Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Kingfish SeafoodKingfish Seafood
(245)
$$$$
Seafood | Akron, Akron
Booked 17 times today
Bricco - Downtown AkronBricco - Downtown Akron
(214)
$$$$
Italian | Akron, Akron
Booked 3 times today
Fleming's Steakhouse - AkronFleming's Steakhouse - Akron
(561)
$$$$
Steak | Akron, Akron
Booked 2 times today
Texas de Brazil - WoodmereTexas de Brazil - Woodmere
(370)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Woodmere, Cleveland
Booked 29 times today
Ken Stewart's GrilleKen Stewart's Grille
(438)
$$$$
American | Akron, Akron
Booked 6 times today
Papa Joe's/Iacomini'sPapa Joe's/Iacomini's
(622)
$$$$
Italian | Akron, Akron
Booked 7 times today
Rosewood Grill HudsonRosewood Grill Hudson
(186)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Hudson, Cleveland
Booked 22 times today
35 Brix35 Brix
(372)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Canton, Canton
Booked 10 times today
D.B.A.D.B.A.
(783)
$$$$
American | Akron, Akron
Booked 9 times today
D'Agnese's at White PondD'Agnese's at White Pond
(527)
$$$$
Italian | Akron, Akron
Booked 9 times today
The Twisted OliveThe Twisted Olive
(1619)
$$$$
American | Canton, Canton
Booked 58 times today
Beau's On The RiverBeau's On The River
(667)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Akron, Akron
Booked 5 times today
Kosar's Wood-Fired GrillKosar's Wood-Fired Grill
(1685)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Northfield, Akron
Booked 20 times today
Square 22Square 22
(73)
$$$$
American | Strongsville, Cleveland
Booked 8 times today
Rosewood Grill StrongsvilleRosewood Grill Strongsville
(120)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Strongsville, Cleveland
Booked 8 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.59mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About The Office City Tavern - Akron

Akron City Tavern is a casual themed restaurant offering American fare, cocktails, craft beers and more.

778 N Main St
Akron, OH 44310
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 3pm- 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 3pm - 230am
Sunday - Monday : closed

Cross Street:
Between E. Cuyahoga Falls Ave and Tallmadge Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 230-6656

Website:
http://www.akroncitytavern.com/

Parking Details:
Parking consists of an attached parking lot as well as street parking and parking lot across the street

Private Party Facilities:
Akron City Tavern can host groups of 25-40 people. The restaurant may also be rented out for larger events.

Private Party Contact:
Arlene Jiamboi: (330) 376-9550 ext. 105

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Clearly not "The Office" anymore - need to work on the brand. Only open 4 weeks under new owners - front of the house was pretty bad but the food was good - will give it another try in the future if it lasts. Arrive at 5:15 for a 5:30 reservation and the font door was locked and the lights were off. Staff had a hard time figuring out how to set the lights. No overhead/background music - could hear the radio playing in the kitchen though! It just felt cold and un-inviting overall - you could tell they didn't give the front of house much thought.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Menu not the same as on-line. Nothing special...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Our waitress was amazing, I believe her name was Marie. She was attentive, engaging and very knowledgeable of the menu. Their craft beer list was great, having local brewer's featured. Summer Daze from Chagrin Falls was delicious. The prices here are also reasonable. I highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2015

We had a group of four and every one of the meals was fairly poor quality. The ambience was just so-so. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2015

Food was great. Wish the menu was more descriptive as far as what a dish includes for those with special diets. Service was slow and the restaurant was very quiet and seemingly not that busy. The atmosphere was nice but at one point they turned off the music and we had to request that it be turned back on. Not the best experience I have had at this location. We were celebrating birthdays though and the restaurant was very receptive and helped us to celebrate. Birthday girls had a great night so all is well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2015

They have a great variety of different types of food. We had sausage stuffed banana peppers, rare seared tuna, calamari, sauerkraut balls, and more. This was a nice find in an otherwise drab area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2015

The descriptive menu offered many choices from appetizers and salads to burgers, pastas, tacos and a variety of entrees. Our staff person was very attentive and asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. We were celebrating an anniversary, and the next thing we knew, she brought us each a flute of excellent champaign. Without being interruptive, she kept our glasses full and made sure that everything was to our liking. The homemade rolls were warm and delicious. The entree servings were adequately sized portions without being a ridiculous amount of food that seems to be the case at some restaurants. I had salmon, and my husband had a Del Monaco steak. Both were cooked perfectly, and the accompaniments were well-seasoned and quite delicious. In all, it was a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 30, 2015

the food and service were very good. will be back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Nice and casual Akron location. Food is very good. First time visiting and our server did a great job with a big party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2015

Our food was excellent! Our server accommodated my need for gluten-free foods. My husband and I were with a friend, and we were all very satisfied. We took my sister the very next evening for dinner. She isn't a huge eater, but her meal was so delicious she ate everything. Once again, our server offered to bring vegetables with the dip we ordered because I can't have pitas. She was so friendly and helpful, and it was very busy. We will bring friends and family back again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2015

This was our first time at The Office & it won't be the last! The service was fantastic! Greeted promptly, seated immediately, and our server, Marie, was awesome! She was knowledgable, helpful & attentive. We had trouble deciding on an appetizer- there were so many great ones to choose from! The same goes for entrees. And the deep fried brownie was one of the best desserts I've ever eaten! It was big enough for 3-4 people, so my husband and I just couldn't finish it. Definitely coming back here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2015

Been to the Cuyahoga Falls location and now the Akron location. The menus seem to differ and the selection at the Akron location is more intriguing. Great wine selection and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2015

