Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi

About The Gamekeeper

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm.

Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game plus a range of continental and American entrees.

Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts, and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Scenic View (28)
Fireplace (22)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Seasonal (13)
Casual (12)
Organic (12)
Healthy (11)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Historic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Gamekeeper always delivers. Had a great outdoor table and beautiful sunset. Great bar, and bartender (Hunter). A must when visiting the high country.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent, (actually fantastic) well prepared and presented. The atmosphere is great and you can actually hear each other talk and have a normal conversation without yelling. The wine list was pretty good even though we brought our own wine. I'm still surprised at how many nice restaurants don't have the proper wine glasses and don't teach their wait staff how to pour - which means don't pour 3/4 of a glass from a just opened bottle. Wine needs to open and a 4-6 oz pour is appropriate. Otherwise it was great and would've gotten an overall 5 star except for the wine glasses and the pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

I try to make it to the Boone area a few times a year to enjoy the mountains and have been to Gamekeeper 4 times now. Each time was wonderful.
During my last visit, I mentioned to the waiter that I am avoiding gluten and he assured me the dish I was choosing was free of it. It was the bison tenderloin with veggies and potatoes. When the dish arrived, there was clearly breading on the potatoes. He took it back and returned shortly with an entirely new meal prepared by the chef (who was sympathetic, and happens to have Celiac).
Other than that minor hiccup, the meal was fantastic as always. In fact, the 2nd dish was better than the first. Wonderful wine list. We also had the mixed meat appetizer. Everything was cooked to perfection. The elk was obscenely tender. The cabernet butter to die for.
When making a reservation I requested a quiet table off to the side. We were seated at just that. A quiet table near an open window with a gentle breeze.
I will definitely be back, though if you have food allergies or restrictions, it's best to call ahead as the servers may not be well versed on the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Exquisite on all levels . Staff , cuisine , bar , the entire experience .

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Once again, the Gamekeeper delivers on an excellent meal. We both enjoyed our entrées. The escargot appetizer was OK. However, the duck and elk made up for the appetizer. As always, the service was excellent. Difficult to get to, but worth the effort.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not what it used to be. Disappointed all the way around. Waited at our table after being seated for 25 minutes to be acknowledged by waiter. Snapper was way over salted. Needs to be readdressed and fine tuned. Used to be great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome as expected. The Gamekeeper never disappoints.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome Graduation Celebration! Everyone enjoyed the variety of exotic meats you don't get to experience very often. Service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Gamekeeper provided the perfect food, wine, and ambiance to celebrate my son's college graduation. The food - which is always adventurous was great. We loved the Game appetizer and the variety of meats provided - emu, elk, boar and rabbit sausage. Dinners ranging from bison, to guinea hen, to filet mignon were flavorful and each was paired with local sides. .... And the service was even better than the food. Our waitress was very patient and able to describe the unusual fare and help all family members make their selections. When one of the entrees was (slightly) delayed in the kitchen, she provided a plate of delicious local veggies to ease the wait till the entree was ready. The price tag definitely make this a "special occasion" restaurant, but your experience will be one that enhances the memory of the celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place was a disaster this visit. We arrived 7 minutes before our 8 pm reservation. They told us our table wasn't ready but would be ready soon. We thought no worries and went to the bar to grab a drink. Over 45 minutes later our table was still not ready and no one was informing us of anything. It turned out everyone in the bar was waiting over 30 minutes for their reservations. Yes it was graduation weekend but they ruined our nice meal out in celebration of graduation. The hostess lacked the manners expected by a hostess. She would be annoyed when asking when our table would be ready after 30 minutes of waiting. Once we were seated the service wasn't that great. It wasn't horrible but nothing special and we had mentioned we were celebrating graduation. The cocktails were great. They should learn how to book reservations. Usually when we come here it is fantastic service. But this visit was horrendous. It really made us wonder if we will be returning here in the future.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We took our 90 year old mother here for Mother's Day weekend and had one of the best meals ever! We love the exotic menu and the ambiance of the restaurant. It is a little tricky to find and the narrow winding road was a little intimidating in our big vehicle, but it was well worth the effort. Everyone from the valet, to the hostess, to the wait staff were professional and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and save room for dessert. Our compliments to the chef from start to finish!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My husband & I always love having a fantastic dinner at the Game Keeper. Everything is always great and the best breadpudding anywhere!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Wood Oven, Organic, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious meal and wonderful celebration for my daughter's 21st birthday. Each time we go the Gamekeeper we have a memorable experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

What an interesting culinary adventure!
My dining companion had the elk, and I had the emu. Both dishes were expertly prepared and delicious.

