About The Old Inn On The Green

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, “The Old Inn On The Green” can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Scenic View (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Warm, romantic, inviting atmosphere with classic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have come here for years, and have noticed a recent decline in the service. Slow and not as gracious as we had been accustomed to. For 2 separate occasions we had called ahead to have a candle put in the dessert, and after being assured this would happen, it never did on either occasion.
Also, the 3 course special dinner options should be more frequently rotated.
Food continues to be exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was for a special mother/daughter dinner.
We were seated at a window table in a small somewhat secluded dining room.
The table was set, candles were lit upon our arrival.

Before presented with a menu we were served several delicious amuse bouche as hors'oeuvre.

We selected from their special welcome menu and chose a very dry riesling to accomany the meal.

All three courses were delicious, the service was attentive and outstanding and the experience was relaxing "special"

It was well worth the money and the long drive from Lenox.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Lovely setting but food and service poor. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous as always. My husband and I have patronized The Old Inn on the Green since 2000. This is the best restaurant in the Berkshires. The food is always outstanding. The service excellent. The room is romantic using only candlelight. Just marvelous. Definitely worth the drive no matter what.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fantastic ambience, delicious food, great service. A very special spot for a glorious dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The Old Inn is strikingly handsome from the outside, situated in a peaceful, garden-like setting. But inside it doesn't seemed to have changed much in the last 200 years, and - especially on a sunny August evening - the candlelit dining rooms felt dark and claustrophobic! Fortunately we arrived early enough to be seated on the bright outdoor patio so we could fully appreciate the beautiful surrounds, as well as the highly frequented bird-feeder just the other side of the screen. The dinner and service were pleasant enough, but not outstanding, and in my opinion, did not rate the NYC prices. My companion's salmon was good, but my halibut, promisingly olive-crusted, but disappointingly dry (and thus rather tasteless), and the tiny cheese platter was accompanied by a choice of bland white bread only. The Inn appears to be very popular with locals, but given the vast array of great dining in the Berkshires, I would not go out of my way to make the trip again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although the cost was on the higher side, we were aware of this and it did not affect our dinner. I was very pleased with the food. We had the warm goat cheese appetizer and I had the steak entree. The steak was cooked perfectly and was very tender and flavorful. We chose a lovely red wine to accompany the meal. Mostly, I wanted to thank our waiter, Jason. He was a perfect mix of friendly and helpful. He gave us plenty of privacy but was there in a second should we have a question. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We stayed at the Old Inn for just one night. What a beautiful location. The restaurant was candlelight only and the food was outstanding. The service was excellent and while staying at the Inn the dinner was basically free. What a great value. We would go back anytime.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very very nice. Wonderful food, great service. The only negative is the didn't have ingredients for French martini and did not know how to make nutty irishman.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My second time to this charming restaurant in the old inn. First time was an anniversary dinner with my husband. This time with 2 cousins on a "girls" trip to the Berkshires. Wonderful both times!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It was my wife birthday and we had dinner with our daughter and her 5 months old baby girl.
We all had the chef's taste menue: very good. Excellent service and atmosphere.
We will go back.
Carlo

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The welcome seemed a bit off but the service & food were as expected, superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

What a beautiful and special place. The dining room was romantic and it felt like we were stepping back in time. Our server was knowledgeable and the food was so good. We did the tasting menu and loved every course!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Had a graduation celebration for my son with five in our party. We chose the 8 course "tasting" menu option. Not a single course disappointed. Reasonable value too. Will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Absolutely awesome. Our server Starr was amazing....gave us great service and recommendations. Highly highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

