Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Pit Authentic BBQ

Empire Eats is proud to present The Pit Authentic BBQ: whole hog pit cooked BBQ featuring all natural, free range pigs raised right here in North Carolina. The Pit is located in Downtown Raleigh’s Historic Depot District and is helping establish North Carolina’s Capital City as a destination for the state’s signature cuisine in an elegant and lively atmosphere. Our Menu… Our team has crafted a menu that features our signature North Carolina BBQ, slow cooked over hickory and coal and inspired seasonal appetizers, entrees, sides and artful desserts. Our commitment to utilize the freshest, locally grown produce and seasonal ingredients allows the menu to continually evolve throughout the year. Private Dining… The Pit has private dining accommodations for parties of almost any size. Contact private events at catering@thepit-raleigh.com

328 W. Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dawson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 890-4500

Website:
http://www.thepit-raleigh.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining and Catering inquiries contact TaNele Walker at (919)829-0833 or tanele@thepit-raleigh.com.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking all day, every day. Street parking anywhere after 5pm

Public Transit:
The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!

Executive Chef:
Melanie Dunia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer private dining areas to accommodate up to 85 guests. We will customize a Family Style Menu suited for your event.

The Pit Authentic BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (121)
Casual (98)
Good for Groups (76)
See All
Authentic (72)
Good for a Date (54)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Worth the Drive (50)
Fun (49)
Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Local Ingredients (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Hot Spot (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Great Beer (29)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Business Meals (24)
People Watching (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Disabled Access (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Romantic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Spicy (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
4711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service. The drinks were fabulous too. Food was okay - nothing to write home about. We'd been expecting amazing things since so many people had suggested it to us. However, found the pork to be very bland and the portions too large! Loved the cocktails though!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing brisket, delicious grilled vegetables, just perfect, and that was just my meal. The other 7 people loved their meals too. The cakes were incredible also. We had really good service and the food was just incredible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Zack and his team were great. The first brisket came out a little wrong, but they fixed it quickly. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was my third time at the pit, and it did not disappoint. We were quickly seated at a comfortable table for five . Our waiter was friendly and attentive. And a Normas plate of hush puppies and biscuits was immediately brought to the table. We Ordered the sampler as an appetizer, it was very fresh and delicious. I had the big boy meat combo as usual and it was enormous. The desserts were also outstanding. If you like barbecue, this is the place to go.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My only negative is there was a bug in my cocktail and it completely threw me off for the rest of my experience. I hated to feel so weird about the food and stuff after but it was disgusting. The manager offered a free drink to replace it but seriously? Why would I want another drink? So another bug could get in it? No thank you. Food was pretty good but again I was so grossed out I could barely eat it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was mediocre for the price. Ribs were salty. Made a reservation and was seated 30 minutes past reservation time was told another party was sitting in the table they identified for our group. We asked them to put us a a different table and they refused (although there were vacant tables).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first visit ...we drove over from Greensboro, just to visit this restaurant...it was fabulous! All of the food was so delicious...service was perfect...I had the ribs and my boyfriend had the Big Boy Meat combo...all made to perfection! Definitely a place we will visit again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

excellent food and portions. I was accidentally brought beef brisket (instead of the BBQ chicken I ordered). They quickly brought out the chicken and let me keep the beef brisket.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Birthday party.

Our reservation was 20 minutes over the time. We were told to wait and I had to request status and they scrambled to get a table that was set up for a larger group. I am hesitant to use OpenTable for this restaurant now. The food was good overall.

The brisket and BBQ chicken were great. The ribs were okay and was not fall off the bone level for baby backs.

The sweet tea was just right and not too sugary. The desserts were great too. We had the pudding, carrot cake, and the apple pie. We took home a take out chocolate cake. Must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was amazing and the portion sizes more than generous! Loved every bit of what was presented to us. Had the ribs and chopped BBQ - wonderful, meaty ribs, great flavor to the BBQ. Loved the hushpuppies and fried tomatoes too. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Never have had a bad meal at The Pit. Always delicious and service is excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 13, 2017

There were three women in our party. The food we ordered wad delicious and the service was exceptional. Their service team met all our needs quickly and with great attitude! My vegetarian friend loved the black bean burger. My Texan friend said the brisket was wonderful. The pulled pork can't be beat! Loved the hush puppies. The fried pie was outstanding. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

