Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The Land and Water Co.

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: (760) 729-5263

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Healthy (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (8)
Fireplace (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Organic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Lardon and the beef tongue, outstanding. Sushi good but no wow factor. Price was a little high but we'll be back for certain occasions.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef Rob and his crew once again delivered creative sushi bites

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Their sushi is so good I didn't want to dip it in to the soy sauce. It doesn't need any other flavor enhancement. The service was top notch. We will go back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Good ambiance with a good tasting twist to sushi. You'll have to wait abit long for your food but they tell you that up front. You won't be disappointed though, the food is worth it. It just leaves you more time to talk to your companions or date.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is my second time at Land & Water Co. it is some of the best sushi I have ever had. Ana the service has been great both times. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The sushi was good but not spectacular. There was not much variety or creativity in the sushi rolls. The nigiri was good and fresh. We found the cost for the meal was very expensive and have been to other locations with more of a variety and less expensive. The service was Amazing and our waitress was very friendly and helpful. The cocktails and wine were good. The atmosphere was nice but loud and hard to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chef Rob Ruiz's menu features ONLY local organic produce. antibiotic/hormone free proteins, and fish that is 100% sustainable and traceable. If you want perfect product and creative dishes, this is your place.
His "Chilled Spring Salad" the other evening featured a shallow swath of cold spring pea soup, topped with smoked Burrata ice cream, prosciutto dust, sugar snap peas, pea tendrils, and brioche croutons. It was a brilliant...a cross between a cold coup and a salad. Just writing about this makes me want to go back to Land and Water Co right now.
Rob's sushi is both very creative and extraordinarily fresh.
Another favorite is: PRETZEL ROLL…Top Sirloin smothered with Blue Cheese sauce, stuffed in an artisan pretzel roll, topped with caramelized onions, and bell peppers, and fries on the side.
Lots of choices for varying palates. One of my favorite restaurants!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date, Organic, Seasonal, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and the service was outstanding. We had a surprise of two more guests and everything was taken care off immediately

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Date night with the wife. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

1st Nigiri 10 piece chefs selection uniquely seasoned raw fish on rice- super fresh and amazing flavor combinations. 2nd course - duck confit steamed buns- mix of savor and spice with jalapeño and mint vegetables in steamed taco buns. 3rd course- filet with truffle Mac n cheese, phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Huge portions of delicious dishes at great prices. Staff were all very friendly and did not need to wait long for food to be served

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This was a great find! Service was impeccable and the food is incredibly fresh and creative. Only "downside" if there is one is that it is pretty much right on the street (Carlsbad Village Dr.), but that's no reason to knock this joint. It is located in a cool building and the ambience inside is great. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was very good the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We enjoyed the food here. The food had the little extra touches to make flavor stand out. We had the Finger rolls(cucumber wrap), Water Roll and the Steam Buns (the pickle flavor with the duck confit in that Bun= excellent).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Land & Water is the best restaurant in North County. By far, their sushi bar items are over the top great. All spices are made in house, the fish in line caught and everything is prepared with such creativity. The tastes are out of this world. Our favorite is the "Water" roll, but there is so much to choose from. We enjoy the sashimi plates and the sushi chefs will also prepare special dishes for you. Menu changes frequently depending on what's "running". Land items (chicken, beef) are great too, but we always find ourselves at the sushi bar. Take my word for it and go. You won't be disappointed. Chad is our fave - Rob is the owner and he's amazing. Highly awarded chef in the industry. All great guys. House staff is efficient as well. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Organic, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I secured a confirmed reservation through Open Table. When we arrived (early), the doors were locked. In spite of employees being inside, nobody came to unlock the door (we even knocked - haha). I'm fine with places closing whenever they feel like it, but it's probably not the best idea to take reservations if that's how it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Awesomely fresh and creative food. Come hungry, try as many sashimi as you can :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We went with friends having not been in over a year and loved it all...including our cocktails !!
going back much soon next time!!!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We found this restaurant on an outing to Carlsbad and loved the food and the service.
The food was delicious, one must try the sushi rolls, they are well prepared, great tasting and beautifully made. Our server gave us very good recommendations and she was very personable as well. We will return.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Noisy and cold were my first thoughts. Something about the ceilings? makes the place very loud. With both doors open, the restaurant was cold - proximity to the ocean makes it cool in the evenings. Hostess shut the doors when we complained of the cold, which made it tolerable. Moved to a different table to see if less noisy - a little bit.
Food and service were excellent, however. Our server was energetic, friendly, and attentive. Cocktails were very tasty. The plain sashimi was plain -- recommend getting it fancied up, but then it's more expensive. The duck rolls and bacon lardon appetizers were excellent. Would eat there again, but be prepared for the noise and bring a warmer jacket next time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was amazing!!! Fresh and great ambiance. Server was nice but was a little slow and not so attentive. We decided to celebrate our 7 year anniversary and made sure to add it to the notes in our reservation but was never knowledged. Food was by far the best I had in Carlsbad!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The spring salad was out of this world inventive! Fresh , complex, beautiful. The nigiri was a bit bland for me. The yellowtail was fresh, but it needed more wasabi and soy for my tastes. Next time I will ask for some on the side even if I offend the chef.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food was remarkable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food in this restaurant is amazing. Everything I tried was delicious and the presentation is beautiful.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was delicious. The water roll was our favorite. We also really enjoyed the Big Eye and yellow tail. And always the cocktails were delicious too. Service is professional yet friendly. Would recommend this restaurant and look forward to going back again.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love the food and servers!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

