Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.51mi

About The Palm Charlotte

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Located in Charlotte's SouthPark neighborhood, Palm Restaurant is a destination along the brick walkways of the upscale Phillips Place shopping center, and lies minutes away from SouthPark mall, another premier retail attraction. Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.

6705-B Phillips Place Court
Charlotte, NC 28210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairview

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 552-7256

Website:
http://www.thepalm.com/Charlotte

Catering:
You provide the occasion; we’ll set the scene. Whether you’re organizing a rehearsal dinner or a business lunch presentation, we’ll work with you to create a personalized, enjoyable, and memorable event. Our team of expert staff will do everything required to create a positive experience for your valued guests – from the warm greeting they receive on arrival to their last bite of dessert. Visit http://www.thepalm.com/privatedining to start planning your event.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet & Self-parking are both available.

Executive Chef:
Colin Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something happening at the Palm! To learn more about our latest specials and events visit http://www.thepalm.com/Specials

Private Dining

Our elegant private dining rooms are perfect for every event! Whether it’s a business lunch for 10 or an extravagant dinner for 200, our expert sales manager will see to every detail, leaving you to take the bows. Ask about our Meeting Planner Rewards program.

The Palm Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Business Meals (30)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (11)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience. The Business Power Lunch is unbeatable.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Never have I been so disappointed in a restaurant that I was so highly anticipating going to. Using a $50 gift certificate, we had a family Graduation celebration there recently. None of us had been, so it was a special treat. Despite the fact that a reservation was made more than a week in advance, on which was indicated that my mother has Celiac disease and would need menu accommodations -- and despite the fact that our waiter enthusiastically informed us that the chefs were used to this request and could easily provide her with options -- they did a VERY poor job! Not only did they "run out of gluten-free pasta," which would have been the perfect complement to the breading-free veal parmesan that she ordered, but they brought out all meals (hers WITHOUT a side dish) without even apologizing or, preferably, coming out BEFORE serving meals and asking what else they could prepare for her to serve with her meal because they didn't have any gluten-free pasta. Alternatively, they COULD'VE sent a kitchen staff person to the Whole Foods next door to purchase some! That would've been better than what happened. Upon our requesting that something be served with her very thin slice of veal (never have I seen a piece of veal that thin and, of course, it turned out to be very tough/not cooked properly!!!), the waiter suggested some hash browns (gluten-free!). He brought out a generous order -- enough for everyone to share -- but only after everyone was almost finished eating their entrees! And later, in reviewing the bill, the waiter had the nerve to charge a very hefty amount ($15) for this side dish -- which was technically supposed to be a substitute for something she should've received free with her meal. While two of the meals were satisfactory, the linguine with clam "sauce" was the most tasteless seafood dish I ever had. The clams in grocery store soup are heartier/tastier/more tender. The sauce was flavorless! So disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dinner menu is strictly for red meat lovers. The menu has fish and Italian offerings but the portions fail in comparison to the steaks, yet the prices are similar. The lunch menu is more diverse. If you want steak in a restaurant that is on a smaller scale and more exclusive atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Having dinner at The Palm is always a treat, whether in Charlotte or in one of their other many locations. Sure, it is a chain, but it is simply excellent. To be fair, this is a premium Steak House, with premium beef to serve even if they do have a range of Italian and other specialties to offer. My date and I shared a very large cut of Prime Rib, that they butterfly cut and serve for two. Their Prime Rib (Friday and Saturday only) is simply outstanding with a slight smoke flavor to it. The Management personally helped to serve the food, and it made for a great dining occasion. The wine list is outstanding. We had creamed spinach and garlic mashed potatoes with the Prime Rib, followed by a desert of sampling a flight of numerous Port wines. Highly recommended for fine beef lovers, but they do have something for everyone. Outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had never been to The Palm but had heard great things about it. I made reservations and wanted a booth. In order to get a booth, we had to sit in the bar area which was not condusive to conversation. I asked for a mixed drink and was told that they could not do frozen or mixed drinks because they did not have a blender!! My companion asked for the pork porterhouse and was told that they did not have any. Very disappointing that a restaurant of that caliber did not have something that was on the menu. Service was good but the prices are too high. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always love eating at their bar. Friendly, attentive service, outstanding food and intimate ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

1st time going to The Palm. food was amazing, everything was pure perfection. The filet mignon was perfectly cooked and overall outstanding service. will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, it was a pleasure eating at The Palm, South Park, Charlotte. Had a loud table next to us, but they were having a good time, too!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We ordered a bone in Rib Eye and it was the worst piece of meat I have ever had. It was covered in FAT. I work in the Cattle Industry and know my cuts of meat - this was terrible! The service was sub-par - it was a Monday night and not crowded yet no one came to refill our wine when it was empty. For a $200 meal I expect it to be worth it. It was FAR from worth it. I could have gotten a better steak at Outback for 1/2 the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

When I made the reservation I told them it was our anniversary and celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. Nothing special was done. Not even a word was spoken about it. Service was just so/so. We had to ask for her to take dishes off the table so they could put our food down. The Gigi salad was tasteless nothing but iceberg lettuce. Steak and sides were delicious and cocktails were on point.
The Palm needs to step up their game. There are way too many great steak houses in Charlotte for this to be happening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great time at The Palm with family!

