Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About The Ogden Chicago

A Chef driven sports bar two blocks from the United Center. Our food is always fresh and never frozen, and we use only the best quality ingredients. From our bacon cheddar minis featured on Chicago's Best, to our famous Cowboy Burger, we're sure you'll find something you like. Our menu features gluten free options and our Chef is always willing to work with any food allergies you may have. The Ogden is the perfect spot to meet before or after any United Center event. We feature 75'' HDTV's and carry all of the major sports packages.

1659 W Ogden
Chicago, IL 60612
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Monday: closed (May-August)
Tuesday-Friday: noon-2am
Saturday: 11am-3am
Sunday: 11am-2am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 226-1888

Website:
http://www.theogdenchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Two blocks from The United Center The Ogden Chicago is your #1 destination before, during and after Blackhawks and Bulls games.

Catering:
We offer a variety of different catering options, please give us a call to set up an appointment to discuss your needs.

Parking Details:
We offer valet for all home Blackhawks and Bulls games as well as United Center CONCERTS. We also offer valet for special events at the restaurant. The Ogden is a short two block walk to the United Center (0.4 miles). Free street parking is readily available on non event nights and can be found on Ogden, Adams and Monroe

Public Transit:
Ashland #9 bus to Madison or Adams, Green/Pink line to Ashland/Lake, Blue line to Illinois Medical District.

Executive Chef:
Evan Sumrell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all United Center events we recommend making your reservation no later than 2 hours prior to the game/concert. Allow time to be seated, order and get to the game. (don't forget about a little traffic too)

Private Dining

We can host parties from 25-200 people, in semi-private VIP areas, a simple gathering for friends, or an elegant dinner reception.Whatever type of party you’re looking to plan, The Ogden can make it happen.

The Ogden Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Live Sports (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Great Beer (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Fireplace (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Ran out of 2 types of beers I wanted to try.. Bummer...

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of the best places in the city to watch a Blackhawks game, good bar food and very exciting place.
Television screens everywhere you look and they put the sound on.
Sean is a great front end manager also

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love the Ogden!!! Great food, service, and friendly/helpful staff! Great for pre and post Blackhawks games!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Hawks game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We made reservations here before a Blackhawks game. We opted to try the brunch buffet that included beverages! However, we couldn't try all the buffet had to offer because the trays were constantly empty. Even though I would wait for them to be replenished, there was a lag time, and I don't feel you should have to wait at the buffet to have it be refilled. My friends did not get to try everything the buffet had to offer. While conveniently located to the United Center, we will try a different place for a tasty brunch next time and skip out on the Ogden.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great service & great food before a game at the United Center

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Burgers were good. Although, menu is rather sparse...not many choices. We ordered the Mac and Cheese balls...which were recommended by the wait staff...they were dry/just okay/little flavor. Speaking of wait staff, our waitress went on long trips or something before she would return to our table. Twice, we had to ask other waitresses to find her. Additionally, she looked to be just going through the motions. She had little interest in providing a smile, efficiency, other. On the whole, if it were not for the other staff who helped with delivery, service would have been 1 star. It is a very nice sports bar. But, I wouldn't go for a quiet date there...very loud. We were there for a pre-Bulls game dinner. Crowd varies from an age perspective. I wouldn't have thought it super-expensive. But, on the back-end, valet parking was $15 + Tip additional. (He parked across the street - we could see the car.) That's when the overall price of the experience migrated from $$$ to $$$+. I mean, it was only burgers and beers after all.

Tags: Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Dinner with my nephew before the Hawks game. Excellent service. Great nachos & burgers. Never felt rushed. Place gets crowded closer to puck drop so get there early.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The Ogden Restaurant is a GREAT spot to have drinks and dinner before the Chicago BULLS and BLACKHAWK games. It also has an excellent craft beer menu.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took a buddy for dinner here (his first time) before the Hawks game, and if it wasn't busy enough just because it was prior to one of their home games, the NCAA tournament was also going on, so they had games on the monitors. Enjoyed the food and beer, and despite the high volume of people and activity, our server Laura was always checking on us to make sure we had everything we wanted.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went here before a Bulls game with our 12 and 14 year old. The atmosphere is very cool! Our macaroni and cheese bites were cold in the center, pork minis weren't very warm either. The chicken salad was amazing! We walked to the Bulls game after our dinner.

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I want to love the Ogden: it's close to home, put together look, etc. The service is just always sub-par. Example: when there are 3 options that a place is out of for the day, so you tell the server you will stick with water, taking the table water and putting it square in front of the person and saying serve yourself, is probably not the best approach. The food is average. For some reason, Guinness is $9! That's 60% more than the upscale bars in West Loop! It is in walking distance to the united center though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went there after a Hawks game. It was a nice place, but it's bar food. It took a long time for the food to come out. The salad was basically all lettuce. No one at our table eat everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They have a great Wednesday night special that starts after the start of any United Center events. 1/2 priced salads and flatbreads and $5 house wines (merlot and pinot grigio). Since they put in a new chef a couple months ago, the menu is smaller but the food is significantly better. The crispy chicken salad's my go-to and comes with this awesomely spicy ranch. The service has really turned around in the past couple months as well - it's like a totally new place! Nice work Ogden!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great vibe and tasty upscale bar food. A variety of booths, high tables and couches depending on your mood. The only tiny negative is a bit loud for conversations

