About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm.

Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game plus a range of continental and American entrees.

Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts, and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (37)
Romantic (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fireplace (30)
Cozy (29)
Scenic View (29)
Authentic (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Historic (15)
Seasonal (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious unusual cuisine. The elk and blue macaroni was yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Great & Great!!! We're from Chattanooga & Atlanta & enjoy The GameKeeper every chance we are in the area. This trip we especially enjoyed the autumn soup, the mixed green & buttermilk blue salads along with Wagu beef and the Nc stripped bass. Finished off the meal with the chocolate cake & coffee. Wonderful staff, relaxing atmosphere, delightful food & attentive staff always makes for an enjoyable evening out!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

I love this restaurant..Emu is always my favorite along with the Elk

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic restaurant! Exotic meat choices and a good variety of options for seafood and non meat eaters. Portions were decent size, but prices are high. Not a good place for children however. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was way overpriced. Husband had elk which was ok and I had special, grilled duck which was tough and did not eat. Atmosphere is fabulous. Service good.

Tags: Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved the GameKeeper. One of the best restaurants on the East coast. The service was excellent. Our waitress was able to provide us with a wonderful explanation of the menu and was knowledgeable of the surrounding countryside. Ask for Taylor when you come in

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Casual, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal. We live in Abingdon, Virginia (about 1.5 hours away), but travel to Boone at least once a year to have dinner at the Gamekeeper. It's always our favorite meal of the year.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Gamekeeper was the Best Restaurant to celebrate Valentine's Day and my wife's 50th Birthday! We loved the unique food that was available. I had the Emu and my wife had the Bison Skirt Steak which both were absolutely fabulous! I highly recommend for that perfect evening out!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We chose to bring friends with us to The Gamekeeper for a fun, low key evening in a wonderful setting. The staff did not let us down. From beginning to end, it was a memorable experience. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. This was our 3rd year here and each time it has been excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I checked special occasions but good for dinner anytime. We have been a few times before as we live here between Blowing Rock and Boone. This particular time was my wife's birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Definitely a unique experience. Food was great. Service was very slow. We were there for over three hours. Should really consider serving potatoes on appetizer sampler as a side option.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had received several recommendations to try The Gamekeeper, so when we were in Boone for the weekend with a group of friends, we decided to give it a go. What a meal! Where else can you eat emu steak or boar osso bucco-style. Be sure to save room for dessert. Although a fine dining experience, the kitchen even whipped up some "butter fettuccine" for the prescooler in our group. Fabulous service!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Unfortunately, after many visits to the Gamekeeper, we were extremely disappointed with the vegetarian meal that was prepared. It used to be as good or better as any Selection on the menu but unfortunately this time was not very good. Also, our waiter seem to be much more interested in a group of unescorted ladies than taking care of us. We only received our bread after asking twice and after our meal was delivered. When my wife's vegetarian plate came out the first time cold, he made multiple excuses and actually said that the vegetarian entrée was meant to be lukewarm. We have never experienced this before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We enjoyed a quiet dinner for two near the stone fireplace. The food was excellent and the menu offers unusual selections (wild game, trout etc....) The vegetables were very good, would go just for those. The drive there is very scenic. We had a very nice server. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place all around with unique dishes you won't find anywhere else!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was wonderful! We loved the atmosphere! Great bartender! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The menu is not your typical menu which I love!! If you are in the area it's must!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was absolutely pleased with the service and the food at the Game Keeper. I will definitely be coming by here every time that I stay in this area. I have already recommended it to several of my friend staff was amazing unfriendly food was absolutely out of this world couldn't have been a better experience.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Our second time to Gamekeeper was once again outstanding. First time was Thanksgiving and this time was a late week dinner to thank a friend who helped us. It was quiet, beautiful and I finally tried the vegetarian dish....wow, so good. Our friend was very impressed and grateful for the evening. Highly recommend! PS The waiter was the same one we had for Thanksgiving and he remembered us and the wine we selected. Pretty good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The Gamekeeper was recommended for the unique dishes, and that it has, however the atmosphere was tacky to say the least. They had a weird combination of "junk" as decorations from a Dracula statue to skeleton "Christmas" decor?! Anyway, tacky aside, the fireplace is nice and the wait staff were adequate, although not exceptional for the cost of the dishes. We arrived a little early and picked out a bottle of wine at the bar. When we were seated, the first thing we noticed was that "select" bottles of wine were half price! The bartender NEVER mentioned that piece of advice and ours was full price of course. We put that aside and continued. Our waiter gave us the menus and we asked if they had any off menu specials for the night. He said they did not. Later we heard another waitress telling her table about the wine special and the off menu special. Next, we ordered salads. After I ordered, he came back and I was told my choice of spinach salad was no longer available. (Our reservation was very early at 6pm and they already ran out.) We received our salads and toward the end of eating his, my husband bit into a shaving of metal. He told the waiter and he said "Oh, I'm sorry". Later he brought our main dishes. We had the Emu and the Bison Ribeye. Both were delicious, although the Emu was a little better in my opinion. It was very lean and tender, with lots of flavor. When we received our bill, my husband's salad was credited, which was nice, but we were a bit surprised there was not another word said by the waiter concerning the metal or the credit, just the initial, "Oh, I'm sorry." All things being said, I have a really hard time recommending this place due to the weird tacky atmosphere and the casual attitude of the wait staff in comparison to the very pricey meal. I would expect more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Once again the Gamekeeper did not disappoint. We dined on December 30 for a continued celebration of the holidays. Ken and Wendy continue to be the "food trust" behind a great restaurant that is always special for our family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

