About The Land and Water Co.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: (760) 729-5263

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Romantic (11)
Fireplace (11)
Healthy (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Historic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The most creative version of a pot pie I've ever had! It was delicious! Definitely the best one I've ever had!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was very bland, the umami bowl had almost no flavor and the poke needed seasoning. Our server never even brought us water to drink, nor did she offer! The chefs believe you should eat the food as is, so no soy sauce or wasabi is available. The ambience was dark and the menu is printed on dark paper with black lettering so it's kind of annoying to even read. I had very high hopes, but I won't be spending money there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We love this place and hope it stays! Fabulous sushi and rolls. Great ambience. The people are all so friendly and accomodating. The view is nice. Out side dining is so suave and comfortable. All the food is so delicious. They actually make their own pickled ginger that is simply amazing! My only wish is that they provided a decent size salad. We spent $12 on a salad with two chopped leaves of lettuce, five segments of citrus and dressing on a flat plate, pretty and delicious, but so small for the price We vowed never to get a salad again. I need a bowl of salad for $12 thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Vegan, Tapas, Organic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, People Watching, Live Sports, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food is always amazing here and the drinks are great, my only suggestion would be playing some lounge or bossa nova music

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my girlfriend there for Valentines Day. The restaurant was very pretty inside but very LOUD. The tables were not intimate and i felt like i couldnt have a conversation w my partner. I had to ask for water. Our cocktails were good. The food was tasteless. I do not understand the rave reviews on the food. And yes, i have eaten everywhere from Del Taco to Georges to even better than Georges in La Jolla. Im glad others enjoyed the experience, i didnt, and thats fine. I wont visit again, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was an all-around awesome dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thanks for making my wife and I valentines date awesome. Our sushi chef (Dillon,Devin I think , sorry) was awesome and kept us ordering. Will be back for sure and tell friends

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines dinner! What a great time! We've been for lunch and decided to Valentines dinner! What a great time! There are so many choices in Carlsbad, don't miss this one. The food is so fresh and the service was awesome. Jamie, our waitress knew exactly what we wanted and nailed it! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another excellent meal!! Our server was excellent and her sushi suggestions were the best. My favorite starter is the bacon lardon. It's just a great mixture of favors that explode in your mouth. I also highly recommend the Water Roll and the Oatmeal Sundae for dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Land and Water is fantastic. Atmosphere is wonderful, but the service and food is over the top great. We especially love sushi and their fish is so fresh and their menu is very authentic. All ingredients, spices, etc. are received and/or made daily. You can taste the difference here. Hands down one of the best restaurants in Carlsbad if not all of San Diego County. You're in for real treat if you haven't been to this restaurant yet. Love it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Organic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Superb food and service. Beautifully prepared and presented. My second outstanding visit to this establishment. I brought a very special friend and long term client who is a genuine international foodie. She was quite impressed and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Consistently delicious. Quality ingredients. One of our favorites in Carlsbad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wow wow wow....This place is absolutely the best in San Diego county! Sushi....AMAZING. Food...unbeatable. Sevice....simply the best!!! Rob Ruiz has created something incredible in Land & Water Company. All the components are here, and, as major foodies, this is always our favorite. Special shoutout to Ashley who makes us feel like family! We LOVE L & W!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The dining room is very open with lots of space between tables. The dim lighting makes it seem cozy, however it also makes it really hard to read the menu. The menu has many sushi items, including a vegetarian sushi roll that I ordered and really enjoyed. After ordering, we asked if we could have bread, and the waitress seemed a little uncomfortable and said she could check, but that we would have to pay for it. That was awkward and she could have handled it more gracefully. We did get bread and it was wonderful! There are other inventive items on the menu and there was a sufficient selection of wine. One other problem, when I got my sushi I waited a few minutes and then asked if I could have soy sauce, and that's when I finally got my soy sauce, wasabi, and pickled ginger plate that one normally gets along with the sushi. So, food selection is interesting, preparation was great, but service was a little off, and they need to work on the lighting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I have eaten here on several occasion's, and never been disappointed. The atmosphere is great as well as the service, and the food is amazing described as special doesn't do it justice. We have loved everything so far we have tried especially the beef skewers.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is one of our favorites. Great sushi and more and all the food is prepared fresh based on what looks good that day! Chef Rob has put a ton of sweat into this place and the personal dedication and passion to his restaurant and culture shows in every plate. The sushi is by far the best I have ever had. So fresh as it all comes with a story. We have been here about 6 times and let the chef lead the way with unique dishes that otherwise we would never have had the pleasure of enjoying. Check it out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food never disappoints! The bar tenders are impressive mixologists too. Ask them to get creative for you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING!! Don't judge a book by its cover. This local gem boasts locally sourced ingredients to create a sushi experience like none other. Robert (the owner and chef) uses his artistry and Japanese training to produce incredibly tasty creations that are not only delicious, but rollercoaster ride for your tongue, taste buds, olfactory bulb, and teeth.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Authentic, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Made reservations, we were seated right away. Tables are nice and big, service was great. Our server was Michael. Eclectic menu, but the food was fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Historic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Bar Seating, Spicy, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ashley is our favorite server! Great personality, fun and always takes care of us! This is our favorite place for a nice classy date night. Small venue so make a Resevation. Inside can get loud on weekends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a great meal, and our waitress was great. I really enjoyed the sushi selections. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very good & fresh food! Great service from our server "Jamie" we will be back for sure! Love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was excellent with many Gluten free selections. The Water Roll, Crispy Chicken and pickled veggies were all amazing. The cocktails were tasty, but the wine selection was limited. The service was just OK, nothing special there.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always good serve with a knowledgeable staff.

