Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About The Palm San Antonio

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Palm Restaurant is located off the riverfront, making it the perfect place to start off or finish up an evening on the town.

233 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 226-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/San-Antonio

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
$6.00 valet at lunch. $10.00 valet at dinner.

Public Transit:
Red line Trolley stop at Navaro & East Houston Street.

Executive Chef:
Alejandro Zapien

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Special occasions call for special celebrations, and what better place to celebrate than The Palm? Our private party rooms provide the perfect backdrop for any event, and our accommodating staff will take care of all the details – from setup and decorations to your custom menu and drinks.

The Palm San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (53)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (30)
Romantic (30)
Bar Seating (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (13)
Family Style (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
People Watching (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Historic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service great food
I would definitely return

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Typically, the Palm is a great place before a show at the Majestic. Not tonight. They were off their game. Despite asking us if we were going to a show, the service was sluggish, the kitchen slow, and the steak was under cooked. We were served our meal 5 minutes before the show started. I have had many good meals at the palm: just not tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been here before so we knew what to expect. This is a very nice and classy restaraunt. Our waiter was excellent and the food was great. Be prepared to pay the price.Will continue to come here now and then.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Presentation on the crab cake and carpaccio of beef tenderloin wasn't very good. Way too much char on my steak (all i could taste was char if i hadn't gotten the truffle lobster butter). Lobster mac was a little runny and salty. The crab cakes were a little average. The doughnut holes were tough and chewy. The Lobster was good though (skimpy on the portion but good)

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our server was very attentive and very professional. She knew that we had a theater curtain time and saw to it that we were on time without taking away from an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Palm is always a treat for us. The service is excellent as is the food and you can actually talk in a normal tone of voice and not be drowned out by noise. I always go for their filet mignon but all of their entres are good and they have a wonderful selection of vegetables and other sides to compliment your meal. Their wine list is also excellent. Pricey but worth it once in a while.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We ordered great hamburgers. Cooked to our request. Water filled constantly -never had to ask. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Haven't been to a Palm in many years. I have to say this meal was one of the best if not the best steak I have ever had. Service excelled.
Extraordinary evening with my family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was the 3rd visit where the food was mediocre. Steaks were not prepared right and were cold. The cream spinach was very runny and the fries and onion rings were over cooked. The lobster was excellent and was a good value. When you pay $100pp, food should be exceptional. The chef needs to step it up. He gets a failing grade. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service from our usual waiter, Jacob. The prime rib was gigantic and a welcome addition to the menu. This place keeps us coming back for more.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service
Awesome food and great atmosphere
Celebrated our 18th year anniversary
My wife loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The steaks, chops, lobster and side dishes are always amazing - the lobster is the best in town and worth the trip downtown! Service is always outstanding; everyone is very accommodating. Thank you!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our entire party got sick afterward and it lasted for 24 hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a little loud for some reason and very difficult to carry on a conversation with our table.
The Waygu was a little over rated came out to cold and would have been better off with a normal ribeye. The Fillet was good a little to medium for a med rare.
Sides were good. Drinks were good. Took a little to long to get the food out. Not our best experience at the Palm. Introduced some new folks and they were less than impressed. Sorry but could use some improvement this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Absolutely fabulous dining experience !!!!! John was exquisite and on top of everything!! We highly recommend the Palm for that "special" evening !!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great server, and he made a wonderful wine suggestion. Thank you OJ!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had the surf and turf...wonderful
Service was exceptional!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and love The Palm. We started at the bar and I think the bartender makes the best sugar free lemon drop martinis anywhere! Our waiter David saved the night after a piece of shell from the crab cocktail (it should not have had any shell) became lodged between my tooth and gum. The pain was bad and David got me dental floss so the night was saved. To their credit, they took the price off the bill. My husband had sea bass and as always it was outstanding. My Louis Gigi salad was outstanding and we shared the au gratten potatoes. As always the wine was fantastic! Everything was amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My daughter and I were having our last night in San Antonio and what better way to end the weekend then a delicious meal at the palm. We also had amazing service, fantastic portions and they had a terrific steak and lobster special !from the hostess to the rest of the staff, they gave us first-class service and it was a very memorable meal and we can't wait to come back! Vicky Jones

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food got served and the service disappeared. After waiting on the check and finally getting it requested transportation to be contacted. My party after being ignored decided to wait outside. As it began to rain, returned inside to be treated extremely rude for inquiring about the transportation with the bar tender.

Good food but for the money you'd expect better service! I won't bother them again with my business!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server was amazing. Food was perfect. A little cool air temp for my girlfriend but the hot tea helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Extremely customer focused.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Steaks were excellent! The bone in prime rib was amazing! The lobster bisque was a little different and not as good as we have had at some other high end restaurants. The three cheese potatoes were good but had a bit of a different flavor. Service we excellent!

Nice place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food. Only problem was the loudmouth at the table next to us

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wow! This was a very enjoyable evening. Besides having the best partner for dinner, my husband; the waitstaff was tremendously courteous, helpful and a very pleasant each time they came back to our table. It was as if they wanted to make sure we had the best dinner ever. I couldn't have asked for a better Valentine's experience.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great, service was fantastic! The ambiance had a touch of New York with some 49's Chicago for flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding food, great wine selection and courteous knowledgeable staff members were the ingredients for an awesome evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steaks were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

had a great time ,on our Valentine's date ,can't wait to go back

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Show tickets

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great steak & lobsters.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Seated in booth as requested but oddly our party of 4 asked to move to another booth (almost unheard of!) after being seated and greeted by waitstaff--Even our assigned waiter was surprised that we moved!? More than half way through our $500 meal a party of 2 arrived for that booth but by then 2 adjoining booths were available as well. Very thoughtless and disrespectful -- will remember on subsequent choices for expensive steakhouse in SA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went here for my wife's birthday and were seated in a private area with a birthday card on the table. Our server, Patricia, was attentive and friendly and helped make the occasion a memorable experience. The wine selection was great and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Another great meal and outstanding service. Aleajandro was on it!! I had the 26oz Prine Rib. Very tasty but way too much for one. Took it home and had a great lunch the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always good. Found a good (reasonable) wine. Steak prepared just right. Wonderful service thanks Emily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great reward for my great staff. They were impressed with the fine dining and service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a great dinner before the show at the Majestic Theater. Super convenient and great food. Service was top notch considering the place was packed before the show. Will continue to eat here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

They are slowwwwwww. Got there at 6 pm and ordered right away. Over an hour to get our food. Left at 7:30 to catch a show across the street at the majestic. Food was fine; nothing to write home about. Service was better by the buser, if I'm being brutally honest. Really, it's just an overpriced steakhouse.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Reservations were for 8pm. Actually got seated at 8:18. The restaurant was crowded as always and the noise level was pretty crazy. Since we had show reservations across the street for 9:30, we had to ask our waitress for a "rush". The waitress was very understanding and accommodating. The pasta with clam sauce was tasty and the beef filet was cooked nicely. Nothing special stood out about the food. We felt that a restaurant such as The Palm could do a tad better with the bread and butter they serve before the meal. The butter (??) was tasteless and the bread was pretty bland. We will indeed return, but mainly for the convenience. The food is just so-so.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.