About The Flatiron Cafe

1722 Saint Marys Ave
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

The Flatiron Cafe's staff has been happily serving the theater crowd, business travelers and those celebrating special occasions since 1995.


Chef Rob Hill oversees the preparation of the evenings special dishes. We're always on the look out for exceptional wines to add to our list. Please come.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Howard St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 344-3040

Website:
http://www.theflatironcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Chef Rob Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Flatiron Cafe is New American fine dining located in downtown Omaha's historic Flatiron building. An easy walk from most downtown hotels, theaters, and fine Old Market neighborhood.

We will tailor our menu choices, room design, and staff to suit your specifications.

The Flatiron Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Historic (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (11)
Scenic View (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. This will be our special occasion place from now on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall the experience was ok. I ordered the rib eye and it was served with mushrooms which I am allergic too. The description of the dish did not state mushrooms came with it. They had to re cook the steak as my wife had to eat her meal alone because it took 30 minutes to get my new steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved the food and the service - very attentive. Also very nice to park the car and walk the short distance to the Orpheum. Would be our choice of places to dine when going to the Orpheum or just for a nice meal, beautifully presented. A good place to take friends for a special occasion .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I have often dined at the Flatiron and we have never been disappointed. We went for Valentine's Day this year and from the moment we entered the restaurant, we were treated as if we were family that they were happy to see. The hostess had a bubbly personality and seemed to be everywhere at once making sure everyone was having a great experience. The waitress was a lovely young woman who took great care of us. Both of the assistants kept our water glasses full and were very funny and personable. We were immediately on a first-name basis with both. The food was just incredible, perfectly prepared and flavors were out of this world. It was pretty noisy in the restaurant in short order and the music level was raised to compensate, but we would have liked it if it were left lower and more in the background. The bartender made up a cocktail based on my wife's preferences and named it after her. It was delicious. It's a bit pricey, at the Flatiron, but my wife and I both felt it was worth the money and we'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great music, wonderful food, and a romantic environment makes this a must restaurant. Couldn't have had a more enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was the first time our experience was not perfect. It took forever between courses and our food was merely mediocre tonight. Not the norm at all. Not sure why. It was busy but it usually is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As always, the Flatiron Cafe was superb on all counts. From being greeted by name to being thanked by several employees as we left, everything was super. My duck was most tasty with notable sides. Her beef medallions had great flavor and tenderness. We took home some of the beef for delicious steak and eggs this next morning.

Service was friendly, professional, and impeccable.

We split a creme brûlée for a perfect dessert.

We will be back again and again.

(Don't let my cardiologist see this!)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I went to The Flatiron Cafe for dinner on our wedding anniversary. The restaurant definitely fit the bill in terms of being romantic and a great atmosphere for a special occasion, though at times the room got a little loud and it was hard to hear each other. The service was excellent. The food looked and tasted great. However, we both had severe gastrointestinal issues about an hour after leaving. Not sure if it was under-cooked lobster or if a cook didn't wash their hands, but the end of our anniversary evening was pretty unromantic to say the least.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding in every way, the best place in Omaha.

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Omaha. The service is outstanding. Suleen is our favorite waitress. She remembers what we like, she's personal, and has perfect timing. The food is fabulous and the environment exquisite. We love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner here. The service was great, our martinis were perfect, and the food was delicious. We were introduced to the Napoleon Torte and it was fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Flatiron is my go-to for special occasions, romantic dates with my husband, and/or when company comes to town (and I want to show them a fantastic Omaha staple). The poached lobster dish is my absolute favorite; I order it every single time and am never (ever!) disappointed. The service is always top notch. The food is always top notch. I can't say enough good things about this place ... it's the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Perhaps the best in fine dining that Omaha has to offer, in a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The food, the presentation and the impeccable service from the professional staff are second to none. I have been to the Flatiron Cafe about half a dozen times in the last two years and will continue to come there several times a year. I live in north western North Dakota, and always enjoy the 800 mile drive to Omaha a bit more when I know I'm going to the Flatiron!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food, prepared perfectly and wonderful service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The waiters and waitresses were awesome. They explained the specials and were very well dressed and gave us just the right start to complete the night at the Orpheum. I always have the same item on the menu and never disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious food in a great atmosphere. Building architecture is quite unique and interesting.

