Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About The Original Cottage Inn

The Original Cottage Inn restaurant opened its doors at 512 East William, Ann Arbor in 1948. This restaurant has had the distinction of being the first restaurant in Ann Arbor to serve pizza. The current ownership acquired the building at 512 E. William in 1961 and it remains the company's flagship today. The restaurant's first major expansion took place in 1975. The restaurant was remodeled again in 1980 and 1987. In 1993, a major renovation of the restaurant was done to include the second floor, which increased the seat capacity. This renovation also provided banquet room facilities. The restaurant offers a diverse menu of Italian and Greek dishes as well as pizzas.

512 East Williams
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11am - 10pm
Thursday-Saturday 11am-11am
Sunday 11am-9pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 663-3379

Website:
http://www.originalcottageinn.com/

Catering:
The Original Cottage Inn offers a full-service catering department. Please contact Katee at katee@cicatering.com or 734-663-3379 to inquire about booking an event.

Parking Details:
Metered parking. Parking structure on Maynard.

Private Party Facilities:
The Original Cottage Inn has two private rooms perfect for any occasion, with seating for 20 to 80 guests. Our upstairs dining area can accommodate up to 130 guests. Let our professional banquet staff make your event a night to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Tim Parent: (888) 331-2365

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kids Eat Free every Monday night, 5-8pm! We have a create-your-own-cupcake station and crafts.

Deep Dish Tuesdays: Every Tuesday, enjoy half off of our deep dish two-topping pizzas, dine in or carry out!

Wednesdays: $6 for ANY of our burgers, with fries!

Every Thursday enjoy half off wine!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Original Cottage Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Several of our coffee cups had dried food on them and had to pick that off. Quite gross!

Also we were next to another huge party when the rest of the restaurant was not that busy. Could have separated the two large parties better. Had to assist the waitress because she couldn't get around the table because of the back staircase. As the customer we shouldn't have to hand dishes nor drinks down the table.

Lastly the table cloths were stained with a red sauce. Clean linen would have been appreciated.

Will definitely have to really think about going back with a large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was amazing. Unfortunately they sat us in a corner where not even a foot away from us a huge ~20 person party was. We couldn't hear each other, and the waitstaff in general were more busy with that group.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had lunch and dinner on the UfM Graduation day and we had a wonderful experience.
Thank you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Not impressed with my meal, but I will give it another chance. When I return, I will order a signature food item and see if it changes my mind.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Under cooked pizza with toppings slopped on and an entree right from Chef Boyardee makes for a disappointing meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awful first impression for Easter Brunch. Stood in front of reception for - literally - five minutes as they (two young women) went over the seating charts for - literally - five minutes. I interrupted them and asked to check in and the reply was "oh, you haven't been helped?" They saw us walk in and go up to their reception table - of course we were waiting to check in. I'm not sure how you can look over a seating chart for five full minutes with a party waiting for help and not help them.

Our server was very nice and the brunch, as it is every Easter, was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

had the whole family here for the spring game with 4 toddlers. Loved that I could make a reservation for 10 on Open table. the waiter was very accommodating and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Dependable choice whenever we visit our daughter in AA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very nice visit. We always have great service when we dine here.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I went to the Original Cottage Inn with my daughter while visiting the University of Michigan. We had pizza and pasta, as well as clam chowder. Everything was excellent. The only negative was that our waiter did not seem to know he had our table and it took a while for someone to take our order. A manager did pick up on the error and came over to serve us. Despite that, I would have no reservations about coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed my meal and had a pleasant meal with a surprise visit from a close friend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the lemon chicken and is was delicious, my husband had a hamburger which he enjoyed as well. We had a really good waiter that was attentive and efficient. However, two negatives; upon requesting a booth, the hostess almost denied us because she was expecting a reservation to come in at 7. We had a reservation and were there at 5! After a bit of coaxing she seated us in a booth in a dark corner, we asked to change to another booth where we were not tucked away. The dining room only had two other diners, reluctingly she complied. The last negative was the lamp shade on the sconce in our booth was really loaded with dust, not very appetizing.
In spite of this we would definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food took nearly an hour after ordering and was just so-so.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place to bring friends and family. Food was great and just noisy enough to drown out your kid's screams.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Enjoyed fish and chips. Loved the light batter fish and the fries were not greasy. Great salads , w will return for the dinner menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Cottage Inn has good food at affordable prices. One of the better values in downtown Ann Arbor. It's a safe choice for all crowds, especially young families with kids because of the affordability factor. The eclectic Italian decor with painted walls and ceiling is an interesting and amusing touch.

As far as the menu, I've never had a bad meal there. And the pizzas are very good, with the BBQ chicken and cilantro being my favorite.

