About The Oakroom

500 4th Avenue
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Chef Nick Sullivan creates an unforgettable, world class dining experience. As the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant with the largest wine selection in the region, our award-winning staff infuse naturally grown or raised ingredients with Southern tradition and flavors. Chef Sullivan showcases his style in a tasting menu where you will experience new textures with his worldly pantry, as well as an a la carte menu to create your own culinary journey.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Saturday 6:00pm -9:00pm
Bar: Wednesday-Saturday 5:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Muhammad Ali Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 807-3463

Website:
http://www.theoakroomlouisville.com/

Entertainment:
The restaurant seats 125 guests and offers a private dining room that can accommodate up to 10 people. The Oakroom also offers specialized catering options for parties and events creating enduring memories of your personalized event.

Catering:
The Oakroom's rich history, elegance and tradition, along with state-of-the-art modern conveniences, make it one of the country's most desirable and unique venues for meetings, weddings and other events. Guests and local visitors love exploring The Oakroom itself. A history of celebrities and ghosts, early 1900s décor and original murals depicting Kentucky's pioneer days draw visitors from around the country. The Oakroom where Al Capone once played blackjack, now Kentucky's only AAA Five Diamond restaurant

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking at the front of the hotel, located on the corner of 4th Street & Muhammad Ali Blvd. There is also a parking garage behind the hotel. (We are NOT able to validate garage parking.)

Executive Chef:
Chef Nick Sullivan

Private Party Facilities:
The Oakroom has what your party needs, whether it is a private room for two, buying out the entire dining room for 125 people or anything in between, the Oakroom will work with & for you to make your event unforgettable, no matter what your budget!

Private Party Contact:
Liz Carson: (502) 585-3200 ext. 498

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Liz Carson at 502-585-9262 or elizabeth.carson@interstatehotels.com to plan your next Private Dinner, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception and Rehearsal Dinner. She can assist you with any event from an intimate dinner for two to a celebration for 125.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Oakroom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good experience . Good and interesting f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Good experience . Good and interesting food choices and pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

What a great place to celebrate an anniv ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

What a great place to celebrate an anniversary! Phenomenal service and wonderful food!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my wife's birthday. What a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. What a wonderful evening. We sat very close to the young man playing the piano (he played continually for our entire 2 1/2 hours there), so I rated the noise level moderate because of this, but we thoroughly enjoyed the music and it wasn't oppressively loud, so it just added to the spectacular ambience and food. I highly recommend the Oakroom for anyone looking for a wonderful, special evening.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a wonderful time. You have to be ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a wonderful time. You have to be open minded on trying new food ideas. The chef puts an interesting touch on each dish taking you away from the everyday food pairings.

However, his ideas are what makes the Oakroom a 5-Star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretentious, over priced, waitresses clu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretentious, over priced, waitresses clueless as to what was being served. Asked for cocktail menu, never received. Will not return

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

We come every year for Christmas, I call ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We come every year for Christmas, I called to make a reservation and never got a call back, so I had to do it on line

We arrived for our 2:30 reservation and no one was there to greet you, they did not inform us they had a new area for check ins, than we had to wait in a so called seating area where tables used to be for 20 minutes and were offered picked over Cheese & crackers.

They had a bar seat up where tables used to be so now they shove people outside the Oakroom to eat where it was cold & drafty.

When the hostess came to call our name I could barely hear her and than she walked away so fast I had to chase her down to see if it was our name she called and when I told her I could barely hear her she gave me a dirty look.

After seated at our table we waited 15 minutes before we knew who our server was.

We used to love The Oakroom, it was elegant.

But who ever is manger now is doing a really bad job of the holiday seatings, no one seems to know what to do including the manger, it feels rushed now, no more sitting to enjoy the whole Oakroom ambiance.

I heard many people complaining about service and since our seating was later in the day many things were not replenished so we lost out on certain foods & desserts.

We were there at Easter and it was beautiful all around.

Please go back to how it was,classic & elegant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was top notch! Octopus and ham ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was top notch! Octopus and ham appetizers were outstanding. They Pay great attention to dietary restrictions and actually asked us if we had any special dietary needs as we were placing our order which was very nice so that I did not have to bring it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a very nice evening pre-concert e ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It was a very nice evening pre-concert event. The food and service were so very good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful except for seve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for several service glitches: Bartender did not have a bank; server was changing tablecloths instead of greeting us when seated and asking for drink orders (where were the busboys?; had to go to the bar to ask where our wine was after 15 minute wait; server had to go to the front desk (downstairs) to get change. 5th year for Thanksgiving at Oak Room-service has always been excellent in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The Oakroom used to have weekly Sunday c ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Oakroom used to have weekly Sunday champagne brunches (with a complimentary glass of bubbly), which were about the best in Louisville. They've now gone to a policy of having brunches just on holidays, which is a pity. We went for the Thanksgiving brunch. The place was packed (with tables out on the balcony as well as the dining room). The food was a good as always (except some 50% more expensive, and no complimentary champagne). The desserts were spectacular. Unfortunately, the waitstaff wasn't particularly attentive. One shouldn't need to bus one's own plates during a meal, and one shouldn't need to try to flag waitstaff to get a cup of coffee. Hopefully somebody in management there will take note and improve the service. For a $60 brunch, that's not too much to ask.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I gave an Overall rating of 4 stars beca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I gave an Overall rating of 4 stars because of the poor level of service we received in the dining room. My wife and I received more of a warm welcome and good conversation from the Valet guys than we did from our server, Valentin.

