Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Palm Washington DC

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

The Palm Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (50)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
People Watching (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (16)
Historic (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Family Style (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Private Room (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a stop when in D.C. Always welcoming at the DC Palm even if going around once or twice per year. The food and service are always great and consistently excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I chose the Palm to celebrate a special occasion while we were in town on business. What a great find! We started off with "small" salads (which were huge); caesar and the mixed green. Both were very fresh and tasty. He had the NY which was flavorful and cooked a perfect medium rare. We ordered a side of brandy peppercorn sauce which was good, but I've had better. I had the king crab - a huge portion and very good quality. My favorite part of the meal though was the perfect pacing. Stacy timed everything just right, giving us time to talk and enjoy ourselves without being overlooked. This is very hard to achieve and we had a perfect night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 4 days ago

Best part of D.C.!!! The atmosphere was great, the service was great and the food was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our lobsters were perfect. Not over cooked. A wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service combined with the food is the reason we return again and again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic, especially the service.
Chuck is the best. Mike is great at greeting and seating
As always, is a super place... Like home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The Palm Restaurant has great food and service. It is rich with history and you never know who you might see there including dignitaries and US Presidents.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Went here on a quiet Monday night. Service and food were very good, but nothing unusual, but pretty expensive even for DC. So overall pretty good but it has a lot of competition now in DC in terms of steakhouses.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food and impeccable service! The wine list, steaks and seafood are exceptional. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

GREAT PLACE TO EAT WITH A PERSON WHO HAS SEVERE ALLERGIES. THEY ARE VERY ACCOMMODATING. THE PLACE IS FANTASTIC.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My first time having dinner at the Palm. The food was excellent. My server, Ladawn, was great. She was very attentive. I will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First thing first, the food itself is fine, the steaks are pretty good I would say. But, second, they forgot our appetizer, third they made one of my friends steak overdone. So I have to give the service a 2 star. They do make up for that. We got champagne for the table and dessert tray for free. I think this is unlikely to happen again so I still recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It is the Palm!! Always consistent. Always good, great people!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great experience. Food and drinks were awesome. I can't say enough good things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Chuck the waiter is great and I've known him for 20 plus years.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was excellent, service impeccable. Atmosphere very ambient and relaxing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The service is good, friendly staff and helpful recommendations. The food is top notch. We ordered the bone-in ribeye and 14 ounce New York strip, along with the mushrooms and garlic whipped potatoes, and the steaks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The Palm in DC is clearly resting on its laurels and the reputation of its NYC restaurant. My 14oz stip steak was an absolutely terrible piece of meat. I spent the majority of my meal carving around the chewy fat and gristle that permeated the cut - some of which could barely be sawn through with the steak knife. For these prices, a NY Strip should be perfect throughout which each bite practically identical to the last. Regrettably, my steak was barely better than something that could be had at Ruby Tuesday or Applebee's.

And just when I thought the night would be salvaged by a piece of rich, chocolate cake, the piece of cake came to the table cold enough that it was difficult to cut with a fork. It was so cold, it dampened the flavor of the desert.

The only saving grace was a decent, reasonably priced bottle of Cabernet and the fact that my company picked up the painfully high tab. The Palm should be embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent as always. Great service historic venue.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best there is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The Palm in Washington, DC, is always an excellent place to meet with partners or business colleagues.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Probably the best steak I've ever had. A little loud and dark, but still a good spot for a romantic evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always like the Palm. Lobster, Half and half, and Monday salad

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, a little loud but the food was amazing and our sever was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing steaks and sides, engaging and funny staff. Very noisy but that's part of the charm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service was excellent. 5 stars from us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always enjoy the palm. The food was amazing and our server John was the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere very good service a lot of food. Would comeback.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was fantastic and so was the service. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wait staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal. Surf, Turf, and Italian. Jimmy was fantastic as our server and guided us expertly through our meal.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall highly satisfying. We had a wonderful waiter from Michigan who regaled us of tales on her move to DC with her girlfriend. Food was typically outstanding. The only real hitch was a very noisy table loudly and rudely disclaiming President Trump.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Have avoided The Palm in other cities since I've always believed the DC location would (should) be the best. Our party of 4 spent over $625 (including tip) - what a waste of good money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Business meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Hostesses are gracious and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We love the Palm and it didn't disappoint for my wife's birthday. We always get steaks which were great as expected but we also tried the ahi tuna which was incredible. The staff was great as well, always welcoming and eager to strike up conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have dined at The Palm on numerous occasions over the last 30 years. It has always been consistently good food with consistently good service. It is a little on the pricey side, so not something I could do every week. But I love it for the special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I loved the Palm Restaurant. The waiter was friendly and remembered everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Long time, famous D.C. Restaurant. I've dined there a few times over the years. Food was not great medium steak was medium rare - at best. Very loud although it was only 3/4 full. Very good wine list and we did buy a decent $160 bottle, but almost $600 for dinner for 2 was definitely not worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.