Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About The Little Door

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Parking Details:
Daytime: $6.50 per car
Evening: $8.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and other celebrations. For private dinner parties, inquire about our Blueroom which can accommodate guests up to 40 people.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays and Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We change our menus according to seasonal availability. Special valid Sep 13, 2017 - Nov 30, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Sundays and Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Our chef prepares Moroccan faire. Special valid Sep 13, 2017 - Oct 2, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (77)
Good for a Date (64)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Cozy (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Groups (10)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (6)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This place is magical! The waitstaff is very attentive and friendly. The food was everything we hoped it would be. It's fine dining at its finest.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I LOVED this restaurant. It was our seven year wedding anniversary and it was the perfect date! So romantic with an amazing ambiance. I loved the menu and everything we ordered was delicious! The service was excellent and the price was very adequate to what we received for it. Very Happy!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Food, Ambiance, and Dessert/Drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful setting for three friends celebrating milestone birthdays. The staff is very attentive and friendly. The ambiance is exquisite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Very romantic patio seating. Delicious, but pricey, French/Moroccan cuisine.
Lovely, attentive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great ambiance, service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Ame esta noche y el lugar❤️😍
El servicio excelente 👍🏻😃

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went here on a double date with friends and we all were very impressed. They are LA locals and my boyfriend and I are from Chicago and we thought both the atmosphere and the food was perfect. The cocktails were refreshing/delicious, and we got 3 courses and all the were yummy. Everyone got something different and we all loved it. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I love ❤️ this place, I've been twice already. I will definitely be going again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I used to live in Chicago for 59 years and then moved to LA last year. I have traveled all over Europe and between eating in Chicago and Europe, this was by far THE most romantic restaurant I have ever been in. So worth the trip here. I will be a repeat customer from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

You cannot beat the ambience of this place. It is really beautiful (oh and food is very good too). Part of that ambience is candlelight, so be prepared to bust out your phone if you need to see what you're ordering or eating.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

There is little to mark this wonderful restaurant from the outside. We asked the street side hostess at the place next door, and she smiled, pointed to a rustic, unmarked door in a nondescript wall and said, "That's it right there," so we thanked her and went inside.

The door handle is heavy iron, and the unvarnished wood speaks of simpler, ancient times. I half expected the Colosseum in 1st century Rome to be on the other side. I wasn't too far off the mark.

We were greeted by the hostess, who wished my mother a happy birthday and passed us off to another charming young lady who gathered menus and seated us quickly.

The ambiance is right out of several Mediterranean countries I've been lucky enough to visit, a combination of Italy, Greece and Morocco. The food is the same.

Everything was simply wonderful. I highly recommend the scallops, the rack of lamb or the chicken, but everything on the menu is fabulous, nuanced, and extremely satisfying.

Unless you are ridiculously wealthy, The Little Door is too expensive for casual, daily dining. Still, the service is impeccable, and the pace is not hurried; I never felt we were being ignored, and never wanted for anything.

My only caveat is that it is essentially outdoor dining. Even though it is not open to the street like a café, it was very warm that night, and if you're fine with eating in whatever temperature it is outside, run don't walk. However, I was warm the whole time, so I will return in the fall, and stay away during any high temperatures, but I will go back...I must go back.

It is a magical place. We spent about $300, including tip, for the four of us, and it was worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great atmosphere and food for a romantic dinner in the patio. The food was great. Noteworthy was also the music with a fantastic playlist for the right ambiance

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing good, impeccable service. My husband and I love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Very romantic atmosphere. Came here once during DineLA and loved it so much we decided to come back for our anniversary. It started to rain during our meal but that wasn't an issue because they have a motorized glass roof that closed up.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I had been here twice before: once for my birthday, where we sat in the back (very charming and a homey Mediterranean cottage vibe) and just recently for Father's day in the front patio. Both were excellent events; food is very good -- they have a prix fixe menu (all food is Mediterranean-inspired french cuisine), which is very accommodating to the wallet as well as their regular menu (for most restaurants nowadays I find our bills coming in at roughly $60/person; for this restaurant our bill was $100/person with two glasses of wine and a cocktail and a mixture of the $55 prix fixe menus and regular menu). The wine is very good and they, of course, have a full bar. This time we brought friends from out of town and their amazement at how romantic and charming the restaurant was for the neighborhood--it's right in the middle of Third St. by La Cienega--you feel like you're out of the city...out of the state, in fact. Celeb sighting : Peta Murgatroyd and Maxim Chmerkovsky from Dancing with the Stars on Father's Day just after the birth of their little boy.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Good food and service. However, the hostess was terrible. No personality and she sat us in what was obviously Siberia.
We did not complain. I was just so shocked at the treatment. It was our anniversary, which they knew about and I am supposedly a VIP on Open Table.
We will never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

