Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 3.86mi
  3. Distance: 6.79mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 3.86mi
  3. Distance: 6.79mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 3.86mi
  3. Distance: 6.79mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi
  1. Distance: 1.74mi
  2. Distance: 3.86mi
  3. Distance: 6.79mi
  4. Distance: 10.08mi

About The Granary

Offering a casual dining setting, The Granary serves up lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Whether you’re grabbing dinner with friends or celebrating a special event, make every meal a treat.

“The Granary is a neighborhood gathering place,” says Chef Colin Bedford, who designs and updates the menu seasonally. “The Granary’s menu is full of comfort food and Southern classics with English influence.”

The menu is complemented by a full bar and wine list curated by Beverage Director Paula de Pano. Ask your sommelier for pairing recommendations for your next meal!

The Granary is located in Fearrington Village near Chapel Hill, NC. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date on the weekly specials.

2000 Fearrington Village
Pittsboro, NC 27312
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Village Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 542-2121

Website:
http://www.fearrington.com/granary/

Parking Details:
Fearrington Village offers extensive free parking, just steps from the Fearrington Granary.

Executive Chef:
Colin Bedford

Private Party Facilities:
The Fearrington Granary is an extremely versatile venue, providing a large open floor plan and surrounding multi-level, intimate dining spaces. The Granary’s main floor offers an open seating area adjacent to high top tables and full service bar. Great for casual meal options with friends. The Granary’s semi-private areas include: The Silo room is a second level area that offers versatile seating and overlooks the front pasture containing our iconic silo and Belted Galloway cows. Also located on the second level is the Beltie room that overlooks our pasture and grazing Belties. Galloways is a private downstairs area adjacent to the Gallery, allowing for a separate reception and dinner area. Finally, the Sunroom offers a more intimate dining area, also providing views over our front pasture. To learn more about this venue call us at 919.542.2121.

Private Party Contact:
Special Events: (919) 542-2121

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Granary is the perfect venue for any type of special event. From Bridal Showers & Anniversary Parties to Rehearsal Dinners or casual BBQ get togethers, the Granary is the ideal location for any celebration.

The Granary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Scenic View (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to the Granery for a Dinner date and we were pleasantly surprised!
Great service, delicious local food with a farm on the property!
I had a side salad, the Shrimp Ravioli and an Ice Cream Sandwich. Everything tasted fresh and flavorful!
I highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect evening to dine outdoor in the lovely garden....quiet, good food, good service...,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Came in for a friend's birthday, sent them
An email during reservation if they can provide a slice of cake for the celebrant, told the waitress on arrival but did not get anything of that slice of cake for the birthday celebrant, when we got our bill, the waitress just said happy birthday, so disappointed to have drove for 35 minutes for a friend's birthday but was so disappointed for ignoring my request.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We dine here about twice a week. It's conveniently located in Fearrington Village where we live.
We find that the quality of the food and the service has improved under new management and chef. I always order the grilled salmon as it is perfectly prepared and very delicious. It comes complimented with grilled asparagus and seasoned sweet potatoes. A perfect light meal for Spring. My husband is more adventurous and this time had the fried chicken with Mac & Cheese and Broccolini. Judging by his plate, the meal was scrumptious. He couldn't finish the Mac & Cheese and the Broccolini but was able to take them home and enjoy them for lunch the next day. Since the Granary has a special of 1/2 priced bottles of wine on Mondays and Tuesdays, we make a point to visit on those days. We are going to try the Brunch on Sundays soon as they use to be delicious and with the new chef they will probably be even better.