After being seated it took 8 minutes to be recognized. My wife happened to catch they eye of "our" server as he passed by our table. She asked who was our server and he said he was. Eight minutes is not a deal breaker but given the caliber and price tag of The Oak Room and the fact that at 11:45 a.m. the restaurant was not packed it stands to be said that that amount of time to wait to be noticed is unacceptable.

Our server, Valentin, spoke fluent English. We discovered, upon questioning, that he is from Bulgaria. When asked what brought him to Louisville he said that he and four of his friends were here as Interns. Not sure exactly what that meant but it seems unlikely, based upon our dialogue, that he was pursuing a Medical Degree. When asked if he liked Louisville he was quick to say, "No". Not wanting to spoil the time my wife and I had to be there I refrained from telling him that no one is twisting his arm to stay.

In a nut shell Valentin simply seemed to not want to be there. His attentiveness was not on par for The Oak Room. My wife and I have dined here before and the experience was much better then.

I am certain not every Server at The Oak Room holds the kind of attitude that Valentin possessed. In fact two other Servers stepped in to wait on us at different intervals. That said, the food was very, very good and there was more than enough to choose from - it was Thanksgiving Day.

Still, my wife and I were not impressed with our Server. We get better and more attentive service at Wild Eggs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The Oakroom never disappoints in ambianc ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Oakroom never disappoints in ambiance, service, and quality. It is one of my favorite places -- especially during colder months when I am wanting something comfortable and filled with warmth (the people and the setting). It's a Louisville gem that has stood the test of time, and continues to innovate.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing! Chef Nick Sullivan is so ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Simply amazing! Chef Nick Sullivan is so creative and a master sauce maker. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oak Room lives up to every "star" in ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Oak Room lives up to every "star" in it's rating.

It combines the experience of a great staff with a new menu that will exceed the "foodie" expectations of everyone in your party. It's extensive wine selection and the server's knowledge extends the ordering process into what seems like a paired dining adventure.

Don't be surprised to see the Executive Chef, Nick Sullivan, make several sweeps through the room to see and hear how your dining experience is progressing. It makes you feel as if you have your very own chef anticipating what might take this experience from very, very good to exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at the Oakroom, the first ti ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Second time at the Oakroom, the first time being impeccable. This time however there seemed to be some type of issue with the service. We were told that they were not expecting the restaurant to be this busy, however, this isn't a large restaurant and there were only 7 tables full, and most were a party of 2. Waiters were nice and professional, but seemed overwhelmed, not sure why. The bartender, who said it was his second night, had to assist in serving the room, and actually seemed to care about our dinner. Not sure when our food would have came w/out him, really good effort by him. I believe the chef has talent, but the food was average, and the plating was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Eat here 2-3x a year for multiple years ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Eat here 2-3x a year for multiple years for special occasions. Service, food always excellent and would suggest to those who enjoy great food this to be a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good it was very quite a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The service was good it was very quite and kind of bright.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Very elegant space with meticulous servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Very elegant space with meticulous service and excellent food. Very sparse on a Tuesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable flavor combinations. Truly ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Unbelievable flavor combinations. Truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed. Father's Day brunch. The sta ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed. Father's Day brunch. The staff was quite welcoming and very helpful. The pianist was a nice touch. The food - both the choices and the quality- was as nice as could be. Thanks, Oakroom, for a great Father's Day

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative menu, quiet, good for romanti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Innovative menu, quiet, good for romantic dinner and business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and beautiful brunch. T ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and beautiful brunch. The beef tenderloin was very good and the seafood bar was too. Interesting cheese selection and lots of entrees on the buffet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fine Dining in Louisville, KY