My husband and our next door neighbor celebrated their birthdays together at the Pit. The food and service were great but the nicest thing of all was the complimentary birthday dessert presented with a lit birthday candle. We will definitely return to the Pit! And we won't wait until another birthday!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great experience from beginning to end! The food was amazing and the service was great! Couldn't ask for a better 1st experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good food, nice ambiance. It's reliable for consistent food and a good experience, though slightly expensive for BBQ and fried chicken.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Large portions, great food! Meal came out quick! We were in town visiting and family recommended this place. Glad we stopped in for a weeknight dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Total Letdown....Coming from the Southwest, whenever I visit the Raleigh, NC area, The Pit Authentic BBQ is always a must for this foodie. Imagine my complete disappointment when this last visit over Labor Day weekend was a terrible experience- especially having invited a 1st time guest. Not sure if they were understaffed or under different management. 2 stars instead of 1 were given only because of what I enjoyed from previous visits. Our waitress was very polite but had to keep apologizing for slow service in getting the food delivered. ( Appetizer came out long after the entrée but we had to keep asking about the status) Also what Southern -style restaurant runs out of a cornbread appetizer? As for the BBQ: The 3 meat combo platter gives you plenty of choices. Try the pulled pork - not dry and just the right amount of flavor. The pulled chicken was also very good- just very spicy. Skip the brisket unless you ask the kitchen to trim it really well. This time around it was disgustingly fatty. We ordered a 2nd plate of just brisket hoping it would be better than the 1st. Unfortunately, it took so long to get to the table, we asked for the check & had it placed in a to go container. Our mistake. The 2nd order was an even worse cut than the 1st. My hope is that management will correct these failures and make improvements ASAP. If you decide to give the Pit Authentic BBQ a try, make sure to sit inside or on the front patio. Do not sit on the patio facing the arcade/bar next door unless you like cigarette smoke drifting by and music that is distorted by their speakers ready to blow! It was a first to see people bring their dogs to a bar- they probably have hearing loss & upset stomachs after eating scraps from the ground.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've tried The Pit on more than one occasion, and if you're looking for great pork barbecue then it is definitely not worth your time or money. I ordered the pulled pork with green beans and potato salad. The pork was extremely dry, and when I notified our server he brought me more of the same. Adding a large amount of sauce (something I would strongly prefer not to do) was necessary to mask the dryness, but I could not eat even half of what was given to me despite the extra sauce. The sides were acceptable at best, and they were the only things I could actually finish at this place.

Being a native North Carolinian, I've had pork barbecue dining experiences throughout the state and elsewhere, and The Pit is among the worst and least authentic I have ever had. The place was super crowded (perhaps for some of the other entrees--the beef brisket my friend ordered looked tasty, and the ribs also appear to be popular), and our service was abysmal. Fortunately North Carolina is home to lots of great pork barbecue places, so there are a lot of other (and much cheaper) options out there.

Would not recommend to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brisket was great but the real winner is fried chicken! Beautifully seasoned, crunchy friend and not greasy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a nice restaurant . My food was Delicious but I expected a larger portion of meat. I had the brisket for 17.99 and it looked like I had 3 pieces of bacin

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Zack was our server and he was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic everything. 2 adults and 3 kids; service and food were outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall our experience was good. Valet Parking is a huge plus. Seated promptly at our reservation time. Our table for 2 was squeezed between another table of two and a table of four. Made us feel like we were having dinner with them instead of each other. The noise level was also a distraction. Wait service was Outstanding and the food was excellent. Highly recommend dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good dinner. This was our third or fourth time there since we moved to Raleigh a year ago. Very good wait staff.

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good food and the service was excellent. Very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Switzerland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Typical North Carolina Barbeque Restaurant. May be a little bit touristic, but it has everything you can imagine from a North Carolina BBQ. The pulled pork as well as the Brisket are wonderful. Fried green tomatoes as appetizers you should not miss! And fried Okras as sides.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

BBQ was okay but not what I expected for such a highly rated restaurant (top 10 BBQ according to Our State magazine). The pulled pork was very salty, too salty. The chopped pork was pretty good. It came seasoned with sauce and was good with a hint of smoke and a little heat. The baked beans were average. A friend had the brisket and he said it was very good. We had fried green tomatoes and Brunswick stew for starters. The tomatoes were kind of soggy but the sauce was good. The Brunswick stew was really nothing more than vegetable soup with chicken in it. It could have been cooked slowly for a few more hours to blend everything together and make real Brunswick stew. The hush puppies were very good but a little too small. They were like little round nuggets. The biscuits weren't all that great. The desserts we had were outstanding. Our friend had carrot cake and wow, what a huge slice he had, must have been an eighth of the whole cake. We split a homemade hand pie with blueberries and a cream cheese stuffing. This was really a fried pie. It was wonderful. I'll admit that I was a bit skeptical about a blueberry cream cheese fried pie. I'm more accustomed to apple or peach fried pies but it was great. It came with a scoop of ice cream and blueberries on top. The stuffing had blueberries in it and it was delicious. Kind of sweet and very good. The pastry was light and crispy.

I'd recommend the restaurant for the local connection but if you're really looking for good down East BBQ you'll need to go somewhere else.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent evening out with a couple of girlfriends. Chris "Ginger" was our waiter. Very engaging. Will definitely ask for him next time we return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was amazing! Best bbq I've had in a long time (although I should say I'm not from a big BBQ area--MD). Nonetheless, the chopped BBQ was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Collards needed flavoring,ordered wings came bloody...they immediately replaced them bettet job second time...tea was bland...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Date night with friends and The Pit did not disappoint. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The brussel sprouts are delicious. Even had leftovers to take home for the next day. One of our favorite places!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food. Great server. Banana pudding is amazing.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Sooooooo, the first hostess couldn't find my name, the second hostess said she would have to seat the other folks with 8:15 reservations before us. Odd, because my reservation was for 8:15. Nonetheless, we were seated in under 5 mins. The "team" of servers were prompt and friendly. I would return if I am in the Raleigh area again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

I feel the food mostly was good. I ordered the choose 2 brisket and pulled pork. Brisket was great pulled pork was so dry I had to use my drink to swallow.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Sat in the bar area. Very attentive staff. Excellent food and generous pours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was excellent... Love the Hush puppies and I think the Key lime pie should be part of the regular menu, not a special. It was terrific. Staff was friendly and attentive. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is a must visit when I go to Raleigh. The food is great! There is quite a variety of bar b q favorites. Some great apps and a good selection of sides rounds out the bill of fare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Definitely recommend the Pit! They were very accommodating and replaced my boyfriend's fried chicken without hesitation. A must visit if you're in the Raleigh area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.