Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 1.04mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About The Pass

Bringing the essence of the kitchen to each table, chefs will serve, describe and answer diner's questions, creating an authentic experience for each customer while placing emphasis on the process behind transitioning food to plate. Similar to dining at a chef's table, diners will be able to connect with the local and global inspiration and experience of each chef and behind every dish, in an upscale, casually elegant atmosphere, complimented by a thoughtful international wine list.

807 Taft Street
Houston, TX 77019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, International, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Seatings on Tuesday-Friday (6:00pm-9:00pm)
Seatings on Saturday (5:00pm-9:00pm)

Cross Street:
McKinney

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 628-9020

Website:
http://www.passandprovisions.com/

Parking Details:
We offer both self-parking and valet service

Public Transit:
BUS:

DALLAS ST @ TAFT ST on line 018 KIRBY LIMITED NORTHBOUND

Executive Chef:
Terrence Gallivan & Seth Siegel-Gardner

Private Party Contact:
Angela Moore/ events@passandprovisions.com: (713) 628-9020

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Pass Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 7 days ago

Fun setting, great service, interesting food. I'm a light eater and felt hungry, wish there was bread or something to graze on between the meals. Food was interesting and good overall but does not compare to any tasting menu I have had in NYC, so the quality and creativity could be kicked up a notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and service, very elegant . Must try at least once! The "fish taco" absolutely superb

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went for a graduation dinner. It was fun and interesting but there wasn't any one dish that wowed me or that I'd ever order again. The wine pairings were interesting but only one of 6 wines was truly impressive. The service was great and it was a unique experience, but as a foodie, I was underwhelmed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

An outstanding experience, start to finish. The prix fixe menu with optional courses was interesting and inventive, and the food first rate. Definitely for foodies, and a surprisingly good value. Drinks were not as well-priced, but overall, it was just a great meal. The servers were very helpful and personable. We will be back. A+.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have loved this place since it opened and it has been our top choice to celebrate special occasions. Last night however, we had a quite disappointing experience unfortunately. The menu was limited to only 5 courses (where in the past, we always went for the 8 courses!) and the paired wines are being served in smaller and smaller quantities... Our glasses were empty even before the food was served and of course, no refills... The main course was rabbit, that we absolutely love, but it was cold! When I asked if it was supposed to be served cold, they just told me "no", but no excuses or nothing! We are honestly so disappointed, because we were very happy with this very nice restaurant. Luckily for us, there are many new options of delicious restaurants in Houston!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Pass was absolutely amazing. If you're looking for a romantic date spot for a special occasion I highly recommend the Pass. The wine pairing was spot on, too. If you are a big wine fan, this is the tasting for you. Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a tremendous eevenjng, food was spectacular, service excellent without being overbearing, while pricey a good value for the quality of food and dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We booked the first table for the evening, and found all of the staff we encountered professional and friendly. Each part of our tasting menu was carefully and expertly explained, both the plates and drinks. We we very pleased with each selection and the pairings of cocktails to accompany our food. Each plate was thoughtfully arranged with an exemplary flavor and superb service. Can't ask for more! Well done!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Incredible dining and drinking experience, can't wait to get back there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I went 2 times last week but the second I decided not to have the tasting menu because I've just had it and I didnt like the vegetarian tasting menu. I think it would be better to have some things beside the tasting menu for people that dont want to have all the 9 courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

