About The Pit Authentic BBQ

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact Mollyann Russell at (919)829-0833 or mollyann@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Darrell Brown

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Plated Menu or a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (91)
Casual (68)
Authentic (61)
See All
Family Style (55)
Good for Groups (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Fun (44)
Special Occasion (42)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Lunch (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Great Beer (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Business Meals (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Outstanding Value (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (18)
Tasting Menu (15)
Romantic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (10)
Historic (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Spicy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

It was an awesome evening as usual. That was my 3rd time there. I'll probably be back the weekend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

The entire dining experience was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

We have frequented the pit over the years. The food is fantastic all the side dishes are amazing. Both barbecue sauces that they use are exquisite. It is difficult to get in and out on a Friday or Saturday night, but if you make a reservation early it usually works very well. We always use the valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

My fiance and I visited the area for our 5 year anniversary. The Pit was absolutely amazing! I can't wait to drive back to Raleigh from southern Pennsylvania again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Above and beyond service and the food was just yummy, as always -- BBQ Baby-Back Ribs, Mac 'n Cheese and the Banana Pudding are (3) must haves when you go there! My group of 10 truly had a great dinner and time!!! Many of them were 1st timers and will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Pit was extremely crowded so I'm glad we had a reservation. Found a seat at the 'first come, first served bar' and didn't have to wait long. Things seemed to be a bit "off" and not the usual, casual atmosphere. Even the bartenders, who are normally laid back and go with the flow of fixing drinks fast, were a bit scattered. Food was good but servings were much smaller than usual. I'd still recommend going as I think this was unusual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food we had on our last visit to The Pit was the best we have ever had the there. The pulled pork was amazing, the brisket was very tender, and I could eat the Endive salad with a side of pork everyday--it was just that good. (I substituted pork for the turkey that comes standard on the menu). Biscuits were fluffy and light and absolutely delicious.

Open Table had us seated within 5 minutes of our reservation, however, we were relegated to a corner table that faced the street, and the cigarette smoke coming in from outside smelled as if the person was sitting right at our table. Even though the windows were closed. It absolutely ruined the end of the meal because the smell was so strong, so don't sit near the front windows if smoke bothers you.

Service--our waiter was not very good. He forgot to tell us that certain items were not available from the menu, it took 30 minutes to get our water refilled after we had to ask for more, and I think he stopped by exactly four times, which included taking our order and bringing us the check. Check ins were non-existent so if you had a problem with your food, good luck. If you wanted another beer, which one of our guests did, your best bet was to go to the bar to get it yourself. It really was a a shame, because we had out of town guests with us hoping for some southern hospitality to go with their southern food, but it was nowhere to be found. I'd definitely go back for the food, but not for the service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was great. I had requested to be seated away from busy areas but this request was not fulfilled. We were seated right beside the hostess area and it was very distracting. It was very nosy. I think large part to the arcade and bar right next door. I don't remember it being this loud the last time I came here. Besides the noise, the food was delicious, like being at a cookout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Place was busy but still had a lot of open seating with big line-up. We just waltzed right in with our res. but we're seated right by the kitchen which I'll never understand because we saw all these open booths throughout. We moved to a booth. Food was 'okay' but I felt like my baby back ribs weren't cooked because it wasn't 'fall off the bone'. Pulled pork was nice but didn't like the chunks of fat in there. Fried chicken was exceptional and my son said the best mac n cheese he's ever had (we've just been through 6 states). Fries were good. They bring you a basket of deep fried corn bread balls and biscuits which were amazing. Young lady who sat us wasn't happy to be there.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our family of 4 loved the meal and ambiance. The Pit is a great place to feed your meat cravings and the kids loved it by ordering Pulled Pork sandwich and their ribs. My wife and I are vegetarian and were thrilled with the giant Black bean burger and sweet potatoe fries.

The servers were attentive and polite, we even had the manager approach us and offer apologies for our meal taking longer than they thought should have taken to be served....even offered us complimentary items and dessert ( but the meals were so filling , we passed on their generosity )

Definatley recommend The Pit to anyone coming to raleigh, its nearby lots of sights and the outdoor patio was in use with the warm weather.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Pimento cheese balls - excellent

Fried green tomatoes - ok

Brisket - great

Smoked turkey - great

Green beans - great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a pretty good place for barbecue, though the portions were too big. The place was full at 5 p.m. Service at the bar was spotty.My advice is to reserve a table and stick with it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Took my husband and some friends for his 45th birthday and it was our first time there. We got there a bit earlier than our reservation but was seated by our reservation time. It is a busy place, so I would recommend having a reservation. We absolutely loved the food. Best ribs ever! My favorite side dish was the mac-n-cheese. Great atmosphere and a lively location. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

BBQ is excellent and flavor is fantastic while cooked without sauce on meats. Sauces are great tasting and you can add what you like and volume that you want. Sides are very good also. Great deserts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We always enjoy lunch/dinner at The Pit! The service was wonderful and attentive. Their pulled pork is some of the best I have had, and the brussel sprouts deserve their own review! Everything is always fresh and tasty. We'll definitely be back!!!

