Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.45mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About The Joel Palmer House

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: (503) 864-2995

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
See All
Worth the Drive (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Organic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking forward to dinner here. However on the night we went they seemed to be mailing it in. The service was sporadic. Two different times they served the wrong course to the wrong person. Easily corrected but not expected in a restaurant that costs $100 plus per person. One dessert we ordered was inedible. Seemed like they forgot to cook it. Should never have left the kitchen. They replaced it when we complained. The rest of the food ranged from OK to good. When we left--a little after 8:30-- there was no staff in the dining room. Seemed like they had disappeared. Too bad--we wanted to like this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We eat here three years ago and could not wait to return. We were disappointed...the mushroom soup was watery and had little mushroom flavor. It was served in a small bowl-like taurine without the beautiful white cream mushroom design. The mushroom tart lacked density and was "floating" on a thick brown mushroom gravy. The mushroom Risotto was overcooked to the point of having the texture of overcooked rice. The service was great...Andrew was on his game, as was the "bread lady!" Off night? JPH was not that busy. Sadly, it seems JPH has lost the luster it had brightly demonstrated three years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food and wine were excellent; although the wine was a bit pricey. A great special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Was delicious. Expensive for sure. We live in the Pearl with lots of great dining options but was nice change of pace .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our meal was delicious and memorable. The service was above and beyond. The entire staff made us feel welcome and we enjoyed our entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

great meal, outstanding service, mushroom tart "best first course ever"

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

In Oregon for wine tasting. This spot is a gem! Creative and excellent cuisine. Mushrooms are a focal point. We had the three course meal, filet mignon and spouse beef stroganoff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We are from Charleston SC and this was a unique restaurant great food and service when we return will diffidently will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

After reading a few of the recent less than stellar reviews, I was interested to dine here again, having not been for a year or so. Although there has been some staff turnover, we had great food and service. The food was as good as ever, the service was timely and considerate, and the experience of dining on the patio on a beautiful summer evening as special as ever. Andrew is a good addition to the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The focus on mushrooms never fails to impress. The Joel Palmer House is the jewel of Yamhill and Oregon's Pinot Noir wine country!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Charming historic home on beautiful grounds, as welcoming as the staff! A warm night in wine country, we chose to dine outdoors. The food was creatively conceived and flawlessly executed and served. My mushroom tart was extraordinary and the angel hair pasta with chanterelle cream sauce was topped with at least a half lobster!
The crepe with apple persuaded me to withdraw my vow to forgo desert. Dale's steak tartare was dusted with white truffle powder, his duck with foie gras sauce and apple memorable! Amuse bouches were refreshing and interesting. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Joel Palmer house NEVER disappoints On a scale of 1-10, this is a solid 15!!!!!!!

We recommend the 5 course tasting menu, each course has two choices, two people can pretty much taste the entire chefs repertoire by ordering opposite. Wines by the glass make great accompaniment and the cocktails are created and crafted by a true master of the art. On this occasion, my traditional Makers Mark old fashioned was crafted WITHOUT club soda, used a proprietary bitter, and was a revelation!!! I'd buy the bitters to add to my home bar.

Mushroom centric may sound odd to the uninitiated- but be adventurous- give JPH a try, grarantee you won't be disappointed!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Joel Palmer House provided a wonderful, upscale experience! The food was high quality, creative, and all around delicious. Even if you're not a huge mushroom fan, the menu would still be pleasing. Staff was attentive but didn't hover. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasion dining and I would return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good solid restaurant. A fine meal. Service was good, but lacked some of the sophistication of a fine dining experience. Very nice people, lovely ambiance. Worth the visit.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

All fungi, all the time!!! The Mushroom Madness Prix Fixe Menu was a delight. Too be bad we live in Connecticut, or we would be eating there all the time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We loved spending our 25th Anniversary here. It was wonderful.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We were in Dayton for the eclipse and staying with relatives. This is the second time we have been there and the food was as great as the first time. I want to try everything! Also, for one price, you get an appetizer, main course, and dessert. I like that.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The menu is creative with vegan options. The wait staff is exceptional - professional and well trained. We thought there would be more mushroom options. The elk was tasty but tough. The beef stroganoff was tasty but very rich so beware for sensitive tummies. Outdoor seating is pleasant but can get very cool in the evening. Blankets and/or a working propane lantern would be helpful. Very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Outdated wannabe "fancy" food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very enjoyable. Expected Stroganoff to be on pasta, but rice OK. Thought the cheese plate to be a little undersize, no blue. In France the cheese plate would be twice the size, but they wouldn't have the nice accessories either. Appreciate quiet allowing for easy conversation Good music choices. Flood always top quality..

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great meal and enjoyed eating outside Rad waiter very helpful with wine and menu choices.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A little pricey, but every dish was delicious. Dislike the mandatory 18% tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic food great time !