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were in Louisville for Muhammad Ali's memorial service, and figured we would take the opportunity to try KY's only 5 Diamond restaurant. We both had the 7 course tasting menu, without the wine pairings. We decided to choose wines on our own. I can say that this meal was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was beautifully prepared, unique in it's use of local ingredients, and had fantastic flavor profiles. The staff is knowledgeable about every dish, prompt, attentive, but not invasive. Their wine list is extensive and well planned. Recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I very much like the relaxed feel of th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I very much like the relaxed feel of the restaurant. Our party was made to feel at home immediately. This was not a stuffy restaurant where everyone was over dressed. It was informal

and we were all appreciated from the beginning. The food was so very good, even the ordinary dishes(such as scrambled eggs) was so very good. My group was very happy with the food and the hotel. This was the first time to visit the Oak Room for four of my group and they were impressed. We shall be returning again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special treat

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2016

First time at the Oakroom, to celebrate a milestone wedding anniversary. Impeccable service, delicious food, all capped off by dessert with a congratulatory message written in chocolate on the plate. Had a memorable evening. Yes, it's pricey, but you get what you pay for. Just wish the hipsters at the next table had been able to put away the tablets and phones for a couple of hours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Diner Sat

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent diner, it lives up to it's AAA 5 star rating! Very creative appetizers and entrées. My wife and I enjoyed everything including the beautiful dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know who gave this restaurant a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I don't know who gave this restaurant a 5 Star Rating. There is no way this is a 5 Star Restaurant. The service was terrible! The waiter had no personality at all and no sense of humor. Although the food was good, the menu was something less that memorable. The food was in no way the same as it was described on the menu. To top it all off the cream curdled in the coffee! Overall this was not a good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Fantastic food. We had the seven course ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic food. We had the seven course tasting menu. A little loud but it was really one loud table near us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great, historic restaurant in a beautifu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great, historic restaurant in a beautiful wood paneled room. Excellent service, great wine, and very romantic atmosphere. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Experience

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My son took me to the Mother's Day Brunch which was also my birthday. The food and variety available was outstanding. My compliments to the chef and all the workers who made it a special day of remembrance for me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I usually really enjoy my experience but ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I usually really enjoy my experience but this is the 3rd time I have came and there was no crab salad. I was promised each time prior that you all would have it next time. Also there were some rude guest that kept asking the party in the private dining room to leave. I was shocked but I guess there was little the staff could do to prevent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great as always.. thank you

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great as always.. thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably the worse service I ever had, a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the worse service I ever had, and since The Oak Room automatically added $24 for table service there was no reason for our serve to do his job. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service. Small portions. Decent fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Poor service. Small portions. Decent food but not at all worth what you will pay. We love a high quality, upscale meal, but this was a disappointment. The building and setting is beautiful, but the service was sub-par and food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The derby brunch here was amazing. Food was excellent, shrimp, crab claws, smoked salmon, oysters, and prime rib. Plus all the usual breakfast items and great derby specialities. The service was fantastic and people watching at its best. Will definitely do this every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Oakroom

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first time to the Oakroom and I was in town for a pre Ky Derby dinner. The meal did not start out well in that we waited 20 minutes just to get our drink order taken. In the end a three course fixed meal took 3.5 hours to serve. The staff explained that they were short handed I and our party observed that the restaurant was never full and the staff struggled to manage a load that should have been manageable. The food was quite overpriced and lacked taste and presentation consistent with the price attached. The wine additionally overpriced in comparison to other area restaurants. Perhaps better on a standard night but definitely not recommendable for special or high traffic occasions. Not sure I would "role the dice" again here

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the $.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Enjoyed Brendan's Catch-23 the next evening for less than 1/2 the price of the Oakroom and MUCH better meal. I have no problem dropping $1,000 on a meal if it is stellar. Unfortunately, this was not even mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Exquisite

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The best in fine dining bar none. Ther service was flawless. The food simple, fresh, innovative, and heavenly! The chef took the time to come speak with us and talk with us about the food. The food again, was the best I have had the pleasure on which to dine. His choices for the five course meal were superb. The sommelier knew what he was doing. Each course was perfectly paired. The matre'd, the chef, the hostess, the waiter, everyone was respectful, welcoming, and accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last time

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Have frequented Oakroom Sunday brunch quite a few times. Had not been there in about a year. Had heard they had new chef, didn't know what to expect. Well, believe I liked the former chef food selection, preparation, etc. better. Service was lacking, which we didn't understand because just few tables occupied. Dishes were moderately cleared, but since water was my drink of choice, would have been nice to have a refill. My goblet was empty about three-quarters into the brunch. I am not the type to have to flag-down a server. Actually, on a previous visit in 2015, table of 7, we were all but ignored by the same server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Brunch at the Oakroom

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 10, 2016

To put together an outstanding gathering for family and/or friends, I choose brunch at the Oakroom. It has never failed to please everyone in our party. Thanks for the wonderful Sundays. Our recent server was so gracious. A gentleman and very attentive!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.