Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Manship

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Nick Mathes: (769) 243-6630 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Business Meals (19)
Casual (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Hands down best brunch experience I've ever had in JXN.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Dinner before a concert. Apps of oysters, pimento cheese spread and salad were great. We all ordered the halibut special and it was delicious! Never have been disappointed with any food we have tried at Manship!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

If they find consistentence could be one of the better restaurants in town

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fabulous restaurant with exceptional food and service. The pork chop special is a must have when it is on the menu. Top notch restaurant that is not to be missed if you are in Jackson. I will definitely visit this establishment again and again, Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The wood fired Greek chicken was fabulous.
The pan fried corn and fried okra topped it all off ...

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food is top notch. I'd say it's the best food in Jackson I've tried. Highly Recommend. The atmosphere is not very private but it's a nice place and great staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Awesome food! Great atmosphere! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent appetizers then great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been eating around Jackson the whole week... manship is our favorite place thus far. This place seems to have a purpose and a complete package... I hear they are opening a more casual family friendly spot ! Great job once again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Best restaurant in Jackson
Wonderful food & great service
Farmer's Market Pizza was fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Jackson's most well managed and operated restaurant. Excellent food from a friendly, attentive staff, in a chic, upscale environment. We enjoyed the grilled salmon that was perfectly prepared and served timely to allow us to be in and out during the lunch hour. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food is always terrific at The Manship, and it's a well run restaurant, and creative cuisine, and I love the way they support and use local farmers' and vendors' products. Great place and super excited about the new restaurant Aplos to open in Highland Village this next spring!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had another near-perfect experience at The Manship on Friday night. The only issue we had was due to our own lack of information. We went early (5:30) planning to take advantage of the last bit of Happy Hour before dinner. The bar was packed so we opted for a table in the dining room instead and learned that the Happy Hour specials are good only in the Bar area or the patio. It was still about 95 degrees on the patio so, with no seats available in the bar, we went ahead and had dinner. It was early, but it was excellent. We had the fennel sausage pizza - which I am convinced is the best pizza in the area - a tenderloin appetizer that was phenomenal and the baba ganoush which was also great. Service was top notch and the drinks we had - while not at happy hour prices - were outstanding, as well. This was only our second time to eat here, but it is now high on our list of favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I will start by saying the food was great. The desert was spectacular. Our server was excellent and he knew the menus really well and made two great recommendations.

Things went south when we walked in the door. The hostesses were down right rude. We made a reservation and we were seated at the bar. It was early on a Saturday afternoon and there were plenty of great seats available but for some reason we were seated in the bar area even though we made a reservation. The hostess didn't say a word to us as we were seated. Like I said she was rude. The area was loud and we were seated between two large groups plus the music was cranked up.

The manager who came to all of the tables in our area except ours didn't seem to want to deal wit us for some reason. He was concerned with his cell phone and liquor inventory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Manship NEVER disappoints. It is by far my favorite restaurant in the Jackson area! If you haven't tried it, do it today! You won't regret it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Artisan meats, brick oven pizzas, fresh gulf seafood, locally sourced, Jackson gem!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We have always been pleased with the food and the service at The Manship, and our Thursday evening dinner with friends was no exception. My favorite -- Redfish Fisherman Style--was perfectly grilled and delicious as always. Others in the party chose the salmon, the linguine with shrimp, and the bone-in pork chop. We also had the Caesar salad, which is perfect for two to share in order to leave room for the delicious vegetables and desserts. Thanks for another fine evening at The Manship!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our food was great and the service was as well! We went with friends and had a really good time! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Professional staff are very knowledgeable about the cocktails, wines and menu items.
This is my go-to restaurant and I always have a good meal and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The ambiance hits you when you walk by the restaurant. It's cool and elegant and you just know it will be amazing. The service is top notch and attentive which compliments the amazing food. The menu is crafted artistically by the chefs and executed to perfection. There's no having a bad time at this beautiful restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Well above average restaurant, but parking is complex. Allow a few extra minutes.

