Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Snake River GrillSnake River Grill
(1772)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 36 times today
Cafe GenevieveCafe Genevieve
(502)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 31 times today
Orsetto Italian Bar and EateryOrsetto Italian Bar and Eatery
(84)
$$$$
Italian | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 14 times today
Local Restaurant and BarLocal Restaurant and Bar
(581)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 39 times today
LotusLotus
(37)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 19 times today
The KitchenThe Kitchen
(649)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 33 times today
Trio An American BistroTrio An American Bistro
(880)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 29 times today
The Gun Barrel Steak & Game HouseThe Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
(360)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 43 times today
Hatch Taqueria & TequilasHatch Taqueria & Tequilas
(54)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 15 times today
Glorietta TrattoriaGlorietta Trattoria
(59)
$$$$
Italian | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 10 times today
GatherGather
(311)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 18 times today
LiftLift
(29)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 3 times today
The White Buffalo ClubThe White Buffalo Club
(312)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 10 times today
FIGSFIGS
(81)
$$$$
Lebanese | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 8 times today
Rendezvous BistroRendezvous Bistro
(1101)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 26 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About The Indian

The Indian Room invites you to enjoy the finest Indian cuisine in Jackson Hole. Owned and Operated by local residents. The Indian provides you with an authentic Indian meal. Chef Sununta Haworth and her amazing team of chefs strive to give you a culinary experience unlike anything you’ll find in Jackson Hole. The restaurant is themed after a British officers club, giving you a place to relax and enjoy.

165 Center Street
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Thai, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 5:00-9:00. Closed Sunday/Monday

Cross Street:
Gill

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-4111

Website:
http://theindianjh.com/

Executive Chef:
Sununta Haworth

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Great food, friendly service, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The Indian serves up a wonderful mix of eclectic Indian and Asian cuisine in a welcoming space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 28, 2015

The food was great - we had Lamb Vindaloo, Butter Chicken and Bombay Street Noodles. I'm a big Indian food fan and wasn't expecting to find such authentic flavors. The ambiance was western with Indian influences (cricket paddles for instance). It all worked great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We were in town on vacation and needed to find a last minute reservation for Christmas. This was all we could get. We have had lots of Indian food in big cities. This was very bland and the flavors were very different than we had ever had. They also tried to do other asian dishes which did not make the cut. The service was fine and the ambiance was fun but stay away from the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2015

I liked this place partly because it is unexpected here in Jackson. Menu is a mix of Indian food and Southeast Asian. Nothing about it was exceptional - but all together it was a cool place to dine. Worth trying if you are in town a few days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Service and atmosphere were very nice, even elegant. The food? pretty average...what was billed as '2-3 crowns' in terms of spice wasn't spicy at all, in my view. Quite bland, in fact

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Great food, overall experience was really enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 7, 2015

I just had an outstanding meal at The Indian. The food was prepared beautifully and the portions were perfect. Our server was excellent...very helpful and knew the menu well. She was able to help us order just the right thing. The restaurant was pretty full but not noisy at all! I'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 22, 2015

Started with mussels and shrimp in a sauce so good you must ask for a spoon so you don't waste it. The nam is perfect with it. The waitress helped pick out the perfect wine, she was able to explain everything on the menu (apologies I can't give her kudo's as we don't remember her name. Authentic, spicy to personal choice, great variety of curries. Butter chicken is a favorite dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Stopped in for dinner on our annual 'girls night out' and everyone came away with big smiles and full bellies. From apps (paneer tikka - yum!) to dinner (some of the best palak paneer and tikka masala I've had in ages) to a wine selection with a choice for everyone, The Indian was the perfect choice. The wait staff was great, very attentive but not overbearing. Great vibe - plenty of chatter but not so much that it was distracting. Loved!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Excellent food, though a beloved salad had been dropped from the menu. Menus change with the seasons! Love, love, love the mussels. And very glad that bison pho is on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2015

