Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Flatiron Cafe

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (14)
See All
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

We had trouble using our Opentable Flat Iron Cafe gift card.
The restaurant will not provide separate checks at a table. (It is stated in small print on their menu that this is the case.) When asked the restaurant will split the check.

When we tried to pay our half of the bill with our gift certificate plus our credit card we were told the gift card had to come off the top of the entire tables bill and then they would half the remaining portion of the bill.

When I later called and spoke to a manager they said that was their policy. I pointed out that no where on their website, menu, sign or on our Gift Card was this stated. Nor is it on Openable website as a condition of the gift card.

The restaurant manager did agree to use the gift card and refund the amount to our credit card.

Keep in mind if you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Flatiron was a last minute find for an impromptu birthday celebration with the girls. It was perfect! We enjoyed a glass of Prosecco with chocolate torte for our first course (because that's how EVERY birthday dinner should start!) and then we each ordered our individual dishes (that we had to share!). I enjoyed the most amazing flavorful T-bone steak I've ever had in my life. The cut was perfect (not too fatty) and the garlicy foam butter on top was perfection. I literally keep thinking about it. I will definitely find a reason to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The Flatiron Cafe had been on our list of "to do's" for over a year but we kept trying other restaurants downtown and out west. We shouldn't have delayed.

From the moment we were seated in this elegant, second generation restaurant we realized how special it was. The huge glass windows reflected the interior lights in waves into the distance. The double-clothed tables were set with the extra knives and forks that are used on formal European table settings. The wine list was amazing, and the menu was selectively set on a single page, with an unmistakably creative touch that captured and held our attention.

The family members talked enthusiastically about the history and their involvement, and then the dishes started coming out. Each was delicious, creative, and generous; and we each had to try what the other had. Service was both prompt and loose enough for us to enjoy our company and the meal. And the desserts, while a little big, were delicious and a perfect topping to the evening. The Flatiron has rocketed past our other favorites downtown and out west; we'll be back again soon, and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Awesome. As usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The service was excellent from the waitress who made sure my coffee was filled as I had asked. She was professional, very pleasant and nicely groomed. I had asked to have the background music turned down which the maitre-de did but it was still entirely too loud for comfortable dining. It was difficult at times for my guest and for me to hear one another. Also, the type of music being played was, in my opinion, very much for the millennial crowd and not music that the 60-plus crowd that was there would typically enjoy. The appetizer was tasty and somewhat spicy. The entree of salmon was delicious and perfectly prepared. The selection of background music more inline with the age group and the sound at a volume level more suited to easy conversation among guests would be welcomed improvements for the sixty-plus age group. Thank you for asking my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Spectacular atmosphere, attentive service, delicious food. One of my favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Sulin service very helpful and friendly, made special occasion wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great ambience. We often visit for birthdays or anniversary. Nice music, but quiet enough to carry on a private conversation. Steak and lobster were both very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had the best time. It was my mother's 81st birthday. The restaurant staff surprised her with a special dessert. The service was outstanding. The food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our waitress was amazing. In fact the whole staff was very attentive. The atmosphere was cozy and romantic. The food was delicious and pricey. In my opinion worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wonderful, except they goofed and forgot to order two of our party of four's entry, but their response was absolutely perfect, accepting responsibility, apologizing, having the manager do the same and discounting our meal $40. Food and service was otherwise wonderful and would've earned a Five Star had it not been for the mistake and ultimate delay in two entries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Flatiron is one of our favorite Omaha restaurants - actually one of our favorite restaurants anywhere!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Restaurant is in a great old building with windows and all sides which makes for a great dining experience. The food was amazing and the service very attentive

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were very happy with the service and the waiter (from Peru) at Flatiron. I had a superb plate of duck, my cousin had fish, and my husband had steak tartare

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food served very pleasantly! First time visit was a good one and if I lived in Omaha I'm sure I'd go often!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is one of our favorites. This is our 10th yr of experiencing this fine dining.The special was steak and lobster. It was excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We booked this reservation based on the feedback and menu on OpenTable. My husband was looking for steak and I was looking for something else. Based on the menus and pricing on OpenTable, this seemed like a great option. We arrived early and they had no issues with getting us seated. Our server was amazing, very friendly. When our menus arrived, we were disappointed to see that it was a very different menu then what we had seen on OpenTable. Not only were the prices substantially higher, the options were much different. Although my husband was happy with his selection, mine were limited. The food we ordered was great, but it would be nice the website was updated. We would have gone elsewhere had we seen the selection beforehand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great experience at the Flatiron Cafe. The staff were especially helpful and accommodating - we have food allergies. Our waiter remembered our note from open table and guided us through menu options, etc. Flatiron will definitely be added to our list of favorite places in Omaha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I like the ambiance of some of the other restaurants we go to a little better - this is a simple white table cloth dining experience which definitely draws an older crowd for this reason. The food was good (the calamari appetizer and the chocolate mousse desserts were the best part). And, the staff was excellent! They really knock themselves out.

I recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a simple quiet place to dine with your basic and quite tasty steak and seafood menu. If you are looking for more atmosphere and exotic food with a younger crowd, try one of the other restaurants in Omaha (there are plenty). I know my parents will really love this restaurant, and I can see it being one of their favorites. My husband and I, however, will stick to the Dundee, Midtown or Blackstone areas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times. It was one of our favorites. We were very disappointed this time. Based on our previous experiences, we expected an amazing dinner. This was not the case. We got the impression that our wait person was doing us a favor. She was rude and inattentive. She walk past our table 5 times after we had finished our meal. She never cleared our plates or ask if we wanted dessert. Finally, another wait person came by and cleared our dishes. The food was mediocre at best. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good food and service but the pricing was out of bounds. When I booked for myself and my colleagues , I reviewed the menu and thought everything looked good and the pricing was fair. But, when we arrived, firstly we were told only 1 reservation was free from 7:30 onwards and there was no one in the entire restaurant but 1 other table ! We sat and started to look over the menu it was out of control. It was a minimum of +$10 per each main course, half of the items were not offered at all so by the time we had already ordered our drinks and it was too late to leave. I had a simple fish dinner for $46.00 and a vegetarian dinner was $42.00 !!

That being said, unfortunately, it was so over priced that I would never return here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

from the service to the food, I can say, 'we felt special' and it was special as it was our anniversary. the staff was there when we needed them but were not intrusive. our food was excellent and every bite was savored. it was relaxing and fun. thank you, all, at the Flatiron.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was ok. The appetizers were overly greasy. The filet was perfect, but the sea bass was undercooked and over saturated with marinade. I would not dine there again. Nonetheless the staff was amazing and the bartender went above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wr have been parons since January 1996.it remains our favorite Omaha restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was our anniversary and my wife and I wanted to try someplace we had never been before. She is a vegetarian and they had great appetizers and enters to fit her need. Outstanding food and exceptional wine list and service. A little pricey for anythingg other than a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went there to celebrate a milestone birthday and had a fantastic experience! We started off with lobster bisque and salad....both were amazing.....the flavor in the bisque was exceptional! We both then had the steak and lobster and talk about a little slice of heaven!! The steak was melt in your mouth delish and the lobster was so tender and flavorful that we couldn't help but slow down and enjoy every single bite. The wait staff was super friendly and a lot of fun...(especially the little gal that was filling water and greeting us in the beginning...sorry I can't remember her name but she was so sweet and funny.....reminded me of my daughter) We definitely plan to go back for another amazing meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a great dinner at The Flatiron. We tried the grilled watermelon appetizer - it was amazing. The fish was fresh - surprising since we are in Nebraska!!!! We hoped to try the veal chop, but at 7:30 they were already sold out. The restaurant was not very busy, but we found that perfect for us. We had excellent service and truly enjoyed the whole experience! We used an Open Table $100 award check towards our bill which was AWESOME!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Don't know about you but I have grown tired of newer restaurants trying to get too "sophisticated" with their menus to point I have no idea what they are serving.
Flatiron is the restaurant I long for with great service and a menu with understandable dishes, great variety and flavor!
Well done Flatiron

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food, as always, was delicious. We love the Flatiron Cafe for the ambience, the food and the fact that you can carry on a conversation. Our server was attentive and very friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing. It is by far our favorite restaurant in Omaha.

Excellent in every way!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner. We showed up early and we were seated promptly. Our waitress was very nice explaining the wine list and special for the night. My wife had the ribeye and I had the beef tenderloin with lobster. Food was amazing! If you are looking for a special place this is it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Service was not up to its usual standard, maybe because it was quiet. Normal favorite staff members were not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food is exceptional and the service friendly and efficient. Outstanding restaurant I can highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Flatiron is a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. The food is delicious and creative. The staff treats us with respect and welcomes us like family. I have added this to my definite spot to visit when in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was our 30-year anniversary dinner. My wife hadn't been there before and has wanted to go for quite some time. The Flatiron did not disappoint. Food and service were over the top. Unique, cozy location with really cool ambiance. The only item that would keep us from going there more often is cost.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2017

great food, excellent service. we were seated immediately but had a reservation. The server new we were early for the Norah Jones concert and the server gave us plenty of time so we could enjoy a libation, good meal, and get to the theatre 10 minutes before it started.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. Food was excellent and staff were very attentive and pleasant. Will definitely be back. Thanks.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We like to go to the Flatiron because it has great parking on event nights and gets you in and out for performances - great food, great wine - a great experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 31, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant this turned out to be. We wanted a restaurant that was walkable from the hotel where we were staying and we chose this restaurant based on the great online reviews. Our server and all of the staff were wonderful hosts and our entire dinner from start to desert was fabulous. The chef's cuisine and presentation was outstanding and one of the best dinners we have had in quite awhile. We highly recommend a visit to Flatiron Café.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.