Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About The Metro Wine Bar & Bistro

The Metro Wine Bar & Bistro has been at the cutting edge of food and wine in Oklahoma City for over twenty five years. While always evolving and changing, the one constant at The Metro is the world-class food, service and a focus on fine wines paired with our wonderful cuisine.

Drop by for a glass of wine and an appetizer at the bar... or come to spend an evening of great dining. We can be as casual or as formal as the occasion demands.

We are open seven nights a week for dinner... and every weekday for lunch. We are open all afternoon on weekdays for a late lunch, early dinner or just wine & cocktails.

6418 N Western Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday- Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
63rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 840-9463

Website:
http://www.metrowinebar.com/

Catering:
The Metro offers fine catering for small dinner parties and receptions. Each event is planned by the Metro service and kitchen staff to meet the client's needs.

Executive Chef:
Dave Liebold

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tapestry Room seats up to 40 guests in hushed and elegant comfort. Groups over 15 will be offered a special menu with options to please everyone but with courses synchronized to facilitate a smooth flow of service.

The entire restaurant may be rented out for private functions. Surcharges apply.

Private Party Contact:
LaVeryl Lower: (405) 840-9463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Metro Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (47)
Cozy (45)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Business Meals (40)
Great for Lunch (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Authentic (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Healthy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (12)
People Watching (11)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Historic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our FAVORITE place! Very special! Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 7 days ago

Year in, year out -- for decades, arguably the best restaurant in Oklahoma City. Our favorite for special and/or romantic occasions; also great for entertaining out-of-town guests. Classic dishes on menu for many years + new, interesting seasonal specials provide variety. Excellent wine list. We got especially attentive service from our server, Jim, when he learned it was our anniversary. But the service and ambience are always five-star.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent in every way - as usual. Superb service, delicious dining options, serene atmosphere. friendly staff. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We go quite a bit to the Metro. Everything was good except the bday girl tried the paella special. It was mushy including seafood. Waiter was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food, table, service, atmosphere, overall - just the best. You can never go wrong with the Metro.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our favorite places in OKC. Service is outstanding and the neighborhood feel to it is unsurpassed. The food is superb- love the cucumber avocado soup! Great wine list too! It just never disappoints!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to take a date.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I typically celebrate the arrival of Spring in OKC with a visit to the Metro for their cucumber avocado soup. Without a doubt, as fresh and flavorful as a soup can be. The regular menu offers enough variety to suit any group of diners, and the seasonal menus add variety, including vegetarian offerings. The Metro has been consistently excellent for the many years we have enjoyed eating there. From the wait staff to the kitchen and the owners, quality is a tradition.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Metro never disappoints. A lovely meal and service excellent as usual.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, everything was top-drawer and just like it always is.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Metro is consistently great. The waitstaff is excellent. Our waitress brought my husband hot water and lemon for his cough. When I was unable to finish my wonderful dinner and lamented the fact that we were going to a play so was not able to take it home, our waitress offered to put it in the refrigerator for us to pick up after the play. We returned for the leftover meal and had coffee and dessert, so it's good business to take great care of customers. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food... great service. The evening specials are generally AWESOME!! Seasonal desserts are special.

Enjoyed the King Salmon special Fri pm. It was very good.

Monica did an outstanding job pf providing service.

