Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Flatiron Cafe

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (38)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Historic (15)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Scenic View (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

we have always enjoyed the flat iron. the food and wine is superb, the service is top-notch and when it was a rainy night in which to travel to the Orpheum, they provided door-to-door transportation!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Flatiron continues its level of excellence, and remains one of downtown Omaha's upscale places
to dine. It is a place to take out of towners to demonstrate Omaha has a civilized dining scene.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Outstanding Lobster Bisque and fabulous salmon entree. Great wine🍷 list and service is always friendly and attentive

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One word........fabulous,,,fabulous....fabulous....fabulous

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here for our 10th anniversary. We were amazed about everything. The food was amazing, the environment was excellent. Will be coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great Service. Great food & atmosphere. Perhaps a little pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Nice venue, close to theatre. Wife's beef medallions were thin and overcooked; given her pepper aversion, no steak sauces available and only veggies provided as a side (and without asking first). Not a good experience at this fairly pricey restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My wife always wanted to try Flatiron Grill, so I booked a table for our anniversary. We arrived at 6:30 and the hostess (who it turns out was actually a server) asked if it was a special occasion, and we were pleased that she sat us at the "point" of the restaurant, great seat.

Server greeted us and we ordered a bottle of wine. The server pour us each a glass and placed the ice bucket out of arms reach which was fine until the restaurant became rather busy.........wine glasses empty with the bottle sitting just out of our reach and no server. Water glasses empty, no server.

We then overheard our server mention to the next table that the restaurant was down one server so there were only two total. We did not see a manager, bartender, hostess or any other front house staff besides the two servers.

We then ordered grilled watermelon which was alright but nothing special. Our next appetizer was the calamari that was barely warm when dropped at our table.

The restaurant emptied out a bit when our salads and main courses were dropped off, so our server was able to catch-up a bit and be more attentive.

Not blaming the servers in this scenario, they worked the room the best they could but without any front of the house support there was only so much they could do, seat the tables, take drink orders, go prepare the drinks, serve the drinks, pour water, take food orders, server the food, pick-up after meal................Everything but cook the food!

No manager and no bartender on duty seemed a bit odd to us for such a nice establishment and certainly not something that we are accustomed to.

Needless to say we were disappointed in our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Outstanding dinner. Loved the calamari appetizer, great service. Ribeye huge, lobster amazing. We highly recommend !

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was served cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A special visit to our favorite dining room in Omaha both before the Orpheum and for dessert after the show. Impeccable service, outstanding food and a team of professionals working as a team for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Flatiron Cafe and it didn't disappoint!! We came to Omaha for an overnight date night from 2 hrs away and the meal was outstanding!! We have eaten at several of Omaha's fine dining establishments and would have to put Flatiron Cafe right at the top of our list. From the atmosphere to the outstanding service to the fabulous food....the whole staff just gets it done right......We will absolutely recommend it to our friends and we are a loyal customer!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! We enjoyed the food and the service was timely and pleasant. It was overall a restraint that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Awesome food. Great service. Full belly. Happy people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The roast duck and ribeye steak were our entrees. They were both fabulous. First time at the Flatiron; it won't be the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My wife and I picked this for an anniversary dinner date. We really enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. We would definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends. I had the soft shelled crab for an appetizer and the duck for the entree. My wife had the grilled watermelon for her appetizer and the lobster tail for the entree. We had the bartender make us a chocolate martini for dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was delicious as always, but our service was very slow. We sat at our table for at least 15 minutes before I asked someone if we had a waitress or waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always at the Flatiron, the food was superb, the service great, and the welcome genuine. With the recent price increases, I am concerned that they will lose some business. While diners do enjoy a great meal, there are equally good places in Omaha that have lower menu prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Top rate for more than 20 years. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Another Fabulous Meal at the Flatiron...one of our favorite places to eat when we are in Omaha. It was my parents 64th anniversary...and we were headed to the Neil Diamond concert, so it was a double celebration. Our server, Celine, was great-- she told us it was her worry to make sure that we had a wonderful dinner in plenty of time to get to the show...so just relax and enjoy! Glad they still have the Portebello Mushroom fries on the appetizer list-- my personal favorite. Great wine, outstanding food and an intimate place to eat. While some may find the menu a little pricey, I find it is well worth it! We will be back again soon.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Once again, this gem impressed. We had a different server than my first time, although Joe was there, but service was still amazing and impeccable. Food was perfect. And the sample appetizer and dessert trays they brought were perfect sizings--although I was expecting way too much. Great job all around once again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and good service. A little pricey, but worth the flavor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Just a classy place for meeting friends for dinner and drinks. The wait staff is the best in Omaha. Great people watching place. And the food? Wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Outstanding .. I lived in San Francisco for a few years and I found Flatirons has all the qualities to match fine restaurants in The City( San Franciso). Will diffenitly be retuning to the Flatirons. Great job to the owners and employees .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We haven't been to the Flatiron in sometime. Won't make that mistake again. Great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

OMG! Our meal was soooo good. We had the surf and turf special for the evening. Everything was just perfect. The ambiance was fantastic and the music level was soft. The tenderloin steak was so flavorful and tender you could cut it with a fork. The lobster tail was good sized and cooked to perfection. The tasty veggies were fresh and locally grown. Service was great. Fantastic evening in a historic Omaha landmark.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Flatiron with friends who were celebrating their anniversary. Food and service is always excellent, although obviously on the higher end but a perfect spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very nice for a business dinner. Everyone loved the food!

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the better meals we have had in a while. My wife said the lobster bisque was to die for. I had the veal chop, which was tender, perfectly cooked, and delicious with an excellent sauce and tasty sides. Would definitely go back if we are ever in Omaha again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing, prepared beautifully and presented exquisitely!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service. Very friendly and warm. Excellent food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience. Great food and beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best meal I had in years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Third time at the Flatiron and is always outstanding. Veal chop was perfect. Cholate mousse was the capstone paired milk. You pay for your thrills but it is worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful dinner. We had our two small kiddos with us as we were going to a family show at the Orpheum. Our server and the chef went above and beyond to make us, especially the kids, feel welcome. The chef created special plates for the kids, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My wife and I went to the Flatiron for our anniversary. The service was great as was my wife's steak. I had the sake marinated sea bass which I'm guessing that the sea bass may have been marinated a little too long. The fish was not firm at all and borderlined mushy. Other than that we had a wonderful evening and we will return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely divine. Thank you Jordan for a lovely anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and service. This will be our special occasion place from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall the experience was ok. I ordered the rib eye and it was served with mushrooms which I am allergic too. The description of the dish did not state mushrooms came with it. They had to re cook the steak as my wife had to eat her meal alone because it took 30 minutes to get my new steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.