Tags: Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves and our service was very good. The large Greek salad was really not large and needed more lettuce. The house Italian dressing was outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved it Anthony was a great waiter. We will be back

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Booked The Original Cottage Inn for a company dinner for 15 people. We had the entire upstairs by ourselves. Food was awesome, had the bow tie pasta with grilled chicken, bacon. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was excellent, I would highly recommend this restaurant. Outstanding service with very friendly people. 10/10

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The lunch buffet was not too impressive. The green salads in the salad bar were not too fresh. pizza selections were limited, dessert choices were not good either. Overall, it would not be my choice for lunch buffet in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went there with a family group of 10. Had every appealing large table upstairs. Staff very accommodating to our needs. Also very satisfied with food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Original Cottage Inn is always a good place for pizza or other Italian dishes. The pizza is a step above the food at the other Cottage Inn locations around the area. This is a nice casual place after a football game in Ann Arbor or at most any time. Very good place to take kids. We enjoyed our visit even though we had to eat upstairs because we had 14 people. The main restaurant downstairs is a little nicer but we had 8 kids in the party so upstairs was fine. The pizza is especially good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Cottage Inn's weekday lunch buffet is superb and the best bargain in downtown Ann Arbor. A great make-your-own salad, pizza galore, Mac 'n cheese, tasty dessert, and much more. Go anytime during the week or for Friday lunch before an exciting home football game.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We were looking for something different and it was a good change of pace, along with some good pizza. It was a Wednesday and a little slow but service was good too.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and great ambiance. A must-go every time I am in Ann Arbor. It hasn't changed since my college days and that is perfect.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was fantastic. Such a popular spot that even with a reservation, it was overbooked and our party could not sit together. Management was not cooperative. Service was marginal at best. Waiter was flustered and kept forgetting our drinks, etc. Not a great place for anyone disabled. Very crowded and noisy but the food was excellent. Probably would of had a better experience if it was at an off time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

It was a nice place to get pizza. I would return the next time I wanted to get pizza.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Reasonable prices on special items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the meal. Great service, too. I would say the Original Cottage Inn is a step up from places like Olive Garden.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The pizza at the Cottage Inn was as good as I remembered from decades ago. Very good atmosphere and great service from our waiter, Nate. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great for a football weekend get together on Friday night . Good fun and good food along with lots of tradition !

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We came in with a party of 10 after a football game. Out waiter was a champ. The restaurant was loud, crowded, and crazy but he kept it all together and provided great service. As always, the pizza and salads were to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Literally was the perfect backdrop and experience for a first date. It was such quality that once the entrees were delivered we couldn't eat it fast enough, which embarrassed us both a little. From our server, to the cocktail, to the dessert there wasn't a miss at all. I did my reservation online and walked right in on a busy Saturday. We both were so impressed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were in Ann Arbor for a college tour and wanted to have dinner near campus. Reservations were available for that night (a Friday night) just a couple hours in advance. There was a large group waiting to sit down for a private event when we walked in but it took only a few minutes for us to be seated. I wish I could give this restaurant a higher overall rating because the service and the restaurant itself were fine and the value was very good. However, I had to mark it down one star because of the unusual flavor of its pizza - the primary reason most would dine here. We ordered the pizza for four, which included a full tray of pizza and large Greek salad. It was reasonably priced ($26, I believe). The sauce was a little sweet as I read in another review but the cheese also had an unusual taste. We all thought it tasted like bleu cheese but the server said it might have been the feta cheese they use in their cheese topping mixture. As a result, we each only had one slice, leaving a lot of leftovers, and I couldn't finish my slice because I didn't like the flavor. We also had the clam chowder (highly recommend this) and the baked spaghettini (it was fine but with the same sweet sauce and cheese mixture). There was a good selection of beers on tap and in the bottle. The restaurant is popular and I would recommend it if you're open to interesting flavors on your pizza.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was so poor that we didn't have to pay at all. The side Cesar salad was way over dressed and the large margarita pizza was so bad it we couldn't eat it. The thin crust was so wet and soggy and not cooked.
But our waiter and manager was super nice and very apologetic.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great server… Very patient… Offered samples of beer… Wanted to please… The chicken wings with barbecue sauce appetizer was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2016

When we entered the restaurant, we were directed towards a table hidden from view of the rest of the restaurant and away from the windows, one close to the kitchen. Is this because we are Muslim and my wife wears a headscarf? There were tons of empty tables around the rest of the restaurant, so we requested to move to a different one. Our waitress wasn't as pleasant to us as she was being to others; she seemed annoyed when we asked her if one of the dishes had wine or other alcohol ingredients in it. The food was great, but our overall experience was just uncomfortable and we would neither go back again or recommend to friends. At least not that location (Ann Arbor).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We made the mistake of heading here graduation weekend. Despite this, our server was very attentive. I think the only thing that suffered in our food was, surprisingly, our pizza (very average). The salad, bread, chicken and veggies and pasta were all consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.