We'll be back!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Delicious food, great service....a great restaurant for OKC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Metro is one of our favorite fine restaurants in town. Highly recommend this high quality eatery!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Cucumber soup best in the world. Beer salad not as good as previous times. But will order again. Needs more greens and fresh beets.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I have considered The Metro my favorite place to eat since I moved to OKC many years ago. It has been and is still consistently wonderful. It is my favorite place to entertain guests. My last visit was to entertain relatives from Austin. They raved about how much they enjoyed our evening at the Metro.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fabulous. Appetizers were amazing especially the onion strings. The Veal was huge and so tender. The fish of the day was perfectly cooked. Pastas were perfectly seasoned and delicious. Best meal in OKC ever. Exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful lunch for my Mother's 90th birthday. The waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great wine and always good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely love The Metro. My husband and I consider this our favorite restaurant in Oklahoma City as we have dined at The Metro for almost 10 or more years. We no longer live in Oklahoma City but travel an hour to dine at The Metro. The cuisine is outstanding, staff is very accommodating, and the ambience is marvelous. We lived in France for three years and now we are fortunate to dine in an outstanding French Bistro in Oklahoma City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Metro is at the top of our
favorite restaurants in Oklahoma
City. The food is excellent as is the service. The chef is always willing to
prepare special request. Your salmon is the very best in Oklahoma City. The wine selection ranks right up there with the very best. We always highly recommend The Metro and we take our top clients to The Metro when they visit. Everyone we take to The Metro raves about the excellent food choices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We usually go to a prime steakhouse for special occasions, but decided to change it up due to the great reviews Metro had. I'm so happy we did! I love risotto, salmon, steak, shrimp and they offered all of these as options. I chose the parm risotto with beef and it was excellent. Husband ordered the filet and if it wasn't prime, we couldn't tell. It was cooked perfectly and could've cut it with a fork. Had the shrimp and asparagus app (3 pieces of each) and it was also fantastic. Drink options were bountiful, more than just wine. They brought us a dessert for our Anniversary. Service was also right on. The tables in the west dining room were very close, which might bother someone trying to have a private conversation. All in all, we cannot wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The Metro was wonderful as usual. Chris and Laveryl do an outstanding job with every aspect of restaurant business-food, wine, wait staff and atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent as always! Never disappoints . My go to place for a great meal and great wines.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Oklahoma City. The wines by the glass are always great. The roll is worth the calories! The food is always good - the other night I had a Caesar salad and a shrimp appetizer. We followed it up with a lemon crepe cake brûlée that was excellent. Seasonal dessert so not on the regular menu. Definitely a restaurant to go have lunch or dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, People Watching, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Jill is an excellent waitress and never rushes diners to hurry with placing their order. Food is always good and if the dish is to be served cold or oven hot, it is always the correct temperature when served. The menu has great selections and I cannot imagine that diners do not have a difficult time selecting their meal with so many excellent choices. The restaurant is wonderful for being able to visit in quiet surroundings!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I love the Metro! The food is always consistent. They have great salads and the French onion soup is the best hands down in OKC.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived just in time for our reservation and was greeted with a smile from our hostess. She kindly asked how she could help or for how many and I said we have a reservation for 2 under Nelson. She says, "oh yes!" like they were gladly expecting and excited for our arrival. Not sure if that was her intention but it made me feel welcome :)

On to the food, we ordered crabcakes for an appetizer and it was wonderful with chunks of crab meat and a sauce that complimented it well. Next, we shared the morrocan tomato and chickpea soup and at first slurp...BAM! Very impressive flavors! So far, off to a great start! We ordered a whiskey special drink, forgot the name of it but it was very tasty and very STRONG, so definitely meant to be sipped and enjoyed throughout the meal.

Now for the entrees, I ordered parmasean risotto, too common of a dish? Nope, it had chopped braised beef with kalamata olives and cooked to perfection! Being a mediocre olive fan, it was not too much, the perfect palatable amount to mix well with the parmasean. My husband ordered the pork special that day with potatoes, onion and zucchini topped with a sauce. I'm used to those items being on the full-bodied heavier side but it was so light and delicious! The pork was so tender, forget the knife, just use your fork to cut it.

And finally dessert. I always order creme brulee everywhere I dine if available, so I'm a bit (understatement) critical, but this did not disappoint. It met all my requirements for a great creme brulee. My husband ordered the HOMEMADE NUTELLA ice cream with nuts and he loved it. Impressive for our first time there and we will be coming back again and again and again. Oh and the waitress was excellent too, she laughed at our corny jokes on top of great service and that's all you can ask for ;)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was terrific as always. Our waiter was very attentive but not pushy. He was very knowledgeable about the menu. This is such a cozy place. They always have some great dinner specials. The bartender made a perfect perfect margarita. Their desserts are awesome.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always a perfect experience at the Metro. Excellent service and amazing food. We come here for every birthday and anniversary in our family, but it's also a great spot for an perfect date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, everything was excellent. We all enjoyed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always good. The most consistent in town. We also chose metro because of the mixture of creative and comfort.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our first time at the Metro as we celebrated our anniversary. The dinner, service, and atmosphere was great. We will definitely return and refer others. Our desserts were complimentary because of our special occasion. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was the second time my wife and I dined here. It was late afternoon so don't know the evening noise level but the service, atmosphere,and food is top flight. I had the salmon and it was cooked to perfection. My wife's pork loin was excellent. Twice here and twice great. Will be one of my choices for good food and atmosphere going forward.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The metro is still one of the most civilized restaurants in OKC that serve excellent food and wine with reasonable prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food. Service was top notch! Pricing was very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Metro never disappoints. Actually exceeds expectations. Eric our server was exceptional and ceratainly added to a wonderful dinner with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was friendly, they were at the table always at the right time. Food was amazing!!! Overall great experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I always enjoy Metro, whether for a business or friend's get together. I also enjoy it for having a nice glass of wine. The food, service and ambiance are all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.