Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 3.25mi
  3. Distance: 3.35mi
  4. Distance: 3.89mi

About The Gamekeeper

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm.


Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game plus a range of continental and American entrees.

Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts, and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Our summer hours are Wednesday through Sunday, 5 - 9 pm.

During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet service

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (65)
Special Occasion (61)
Worth the Drive (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Romantic (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (46)
Scenic View (46)
Local Ingredients (42)
Authentic (36)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Cozy (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Seasonal (15)
Fun (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (8)
Organic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

If you want unusual game...we had Bison, Venison, Elk, Duck, and Boar..my son and I did not have the Emu and a lady near us raved about her Trout. Overall a very nice experience since I always go to Gideon Ridge when I am visiting Blowing Rock NC. They also pack your leftovers in very nice boxes to go. Our service was excellent and wine choices were superb! Even by the glass.
Carene Hunt

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Normally I would give the food five stars but the shrimp and grits we had for an entree was not that special. It was an attractive dish, but lacked a lot of flavor and the drum fish (fish of the day) was very chewy and not very flavorful. Aside from that, the soup, salads and dessert were wonderful. The wine list is a little on the pricy side, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to the Gamekeeper to celebrate a birthday of a very close friend. We had never been to the restaurant before and were very impressed with the variety of entree choices and the quality of the food. Our server was delightful and knowledgeable and we had a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Ate here with a friend while on a girls' trip. Book in advance as it is hard to get in here during prime leaf season, but so worth the price of admission. My stuffed trout was the best I have ever had, and my friend's bison was fabulous. I must say that the prices are high, but portions were generous and the house wines were a healthy pour. We'll come back and maybe bring our husbands next time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Best restaurant in the mountains. If you want the best game cooked to perfection, don't miss an opportunity to dine at The Gamekeeper. Every course an adventure. The chef has a gift for pairing every dish to perfection. The mixed grill is my personal favorite. Save room for dessert. Awesome bread puddomg. Blueberry cobbler, mmmmmm.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have dined at the Gamekeeper many times. The food was creative and expertly prepared. The mixed grill and bison ribeye were spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Creative yet intuitive menu. The food is cooked to perfection and the presentation is aesthetically pleasing without being fussy. Don't miss out on this opportunity to dine on exquisitely prepared game meats that you may not find anywhere else.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Live Music, Seasonal, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food is outstanding, recommend the Mixed Grill appetizer!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Seasonal, Scenic View, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A little chilly that night and they were happy to turn up the heat!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Service was excellent (Jennifer). Appetizers (flash fried oyster) excellent. Salads very good . Entrees (Buffalo and Boar) below average over cooked. deserts terrific as we're the drinks before and after dinner. Excellent wine selection and enjoyed a bottle of Silver Oak.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The Mixed Grill was outstanding, all food is delicious. Erin was outstanding server! All staff is on the ball with water refills, etc

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We really liked this restaurant. Everything we ordered was good, but the Emu was the best!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic food, great service. The filet was about the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Celebrated a belated 38th wedding anniversary and as always thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. We will make sure each year, maybe not always our anniversary, but for a special night out to dine at the Game Keeper !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Arrival - 7 PM. Entrees serviced at 8:40 PM !!
Nearly $400 for 4 adults and two children under 12. One adult does not drink, and the other three had a total of 5 glasses of wine. FAR TOO EXPWNSIVE!
Artisanal is a bargain vs Gamekeeper.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our son had enjoyed this restaurant so when in Boone do as the locals do..... so we went we were not disappointed!
We were able to sit outside and the weather was perfect
I had wine but my husband enjoyed a creative cocktail. ( you should keep the drinks to minimum very curvy road !)
The menu was extensive something for everyone

I had Emu he had Elk both delicious
We shared the mixed grill appetizer and the Proseco Granita for desert
Delicious
Would return again

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Feel like this place has been a little over rated. The drinks were delicious and so was game sampler appetizer. However the meals are way overpriced for what they are. I have been to a lot of nearby restaurants and this would not be my choice to return to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Shrimp and grits is to die for! Love this place, our favorite in the are for kid free dining!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My husband ordered the trout which I tasted and was very good. I had the bison ribeye. It was perfectly cooked, medium well, and a beautiful cut of meat. But the chargrilled seasoning was overwhelming and kind of ruined it. The fried green tomato and fried oyster appetizers were delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Celebrated a birthday, the meal was excellent, flourless chocolate cake was Devine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Fun menu, nice atmosphere, looking forward to our next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Gamekeeper is great each time we go. Loved the Thursday night 1/2 price bottle wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Traveled to Boone specifically to dine here and it did not disappoint. Fantastic fare, service and ambiance. Game meats were stand out, especially the Emu. All dishes were tasty, large portions and filled with fresh, local products. Will return!

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We love the unusual menu which includes such items as emu, elk and bison. This, combined with a beautiful setting, keeps us coming back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had a great time. The entire crew was very accommodating. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Terrific service, superb meal (beef tenderloin, bison) and we especially appreciated the leisurely time between courses--we we not rushed and thoroughly enjoyed celebrating a family birthday. The only suggestion I would make...hmmmm. Still thinking . . .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Once again the Gamekeeper came through with flying colors! We celebrated my fiancé 's birthday with friends. The sampler appetizer was delicious! Our entrees include duck, bison, salmon, & rainbow trout. Our server was delightful as was the bartender. Wine was perfect. Love celebrating special occasions here! This was our third time in 7 months. Can't wait until next time!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding experience...Hunter, the mixologist, is a joy to be with and an innovative bartender.
The service and the food were spot on. Looking forward to dinning there again...

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fabulous first time to celebrate a birthday. Will be back!!! Be adventurous with this menu...it is worth it. Everything was delicious

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fantastic menu. The four game appetizer (elk, bison, rabbit and wild boar ) with three sauces was a great way to sample the restaurants name Not to mention killer house cut fires

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food, staff and the place was just awesome, the drive to the place was very fun. it is by far the best place to visit in Boone.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Everything on the menu is amazing. Probably one of the best meals I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was incredible. The appetizers, entrees and desserts. Everything that my husband and I had was amazing. I loved the cheese selection for the appetizer and my husbands "chicken of the woods" soup was wonderful. I then had the "chicken of the woods" entree and was not disappointed. The bread pudding was perfect for sharing and one of the best I've ever had. Definitely worth the drive. We were on vacation and I found this restaurant on a website named "best 10 places to eat in Boone". It truly did come under that category!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Emu and the Bison were just incredible. We were so eager we forgot to take pictures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We love this place so much, It's one of our very favorite spots. Even though it's called the gamekeeper, their veggie plate is top notch! Also their cocktails and desserts and wait staff.... all A+++

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service, atmosphere excellent food. Highly recommend

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful menu, everything we had was prepared perfectly. My wife started with the buttermilk bleu cheese salad followed by grilled breast of Peking duck. I had the flash fried oysters and the grilled spiced rubbed emu with spinach risotto. Eclectic wine list, but we chose a 1st cru burgundy, which turned out to be an exquisite match. Wonderful service, equal parts competence, attentiveness and friendliness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent evening of dining and overall good experience. Just one of many times there. Will
Define be back often in the years to come

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent meal with excellent service from Kylie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I have been here in the past and was looking forward to enjoying it again on this visit to the mountains. We were very disappointed. It was good.,.but not nearly as good as what I had
experienced in the past. Way overpriced for the quantity and quality. On a positive note, the bread pudding was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.