About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 12am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Between Madison St. and Monroe St. across from Millenium Park.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Josh Raavel - jraavel@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (101)
Special Occasion (94)
Fit for Foodies (92)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (85)
Creative Cuisine (82)
Great for Lunch (76)
Bar Seating (76)
Business Meals (73)
Comfort Food (70)
Fun (69)
Cozy (59)
Casual (58)
Notable Wine List (57)
Handcrafted Cocktails (56)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for Groups (54)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
People Watching (50)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great Beer (47)
Happy Hour (45)
Authentic (39)
Romantic (38)
Great for Brunch (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Modern Decor (26)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fireplace (20)
Scenic View (19)
Historic (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Seasonal (16)
Private Room (15)
Live Sports (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Healthy (14)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Family Style (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place Sunday Brunch. Nice selectio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great place Sunday Brunch. Nice selection of a little more unusual foods. Good drinks, attentive service. Just a little louder than expected but a highly recommended place. We'll come back for dinner sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Arrived for our reservation (made months ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Arrived for our reservation (made months earlier when we booked theatre tickets), only to be told our reservation was for 45 minutes later. When I showed the reservation in the OpenTable app, the response was - we wouldn't change a web reservation and we have you at 6:45, we'll see if we can get you in earlier.

We were accommodated in a terrible table right inside the front door. Not the experience I expected for a reservation made months ago. There was no apology.

Not sure if this was the restaurant or OpenTable - either way a pretty terrible customer service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Pre-Black Hawks game dinner.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Pre-Black Hawks game dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place surprised us. Service was uni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This place surprised us. Service was uniformly outstanding. Meats were superb, esp the rack of elk. Sides were so so, but they did replace the overdone roasted brussels sprouts with freshly sautéed ones which were much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall the Gage was good. We waited a b ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall the Gage was good. We waited a bit over our reservation time to be seated, but were given a nice table. Service was fine; felt a bit rushed. Fabulous wine list and our food was tasty. 8oz wine pour was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

meal was good not so special

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

meal was good not so special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reserved a table for a business lunch wi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Reserved a table for a business lunch with 7 total. They sat us ontime. A little tight, but it worked. A bit loud for presenting information and detailed discussions. The food was excellent!! Sandwiches and side avg $17. Staff and mgrs were on top of our needs. Definitely going back with a smaller group, or on a date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food creations with mostly loca ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific food creations with mostly local-area-sourced food. On Michigan Avenue across from Millennium Park, but NOT touristy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious bouillabaisse and great chicke ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious bouillabaisse and great chicken dish. Service was excellent. In the past we had eaten nearer the bar which is very noisy but we ate in the back room and it was much more pleasant. Excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A short vacation to Chicago found our si ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

A short vacation to Chicago found our six people having a delicious and memorable meal here. This restaurant is perhaps several places in one. The front section feels and sounds like a sports bar, where conversations among friends isn't easily achieved. But we were placed in a back portion where the feel was more intimate, and a good time was had by all. The menu wasn't extensive, but everything was entirely delicious. I don't know if it is important or not to shout out things, but the fried pickles were world class, and the Japanese peppers were life-giving. My Lamb Shank was nearly perfect, and enough food for three. The waiter was in spirit your cousin, and wanted the evening to be relaxed and wonderful. Okay, what's the complaint? Essentially none. You need to decide if the loud (and modern) side or the quiet (and welcoming side) are your craving, but I think you'll find your level in the tank of full enjoyment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining area is so close together it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The dining area is so close together it is a little uncomfortable. I like a little more room and a little more privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

My husband and I ate at the Gage for Val ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I ate at the Gage for Valentine's Day and really enjoyed the food and will return I highly recommend the Scottish egg!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Valentine's Day dinner. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for Valentine's Day dinner. We started with the three cheese fondue, which was awesome. The GTO cocktail was unbelievable and the old fashioned was very good. For entrees, I got the vegetable curry-- super flavorful, definitely one of the best I have had. My fiancé got the rib eye (cowboy cut) steak, which was very tender and perfectly cooked, and came with a side of mashed potatoes. We finished with the buttery deliciousness of the apple crumble. Loved this place-- service was attentive but just a bit slow, so don't expect to be out quickly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Gage was highly recommended by a fri ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The Gage was highly recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. I took a few clients for dinner and it was a great night. We had incredible wine, great appetizers, amazing entrees and sides and the service was top notch! If you want a relaxed atmosphere with great drink & food, The Gage is the place. Thank you to all the staff for making it a perfect evening.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines Day dinner with my fiancé!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day dinner with my fiancé!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a nice experience. The food is ve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a nice experience. The food is very good. I like to come here as often as possible.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The hosting staff was very friendly and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The hosting staff was very friendly and the service was fast and attentive. We got a lot of food as my wife had been here many years prior and remembered the servings being smaller and more delicate. We got the poutine even though, my wife was sad to see they had changed the meat from elk, which she found to be unique and delicious, to pork. I definitely dig on swine, but this just brought it down to the level of nothing special. The fries were fairly run of the mill and it was pretty mushy. The loaded shishitto peppers with bonito and chicharron were pretty good! There were only like 3 small chicharron in this whole bowl of peppers and I think adding more would have definitely added to the contrast of textures, but overall, I really liked these. My wife got the farmer's salad which she enjoyed and I liked my bite as well. I love Caesar salad and I have to say this one was a little off balance. Overall, very fresh and high quality ingredients, but I think a little large with too much cheese and dressing. For our main courses I had the pekin duck and she had the lamb shank. These were both quite rich, but good. I can't say they were particularly interesting, but I'm also not complaining. We managed to squeeze in dessert for which we chose the lemon meringue tart with cassis sherbert. This was pretty good, but I have to say, I thought the plating was downright ugly. SO! All of this being said- I think this place has probably changed quite a bit since my wife visited last. We were kind of expecting more of a smaller plate, fancier, "fine dining" experience and it seems that this is not so much what they're about. Maybe they're more a steakhouse, given that was center of the page. I just don't want to judge them too harshly given that our aim was off target. In summation, I think this is a good place and if you're in the area, have some dough and looking for some rich heavy food, go for it. They also have an extensive wine and spirits list, but I gave up drinking so...