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This was our second visit to the Joel Palmer house. It met and exceeded all our expectations. The food was wonderful and the service was attentive. We enjoyed a wonderful 2 1/2 hour meal during sunset. We will continue to recommend this restaurant to all of our friends that enjoy forged mushrooms. We also enjoyed our conversation with Chef Czarnecki after our meal. Recommend the Joel Palmer house for any occasion where you want good food and a great evening.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

After seeing some of the reviews we were a little concerned as to what our first experience was going to be like, but after our dining experience we left so well satiated and happy. The people who give this place poor reviews must be poor customers and ones that no one could please. Always go and have fun. The pairings were incredible and the mushroom risotto to die for. Both my wife and I had the stroganoff and found it exquisite and very enjoyable. Will definitely go again!👌

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Such an incredible experience- best food we had all weekend. The salad was one of the best I've ever had, lobster pasta was fantastic. Desserts were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very nice place but not the best choice for non meat eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Both the food and service were excellent. Would highly recommend. Definitely plan to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Lovely setting. Expect more. Mushroom tart incredible. Reminded again why I was disappointed in risotto. Very cognizant of food allergies, much appreciated, very good service overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Fabulous food. I was in mushroom heaven. Everything was AAAAA+++++. Service was a little slow. Fabulous night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were profoundly impressed by every detail of our dining experience at the Joel Palmer House. We recently moved to Oregon from Washington, DC and had heard good things about this restaurant and their chef Christopher Czarnecki's cuilinary artistry--and after this evening's very special event we did not leave disappointed. One of the finest restaurants we've enjoyed in the Washington, DC area is "The Inn at Little Washington" and we can honestly say that our magnificent meal at the Joel Palmer House definitely held its own in comparison (which is saying a lot). Besides the amazing assortment of tastes and perfect presentation, our reservation requests had been carefully considered even to the point of the restaurant playing a poignant song by Eva Cassidy (who was from where we lived in the DC area) as they brought our desserts with lit candles to celebrate our most special occasion. We are just so grateful to each and every person at the Joel Palmer House restaurant that contributed to an absolutely wonderful memory and celebration. Very gratefully yours, Dr. Kevin R. Mitchell and Family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Go in the summer and ask for the outdoor seating in the shade. Service was outstanding. The mushroom dishes were fabulous, and the waitress kept bring delicious bread. A little spendy when you add in a couple bottles of wine; for a party of 5 we spent over $500, so it's definitely a special occasion type of place, but for what it is, it's hard to beat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

While the food was very good it seemed we were an afterthought the entire meal. We were not greeted by a host when we arrived at the entrance so we stepped out the door to see if we were in the right spot. After a few minutes a waitress saw us an ask if we had been helped. She seated us and said someone would come by regarding drinks but again we were left alone. We watched the wine steward/ maitre'd attended to every other table and never once the entire meal address our needs. The food was very good and the server who adopted us was nice, not to mention perplexed as to why we were left unattended. We will not be going back and will not recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Not a good experience for us. We sat inside on a Wednesday night, everyone else was outside, so the service was slow. Apparently, they had four people quit in the last week. The mushroom soup was hot and very flavorful. The arugula salad was delicious. My sturgeon entre was not even warm, and my husbands beef stroganoff was a disaster. Dessert was good. I woke up around 2 am and was sick to my stomach, felt even worse at 6 am. I don't recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

An excellent experience. Great food and service. The staff were attentive. Questions were answered with regard to food. Staff provided recommendations when asked. Overall we had a great meal and a lovely experience. I would recommend the Joel Palmer house to anyone wanting to have a lovely evening.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been to The Joel Palmer House several times in the past although not for a couple of years. After this most recent experience we will not go again. With the possible exception of the entrees there was nothing really special about the meal and certainly not for the price. My wife enjoyed her entree but mine (a pasta dish) could have been warmer. Even the signature soup (mushroom) seemed to be watered down. Our biggest complaint, however, was the service. There seemed to be plenty of servers and those that filed the water glasses and brought the bread did an excellent job, but it took the longest time before we were asked if we wanted to order a beverage before dinner and even longer before our meal order was finally taken. It appeared that several people tried to be our main server but no one actually did the job well. Finally, it took three attempts before the correct bill was brought to our table. The first bill was for drinks only-and not our drinks-even though we had ordered the three course meal. The second bill charged us for an additional appetizer when the server had said we could substitute an appetizer for the desert offering.

Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were lucky to seat in the garden area under a canopy. Great setting to meet our new friends. The food is fabulous, not inexpensive, but every bite was great. The service was excellent and very professional. Congratulations for a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The tasting menu was awesome. Got two bonus plates along with the five we each ordered- on the house! Gratuity free establishment. Courses were exceptional and service impeccable. Highly recommend adding the food gras and trying the wild mushroom risotto, incredible!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Recommended by a local winery, we were pleasantly surprised by the level of hospitality, graciousness, & quality of cuisine offered at this lovely, local gen. So glad we dined at the Joel Palmer House while in McMinnville!! The Beef Stroganoff melted in our mouths & the elk was divine. All the amuse bouch's in between were delightful especially the pickled carrots! Plus we enjoyed the Concert in the Park Friday night in Dayton prior!! Fantastic, local experience all the way around in Dayton! Loved our evening! The staff is exceptional as well. Totally professional albeit authentic & honest. Thank you to all!
Wendy
Newport Beach, CA

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful food and wine, ambience, and extraordinary service! We had outdoor seating on a perfect evening. Our party of 7 loved the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.