I did not enjoy this meal at all. We arrived at 1930 for our reservation and were told our table was not ready and told to sit at the bar. We ordered cocktails (which I expect is exactly what they wanted) and we were seated about 20 mins later. When we were taken in, half the tables were empty! The service was average, we had five different people involved in our service and no one seemed that interested if we are having a good time and all seemed to be reading off a script. The meal was fine, but way overpriced for what we got. Considering dinner with matched wine is $500 (including tip), you can get a much better meal in Houston. Oxheart kills this place on every level. The real kicker was paying $500 for a meal, and being charged $3 each for tea and drip coffee at he end - surely that's included?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Umm Wow! From the very moment you arrive you get the sense that here is a group of individuals who take pride in their work. It shows in the wine, the food, and the service. I don't even want to leave a review so people don't find out about this amazing eating experience. It's worth every penny. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great experience with the tasting menu and the pairings. Wonderful dining experience and staff knowledge and service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall an excellent experience! Our host, Jeannie, was pleasant, funny and very knowable about the food and pairings. A must for any foodie who enjoys an outstanding meal. Look for this restaurant to have a very bright future!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have been to The Pass for our last three anniversaries, including our 30th. The food is amazing. I always choose the vegetarian menu with cocktail pairings. You do not think you will become full after a couple courses, but by the end it is just right.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were excited to try this restaurant and found many of the courses to be quite delicious. Some were just ok. The menu was overpriced in our opinion. It was still a lovely evening and ambviance was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my fourth visit to The Pass, and it never disappoints! From the food to the wines to the service, everything is impeccable. Hands down, my favorite restaurant in Houston.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second time dining at The Pass. We were excited to return after a delicious first visit, but this meal left a lot to be desired. The flavor combinations were uninspired; the trout dish was of poor flavor, the cobia was bland, both the ravioli and the brisket in the koii brisket dish were tough, the pheasant and the suckling pig were boring. The only inspired dishes were the squid sausage and broccoli roll. The first half of our meal was paced well and the second half fell apart. There were large gaps in between receiving all the dishes in the second half. We spent an hour longer than we did this past summer. Incredibly disappointing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Terrible food. We were shocked. Expected much better given the accolades we'd heard. Only the dessert was noteworthy. The rest was bland to bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Type of restaurant thats more concerned with creativity and presentation than flavor.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall it was a fun experience to dine at the Pass, but for the price of the food I expected to be blown away for most of the 9 dishes they serve. I can't honestly say any reached that level, but there were some very good dishes. The cooking techniques used were quite impressive though, and every dish looked beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing as always!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I look at things such as Valet parking...are they polite and friendly. They were OK but not professional. I also look at the room. Just getting into the private room was pretty cool. Very elegant and uncrowded...the tables were set apart smartly. You were not listening to the conversation at the next table. Excellent. The wait staff was very professional and well mannered and dressed well...they did not rush. They took the time to explain each serving...ours was paired so additional time was taken to explain each beverage. Excellent. Food came in small portions but very tasty. Excellent. Table was cleared after each serving and all servings were presented at the same time. Excellent. The bathrooms were clean and attended too...since it was a mixed Male/Female bathroom it was a bit out of the norm but doable...each had a private room. If you enjoy talking to one another at the hand wash facility you will probably be comfortable. I'll give this an OK. Guys are generally not that "chatty" in the bathroom but apparently women are...I'll leave this rating to you. But please do ck out the bathroom. All in All we will return. The menu changes monthly but new additions are ever being added...remember it is a set menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great good thoughtfully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

GOOD FOOD, BUT NOTHING MIND BLOWING. GREAT SERVICE BUT FOR $400 I WOULD EXPECT A BIT MORE OF AN EXPERIENCE. NO RARE PROTEIN OR FOOD INGREDIENTS. IF YOU ARE VEGETARIAN THINKING ABOUT COMING HERE, DON'T BOTHER. THE VEGETARIAN MENU IS THE REGULAR MENU WITHOUT MEAT. OVERALL PRETTY UNDERWHELMING MENU.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was impecable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fab restaurant. Plan to spend some time there for the tasting menu!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Birthday, bon voyage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Liverpool)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for the NYE's tasting. It was great, but wished the time between dishes was quicker. The food was delicious, but I wished they would have done their normal dessert bar as a take away. The meal was quite pricey and probably not for everyone and for NYE I was hoping they would have done something special where we could have stay until midnight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This restaurant always surprises and impresses me. One if my favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great restaurant. Tasty dishes served in a timely manner. The ambiance allows for intimate conversation. Portions perfect to satisfy my appetite, but may not be enough for those with larger appetites. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Shame it is not Michelin star because it deserve it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was my 3rd time to dine at The Pass, but the 1st time in about 3 years. I'm not sure if the chef or management has changed, but the quality of the food has fallen drastically.

We had the 9 course meal. Two courses were excellent, four average and three inedible.

The service was too aggressive ... instead of one waitperson, we had three ... conversation was continually interrupted and they kept trying to take our plates away while we were still eating.

$415 tab for 2 people with no bottles of wine ... much better values out there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A great evening out! Pairings were spot on. Service great, and the food perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Pass was the best meal of my young life. If you have multiple people, I definitely recommend one person get the wine pairing and the other get the mixed beverage pairing. The only let down was the dessert. Everything else was incredible!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always fun and delicious at The Pass, the dishes are so creative and flavorful and the beverage pairings are spot on. Not a cheap dinner but the experience really is more than just a meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a expensive meal - $420 for two. The food was interesting and the mixed drinks pairings fun. I felt that the tasting menu was brought out rather quickly as I didn't have time to enjoy the drinks and they stacked up in front of me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great evening here. My husband and I went here to celebrate his birthday as our first time out since our baby was born. Amazing food, wonderful service and such a neat atmosphere with the open kitchen. Overall would definitely go back (budget permitting!) and recommend highly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was outstanding in terms of the variety of tastes and textures. Two "funky" wines in the pairings weren't good. If I come again, I won't get the pairings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Spectacular tasting menu and amazing service. Love the champagne cart. We arrived late and had the place to ourselves on a Wednesday evening. Unforgettable night.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.