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

After reading so many positive reviews o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

After reading so many positive reviews on the fish-n-chips, I had to try them and they were right. Great!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and the service from Benj ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and the service from Benjamin was perfect. We didn't feel "rushed" and he had several great recommendations. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my dinner at the Gage. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I really enjoyed my dinner at the Gage. I went for dinner with my girlfriend and we both came out impressed. The drinks were well done and the food was excellent. We had the Scottish Egg for starters, which I would recommend, and I had the venison burger. The burger was very tasty and the fries were great. The ambiance is really nice and the service was stellar. It is on the pricey side, but for this area, the prices should be expected and the bill still ended up being reasonable considering the location.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Normally everything is perfect. There se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Normally everything is perfect. There seemed to be some new servers and managers. Had to send the eggs back (little too soft). One of our waters always has no ice but that day there were 4 people stopping by every few minutes filling the one water with ice. After a while we just had to laugh about it.

We will be back....no big deal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and great energy. Our server ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal and great energy. Our server was very good as well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my son's birthday at The G ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We celebrated my son's birthday at The Gage on Saturday night. We had great food, great cocktails and great service. We were seated at a beautiful window table so we could enjoy the scenery! I plan on The Gage being a regular stop when we are in Chicago!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open kitchen area was too warm for comfo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Open kitchen area was too warm for comfort. Wait time for drinks was long but were delicious. Salmon was excellent, fondue was delicious, steak was overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This has become our "go-to" restaurant i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This has become our "go-to" restaurant in east-Loop activities. Superlative food, not as good as usual service, but the overall ambience is worth revisiting.. servers come and go.. The Gage will remain!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was delicious. Seating was very cr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Seating was very cramped and tables too close together.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Impressive menu. more than enough too ea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Impressive menu. more than enough too eat and friendly involved staff.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Jarrod took great care of our large part ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Jarrod took great care of our large party, celebrating a birthday. From the chilaquilas to the burgers, everything was Delicious. Excellent bloody Mary's

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best and most knowledgeable ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Some of the best and most knowledgeable service we have ever experienced, and the food was simply outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Gage never disappoints. For years t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Gage never disappoints. For years there was nothing special on Michigan Ave. Billy Lawless brought us this gem and it continues to make the mark every time I am there.

One notable thing about the menu is that there is always "game" on the menu. The venison burger was tremendous, and I have had the elk saddle for dinner in the past. Awesome.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service from Jenna was great food ho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The service from Jenna was great food hot and drinks the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a go to place for us before Symp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is a go to place for us before Symphony. I am not much for Restaurant Week but their menu was fabulous. Steak tartare and Tuna. Both dishes were excellent.We sit in the back so the noise is not a problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for lunch during Restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We were there for lunch during Restaurant Week. After each course, the waitress asked us if everything was OK. When I responded that the lobster salad was a little dry for my taste, she apologized and must have told the manager. He came to our table immediately and offered to bring a different salad on the menu or some additional dressing for my salad. I settled for the latter, and appreciated their efforts to accommodate me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Met a Broadway friend from NYC staying a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Met a Broadway friend from NYC staying at the Palmer House. Easy access; great service (Misha was excellent, especially with wine); the food was superb and my husband and guest are both very choosy and cook themselves. We were all very impressed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Meal and Atmosphere!!! We enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic Meal and Atmosphere!!! We enjoyed our fabulous family dinner after Hamilton!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with te ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with terrific service.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've been to The Gage before for a work ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've been to The Gage before for a work event and loved it. I recommended it to a friend. We decided to visit once we saw it on the list for Chicago Restaurant. I LOVE the ambiance in the evening - dim lit, intimate, brick walls, candles along the wall and glass separates different dining areas. Beautiful place, the service is ALWAYS great and food is cooked well every time!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to the restaurant after seeing Hami ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Came to the restaurant after seeing Hamilton. We wanted a restaurant within walking distance that was also participating in Restaurant Week. The food was absolutely delicious! And, very generous Restaurant Week serving portions. We left stuffed. Can't wait to go back again and enjoy the full menu! Truly enjoyed our experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusual cocktails, great beers on tap an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unusual cocktails, great beers on tap and good wine list. Selection of game meats changes regularly so there's almost always something new to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was just ok. Six people and we all ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was just ok. Six people and we all felt that way. All six agreed that they would probably not go back.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.