Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Pit Authentic BBQ

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (106)
Casual (73)
Authentic (71)
See All
Fun (66)
Family Style (60)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Groups (57)
Special Occasion (57)
Worth the Drive (57)
Great for Lunch (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Great Beer (37)
Hot Spot (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Kid-friendly (33)
Business Meals (31)
Bar Seating (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Romantic (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Historic (10)
People Watching (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Spicy (6)
Healthy (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Jenny was great, explaining menu to first time visitors in the group. Seating a bit crowded with loud kids on nearby table. Food was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very slow and dishes piled up between courses with nobody clearing the table. The food presentation was unappetizing. Everything on my plate was gray. We were disappointed since we had heard wonderful things. Dinosaur BBQ in central NY is far superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Party of eight, great food, waiters were very friendly and prompt. All were satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I had family visiting from Pennsylvania, one of which was a toddler. I wanted a family friendly BBQ place to impress them and The Pit delivered. Everyone left over-full and happy. A definite must do if you are in Raleigh.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

It was just okay. Nothing special despite the prior reviews we read as we were traveling through the area for vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

I was excited to try this place after seeing it on a few different shows. It was also recommended by the concierge at our hotel. It did not disappoint. The brisket and chop BBQ were both delicious. The brussel sprouts were great as well. There was a good local beer selection and some great specialty cocktails. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had seen The Pit on a few food shows and wanted to try it on our next trip to Raleigh. We had several hours to kill and drove around downtown Raleigh before lunch. The Pit is much bigger than I had thought and got a good downtown business crowd. They have a good selection of NC beers, both in bottles and on draft. Service was pleasant and helpful, plus if you wanted a quick bite at lunch, they could oblige.
We ordered baby backs and pulled pork and used the red sauce on the ribs and the vinegar based on the pork. Sides were a bit small but very tasty, slaw and black eyed peas. I'd highly recommend the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and the fried pimento cheese was delish too. Baja pudding ended the meal, tasty but very sweet.
I'd go back in a flash and highly recommend it for authentic whole hog BBQ.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, great waitress, bit of problem with Valet parking once we arrived. But I explained that I had made a reservation, from out of town and the Valet Staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to The Pit for Mother's Day. We were seated quickly and the wait staff was attentive. We ordered the barbecue fries as an appetizer. It came out almost cold. The cheese wasn't melted or even warm. Three of us ordered the smoked turkey, and all three us had bones in it. The sides are so small, really like a quarter of a cup. I had the brussels sprouts, and I literally had two brussels sprouts cut in half. Two of us had the fries as a side. They looked absolutely disgusting. They decided not to send them back because even though they said they looked bad, they tasted okay. I lost my appetite after biting into a sharp bone. It was over an inch long. I wouldn't go back. It was okay, but rather disappointing especially for Mother's Day.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there Saturday of NC State's Graduation. Most Popular place on OpenTable. I made reservations for 7 but it turned into 9. They seated us immediately. Service was great. Food was excellent, even though they ran out of pulled pork. Tons of food in each portion. Awesome cornbread.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to the pit many times this time the ribs were kinda dry

