About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Parking Details:
Daytime: $6.50 per car
Evening: $8.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $55.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We also offer Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $65. Special valid Feb 1, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (72)
Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Cozy (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fun (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fireplace (8)
Casual (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Private Room (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrating our 23rd Anniversary. This was a perfect meal from beginning to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Atmosphere 10/10

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

I can only base my review from my previous experience! The pate' and Med platter all excellent! The chicken and Lamb chop perfection!

I got a call an hour before we were ready to eat therefrom the LD to tell me that they needed to cancel my resz. Last night Due to a pipe breaking in front of restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

wonderful ambience and terrific food, plus excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

El lugar muy acogedor, la decoración y ambientación excelentes!!! LA atención de los meseros fue excelente, pedimos un menú de tres tipos y la verdad super recomendable, la comida exquisita, haré de Little Door mi restaurante favorito.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful ambiance, French with a touch of Moroccan. The staff is professional and they care that you have a good experience. Even the maitre d' came back once to check on us. There is also a sommelier who was quite helpful.

The food quality was excellent, some of the tastiest scallops I have ever had, and the preparation imaginative. Wide variety of selections. Even though it is a large restaurant, the rooms are split up so it does feel cozy. Wine list is extensive, pricing a little high. Little door, big enjoyment

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Loved the ambiance; went for more of a dessert and tea and everything was really creatively decorated and tasty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

One of the most beautiful restaurants in LA! Delicious food especially the truffle risotto...look forward to coming back to try other menu items.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful ambience. Very romantic and incredibly delicious. Perfect setting for a special date

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Truly and amazing place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's weekend - it was all good

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place. Excellent food. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was not the most romantic restaurant. No intimacy, your sitting to close to other couples. It was cold and you can smell smoke from people smoking on the streets. The food was ok. And dessert was nothing special. Our waiter was nice. But I will not be going back. Nothing special about this place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was awesome. It was hidden and looked exclusive in a very neighborhood welcoming way. My girlfriend said it was breathtaking when she first walked in. The food was great and looked great and made me feel great. The service was amazing on par with some of the very best, and most expensive restaurants that I've been to. Do yourself a favor and surprise a date with an evening here at the little door.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The outside of this place is out of the norm lol I had to ask the valet people where the entrance was. Lol this place is super romantic but the thing I hated was that the tables were to close. My girl got up to use the restroom and her booty was all over the table next to us lol (yeah she squats) but other than that the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We really liked this place a lot

The service was slow & the noise level

Made it difficult to chat with our friends

The food was delish

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Most definitely enjoyed the experience - beautiful ambien, good food, good service. Will come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The couscous lamb royale was amazing! The strawberry rhubarb tart was yummy as well! I was so stuffed, I had to take mostnof my cous cous to go....it was even better the next day!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When you walk through the Actual Little Door you are transported to a totally magical scene.

You have officially left Los Angeles and have entered a galaxy far far away.

The Little Door has been here for decades - and after meeting friends there last Friday nite - I have to say it is more special than ever. The magical space, delicious food, incredibly cool music and fabulous service - somehow it is better than ever.

It's just plain glorious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was great, the pre fix menus were really good options. The location was quiet and enjoyable. My only issue was checking in - we were a little early (which I understand) so they asked us to leave and come back when they were open. We came back at the time of our reservation and the door was locked. We pulled on the door, moments later we heard someone come and what sounded like unlock the door, but they just walked away - they had to have known we were standing out there. It would have been nice to say "come on in" or acknowledge us. Other than that - the service was good, the food was fantastic, I'd definitely eat here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful evening. Food, service and ambience were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful service and ambiance!

Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant in LA. The atmosphere doesn't get any better, and the food is delicious. Can't wait to come back

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My fiancé and I were celebrating his birthday and our dating anniversary. We enjoyed everything from the moment we saw "the little door". Staff were friendly and were on top of everything. We didn't wait long for anything...even the food. The only down side was parking. They do have valet but if you don't want to pay for that, it was a little walk from where we found parking. We would still come back to try other food they have.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Absolutely loved this place! A new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wish we hadn't been sat directly next to the curtain that leads to the kitchen. Everything was so perfect except for hearing dishes and staring at an old hallway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding 3-course cuisine via Dine-LA package---superb salad, entree and dessert, and generous portions, too! First-class service by "Olivier", too, both friendly and functional. Upscale (and pricey) regular menu, but 100% worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Little Door with big flavors. This restaurant was amazing. The wine, the food, the service, I loved everything. I will definitely be back. Our server was fantastic and each course was better than the last. Great dine LA find!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent DineLA experience with this lovely restaurant! It becomes one of the best restaurant in LA on my list!!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was decent and the bartender was the best!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Josh, one of the bartenders, as absolutely fantastic. Great wine selection, food and service is always spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

