Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About The Little Door

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Parking Details:
Daytime: $6.50 per car
Evening: $8.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and other celebrations. For private dinner parties, inquire about our Blueroom which can accommodate guests up to 40 people.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We also offer Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65. Special valid Feb 1, 2017 - Jun 1, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (102)
Good for a Date (86)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Cozy (53)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Fun (20)
Authentic (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
People Watching (14)
Healthy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Organic (9)
Private Room (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Casual (7)
Scenic View (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Historic (4)
Family Style (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful place. We were running late due to a tire blow out and they were so understanding about pushing the reservation back as it was my girlfriends birthday. We also had great seats and the food was amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance and food was great. Rib Eye and sea Bass were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely evening in this very romantic restaurant. Food was excellent. Service with Brigette perfect. You can't go wrong here for a quiet meal or a family or friendly gathering. A good spot for a proposal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Took my date here for his birthday and it was our first time trying the restaurant. The main reason I reserved this restaurant was because their rack of lambs was highly recommended on Yelp. Since he enjoys eating lambs, I just had to get a reservation. The restaurant exceeded my expectations. Everyone who worked there was very friendly. They did everything I requested for his birthday. The food was delicious, the atmosphere of the restaurant was very romantic. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

It's been a while since I have been to Little Door but it did not disappoint. Still incredibly beautiful. Food delicious. Service impeccable. Ambiance...💗.

Thank you for a beautiful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mersi for the elegant atmosphere and good food. Great place for a date or special occasion

Tags: Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere was great! Food was wonderful and the service exceptional. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Little Door last year for an occasion and thought it was "good", came back this year and thought it was superb! The food was exceptional and the service was awesome!

Our server was a French gentleman by the name of Olivier, he did a good job of keeping us on his radar and cracking a job or two. There was a mistake with our desert but perhaps the best mistake ever! I ordered thecreme brûlée but I ended up getting a chocolate macadamia cake...it was amazing!!! They still got me the creme brûlée but it pales in comparison. Anyways, a bit pricey of a place but the experience and food was well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent as always. Always want to come back after going through the many trending restaurants in LA.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I dined here Mother's Day with my husband and mother-in-law. First off, this is a beautiful restaurant. It gets prettier and more romantic as the evening progresses. Many of the tables are under a covered patio, so I was glad I brought a jacket. The service was perfect. The food was good, but not great. I got the $65 menu and added oysters. Both the tuna tartare and oysters were quite good. I got the lamb as an entree, which I think needed more seasoning. My mother-in-law ordered the pappardelle; it ended up being the tastiest of the three entrees we received. For dessert, we got the excellent coconut cheesecake and the chocolate pot de creme with a pot of mint tea. The mint tea is sweet and delicious, the perfect finisher.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food & service were superb and the ambience was perfect for our anniversary dinner date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My fiancé and I came here to celebrate Mother's Day and it was perfect in every since. We shared the smoked fish platter which was excellent! High recommended 💜

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

WONDERFUL service. So charming and lovely - the hostess noted that it was our anniversary and relayed to our server. Really, really well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service and food are both amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome environment and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Romantic setting tucked away behind unmarked, rustic gates. Wonderful food and a charming setting!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

For us everything was perfect overall......
This was a last minute thing, my wife mentioned the day before that it was a while since we had a date alone without kids which we have 6 so you can imagine , not enough time to plan something special and I really wanted to surprise her so thanks to Open Table and reviews about this Restaurant I give it a try and let me tell you , since we got to the place the main door different I was concerned because she deserved it a little rest alone an we were walking into a different restaurant not knowing what to spect but since we walked thru the door

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I took my girlfriend to "the little door" for some much needed "get out of the house intimacy". There was soft music playing and a candle lit table waiting for us. The wait staff wasn't overly present and while the entree took 30+ minutes to arrive the started we ordered was at the table in five minutes. We had the duck and the lamb. Both were good and the portions just slightly larger than I had been prepared for after reading other reviews.

Price ended up being about $60.00 per person with one beverage one starter two entrees and no dessert. All in all I felt like I got just the right experience for the investment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always fantastic- exceptional service! The ribeye steak, scallops, tuna tartare were magnificent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Definitely one of the most beautiful settings for any restaurant in Los Angeles. Service was amazing. Staff gracefully accommodated the requests of a picky eater. Food tasted fresh and delicious, portions were huge. This is a hidden gem and a classic LA spot.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A lot of food, a LOT! But the quality is unfortunately not as good as expected. Flavors were just a little too simple to justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is a romantic at its best place, perfect for a date and delightful food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best date spot in LA hands down from the ambiance to the food and best of all the service. You won't be disappointed and it's worth the price

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ambiance was beautiful but food was disappointing. Dishes were not cohesive and many combinations seemed to have a lack of focus. Couldn't figure out if the scallops were trying to be French, Asian or African with all the different flavors. Octopus was cooked well but flavors totally overpowered the flavor.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The Food and location was very good. But the server and staffs were too kind so they interrupt our conversation several times to clean up the table or to offer dessert menu.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Very good food and drinks. Place was crowded but not loud at all. Will go again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing place! The food is phenomenal and the service is excellent. I love the indoor/outdoor feeling of the main dining area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Little Door is a true gem!The menu is eclectic yet unique and the ambiance is over the top.Service is also outstanding.Do not pass up the mint tea after the meal, it is superb!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing place for a special occasion or impressing a first date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service is exceptional and the food is very high quality. The Mediterranean appetizer is delicious and very filling. I would recommend sharing it. The white fish was very tender and delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Scallops were perfect. They just melted in your mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The Little Door is always wonderful- we'e been there about ten times over the last many years and it never disappoints. Exceptional service, lovely, hip ambience and delicious food combine to keep it in our top 10 in LA. Also - it's usually a hip crowd, gorgeous gardens and yummy cocktails!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved everything but the music. I was too loud and very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and service. The food was supreme with perfectly cooked filet and the sea bass was crazy-good. Ambiance was delicious as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I made reservations for two for my husbands birthday.
we got a table for 4 instead the restrooms.

we both ordered the chef's 65$ menu and I got food poising... I have never felt so sick eating at any restaurant as I did here. I called in sick the next morning going to work.

food tasted very mediocre and over priced for the quality given.
Never again! waste of my 190 $

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I had great time. Place was better than I expected. My waiteress "Briggette" was nothing short of perfect. She was born in northern CA and had travelled to Morocco and knew some French as well. Very nice and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

EXCELLENT! Could not have been more perfect... I had dinner here back in 2005 and to my surprise, 11 years later the little door is thriving and much better than I remembered it!! 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The "Little Door" that enters into the restaurant was hard to find and not well-marked but worth the search. The atmosphere is romantic and elegant with lovely decor. Service was good and the food was great. Though pricey, we enjoyed the meal and felt it was worth the splurge.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely fantastic on every level!! Our waiter was spot on with his recommendations in every category.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.