Wait service very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I HATE to rate this restaurant as anything less than 5 stars. The atmosphere was incredible. The service was second to none. My issue was with food poisoning. I took a client and his significant other to the Flatiron for an appreciation dinner. My client and I both ordered the steak and lobster. His significant other ordered something else (I think veal, I can't remember). Anyways, we all RAVED about the food quality and service. It was amazing, however my client and I ended up with food poisoning. The only common demonitator we had throughout the day was the steak and lobster. We were both sick for 3 days. I am fairly confident the kitchen abides by all health codes, however I do question that after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great experience. Good service. Delicious food. Fit to please a vegetarian and a carnivore!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The last time we had been there was almost a year ago, and the place was noisy, food not great, and service was lousy. We decided to give it one more try and it was great! Wonderful night, great food, great service, quiet atmosphere, and fabulous freindly waitress that knew the food, wine menu. We had an early reservation, and was able to have a quiet romantic dinner. Highly recommend especially for a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I were both exceedingly pleased with our meals at The Flatiron. We decided that we need to go there more often, and not just for special occasions!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lovely restaurant, close to our hotel, Magnolia, walking distance. Great service, very relaxing and food was outstanding! Will look forward my next visit.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Like usual, we had an amazing experience at Flat Iron. Thw cuisine is amazing and the wait staff makes you feel special each time. I would recommend to anybody wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My husband and I visited The Flatiron to celebrate our anniversary. All four courses were some of the best dishes I've ever had (Roasted Squash, warm Kale and Spinach Salad, Vegetarian entree for me, Prime Rib for my husband, and Moose for dessert). The service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for our occasion. Overall, the menu is pricey, but it tasted superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had not been in several years. Previous chef had left. Thought we would try again for my wife's birthday. It could not have been better, enjoyed our 3 hours with exceptional wines, food and service. A previous favorite sea bass was back on the menu prepared to perfection. I'm looking forward to meeting Chef Rob on my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here on New Year's Eve. Packed as one would expect, but service was reasonable given the conditions. Food was all around great though a bit pricey. Good experience here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a delightful experience, the staff was charming & made it a fun experience for my teenage boys. I had the most scrumptious lobster & risotto. The lobster bisque was delicious. A nice surprise was the refreshing cocktail the Jamaican Fresh. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely wonderful atmosphere with some of the most delicious dishes I have had. My wife had the Lobster and I had the Veal Chop. Both were perfectly prepared and the side dishes were amazing as well. We will definitely be going back there soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was fabulous. The service was great. The atmosphere was cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding menu with excellent choices, flawlessly executed. Impeccable, well timed service. Top notch in every way.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was excellent. Food was great except my chocolate cake wasn't super it was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The chef has elevated menu with better sourced raw ingredients but unfortunately the same upgrade in service is a process yet to be completed. Your expect a level of attention to your order but staff seemed more concerned about gossiping amongst themselves that delivered a Burger King experience. Omaha has many excellent alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife and I decided to try the Flatiron before attending the Mannheim Steamroller concert. We were greeted, and shown to our table by the owner. The excellent service continued from there. My wife had Poached Lobster, and I had Tournedos of Beef. We were both more than happy with our meals. I usually get to finish my wife's meal, as she is a very light eater, but unfortunately for me, she ate it all.

It was a perfect choice for food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Top TWO in Omaha! On my top FIVE list in the world.

It just has so much going for it, location, location, location. Then the food is always absoluty amazing.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very accommodating and attentive. All 6 of our party had great food. Will definitely be back

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great experience at Flatiron recently. It was the coldest night in Omaha in about 10 years, but there was a great, warm and surprisingly busy vibe inside the restaurant. The service was excellent, and the food was truly top notch through all our courses. My wife and I split the seared Ahi, which was a good portion, perfectly prepared, with nice additions. My main course was sea bass which was prepared perfectly, and she had the vegetarian option, which had really nice Indian flavors. Dessert was crème brulee with an almost impossibly thick hardened surface which was incredibly delicious. It was one of the nicest meals we've had in Omaha in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service in probably the top one or two spaces in Omaha for ambiance. Great drinks as well.

Love this place.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was attentive. The food delicious, everything from the deep fried scallops topped with a spicy cream sauce and caviar, the lobster bisque, house salad, fish and lobster, cheesecake to the Lithuanian torte and cappuccino, everything was perfectly prepared. We've been long time fans and will continue to celebrate at the FlatIron.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 17, 2016

From the correct reservation all the way to dessert the experience was delightful. Cocktails were excellent. The wine selection was a bit small but efficient. Food presentation and flavor was wonderful. The service and ambience made the while package complete.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A good place for business dinners. The restaurant has a special atmosphere that makes it ideal for hosting business functions. Watch out for "today's specials" that are not on the menu - it might be a very expensive experience ....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Flatiron Cafe is always a favorite and never disappoints! Outstanding service and food! Tried the Sea Bass which has to be the best Sea Bass dish I have ever had! Will definitely order that again next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 14, 2016

PERFECT for our sons 21st birthday celebration! Omg! Just a wonderful wonderful experience! Our little waitress McKenna was absolutely delightful and adorable! We'll be back Jan 5th (or thereabouts) for my birthday celebration. Food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing as always. Just amazing. Our waiter didn't give us his name, as it should be, but now I wish I knew what it is because he was fabulous and I'd like to give him credit. We were there Friday 12/9 if that helps management know.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food!! Excellent, friendly service. I would recommend Flat Iron for any special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is our favorite place to go for special occasions. The food is always delicious and service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had a lovely evening. We always enjoy the Flatiron, and this was no exception. The food was just outstanding, perhaps the best ever, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey, but very classy with great food. Perfect place for special events and romantic dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Outstanding every time we go.

The best in Omaha!

Feels like we r in New York!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our meals were superb and Joe our server made the evening spectacular. Always love our time at the flatiron

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Scenic View, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at the Flatiron. The food was excellent and matched by the service. Our waitress was attentive and careful that we met our schedule for a show downtown. She got us out in plenty of time and we never felt rushed. It's quiet enough to enjoy a conversation with friends while dining. Great food!!! Great Service!!! A Great Place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The ribeye steak was one of the best, if not THE best I've ever had! The lobster bisque was fantastic! And a great dessert menu. Our waiter took very, very good care of us! I am SO looking forward to my next visit!

~Carrie Reynolds

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.