolutely loved the vegan entree! Staff was attentive. We would definitely recommend/return.

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Seasonal, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vegan, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I would like to like The Porch, but the food is inconsistent, bordering on schizophrenic. The cocktails were well-made, and there are plenty of novel choices (we ordered a Manhattan, an Old Fashioned, and a Senorita Picante — essentially a mildly spicy Margarita). The fried green tomatoes were quite tasty, but the accompanying hard boiled eggs were overcooked with that telltale green ring around the chalky yolk. Our entrees included the burger (pretty good, according to its orderer), the fried chicken salad (meh, nothing special, some fried chicken strips atop an uninspired salad mix), and the sesame-crusted salmon which was really quite awful. The salmon was overcooked and fishy, the gouda grits were mushy and under-seasoned, and the green beans were beyond inedible — tough, undercooked, stringy and weirdly gray. I won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous dinner! The fried chicken was great and the server was very nice and attentive. I recommend dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was excellent! Different than the norm but everything was worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my Sister and Daughter here for my sister's birthday. I booked our reservations on OpenTable and only specified that we were there to 'celebrate a birthday.' When we arrived, the hosts asked who was celebrating, and after being seated, they brought us menus with "Happy Birthday Megan" printed on top of them. What a special touch!! We got a huge kick out of the Punch Bowls!! They are A MUST when dining with a group of friends and family. The fried chicken was on point!! Looking forward to returning very soon for another great 'low-country' meal since their menu rotates, I think, on a weekly basis!!!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great time at The Porch. The food is wonderful and reminds me of my early years in Charleston. The decor and ambiance remind me of the Low Country. Quite frankly, excellent fare and a wonderful time. My compliments. I would be remiss if I did not mention the wonderful service, specifically our waiter, Hunter. Truly excellent service. In all a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We sat on the Porch and had a lovely evening. All dishes were excellent, from the Fried Green tomatoes and cornbread, our entrees (loved the shrimp and grits), through the decadent Derby Pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server Jennifer was pretty weird. She'd disappear and then said she was t even sure if she was our server. What? We say her three times and rarely did she seem to remember us. She was very strange

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent service. Always consistently good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great southern food. The shrimp and grits were amazing and so was the corn bread. Great cocktail menu and a menu that changes daily. Loved it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I ordered the Southern Buttermilk Fried chicken and it is delicious! The portions are huge and the biscuits are amazing. We both had green beans which are flavorful and still had a bite to them. I had the fried beets with come back sauce which I highly recommend trying. Be prepared to bring home a doggie bag so you can try one of the desserts. We split the blueberry old fashioned donut bread pudding with cream cheese ice cream. It was decadent and not overly sweet. A great ending to an awesome meal. Our wait staff was great, very attentive and polite. We will definitely come back and recommend them to everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I love bringing my family here for birthdays and get togethers. ANYTHING you order off the menu will be incredible, guaranteed. You can't make a wrong choice. The people working there are always fantastic. I love love love this place so much.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food is delicious, drinks are great. We have always had great service when we have dined here. Sometimes they run out of menu items, but there is always something else worth trying on their menu (still trying to save room for dessert).

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great ambience, great service and delicious food. It was our 1st time experiencing this venue and we were not disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food858u8! Great experience! Buttermilk ice cream was delicious and the brisket meatloaf was unbelievable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The Porch Restaurant was a great place to go. Just coming home from Charleston SC, we still had the Southern cravings. This did the trick.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went for my brother's bday. When we sat down and the menus were given to us, we were surprised that the menu wished my brother Happy Birthday and they gave him a complimentary serving of Buttermilk ice cream, which was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was a little slow. Collard greens was sweet, did not like the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, it was a Friday evening happy hour was in full swing so the noise level was a bit high ..The food was excellent we had the Spaghetti and Pulled Pork it was delicious , the Macaroni and cheese wow . I will be back to this restaurant in the near future .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went on Easter Sunday and they were busy. But food was great. Service wasn't. The server forgot something on our order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was delicious! Service was excellent and our waitress was terrific. Good experience especially since it was a holiday. Noise level is pretty high so if weather is nice we try to sit outside.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came for Easter brunch, but also celebrating several milestones for 6 people in our party.
We sat down at our table and found all their names printed on our menus! What a wonderful surprise and a nice touch. Everyone loved the food, and we truly appreciated the staffs hard work in helping to create a very happy memory and visit for us. In the end it was unanimous: We would all definitely be back. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Organic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely delicious Easter brunch. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my second time visiting The Porch and it didn't let me let me down. My wife and I arrived early and took a seat at the bar to enjoy some great hospitality and some specialty craft cocktails. This was followed by an excellent dinner in the dining room where we enjoyed the Mac n Cheese and fried chicken followed by the salted caramel ice cream. Service was excellent, friendly and not intrusive. Looking forward to my next return visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Hours on website aren't clear and we got there at 3 and the only menu that was available was brunch menu. Dinner menu didn't start until 4 and the told us we can eat bar food. Not impressed by the customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Met family for Easter Brunch, one day early. Food was great as always. It is the go to restaurant for our family get together that isn't at home.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everyone we know raved so our expectations were high, so we were disappointed to get so so service (coffee came but cream and sugar didn't come til the coffee was cold, waters empty a long time). First coffee and about 1/3 of the food came cold. The basketball game was on which made conversation loud in the whole place.

That being said the food flavor was delicious! The staff was nice. I don't like Internet bashing but I hope this review will lower expectations so future diners will not be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My family LOVES their friend chicken. It is so moist and absolutely delicious!
The biscuits second only because the chicken is so good and the honey butter is a treat too.
The portions are more than ample, we always leave with something for later or tomorrow.

The staff is friendly, attentive and accommodating. It was a quiet night in the dining room.
The Porch is still a treasure.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our group was 2 couples and we had great dinner. We arrived early and were seated without any delay. Service was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and plenty of it, maybe even a bit too much if you had an appetizer (which we did). Would have loved to try the desserts but that would have put all of us over the top on the amount of food.
Would definitely recommend to friends and family and if we were back in Sacramento, I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not many spots in Sacramento have these types of eats. Very casual and friendly, with pretty tasty NORCAL take on southern cooking.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Porch is one of the few must-go brunch spots my wife and I frequently go to. Although the prices may be intimidating at first, once they arrive to your table, it makes complete sense. Great portions and great taste make this a no-brainer for brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good service. Menu is easy to pick from, and not too big. Some dishes offer a choice of smaller and larger portions, either way at reasonable prices. Very impressive bar offerings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.