Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Gage

Loved by locals and visitors alike, The Gage is the iconic restaurant on Michigan Avenue featuring refined, rustic cuisine in the historic Gage Group Buildings. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. The Gage's menu "covers every craving" (TimeOut Chicago) and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event -- refined rusticity, steps from Millennium Park.

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 12am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Between Madison St. and Monroe St. across from Millenium Park.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
We are on the west side of Michigan Avenue between Madison Street and Monroe Street and next to The Gage, our sister restaurant. Valet parking is available at the University Club, 76 East Monroe Street.

To self-park, we recommend the Grant Park NORTH garage, accessible from Michigan Avenue. The Monroe Street / south end of this garage is the section nearest to our entrance.

Public Transit:
The CTA "EL" stop at Madison Street and Wabash Street for Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines is less than two blocks from The Gage.

CTA bus lines 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 all stop within a block of The Gage.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Josh Raavel
Private Events Manager
jraavel@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (112)
Pre/post Theatre (108)
Great for Lunch (106)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (102)
Special Occasion (98)
Creative Cuisine (97)
Business Meals (94)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Bar Seating (87)
Casual (79)
Fun (79)
Good for Groups (65)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Hot Spot (60)
Happy Hour (57)
People Watching (56)
Comfort Food (56)
Cozy (53)
Great Beer (49)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Great for Brunch (44)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Modern Decor (36)
Notable Wine List (32)
Romantic (30)
Late-night Find (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (18)
Healthy (17)
Historic (17)
Scenic View (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Seasonal (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Live Sports (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Private Room (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Family Style (5)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
6027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Chose this restaurant at random during our trip to the Art Institute and I'm so glad we did! The food was great (and you got a lot for the price), the drink list had a great selection, and the atmosphere was very cool. Our wonderful waiter made the whole thing that much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been to the Gage a number of times and have never been disappointed...in the front, it's loud and there is great people watching. In the back you can talk to your dining companions more. I like the sharing style of ordering several of the smaller items. No bread is served, which is good, keep all your room for the good stuff. Did not have time to look at the desserts...will have to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and cocktails. The Spanish Coffee is delicious.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Good lunch spot for clients or friends.

Service was attentive and helpful.

Sandwiches are good quality.

Nice desserts.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and drinks are excellent. Best fish and chips I've ever had. Just like in London. Only problem is the noise level. Difficult to have a conversation. But comfortable seating and good service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Location was it's main draw. Plenty of staff constantly walking around the room. Heard rave reviews about the fish & chips - fish was very bland, fries were terrible. Prosecco was great. Chocolate creme brulee also lacking in flavor. Maybe just a bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent pre theatre local. Reception and wait staff very attentive.

Nice selection mix of semi-eclectic food and reliable standards. Good craft beer selection on tap.

This was my second visit with friends and everyone was pleased. I will plan to return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service. Food was fine, but not great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We had lunch here after a morning of sightseeing. I was impressed with the menu and could have tried many things, it was hard to decide. The mango and beet salad was delicious and refreshing. The venison burger was sumptuous. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. This is a great place along Michigan Ave. and a perfect lunch spot when touring that area of Chicago.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Really enjoyed my visit to the Gage - showed up ~15 min late to our reservation but it was no problem (and actually they had several seats open for lunch on a Monday). The food was delicious - I got the half soup half sandwich combo which also came with a side of fries making it a pretty good deal, everything was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We stopped into Gage for Sunday Brunch and had a fantastic experience. Delicious food and prompt, friendly service makes for a great experience. The Bloody Mary was sweet, that was a little odd.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great weekend brunch menu! Attentive service and beautiful space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great meal. We were a group of 6 Executive Chefs- perfect meal and great Elk Rack

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant! Wanted to eat here for years and finally got around to it. It was worth the wait, and pushing past the bar crowd to our table. Get the fried pickles! Not a long menu but quality dishes. Had the elk with a side of brussel sprouts, and both were excellent. Polite & efficient service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to this restaurant before going to a musical. The menu items were very interesting and everything we had tasted very good. They also had good draft beers and cappuccino. We were able to get to our play on time and had a great meal before hand.

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Terrible table configurations. Sat us in the back next to the heat lamps In the kitchen. Couldn't hear one another over the sound of rattling silverware and clanking dishes. Decided not to sweat through our meal and left.....no one even noticed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent Choice! Would definitely dine at The Gage again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always the service was great and the food was outstanding. It was a great Mother's Day - the 20 Anniversary of "Rent" and dinner at the Gage. Both delivered!!!! Going back tomorrow for the fish and chips!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Gage always delivers! Went for Mothers Day lunch and everyone at the table was pleased (including my two "selective eater" teenage boys. The service is solid and we were well taken care of.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Service and Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was outstanding !!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Bistro atmosphere with great food & great Bistro atmosphere with great food & great Bistro atmosphere with great food & great service

