Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Gage

Loved by locals and visitors alike, The Gage is the iconic restaurant on Michigan Avenue featuring refined, rustic cuisine in the historic Gage Group Buildings. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. The Gage's menu "covers every craving" (TimeOut Chicago) and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event -- refined rusticity, steps from Millennium Park.

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 12am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Between Madison St. and Monroe St. across from Millenium Park.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
We are on the west side of Michigan Avenue between Madison Street and Monroe Street and next to The Gage, our sister restaurant. Valet parking is available at the University Club, 76 East Monroe Street.

To self-park, we recommend the Grant Park NORTH garage, accessible from Michigan Avenue. The Monroe Street / south end of this garage is the section nearest to our entrance.

Public Transit:
The CTA "EL" stop at Madison Street and Wabash Street for Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines is less than two blocks from The Gage.

CTA bus lines 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 all stop within a block of The Gage.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Events Manager
events@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (91)
Bar Seating (87)
Pre/post Theatre (84)
See All
Good for a Date (83)
Fit for Foodies (81)
Special Occasion (75)
Fun (72)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Casual (66)
Hot Spot (65)
Business Meals (64)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Good for Groups (52)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Happy Hour (45)
Great Beer (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Comfort Food (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
People Watching (37)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Great for Brunch (33)
Cozy (33)
Notable Wine List (29)
Authentic (28)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Late-night Find (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Seasonal (19)
Scenic View (16)
Quick Bite (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Live Sports (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
6344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was mediocre, chicken curry unflavourful. Deserts weird at best. The waiter was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Staff was considerate when it turned out that my entree, a new item on the menu, was not so great. The duck was not seasoned much at all and tough to chew. The rest of the dish was delisciois. We were rewarded a cookie selection for our input to chef. Yummy cookies.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Pre show dinner... Great cocktail (mango mule). The pork chop was good. Loved the Mediterranean veggie first course option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Good spot for a lunch and chat with my UChicago freshman. Thoughtful brunch/lunch options on a rainy sloppy Saturday

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Gage was recommended by The Gray Hotel and what a terrific choice it was. Food was outstanding as was the service. Ambience was very friendly. We hung out in the bar for a bit after our meal to watch the baseball game and that crowd was happening. We met some local folks from Chicago who then sent us on to a great Blues Club.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Very very noisy and crowded. Table was across from the kitchen. Maybe just don't go on a Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Why doesn't the Gage have corned beef sandwiches any longer? They were thick, unlike the Salmon BLT that had more tomato than salmon. The cranberry bean soup was a gamble to order, but it was delicious and I won that bet. I appreciate they have Guinness on tap.

Our waiter was excellent, though he didn't have an answer to the corned beef question.

It's a good restaurant with excellent location but too noisy for easy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Cozy setting, good food, laid back feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great food...excellent burger and venison burger...great wine list...great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We had very different meals: a Caesar salad and fish, and black bean soup and bison ribs!
Found a wine we could share. Server was helpful. They offer a cup of soup instead of a bowl,
and 1/2 Ceasar salad, which was really nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently excellent Fish & Chips from the lunch menu are hard to pass up. Superb service and lively lunch crowd. Great place to relax with good food after a day shopping or at the Art Institute.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved the gage! Excellent food, service and cocktails! Perfect for dinner before going to the theatre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I took a woman I wanted to impress to this place and it didn't let me down. She loves lamb and the lamb dish was memorable. We were going to an event at Symphony Hall and the restaurant is superbly located for the CSO. Valet parking at the University Club was perfect. It was torrentially raining that night and the people were very helpful. This is a place for successful well heeled cowboys at the end of their drive to seal off and enjoy the BIG DEAL successfully scored.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband & I have been coming to this restaurant since it opened and they are consistently outstanding on every single point, every single visit. We always have an amazing meal, the food is always seasonal and fresh, the presentation is beautiful, with all the little details carefully planned like beautiful glassware or this handcrafted copper coupe. And service is always professional, knowledgeable and just friendly enough. The atmosphere is dark, cozy, fun and vibrant, with a great bar and a variety of seating options. This place is always busy, and I personally love the energy, which reflects the neighborhood , but if you want to have a quiet conversation there are places you can do that. But you know what else? The people here are just so kind and accommodating every single time we've gone there. None of the usual pretense. This is obviously a reflection of the owners and so you know you are breaking bread with good people. There is a great deal of passion & pride in everything they do. I love this place & I'm always so happy when I leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Two birthdays. Bear game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great location for a tasty lunch or dinner. Good service, good energy, good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Love coming to Gage for a steak whenever I’m in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Not the Irish pub we were expecting from the published information about The Gage. Although the building was great and the staff was very attentive, we found the menu to be more limited and much more expensive than we expected based on the reviews and online information. Could not judge the food, since we decided not to eat there....but this survey requires a rating, so ignore that part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The Gage is a go to place in Chicago. You will never be disappointed. Everyone you encounter will treat you like a true customer. I can not recommend The Gage enough