Excellent fried chicken, as well as okra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent, as always. Great farm to table choice in metro Jackson area.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Loved it! My 1st time here and it was great! Food service and price was excellent! Will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I've tried several things on the menu, and invited friends to join me for lunch. I was able to make recommendations based on the variety of items I've tried and liked.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our first time visiting The Manship. Food was VERY good. It was healthy, clean and tasty! Not a fan of heavy cream sauces and the grilled redfish was delicious as obviously the fish being so fresh didn't need a lot to be that good. We definitely will be back! Oh.. and fabulous cocktail and wine menu!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Delicious as usual! The appetizer special and the farmers market pizza were the best!
The pizzas can be split ! They are very filling and fresh!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary the evening of July 21st.
On most all occasions when our server came to the table, he leaned over us with his hands on the table.
Just prior to our entree arriving, he hurriedly and forcefully dropped our bread and olive oil on our table and hurried off.

I privately spoke to the manager on duty about this before we left.

Sadly, we both had a restless night because we both experienced upset stomachs
as well as stomach cramps in the early morning hours. Our entree was the red snapper.

We wish it had not been this way. We have heard so many good comments about your
restaurant. Hopefully you can train your staff to be more gracious and mannerly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Everything was exceptional (as always). The Manship delivers again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Porch Swing is a refreshing glass of Cathead Honeysuckle Vodka and lavender-infused lemonade. My favorite cocktail ever!

Crab Beignets are amazeballs! Hearty balls of crab, better than a crab cake, and served on a smoky, flavorful drizzle of sauce.

Rabbit Ravioli: rabbit, spinach and pancetta served in a rich garlic cream sauce. Don't let the rabbit part scare you. It was very, very mild, like chicken or veal. Absolutely sublime.

Service was great and food arrived very quickly. Loud, but most busy restaurants in Jackson are. It's a really common problem.

I will definitely go back and am not going to ding them for the noise level. That happens everywhere. I highly recommend for the caliber of food and cocktails and can't wait to go back!

Double Bonus points: I had made a reservation for 7pm, but my friend called to say she was running late. It was storming in Madison, and she's an uneasy driver in the rain due to a bad wreck in college. I called the restaurant to let them know we'd be 15-20min late, and the hostess said she could move it back, but we'd only have an hour. I was glad she let me know and thanked her for the heads-up, but was a little worried that wouldn't be quite long enough. She said, let me check something, then switched around some seating and made the next booking for our table at 8:45. We arrived at 7:15 and left just before 8:30. Enough time to enjoy dinner and conversation, and leave staff plenty of time to prep for the next booking. Props to the hostess for how she handles reservations! Win!!!!

Also, my friend had ordered a drink called Blood and Sand. Only a few moments after receiving it, one of the bartenders brought her another. He realized it had been made with the wrong vermouth. She said, "I've never had it before, so I wouldn't have known any better." But HE knew the difference and wanted her to have it made RIGHT. That's attention to detail and quality, for sure!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Meet for Birthday lunch as a party of three and everyone loved the food and all that goes with share a special celebration together. Great!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Poor red snapper special- too much butter/oil
Cauliflower was cold and soggy.
Duck breast was good.
fries were cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Date night with my wife

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Brian Dronet the Manager is the best and made us feel comfortable & welcome.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Vegetable plate, corn silks left in the fried corn. Taste good, had to pick out silks. Roasted cauliflower had too much garlic. Greens, ok, fried okra good.

Over priced.

Blinds loaded in dust, we sat next to window on a sunny day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I've eaten here a few time. This past weekend was the first time I've eaten here outside of the M-F lunch hour. I was let down with the weekend service, but because the weekday service I will visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Just a wonderful neighborhood spot with incredible food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Manship was recommended by our daughter and son-in-law. They were so pleased with their evening that we decided to try it out.
We are not from Jackson so we were not familiar with the restaurant, but were happy to eat there on our way to New Stage.
We were very pleased with the entire experience and will definitely come again,
Th food was excellent and service very good.
I liked the listing of food suppliers . I would give it all excellent marks.
Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Phenomenal food and service. Wait time could be improved-we had reservations. Worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.