We loved it! The place is so nice and the food super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Love the place, the food, drink and service. However, my request for a more private and quiet table was not honored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I've gone here at least twice a year since it opened and it's always great. It has gotten a bit pricey as of late so be prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was for our anniversary and I had requested patio dining. I knew that it would be based on availability and was quite happy to know they gave us a great table in the patio area. The service was spot on and the food was excellent. This place is magical and makes you feel relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Celebrated a birthday
Great food
Great service
Would highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My husband took me to The Little Door to celebrate our anniversary. It could not have been more perfect. We had some tasty unique drinks at the bar before sitting down at our candlelit table. The food was artfully presented and flavorful. I would recommend the couscous royale :) You will not be disappointed. The service was fantastic, from the bartender, to the waitstaff and everyone in between. We will definitely be returning again soon. Thanks, Little Door!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Beautiful food and beautiful ambiance. Felt very special and will definitely revisit!

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great place for romantic dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Overall, a fantastic restaurant. Great experience.......

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Most romantic setting and excellent service. The food is spectacular. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance, attentive friendly service. One of my favorite LA restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with all the right touches. Service was excellent and food was tasty. Our fish was a bit dry but everything else was great. Lovely atmosphere. Definitely a hidden gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Extraordinaria comida. Excelente mezcla de sabores!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The Little Door was an upscale yet casual setting for dinner. My date and I were transported to Greece as soon as we walked in. The food was delicious, but the server took away our expensive appetizer when we asked for our main course. I wish the appetizer could have stayed along with the main courses, because I like to nosh in rotations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful in every sense of the word!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We came to the Little Door while visiting LA. What a beautiful place! Sit out on the patio if you can, though being inside was quieter and more intimate..great for a date night. The food was incredible, awesome wine list and great service.

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The place was hard to find - it literally is a little door. Nondescript. A quaint, charming decor in the place, almost like dining in a person's home. The food was great - mostly Mediterranean with French influences. Boasting fresh food - source to table, it seems like the kind of place you can visit often and would have changing menus because of that freshness. My wife and I both picked from a 3-course chef's menu. My wife chose seafood items that were fresh and vibrant. A nice, farm-like ahi tartare with a moist and tangy seabass entree. I had the "farm" - a vegetable and bread appetizer (large enough to be a meal itself) and rack of lamb. Desserts were chocolate pudding (very rich) and coconut cheesecake. Fantastic taste and value.

Service was great - efficient but not intrusive. He seemed to play each table differently, as one group kept asking so many questions of our server, but he was still friendly and quite charming, while letting us have more quiet time.

You can also get some bakery items to go from next door, The Little Next Door.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Little Door always delivers. I have been coming here for years and while the wines by the glass selection has shrunk (it used to be an amazingly large and varied selection) the food and wines are selected and done to perfection. Don't pass up the foie gras choices as an appetizer and enjoy the impeccable service as well. The front garden is a gem of a location for a romantic evening and the back room are quiet (fairly) and romantic as well. Don't pass this wonderful bit of France in LA!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing service - simply out of this world food. The waiter was incredible - however, i mentioned that the dinner was for our 27yr wedding anniversary when I confirmed the reservation and nobody said anything or did anything as part of the service - a bit surprised.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Try to get a table in the patio, where you can feel the atmosphere of the place and watch the live work of the amazing painter/artist.
South-Europe food style is good but not outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing. Delicious. This was well worth the drive and the price!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A friend recommended the restaurant and we took a chance. Lovely. Delicious. Good service.

We both had the Prix Fixe menu. The goat cheese tort appetizer and lamb chops were incredible.

It's pricey.

It's worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.