Had been hoping for much of the past decade to have Indian cuisine available in Jackson, and so was happy to see "The Indian" arrive in town. The food is quite good, the Indian breads, something always to be enjoyed as part of Indian cuisine, well done and accompanied (if you add it to your bread order) by very nice dips (mango sauce, chutney, and...). Prices are moderate (at least for Jackson), and at least while we were there, early in the evening, the ambience allowed easy conversation amongst our party of 4.
We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 5, 2015

The vegan dish is outstanding! I've been addicted to Indian food for decades but have not had as good a vegan dish ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 5, 2015

food was great but slow coming being one of the first dinners

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 14, 2015

The menu was changed up from last time I ate there and I couldn't decide what to get because so many items looked good. Great price points too. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 12, 2015

The restaurant is not very attractive. It is dark and a bit dingy. The service is just ok as well. The food is good though. I had the Mango Duck Curry and it was very good. So if you like Indian food, you might give it a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 10, 2015

We come here often, and are big fans of the butter chicken and lamb vindaloo. They do a great job of spicing up the food, too, if that's what you prefer!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Sad experience, was excited to go, limited menu, butter chicken dry, sauce tasted bland, was never asked for refills or dessert.
Staff focused in large tables left two tops and singles to wait out service
Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 6, 2015

The dishes that have been on since opening keep getting better and the new dishes are fantastic. Our new waitress was a sweetheart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 5, 2015

Very busy night and The Indian did a fantastic job getting us in last-minute for our Anniversary!
Fantastic food and excellent service. My only suggestion is that the entrees need to include more meat in them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 1, 2015

The food was excellent! Being from India, the food at The Indian was the best we have had so far in the US. Fresh, delicious and AUTHENTIC for sure! Great job and keep up the good work. Would recommend to anyone who loves Indian food and want to try Indian food for the first time! You will not be disappointed!

~ Namasthe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2015

So refreshing to have authentically delicious indian and southeast asian food in Jackson. Everything we tried was a flavor bomb. Add in the British Raj vibe and its a real treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Where do I start with this review? We were seated at the reservation time, orders taken. Most drinks arrived promptly, but one of our party ordered a cocktail that took well over half an hour to arrive, and that only after we reminded the waitress about it.

The previous reviews said that the menu was limited, which it is. Be advised that the small plates are very small for the price (like two bites small). We ordered samosas which came two to a plate, but we added a third one for an addition price. Three of us ordered our small plates as appetizers, and two ordered them as mains.

We waited…. and waited…. after the cocktail finally came the waitress took off without any eye contact or information. Finally after 40 minutes the samosas came out – two instead of three. It took 20 minutes for the third to arrive. We did get the appetizers after an hour, and the orders for the main after another 20 minutes. Again, no explanation from the waitress, no apologies, although she seemed to tell some of the other tables what was going on. Although most of the food was ok, an order of dal was so salty that it was inedible.

To add insult to injury, service was automatically added to the bill for our party of five. The final tab was eye-popping for the quality of our experience. An off night? Maybe, but there was no excuse for the lack of communication.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 8, 2015

Food is consistently good, cocktails are tasty and unique, however the service, while friendly was extremely slow. Drinks took 20 minutes and came after the appetizers. Then each of our dinners came out at different times. The last meal came out at least 10 minutes after all of the rest of ours had arrived. This is not a typical experience so hope this was an exception from the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2015

The vegetable samosas were gooey and had no flavor, the naan greasy, and the thali meal with chicken tikka masala was dry and tasteless . Even the condiments were lacking in flavor! The atmosphere was quite and dark. I would not recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 17, 2015

The prices here are wonderful for the quality of this food! The portions are great and I left completely satisfied. We are definitely going back when we are in the area again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2015

Went to The Indian with a group of friends and family and we were all very pleased. Our waiter, Zach, made the whole experience fun and he was very accommodating....this was a first time for Indian food for some of my guests...his recommendations were spot on and he took such good care of us. I ordered the lamb and it was outstanding! I'm excited to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 27, 2015