Once suggestion I would offer is to have a few bottles of wine on the menu that are above average. Especially in the Cabernet category.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The brunch was overpriced. The selection for Mothers Day on fixed price menu was very limited. The restaurant ran out of asparagus and the signature ice cream sundae. My son and I were very disappointed. We were dining with my family of 6- my husband, daughter and husband, and two sons, one of whom graduated from UNC in the morning. I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A delicious and very filling Mother's Day brunch! Our waiter was fantastic! He was very attentive and was right on top of everything. I am sorry that his name escapes me. In addition, the manager provided outstanding customer service and made sure that customers were happy. Mother's Day brunch at The Granary has been our tradition for over ten years. As in the past, this year's dining experience was awesome!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was our second evening dining at the Granary since our return from Florida. We started with a bottle of wine, half price on Monday and Tuesday evening! Our waiter was welcoming and helpful answering the questions we had about the menu. I had the Trout with asparagus and sweet potatoes and my husband had the Shrimp & Grits. Both dishes were well prepared and delicious. We very much enjoyed our evening out at the Granary and will return often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Celebrated a milestone birthday here. The food and cocktails were both excellent. The polenta and lamb were cooked perfectly; the chicken pot pie was rich and creamy; and the coconut cake with lemon filling was divine. We'll return, I'm sure!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Celebrated a family birthday with Sat. lunch at the honoree's favorite restaurant. We began with a round of George's famous Bloody Marys while we checked out the new menu offerings, mostly more burgers with tempting add ons including pimento cheese and fried green tomatoes. We ordered the shrimp and grits and the cheese souffles with asparagus, tomatoes and artichokes. The shrimp and grits were warm, creamy and not at all spicy. The light and fluffy souffles melted in your mouth and were served atop the perfectly roasted veggies lightly sauced with pesto. Since it was a birthday celebration we finished with the moist coconut cake with a very creamy, not at all sugary, frosting and delicious Fearrington coffee. George, our server, was very knowledgable about the menu and timed our service so we did not feel at all rushed although the restaurant was very busy. Overall it was a very Happy Birthday lunch. We'll be back to try some of those new burgers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Granary has a new menu and it's wonderful. Much larger number of offerings than in the past. Great fish, seafood, pasta, and American favorites. Several great fish items. The other night their special was halibut on a bed of sweet pea hummus with little pasta pockets filled with ricotta and sweet pea shoots on top. Just fantastic! They also have crowd-pleasers like fried chicken, meatloaf, and a great looking burger. The atmosphere is quieter than many local restaurants (which have become noise-producers) but still casual and fun. Craft cocktails and a nice wine list. Highly recommend the New Granary!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Organic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We keep trying every 6 months or so hoping it will be as good as it was 4 years ago at our early visits. Quality of food is average, at best.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great atmosphere, service with a smile. Portions for the price were a bit smaller than expected, as we dined during the dinner hour. Favorite dish was the brussel sprouts appetizer, which was excellent, but I would have toned down the sweetness a bit. The other dishes, calamari appetizer, salad entree with oysters, and rigatoni & meatball entrees were satisfactory. I would give it another try and venture to order something totally different than on this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