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had both a lunch and a dinner at The Gage. Both meals were excellent and the staff was friendly and efficient. We would, however, rate this as a better choice for lunch than dinner. The location is great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food and environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Requested and received a quiet corner on a surprisingly busy Monday night. Our server was responsive and friendly, excellent recommendations on menu choices.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome service. Awesome food. Amazing time. I will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We love the Gage venison burger! Service slipped a bit tonight when an entree wasn't delivered, but staff was apologetic, and the evening was a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fabulous dinner. Service excellent and loved the lively atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Never disappoints. Small but terrific menu. Sausages, venison burger, mussels ---all very satisfying. Service is excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Gage offers high end service and food, but in an accessible, warm and inviting setting. I recently enjoyed their brunch menu and we had the most attentive, kind server. The food is out of this world and incredibly special without being too high-brow. The portions are generous, the combinations are inventive and the flavor is so fresh and rich -- and for the price, you can't beat it!

Customer service is also a priority -- our main course was delayed to a kitchen error (which we personally didn't mind because we were in no rush and it's not typical as I have been there a few times and never had any issues - this was truly just an honest mistake) and the manager went above and beyond to compensate for the delay.

We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Gage is a classic. On Michigan avenue and close to some of my favorite Chicago sites, it is a handy place to grab good basic American cuisine at a reasonable price given it's location.
Good wine menu. Service for me has always been excellent.
I was a bit confused on this last visit. I ordered what I thought was Peking duck but essentially it was a basic roasted duck breast. I didn't bring it up to management as was on date and didn't want to cause a scene...at any rate, I suspect it was my bad for not paying close enough attention to the menu.
Overall, if you want to hang out around Millennium Park, give the Gage a try. (By the way, Cindi's Rooftop Bar just down street is a great place to have a cocktail before you hit the Gage.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a great dinner at Gage, the steak salad was really good! Would recommend to other people.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated about 15 minutes after our reservation time, which for a teeny tiny restaurant in Chicago on a Saturday night wasn't too bad. The noise level was totally unacceptable. (Again, I learned on this trip to Chicago that basically every restaurant is too loud and crowded.) The food was good; nothing particularly outstanding. Pricey for what it was.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated promptly when we arrived, and our service was very friendly. Beet & Mango salad was excellent, Sausage Choucroute was good, and the Warm Banana Pudding was a delicious cap to the meal.

Tags: Cozy, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Gage never disappoints!! This was the first time I tried the Thai Coconut Curry and it melted in my mouth. We always have the mussels and they never disappoint. We accidentally ordered the Burratta and didn't realize it had ham (my friends are vegetarian) they removed from our bill even though it was our fault. Our waitress Brie was wonderful!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is not a place where you can enjoy a dinner and a conversation. It was very noisy, and the front room was packed so people were talking on tops of their lungs. My duck dish was ok, but my friend's salmon was stale and dry - he was very disappointed. It is not an inexpensive menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

With friends traveling in and out of Chicago, it is important to have a few clutch restaurants that can deliver for big groups that take reservations. The Gage impressed us with their small yet delicious, well-rounded menu as well as the attention of the servers and overall ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This review is based totally on a 1st visit/ impression and a set of unfortunate circumstances, so maybe a 2nd visit might be warranted. We planned to dine before an 8p CSO performance and were very late for our 6:15p reservation, thanks to the ridiculous Cinco de Mayo traffic on Friday evening; apparently budgeting 3 hours of travel from Lake county was not enough to get us there in time! I called to alert the restaurant in time, and they agreed to extend the rsvp by at most 30 min; that was nice of them as we just barely made it. But when we got there, we waited almost 45 min. more, so where was the waiting table? The place was absolutely packed and very noisy, not at all what I needed after the horrendously long ride in. Finally getting seated, we waited awhile for service and I was starved and thirsty. The menu was incorrectly priced on the Opentable website; it showed as $$ but the menu is definitely $$$ or higher, so that was problematic. I also wasn't able to find anything on it that suited my palate. I don't mind pricey menus, but there has to be at least something on them I like. I also thought this was American Pub fare; being a native NYC girl, I've eaten all kinds of pub, tavern and bar food etc., so I'm guessing this is some type of "nouveau pub cuisine" or the way you guys do it in Chicago. Either way, the only item that interested me was the Beer Battered Fish and Chips which was okay; it was nicely presented, a good sized portion, and the chips were actually very tasty.
Our waitress was very amicable despite the fact that she was very over-assigned, so service was slow. The riesling I ordered was crisp and tart, nice with the fish. Overall, I'd say the dining experience here in Chicago and my expectations have clashed once again; but since I'm new transplant, I'll keep trying...I'm sure I'll get it right at some point...

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

In my opinion the best food of the Downtown pub/restaurants. I have eaten there several times and I have never been disappointed. I especially like the half sandwich and soup for lunch. This visit I had the short rib sandwich and the chicken orzo soup. It was quite filing especially since it is served with a side.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.