I love the Cuyahoga Falls location. I will never go back to the Akron Office. Our crab cake was cold and under seasoned. Our server was impatient and uninterested. His knowledge of the menu was lacking, as were his manners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 28, 2015

The restaurant isn't much to look at from the outside, but the food is delicious - the lobster mac and cheese is a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2015

Had never been there before, invited a group of old co-workers to get together there. Server was attentive, funny, and all around pleasant. Good specialty drinks & beer choices. Food came quickly and was very good. A little pricey, but worth it. Very nice ambiance, not crowded, had our own area to enjoy. Definitely would go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2015

Tha ahi tuna appetizer was great. The food was very tasty and prepared just right. The drinks were creative. To top it all off, the service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2015

Specialty cocktails were great. Both standard and unique food combinations. Very Tasty and nicely presented. Our waitress was fabulously attentive. Headed back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2015

the last time we were there, the menu was good, and had half price appetizers.
Not much to pick from and I had the greek salad and it was not good, One lady had the wedge salad and she did not like it at all. The hamburger for one lady was ordered well done and it came out red. We were very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 14, 2015

I have hosted 2 book clubs here in the past few months. They are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. The wine list and cocktail menus are great and the food is delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 10, 2015

Service was great, menu was great, food was amazing, and their specialty drinks were truly unique! Must try it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2015

The Office is a treasure tucked away in my old North Hill stomping grounds. We found the restaurant to be warm and inviting on a bitter cold night. The Signature drinks are cleverly named and delicious. The hot pepper appetizer was a favorite of my husband's and the ahi tuna served over noodles is some of the best I have found in this area. We chose the Office strictly due to its proximity to the Civic Theater, but will return for the food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2015

We've been to The Office many times, and it never disappoints! Always good food, fun atmosphere, and friendly service. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2014

The Office Bistro is among the best restaurants in the area. The food, presentation and service are excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2014

We arrived and had a great time. The server Brian was very very nice and was prompt with refills as well. The only real issue was parking. There is very little. They have free valet, but we sat there for 5 mins and no one came to park the car. We ended up parking in a repair shop parking lot a few doors down.

Overall, we had a really nice time. Just get there early and find that parking spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 24, 2014

We went to The Office for my husband's birthday, it was a great new place for us to try! I had heard good things from friends and we were not disappointed! The drinks were amazing!!! The food was really good!!

I have a gluten sensitivity and they were very accommodating!! I was happy to see they had their options marked!!! I did have to send my side salad back due to croutons being put on the plate. (There was no description of it on the menu & I did not think to ask for it without, since I had said I had to be GF, my mistake thinking they'd know). FYI for the GF - the chicken wings are fried in a shared fryer.

It was a very enjoyable evening out and I look forward to going back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 17, 2014

The place was dead. It was a Friday night, here were a couple people at the bar, the restaurant was closed, and when the third oldie started playing we left. I don't know what the food is like, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Wow! What a great find! Phenomenal food at fantastic prices. We are going to go back every week to try everything on the menu, it was that good. We loved our server! She was every knowledgeable about the menu and was just so nice. In fact, everyone there was extremely nice! We started with potato croquettes that were wonderfully crunchy on the outside and so creamy on the inside. The French onion soup was the best
I have tasted in this area. So cheesy! Great comfort food. The Ahi Tuna was fantastic ... And you get a huge portion for the price. Ask for a side of soy sauce for dipping. The flavor of the chicken saltimbocca was so good! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 5, 2014

We were a group of 8 women out for a surprise retirement dinner and could not have been more happy with our server and the way the entire staff treated us. They were very accommodating and went above and beyond to satisfy every member of our groups dining needs and good preference. I will recommend this establishment to anyone and will definite be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 29, 2014

The office bistro was able to make room for my 15 people party, and It was perfect! We had our own separate little room which was awesome, and we were set up in a square so I could see everyone. It was all great. The food was delicious, I just wish there was more of my pasta dish. The server was just fantastic. She engaged in conversation with us, told us every special, and most important did not get ANYTHING wrong. I am a server, and that is a hard thing to do especially with a large party. Thanks so much office bistro staff for making our first experience there great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2014

First time there, it was on a Tuesday and the restaurant was not busy. Service was very good, and the food was VERY good. I had the short ribs and my wife had the tilapia. Prices were very reasonable. No complaints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 17, 2014

Love the food and atmosphere at this place. Better service than the Cuyahoga Falls location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2014

The food is fresh and well prepared; presentation is excellent; wait staff is very knowledgable and service impeccable.
Outside patio is lovely place for after dinner drink and meeting new friends

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 20, 2014

we ordered the Eggs Benedict however we desired traditional fare and not the crab cake version. We were not informed that the restaurant would not be able to accommodate our order and we were given a scaled down version of the crab cake benedict. In essence one egg, two asparagus spears, home fries and toast no meat nor muffin. I spoke to our waitress and was told that she had a discussion with the kitchen staff and what was presented was what was decided upon. I believe that explaining the situation to the customer and having the customer make other choices would have been the way to proceed. Our coffee was free as a gesture of good will.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Great food, the Chief is awesome with his creativity and unique dishes. The scallops are the best I've had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2014

Thanks to Open Table we found this gem in the middle of nowhere in Akron, Ohio. The server was very friendly and the chef spoke to us and was very forthright. The dinner was one of the best we have had anywhere. I had the New York strip with a butter cheese compote and my wife had the Chicken Saltimbocca. Too bad we don't live near Akron we would make this a regular stop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.