L & W has simply excellent food with great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

1st course Oysters
2nd course 10 piece chefs selection Nigiri ( creative, unique )
3rd course Bacon Lardon ( corn bread topped w/ pork belly , orange marmalade , snow crab , jalapeño )
4th course seabass special ( seabass crisply seared, potato rosti , leek , lemon caper butter, English pea purée and burnt horseradish espuma ) playing was amazingly artistic and each course was perfectly crafted

- Gusto Eats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Came here based on excellent review from Yelp (4 stars); however, I don't this establishment worth 4 stars.
Service was good. Waiter needs training on how to open champagne since it popped very loud.
Food was OK, nothing spectacular. I ordered:
1) the pub style fried chicken (good)
2) vegetable pot pie (OK)
3) 10 pcs sashimi. Fish is fresh, but not worth $30 price tag for 4 pcs of tuna, 3 pcs yellow tail and 3 pcs of salmon. The cut was too small, and it did not match the description on the menu since I thought it will include uni or others than fish.
4) musubi roll (good).


I don't think I will come back here again.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Foodie paradise!! Incredibley unique menu & everything was delicious, perfectly prepared, plated & seved. Beef sticks, water roll, pork bellies & duck confit are musts!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Historic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Our waitress was wonderful and recommended several dishes. Everything tasted delicious. We will definitely be coming back to this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Although the food was great, the service was the worst I have ever received. Sushi took over an hour to revive even though the hot meals came out to the table. Ordered Sake and there was green mold at bottom of one of the cups. The waitress/manager was less than apologetic and basically ignored us for most of our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really good food.
Super slow slow service... like 15 minutes to get my cocktail on a Friday night.
Really noisy. Really.
But again, really good food.
If they could increase the service a couple notches, and figure out noise control, I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Cons: Way to loud for the rare date I get with my husband. Horrible service, very slow getting drinks and food and it wasn't that busy at the time we arrived.

Pros: great decor and the menu selection was on point for being seasonal items. Chefs definitely work hard. Food was alright just maybe hoping it would be better I dunno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food but way too noisy wherever you sit. Because of the noise level I won't return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Went there for Happy Hour with a client and sat on the lovely terrace. Food was simply amazing and very original. We tried a little bit of everything on the appetizer menu and all was exquisite. Service was impeccable and what a great value with the Happy Hour discount. Will definitely recommend that place in downtown Carlsbad.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I really don't see what all the fuss is about. We ordered crispy beef skewers (for those of you who may not know, lengua is beef tongue) and pub-style crispy chicken for starters.

The beef was ok, but quite fatty and had an odd texture (maybe because it was tongue?). The caramelized soy sauce was far too sweet and there was no hint of horseradish in the horseradish mayo.

The pub chicken was oily, bland, and left an unpleasant aftertaste. I asked if the chicken was white or dark meat (typically karaage is made with chicken thighs), and the server confirmed both white and dark meat. Well, guess we got the dregs of the pot because every, single piece was dried out dark meat. Unappetizing and ultimately inedible.

For mains I ordered the pork bourguignon and Mr. Kash had the special, a Tandoori chicken on coconut curry rice with veggies. The pork was fork-tender, and the demi-glace was spot on. The super-creamy mashed potatoes were a novelty, but once again left a strange aftertaste. I would have liked more than the three pieces of carrot and one onion I found in my stew, especially for $30.

The Tandoori chicken was a total disappointment. It was fatty and had little flavor, and the coconut curry was more of a brushing on the plate as decoration than actual food. The mini samosas were just that, mini, but at least the filling was tasty.

For dessert we tried the Japanese cheescake and the oatmeal cream pie sundae. The cheesecake was not actually cheesecake - there was a sponge cake layer, and then a weird, hard gelatinous layer that couldn't be cut with a dessert spoon, and an ice cream layer. It was all too bitter and was left mostly uneaten.

Same with the oatmeal cream pie, this was definitely made with a store bought oatmeal pie (think Little Debbie). It was dry and had those lovely artificial flavors you want to pay $13 for. The homemade rum raisin ice cream was passable, but crystallized so not kept at the right temp.

All in all, a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The most creative version of a pot pie I've ever had! It was delicious! Definitely the best one I've ever had!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was very bland, the umami bowl had almost no flavor and the poke needed seasoning. Our server never even brought us water to drink, nor did she offer! The chefs believe you should eat the food as is, so no soy sauce or wasabi is available. The ambience was dark and the menu is printed on dark paper with black lettering so it's kind of annoying to even read. I had very high hopes, but I won't be spending money there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.