Tags: Great Beer, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Ideal for cocktails, dinner or appetizers before an event at the United Center. Reasonable valet parking, good food and great beer selection. Lively and cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

ATTENTION BOURBON DRINKERS! Nice list to choose from, however, please note the fine print at the bottom:

THERE IS A $2.00 CHARGE FOR ANY NEAT OR ROCKS POUR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great for pre/post-game for United Center events.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Pre-Blackhawks game dinner

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our waitress Stephanie was fantastic. The food was good, the crowd was enthusiastic. We were there for the Blackhawks Official Watch Party. We had been there before for the same reason, and always look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Ogden was great.. did online reservation & was seated right away. The food & service was great.. place was not 2 loud, so perfect for talking to friends. Lots of beer & drinks selection. will go again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Fireplace, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had 5 kids with us before an event at United Center and they could not have been more accommodating. The food, service, prices and atmosphere were all great, thank you!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great spot. Food was pricey but good. Wings were outstanding and so was the Buffalo Chicken Wrap.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I was very happy with everything besides the hostess. She was not friendly and was rude. Besides that the food, experience, waitress, cost, etc. was all excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great Food. Great Service. Great Valet service. Reserve early if you want to eat before a Blackhawks game. Loved the TV in the booth!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

There are always good specials on drinks and they have a great beer menu. Terrific place to meet friends to watch a game!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

If you're going during the week when there's not a Hawk's or Bull's game, it's a little slow, but they have great food deals during the week! Wine Down Wednesday's are my favorite with $5 salads and flatbreads and $5 house wines. It's a steal! And their Crispy Chicken salad and Chopped Southwest Salad are delicious! I'd also recommend the pepperoni and ricotta flatbread and the truffle fries. The service isn't anything outstanding, but they get the job done (eventually) and with such good food at a great price, I can be flexible on the quality of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

2nd time in a row we had to send our messed up orders back to the kitchen ..fruit was substituted for fries and received fries, Sausage Flatbread was COLD all other meals were also cold. We received our fruit at the end of the meal. We had the same issue when we went in December.....Brittney was our server both times & was awful. After our food was sent out she waited 15 minutes to ask if everything was OK which it was not. Drinks were ordered and again they came after the meal. We were going to the Hawks Game & obviously she knew we were on a schedule. So it was like....she knew we had to leave & couldn't be bothered. She was lucky both times we did tip her the minimum 20%. We will NOT return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had such a great time at the Ogden! Our server was awesome the food was awesome! We highly recommend the Ogden !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We took our kids here before a bulls game. Great food and service. The place was pretty loud but the energy was great! We had the cowboy burger, the grilled chicken sandwich and the buffalo wrap. Everything was delicious. The wrap is spicy FYI.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I was disappointed I could not be seated until everyone in my party showed up.. I got there early so I could order appetizers and drinks before my guest from suburbs arrived.. they were running late, I knew they were in route but still could not be seated .. they would rather keep table empty as opposed to me ordering food and drinks until guested arrived

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A must visit before Hawks game. Great food and drinks, but a terrific energy. Rare to find such dining so close to game night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I ordered my food and 45 minutes later my food had not arrived yet, and I was not updated by the waiter. When I finally asked about my food he said he'd get a manager, who 10 minutes later still had not come over to talk to us. The waiter came back over and told us it would be 5 more minutes for our food. At that point we were cutting it too close to our event and needed to leave before our food even came out. No apologies from the waiter and we were told the manager was too busy to come talk to us (meanwhile the restaurant was almost empty by this point). I would not recommend going to this restaurant, especially if you have less than 1.5 hours to wait after you order your food. We also noticed that the table behind us sat down after we had ordered our food, and got their food before we asked the waiter about ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I found this place on a whim as a place to gab a bite before the Bulls game, and it is a GEM! Great vibe, sports bar, fireplace, FUN!, great food! We loved it and ill be back for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great bar with great beer with great TV's everywhere but the food was awful. We were there before the Bulls game, nice and close to United Center. I had the southwest chicken salad that tasted like plain iceberg lettuce with about 4 or 5 small chunks of chicken. My son had the 3-4 cheese pizza that tasted like card board. And, my other son had a burger that he took three bites of. Not sure if this was because the place was packed but the items we ordered are pretty hard to mess up. Great atmosphere but the food was a real big time disappointment.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great location near UC. Parked at UC and was able to walk and grab a bite. Great upscale sports bar environment.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful as always. Love to go before Bulls or
Hawks games.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We got stuck in traffic and were running late and we called and they held our table for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Ogden is a great place to go before events at the United Center. Good food, great atmosphere, and close to the UC. Bonus - you can valet your car there for dinner and pick it up after the concert/game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

went before Bulls game -- service was great, food was excellent. Bought my sons (7, 10, and 12) and they seemed welcomed and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.