great place for dinner with friends or family amazing cozy feeling great food service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was irritated with the restaurant manager. She refused my BOGO coupon with use of a half price wine special they were having. She said that I could use one or the other, but no where was there a disclaimer saying that only one discount could be used.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Tried the meat appetizer sampler...way too much for 2 people if you are getting an entry as well

Tags: Wood Oven, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Absolutely fantastic for my 32 year old birthday! Thank you so for the delious food & great service!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went the week after Christmas, to celebrate 19th Wedding Anniversary. Reservations were made ahead of time. We were sitted right in the middle of the back dinning room. Place was packed. This dining room house about 7 tables. There was a large group that was so loud, that I could not hear my spouse talk. Was expecting a little less noise given the ratings and price. I could tell that even our waiter was a little nervous about the noise. He offered to move us to a table that became available for our dessert. We didn't move cause what's 10 more minutes?And we did get dessert free, I guess to compensate.

Food was great but could have been better.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We always enjoy this restaurant when in the Boone area for more than a decade. Consistently great food, professional, efficient service, great bar and nice wine offerings. And the veggies are very fresh and good every time.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great find. Awsome food. We will be back when visiting daughter in Boone.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was fresh and expertly crafted. Creative, honest dishes seemed ubiquitous on the appetizer, salad, and entree menus, making it hard to decide. Atmosphere was interesting and laid-back, but quiet enough to be cozy and intimate. Service was great, as were the cocktails. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at the Gamekeeper on 12/23. Food was incredible! This was not our first time here. The sampler appetizer is worth every penny! Also tried the bison & the duck. Somewhere in between those my boyfriend popped the question! Erin, our sweet server , captured the "down on one knee" on video! Then we celebrated at the amazing bar & had the pleasure of meeting Wendy, the owner. To say it was a memorable evening would be quite the understatement!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enchanting! Warm crackling fireplace, twinkling holiday decorations, delicious cuisine and impeccable service!!! Darcy was an exceptional server! Looking forward to our next visit....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Come to Gamekeeper every Xmas holiday when visiting family . Nothing like this in Jax. Florida.

Always a unique menu to order from and always prepared spot on. Try to attend more often when visiting throughout the year. Service always friendly and quick. No second thoughts when recommending this dining destination !!!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything we had at the gamekeeper was absolutely delicious! Try the grilled meat sampler appetizer!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Gamekeeper specializes in esoteric game dishes like elk, bison, emu. The chef does a great job presenting these hearty dishes. The service was energetic and enthusiastic. Interesting cocktails from the bar. Well-matched wines carefully picked.

We had a pleasant time but we should mention we've only had one visit to The Gamekeeper. Would we go again?

