Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About The Joel Palmer House

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: (503) 864-2995

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Historic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely sunset patio setting and delicious multi course menu - superb culinary celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a disappointment. Super $ for what we got. It felt like the kitchen was set on cafeteria style serving. Over sauced, uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Perhaps my expectations were too high, but I thought it was good, not great. Not very high on my list for a repeat visit, as there are so many other great options. Maybe I was off- season with mushrooms and stuff?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Joel Palmer House is simply next level dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The setting outdoors was lovely as was the weather. The service was excellent. The food was generally good. As an appetizer the steak tartare was rather bland but improved with the addition of a bit of salt and pepper. My date had an appetizer of mushroom torte which was delicious. The entrees of stroganoff and sturgeon were quit good with the stroganoff being the better of the two. Dessert consisted of average at best chocolate cake and cheese cake that was acceptable.
Overall this experience was good but ruined by the exhorbitant price ($198 for two including two glasses of wine and a cup of coffee) which spoke to me as an overreaching attempt at self importance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and the best martini I have ever had! Food was one note and rich, but tasty. Relaxing and quiet environment but a little stuffy, like visiting Grandma.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing! Stroganoff!! One of the best meals I have ever had. To top that off, the owner is amazing. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 10, 2017

We were pleased with almost all of the experience. There were two notable exceptions.
The corkage fee of $25 is definitely excessive. I dined there in April and it was $20, which
is bad enough. I would certainly tell people about that.
There was a young woman whose attitude we found offensive. I could not quite tell her
exact position. We had not seen each other for awhile and dined leisurely. The restaurant
was far from crowded, but this young woman kept coming around and seemed to feel
we were not welcome any longer. I would give Joel Palmer one more try, but if she is
around that would be it.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

The beef stroganoff was essentially beef over the mushroom risotto. We asked for a wine pairing with our meals and the sommelier made us feel like we were inconveniencing him by asking for this service to accompany our $100 5 course meals we both ordered. Ambiance was ok. Music selection very bizarre concoction of everything from Frank Sinatra to Imagine Dragons. Happy we tried it but would not go back. Mushroom soup was bland and flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was great and the service was excellent. We enjoyed our visit in the garden with the sous chef. The venue is lovely also.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is still one of my favorite restaurants in the extended Portland area. Especially good if you love mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

My girlfriend and I came to Dundee Hills for Wine tasting & horseback riding to celebrate our two year anniversary. I found this restaurant online and booked a reservation and was happy to see a 630 spot open on a Saturday.

We arrived early, got sat within a minute of being in the door and had water and bread right away. We both had a 3 course meal... I had Beef Tartare, Duck Breast, and Mango Ice Cream. My girlfriend had Mushroom Risotto, Beef Stroganoff, and Apple Bread Pudding (I think) and the Stroganoff and Risotto were amazing.

Servers were great, chef visited us midway through our entrees, and overall we loved our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 26, 2017

My bride had been there a number of times but a first for me. Friendly greeting by host and server. Unbelievably great food with an emphasis on local, fresh mushroom dishes. My bride had the duck and I had the filet. Want to come back many times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 13, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here while visiting the Willamette Valley. The service was outstanding and dinner was excellent. He had the elk ribeye and I had the stroganoff. Three courses were plenty!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great experience at the Joel Palmer House. The service was attentive and personal. The recommendations from the sommelier were tailored and helpful. The menu was diverse and every dish paired well with the wine selections. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion dinner. Get the mushroom tart and the stroganoff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was excellently prepared. The 3 course meal was sufficient. Wine list was very extensive with Oregon wines. Wait staff was friendly and efficient, not overbearing, polite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 29, 2017

First of all, if you love mushrooms and mushroom dishes, then, you have found nirvana. If you're a history buff, then this house provides that answer, too. A basic tasting menu with an emphasis on the family's mushroom dishes makes this a wonderfuk repast. Go for the mushroom soup and the beef stroganoff and you will be thrilled with the flavors. Love that the family has continued the traditions.

Tags: Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

Every time we leave Palmer House I'm plotting the next visit. I consider it to be one of the best restaurants in Oregon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 23, 2017

I ate here almost 15 years ago and was excited to come back!
The service was prompt and very friendly. We tried a couple different bottles of wine our waiter recommended and they were both excellent.
My friends I dined with had never been and they were all very excited by the food. The quality, flavors and presentation were excellent.
Most of us had the duck, which was amazing. One friend tried the stroganoff which has a huge hit as well.
I was slightly disappointed by the deserts. They weren't bad, but were not as good as I had hoped. We tried the white chocolate mousse, I think a tart? and the cheesecake. The cheesecake was definitely the winner.
This was a delicious restaurant with a unique menu. I hope to come back in the fall when there are more mushrooms in season!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 15, 2017

I have had better food at a number of bars. This is not fine dining food. It's uninspired and a complete rip off. I have no problem dropping money for an amazing meal but Joel Palmer House was a comple disappointment. I would not recommend spending your hard earned cash here.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 8, 2017