This was our first visit to The Game Keeper, but it won't be our last.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our compliments to the chef and our wonderful server, Noah!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was an anniversary celebration. Great view and the food was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great good! Our server, Kappa was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Never disappointed, the addition of French inspired April menu is wonderful, absolutely delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an 8 o'clock reservation and were seated at 9 and didn't have any food till 9:30. Dinner was delicious , especially the emu. A complimentary dessert or glass of wine would have been appreciated for the long delay- all we got was 'sorry for the wait'. It could have been a perfect evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Delicious fried oyster appetizer and Bison Short rib entree. We went early so it was still daylight - definitely prettier at night. Love the Gamekeeper!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The dining was exquisite, everyone was friendly, answered all of our questions...and the meal was awesome. Will return again!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Romantic, Vegan, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Received a gift certificate so we decided to have a date night. Service was excellent from valet, dinner all the way to the valet to leave. Food was delicious and presented beautifully. Highly recommended the Gamekeeper.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The gamekeeper never disappoints with their menu and their friendly staff! An absolute favorite of mine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing food, great atmosphere, and friendly staff!! What more could you ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious and unique as always, love trying new foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent menu, can't go wrong. . . .except if you don't make reservations in time. They book quickly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another perfect meal at the Gamekeeper with impeccable service from Kappa. We were seated at a lovely table near the fire place, which was perfect on a chilly night. The filet was the exact temperature requested and the sample platter is always a delight with all the unique flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent! We choose the Gamekeeper for birthdays, anniversaries, and just for a special night out. We have always been more than pleased. P.S. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing and unique food and service! Our server Taylor was very attentive and helpful with the menu and the staff went out of their way to make sure my birthday dinner was a memorable one! Can't say enough good things about this place! Perfect night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Truly outstanding cuisine- try the Emu and Elk. Exquisite wine selection. Amazing service and great views, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had dinner to celebrate our anniversary. It is a great atmosphere with excellent servers who do a fabulous job reviewing the menu in addition to making good recommendations!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a great time and the food was amazing. We started with the chef's meat sampler appetizer--which helped us decide on entrees. Everybody enjoyed all the choices. Don't forget dessert. Don't miss the Gamekeeper!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was a unique place to try game meat. The elk and emu were very tasty. Worth the price. Not s place for every week dining but definitely a place to go at least once

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing flavor in every bite! Lovely seasonal menu in addition to the Many food options for all palates. Expect to visit often this summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was very good. Interesting menu with options that are not typically an option at most restaurants. Based on the food, we would definitely eat here again. The service was not the best. It began with our arrival. We arrived an hour before our reservation and were prepared to wait. We were told it would be just a few minutes while they got our table ready. We were asked to have a seat in the bar area. After 30 mins, a hostess came up to us and asked if she could help us with anything. We said no we were just waiting on our table. She preceded to tell us that they had had the table ready for a while and didn't know that we were ready to be seated. Our waiter was Noah. Noah seemed very pleasant. He was very knowledgeable of the menu. We ordered and our food was brought. The waiter never checked back with us to see if our food was good or we needed anything. He came by our table multiple times but never once acknowledged us. I tried to flag him down on several occasions to ask for a refill of our water but was never able to get his attention. I finally went and got the pitcher myself twice. The second time there was no water in the pitcher so I left it on the table. After we were done eating, he came by to see if we were ready for our bill. He took the empty pitcher. When he brought my bill back for me to sign, he proceeded to fill my water glass. I didn't get the impression that Noah was offering subpar service to the table around us. I just felt like we were the evil step sister.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Amazing flavors. This is foodie heaven. Very accommodating. Halved our shared dishes for us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food but pricey for the portions. A place to go for the experience. Menu had alternative meat options that you don't get in most places. Service is great and staff was very friendly. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vegan, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We always enjoy Gamekeeper. This visit was no exception. Excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Everything was great! Excellent food.
We will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Delicious unusual cuisine. The elk and blue macaroni was yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.