There is a certain novelty about the esoteric menu but if this was just a steak and salmon restaurant, what would be my take? Nice ambiance. Nice service. Cool building (apparently part of an old Girl Scout camp. I'd play up to that in my decor personally). The Gamekeeper will have to keep its game (pun) at top level to standout among other nice restaurants in Blowing Rock and Boone. Tough competition but so far I think they're doing a good job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was one of the best restaurants I have be to.great atmustphier I have experience.the service was outstanding and the food was great.I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.Amber our waitresses went beyond her job to make sure our dinning experience was great.I would like to thank Ken and windy for the great experience that me and my feance had while we were there.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The restaurant had a beautiful atmosphere and was decorated nicely for the holidays. Our meal was delicious! We began with the fried oysters. They were flash fried and the coating on them was flavorful. I had the duck entree and my husband had the trout. Both entrees were complemented with delicious winter vegetables. My honey sweet potatoes were creamy and very tasty! Our waiter was attentive to our needs and we got our meal within a reasonable amount of time. The restaurant was fairly full, but it was quiet and we were able to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. We had a lovely meal and restaurant experience. The Gamekeeper is one of our favorite restaurants in the High Country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had reservations, but when we arrived our table was not ready so we were asked to wait at bar. No worries, we thought we'd order a drink. It was 20 minutes before we finally were able to get eye contact from aserver and flagged him over. Table was filthy, we had to ask him to clean it. By time he returned to take our drink order our table was ready. (BTW, lovely views in spring Sumner and fall; decore was lovely and festive for this time of year, Christmas. )

At dinner, our server was very sub par for this caliber restaurant. Had to ask for bread, she was not "inviting". Made no recommendations on wines, and our cocktails were not very good.

I had pork chop that apparently comes with a serving of cold potatoes (not potato salad). Husband had elk which he said was good, not great given the price point.

This was second time we patronized this restaurant, don't plan on returning or recommending to others.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our second visit to the Gamekeeker and we were as satisfied as we were the first time. The menu offered many choices, thepresentation of dinner was excllent and the rainbow trout was very delicious.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, delightfully prepared, sumptuous food!

Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Most delicious food and beautiful surroundings!!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Its a very neat place a little out of the way but well worth it. Interesting menu and great bar tender. The osso bucco was delicious. Not the interior I expected but well done. A great mix of fine dining a woodsy cabin with a little touristy twist. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We've been going to this restaurant for well over 20 years and have always enjoyed the setting and food. We took some "first timers" who enjoyed the experience. We would prefer that the furnishings go back to a more appropriate style for the décor. That said, we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The Gamekeeper is meant for (a) the hungry and (b) the adventurous. There are so many interesting menu items; you will want to try a little of everything and choose a starter, a salad, a main course, and a dessert. In particular, I can recommend the sampler appetizer (delicious game and sauces), the elk, and the rabbit. For dessert, the bread pudding is heavenly.

The drive to the restaurant is on a mountain road, so save the cocktail hour until you arrive and bring a designated driver for the return trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was outstanding. This is a "one of a kind" experience that I'll probably never experience again, anywhere else. Presentation was beautiful, food was delicious, staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Healthy, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well worth the short drive from Blowing Rock....excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant! My family have been coming here for years when we go up to the mountains to pick out our Christmas tree Thanksgiving weekend. The menu is always changing and never fails to satisfy my stomach!! There is always a special kind of "game" well worth trying and the mixed game grill appetizer is shareable among my family of 7! While the prices are a bit steep, I think it is worth the money for the ambiance, location, amazing quality and creativity of the food! We recommend this place to anyone going towards Blowing Rock/Boone area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is an awesome place and was our 2nd time dining here. The 2nd experience was as great as the first. The food from appetizer to dessert was amazing. Our waitress had great recommendations for what we were looking for. Everyone we came into contact with there was friendly and went out of their way to make you comfortable. If you are in the Boone area I wouldn't pass this restaurant up.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here, with outstanding service!! We will definitely be back for special occasions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding, wildly fantastic & just plain wonderful!! After a recommendation from my hair stylist to visit this place I decided it would be an excellent place to experience with a date. The hour and a half drive up was just beautiful and upon entering The Gamekeeper with their valet service, really it is needed due to the somewhat tricky smaller parking lot when full, so that was fine. We arrived a half hour ahead of our reservations and were kindly told to just go on in and we would be seated and we were! The restaurant is charming, the staff friendly & attentive and last but certainly not least...the main event, the food!! Exquisite! I had the vegetable platter..I just ate around the whole bowl, some things I wasn't quite sure what it was but it was all delicious! I would highly recommend it! My friend got the tenderloin tips and again...just delicious. This is a great find, you won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.