Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi
  1. Distance: 0.41mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.74mi

About The Manship

The Manship Wood Fired Kitchen is focused on bringing you Fresh Local cuisine cooked over wood fire with Mediterranean influence (Spanish, Northern Italian, Greek, Lebanese). Our dinner menu is served a la carte with family style sides to share. Lunch offerings served with sides.

1200 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Southern, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm (Lunch after 2pm)
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7:00am - 10:00am (no reservations available)

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 398-4562

Website:
http://www.themanshipjackson.com/

Catering:
Check out our diverse catering menu for your next corporate or social event. Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner available.

Parking Details:
Multiple parking options available. We have our public parking garage with skywalk access from parking level E to the second story. There is a rear parking area with access from the lobby and street parking available.

Executive Chef:
Alex Eaton

Private Party Facilities:
We have a wonderful space equipped with state of the art audio/visual capabilities. We can set up for any event, banquet, conference, classroom and many more. Talk with our catering coordinator today to reserve your space.

Private Party Contact:
Nick Mathes: (769) 243-6630 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Manship Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Great for Lunch (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Local Ingredients (30)
Wood Oven (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Happy Hour (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (23)
Authentic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fun (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great Beer (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (7)
Organic (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for our anniversary and it was great!! The pork shoulder was simply awesome!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Had dinner for our anniversary. The food was really good . The drink list wow .... choices choices choices . The service was impeccable. Definitely going back .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

Our favorite place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Another great lunch at the Manship! Smoked Tuna Dip is a must have for appetizer or meal! Great service, great atmosphere and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had our reservation for May 13 @ 7:45 pm and arrived at 7:30pm. We checked in and were told they were making sure our table was ready and then.......nothing. At first I felt like we were forgotten and when they were getting ready to seat people who came in after us, I got a little testy. I told the manager we had a reservation for 7:45pm. He looked at me and basically did the "Yeah, we know...shut up" thing. Once we got our table, everything fell into place and we had a wonderful dinner. The food is always outstanding and Brandon, our server, was friendly, attentive and genuine (although he did let slip that he is usually the guy they pick to handle "difficult" patrons). I got a little worked up when the manager came to our table and did the disingenuous smile with the pat, "Thank you for being here, we love serving you!" The manager's apparent lack of people skills aside, we had a beautiful meal and didn't feel rushed and Brandon was the ultimate server. All in all, we will go back because we love the place but I do hope they teach their managers tact.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I will recommend this place to any one in Jackson. Unusual diversity on the menu and Wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a Mother's Day gift/dinner for my mother-in-law and out of all the times I have been to the Manship and it has been delicious, this night was not good at all. The food took forever, was over done and bland compared to usual. The atmosphere was not nearly as great as usual and the restaurant (in particular the kitchen) was too crowded and rushed with orders. It was by far the worst experience we have ever had at the Manship. It was very uncharacteristic and we all were very disappointed and unhappy with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was dry, and two meals were told to be WELL DONE NO PINK. Absolutely raw inside when received

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We chose The Manship for a very special 92nd birthday celebration for our mother, and The Manship gave our mother the royal treatment! Everything was perfect - food, service, atmosphere - up to the surprise, delicious gluten-free dessert with a big sparkler that certainly capped off a wonderful occasion. We could not have been treated more special and certainly chose the ideal location for our mother's special celebration. Thank you, Manship!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Wow! What a foodies dream! The Manship was excellent. Our waitress Rachael, the hostess, and staff were 5 star! We can't wait to go back and try everything on the menu. We went for lunch and can't wait to try dinner. Delicious and savory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Tuesday's chicken was a little dry. Tasty but dry. Waitress was excellent. Didn't constantly bother us but was attentive enough to realize when we needed something.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I enjoy dining in and the carry out lunch option! Great for all celebrations!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

food was fair. Paid $8 for truffle fries that was served in a saucer and were frozen from a bag.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was so delicious! We enjoyed ourselves and the prices were great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is a great restaurant to dine with friends, co-workers and family members. The food was great and the service was awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It's just the best place around to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ordered food which included a steak cooked medium. Steak comes back well done. Point it out to the waiter and he promptly brings it back - no questions asked. 10 minutes later - new steak cooked perfectly! I love a place that does everything they can to make your experience the best it can be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food. Prices are a bit high and entrees were not big portions and did not include sides. We got the BBQ wings for our appetizer and they were good. Our drinks were perfect. The service was immaculate! We definitely will visit again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Halibut was the best I've ever had. Cocktails very good and attentive service. Always a winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awesome
We will be back
Have to try more of the menu

