About The Old Inn On The Green

Dining at The Old Inn on the Green is an extraordinary experience: fine wine, great food, the dining room illuminated by candles, the murmur of conversation from the other room. As Chef and Owner, Peter Platt is always firmly in charge, working to create innovative and memorable meals that are an event unto themselves. Over the past several years, the Old Inn has developed the tradition of serving a Prix Fixe menu - each Saturday evening a different four-course meal is prepared, and guests are offered a choice of two main courses as well as a choice of dessert. On other nights, the Inn offers a well rounded menu of a la carte items, with specials which change daily. The wine list is graced with a array of thoughtfully selected estate bottled wines from France, California and Italy. The dining rooms are lit entirely by candlelight and there are fireplaces in each room. Comfortably worn windsor chairs and mahogany tavern tables furnish the dining rooms.

134 Hartsville New Marlboro Rd.
New Marlboro, MA 01230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm (July-Oct.), Wednesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Nov.- June)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(413) 229-7924

Website:
http://www.oldinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Peter Platt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, “The Old Inn On The Green” can accommodate all your special event needs.

The Old Inn On The Green Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
See All
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Fireplace (12)
Historic (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This marvelous setting creates a sense of elegance and sophistication that is exceptional.
The service is attentive, thoughtful and unobtrusive. The food is exquisite. Something special and inventive. Strong sense of positive experimentation and gustitory delight,

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing!! The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Great for random dinners, date night or special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A four diamond restaurant worthy of that accolade! We were three for a special occasion -- Mothers' Day. What a treat. We all opted for the Saturday, "prix-fixe" menu. While not inexpensive, it was definitely worth the price. Each of us had different apps, mains and deserts. Each of us felt that each course was among the best we ever had! Each plate was unique and it was obvious that each was prepared with both taste and presentation in mind.

This will definitely be my go-to place for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

All I can say is WOW!! We found this restaurant by pure chance and are so happy we did. Looking back and trying to be critical there is little to nothing I can find. Fantastic, friendly and on point service, Incredible food expertly crafted. What more can you ask for. Oh ya, how about a 100% candle lite dining room! Well done!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a lovely evening. The staff was fantastic. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything is perfect, as it always has been. We always get the tasting menu, which with wine gets a little pricey. But it doesn't have to be that way! We have decided to go more often and order from the regular menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Such a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. Classic style and superb food. Excellent service to top it all off.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups, Historic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Tasting menu was delicious and filling, with dishes brought out at just the right pace and with the perfect portion size. Great value for the price

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My reservations were for 5:30pm. I arrived at 5:25 and walked in the door where there was no one to greet me. I asked one of the people getting tables ready if I came in the right door and he said 'kind of early huh' to which I responded 5:30. I was then told to wait at the bar to listen to a bartender treat his coworker like she was beneath him. I sat there not knowing when I would be seated or what was happening because no one bothered to speak to me.
I was finally seated at 6:00pm.
The food was amazing and if not for that, I would not recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We have come here often over the years. Second time this year. As always the food is superb and the ambiance of the old Inn is great. You eat by candle light no other lights. Many real fireplaces so it is real cozy in winter. It is well worth the drive. We have only come on Fridays.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had wanted to have dinner here for some time, and had high expectations. We were not disappointed. James, the maitre'd and our server (we went on a Sunday night, so he had double duty), was phenomenal. The food matched the service. I have not had a better meal in the Berkshires.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Lovely setting. Delicious food. Attentive service. Kinda in the middle of nowhere but worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was everything we hoped it would be. Can't wait to return. "Candlelight was so special". Thank you for a lovely evening. Kathleen Crawford, Litchfield, Ct.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Old Inn on the Green remains the finest restaurant in SW Massachusetts/NW Connecticut. Especially in the wintertime, the restaurant exudes its colonial charm, with multiple cozy candle-lit rooms with working fireplaces, matched with an outstanding and continually varied menu. This time, the favorites were Colorado Lamb, an old standby, and steak frites - a relatively new, surprisingly conventional, yet welcomed addition to the menu. The wine list is worth perusing at length, some older gems hidden within the offerings. We had a relatively new (to us) waiter - still learning the ropes of adding to the experience of the evening. Regardless, never a disappointment. The relatively high prices (more similar to Manhattan) are the only reason we don't come more frequently, but it is our #1 place for special occasions, and to impress friends with the charms of old New England.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hands down the best dinner in the Berkshires. Creative, delicious concepts - red salad, lovely mushroom soup and beautiful cod and salmon dishes. Only disappointment was the bread which is usually superb too.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The atmosphere is always charming and inviting. The food is in a class by itself. The presentation is top notch and quality of food is first-rate. At times the waiters appear a bit overwhelmed and understaffed when crowded.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very romantic and outstanding food in a 19th Century building.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's been a coupe of years since we ate hear, why did we wait so long. The food and service was fabulous. The decor is great fireplace and candles. We are going again this year.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderful service. Excellent food. Romantic. Outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent tasting menu for New Years Eve. Setting beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Consistent perfection for years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This continues to be the best restaurant in the Berkshires, combining terrific, unmatched atmosphere, great service and superb food. Absolutely perfect in every way. Peter Platt and Meredith Kennard and the entire staff really care about what they are doing and it shows. An absolute must when visiting or, as we do, living in the Berkshires.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were enjoying the evening with our children who had arrived from CA. This authentic New England Inn is a favorite of ours and quickly became a favorite of our extended family. The waitstaff is knowledgable and helpful in identifying menu offerings both by content and by preparation.
The menu was diverse enough to satisfy the range of diners' needs and preferences. The quality of the food was exceptional. We frequently dine in NYC and would rate this restaurant as equal to places we have recently dined in NYC.

