Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Palm Washington DC

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. If you can't find your representative on Capitol Hill, you better check Palm Restaurant in Washington DC. Since 1972, Palm Restaurant has built a loyal guest base made up of the who's who of Washington, including the political elite, the city's socialites, power brokers and media personalities such as Tucker Carlson and Bob Schieffer who can also be seen among the hordes of loyal Palm Restaurant guests.

1225 19th Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving Lunch Monday - Friday, 11:45 AM - 3:00 PM
Serving Dinner Monday - Thursday, 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday, 3:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday, 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Sunday, 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Cross Street:
N & M Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 293-9091

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Washington-DC

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available after 6:00 pm daily.

Public Transit:
Metro stop on the Red Line at Dupont Circle

Executive Chef:
Christian Fuentes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

The Classic American Steak House - Private Dining for parties of 15-80. Two private dinning rooms that will accommodate seated parties of 10-65 and reception parties of up to 100. Semi-private dinning for up to 80 people is also available. High Speed Internet is available.

The Palm Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Business Meals (59)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (40)
Good for a Date (40)
People Watching (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Authentic (25)
Fun (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Paleo Friendly (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Historic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Romantic (11)
Casual (11)
Family Style (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous all the way around. We loved it! Our server, John, was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This is our go to restaurant in Washington DC! If you could get the lobster fest and try the hash browns with it, you will come away happy! Bernie Sanders was there and was nice enough to let us take a picture with him!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The four pound lobster special is very good, particularly at $10 per pound for each extra pound. However, the noise level is so great that it is difficult to hear a person sitting next to you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the lobster special on Saturday. The lobster was sweet and well-prepared. The seasonal corn side was excellent. We also enjoyed our salads, and the carrot cake. Everything was very pleasant. (One comment: We ate on the patio area. The restaurant itself seemed, at least at the entrance, to have that "wet mop" smell.)

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food and our waiter Chuck were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great dinner again. Went on the first night of lobster special. Everything was on point. Nice bottle of Chardonnay. Salads. Lobster was well prepared. A few sides. Coffee and dessert. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Had not been there for a while. Service was fine, but a bit stuffy. Very loud and difficult to carry on a conversation. Had a wedge salad and the iceberg lettuce was sub-par. The Palm used to be a special place to go.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always, this was the perfect business lunch! Good food, great service, and an energetic vibe.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Palm is what you expect it to be, a good steakhouse with a good atmosphere, and good service. Everything was on point.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 8, 2017

AS always the service was friendly and outstanding.
This place is like home when i walk in. From the time the valet takes my car the friendliness of seating to the smile of waiters to the first taste of wine. It is all good!!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The Palm is one of my go to restaurants for business lunches and dinners. It is great, always.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food and service! Thanks for the great time!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great spot for a business meal/meeting. Highly recommended for food, speed or casual pace and service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great Food. Good for conversation. Staff was wonderful! Lives up to its reputation!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our 15th Anniversary. The staff had prepared a card for us very graciously! Wonderful food as always and the staff goes above and beyond.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely great steaks, everyone was very impressed and I'm not sure we expected to be. Nice wine list but obviously pricey. Very good server that added to the experience. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The service and the food was awesome. It was my first time eating at The Palm; but I hope to return soon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Attentive waiter Prices similar to Ruth Chris but better portions on sides and better quality steak All servers are more attentive, walking by to see if you want them for anything

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our waiter, Jody, did a great job of dealing with two young children. He even provided a visit to the live lobsters.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Palm is great ! I've dined here over 40 times and it never get old!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

As always, we were in perfect hands with the No. 1 waiter in DC: Johnny :) The lobster and steak were top-notch. Got to be one of the best steakhouses in the US. And the lobster was perfect. Not overcooked and they took it out of the shell :) YUM!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and service were fantastic
The creamed spinach was fabulous and the prime steaks are excellent
Highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food & service is always outstanding. Stick to the beef . One guest had soft shell crab found them unpleasant both in appearance and taste. Noise level is much too loud if you hope to have a conversation.

Prices have pretty much gone through the roof.

If you want great beef cooked perfectly with great service and don't worry about the price the Palm is the best in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always an excellent meal with excellent service! One of my go to places when dining with good friends or guests from out of town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great restaurant as always. Has kept its good food standard. One of my favorites.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

As always, The Palm did not disappoint. My boyfriend and I frequent The Palm for special occasions and tonight was no exception. We had a fabulous meal, Rubio was attentive as always, and

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

At little loud. Not sure I'd take a date here . Very difficult to hear and hold a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Palm Restaurant is terrific dinning experience!!! I love the lobster dishes!! I go to Palm Restaurant over the country!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service were both excellent. The side of mushrooms were the best we have ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best Steak EVER! We went to celebrate my son's birthday and everyone made it special!!!! We will return. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was adequate. Our waiter was great making several suggestions for how we could order what it was we really wanted. But, the noise is too high for a business meal. It was hard to hear the specials, so it was simpler just to order from the menu.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We took a family friend with a 10 year old to dinner & enjoyed the kid's menu, the ambiance on Sunday, and the luscious crab legs. All in all, a wonderful night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Average food, overpriced!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Best Food, Best People, Best Time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The Palm is like an old standby. It never fails to deliver on the promise of good food, great service and tremendous value.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The Palm is fantastic...i had the salmon and it was perfect...all the food and service is outstanding!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food is always good. But it is the highly personalized and superb service that really separates the Palm.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of my favorite places

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful food. I got the petite fillet, it was very good, just not the best I've had. But overall I would give the good a 4.7 out of 5.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.