slow service, food not great, need some background music outside. It was uncomfortably quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had friends visiting from out of town and wanted them to see Fearrington and our house. I believe that the village and restaurants are a great asset to Fearrington and thus wanted to take them to brunch at the Granary. The service, menu selections and food were very good; however, the crepes (my favorite brunch item) could have been warmer. Under most circumstances, I would have sent them back to be heated up; however, our guest's food was excellent and I didn't want to point out the flaws in the otherwise excellent dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Beautiful Fearrington Village Restaurant! Historic house feel with white wooden tables. Excellent wait staff and exceptional food! We've been here many times and always return. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Brussel sprout app and beltie ice cream sandwich were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the whole experience the only draw back it was raining steadily which kept us from walking around and enjoying the shops and scenery.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Been there several times and love their beet salad. Always good food and they make a great cosmo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our wait for our food was over an hour after we were seated for Brunch on Easter Sunday.
They obviously overbooked for the capacity of the kitchen. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had guests with us for Easter Sunday Brunch. It took over an hour to get the food. And then the food was cold or overcooked. We have been going to The Granary for over 15 years and this was the worst service and food we have ever experienced. We were embarrassed in front of our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday was a very nice menu and the staff was very helpful. Lunch was outstanding as everyone enjoyed their meal and I loved the crab cake benedict. Great presentation and getting walk around the gardens and shops made it even more special. This place will not disappoint.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Place was empty, seated immediately based on reservations. Waiter seemed to be a little slammed or disorganized during the initial interaction. Waited 45 minutes for food after ordering ,they forgot stuff, just not very well organized. Pretty setting but not worth the drive. Food was good but nothing special.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Varied menu with outstanding entrees and service. The cocktail menu is always worth a look...and possibly a sip or two.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I always love this place. It's so peaceful and charming. A great respite from Raleigh. It's a great place to relax and enjoy the food and your company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our meal was delicious. The menu was extensive and creative. All of the veggies were fresh and crips. The Brussel Sprouts were the best I have had. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and made some excellent recommendations. We will certainly go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Private Room, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed an al fresco early dinner. The menu is unpretentious, but my mussels and my wife's shrimp and grits were both done well. Service was good but unobtrusive, allowing us to linger over a glass of albariño, and the bill was modest. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Took some friends from out of town to The Granary for lunch. It was around 1:30PM and was still very busy. George, the waiter was quick with our drinks and food. The menu was exceptional with a good variety of salads and sandwiches and lunch portion entrees. Everyone was very pleased with their food. I would highly recommend The Cranary.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We have been to the Granary before but this time was disappointing. We had out of town guests that we took here. One guest's salmon was cold and sweet potatoes were not done. Another guest ordered spaghetti upon hearing they had a new chef from Italy but it was so watery he had to partially use a spoon for the sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The four of us were very pleased with all aspects of the Granary and are anxious to return. All the meals were excellent and some took a carryout box. If you are there at the appropriate meal time for biscuits, please try them; mom has found her match. My wife enjoyed the shrimp and grits and declared they were the best she had ever tasted-----and she is a southern girl. The gentleman that was our server is very good without being intrusive-----pleased us with his service.

Do yourself a favor and treat the family and/or friends to a wonderful experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall good experience. Waitress was really great. A bit expensive but will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have been here many times, but this time, it appears they forgot us and the food had been ready to bring to our table well before it actually was. Because we had an appt and time was short, we made the best. But it was not hot and the fries were soggy. But we will give them another chance another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Granary is not open for brunch yet - we did catch the bar scene one night though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the new menu - freshly made pasta - great shrimp and pasta chip ravioli- great "by the glass" wine choices

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I went here with my wife of a rare night out with out the kids. The experience was great with a quite table in a unique setting. The small menu offered something for each of us and a spare and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We visited The Granary for Sunday Brunch and were very disappointed in the quality of the Eggs Benedict. The bacon was tough and chewy, the eggs were tasteless and undercooked, and the hollandaise sauce had no taste of lemon at all. For a restaurant aiming for high quality food and promoting a Sunday Brunch, this was unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

our food and service were outstanding! we were in town visiting UNC Chapel Hill and found the restaurant on Open Table. It was a bit of a drive but so worth it! We will for sure go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I think that instead of the wait person asking if a customer wants his or her change back, the wait person should assume that the customer wants their change, and then allow the customer to decide how much of the change is going to the tip. Asking the customer puts the customer on the spot and creates a somewhat uncomfortable moment.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was overall good, as expected. However, the service was extremely slow. This was an unusually warm day in February and the patio was open for dining. There were 4-5 tables of diners outside (including ours) and one waitress for the entire patio, so service was noticeably slow and drinks went unfilled. The kitchen was also extremely slow, and kept sending out wrong orders to the table next to ours, despite the fact the the restaurant itself seemed pretty empty. The weather was nice, so we didn't really mind the wait, but the food itself wasn't excellent enough to make up for the slow service - so unfortunately I had to leave a less-than-ideal review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was really disappointed in the Granary. I had extended family in town and I normally put a lot of trust into Fearrington establishments to be very high quality (I'm even getting married at Fearrington later this year). This meal had a lot to be desired though. The service was slow, the food was subpar, we had to send back food and heard our waitress argue with us about how our fries were hot out of the fryer (they were cold at the table). Our experience here was the worst part of hosting my out of town family.

I have had great meals at the Granary before, so I'm not sure what happened. Overall, I love Fearrington Village, but I'm not sure I'll be going back to the Granary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.