A romantic and very quaint place. Good food and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Beautiful decor and atmosphere. Glad to have been able to try this little gen. And the service staff was awesome. Very polite, courteous, and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is my third time eating here and the restaurant is quick becoming a favorite! Great service and excellent food top the best feature- the amazing ambiance. I love the courtyard lighting and the intimate spaces at the back are great for groups. Thank you to the restaurant for making my friend's surprise birthday a success too. They went out of their way to help accommodate our large group of 10.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had been coming here for years, however on 1/13 we were sat right behind the Hostess stand which was such a disgusting mess & view. There were other tables available, so was quit the disappointment. The food was less than exciting and service felt rushed. We only spent a little over $300, so not a huge loss monetarily; however it was not the experience I wanted for the three of us on a celebratory evening.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a great, romantic dinner with my partner. He loved it the most.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The service and food was amazing. One of my favorite restaurants in LA and I have been here many times. Highly recommend for romantic and intimate dinners. Their event manager Diane is an absolute pleasure to work with for private events as well.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If your dining experience is about renting a table in a nice space with low lights and twinkly atmosphere, this is for you. If your palate is a little advanced and the food is important, go elsewhere. I've been wanting to try this place after reading reviews. The fois gras was dry and well done if you can imagine, with a sugary napoleon take. The fish - meh. Double meh. No flavor. A foodie friend from San Francisco was in LA and I thought I could take her to a good restaurant. Aargh...San Francisco wins again. Expensive and disappointing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We decided to try for our anniversary and it was excellent food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cocktails food and service was great. They did get our order wrong which meant I had my main first but they did put a rush on my wife's order and all was ok in the end. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice environment, beautiful set up, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This place is beautiful and romantic for a date. I went with my wife to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't be any more happy I chose to take her here. Food was delicious and got more than what we expected. The price is good and worth every penny on our entrees. I highly recommend the Mediterranean appetizer :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fish was dry and not very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit! Wonderful cocktails and setting. I felt like we were on a romantic getaway to Paris. Steak was a bit tough but enjoyed the fish. Tarte tatin was excellent. Highly recommend for a romantic atmosphere and enjoyable cocktails (especially the Cucumber Martini--very well done).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The place was overall great. The reviews online said that the ambiance is great for date. I definitely agree but it really depends on where you sit. The tables we got were good, but not great. I would recommend sitting in the front for better ambiance. For more privacy and intimacy, back of the restaurant is good, but the ambiance is bit "Eh". I personally thought that the place would be great for 4 ppl group (double date maybe). We got the service we expected in a place like this. I give this place a thumbs up and I would most likely come back for a second try.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I came to the Little Door for Christmas dinner this year. I had the octopus and the sea bass, he had the scallops and the quail. The octopus was perfectly cooked, but a little cold. The scallops also had god flavor, but were also lukewarm. The sea bass was very well done! I don't eat poultry so I didn't try his. For dessert, we split the coconut cheesecake, which was lighter than New York style and absolutely delicious! Overall, it was a good meal but the service was rather lackluster, probably at the higher end price wise for the overall experience. I would return, but wouldn't make a special trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The food was so delicious, I especially enjoyed the squash tart on the salad. A special touch was the tea served with dessert! Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the Christmas Eve pre fix meal, the drinks were decent not my favorite. Nothing stood out or called me they didn't have too many holiday drinks, just the usual cocktails you see many places. The seared scallops were the highlight, the molten lava cake was just okay for desert nothing over the top, & the Chilean sea bass was light and refreshing. I would go somewhere else next year but the service was good, and the food was decent, the ambience is the best part of the overall experience! It was crowded and loud but it was always peaceful with the dimmed lighting, leather menus, silver tea kettles after dinner & the candle light at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place tucked away behind the little door. Food was quite good, I had the tagatelle with porcini mushrooms, spinach, and artichokes, yum! We didn't get to try as much on the menu as we were quite full but people around us all seems happy. Great ambiance in the garden I would try to be seated there if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Overrated

Food was cold

Service was aloof

Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.