Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About The Oakroom

As the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant with the largest wine selection in the region, our award-winning staff infuse naturally grown or raised ingredients to bring you exquisite food and impeccable service.

500 4th Avenue
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 5:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Muhammad Ali Boulevard

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 807-3463

Website:
http://www.theoakroomlouisville.com/

Entertainment:
The restaurant seats 125 guests and offers a private dining room that can accommodate up to 10 people. The Oakroom also offers specialized catering options for parties and events creating enduring memories of your personalized event.

Catering:
The Oakroom's rich history, elegance and tradition, along with state-of-the-art modern conveniences, make it one of the country's most desirable and unique venues for meetings, weddings and other events. Guests and local visitors love exploring The Oakroom itself. A history of celebrities and ghosts, early 1900s décor and original murals depicting Kentucky's pioneer days draw visitors from around the country. The Oakroom where Al Capone once played blackjack, now Kentucky's only AAA Five Diamond restaurant

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking at the front of the hotel, located on the corner of 4th Street & Muhammad Ali Blvd. There is also a parking garage behind the hotel. (We are NOT able to validate garage parking.)

Private Party Facilities:
The Oakroom has what your party needs, whether it is a private room for two, buying out the entire dining room for 125 people or anything in between, the Oakroom will work with & for you to make your event unforgettable, no matter what your budget!

Private Party Contact:
Charlie Watson: (502) 585-3200 ext. 498

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Charlie Watson at 502-585-9262 or charlie.watson@interstatehotels.com to plan your next Private Dinner, Birthday Party, Wedding Reception and Rehearsal Dinner. She can assist you with any event from an intimate dinner for two to a celebration for 125.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Oakroom Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Historic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Arrived 15 minutes early for the Mother's Day brunch buffet. They say us in a seating area with some cheese and crackers. Table was ready 20 mins late. Staff struggled to accommodate a 2yr old child giving her a coffee cup with a lid and no straw. I had to find someone to ask for a straw and got one that was extraordinarily long. Eventually found a straw. Staff asked if my wife wanted coffee to which she responded yes however coffee never came. Ended up getting the bill with the gratuity conveniently added in already. Service was not up to par with what was expected or paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Grand buffet: service was slow and disappointing for one of under 55 restaurants in the USA with a AAA 5 diamond rating. When I have to ask repeatedly for water service, silverware refreshment, and coffee warming that is far below expectations. When a 20% auto gratuity was added to our table of 4, I was surprised to say the least given the sub-par service. Food was of a very high quality, decadent desserts, fabulous cheeses and charcuterie, choice of proteins was excellent although the prime rib and lamb were both well done, grouper was cooked very well. Omelette and waffle station were excellent. Seafood raw bar exceeded expectations with raw oysters, jumbo shrimp, and cracked snow crab claws. Smoked seafood was also excellent -not a detail missed on the "Grand Buffet". Support staff kept the buffet fully stocked and cleared tables quickly. Unfortunately our server was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulously elegant and decadent! Superb one-on-one service. Love the local flavors. Love the standards done with a twist (chocolate covered bacon!!).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The good and service were both excellent. We went for the royal brunch for mother's day and my wife was very very happy with everything! Our experience was amazing and will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing brunch! It's expensive, but you will be hard pressed to find a better experience. Food selection was great, and the desserts were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Oakroom is a venerable Louisville venue, heck, Al Capone dined here back in the day. First off, hands down the food was outstanding, no question. We had a beetroot salad and a spinach salad, halibut as an entree and a desert. Problem was it was a fixed menu owing to the Kentucky Derby was the next day. This was not mentioned when we booked out reservation. There were only three entree choices, you were out of luck if you were a vegetarian. Then, the wine list had less than 20 choices. We ordered a 375ml bottle of 2010 Chateauneuf de Pape mistakenly. When it came to the table we realized our mistake and asked to see the winelist. The very helpful sommelier stated, "I have a full bottle in that price range though a 2012. OK, cool, then why wasn't it on the wine list?

The fixed menu was a salad, entree and desert for $95 each. Crazy price, even for Derby weekend and a terrible value despite the excellent halibut. But, the coup de grace was a mandatory 20% gratuity for a table of two. $360 later we had nice meal that was worth at most $175.

Been there, done that, next year when we come back for the Derby we'll try someplace else.

When you book ask about the fixed menu and the mandatory gratuity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Small portions Halibot was absolutely tasteless with no accompanying sauce the micro vegetable which was less than a tablespoon had no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had an amazing dinner. Food, service and atmosphere all excellent. Easily best in Louisville. Also loved visiting the secret room where Al Capone used to play cards - look for the two secret doors! So much history. All made for a very special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Have dined with the folks at Oakroom/Seelbach in Louisville about once every six months the last 10 years. It is definitely not a place to eat every week as it's pricey. However, the service, the food, the presentation, the atmosphere is awesome. Louisville should be proud to have such a dining destination.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We've been to the Oakroom many times and they've never failed to fulfill every need perfectly. The flowers for my daughter were there, they all wished her a happy birthday, we even had the same waiter my late wife and I had during our last visit there. Afterwards, we were treated to a private tour of the historic hotel, an unexpected pleasure. For a memorable evening, you can't do better than the Oakroom.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was incredible with excellent variety. If you go make sure to try the duck crepes, seafood salad, and any of the selection of desserts that come in just the right sized portions.