Outstanding cocktails- Best Old Fashioned I have ever had

Always have a good experience there after dining numerous times at this location!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a busy night and the service was fantastic. The food was delicious and not a long wait time , even with the crowd. Drinks were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very tasty, fresh, innovative food. Comfortable casual but still upbeat neighborhood atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great as always. Waitress was great, she even asked the chef to make the beef musabi even though it wasn't on the dinner menu. Only down side is food takes a really long time to come out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service here is awesome and the food is even better. Everything we ordered was amazing. The pub style crispy chicken is so good as an appetizer. The water roll is amazing as was the western bacon albacore. Chef Rob Ruiz is a genius. Amazing restaurant. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food. Recommend getting several things and sharing. Sushi was excellent. Oatmeal sundae is a winner! Will return in the future. A little noisy. They didn't have our reservation at first. Seemed to be a computer issue. It was resolved and we were seated right away.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The sushi was tasty and there was a good selection. I love the fireplace since it was a chilly December evening outside. I'd go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Most artistic and creative Japanese/Fusion dining experience in North County SD. I'd recommend the Nigiri Chef's sampler to start, and/or the shrimp tempura roll. Follow that with either Bacon Lardon or Duck Confit Steamed buns. Entree of choice is the Miso Glazed Black Cod, the Filet is also phenomenal. My favorite restaurant, cheers !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service and very unique, yet excellent, menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really love the sushi. Even my husband loved the sushi-his and mine. We ate early so no crowd. Would recommend this to anyone interested in trying sushi for the first time as an introduction. Drinks were well made. All over a great experience for us

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The cocktails were great. Enjoyed the area.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, fantastic menu best sushi roll I've ever had!! Also the black cod!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to The Land and Water Co. We thoroughly enjoyed the first two visits. We arrived with friends at 5:20pm and the waitress told us happy hour ended at 5:30pm which is really early. Most happy hours end between 6-7. As we hadn't even seen a menu it was hard to place an order as our friends had not been before. She rushed back a few minutes later and said order now or miss it. We placed quick order, and then two sushi orders came out before the drinks arrived (were they already prepared and sitting in a warming tray somewhere?). Then 2 bowls of lukewarm miso appeared along with two glasses of wine and one cocktail. My husbands's cocktail arrived a few minutes later. We then ordered again, and the food came flying out of the kitchen and arranged haphazardly on the plate (the tempura shrimp sushi roll with crunchy bits). The restaurant was exceeding dark - we used the lights on our phone to read the menus. There were not candles or lights on the table, and barely any lighting in the restaurant. The noise level was more then moderate. We did not see Chef Ruiz behind the counter, so maybe this was an off night. But we will think twice before we come again. We were a bit embarrassed as our friends were from out of town, and we had raved about this place. Also the menu has totally changed to focus almost exclusively on sushi. Only a couple of dishes from "the land" and those are now exceeding expensive - steakhouse prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Best sushi ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good food and great service. I drove quit a ways to get there and I will do it again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in a long time. Will definitely make this a regular stop when in the Carlsbad area and will recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious and innovative food! We ordered one sushi roll, two small bites and one large bite. Everything was delicious. Our server was helpful and friendly. The wine was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was great. You could tell the chef put his/her heart into the food we had. Ordered pork shoulder, musubi roll and a fish dish. All were really really good. The price was high but once you tasted your meal, you understood why. We will go back to try more of the sushi rolls/sashimi next time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is hands done the best restaurant! My husband and I list it our favorite from the bacon lardon to the green roll and my husband love the sushi!! Your server Ashley is beyond pleasant!! Thank you Land and Water for making my husbands birthday special!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was outstanding but very small overpriced portions. Service and everything else good. Seating next to the open door inside entrance to joining surf shop was kind of weird.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Celebtaring with my sons really enjoy. Nice place. Clean

Amanda was the best waiter we had a nice Proseco

Food awesome Price good

I'll go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Three of us dined here whilst travelling through Carlsbad and what a treat the food turned out to be, we had the steamed buns which like a Chinese bun but open filled with strips of beef in a south east asia style - fantastic, we also took the beef skewers which were a real surprise and different being a slow cook beef in an asia style sweet sauce. We also took sushi which again was really enjoyable, I would definitely go back if we found ourselves in Carlsbad again.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were in town from the Bay Area and decided to try this restaurant, liking the local and sustainable, ethical sourcing- what a delight it was. The food was creative and tasty, service was good, drinks yummy as well. We had a deconstructed vegetable pot pie which was delicious and unusual, and several of the sashimi options. Highly recommended find in Carlsbad, a nice departure from the standard fare but not overly precious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Always our favorite for sashimi & sushi. Wonderful combinations of seasonal foods.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We waited almost 15 minutes before a server greeted us only after we asked for some assistance. Ironically, who we stopped ended up being our server and we were told she would be right with us. I watched multiple other servers and I believe managers walk around and no one ever greeted us, not even water was offered. I've been a server before and to simply tell someone you will be right with them, rather than be ignored is always the best policy. Food is amazing, but service and noise level (surprising loud) left a little to be desired

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We've been here before, and generally love the restaurant! I made a reservation and brought a small group. The table location was in an odd side room, but it wouldn't prevent us from coming back. Our server was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.