A charming atmosphere with delicious food! The service was attentive, but not intrusive. The place was full, but not noisy. A wonderful gem tucked away in the country.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Loved the soups and vegetables and palate cleansers . The lamb shank with polenta and peas was very good but not outstanding. The same was true of the rack of lamb. It was very good but not excellent. Preparation (and presentation) was great but the meat was lacking something. I would give it another chance though. I'd like to try the chicken and fish.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic always. Amazing food and ambience plus great service.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This marvelous setting creates a sense of elegance and sophistication that is exceptional.
The service is attentive, thoughtful and unobtrusive. The food is exquisite. Something special and inventive. Strong sense of positive experimentation and gustitory delight,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Great for random dinners, date night or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A four diamond restaurant worthy of that accolade! We were three for a special occasion -- Mothers' Day. What a treat. We all opted for the Saturday, "prix-fixe" menu. While not inexpensive, it was definitely worth the price. Each of us had different apps, mains and deserts. Each of us felt that each course was among the best we ever had! Each plate was unique and it was obvious that each was prepared with both taste and presentation in mind.

This will definitely be my go-to place for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

All I can say is WOW!! We found this restaurant by pure chance and are so happy we did. Looking back and trying to be critical there is little to nothing I can find. Fantastic, friendly and on point service, Incredible food expertly crafted. What more can you ask for. Oh ya, how about a 100% candle lite dining room! Well done!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a lovely evening. The staff was fantastic. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything is perfect, as it always has been. We always get the tasting menu, which with wine gets a little pricey. But it doesn't have to be that way! We have decided to go more often and order from the regular menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Such a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. Classic style and superb food. Excellent service to top it all off.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Tasting menu was delicious and filling, with dishes brought out at just the right pace and with the perfect portion size. Great value for the price

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My reservations were for 5:30pm. I arrived at 5:25 and walked in the door where there was no one to greet me. I asked one of the people getting tables ready if I came in the right door and he said 'kind of early huh' to which I responded 5:30. I was then told to wait at the bar to listen to a bartender treat his coworker like she was beneath him. I sat there not knowing when I would be seated or what was happening because no one bothered to speak to me.
I was finally seated at 6:00pm.
The food was amazing and if not for that, I would not recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We have come here often over the years. Second time this year. As always the food is superb and the ambiance of the old Inn is great. You eat by candle light no other lights. Many real fireplaces so it is real cozy in winter. It is well worth the drive. We have only come on Fridays.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had wanted to have dinner here for some time, and had high expectations. We were not disappointed. James, the maitre'd and our server (we went on a Sunday night, so he had double duty), was phenomenal. The food matched the service. I have not had a better meal in the Berkshires.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Lovely setting. Delicious food. Attentive service. Kinda in the middle of nowhere but worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was everything we hoped it would be. Can't wait to return. "Candlelight was so special". Thank you for a lovely evening. Kathleen Crawford, Litchfield, Ct.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Old Inn on the Green remains the finest restaurant in SW Massachusetts/NW Connecticut. Especially in the wintertime, the restaurant exudes its colonial charm, with multiple cozy candle-lit rooms with working fireplaces, matched with an outstanding and continually varied menu. This time, the favorites were Colorado Lamb, an old standby, and steak frites - a relatively new, surprisingly conventional, yet welcomed addition to the menu. The wine list is worth perusing at length, some older gems hidden within the offerings. We had a relatively new (to us) waiter - still learning the ropes of adding to the experience of the evening. Regardless, never a disappointment. The relatively high prices (more similar to Manhattan) are the only reason we don't come more frequently, but it is our #1 place for special occasions, and to impress friends with the charms of old New England.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hands down the best dinner in the Berkshires. Creative, delicious concepts - red salad, lovely mushroom soup and beautiful cod and salmon dishes. Only disappointment was the bread which is usually superb too.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The atmosphere is always charming and inviting. The food is in a class by itself. The presentation is top notch and quality of food is first-rate. At times the waiters appear a bit overwhelmed and understaffed when crowded.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very romantic and outstanding food in a 19th Century building.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's been a coupe of years since we ate hear, why did we wait so long. The food and service was fabulous. The decor is great fireplace and candles. We are going again this year.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful service. Excellent food. Romantic. Outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent tasting menu for New Years Eve. Setting beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.