The only cons in this review include having to wait one full hour after my reservation time before we were seated, the temperature in the main dining room was too low (but the auxiliary space used was too warm), and lastly cost person. It's expensive, yes, but as long as you bring an appetite you're fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to the Oakroom for Easter brunch which may have led to us submitting an average review at best; which I am sure would have been much different if we had gone there for a normal dining experience. When we checked-in for our reservation, there was a very long line of reservations before us that were still not seated. The check-in process seemed a little long and in some disarray. Then once we were called to be seated, we were seated in a lobby area outside of the main dining room which was disappointing. Since our visit was for Easter brunch, I am sure that the majority of the qualified wait staff were off that day as our server appeared to be untrained, confused at times, and not proactive in addressing our needs (we were never asked if we wanted to order another cocktail that we originally brought from the bar or if we wanted more coffee during the meal, and had to ask for more coffee 3-times). Still, the food was very good and the raw bar was excellent. I will give The Oakroom another chance during a normal restaurant seating and hope our experience is more fulfilling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Oakroom is always Fabulous. The Royal Easter Brunch lived up its name - it was suitable for royalty! We celebrate all our special occasions with an Oakroom Brunch - it's the best in town!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good, our server Jamaal was great. It was an odd set-up, very tight seating,strange waiting area in the middle of dining room. Felt bad for those seated outside of the dining room. We paid extra premium price because it was Easter but it did not feel like a "royal brunch" as advertised. They did not have live music like usual for Easter etc. No fresh flowers, food was good but nothing special. This is the first Sunday brunch where customers had to pay for Mamosa's and juice/soft drinks. The brunch has gone down from previous years and it seemed like the customer was not the priority, "nickle and dining" for a little more profit at the expense of customer satisfaction has left me not wanting to return unless things change for the better!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ambiance quiet and lovely. Service impeccable. Appetizers good. Main course inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The restaurant was very quiet, but that was nice for conversation. The food was delicious and boasted various flavors that fused well together, and presently beautifully.

Our our service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Awesome experience with the Oakroom. Our server was Jamal and he treated us as his best guests. We were coming from the Bourbon trail trip and came 20 minutes earlier of the restaurant opening time. He greeted us and let us sit, served with cocktails while the kitchen was closed. He walked us through the menu and had a talking point about every item. The food was delicious! At the end of the dinner he brought us two candies with bourbon as a compliment for our Bourbon trail trip. He made our evening at the restaurant! Bravo Jamal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a lovely night at the Oakroom. The architecture is just amazing with oak paneled walls; such history. Such beautiful presentations; you have to try their desserts. The drinks, service, music, and food made for the perfect date night; everyone was so nice. We will be back on Oaks night with friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Expectations: When my fiancée and I arrived at the Seelbach on Saturday, we had great expectations. We were celebrating our recent engagement; however, we were in for a let down. Once we were seated in the Oakroom, we sat for a few minutes before the waiter brought out menus. A few minutes later we gave our drink order which included a bottle of wine. Although the server poured our first glasses of wine, I had to pour the rest because he did not return. Also, I had to ask for napkins. Mind you the restaurant was no where near full, so the servers were not especially busy. Finally, our food arrived. We were surprised at the skimpy entrees. While I expected to pay premium prices, we did not receive excellent meals or excellent service. We vowed never to go back to the restaurant since we know at least two other restaurants in the vicinity where we can get excellent service and much, much better food. Overall, we were very disappointed. This restaurant is greatly over-rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good experience . Good and interesting food choices and pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

What a great place to celebrate an anniversary! Phenomenal service and wonderful food!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday. What a wonderful evening. We sat very close to the young man playing the piano (he played continually for our entire 2 1/2 hours there), so I rated the noise level moderate because of this, but we thoroughly enjoyed the music and it wasn't oppressively loud, so it just added to the spectacular ambience and food. I highly recommend the Oakroom for anyone looking for a wonderful, special evening.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a wonderful time. You have to be open minded on trying new food ideas. The chef puts an interesting touch on each dish taking you away from the everyday food pairings.
However, his ideas are what makes the Oakroom a 5-Star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretentious, over priced, waitresses clueless as to what was being served. Asked for cocktail menu, never received. Will not return

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We come every year for Christmas, I called to make a reservation and never got a call back, so I had to do it on line
We arrived for our 2:30 reservation and no one was there to greet you, they did not inform us they had a new area for check ins, than we had to wait in a so called seating area where tables used to be for 20 minutes and were offered picked over Cheese & crackers.
They had a bar seat up where tables used to be so now they shove people outside the Oakroom to eat where it was cold & drafty.
When the hostess came to call our name I could barely hear her and than she walked away so fast I had to chase her down to see if it was our name she called and when I told her I could barely hear her she gave me a dirty look.
After seated at our table we waited 15 minutes before we knew who our server was.

