About The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE

1601 Concord Pike Suite 43-47
Wilmington, DE 19803
View Larger Map

The Melting Pot offers an extraordinary dining experience that you won't find at any other restaurant. Here, you'll discover all the ingredients to a perfect evening, including a relaxed atmosphere, private tables, attentive service, fine wines & fabulous four-course dinners. No matter what the occasion, from a romantic date to get-togethers with friends, meetings or large groups. The Melting Pot always hits the spot. Make reservations today & come dip into something different.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Foulk Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 652-6358

Website:
http://www.meltingpot.com/wilmington-de/specials

Private Party Facilities:
The Melting Pot - Wilmington can accommodate semi-private & private parties for both lunch & dinner. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Brad Obeholzer, wilmtmpot@aol.com: (302) 652-6358

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking

The Melting Pot - Wilmington DE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fun (31)
Cozy (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Casual (12)
Family Style (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (4)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a very nice dinner. Great food. Good service, service was slow sometimes But overall a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were celebrating Valentine's Day.

Good food, great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Pretty good experience. We usually go twice a year. For birthday and anniversary. Server was friendly and attentive. Only issue was that my teriyaki steak was fatty. Couldn't even eat it. Was disappointing because its typically my favorite. My husband said his was fine. Still would return.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great experience and food with a higher than average price tag. But so worth it for those special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went to the Melting Pot for Valentine's Day and we had a great evening!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We've been to this location many times and each has been an amazing experience. This time, however, we felt as though we were actually in the way. Never have I felt so rushed. We were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary and wanted a nice relaxing, romantic dinner. It was just the two of us and we were not dawdling by any means. Our salads came out in the middle of our cheese fondue, someone wanted to turn our burner off 1/2 way through our entrees, we were brought the dessert menu right after our entrée arrived, and the check arrived as soon as dessert was ordered. It was a very awkward and uncomfortable feeling. The food was again excellent, but our celebration was marred a tad since we felt as if we were overstaying our welcome. FYI, our reservation was at 6 PM, we started our first of four courses at about 6:35 PM and were out the door by 7:45 PM. I've since heard from others who had the exact same experience, which is disappointing. Not sure we'll return for special occasions if this is the new norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant and enjoyed my server, Sierra...great job and a big help. Will definitely recommend and go back for more fun times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a favorite . Food is always good if you know how to fondu. Make reservations ! I am not sure that i would bring my children. Great atmosphere. Staff are always exceptional and just ask for what ever you want from food and drink pairings to a little more of whatever they are great! I can honestly say that i have never had a bad time here . We always do four courses but you do not have to there is a dessert only option as well. They are a little slower in Tuesdays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best service from the hostess to the waiter! And we have always loved the experience and food. We are regulars! Thanks for making valentines dinner perfect!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food has always been excellent previously. I was highly dissappointed that for my daughter's birthday we were sat in the noisiest area & the food really wasn't as good as it usually is by far. The portions were much smaller as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great dining experience for a family or friend get together. Lots of fun and delicious food. We go to celebrate our birthdays and anniversary and always have a great time. We get the four course and are never disappointed. There are a lot of different choices on the menu. We try a different cheese and dessert each time and haven't found any that we didn't like. Would definitely recommend as a wonderful restaurant to go to from a romantic night out to a fun outing with family or friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fondue is very good. For appetizers we like the spinach and artichoke and Alpine versions. Don't particularly like the version with beer. We have tried most cooking styles for the main course, but the traditional oil seems to produce the best tasting and most tender results. All the desert options are really good. The Yin and Yan martini is excellent.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My husband and I love coming here!! The hostesses, servers, the food, the atmosphere, AMAZING!! Thank you for always providing us with wonderful memories!!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was good. Salad was outstanding. Chicken/Salmon were better than Steak/Pork. The only complaint would be that the 4 courses are ALOT of food. Better come hungry.

Restaurant was crowed and noisy. Room was very warm and humid.

Server and manager showed great service and concern for our satisfaction.

Overall experience was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Visited several years ago for our anniversary and really enjoyed the experience so we returned again this year.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As far as the cuisine goes I know what to expect from The Melting Pot I also know what to expect from the experience if you don't know what the Melting Pot is you cook at your own table with your own burner. All of these things we're up to par although our waiter seem to be speaking from a narrative or a script he was friendly but he was very quick and did not seem engaged it was seemingly disappointing. I will return to The Melting Pot I just hope that our server acts like they want to be there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We used to visit once or twice a year for Birthdays. We haven't been here for a year or two and I was disappointed in the quantity of food. The salad was a lot smaller than I remembered and the amount of protein and vegetables wasn't a very good value. The service was fine, but I don't think I'll rush back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The waitress we had was really bad undesirable when she brought the cheese out to melt it she got it all over the table never once tried to clean it. Rushed us through dinner at the end of the dinner brought the check with the chocolate then disappeared had to call Chuck the manager to get extras for the chocolate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Girl's Night was great. The environment allows for us to catch up and enjoy ourselves. The drinks are amazing. Our server was the absolute best! Always request John! And with a group of 4 women best to ask for a two burner table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was an excellent night out and our waitress was great.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. We just came out for a bite to eat and we're very please with coming here. Food was delicious, and the waiter was fantastic. It was really hot in there with all the burners on, but other than that, fantastic!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service and food were great, a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Enjoyed the concept but felt that it wasn't worth the price. We appreciate good food and are willing to pay for an experience. However, they give you loads of bread and then hardly any veggies (3 broccoli, 1 small red potato, 5 mushrooms...really?) a very small portion of meat. Then dessert: I was hoping for a lot of fruit, but it was 5 slices of bananas (for 2) maybe 2 strawberries, then a bunch of stuff that is frankly filling & cheap: marshmallows (2 kinds), rice krispy treats, brownies & blondies. It's hard to feel it was worth the price...