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My brother recommended The Manship to me and my wife for our anniversary. The service was excellent! The food was even better. I ordered the pork shoulder with greens and grits (and a perfectly cooked egg on top) and my wife ordered the Mahi-Mahi, which was one of the nightly specials. Both were exceptional, and my wife and I both agree this was the best meal we have enjoyed in years! Our waiter made the evening with his knowledge of the menu and his recommendations. The Manship is refreshingly different.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was outstanding. Ordered the appetizer to be followed by the soup. Soup came out at exact same time. We felt rushed to eat quickly and were disappointed in the hurry up and leave atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Crab beignets and ducks were perfect! Shrimp po boy nicely done but uses fried shrimp. Catfish special perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It took over an hour an a half to get food and check. Disappointing, most people only get an hour off for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband and I brought international friends to The Manship for a special celebration dinner on Saturday, April 1st, and were delighted with everything about our visit--exactly what we've come to expect from a reservation at this restaurant. Our waiter, Charles, was perfectly attentive to our needs without being intrusive in our conversations; he was patient and helpful with guests whose first language is not English. Among our group of six, we ordered the Redfish Fisherman style, Grilled Salmon, Shrimp and Grits, and two cuts of beef. The sides of garlic spinach and wild mushrooms were just right with all of these, and three desserts among the six of us served to fill us up to the brim (well, maybe beyond, but we were certainly happy). We are fond of a number of Jackson restaurants, but The Manship is at the top of our list for a fine dining experience in a friendly and attractive environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good food, fresh, great vibe, and awesome service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We came for my daughters birthday. Made us feel very welcome. Free cake for the birthday lady was a treat. Good menu choices. Shrimp and grits were awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our fish dish was delicious! Handcrafted cocktails and outstanding service too

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My wife's surprise birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Shrimp and grits was a big let down. Filet was good. Waiter was nice but we had to ask for bread while other customers were receiving theirs ahead of us and we were there first.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a great visit at the Manship for lunch. The wood-fired pizzas are spectacular. They are always coming up with new, delicious specials. It is not the best choice if you are looking for a quick in-and-out lunch as it took us about an hour and a half on a Thursday lunch. Make sure to make a reservation and block out some extra time to spend there because it's worth it!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great place with so many different options for sides. Try the sweet potato, it will melt in your mouth.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Everything was great, but the portion for homemade fries was very little especially because the price was $6 and all we got was like 8-9 small piece of potatoes plus they didn't taste that fresh. Service was decent because our food took over 35 minutes to come out even though the restaurant didn't seem that busy. I also wanted to cancel the fries 15 minutes before they came out and my waiter just said "no, because they already made them" and walked off. But overall the environment was great and our pizza was great!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Everything we ate that came out of the Wood Oven was diiiVINE. The tabbouleh was a major fail however. Way too much bulgur and it was over-cooked. My daughter had a steak (and I couldn't stop stealing bites) and my chicken was so good I drank the juice out of the bowl. The sides were expensive but substantial for 2 or 3 people. I would definitely go back to try other things if I was in the area. There was definitely a modern hipster vibe, not sure I would visit with small children.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make our evening special . Especially with the water shortage.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The bone in cowboy ribeye was wonderful. Our server Dorothy was very attentive and knowledgeable. The duck breast was delicious. The blue cheese dressing on the wedge salad was divine. We also ordered The Apple cobbler à la mode, bread pudding a la mode, both very good and the lemon icebox pie which was our favorite.

Tags: Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food w/many fresh local options, wonderful service, decent wine list, ability to reserve tables on line. Pleasant room w/local art andRestrooms are clean. Medium prices for dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great meal here with friends from out of town. Very nice restaurant, great bar and appropriately dressed whether casual or business attire. Short rib pasta was crazy good. Steaks were excellent and black grouper was perfectly cooked. Wood fired cooking at its best (not just the pizzas)! Excellent wine and craft beer selection, along with experienced bartenders (ask for Brian) who know how to work with bitters and mixers to craft really good specialty cocktails also.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Nearly perfect. I'll definitely be recommending it to my friends and family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Organic, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, People Watching, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Good food, good service. Wine list disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.