We used to love The Oakroom, it was elegant.
But who ever is manger now is doing a really bad job of the holiday seatings, no one seems to know what to do including the manger, it feels rushed now, no more sitting to enjoy the whole Oakroom ambiance.
I heard many people complaining about service and since our seating was later in the day many things were not replenished so we lost out on certain foods & desserts.
We were there at Easter and it was beautiful all around.

Please go back to how it was,classic & elegant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was top notch! Octopus and ham appetizers were outstanding. They Pay great attention to dietary restrictions and actually asked us if we had any special dietary needs as we were placing our order which was very nice so that I did not have to bring it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It was a very nice evening pre-concert event. The food and service were so very good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for several service glitches: Bartender did not have a bank; server was changing tablecloths instead of greeting us when seated and asking for drink orders (where were the busboys?; had to go to the bar to ask where our wine was after 15 minute wait; server had to go to the front desk (downstairs) to get change. 5th year for Thanksgiving at Oak Room-service has always been excellent in the past.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Oakroom used to have weekly Sunday champagne brunches (with a complimentary glass of bubbly), which were about the best in Louisville. They've now gone to a policy of having brunches just on holidays, which is a pity. We went for the Thanksgiving brunch. The place was packed (with tables out on the balcony as well as the dining room). The food was a good as always (except some 50% more expensive, and no complimentary champagne). The desserts were spectacular. Unfortunately, the waitstaff wasn't particularly attentive. One shouldn't need to bus one's own plates during a meal, and one shouldn't need to try to flag waitstaff to get a cup of coffee. Hopefully somebody in management there will take note and improve the service. For a $60 brunch, that's not too much to ask.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I gave an Overall rating of 4 stars because of the poor level of service we received in the dining room. My wife and I received more of a warm welcome and good conversation from the Valet guys than we did from our server, Valentin.

After being seated it took 8 minutes to be recognized. My wife happened to catch they eye of "our" server as he passed by our table. She asked who was our server and he said he was. Eight minutes is not a deal breaker but given the caliber and price tag of The Oak Room and the fact that at 11:45 a.m. the restaurant was not packed it stands to be said that that amount of time to wait to be noticed is unacceptable.

Our server, Valentin, spoke fluent English. We discovered, upon questioning, that he is from Bulgaria. When asked what brought him to Louisville he said that he and four of his friends were here as Interns. Not sure exactly what that meant but it seems unlikely, based upon our dialogue, that he was pursuing a Medical Degree. When asked if he liked Louisville he was quick to say, "No". Not wanting to spoil the time my wife and I had to be there I refrained from telling him that no one is twisting his arm to stay.

In a nut shell Valentin simply seemed to not want to be there. His attentiveness was not on par for The Oak Room. My wife and I have dined here before and the experience was much better then.

I am certain not every Server at The Oak Room holds the kind of attitude that Valentin possessed. In fact two other Servers stepped in to wait on us at different intervals. That said, the food was very, very good and there was more than enough to choose from - it was Thanksgiving Day.

Still, my wife and I were not impressed with our Server. We get better and more attentive service at Wild Eggs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The Oakroom never disappoints in ambiance, service, and quality. It is one of my favorite places -- especially during colder months when I am wanting something comfortable and filled with warmth (the people and the setting). It's a Louisville gem that has stood the test of time, and continues to innovate.

Tags: Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Simply amazing! Chef Nick Sullivan is so creative and a master sauce maker. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Oak Room lives up to every "star" in it's rating.

It combines the experience of a great staff with a new menu that will exceed the "foodie" expectations of everyone in your party. It's extensive wine selection and the server's knowledge extends the ordering process into what seems like a paired dining adventure.

Don't be surprised to see the Executive Chef, Nick Sullivan, make several sweeps through the room to see and hear how your dining experience is progressing. It makes you feel as if you have your very own chef anticipating what might take this experience from very, very good to exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Second time at the Oakroom, the first time being impeccable. This time however there seemed to be some type of issue with the service. We were told that they were not expecting the restaurant to be this busy, however, this isn't a large restaurant and there were only 7 tables full, and most were a party of 2. Waiters were nice and professional, but seemed overwhelmed, not sure why. The bartender, who said it was his second night, had to assist in serving the room, and actually seemed to care about our dinner. Not sure when our food would have came w/out him, really good effort by him. I believe the chef has talent, but the food was average, and the plating was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Eat here 2-3x a year for multiple years for special occasions. Service, food always excellent and would suggest to those who enjoy great food this to be a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The service was good it was very quite and kind of bright.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Very elegant space with meticulous service and excellent food. Very sparse on a Tuesday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Unbelievable flavor combinations. Truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed. Father's Day brunch. The staff was quite welcoming and very helpful. The pianist was a nice touch. The food - both the choices and the quality- was as nice as could be. Thanks, Oakroom, for a great Father's Day

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Innovative menu, quiet, good for romantic dinner and business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.