The presentation of the meal elements, accompanied by a quiet ambiance of candlelight and no annoying music was a relief from the hectic , seasonal hype in other establishments. We felt as if we had stepped back into a quieter, more relaxed time where we could just converse, eat, and. Enjoy being together.
We highly recommend the Old Inn on the Green at any time of the year, but there is something so special about stopping there on a snowy evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very special. Outstanding food in the most romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We've been to SF Bay area spots like Gary Danko, Chez Panise, and The F.L. This was as good as those and more romantic. While our server could use a bit more personality or humor, the wine service was spot on. We had the tasting menu and enjoyed every bite, even me who doesn't like beets. Dinner by the fireplace with only real candles lighting the dining rooms adds to the romantic spirit. The drive home this time of year is dark and unnerving, but the food makes that drive worth the risk.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Absolutely marvelous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Visited for my Birthday with my wife. It was love at first sight. The ambiance dining under candlelight was so relaxing and romantic. The salmon and chicken were presented in a way which you would expect to find in most exclusive restaurants. The history of this restaurant was very interesting. It was an hour and a half drive from our home but was well worth the trip. The restaurant was very quiet and was very nice not to have to raise your voice to have a quiet conversation.
Highly recommended from the ride into the rural setting and a place to go for a special occasion or for a nice night out.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We dined on a Saturday night for my birthday. We had the tasting and everything was delicious! The service was not bad, but not great either, and certainly not as good as would be expected at a restaurant with such high quality food. My biggest complaint about the service was that before ordering the tasting we told our server we weren't crazy about the dessert that was on the menu. He didn't hesitate to say we could order something else. We proceeded to order the tasting and I asked if he would like to know what we would like for dessert instead of what was listed. He said no, and that we had a few hours before we get to that point. Several hours later, he never came to ask what we would like for dessert and we were served what was listed on the menu. Overall it was a great meal, but I'm not sure it was worth the price. We've had many meals in New York for the same price or less where both the food AND the service were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our second time to enjoy the splendor of such an exquisite meal. The waiter initially seemed a little hurried but as the night wore on, he was a pleasure. Will definitely dine here again at our first opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Old Inn On The Green is a marvelous restaurant with beautiful ambiance and superb cuisine. Our server was professional, informative and extremely pleasant.We highly recommend this establishment for a total dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

A really beautiful place with lovely service and very good food. Definitely worth a visit while you're in the Berkshires.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Old Inn on the Green was a very pleasant surprise. Revolutionary War era building lit entirely by candlelight. Atmosphere was perfect for get together with friends. The food was creative and excellent. Surprising find a little off the beaten path in the Berkshires.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Ambiance was delightful.
Party of six...One ordered a filet, was given salmon, then had to sit without food, waiting,l for a very long time while rest of party ate since the other dinners were served. Water glass was empty for most of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This restaurant is overall a world level gem. It is hard to find words to describe how excellent it is in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food, ambience and service were all first rate. This was our first time at The Old Inn On The Green but we'll definitely be back. It was a first class experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Always a delicious meal and top-notch service. James has an amazing memory and understands hospitality. This was only our second time but we plan on making it a monthly treat. Excellent menu--fresh, local and not ridiculously trendy like so many menus have become.
The ambiance is so different--quiet and candlelit. Not library quiet--we had a lot of laughs and lively conversation--but perfect for conversation with dinner companions. We were here in the winter last year and the roaring fire was divine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Go there 1-2x each year. Always a joy. Their mid-week special is an excellent value.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We go here a few times a year. Two prix fixe menus to choose from. Extensive wine list, also beer and cocktails. The food is wonderful; expect to drop at least $200 for two people but well worth the $$. 1/2 price during the week. Historic, romantic, candlelight only. I highly recommend. Portions for the prix fixe chef's tasting menu are perfect, you will leave well satiated but not stuffed.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our second visit this summer for the Tasting menu which is absolutely wonderful! The outdoor porch is a lovely place for this delicious dinner. We highly recommend it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.