Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Land and Water Co.

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3pm – 9:30pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $2.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 9:30pm

Friday & Saturday 3pm – 10:30pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $2.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm

Sunday 3pm – 9:30pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $2.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: (760) 729-5263

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (27)
Bar Seating (18)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Romantic (8)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Sushi presentation - excellent. Creative dishes, great flavors. Disappointed with the Japanese Crispy chicken - more like chicken nuggets w mayonnaise. Main problem was time from order to delivery. L&W tells you everything prepared fresh, so takes longer - OK (so does Georges Modern) - but we waited an hour for anything to come to table and then another 30 minutes or so for the balance. Wait staff very attentive and apologetic for time it takes. Side note, restaurant has beautiful windows but they hadn't been cleaned in a while. Looks grubby.

Not sure we'll invest time and energy to go back ...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our table was sticky, service was slow, food was not fresh nor thoughtfully presented. Cocktails were not great either. The room was very hot and staff is poorly trained but pleasant if extremely inefficient. Kitchen also seemed chaotic with food coming out at weird intervals.
For a real meal in Carlsbad try Paon, West or Campfire. They will put first quality, beautifully prepared dishes out every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Big mistake. I thought I heard that this place was worth trying. Heard that they get their fish from Catalina Offshore. Anyway, this venue is very LOUD. Like a noisy bar. Got seated outside and the music was really loud. Looked at menu, and did not see any grilled fish on the larger plate selection. Lots of sushi, sashimi and non-fish options.

Ordered a couple glasses of wine and an appetizer. Wine showed up. No appetizer. Long wait. Eventually , we decided to leave with no dinner. no appetizer. what a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Dirty menus and aweful Service. We left before we ordered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love this place and always make sure to stop in when I'm in California!

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We are new to the area and are so glad to have found Land and Water Co. not only is the food exceptional but the customer service is top notch!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Great Beer, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very disappointing; table lamps were not lite; unattractive lighting; krisby beef was basically deep fried fat! Menus was limited mainly tuna roles dressed up differently.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was amazing! If it was warmer next time, I would like to dine outside to enjoy the ocean breeze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great rolls and great cocktails.
The Duck Steamed Buns are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We like sitting at the sushi bar. L&W is not the typical sushi bar. Yes, you can get the sushi straight up, but you can also enjoy the artistry in taste and sight by enjoying the creations from its different sushi chefs. We are typically served by Chef Keone but since he didn't work on a Tuesday, we were served by RJ. RJ was great too. He had a different style, but it was just as enjoyable. During dinner I just casually mentioned to my party I wonder when the Japanese started eating raw fish. RJ jumped in with a short history of sushi. I learned something while enjoying the food. His sushi was just a great blend of flavors.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

It was pretty good. Overall pretty good. Not pretty awesome or pretty fantastic, but pretty good. The food was extremely ok. Get my gist? Small amounts of fish in the sushi rolls with lots of sauce and frivolous accoutrements to hide the absence of fish; great fish being the essence of a great sushi spot. The Sake was good and expensive, the beef skewer was just weird. The servers were extremely professional, friendly and courteous. The room was extremely loud. I was worried that my small children would cause a fuss and their little whines and fusses were completely drowned by the environmental noise. Also upon entrance to the building the smell was something akin to the burn pit on our base overseas where we burnt our own waste. Probably should have started with that last point. Take it as you will. I think the place is very hip and trendy but ultimately akin to a Ford Focus with candy paint and racing tires, a dressed up bunch of pretty dang ok. And it's exceedingly expensive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sushi rolls were out of this world! Vegetarian bowl was excellent. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent sushi with a wonderful selection of specialty rolls and sushimi. My husband ordered the filet mignon, which was perfectly cooked with caramelized onions, and the best onion rings he'd ever tasted. I had the water roll, outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My husband had the 6 oz filet burger - it was divine - and just the right size. My sushi was phenomenal. We'll be going again for sure!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We selected the restaurant based on its outstanding Internet reviews. However, our experience was in stark contrast to what others have written about. Despite not being very busy, we had to wait for an hour for our dishes. My son had ordered plain tuna rolls and it took three attempts to get it right -- first time they brought sashimi, the second time a roll with Wasabi, and when he finally got his roll, even he was able to determine that the fish was not fresh. We had to beg for refills for our drinks as the waitress didn't pay much attention to us. Overall the food was average and overpriced. Thus, this restaurant is highly overrated. There are many better choices in Carlsbad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

as has happened before at this restaurant, their list of beers on tap (good) included an IPA that I wanted to order, but they were out of it (bad). ordered my second choice--also out (very bad). I switched to a bottled craft beer from japan (you read that right), which was quite good.

after dinner, when we wanted to continue the conversation, my wife ordered coffee. they don't serve coffee, we were told. really?