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our waiter was excellent, cheese and chocolate fondue were amazing per usual. We all ordered the land and sea option for our 4 course meal, the chicken was not very good but the steak and shrimp were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My 18-year-old daughter chose The Melting Pot for her family birthday dinner. My husband was out of town, and he doesn't like fondue anyway, so it was just my three daughters and myself. We really enjoyed our dinner. We chose to have the Crave Combo, which consists of the cheese course (to which we added one cured meat plate), a salad, and the chocolate course. We didn't care for the raw cauliflower, carrots, and celery that come with the cheese course (would've preferred steamed cauliflower and broccoli), and we thought the salads were a little chintzy, but everything else was great. Our waitress was very friendly and personable, and my girls enjoyed their virgin daiquiris too (one daughter tried the pirate punch, but traded it in for a daiquiri because the punch tasted weird). My only complaint is that while the other tables around us were cooking their meat courses, the smell was so strong as to be unpleasant. They really could do with a better ventilation system--it was almost like breathing secondhand smoke.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Superb night out - wonderful fondue, fantastic service and ambiance. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic from the food to the service they didn't miss a beat. Thank you Mariah as you made us feel welcome and knew every answer to our questions. First experience and it was amazing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service, food, and atmosphere were great. I'll be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the third time my wife and I have been here and every time is been top notch. Food is excellent as well as the entire dining experience. This is a place for a great time that in my opinion will not disappoint. Was there for New Year's Eve bringing in 2017 free champagne and gifts for everyone. Try it and you'll love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined here on New Year's Eve. Our server, John, was amazing!! Very attentive and knowledgeable . He offered drink suggestions and items we had not tried. We come here a lot so we know what to expect. Amazing food, great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here for New Year's Eve dinner! Our experience was great! The place was decorated very nice for New Years! They offered complimentary champagne! (To my husband. None for me since I am 7 months the preggo!) our waitress Jamie was so sweet!!

Great night out and awesome experience. The food was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great evening. Excellent service from Jackie B. Great food and ambience.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was great. Very energetic and informative.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Melting Pot has always and will always one of my favorite places to eat. It's a true "dining experience"...!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Fun time. cooking tableside encourages conversation. Each table has high walls around it for a more private conversational experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our service was excellent and our meal was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The Melting Pot is our favorite restaurant. The food is always delicious, the service is great, and it's just a relaxing and fun dining experience. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have been coming to Melting Pot Wilmington for years. The service is good and the experience is always delightful. We love the cheese and chocolate the best. It is a little loud and energetic. Also it is very dark inside and can get warm due to the fondue. Great surprise wine was 10% off, we bought a bottle of riesling. We love the overall experience and will continue to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints! It's a great way to reconnect! While cooking your own food you are conversing with the other person! Ambience is absolutely wonderful! Really enjoyed myself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

There is something to be said for a restaurant that doesn't just offer food, but an experience. Not being rushed, feeling welcomed and taken care of made for a great night out. Our two hour dinner didn't feel like two hours. We were able to take our time, enjoy the food enjoy our server, and even more so enjoy the company we were with.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Made a reservation ahead of time and seated quickly. Food arrived promptly and our waitress was attentive and friendly. Was delicious and a great date night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Anthony was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The Melting Pot has always been a family favorite for us. A couple of nights ago my man and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. It is super romantic and totally sets the mood for a perfect evening. The waitress explained the new menu layout, was very informative, kind, and she asked us what we were celebrating and of course we told her our anniversary. When the chocolate course came we saw that she added a chocolate "Happy Anniversary" and 2 hearts especially for us. It is a perfect evening restaurant/dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and great service in with an interactive meal and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My 15 yo daughter wanted to treat some of her friends "on her own" before the holidays and we brought them here. The staff was great with the girls and made them feel very special (and grown up!). Always an outstanding experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Birthday celebration was excellent for our 16 and 14 year old they want to go every year now

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Having been to the Melting Pot before in a group setting, going as a date was phenomenal. They gave just the right amount of attention to us, so we could enjoy our food and each other. Great dining experience!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always always fantastic place to eat at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our server Jessica was amazing, she knew all about the menu. The food was amazing! I want to go back again soon! We had the 4 course meal and I loved every part of it. It was my first time, and dipping my steak in broth was strange for me, but the taste was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.