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have been going to the Palm for over 40 years. I go back in time to their original locations in NYC. The food was excellent Friday evening, however the service seems to have slipped a bit. we sat at the bar for a pre dinner drink and waited 10 minutes and no one even apprcoahed us for a drink order. So we went to our table where we sat again for another 10 minutes before someone came to take our drink order. There is a lot of competition in the South Park steakhouse scene in Charlotte. I think the Palm needs to step it up on service

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A first experience for me at The Palm. The ambience is very nice, but all hard surfaces make it noisy even if there are not many people there. The food was very good, but not exceptional when compared with the nearby competition (Ruths Chris and Del Friscos). Service was very good, but the restaurant was not very busy. The only hitch was for some reason, despite having a reservation, arriving on time, and the restaurant not being busy, our party was told to wait in the bar while a manager was called to seat us. Seemed a bit odd. Open Table was used for the reservation and it seemed fine from our end.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food and service were both excellent. Ambience seems a little more like a tavern than the upscale nature and pricing of the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was a special visit to celebrate the birthday of my wife and daughter. We try to visit the Palm somewhat regularly but especially when they offer one of there specials. In this case, it was the chicken parm. This is one of my daughter's favorites, and this was her introduction to this restaurant. Both she and my wife had the parm, it was huge and very good. My daughter took enough home for several meals during the week. My wife and I each started with a salad, they were great. My daughter had the calamari - there was enough for two or more people. I had a veal chop. all I can say is that after eating all the meat, I was looking at the none to make sure I didn't miss anything. The Palm is noted for the ample portions, and they didn't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a 2 year old with us, and he was anxious and crying for the 1st 20 minutes. We tried everything to calm him with no luck. We asked the waiter to box our meal for take out due to the 2 year old's actions. He agreed, but before he returned, the 2 year old returned to angel status. We asked for plates, and the waiter returned with plates and a smile. Our waiter was Michael, and a prefect gentlemen during unusual events at the dinner table. Thank you Michael for understanding and helping us enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Palm is always a nice experience. Very consistent and the staff is knowledgeable as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Was disappointed to see that they no longer serve the popular signature 837 Burger. I still had a burger, and it was very good, but the combination of the ingredients that made the 837 Burger so good are no longer offered. Would love to see that brought back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Palm was good, but I wasn't blown away. It didn't really live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

As always, great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

These people are unbelieveable!!! They held the last 5 lb lobster that we had requested even though we were late and the server stayed because we requested him!

Fantastic!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Joey always welcomes us with open arms and makes us feel like family. Our server was polite, knowledgeable and always checked on us! Good was over the top as always and no request was too trivial for him . We will be back !!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love everything about The Palm except it is so loud in there. Difficult to have conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We loved the lobster dinner but we had to sit outside because the inside was so cold. Probably 55 degrees....

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great company (my wife), food, atmosphere ...need I say more!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of our favorite dinning establishments in Charlotte. Always serve a great cocktail at the bar and the service, food and atmosphere are second to none. Hats off to the entire staff and thanks for being open on Easter.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We specifically went because they advertised prime ribs on Sunday. We had a 5:00 reservation and guess what they ran out. My wife called a day earlier and they assured her they would have prime ribs available. NOT. Anyhow it was quite noisy in the restaurant with children running around and it was awfully loud. Food was good but seemed to be a bit more pricey than Ruth's or Morton's. Unlikely we'll be going back real soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always an amazing meal and wonderful staff. Our favorite place to go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff and atmosphere at the Palm are always wonderful! My favorite place in town.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been to the Palm many times, however not lately. We both had steak. Neither one had any taste. My steak was a poor cut of meat and had a lot of grissle. I worked my way through college as a butcher, so I know what a $49 piece of meat should be like. The upside, they did credit me for my steak when I expressed my disappointment in the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not worth the money for chicken Parma with no sides. Too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service excellent and food delicious especially the crab cakes! Atmosphere way too loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Marcos was an incredible waiter and would recommend him highly!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 3, 2017

I've always heard great things about The Palm's Sea Bass and decided it was time to try...although it was hard choosing between that and the 3lb lobster.

From the moment we walked in the staff was polite, cordial and attentive (but without feeling smothered).

My fiancé and I started with two specialty cocktail drinks, the seasonal mule (blueberry) and a semi-sweet Hendriks concoction. Both were good, maybe a little too sweet for me.

We shared the Beef Carpaccio appetizer, very delicious and tender.

I had the Chilean Sea Bass and my fiancé had the 9oz Ribeye? (Both cooked perfectly, very tender and moist) with sides of potato hash, creamed spinach and brussell sprouts. The potatoes were my favorite followed by the brussell sprouts (lacked flavor) and creamed spinach (had too much cream flavor and felt really heavy). For our main course we each had a glass of wine, he a Cabernet Sauvignon and I a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc...both great additions to our meals.

For dessert we opted to share the 'tequila flight'. The tequilas to choose from were good, not your bottom self or call liquors. We decided to try one of each type, Avion Silver, Herradura Reposado and Patron Anejo. Needless to say, I definitely enjoyed our "desert" choice.

Overall our experience was great.

We didn't feel rushed at any point and everyone was very helpful and polite. The most important food choices were cooked perfectly and tasted amazing, and the beverage selections were diverse enough for anyone to find something they may like.

We'll be back in the future.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, efficient service, but not very friendly wait service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everyone's food was great except for the exception of my husbands. He ordered prime rib that was the evening special and it was extremely tough which was unusual. He told waiter after the meal and he apologized. Every thing else was delish. Just a bit disappointed in the one dish especially as it was the most expensive

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was one of the worst dining experiences we have ever had. The waiter was rude and completely disinterested in his guests. He never introduced himself, asked any questions and acted like we were lucky he even took our order. The food was just as bad. My husband's wagyu filet was under cooked, had no flavor and was thrown on the plate with no care. My veal was drowning in gravy and again, no flavor or attention to the plate. We could not get anyone to bring us the check and finally gave the balance of our gift card to the busboy, he was the only one the entire evening that put any care into his job. Absolutely awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

All staff, Joey, Will, david and paisley where excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.