Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About The Palm San Antonio

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

The Palm San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lump crab appetiser off the hook, dinner salad w anchovies perfection filet amazing The highlighted NY strip tougher than expected ...still good

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We ordered the shrimp and he brought the crab for an appetizer, then we ordered the 4lb broiled lobster and it clearly was the smaller 3lb lobster, the assistant who cracked the meat for us concurred. I've eaten at The Palm all over the country approximately 30 times, and this location is clearly not up to their standard!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

First off I have been to the Palm In NYC, San Diego, London, Las Vegas and this one was not even close to those. First off service slow AF an example 2 cups of coffee and one dessert 32 min 15 seconds, yes it was busy BUT this is the Palm not Joe Bob's Steak Hut, the food was as always good but sorry guys and gals out waitress not so good and you have be to all 5's to be in San Antonio (Food, Service, etc etc) color me very disappointed I even tried to talk to the manager but no luck, will not be coming here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Always my favorite restaurant for lamb chops in San Antonio

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As we have many times before, I made reservations at the palm for dinner before a play at the Majestic. It is now very noticeable that within the last few months the prices have increased, which would not be a problem except the portion have noticeably decreased. This is very obvious with the appetizers such as Calamari (the plate is about 1/3 smaller), Beef Carpaccio (used to go to the plate edge, now there is a on inch+ border around the plate) but the one that is most annoying is the fresh tomatoes, basil and mozzarella, where you get three large slices of tomato and a tiny strip of mozzarella that barely covers 1/3 of the tomato! The mains, except for steak by weight and whole lobster by weight, have also shrunk. I will reconsider dining at the Palm in future as my money would go further, with no loss in quality at several other venues.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We come here before every theater show at the Majestic and the Palm always impress's us with consistent quality no matter what entree we choose.
Handcrafted cocktails and great wine selection make every dinner at the Palm great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great place for lunch before a Broadway show at the Majestic!!!! Delicious food, great service and atmosphere. The 'power lunch' is very good deal!!! Love to see who I can identify among the celebs pictured on the walls!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was good, waitress was a bit slow though. The food was incredible, but definitely pricey. We had the NY Strip, Chicken Parmesan, and a couple of the dessert drinks and spent just under $175.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent place for a dinner date, food was good as well as the service

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food, Excellent service via Firman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was excellent as always, and our server - a delightful young lady named Whitney - did a top notch job!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent place for a dinner date, food was good as well as the service

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Awesome dinner great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is the only restaurant where I will order a steak well done! The chef takes his time and does it right, not char broils it! Service is also great!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cumpleaños

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Got together with family to catch up thinking The Palm was quiet and elegant. It was extremely loud and we were disappointed in the steak. It was cooked properly, but had a line of gristle through the filet mignon that should not have been there. Everything else was good, our waiter was outstanding. Overall it was not what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent , knowledgeable wait staff. Excellent steaks and seafood. Great wine selection. Perfect for dinner before a show at the Majestic Theater across the street

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My wife & I dined at the Palm pre Gipsy Kings show at the Majestic on Thursday May 18, our server John was cordial and acknowledged that we needed things to move somewhat quickly to make the show. Our meal was excellent, the service dropped off a bit , overall we had an nice evening at the Palm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Server was terrific.
Food was a great as always.
Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Perfect Mother's Day dinner with our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Took galpal for Mother's day. Everything was great! Food, service all on the money.
Bit pricey but this is not an everyday hangout.
Look for their specials - giant lobsters, surf/turf are good deals.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We like to enjoy a gourmet meal before we "go across the street" to a concert at the Majestic. They have a very nice wine list and are always accommodating to my wife's allergies. The service is always very good and the meats are truly "prime". It's not inexpensive, but it is a fine establishment. We will dine there again when catching a concert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love this place the food and the service is always great

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time catching up with neighbors! The Palm staff made our experience most memorable with delicious food and impeccable service. Thank you Erika!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food and the service was very good, with a nice wine list. Very nice option for a meal prior to any shows at the Majestic theater across the street; in fact they offer to hold any leftover food you are taking home for you to pick up after the show. Interesting decor but a lot of hard surfaces and therefore a bit noisy; our elderly companions had a lot of trouble hearing us. Our four dinners with one $54 bottle of wine cost well over $200, so it is more of a special occasion place in our opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent steaks (only ala carte) and service, sides were good but not incredibly imaginative or remarkable. The chicken parmigiana was more than enough for 2; perhaps even 3 (completely covered a large plate). $924 for 7 people with 4 sides, 2 bottles modestly priced wine and a couple deserts we shared including tip$$$.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great for parking near the Majestic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Met with friends after an afternoon matinee. As we were early and it was early afternoon, we enjoyed the ambiance of the Bar. Our table was ready at our "convenience". Dave waited on us and as it was the first time for our 2 guests we let him tell us all about The Palm. He had also seen the performance we just saw, so it was interesting to compare reviews. He was extremely helpful with menu items and the special options. Constant service checks and timely food made for good conversation and pleasant surroundings. Food presentation, quantity, and quality were outstanding. we finished off the evening with the wonderful Carrot Cake.
Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and certainly will return for more pampering.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Palm is well-known as a destination among San Antonio's downtown business clientele. I've always had good experiences there.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our food was excellent. For Pre-theater option, you can't beat the valet parking, dine, and short walk across to the Majestic. Recommend having reservations; ordering from the specials or uncomplicated selections AND be clear that you are going to a show and when you'd like to depart so you aren't rushed with eating or getting to your seat.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Was definitely over-priced. The crab cake for $15 was the size of a silver dollar and not near as good as it used to be. I felt ripped off. I told the waiter nicely, but he acted offended and never saw him again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The wait staff are oustanding and the food was great. Presentation was wonderful. Great experience and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The Palm staff came to my rescue when learning that an error had been made by another location. The treated me with concern and respect. Join the 837 Club and enjoy an excellent standard of care and service.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A great venue for family time or date night. I love this place because it is adjacent to the theater and the river walk.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Palm is always excellent in every way. Have never been disappointed. The very best restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 11, 2017

If you looking for everything a quality Steakhouse is all about and prefer your steaks done beautifully -not charged - The Palm is The place.
The Palm is my favorite Steakhouse
San Antonio is my favorite Palm restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We came upon the Palm in San Antonio, Texas about a two and a half years ago. We had been to a show at the Majestic Theater across the street and another one of our favorite restaurants was booked. We had the opportunity to try the Palm that evening and quickly added it to our list of "go to" fabulous eating establishments. My husband and I visit San Antonio every chance we get and eating at the Palm is one of the highlights. The service is outstanding, and we look forward to having O.J. or Amy as our servers. These two individuals are very knowledgeable, courteous, and make eating at the Palm a very pleasurable experience. Needless to say...we will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Made a reservation and was quickly seated. The signatures cocktails were extravagant and fresh with great presentation. The Chilean Sea Bass Nathaniel was flaky and so very decadent yet fresh. Our server was a prepared 5 star server yet he quickly identified the we didnt appreciate that haughty approached. He was warm and funny and treated us like the blue collar San Antonians we are. It felt touristy and a bit removed but the food made up for it. On this day, the Lobster Mac was truely a disappointment. Classy joint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is wonderful and with great service. The portions are generous to match the price. Enjoy this restaurant with friends, business partner or a date. You can choose to sit inside or out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The steak was cooked perfect to how I wanted it cooked. The portion sizes are good sized. The service was great as well. Good time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.