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, and excellent service. Me and my boyfriend would go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is very good (almost every dish is worth tasting at least once); serving staff is even better. Reservations are a necessity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great Beer, Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The BBQ was good, but not the best. Recently moving from Atlanta, GA it made me miss the BBQ there

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I love the food. But I made the mistake of ordering the brisket again. Three thin slices of brisket is considered an appropriate portion for dinner? Maybe if you are 3 years old. I will return but only order the ribs as that is a adult portion of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time having Eastern Carolina barbque, not a fan, but the service and other food was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very live and friendly atmosphere. Great food and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall a good experience, but on Valentine's day it was obvious they were trying to cram in as many as they could, with 2 person tables so close that it made privacy impossible (within 3 feet on either side of our table). Food was great as always, but portions were lackluster. With some tweaking it could be the perfect place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This place is awesome. The Food is great! drinks are amazing and i would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Pit is always reliable for excellent chopped pork BBQ, pulled pork, Carolina ribs... and my favorite side is collards - always perfect. The mac and cheese appetizer is a pleaser. The complementary hush puppies are excellent. One of the special appetizers was a sweet potato cornbread which was excellent. The restaurant can be quite loud. Good place to bring out of town visitors for a taste of local Southern soul food.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Family Style, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was going good, until we received chicken wings as a appetizer that weren't fully cooked, Blood literally ran out.... It was everyone first time except for the birthday girl... The manager didn't charge us for the appetizer... Needless to say we want be go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and surprisingly upscale BBQ joint. My wife had the pulled pork, Mac n cheese and green beans, all were excellent. I had the fried chicken (MVP of the meal) brisket (a little dry) Mac n cheese and Brussels sprouts. The hush puppies as we waited for our food didn't last long and the cocktails were great. Service was top notch and when we asked our waiter at the end on a recommendation for some good live music, he came back with a list for us. Will absolutely come back the next time we find ourselves in Raleigh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was great. Seated immediately and food was quick also. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our fourth time and I doubt we'll be back. The food is pretty good but it doesn't make up for the long waits and uniformly bad service. They have a concept of a team serving you but it lacks cohesion and the ball gets dropped every time we come. It can take 30 minutes to get a drink and they forgot my wife's dinner and it was her birthday.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Pit has always been one of my husband and I favorite places to eat. After the birth of our son over a year ago, this has been the first time we have been back. We were disappointed to say the least. The only thing that we truly enjoyed was the Brunswick stew. We voiced our concerns to the waitress, who was awesome by the way. We then spoke with a Manager, who was also great and he took off several of the items we did not enjoy. It could have been that it was just a bad night for the kitchen, I don't know. But I would recommend anyone trying at least once and you can then be the judge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was our first time and it was AMAZING!!!

Food and our drinks - absolutely delicious. Highly recommend mac n cheese bites app, wings, fried chicken OMG, pulled pork

Our Server Chris was on POINT as were to other servers who all helped out and made the evening flow smoothlessly.

Place was quiet even though more on casual side with large bar area which was great so we still enjoyed a nice quiet delicious meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Business dinner with a person from Ireland and Netherland, first time enjoying southern NC meal. They were impressed, full and did not leave hungry. They enjoyed huspuppies, cornbread and NC style chopped BBQ. Also the chocolate cake and Cheer wine (no ice) topped the evening. A very quiet evening. Wait staff top notch👍 Thanks PiT

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Service was fast and friendly and the food was served quickly and hot!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation and when we got there they had ran out of what we wanted to eat.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The pit has incredible food and great service. On weekends, it can get loud so if you want something quieter go during the week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great. This place was very crowded. I really recommend making a reservation. I did and they kept the time, It was nice to walk in and get seated in 5 minutes when the wait time on average that night was 1 hour 30 mins.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We can to the restaurant on a date before a concert and it set our mood for the night. Foods, hostesses and wait staff all did a great job. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

AMAZING food and excellent service! I will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Short wait after our reservation time. Prompt service. We had 7 in our party, everyone really enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Loved the food, great cocktails, great portion size for the price, would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was good. It didn't have a home town feel though. Very much a corporate restaurant. Everything was good, but I wasn't blown away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was great, but the portion size was disappointing.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food especially for the price. Love the menu options and the service was impeccable. Server even let us try a side before ordering it. Didn't feel pressured or rushed. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They were very flexible with our group, on a busy night, when we had extra people above our reservation. Great experience as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was delicious -- Brussels sprouts especially. Great service and kind enough to hold our reservation when we called to say we were running late.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As usual, the food was amazing and the service was poor. I've never had a bag meal here but almost never have decent service either.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I haven't been in a few years and was surprised how good it was! I wanted to show my Texan friends real eastern NC bbq and it did not disappoint. Wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Tip: if you've never had eastern NC bbq, do the chopped bbq (not the pulled pork) as it comes bathed in some tasty NC sauce!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our service was outstanding and quick (albeit almost too quick for entree delivery time). The drinks were delicious. The food is always good here and the atmosphere is fun and energetic but you can still here your friends/family for a convo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Outstanding staff and food was excellent. Took our order quickly and orders were filled in a timely manner

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We took our granddaughter and her fiance here while they were visiting the area. Enjoyed the food, appreciate valet parking. Bonus - the chocolate store across the street!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great southern cooking at reasonable prices! Friendly service, delicious food--went for Sunday lunch! Did not feel like having dinner that night!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.