Great food and decor. Nothing like it in Jackson. Good mixed drinks. We would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Yum! So great to have delicious Indian food in JH! The butter chicken and lamb curry remain our favorites, we also love the appetizer with the mussels and shrimp in that amazing sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 19, 2015

I want to love this place but I have now had two mediocre meals. Every menu item sounds great but the flavors are not fully developed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2015

We were very impressed from start to finish! Service was great food was tasty . We will go back for sure!! Highly recommend if you want something top notch and different than the usual buffalo burger/ chili or American cuisine. Ordered the Lamb vindaloo and Chicken Madras for entree and the Lentil medallions for appetizer.( delightfully... Sorry forgot the name)
I liked the decor of The Indian too!!
I must go !!!! Thanks Alex ( local) for recommending !!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 31, 2015

we are locals and wanted to leave the kids at home and enjoy dinner with another couple. We loved everything about the Indian- atmosphere, food, and especially the service. Knowledgable and friendly staff, which was important since we weren't familiar with the signature dishes. We sat in a booth which allowed the four of us to enjoy our conversation without fighting over a noisy restaurant. You won't go wrong with anything on the menu- just ask your server to bring you a couple of their most popular dishes and you won't be dissappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Had another wonderful meal with friends. Never felt rushed. The food arrived in a timely pace. The service could have been slightly crisper (sat 20 minutes after dessert menu was placed before anyone came by); but the restaurant was full and we were having a good time in conversation. The food (mussels& shrimp, chicken, samosas, onion Bhaji, Makhanwala) was fantastic.
Wish they would NOT have "spice level" choices. My preference would be to have the dishes cooked as they are supposed to be and then have someone make an "exception" if they need to

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2015

I went to the Indian with a group for my birthday, the food, drinks and atmosphere were all great and the staff was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 2, 2015

we are so glad that we finally tried out the Indian .. we have heard mixed reviews and needed to find out how we felt about this place . the food was great , the server was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was pleasant and warm .... we will be back for sure and we would recommend the Indian to anyone!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Indian was very disappointing. We went on January 1 for a family New Year's dinner.

We had a 7:00 reservation. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant hostess and were seated promptly in the near-empty place (though it filled up soon after). We waited too long for our drinks and it went down hill from there.

Despite asking out server twice, we did not receive our garlic naan for 1 hour!!! An adjacent table arrived after us and was gone by the time our entrees arrived a 90 minutes into the odyssey.

The entrees were all excellent, but two of the four were ice cold, in part because they were served on metal plates (umm, metal conducts heat - food will be cold in two minutes - this isn't rocket science.) As one of our party suggested: "Glacially cold food served at a more glacial pace!"

We understand this was a "special menu" and the plates were special for this occasion.

I do not understand how a kitchen could get so behind at the beginning of the night. The servers were embarrassed.

Overall, not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Can't say what the regular menu is like because it was a special menu for New Year's Day. There were 4 choices and with our family of 4 we tried three. What I liked about this restaurant is that you could choose how spicy you wanted your meal to be. The food was quite good, but the interior is stunning. Worth a trip if you are hungry for indian food in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 26, 2014

We ordered a naan basket as an appetizer per waitress suggestion, as then we would have extra for dinner. The basket arrived with dinner. We asked for information on spice level, and told a 2 was very spicy so ordered a 1. It was not spicy at all and did not have much flavor. Waitress was going to bring more spices, but never came. Size of serving was small for cost. The table setting included a fork. The chicken dish came with large 2-3" x 2" pieces, so I had to ask for a knife. We really like Indian food, this did not come close to flavorful food I have had in past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 25, 2014

Great specialty cocktails, especially the vodka chai. The British Colonial themed decor is warm and overall a bit dark, but in a good way!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2014

All 4 of us ordered something different & we ALL enjoyed our choices. We have always been a fan of nan bread. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.