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined at The Pit a few times over the past few years. The food is consistently good and plentiful. The staff is pleasant and knowledgeable. Fun place.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best all around BBQ place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our extended family converged on Raleigh from all over the country for my niece's graduation. This place has amazing food and was the perfect spot for a celebratory meal. Our family likes to have fun and laugh and this place had a great casual vibe but with nice food and very friendly staff. Highly recommend it for big party -- we were a part of 10 and after I booked on open table I called and the manager managed to squeeze in two more seats on one of their busiest days of the year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service for my group of 12. Our waitress was top notch and the food was great! Thanks for making my husband's birthday awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We reserved The Pit to celebrate our son's graduation from NC State. Our reservation was handled very efficiently. The food was delicious and the wait staff was wonderful. We have always loved eating here. It's always a great experience. We will be back many more times in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I didn't think they could make fork tender brisket, but they did. Place was packed on a Thursday night, which says a lot. Very good banana pudding as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I went to this restaurant at the end of a long convention day. The food was ok but not up to par with some of the excellent barbecue we have in the Carolinas. It also felt like they were in a big hurry to get me out to get my table which is never a good feeling. So my overall review is "meh."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great ambiance and service, but the BBQ is not good. They clearly do not own a smoker or a "pit". We had baby back ribs and brisket; no char and not a smoke ring t be seen.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I was very dissatisfied with my vist here. The food was cold and when I ordered an iced tea with LOTS of ice it came with 3 ice cubes. Needless to say I won't be returning. I ordered the sweet potato fries not realizing they came sprinkled with brown sugar.. not good for a diabetic customer. These types of things should be indicated on the menu for people needing this kind of information for dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I ate here about five years ago and it was much, much better then. This time the food was just OK; plenty of other BBQ places that are better. They have a "team service" concept. NOT a big fan of that. Four or five different servers and none of them seemed to know what the other had already done. Three different servers came up to ask if we needed anything in the span of two minutes . . . which is rather intrusive when you're on a date. A single server would have asked once and left us alone. We were also seated next to the servers' station so we overheard their conversations to include all their profanity. All in all, not a great evening and we won't go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome service and ribs!! Consistently great! Folks from Europe praised it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a party of 6 and all got our good very quickly but the good was all cold. The meat was even cold. Veggies were cold and biscuits were hard as rocks . Service was ok-figured on more attentive waiters as they were not very busy at 4.45pm. This was our 2nd time at The Pit and we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our first opportunity to try Eastern North Carolina BBQ and The Pit got us off to a great start. Not your typical dive BBQ place that is for sure. The ambience exuded the current industrial look complete with high ceilings, and brick walls and a serious wine cellar!
We couldn't resist the Southern-style deviled eggs which were delicious. The filling had just the right amount of pickle relish which delighted my condiment loving husband and the eggs were tender and tasty! Mike thoroughly enjoyed his combo plate of brisket which was tender and flavorful ( it is hard to find that outside of Texas) and chopped pork and the eastern style bbq sauce which was tangy with mustard and vinegar. My fried chicken had a very crispy crust and was moist and tender -sounds easy but hard to find it executed this well. The basket of hot out of the oven biscuits were tender and flaky...took one home and it was pretty darn good the next morning. I wish The Pit was closer to our home as we would be regulars.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was a little disappointed because i was thinking the place was more upscale then it was.Looking at the picture online lead me to believe that,it wasn't bad just not what
i was anticipating. The food was very good with only one problem,a slice of my brisket was seared on one side.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It's always awesome at the Pit! Primary server went above and beyond.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was fantastic except for the very fatty brisket my friend had. Also, we had a reservation for 7:30, but still had to wait about 15 minutes for a table to open up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Overall, everything was good, a little noisy for me, food was great, service was great

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious barbecue! Great friendly service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We came in this past Monday night the 1st of May. It was our second time coming in. We had Kristy as our waitress and she went above and beyond for us. Probably the best waitress we have ever had. It made the overall experience better than what it already was. I highly recommend going here!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We could not have been more delighted with our dining experience for 10 guests on May 1, 2017.
It was a birthday celebration. We felt well served, but not rushed. Especially appreciate the nice set-up for the grandkids. Their paper menus also had some games printed on them. Their menus were specially folded and held their crayons. The amount of food per serving was generous. Will definitely be back again for more celebrations. Thank you Pitt.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was just OK. And I saw that as someone from Eastern NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I have eaten at The Pit before, as with all restaurants downtown it is loud, the portions are smaller than they were the last time, but the food is still delicious. I wish they had a better mixed drink menu, I am not a fan of any they serve, and I don't drink beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was excellent, service was great! Will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Normally the food and service is great. Tonight it was horrible.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great bbq!! Service was fantastic, the Pit uses team service. The Pit is a great restaurant to take an out of town business guest. Our was very impressed with the food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was ok we've been there many other times and had a much better meal. We were a party of 7 some out of town and we wanted them to experience NC BBQ not impressed 🙁🙁

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My wife and i went since we were in town and saw this on Food TV one episode. Good sauces and BBQ, pork ribs were tasty. Would visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food has unfortunately changed... the portions are noticeable smaller, the flavor profiles are different, and it overall just wasn't the same as it has been in years past. I used to love The Pit and always looked forward to going there. Now I would not recommend The Pit to anyone. There are better places in Raleigh to find barbecue and chicken.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

the food is excellent.
The service and hostesses lousy. The waiting staff shares tables, so you never know who to ask and they don't really care since this is not really their table.
Ran out of hush puppies, a barbecue restaurant in the south , no hush puppies !!!!!!!!
This is a place for take out because the only good thing in this restaurant is the food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.