noise level in the main dining area was very high, but they moved us to a quieter side room.

the quality and taste of the food made up for these annoyances.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had some great sushi rolls for dinner and they were all delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This place has the best most creative sushi chefs around the San Diego area. Make your reservation well in advance if you want to get in on the weekends. Their commitment to use sustainable fish is a testament to the owners comittmemt to the environment. The one thing that could be upgraded is the bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Informal dining with fresh fish and high quality sushi bar. Sushi chefs are professional but friendly and give you a great view of the craft of making their food. Unfortunately the a la carte hot food does not meet the high quality sushi and our mouths very left on fire with the extreme amounts of chili used in the hot buns.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We booked this restaurant as a last resort and we are so happy we did. The food was excellent! Some of us opted for the starter menu and others entrees. No one was disappointed. The service was excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Love the Butter Butter Salad & Remy's Vegetable Potpie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Sushi was terrific but the rest of the food was not to our liking at all. Everything was deep fried and heavily battered. Not at all what we were expecting. Service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We eat at L&W two to three times a month. Not only is the food great, but we enjoy watching the sushi chefs work their magic. Chad is our chef for every visit, but all are highly qualified and very personable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

On their website they can make any sushi roll. I asked for something specific and the waiter came back and told me that the chef said he couldn't make it. That is less than quality customer service. In a high-quality restaurant had there been an issue with what I requested the chef would come out and speak to me. Other than that it was a mostly pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I go here often & love it. However this time the service wasn't the best. We had a group of five and ordered appetizers, drinks and dinner both during happy hour and after. For some reason our server was unattentive and it took well over an hour to get part of my meal, which I order every time and never have that kind of wait. She didn't seem too concerned when we kept asking about it. After so long I wasn't even hungry for it. Aside from that, the food is fantastic and I love the atmosphere. I'd still recommend this place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Loved the food and the service or was a bit loud or energetic depending on your state of mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was awful for thenpr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was perfect portions & we were very happy with our selections. The sushi was fresh & prepared with yummy sauces. My favorite was the poki.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We live in Pt Loma and going up to Land &a Water is always a treat for us!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have dined here many times and each time think, why don't we come here more often! The sushi rolls are fresh and tasty. We prefer an outside table and there is great people watching at this corner. Great afternoon of cocktails, good food and lively conversation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was our second time eating here. The food is beautifully crafted and always delicious. House cocktails are well balanced and they have a good selection of beers, as well. I recommend sitting at the sushi bars, watching these guys is incredible, they are truly part artist and part chef. If you get a chance, I would recommend stopping by and enjoying a meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Average sushi at a premium price. Bacon Lardon was a tasty appetizer but the service was inattentive and slow, incredibly slow. My wife and I wanted to like the place. The restaurant is in a really cool old building and we loved the decor but I've had better sushi at all-you-can-eat places. If you're going to charge $7 for two pieces of sushi or $20 for a roll it should be special and it fell far short of that. It says on the menu to be patient as great tasting food and presentation takes time. Well 40 minutes for some average rolls and some nigiri is simply too much time to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great spot! Service was amazing. Beef skewers were the best I've ever had. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved The Land and Sea Co. food was delicious, especially loved our sushi order. We dined here on a date night and based on the photos, we expected a little more ambiance. The decor was spot on but could use some additional points of light - candles on the tables would have made a huge difference! We'll return for a date night, but maybe sit at the bar next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sushi & fried chicken was great as always. However no coffee because they ran out of Keurig cups is a fail. Continually not having 4 beers on tap printed on the menu is a major fail. No fish as a main entree is also a major fail for people who do not like sushi. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was slow, did not bring water nor refills of coffee until end of meal. Dessert menu was so-so and very expensive . Did not have a blender so variety of cocktails was limited.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Just So-so this time. New menu wasn't very inspiring. I had the cioppino and my wife had the Tandori chicken breast. 'Mine was bland and the chicken was dry.

Hope for a better experience next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We enjoyed the menu and their approach to food. We loved that they have a local garden where their vegetables come from. We will def go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We liked the atmosphere, décor, great service. Food was ok. The menu was creative and had potential, but some stuff was heavy tasting, like some of the smaller menu items. They pushed the cioppino, but with 10.00 appetizers and 38.oo cioppino, didn't really want a k50.004. Not even sure what kind of food it would be classified as. Kind of American with sushi. Seemed to be more sushi that steak/meat items. The butter salad was excellent, dressings were definitely homemade, with a slightly soft cooked egg and delicious prosciutto.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been to Land & Water several times as our kids love sushi. Service was really disappointing on our Father's Day visit. We were stacking dirty dishes at our table in hopes they would be removed, had to ask for clean plates, waited a ridiculous amount of time for an added roll, waiter didn't seem very concerned when we commented on service. Ordered two desserts which were very petite. Love the sushi...not so much the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.