Birthday, I had an angel hair lobster pasta dish, amazing! Pear salad was also excellent. Picked bread pudding for desert which was also great. Wine that waiter picked out was also perfectl. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply an amazing and outstanding find. Truly the dining highlight of our trip to the Willamette Valley.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was amazing. The menu under-promises, the chef over-delivers. To clarify a bit, the less appealing something sounded on the menu, the better it tasted on the plate. Explore outside your normal palate a bit for this place - you won't regret it. My wife and I did 5 courses with half glass wine pairings per course (recommendation of our server) + foie gras and shared everything with no regrets. The pairings were fantastic and every dish but a few met or exceeded our somewhat high expectations. They also provided several amuse-bouche which which stuck to their theme of under-promise and over-deliver. Yum.

The service was great. Our server knew all the right things to say, and didn't hesitate to say them. That being said, my wife and I both felt like they (our server and runners) lacked charm and elegance. When we're paying several hundred dollars for a single meal for 2 we expect better than great, we expect phenomenal. There's no tipping allowed, which was a surprise (more under-promise, over deliver). This is an N=1 assessment, but I'm guessing the great vs phenomenal service is related to the lack tipping. Money is a the great motivator, they say. Still - this is not a complaint. The service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very elegant, quaint restaurant. Parking was not an issue, though the very main lot fills up fast, there is more parking very close by. The service was superb and the overall ambiance of the place is very warm and inviting.

The food was amazing! However, it is hard for me to comment fully on this as I went for Valentine's Day and there was a special 5-course set menu, instead of the regular menu. However, everything I had was very well prepared and flavorful.

As of when I went, they are also a gratuity-free establishment. This means your bill doesn't even have a tip line, and gratuity and everything is wrapped into the prices. What you see is what you pay. They apparently compensate their employees more thoroughly because of this. I thought that was awesome.

It looks like they have a very nice patio outside for when the weather warms up. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was a special occasion, celebrating my wife's birthday with both of my adult children and their partners. luckily, we had the back room to ourselves which was fantastic. The service was great and the chef came out to talk to us x2 which was wonderful. It was a miserable night weather-wise and the "experience" not just a meal at The Palmer House made it all wash away. We will definitely make the drive again and I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Loved it food and service was amazing! Would encourage anyone to go if they appreciate great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

The mushroom, 5 course meal is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Meal was delicious and exceeded all expectations! Enjoyed my first visit to the Joel Palmer House and hope to return again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The specialty is mushrooms which is why I would recommend it. The environment is perfect for a special occasion in a historic house in a lovely small town. The ingredients were local and the flavors were innovative. There was only one concern. The risotto had cold spots as if it was reheated carelessly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fortunate they were open for a New Year's Eve dinner. The sommelier is great. Dietary restrictions should be mentioned and repeatedly reminded to be safe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Celebrating a good friends birthday. We both selected the 5 course menu and chose different menu items to share. I especially enjoyed Heidi's Mushroom Tart, Elk Rib-eye and Pan Seared Duck Breast! The food and service was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderfully prepared food. The best beef stroganoff I have ever tasted (sorry mom). The overall experience was delightful. Chef Czarnecki stopped by to chat with various diners. I enjoy end of the evening dining.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Impeccable service and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love this for a special occasion. The service from the minute you walk in the door is outstanding. The food is absolutely phenomenal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Eeveryone enjoyed their meals. The mushroom soup was outstanding. The staff were incredibly gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was excellent. The risotto had good flavor but had no mushroom pieces in it. The rice was mushy. I had the prime rib and it was a bit overdone. My friends had the Stroganoff and they both enjoyed it. One wished there were large enough chunks of mushroom to enjoy them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

First, you probably need to love mushrooms in order to appreciate this restaurant. Otherwise, it might just seem expensive, although everyone will recognize top-notch service. I had the mushroom tart and it was basically heaven and very filling. Be aware of that as you choose other courses. It is absolute perfection with the Joel Palmer pinot noir. The only dish my table had that was unremarkable was the mushroom pasta. It was fairly bland. The beef stroganoff is not like any you have had...well, probably not...but totally yummy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on November 23, 2016

The concept of doing everything mushrooms intrigued us so we went. A few of the dishes were interesting and good - Heidi's mushroom tarte, beef bourguignon. Others like the highly touted mushroom soup was very ordinary and thin. The mushroom risotto was very pedestrian. I opted for the elk ribeye and found it to be tasty but the lentils and peppers that came with it somehow destroyed the mushroom mystic. The desserts were tasty and I would recommend the candy cap mushroom pot de creme and the bread pudding.

Overall I would not dissuade you from going but don't have the high expectations that I had. With lower expectations you will be much happier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is probably the 5th time we've eaten here. They are very consistent with great service and good food. The only complaint I would make is that the menu is also consistent, and needs some life pumped back into it. Surely there is something else you can think of to do with your local mushrooms! We'll definitely be back though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awful! Horrible service and horrible food! We were so disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.