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I've eaten at The Gage many times in the past. I was very disappointed this time in the quality of the food, especially the temperature of the food. I love fish & chips. My husband and I both ordered that entrée. While the fish wasn't bad in taste, it was only lukewarm, and the French fries were cold and limp. I'm not sure I would recommend eating there again.

On a positive side, they do have a nice selection of beers, and my friend and I ordered Prosecco and it was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Came here after finishing the Chicago Marathon - great food and friendly service. Nice outdoor area near the park!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a great experience at The Gage. The wait staff was attentive and very efficient. Good cocktails and delicious menu options. We had one of the specials, seared tuna, which was a great choice! Don't miss the House Poutine and the Potted Stilton Cheese, which were very generous and shareable!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food is very good. Service is excellent. A little on the noisy side. Cocktails are okay. Burgers are good. Desserts are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food here is always delicious. The service is good but efficient - maybe a bit rushed. Hard surfaces and many tables with a busy bar area make it loud but the flavorful food makes it worth it. Best meal I had on my Chicago trip!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

They don't make it easy to know which options are gluten free, but they had some delicious options once the waitress visited the kitchen a couple of times. Food was great. Our table was pretty dark, but we had a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome restaurant. I always have great food and a great experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had great service, the food was delicious. The local beer was perfect! We went back for dinner a few days after or lunch visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Disappointed with the mediocre quality of food vs the high price

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The Gage never disappoints! Even when the reservations were a bit muddled at the beginning our evening was a success. The manager on duty Thursday night was quick to make accommodations and even sent over some complimentary appetizers to help amend the mix up. We all enjoyed our food and our attentive and informative waitress. Another great night at one of my favorites in our lovely Chicago.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great pre theater dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was amazing but sadly service was just okay. The noise volume is extremely loud and all seating is tight. We were stuck against the wall and a door/entryway for 7 people. Very awkward seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Loved the food. Friendly yet very competent service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Gage is always reliably good. For my money the best burger in town, also great fish and chips. Try the fries with curry gravy if you don’t want to go the full poutine. Great drinks and beer selection.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great business lunch at the Gage. Food was amazing and the service was excellent. We will be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great meal! Have been there before but ordered the mussels for the first time and they were spicy and favorable. Not a wimpy red sauce! Ordered the special which was halibut--melted in your mouth, perfectly cooked and came on top of a beautiful mélange of fall veggies. So good! and, Misha, our waiter was fantastic! Even when his section started to fill he was attentive, had a chance to chat between serving and was super knowledgeable about food prep.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Me ur was great and service better. The food looked good but didn't taste great.

Fish was rubbery for fish and chips. Pork chop was underwhelming (polenta was good).

Just one off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food and service were good but it was quite loud. Took older relatives here for dinner and it was hard for them to hear. Otherwise, the ambiance and the drink selection is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Have dined before. Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very disappointing - for the first time. I go there about 6 times a year, and I'll come back because they have been consistently great in the past. But this time the mussels vindaloo - my favorite dish in Chicago - was salty and tasteless. New chef? New recipe? And they forgot to bring vinegar with the fish and chips and mustard with the burgers - minor complaints, but not what we expect there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.